Submitted by Old Onions Bag

NUPW_Strike“they came for the Jews but I was not a Jew.”

Pinch me hard I dare say, (anywhere but the posterior), for surely I must be dreaming. Like Alice in the Wonderland, I running with Ernest but falling like Forrest  Grump…trying to keep up with the rationalizations of this now lame duck government.

We now on the verge of a nationwide shutdown in the height of Crop Over.  And over what I dare say? This BIDC fore-play; prepare thy selves NHC, CIBC, Port Inc. and the likes. A government with (out) a social conscience, the crowned Prince used to say. Caring and putting people first our motto. Nowadays when you reach that terminal age of 60 you past expiry date and should be put out to pasture. Nonsense.

Treatment dished out to the statutory nobodies like the 13. Whoever said what’s good for the goose is good for the gander? Not about here. Give of your best til 60 then go home. All because square pegs in round holes and ‘fumbling’ when it comes to econometrics. The result: foolishness abounds. What’s the sense? Nonsense.

Why if this administration could see it fit to extend his contract for another five years of a recycled 70 year old robot whose sole purpose was regurgitating every quarter, the words “STABLE ….why not let the messenger and two maids up at BIDC continue to work until 67? What else can one expect from a governor that saw sense in getting rid of all the good cents? Nonsense.

Give them hell NUPW…. They got away with murder before. A non –existing tribunal recall?  Let history record : The rule of the Non-sensed!

186 responses to “A Government of Nonsense”

1. I do see the pattern but my question would be – how would such incoherent babbling be effective in discrediting a reasoned argument. Who of the powers that be could be so stupid as to consider these tactics and these particular agents of the tactics to be helpful to their cause? Are you telling me that this is the best that they can do?

2. Donna July 15, 2015 at 6:21 AM #

“I do see the pattern but my question would be – how would such incoherent babbling be effective in discrediting a reasoned argument. Who of the powers that be could be so stupid as to consider these tactics and these particular agents of the tactics to be helpful to their cause? Are you telling me that this is the best that they can do?”

Donna, I often ask if Douglas, AC, Fractured BLP, Waiting, Bajanfuhlife, Dompey et al, are the best the DLP could come up with to represent them on BU.

These guys are “poor rakey.” I used to enjoy revealing the flaws in their arguments, but many of us don’t take them seriously. Would you take a guy with the moniker “Dompey” seriously?

Hahahahahahaha!!!!

3. balance July 15, 2015 at 5:25 AM #

“Surely Mr Cummins this post in itself does not give support to your view of yourself as analytical, and one with experience, education, training and common sense all of which I have ascribed to you before.”

Balance, your response to Cummins saved me from responding to him.

His contributions pertaining to this industrial action issue is indicative of the fact that he does not have the requisite training in human resource management, nor is he familiar with the industrial relations process.

The DLP buzz word for McDowall is “immature.” However, surely Cummins and those of his ilk must realize that the McDowall is NOT the NUPW.

That union has an executive/general council and advisors to which all industrial matters must be referred before any action can be undertaken, as well as lawyers who would provide legal guidance.

Additionally, the NUPW is affiliated to a number of international trade unions and related organisations such as the International Centre for Trade Union Rights (which is accredited by the UN and ILO).

Also, individuals such as Roslyn Smith, Wayne Waldron and Delcena Burke are (MATURE) qualified trade unionist with many years of experience.

As such, McDowall has available to him a wealth of experience and resources on which he could rely and take advice accordingly.

Therefore, he cannot get up one morning, without following the necessary consultation process, and demand members of the union to strike, without the action being endorsed by the general council and the membership.

