Denis Lowe exposing his Doctoral Certificate in parliament
Denis Lowe exposing his Doctoral Certificate

During the Presentation of the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals 2015 the intelligence of Barbadians was trivialized (or was it) by the debate whether Lowe has earned a Doctorate or leader of the Opposition possesses the requisite qualification to practice law in Barbados. Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has routinely described contributions to debate in parliament as ‘poorakey’, now there is incontrovertible proof.

The fact the government and cohorts have been allowed to persist with such a serious accusation is a reflection on wider civil society, and importantly the Attorney General of Barbados. The clarification should not have to come from Sir Henry Forde who was one of two persons who recommended Mottley to the Bar of Barbados, what about the independent entities and individuals who could have deflated the political rhetoric the next day? We refer to entities/individuals like the Law Faculty of the University at Cave Hill, Barbados Bar Association, former Attorney General Maurice King et al.   This is one of the major problems plaguing our little society; we allow political brinkmanship to override the intelligent arguments.

The majority of Barbadians would have preferred Lowe, Sinckler and the others respond to the scathing accusations levelled by the Opposition concerning a lack of transparency and accountability about the Cahill Energy Waste to Energy Plant matter and obvious conflict of interest issues arising from Lowe and Lashley leasing luxury vehicles from Trans Tech Inc.

BU reserves our biggest disappointment for Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite who promised to investigate the matter and advise Barbadians of his findings. Commonsense suggests the gravitas of two ministers who sit on the front bench questioning the bona fides of a leader of opposition to practice law should be considered a priority issue. Brathwaite has allowed his political affiliation to besmirch the office of the Attorney General.  Then again this is an Attorney General who promised to act on sighting irregularities during the last general election. This is an Attorney General who promised new domestic abuse legislation about two years ago. This is the DLP who accused a BLP government of holding the findings of the St. Joseph Hospital Commission Report over the head of the late Branford Taitt and in the process taint his reputation and puncture his legacy. Interestingly, the DLP has not published the report since ascending office.

The refusal of the Prime Minister to touch the issues raised by the Opposition exposes a bug in our governance system. Who will debug it?

The debate which continues about the qualification of the leader of the opposition and minister Lowe is an indictment on the quality of governance we practice in Barbados. Anywhere in the world a Speaker of the House who has been found guilty of withholding thousands of dollars from a client, a deputy Speaker who has been named in a serious court matter, or a minister who brandished a gun in a threatening manner in the precinct of parliament would have been severely disciplined and asked to resign by any self respecting nation.

What is democracy? – “government of the People, by the People, for the People – has come to symbolize the definition of democracy”

138 responses to “Qualificationsgate: Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite Continues to DEMinish the Office”

1. The refusal of the Prime Minister to touch the issues raised by the Opposition exposes a bug in our governance system. Who will debug it?

We the people. That is if we really wanted to.
    Politicians don’t mek demself. It is we who got dem suh.
    Well not me, wunna is who gi dem de power to do as dem like.

Three years from now it will be same script different cast.

BTW, some might not get that Deminish is a play on the word diminish.

2. Well it clear..that Henry Forde’s response (coming near 2 weeks after the accusation was made on the floor of Parliament) has further clouded this issue

It is clear though that Mia Mottley gine mek a jail…..for this hienious act!

Let she BITE…
    that one, too! !!

3. I have previously mentioned on BU that Lowe’s challenge to Mottley relative to her presenting a LEC in parliament was an immature political ploy that was done to achieve a specific objective, and it worked.

It was designed to shift the public’s focus away from the corruption and conflict of interest allegations leveled at Lowe and Lashley.

As usual, the resident DLP stooges on BU have attempted to keep this nonsense in the forefront as well, being part of the DLP’s “strategy of distraction.”

However, I will not relent in reminding the BU household of Mottley’s allegations and the refusal of those allegedly involved the scandal, to address this issue.
    I also note, with interest, that the DLP’s “official spokesman on all issues,” Donville Inniss, has been keeping extra quiet or staying away as far as he possibly can from or commenting on the scandal.

Since Mottley has not displayed her LEC to the public so far, our attention should now be turned in the direction of AG Brathwaite. He promised to conduct an investigation into this matter and by now the results should have been made public, so Barbadians and the Barbados Bar Association could react accordingly.

4. @Fractured BLP June 28, 2015 at 10:59 AM #

Are you sure it is the issue which is clouded or is it your mind?
    Attorney-General Brathwaite should have know better. Why did he lend tacit support to the rambling of minister Lowe?

