Submitted by Douglas
Global Economy

Saw on a recent BBC programme that President François Hollande is catching his ‘royal’ in France, after promising the French people the moon and the stars when he was in opposition. Italy is also in trouble;  […]Cameron just introduced more austerity measures and further slashed social services in Britain immediately after re-election in May (of course, he promised “better days ahead” during the election campaign);

and poor Alexis Tsipras in Greece doesn’t know his head from his foot. Remember that guy? He promised improved conditions if elected. Well, well !!! His deadline to agree to more hell is TODAY!  And, he will agree, despite the outcome of Sunday’s referendum – that was a smokescreen. He knew all along he had to bite the bullet and tighten the economic screws.  He was just putting off the inevitable.

In recent weeks, stocks in China have tumbled by a whopping 30% and that economy, which was doing so well, has picked up a speed-wobble.  Angela Merkel has warned the rest of the EU to tighten their belts as the German economy that was once peeking and a beacon in Europe is now levelling off.

I just saw a discussion on the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) and Canada is drifting towards recession. The Sunday Sun ran the attached story on July 05, 2015.

All of these developed countries with vast resources are in trouble. Little Barbados is trying to keep its head above water in the midst of a global economic tidal wave; yet, some jokers around here are giving the DLP government hell. Using the trade unions to aid in their attempt to topple this government, after all the other disruptive, unpatriotic  tactics failed. Remember rubbing shoulders, walk-outs from and boycotts of Parliament, town hall assemblies, the marches – ALL FAILED. Now, they have infiltrated the trade union movement and are using them.

Next door in St. Lucia, unemployment is 26.7%. Tell Dr. Tennyson Joseph at Cave Hill that. By the way, he contested elections there and was rejected; but, every week he is writing a lot of crap in the Nation. He and his hell-raiser friends want this government to turn water into wine. We aren’t magicians.

I wonder who is going to pay the striking sanitation workers. No Work, No Pay, must be government’s answer. Let the people who called them out on strike pay them from their strike fund. My little knowledge of the local unions tell me that will happen when hell freezes over

26 responses to “Managing Economies in Today’s World … no walk in the park”

1. Douglas
    What ought a government do but sell the people hope for better tomorrow? (Hope is in essence, a vision for the future whether practical or idealistic) Most parents sell their kids hope for better future, but this hope may or may not be realized, but at least the idea had been conveyed and possibly inculcated. I remember when my madda promised my junior brother who was the smartest of her lot of kids, that if he did well on his Common-Entry Examination that she would have buy him a Choppa bike. He did, but at least my madda planted the seed of hope which incentivized my brother’s determination to do well on the examination. Government my friend, employs the very principle which my madda exercised back in the 1970’s, to motivated my younger brother into doing well on his test.

2. @ Douglas
    …all generally true.

….. but where else in the world have you seen such LIES; THIEVING; BRIBE-TAKING; Kick-backs; PROTECTION of known criminals by leaders; unexplained millions in mother’s bank accounts; taxing the poor with shiite taxes to pay millionaires for ‘taking’ raw materials for their plant…. as blatantly displayed by this government…

Call one place….

3. Douglas, government is will ever be in the business of selling hope to the people. Hope as I’ve stated above is a vision for the future, and the Bible tells us in no uncertain terms that where there is no hope the people perish.

4. @ Dompey
    …your mother would have promised ANYTHING to avoid being saddled with another idiot like you.

5. Bush Tea

I am obviously interacting with a brain weak on critical-thinking, so why ought I to anticipate anything better from you papa? So in view of that fact let me impart these few philosophical words to your hearing sir: any fool can tired down a barn, but it takes a skilled carpenter to build one.

6. How many barns have you torn down Domps…?

Look star…. the trick in life is to go with your natural talents.
    Problems ALWAYS come when masons offer themselves as carpenters;
    when Froons offer themselves as leaders;
    when doctors dream of being Ministers of Labour
    and when weak critical thinkers insist of talking shiite on BU…..

…apart from that – you ain’t a bad fella yuh know…!!!

7. Bush Tea

I am going stress this point to you as I have done to Peice: your time can be better had on BU, if you focuse your energy on informing, instructing and inculcating something of value to the younger folks, before you’re laid out for public viewing.