4. @ St George’s Dragon & Donna
    Surely that can’t be right. If it was then you would be saying Bush Tea has a huge ego.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Um right! 🙂

Wuh Boss….how do you avoid having an inflated ego when you have been adopted by the Big Boss Engineers….? The Bushman tries…..but um read hard yuh… especially when the whacker rev up…. ha ha ha

5. Bushie,

See. I’ve got your number, haven’t I? LOL

6. @ Donna
    …so why don’t you call um….
    You could more closely investigate the exact size of Bushie’s ego then…. 🙂

7. @Artraxerxes,
    You wrote “… if you were a worker representative how would you with your training respond to this intransigence by the employer.”
    I do have training, experience and education in this area. I have a Certificate in aapublic Administration from the UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO, and a Certificate in Hospital and Health Care Administration from the University of Saskatchewan here in Canada. I was also on the Executive (Secretary) of the local branch of the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSIEU) for three years. I took part in negotiations and also picketed the Ontario Legislature when we were negotiating increases in salaries; which we had not received for over two years, in the middle of winter(they picketing in temperatures of minus 10-15 for an experience.
    Now in answer to your question, The unions did get meetings with the BIDC, and with the Minister. They also had meetings with the Chief Labour Officer and the Minister of Labour, so you can’t really taLK ABOUT INTRANSIGENCE OF THE EMPLOYER.Where they made their first error was to BEGIN their approach in a take it or leave it manner, and a stated intention of not moving from that position, but escalating it. There was no room for negotiating or “meeting in the middle.” In all negotiations each side will start off from extreme positions but these are usually positions that allow for movement. As I said “when yuh hand in the lion mouth you got to eeease it out.
    Respect is due on either side.The same way the Unions want the employer to respect them they also have to give the employer due respect.Negotiations can and should be HARMONIOUS.

8. @Artraxerxes,
    I have no doubt that internal discussion and consultations must have taken place, and ai acknowledge the experience of the trades unionists, but maybe they were so intent on confrontation that the advice, whatever it was could not have been taken. The poison from the get go was; inter alia, withdraw the letters first; in other words return to the status quo, or we will call out the troops (employees).

9. Bushie,

Don’t need to. My investigation is complete. Language often reveals to me the essence of a person. Those pesky words tell all once one can read between the lines. lol

10. So ole wise one what are u going to do about it ..ban our a.sses The Fact being this is a democracry and free speech encourages dissent and disagreements.Another Fact being that in the twist and turns of this controverversy the leader of the BLP did not present herself as a parliamentary representative but as a power hungry political operative.Who needs additional stoking of fire coming from a parlimentarian when her role would have been better placed within the confines revisting legislation as a powerbroker finding easement and compromise.

11. Artaxerxes,

If you are correct then we are doomed! They couldn’t send more worthy opponents? Those kind of arguments do their image more harm than good.

By the way, did you see my reply to your Ezra comment? I was just being sarcastic and having a little fun.

12. Alvin Cummins July 15, 2015 at 7:40 AM #

@Artraxerxes, You wrote “… if you were a worker representative how would you with your training respond to this intransigence by the employer.”

Perhaps you should pay much more attention to the authors of contributions.

You have attributed a comment to me which I did not make.

13. @ Donna

“ac July 15, 2015 at 7:59 AM #: So ole wise one what are u going to do about it ..ban our a.sses The Fact being this is a democracry and free speech encourages dissent and disagreements. Another Fact being that in the twist and turns of this controverversy the leader of the BLP did not present herself as a parliamentary representative but as a power hungry political operative.”

See what I tell yuh, Donna, there is a particular script these idiots follow.

The NUPW, BWU and Unity can claim victory on behalf of ALL workers in Barbados. Rather than discuss the results or admit, in this particular instance, that the government was wrong, what does this political pimp do?

Blame Mia Mottley.

Now, this impasse was between the BIDC and the unions, and had absolutely nothing to do with Mottley.

But this is all a part of the strategy. Read and you will discover their main objective will be to try to shift the focus and the discussion from the failings of the DLP, to Mottley.