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I think the distraction went that far and no further. Lowe showed how low he will go by making a mockery out of a serious charge against him and the issue of the Cahill development. All he has done by trying to divert attention is to increase it more on himself and his very very questionable integrity. The lack of defense he showed in his response in parliament by trivializing the seriousness of this matter with an issue about qualifications is a clear sign of guilt that was evident when he said he had to spend a large portion of his debating time to attacks towards his character. I mean you got to be far more tactful and sensible than that by making everyone believe your character and reputation is far more important than a claim that places you high on the collusion of corruption. If that was not enough evidence than the way he started to talk in his opening remarks is also evident of the fear that was in his face exposing all the pretense and make believe. But what to expect, the man has an allegation against his name that he placed millions in his mother’s account, which he wants all the ”idiots” in Barbados to believe is what his mother saved for years.

6. David, Mia Mottley was asked and she is the one who should respond. Instead of using Henry Forde to hold her brief and preparing a statement.
    I look forward to Mottley answering the scathing accusations about her role in the debacle at Crab Hill Police station which has fleeced taxpayers by a firm that she has an interest in and was instrumental in awarding the Carb Hill contract to when the said company had no prior history or track record in such dealings.
    And you seriously want to tell the people of Barbados that this is the alternative leader?
    Man, get real.

7. The Opposition leader brought up the question of Lowe’s qualification in the first place. She didnt merely mention it, she was almost teasing and tearing down his character saying he is pretending to be an Archbishop and other low blow comments like that. Shouldnt she be talking of the issues? Where is the criticism of her for doing that? If he didnt respond to her tearing down of his character some sections of the press and most likely this blog would of took up and ran with it. Unfortunately Lowe spent too much time addressing that issue instead of the ‘going-ons’ in his Ministry. I agree with the author on that.
    Sinckler DID respond to the accusations of Cahill, Grotto, Preconco etc in his wrap-up speech. Don’t take my word for it. The Barbados Parliament has a new updated website and all the Minister’s contributions of the 2015 are stored there.
    Of all the contributions the AG said in his budget and afterwards, this author chose to focus on him saying that he’ll investigate Mia’s qualifications, chupse.
    When the DLP returned to power in 2008, soon after we all heard about the St. Joseph Hospital report and Branford Taitt was vindicated.

This author needs to go and come again.

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Kevin

Not that I like Mia Mottley because I think she is a nasty piece of work but let me tell you, I listen to the debate and the response from her was base on Lowe’s gestures and mouthings in the background. Lowe was obviously agitated because if there was not anything to worry about he should have remaind calm and let Mottley talk her talk until the appointing time for him to tear her up with facts. Did he present any facts besides talking shite about qualifications. You think rather Mottley has an LEC or not, and Lowe a doctor if it will change all the shite that these DLP rats are doing. This shitety government has turned back the clock for everyone all accept themselves. The whole lot are digging deep into the treasury to get all that they can now. Why you think the corruption is so bold and in the open. Shite wunna people really need to wake up..

9. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I should inform you that the qualification at issue, the Certificate of Legal Education [CLE], is not issued by the Faculty of Law, UWI, but by the Law Schools of the Council of Legal Education. We could not offer therefore any authoritative statement on its possession or otherwise.

10. Kevin June 28, 2015 at 11:27 AM #

“The Opposition leader brought up the question of Lowe’s qualification in the first place. She didnt merely mention it, she was almost teasing and tearing down his character saying he is pretending to be an Archbishop and other low blow comments like that.”

Come off it DLP yard-fowl.

Although I hold no brief for Mottley, when Lowe began his contribution to the Budget, he mentioned that Owen Arthur made comments about his qualifications on a previous occasion and NOT Mottley.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Bajanfuhlife June 28, 2015 at 11:27 AM #

“I look forward to Mottley answering the scathing accusations about her role in the debacle at Crab Hill Police station which has fleeced taxpayers by a firm that she has an interest in and was instrumental in awarding the Carb Hill contract to when the said company had no prior history or track record in such dealings.”

What proof do you have that “the said company had no prior history or track record in such dealings”, or are you taking Sinckler’s word as gospel because it is in your interest to do so.

You DLP yard-fowls really amaze me. A bunch of imbeciles who like licking the asses of politicians and worshiping them as the gods they are not.

