Grenville Phillips II

Grenville Phillips II is the man behind the initiative to start the next political party in Barbados. The following was extracted from the Solutions Barbados – The Next Party.

We are a group of men and women who love Barbados, treasure our reputations, and plan to offer ourselves as candidates in the next general elections in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  While we have some potential candidates, we need more – hence, the following.

WANTED

Accomplished men and women of demonstrated integrity and leadership, who love Barbados, treasure their reputations, and are willing to present themselves as candidates in the next general elections in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  Prospective candidates must not view politics as a career, but as a brief time of exemplary national service.  Expect: long working hours, vicious personal criticisms, no pay, a slim chance of being elected, and an exciting journey.

Before you contact us, please do the following.

1. Read our Solutions on the Solutions page.
  2. Read Harold Hoyte’s book: “Eyewitness to Order and Disorder”.
  3. Talk to your family and put your house in order.

We do not intend to be elected to simply wait around long enough to earn a pension.  Rather, we intend to govern responsibly.  A summary of our main solutions are described on our Solutions page.  They are designed to address the main problems hindering Barbados’, and therefore your development.  You are encouraged to comment, and we will happily engage you in discussions of how they may be improved.  The improved solutions will become our promises to you.

Our guiding principle is to provide an environment where all Barbadian citizens and residents can become healthy, wealthy and wise if they choose to.  Our Solutions are designed to accomplish this

Current Main Political Parties

Despite their failings, we should count ourselves very fortunate that we have been led by persons who seemed to genuinely care about Barbados.  Therefore, both political parties should be thanked for their past service.  However, we should be under no illusion that it takes any special competence to spend other people’s money.  As a country, we are very deep in debt, and useful unsolicited advice appears to have been ignored as we plan to go further into debt.

One political leader recently revealed that that only those in the political trenches had the right to have their advice on national issues considered.  Since we do not plan to stop offering unsolicited advice, and we have no desire to engage in futile exercises, then we have no choice but to reluctantly enter the political trench.  If the Government or Opposition parties follow our advice, then we will leave the trench as quickly as we entered it – the choice is theirs.

Improving Barbados

The greatest obstacle to improvement lies within you, the reader – the voter.  This obstacle is the fear of change.  People would rather stay with what they know, regardless of how incompetent, than with what they do not know.  Hopefully, after reading our Solutions, you at least know what we support, and to what we object.

It has been said that good managers try to do their best with the resources available to them, while leaders change the environment to allow for better management.  We intend to lead.

We invite you to: share this web-site by including a link on your Facebook or other social media page, inform your friends, family and colleagues about Solutions Barbados, and follow us on this web-site in order to be notified of any updates.

Due to the charging of individuals for breaching the Computer Misuse Act (section 14) and the Defamation Act, we must reduce the risk of inconvenience by reviewing all comments for compliance.  You can help us by not speaking disparagingly about people.  Please note that all favourable and unfavourable comments will be posted, but any defamatory information will be redacted.  We apologise in advance for any delayed comments.

Thank you for visiting and best regards.

SOLUTIONS BARBADOS

Grenville Phillips II, Founder

387 responses to “Grenville Phillips II Launches the Next Political Party in Barbados”

1. Dear BT:

You claim not to have time for the details, and then you request the details that are provided in our Policy Solutions. Let me quote for your convenience.

“The fines can be paid by installments, and work opportunities will be found for those not employed in order to facilitate their payments.”

So instead of asking for details on what is already stated, perhaps you could have started here and asked about the “work opportunities”, to which we would have responded “cutting canes in the cane reaping season and maintaining the drainage infrastructure etc the rest of the time.”

Given your previous responses, you might then ask about what is to happen if the person refuses to come to work. If you would but read the Policy Solutions, you would have already known that they are to reside at Dodds until their fines are paid. You would also have known that all offenses attract fines, and only the violent and those who refuse to pay their fines are incarcerated.

Dear Donna:

We did start at the beginning. But we wrote the information in a manner that most people could understand it. As stated our Welcome page.

“Our guiding principle is to provide an environment where all Barbadian citizens and residents can become healthy, wealthy and wise if they choose to. Our Solutions are designed to accomplish this.”