14. ac July 14, 2015 at 8:12 AM #

The PM is absolutely correct misguided adventurism leads to mob rule. There are processes put in place to govern which the Union has deliberately discarded in their. zeal and political rush to judgement. This issue one which borders on intrepretatation of law as the PM so rightfully stated is now placed with Court of Law and at present point and time the rules which govern union should be respected stating that strike action should be suspended until the law courts make a decision. Yes this new breed of Unionism should and must be harnessed according to law for the safey and protection of the countryThe PM is absolutely correct in his assement and made a judgement call wherby all should take heed

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The above comments are nuff, nuff shiite.

The decision taken by the government to rescind the letters is a victory FOR ALL WORKERS.

If the “MATURE OLD GUARD” of the union had this much zeal when the NCC and Denis Lowe “deliberately discarded processes put in place to govern” the retrenchment of those former NCC employees, i.e. “last in, first out,” they would not have to be waiting on the ERT to address their grievances.

Under the present circumstances, the PM, by the shiite he talked on Monday, exhibited “misguided adventurism,” in his “zeal and political rush to judgment.” The PM’s mouth “should and must be harnessed according to law for the safety and protection of the country.” Gaston Browne basically said the same thing in his correspondence to Stuart.

“Yes, this new breed of Unionism” has indicated to this administration that it is prepared to fight any injustice to be perpetrated by this administration on the workers of Barbados. The union was “absolutely correct in their assessment and made a judgment call whereby all should take heed.”

The “OLD GUARD” that allowed this administration to treat the public sector employees as they felt like, has GONE. It’s time to stand up for your rights and not be manipulated by the threatening words of an idiot we have as the PM of Barbados.

A few weeks ago when asked about the unions, Stuart said he heard them keeping noise, to which he was not paying any attention.

On Monday, he came out waging war, threatening to change laws, calling people mobsters, rapist, coke and robbers and immature. It seems as though the union thought he was “keeping a lot of noise as well” because they did not back down. Now, after all the shiite Stuart spewed, he was the one to back-down.

15. @ Aratxerxes

Excellent posts on this thread………..great analysis of the morons.

16. @ ac

Are you enjoying your humble pie?

17. @ Artax
    Skippa …you is something else then….
    Don’t you realise that the ONLY value in AC’s nonsense here on BU is that you take the effort to respond? EVERYBODY knows that AC is about as smart as Froon …and just as useless…
    …when will you do us all a favour and stop enhancing her shiite with responses?
    Shiite man, it is like picking through fowl shit to see what they are eating…

AC and Dompey should be entertained on BU because they demonstrate the level of intelligence of our current leaders, but there HAS to be something wrong with seriously engaging them in an intelligent conversation… It is called “feeding pearls to swine”.

BTW
    …in 2007, the BLP had their morons on BU too…. with the same shiite, talking bout burning Loverage house etc….
    Anyway, he gone back to sport. 🙂

18. There is agreement the process was not followed by the BIDC by the MoL, why are still debating the issue again?

19. Bushiie,

Maybe that explains why they lost the elections. What do you think – are the DLP morons doing any better than the BLP morons?

Don’t know what AC is saying in her more dominant personality. I have given up trying to read her comments. You are right, maybe Artaxerxes should give up answering that particular AC personality and probably Fractured BLP and BLP Nation Newspaper unless they can somehow borrow a few brain cells and come up with something worthwhile to contribute. I don’t think their arguments can fool anyone who can read anyhow. He should focus on the few who actually present an argument that could fool someone old enough to vote.

20. Bush Tea July 15, 2015 at 8:38 AM #

“@ Artax Skippa …you is something else then…..Don’t you realise that the ONLY value in AC’s nonsense here on BU is that you take the effort to respond? EVERYBODY knows that AC is about as smart as Froon …and just as useless……”

Bushie, have you noticed recently I stopped exposing their ignorance?

But ah couldn’t let this wun pass, ah had to respond to remind DEM that Froon and he guvment did wrong pun this issue.

But leh me tell yuh, if the BEES “get in,” I don’t think they will get an easy time from me. I got EVERYTHING they say on file.

I can tolerate solid arguments that are substantiated with facts. But I have a very low tolerance level for yard-fowls, whether they are in the BLP coop or the DLP coop.