11. @Jeff

Thanks for the response but the substantive point is the legal space which allowed MAM to practice law in Barbados. Surely the academics at Cave Hill should be seized with this knowledge to have made an authoritative intervention.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Mottley’s LEC according to our Resident Expert on these matters Mr. Caswell Franklyn were laid to rest with his statement that an accomodation was made for the said lady under a provision under the law that obtained some years ago.

Mr. Franklyn shared that MAM and two other persons were made exempt under that provision.

Speaking about exemptions, I wonder what was the exemption employed for Zarina Khan, Attorney at Law as such relates to her entry into Barbados as well as her employment as a lawyer at the then Chambers of MAM prior to her marriage to ***

De ole man ent say nuffin bout *** so dere is no libelous statements appended and all dat de ole man say can be verified if wunna want to.

I think that this submission should cause enquiring minds to pause to examine the nature of the “grit” that exists in our closets and which, with a little digging, can be found and exposed, some of which is more damaging than “imputed malfeasances”.

If you need to find real dirt, look for previous employees or former significant others…

Anyone can say anything about this ZK matter but one cannot falsify the records of the Immigration Department regarding her entry date, nor the labour department regarding waivers accorded her job application.

Even if one could get those records changed, a fact that Plantation Deeds will probably say is possible, you cant falsify the date of marriage (records) under which residency is subsequently claimed or pass out a mass hallucinogenic to all the people who attended the wedding.

The point here is quite simple and in case you discerning readers have not grasped it is “try not to suck no doggies , nor bite out the other thing” because there will come a day when your dirty linen will be exposed and you may have to explain, with verifications, if the brown marks in your sheets are “chocolate stains or shy*e”

We are playing around with the fabric of our nation while presenting posturers and thieves as men of integrity and female change agents

13. @Sunshine, As I said I did not like the fact that Lowe spent his budget time dealing with that qualification issue, but Mia should of never brought it up.

@Artaxerxes, I am no DLP yardfowl neither so dont go there. I voted for the BLP twice and the DLP twice and right now I’m leaning BLP. Dont know if that will hold time when next the bell ring. If one agrees with the DLP or the BLP they aren’t automatically a yardfowl. I dont know why people like to throw around that label. Should I assume all the people throwing licks mostly in the DLP, like you, are BLP yardfowls?

14. Is it not said, more often than a cock crows today, that we like it so?

How then could anyone have a problem with those washed in the blood and now whiter than snow former wrongdoers in high and low places?

15. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

David, do you really think that any statement coming from Cave Hill would be accepted as authoritative if it should conflict with the populist view? This issue is a matter of realpolitik not informed perception.

How do you think that Sir Henry’s definitive statement has been received by the average DLP supporter?

16. @Jeff

Yes it is a political matter, yes those with political agendas will disregard Sir Henry’s explanation and continue to excuse the Attorney General’s leadership. However, all actors in a society have a responsibility to play their part, it should not be influenced by the response.

17. ‘What proof do you have that “the said company had no prior history or track record in such dealings”, or are you taking Sinckler’s word as gospel because it is in your interest to do so.”
    There is proof but what proof is there of Ms Mottley influence in the award of the contract

18. @Kevin

We all know comprehension is a problem of yours. The point is that the AG has had enough time to address the issue of the LEC which falls under his responsibility and he has not. In fact he should have been competent enough to address it on his feet but he preferred the route of politics. He could have called Maurice King who was the AG at the time to confirm DURING the debate.

The point about the St. Joseph Hospital report is that the DEMS called for the report to be made public and they have been in office for 7 years and they have not done what they had called for. We do not include a ministerial statement as qualifying.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Kevin

It ain’t matter to me one bit if you were not happy with Lowes response. We need to see Lowe for what he is. Low life crook masquarading like a saint. So Mia did her dirt, she is not the government at the moment. Point fingers at her will not make this shitety wicked government stop their whole lot of nonsense. We have some nasty pricks who want to sell Barbados to a Englsh woman who is already bragging and dirty Lowe praising and waiting, while a silent circus sweet speaking clown for Prime Minister continue think that he has the right to remain silent. I can’t stand for that shite from a DLP I once love to the DLP I no longer give to two shites about. Though this nasty vile bitch in the form of Mottley is no pleasantry and is no less dirty, she would get my vote any time over these dispicable Low life vagabonds.

20. SSS

The PM is grieving please!