On our Policy Solutions page, the 12 most critical areas of Governmental responsibilities that severely hinder Barbados’ development are listed. For each, the main sub-problems and the most effective and workable solution that we could design are also listed for discussion so that they can be improved. One example follows, [and I will provide bracketed running commentary for additional clarity]

“[First, we have identified a critical problem] The general inefficiency and indecision within the public service is the main problem hindering Barbados’ development. [Then we provide the general solution] This can be solved with a professional public service that is not influenced by any political party. [Then we identify the main sub-problems and their solutions]”‘

“1. To address Government’s inefficient public services, all Government departments (including statutory corporations) will be required to attain and maintain the highest quality management standard – ISO 9001. Priority will be given to those departments that regularly interact with the public. [Then we identify the intended result] People should receive efficient and competent service from each government department.”

This format is generally used for each issue.

Bushie claims “So are you simple assuming that everyone who went before you were idiots lacking the basic common-sense to see whatever it is that you think you are seeing…?”

Perhaps he can show us where he has seen such solutions before.

Best regards,
    Grenville

2. @ Solutions Barbados
    First let Bushie make it clear that he is ON YOUR SIDE; WANTS this to work; APPRECIATES your decision to step forward; and admires your courage ….always did….!
    …but have whacker will whack – it is the best way to get a good quality lawn… 🙂

You said:’
    You claim not to have time for the details, and then you request the details that are provided in our Policy Solutions.
    Bushie was not ‘requesting anything’…but rather showing you how EASILY miscreants will sabotage your ‘solutions’. ….wait …. do you think that the criminals are idiots? ….and you REALLY think that an unproductive public service is our biggest problem?
    LOL ha ha ha ….skippa….wheel and come again… That is but a SYMPTOM of the root problem.

You said’…
    “1. To address Government’s inefficient public services, all Government departments (including statutory corporations) will be required to attain and maintain the highest quality management standard – ISO 9001. Priority will be given to those departments that regularly interact with the public. [Then we identify the intended result] People should receive efficient and competent service from each government department.”
    Owen said almost the IDENTICAL thing back in the 1990s too …. and create the office of Public Sector Reform. They spent millions of dollars, talked a lotta shiite about ISO 9000; ISO 9001; Quality management …. every shiite….
    …and what?!?
    …all that resulted was smart trickster Darcy Boyce who Owen appointed as the Czar…and yet another unproductive government department doing shiite.
    Same thing with the ‘Productivity Council’…..

Point is … you are reinventing the wheel….and Darcy is a bright boy just like you ent he?

Come on man…. let us do the environmental impact study FIRST….

3. To Mr Grenville Phillips,

Full Steam Ahead.

You are the interim Captain of the SS Barbados Solutions.

Take command of your vessel.

There is NO time left to wait at the dockside for those persons who are uncertain about going on the voyage ahead.

Sail on, sir.

4. We have to know we are taking the right ship, don’t we?

5. St George's Dragon Avatar

The captain is an expert on rivets and ship construction but has never sailed before. He has thrown away the previous handbook which was the accumulated knowledge of all the former captains and crew on out how to sail the ship and has written a new one from scratch with a couple of his like minded friends. He has not really worked out where he is trying to sail but has already started his captaincy by saying he is probably not going to stay for the whole voyage. He has put out a request for crew members to join, but as yet has no crew.
    I know the previous captains took serious amounts of money from the burser but this is the wrong ship for me.

6. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

St. George, masterful your 7:54 commentary. Descriptively engaging.

Young Phillps unlike other captains, however, is very unlikely (based on all that is known of the man) to take anything from the bursar.

I too have expressed my deep regret that a captain could invite me on a voyage in one breath and tell me in another that he is unsure if he is going to stay for the whole voyage.

Infuriating though that may be, if I were a passenger I would be seized with a vigour and conviction that the Solutions ship when fully energized will retain its captain for the long and arduous journey.

It can only be so.

Sign up for the voyage if you are not a duly vested officer of other ships. Apart from on board officers, surely they also need folks at home port and beyond to provide crucial back-office support.

7. Earthquake!!!!

Bajans need your advice Grenville.

8. 2Hants—

4 Quakes today 7am to 11.39am

9. Hi Hants:

I will post some relevant national information on my blog this evening.