21. Donna July 15, 2015 at 9:03 AM #

“You are right, maybe Artaxerxes should give up answering that particular AC personality and probably Fractured BLP and BLP Nation Newspaper unless they can somehow borrow a few brain cells and come up with something worthwhile to contribute.”

Yes, Donna, you are correct, perhaps I should not respond to their gibberish.

22. noise that cause parties to seek resolve rather than escalation a move which served the best interest of country and not no one group entity or political organisation.That as it may Mia did little or nothing to serve country,s best interest or to seek resolve at a higher level rather than one source of disruptiveness

23. Mia’s role to sit, be patient and learn from the ample examples of the DLP as to HOW NOT TO RUN A COUNTRY AND LEAD A PEOPLE.

24. I just can’t get over the ignorant statement of the Prime Minister that he sat and watch the situation escalate so that Bajans could see first hand the behaviour of the Unions. This is the most idiotic statement I have ever heard from a PM at any time, anywhere in the world.

25. The PM always has a reason (besides sheering indecision and laziness) for refusing to act one way or another.

26. noise that cause parties to seek resolve rather than escalation a move which served the best interest of country and not no one group entity or political organisation.That as it may Mia did little or nothing to serve country,s best interest or to seek resolve at a higher level rather than source of disruptiveness

27. @ Guy Fox

Don’t you think it’s time to give it a rest you proponents like Fractured and Ac of this Government of NONSENSE? Have you all not yet learnt from Fumbles that it is sometimes better to keep one’s stupid and rank rantings to yourselves?……

Congrats to the people of Barbados and the NUPW young turks McDowall.

Fumbles and Donville look like true Cornwallis-es tis morning…..MURDA

28. Sorry Guy Fox……misread your FEARTHERS…..LOL (bare wid me). A roman-candle blinded me.

29. deputy dawg alias bush sh.t u always sticking u duhty mout in people bizness .why dont u go and managed uh website dat got no traffic

30. @ ac

This is not Bushie my dear ac, LOL stop your stupid ranting. I new like New York, FOOL!

31. @Bushie, Artaxeerxes et al.
    So the social partners met. So calmer heads and some kind of common sense prevailed. Let the process continue and let the universe unfold as it should. Neither side beat the other.

32. @Alvin

It seems you are always lagging the news cycle. This matter is still not settled based on recent utterances by the MoL.

33. @David,’
    I never said the matter is settled. I said ” let the process continue, and let the universe unfold as it should”.
    I am indeed lagging the news cycle because I am back in Toronto.

34. Alvin Cummins July 15, 2015 at 7:40 AM #

@Artraxerxes,
    You wrote “… if you were a worker representative how would you with your training respond to this intransigence by the employer.”

Mr Cummins, it was my comment not Artaerxes- Can you not understand that the issue arose out of the workers having been forcibly terminated without consultations/negotiations with the NUPW and not what transpired afterwards and I know you are not that stupid. Don’t let purblind allegiance to a once formidable institution that has long lost its way take precedence over your principles and common sense.

35. “..Where they made their first error was to BEGIN their approach in a take it or leave it manner, and a stated intention of not moving from that position, but escalating it. There was no room for negotiating or “meeting in the middle.”

Mr Cummins you are quite disingenuous and you ought to speak to Minister Inniss who offered to meet with the Union but declared up front he was not changing his position.
    You Dems make me laugh. Mr Barrow would be ashamed of you all for not using your ability to think rationally.