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Kevin June 28, 2015 at 12:23 PM
    “@Artaxerxes, I am no DLP yardfowl neither so dont go there. ”

So if you are “no DLP yardfowl” what are you? DLP backwater-fish like ‘Fractured BLP’ aka ‘Waiting et al’?
    When are you and you lot going to come to the realization the present administration is just not fit for purpose? Just a Mickey mouse government not knowing its elbow from its arse.
    Just a bunch of demonic lying pimps who have taken control of a country that was once the ‘envy of the developing world’.

When a MoF, a GoCBB and a PM can say the numerous of credit rating downgrades over the last 7 years should be dismissed as stupidity on the part of the agencies and should be punished with laughter don’t you think it’s time to take stock to see the shit hounds pretending to manage Barbados Inc.?

Managers sometimes select the ‘wrong’ employees to work for them. Same thing happens when shareholder representatives select the ‘wrong’ managers.

How can Mia Mottley’s qualifications to practise law be the kernel of the discussion when we have an AG- along with a PM both Constitutionally, recognized first servants of the Crown- who personally witnessed voter fraud and refuses to carry out further investigation up to this day?

Which is more important? A illegally elected political party and selected PM and his bribe-influenced Cabinet or a LOTO who attended a prestigious university in a leading city of the ‘developed’ world with the right to practice Law ratified by Statutory Instrument instead of attending a third rate law finishing school in some backwater institution in some lowly-rated country in the world?

22. Isn’t it “diminish” or is it an intended pun as in DEMinish that is to make like the DLP that is “of low standard”?

23. Correct Ping Pong, taking a little license.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The whole island is grieving. What is your point?

25. @SSS

Have a heart, he is the Prime Minister, primus inter pares for heavensakes!

26. @ David June 28, 2015 at 1:19 PM #

“The point is that the AG has has enough time to address the issue of the LEC which falls under his responsibility and he has not. In fact he should have been competent enough to address it on his feet but he preferred to politics. He could have called Maurice King who was the AG at the time to confirm DURING the debate”.

…………………………………………….

It was not in his or the DLP’s interest to do that, David. This was purely raw DLP gutter politics at its worst.

By now all and sundry must see the AG for what he is…………an incompetent useless “piece of” a lawyer whom David Thompson rake up from some where up the island chain and brought home to foist on the people of St Philip South.

I know someone who knew him where he was before and they think nothing of his lawyer skills. I was at a function where he was in attendance and someone in the legal field remarked that he does know “any law”.

So do not be surprised, this stunt they pulled was to take the attention off of the serious accusations of naked greed and corruption taking place.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Are you smoking weed? What that got to do with me? Where is his heart in all the pain he has caused and the insults he add to the injuries inflicted by his callous comments. Where was his heart when he said a crook his friends so to hell with the policy holders. Respect is a two way street. He lost mine a long time ago.

28. David Thompson must have realised the AG’s worth as he had no place for him in his cabinet at first…………………..now we know why!

I saw this AG for what he is worth when he sat at the top of the house and shouted down to Donville Inniss………….wait Donville you aint tell me that he (referring to MP Duguid) wife got children that aint his. This from a man who had a child who was not from his wife as we later learnt when the child tragically died. What a hypocrite.

William Duguid in anger responded as any man would do to defend his wife and he got all the blame.

This tape was then uploaded unto the internet like Lisa Marshall’s personal file from the Transport Board……………….you think the dems sweet?

29. LOwe was not the instigator of all that is happening in reference to Mottley legal standing in this country, Mottley opened her big mouth and accuse Lowe of not having proper documentation to be called a DR. so what was lowe supposed to do , just sit still and leave the matter unattended for trhe Blp yard fowls and gad flies to have a party at his expense. Well HELL NO he did respond correctly and now the rest is history leaving Mia looking like she jumped over the political and legal fence to become a practicing attorney, HAIL to the DR lowe, u have opened a big can of worms that even might implicate the power brokers and the/ mighty / all coming to mia defense for knowingly engaging in illicit practice,

30. Was it not Lowe who continually claimed he had a doctorate from a bible college who does not have a PHD programme? He has now switched to another university. Who is the one changing their tune?

Truth is too hard for dlpites like the ac’s and her kind………………………..we want to hear of the shady dealings with Preconco, Jada, Innotech, Cahill, Cost you less, Leroy Parris………….all white companies. I wonder which party is now in bed with the white man?

Mia is just head and shoulders ahead of you demwits! You cannot touch her!

31. The ACs of the DLP heads is too far up their asses for then to see, hear or understand

32. One would think that with the level of violence going on in Barbados and the influx of guns that this moron for an AG would be spending his time better working with their hand picked COP to come up with strategies to combat this crime wave.