Best regards,
    Grenville

10. Grenville is a right wing nut.
    Capital punishment for rape? Even racists in the United States abandoned that one in the 1950s, and given the elastic definition of rape in a feminist era, such a policy would lead to horrifying injustices.
    A criminal justice financed by massive fines on criminals? Most convicted criminals are poor people who have no money. You cannot squeeze blood from a stone. Such a proposal would create ballooning debtor’s prisons, which have a shameful history in 19th century Europe.
    A flat tax? Only elitists would propose such a thing.
    A civil service based on merit? What is merit? Qualifications? Credentialed officials are not unbiased. Most are self serving and corrupt.
    Open bids for public contracts? Any idiot can work around that process. It is no answer to corruption.

11. @ chad99999

That is the sum of your feedback?

12. From Nationnews

“INADEQUATE BUILDING STANDARDS here could lead to thousands being killed or seriously injured if a major earthquake or hurricane struck the island.”

13. Colonel Buggy Avatar

chad99999 July 19, 2015 at 7:26 PM #

Grenville is a right wing nut.
    Capital punishment for rape? Even racists in the United States abandoned that one
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Perhaps he meant Be-heading,……. the smaller head.

14. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Colonel Buggy July 18, 2015 at 8:56 PM #

The non -traditional foundation feature,and the precast welded slab construction of the Coverley village houses,and elsewhere , might very well turn out to be a blessing in this now earthquake prone country.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Grenville stated,in effect , that all buildings with reinforced concrete floors that were built before 2011,would collapse during a major earthquake,killing all inside. That included ,schools,houses, and commercial buildings.

15. St George's Dragon Avatar

Chad99999 does have a point in that I suspect Grenville’s political views don’t exactly live on the “let’s help each other”, socialist extreme of the political spectrum. The whole style of the “Solutions” is weird and I think I have worked out why. It’s too prescriptive. Everything is prescriptive. I support “light-touch government” that leaves people mostly to get on with their lives without interference. If Grenville got in I fear we would have a totalitarian state. One in which we would all have to number our paragraphs for ease of responding because Grenville knew it was good for us.

16. Given what is written in the above article, the best course of action is to get OUT of the building as soon as you feel a tremor.

You might escape the falling structure……if yuh lucky.

Buildings in Barbados were designed to withstand hurricanes but not earthquakes.

17. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

St. George you and others have said it (or alluded to it ) before that Greville’s Solutions are unworkable in a modern society as is Barbados. Chad99999 has done the same just that he has been rather more strident in his critique.

Bushie’s remarks perhaps best crystallized the criticism of Grenville’s discourse. He opined that these are operational details of governance whereas Grenville needs to set broad policy and idea of his vision first.

In short, we need to pull back on the specifics and grasp the vision.

So I can agree with the view that the Solutions’ man views are definitely right of center. In that vein I believe he is actually more disposed to less Government intrusion in our lives: less complex taxation, less bureaucracy, more free enterprise and free will.

With that said if we accept his way forward for change then we can get on board and help mould and update the Solutions set into practical and workable rules and regulations.

At the moment most of them are useful only as excellent talking points for Solutions.

18. The text book addresses vision as a prerequisite but does it matter to the masses?

19. Hi chad99999 July 19, 2015 at 7:26 PM

As far as I am aware, we have not proposed capital punishment for rape. Where did you read that?
    According to the Public Service Act, the public service “recruits and promotes persons based on merit”. We will simply be enforcing that law.
    The flat tax is easier for the Inland Revenue to check. The existing system is too complicated, which means that it is unfair for the person who does not pay for expert tax advice.

Regards,
    Grenville

20. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ de Ingrunt Word July 21, 2015 at 6:05 PM
    You say pull back from the specifics and grasp the vision.
    My problem with that is the torchbearer of the vision. I would like to see the back of the present parties but I need some confidence in the man who is putting himself up to take over from them. I see nothing but detail of policy. Policy that I don’t much like.
    I understand that Grenville says the “Solutions” are yet to be worked through, but you can’t set sail with a captain who is not a capable leader.

21. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Grenville
    The reference to the state killing people if they rape someone was probably from a comment on the “Policy Solutions” tab on your website from Jeffrey Dac. Sandiford 3 July 2015 at 2:07 am. It’s clearly not your policy (yet) but it’s interesting that people are obviously seeing posts on your website and assuming that they are agreed policy. Not sure how you deal with that.
    On the flat tax, how much work have you done to look at what this rate needs to be? Does 10% tax raise the same amount of revenue as the current tax rates do?
    You will appreciate that voters would see a 10% tax rate as attractive but if that rate was not achievable they would probably feel misled.