36. Israeli professor disclosed in a recent lecture series at Columbia University that Israeli authorities have permitted large pharmaceutical firms to experiment on Palestinian prisoners, and have been testing weapons on Palestinian children.
    Professor Nadera Shalhoub-Kevorkian, the Lawrence D. Biele Chair in Law at Israel’s Hebrew University, also presented in Amsterdam in January on the same topic.
    Promotional material for the events describe her lecture as illustrating through “the voices and writings of Jerusalemite children who live under Occupation” that Israel’s practices of “surveying, imprisoning, torturing, and killing can be used as a laboratory for states, arms companies, and security agencies to market their technologies as ‘combat proven.’”
    Shalhoub-Kevorkian’s presentation was based on data she gathered for a research project for the university. The work, titled Arrested Childhood in Spaces of Indifference: The Criminalized Children of Occupied East Jerusalem, was published in the Canadian Journal of Women and the Law in 2018 and co-authored by Shahrazad Odeh, who is also on the Faculty of Law and Institute of Criminology at Hebrew University.
    In the article, the authors demonstrate how Israel’s policy of targeting Palestinian children and childhood through the criminal justice system is fundamental to the state’s mechanism of colonial dispossession. They shed light on the critical role that the Israeli legal system plays in the state’s “racist project.”
    Drug experiments on Palestinian prisoners
    Shalhoub-Kevorkian revealed in her lecture at Columbia University that Israeli occupation authorities issue permits to large pharmaceutical firms, which then carry out tests on Palestinian prisoners.
    Telesur recalls that as far back as July 1997,
    Israeli newspaper Yedioth Ahronoth reported remarks for Dalia Itzik, chairman of a parliamentary committee, acknowledged that the Israeli Ministry of Health had given pharmaceutical firms permits to test their new drugs of inmates, noting that 5,000 tests had already been carried out.
    The recent, well-publicized incident of the death of an Israeli prison inmate, Palestinian Fares Baroud, raised suspicions that he may have been a test subject. Israeli authorities refused to relinquish the body. Baroud suffered from a number of illnesses.
    Weapons testing for profit
    Shalhoub-Kevorkian also pointed out that Israeli military firms test weapons on Palestinian children in the Palestinian neighborhoods of occupied East Jerusalem.
    “Palestinian spaces are laboratories,” she explained. “The invention of products and services of state-sponsored security corporations are fueled by long-term curfews and Palestinian oppression by the Israeli army,” and “Israeli security industry [is] using them as showcases” to boost security technologies and weapon sales in the global market.
    Hebrew University response
    The Hebrew University of Jerusalem distanced itself from Shalhoub-Kevorkian’s claims, releasing a statement,
    The views expressed by Prof. Nadera Shalhoub-Kevorkian don’t represent or express in any way the views of the Hebrew University or the university administration, but are her personal opinion that reflect only her views.

Nadera Shalhoub-Kevorkian is the Lawrence D. Biele Chair in Law at the Faculty of Law-Institute of Criminology and the School of Social Work and Public Welfare at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and a Global Chair in Law at Queen Mary University of London. Her research focuses on law, society, and crimes of abuse of power. She studies the crime of femicide and other forms of gendered violence, crimes of abuse of power in settler colonial contexts, surveillance, securitization and social control, and children, trauma, and recovery in militarized and colonized zones. Dr. Shalhoub-Kevorkian is a criminologist and specialist in human rights and women’s rights.
    Shalhoub-Kevorkian’s most recent book is entitled: Security Theology, Surveillance and the Politics of Fear,” published by Cambridge University Press. She also authored “Militarization and Violence Against Women in Conflict Zones in the Middle East: The Palestinian Case Study” published by Cambridge University Press, 2010. She has published articles in multi-disciplinary fields including British Journal of Criminology, International Review of Victimology, Feminism and Psychology, Middle East Law and Governance, International Journal of Lifelong Education, American Behavioral Scientist Journal, Social Service Review, Violence Against Women, Journal of Feminist Family Therapy: An International Forum, Social Identities, Social Science and Medicine, Signs, Law & Society Review, and more. As a resident of the old city of Jerusalem, Shalhoub-Kevorkian is a prominent local activist. She engages in direct actions and critical dialogue to end the inscription of power over Palestinian children’s lives, spaces of death, and women’s birthing bodies and lives.

Kathryn Shihadah is staff writer for If Americans Knew. She blogs at Palestine Home