8. There is a difference between giving hope and telling lies. This is another attempt at insulting our intelligence. As a mother, I give my son hope all the time. I give him just enough to motivate him to do his best. I know what his capability is and never have I tried to fool him that he is a genius. In short, hope is destructive if it is not realistic. Hope in the instance of managing an economy must be realistic. It must state our real position and offer us ways in which, if we work together we can gradually improve that position. We must be treated as equal partners with an equal stake in the outcome. Not fools to be duped into a false sense of security only to be violently disappointed when the reality hits us in the guts.

Please do not rub any more salt in our wounds, Mr. Douglas. And please stop this talk about the world’s leaders and their promises.. Must we continue to ape their stupidity as if it is smart just because they do it over and away?

Nobody is asking for miracles. We are asking that the Government be honest, admit its failings and stop trying to feed us crap as you are doing while calling it honey.

And the ministers and their beneficiaries must stop getting fatter while the average man starves.

9. @ Donna
    sweet!

10. Donna

I absolutely agree with you to some extent. But at what point do we stop believing in the hope which government promises the people? Do lose all faith in government because it has failed in its efforts to honour its commitments to the people? And is it not disingenuous from the standpoint of the people to anticipate immediate change from government- given the unpredictability of the political affairs in our era. Some elements of the electorate are unrealistic in their expectations of government. Their believe that the change which their have voted for must come and come quickly, irrespective of the challenges which are entailed to bring about such anticipated change. Donna, hope is a continual process, whether it is realized today as promised by government or ten years from whence it was promised. We have a hope in the ultimate return of our Lord Jesus, but during our walk as Christians we often lose hope in the process of his anticipatory arrival, but something somewhere rekindle our hope anew. This divine principle of hope must and ought to be applicable to the political affairs in the same respect . Now, all in all, how could the Barbadian of people honestly expect the government to deliver all that it has promised- given the economic challenges both local and international? Listen!I am well aware of the fact that hope defer causes distrust of government, but it ought to be more understandable given the nature of our times.

11. Donna

Someone has to take the blame for the past failures of others, and who is more of an easier target than the ruling party, especially when things are less than ideal. But we aren’t honest enough to call it as we see it. We prefer to sidestep or tiptoe around the true etiological reasons regarding our common state. The proclivity is to attribute total blame for the our contemporary and past failures on the shoulders of the governing party, as though the past does not live in the present.

12. Bush Tea, watch this black guy handling this six white cops.

13. These are the same windbags that cry help help please help me to any cop when they get scared of their shadow. He is the same blowhard that says vaccinations don’t help but are first in line for a shot when measles came and ebola was thought to be coming. The two most surprising things of this video to me was that this wasn’t a woman , and he wasn’t given a job as a cnn pundit. If this is what you guys believe is representative of black intelligence no wonder you are saddled with the political leaders you have

14. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Dougie
    “Saw on a recent BBC programme that President François Hollande is catching his ‘royal’ in France, after promising the French people the moon and the stars when he was in opposition. Italy is also in trouble; […]Cameron just introduced more austerity measures and further slashed social services in Britain immediately after re-election in May (of course, he promised “better days ahead” during the election campaign);
    and poor Alexis Tsipras in Greece doesn’t know his head from his foot. Remember that guy? He promised improved conditions if elected.”

Dougie,
    There is no one on BU who consistently hammers nails into the DLP coffin the way you do. If you are a BLP supporter, I must compliment you for an absolutely brilliant performance to date.

Something you wrote in your above article made me curious. What was “the German economy … once peeking” at?

15. Lawson

The most surprising thing about the video footage was the fact that this lone black man who happened to be very legally astuted, was able to stop these six white cops dead in they tracks without issuing a threat of violence or the employment of profunity. Lawson, I can assure you that devoid of the video footage the outcome would have most certainly been different. So the black fella had two things working in his favour; the video footage which actually is the new instrument in the fight against racist cops, and his intellectual perspicacity regarding the criminal code.

16. Good Morning.

A report has just been released called the new debt crisis.

No data has been gathered on Barbados. I have noticed that when international reports are published it is extremely rare to find data on Barbados. How are we able to measure ourselves against other countries in the world if our government constantly refuses to release statistical data to international research bodies?