22. Dear St George:

I refer to your comment, reproduced below for convenience.

“I support “light-touch government” that leaves people mostly to get on with their lives without interference. If Grenville got in I fear we would have a totalitarian state.”

The trend of your comments generally express a fear of a dictatorial government. What is the basis for your fear? The Solutions are generally light touch, in that they remove the heavy hand that currently burdens, and hinders our development.

Since our policies are beneficial, you then seem to have a problem with my style of leadership. That would be understandable – had I not provided information on the various organisations that I have led in the past. You are free to contact members of the diverse organisations that I have led as president (2 terms – unanimously elected both times), and ask them whether I was someone to fear. If not, then perhaps your fear is irrational.

Best regards,
    Grenville

23. @David,

Can you post Grenville’s article about earthquakes that was in the Nation.

It seems to me the threat of Barbados being hit by earthquakes are real.

24. @Hants

There is a blog posted a couple days ago “put your house in order ‘. Maybe you have been bowled over by Serena?

25. St George's Dragon Avatar

Totalitarianism:
    – parliamentary privilege will be abolished
    – civil servants will not be allowed to join political parties
    – statutory corporations will be run by (an appointed) CEO, not a Board
    – recycling will be mandated (actually, I don’t have a problem with this one)
    – every family must start a seaweed processing business; all children must participate
    It’s the tone, Grenville. You come across as a control and detail freak.

26. Eight years have passed since there was a promise of improved governance, integrity, transparency, accountability,a code of conduct to be signed by cabinet ministers before assuming office, and a Freedom of Information Act. It was felt that members of the previous government were extremely corrupt. There is no doubt that the moral fabric of the society, is today in tatters ! In order to be meaningful and worthwhile, any new political party MUST BE FORCED TO KEEP THE PROMISE MADE EIGHT YEARS AGO. We desperately need, deserve, and demand no less of any new political party !

27. Dear St George:

Perhaps you need to read the policy solutions without trying to look for a dark agenda – because there is none.

The policy solutions were listed to solve specific problems hindering Barbados’ development. They are currently in a draft form where you are encouraged to suggest how they may be improved. The following gives your ‘cut and paste’ comments some context.

To address the lack of civility in parliament, the parliamentary privilege that allows politicians in parliament to defame individuals without consequences will be abolished.
    To address political victimization, civil servants will not be allowed to join political parties, and any proven case of political victimization, by any civil servant, will result in the offender’s immediate dismissal, and forfeiture of their pension. This should protect civil servants from being victimized if the government is forced to lay-off staff.
    Statutory corporations will be managed by a Chief Executive Officer, who will report to the Permanent Secretary. Boards will be abolished since they appear ineffective at preventing questionable expenses, providing audited accounts, or addressing the major concerns of the Auditor General.

Please note that we never suggested that every family must start a seaweed or any other type of business. We plan to significantly improve the regulatory environment to allow people to easily start and run family businesses. However, they are free to choose not to. Remember our vision.

“Our guiding principle is to provide an environment where all Barbadian citizens and residents can become healthy, wealthy and wise IF THEY CHOOSE TO. Our Solutions are designed to accomplish this.”

Best regards,
    Grenville

28. Great ideas ! So how does one join the party ? Or is it stillborn ?

29. We Welcome A New Leaderhsip Your Braveness And Commitment In Charting A New Pathway Into The For All Barbadians Both Present And Future . May All Be Guided By Almighty Gods Wisdom

30. David Gill confirmed on a radio interview on Friday that all the new movements have approached him. Grenville Phillips confirmed in the press that Gill and Eastmond will not be in Solutions Barbados list of candidates. Was Gill fibbsing or was it an oversight.

31. David

Gill and Eastmond are legitimate and perennial losers. All they need now is to get Agard and they would have the foundation of a Barbados Fools Party (BFP).

Solutions Barbados is just the whimsical fantasy of a man who has no experience and who to prove his experience he has laid out a set of plans/measure which are frankly laughable at best.

32. You should not dismiss Lynette. She is an intelligent lady. She only needs to find a way to connect to people.

33. David

Like you….Lynette is a BLIGHT!

Get loss! !!

34. David

Trump will be used as the benchmark for all aspirants,who should remember that he did through a party.