I am deeply concerned with this lack of transparency.

http://jubileedebt.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/The-new-debt-trap_07.15.pdf

17. “Douglas”, an organization is often reflective of its members and overall philosophy. If you, Fractured BLP, My Two Cents, NationBLPNewsPaper, Waiting, Togetherness, Bajanfuhlife and AC are all the Democratic Labour Party could muster to represent the party on BU, no wonder Barbados is in shiite street.

You all spew a lot of rhetorical party political diatribe, which is ALWAYS weak in substance and can be easily torn apart for the shiite it is.

While you accuse others as being “POLITICAL” if their views do not support the DLP, all your contributions are pro DLP. You support EVERYTHING this government does, whether it is right or wrong, BUT THIS DOES NOT MAKE YOU POLITICAL. I just can’t understand the rationale behind this thought.

Anyone who may have an opinion that is contrary to the DLP or they do not support a DLP policy, you yard-fowls are quick to insult them, while deeming them as being political and a member of the BLP.

You engage in xenophobic attacks on Dr. Tennyson Joseph, yet you embrace St. Lucian, Mara Thompson who talks pure shiite in parliament and the England born Irene Sandiford-Garner, who talks more shiite in the senate.

You accuse “Brass Tacks” moderators as being political, yet you have jackasses Maureen Holder and John Lovell, who are completely DLP biased, moderating “Talk ya Talk.”

June Fowler’s attempt to seek representation on behalf of CLICO insurance policy holders and investors was met with the DLP membership saying she is being influenced by the BLP, while Sinckler said “she is as ignorant as a bald pooch cat.”
    In the end, her organization’s attempts have been successful, since this administration has decided to form a new insurance company out of CLICO.

Damani Parris was admonished by the DEMS as being politically influenced by the BLP because he protested against the DEMS decision to make poor UWI students pay tuition fees, after they promised that the state would continue to finance tertiary level education.
    The DEMS are now offering scholarships and education grants, which is basically telling us Parris was right and they were wrong.

You are now calling McDowall young and immature.

18. Dompey This guy was a moron, over the years I have met many of these guys ..mostly white.. that think they are the reincarnation of Clarence Darrow. He is that guy that is always ahead of you at the bank ,grocery store, chefette etc bitchin about the size of the roti flap. I agree with you they should have tuned him up and confiscated the phone.

19. @ Lawson
    Boss
    You sure that fella in the video ain’t Dompey?
    listen to the verbosity…. 🙂

Obviously the police realise that the man mad as shiite…

20. Maybe Dompey, but dont think so …he was trying to get that young boy out of the car, where as I feel Dompey would be more inclined to get a young boy into a car.
    I am coming down this week ..please don’t get rid of all the seaweed and garbage before I get there.

21. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Lawson
    I think you must have upset someone here. Apparently they are shutting down the country for when you arrive.

22. St George's Dragon Avatar

I hear that Europe is going to print the next lot of Euro banknotes on Greece-proof paper.

23. Dompey,

Though some economists saw the signs, this government was surprised by the economic downturn after the first election in 2008. We accepted that their grandiose election promises, unrealistic before the worldwide recession, would be the height of idiocy during that recession. Some discomfort was expected and accepted by the people. Unions accepted that there would be no salary increases and the workers did not complain.

The Government was well aware of the economic climate in 2013 yet they promised us that all was under control and the drastic measures they took almost immediately after the election tells us that this was not so. It also tells any impartial person that they knew it was not so. This is deception rooted solely in self-interest. And it is this that we find unforgivable. Because of their deception some people were not prepared for their retrenchment. This made matters even worse for them and their families. No amount of spinning can change our minds on that. Just give up gracefully, sir. Please do!

24. Walter Blackman,

If I hadn’t heard the same drivel oozing from the lips of the PM and company on divers occasions I might be tempted to think he was a poorly disguised BLP supporter. His use of terminology however identifies him as just another idiot of the ac or fractured variety.

25. managing an economy isn’t so tough, just pretend you are a prostitute,
    don’t take IOU’s
    don’t let your assets fall below a certain level
    know that everyone wants to fu&k you
    and if there is any mention of greek……run