But no, he has time to dig up in MAM’s qualifications like he could ever walk in MAM’s shoes.

He is so tactless……. if he was told that guns were intercepted before being shipped on Fedex, you think he had any right calling an international company’s name like that?

When is he going to have the time to look into the election fraud he witnessed on election day? Is it that he cannot because of whom may be implicates? Hmm!

Dont throw rocks at others……….dems! You all are not clean…….ask SSS!

33. Fractured BLP Avatar

Henry Forde’s defence of Mia Mottley’s LEC qualification……explains why Henry Forde’ law firm was given all the legal work on the Edutech programme.

I hope Mia Mottley remind her audience of this at Tyrol Cot tonight?

34. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

can any one tell me about de late ballot box that did tun up with votes in it for this bald head AG ?

35. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

@Fractured what that got to do with the state Barbados in and the worst govt in the history of Barbados , go and finish suck the bones of the calf, clown

36. You can’t make this stuff, both sides throwing the brown stuff across the divide.

37. @ Equal Rights & Justice, there was no late ballot box you fool. CBC prematurely called the results for St. Philip South before the returning officer made the official statement. Adriel Brathwaithe won just like how George Payne won against Irene Sandiford-Garner in 2008 & 2013. Anthony Wood”s huge lead was wiped away when the votes from the ‘large’ areas of Union, Long Bay and Ruby were tallied. In many respects the votes from districts in St. Philip South that bordered St. Philip North is what caused Adriel to be re-elected; and its popular opinion that he rode on the coattails of Michael Lashley in bringing home SPS for the DLP.

38. Speckled fowl David is that all you have to say, when the smoke and dust is clear i hope u have the integrity to put Mia face on the wall of the lawyers Hall of Shame and Fame in the News along with her accomplices,

39. I posted that part of the law since last week and I am no Attorney General. Stupse,

40. Mitch Sassoon Avatar

If you have the evidence on Mia then why don’t you have a public meeting a al Tyrol Cot tonight? Seems to me deflection won’t work on this Cahill issue.

41. Mitch What public meeting ,this forum is enough of a public meeting for me.. people like u yard ducks show up looking for scratch grain,

42. i dare Mia and the operatives to stream the meeting so everyone can get the full text of what was said instead of the nations interpretation and out of context and mindless content that would be flashed across the newspaper tommorow

43. Mitch Sassoon Avatar

That’s what I thought. The legal qualification issue is just a distraction from the Cahill issue.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The problem here is that we dignify the stupid, red herring remarks coming from the Government side by continuing to refer to them. We do not want to hear about any LEC, we want to hear sound policies and initiatives that will put the people back to work.

45. @Mitch

You are well advised to stay focused on the message so that the intelligent who visit BU may glean something from the contributions.

On 28 June 2015 at 22:43, Barbados Underground wrote:

46. Caswell opinions without relevant statistical information splashed across a piece of paper does not add up to facts, bring the facts to support your loud opinion about poverty levels at its worst in Barbados go ahead bring your research

47. Brathwaite was somewhere in the Virgin Islands and came back to Barbados as an untried and inexperienced attorney before the court of Barbados.Prodigal is correct to draw attention to the foolishness of this AG.If he had any class or decency about him he would not have gone into the gutter.Let the other 2 go and crawl among the vermin but the moment you as an AG of Barbados deign to state that you would be looking into a claim made by a nincompoop that cannot decline the verb BURST,and another JA that uses the am am am incessantly because he has no speaking skills,the moment the AG join those 2 hapless guys who were caught with their hands in the cookie jar,I determined this man has no worth as an AG.
    I recall in January this year the Adriel Brathwaite telling Barbados Today that “when a police tell you…” I say this fellow is joking bad.His standards are low.
    We have a situation in Barbados where an AG returned from the cold and became a failure by our standards.We have a CJ in similar circumstances.Over it all presides a PM who seems out to sea.Poor fellows all.When it comes to law,none of them can touch the brilliance of Dame Mia.An exceptionally gifted gladiator.Not one in the House can match this woman’s oratory or legal skills.I was a juror in the 90’s and saw her first hand dealing some fine blows ‘on her feet’ to the bench when the bencher sought to involve her in a developing matter outside her remit.She was very young,25, and the bencher was a seasoned fellow who thought he could scare her.The woman roasted that bencher.

48. Please , bloggers we know the ACs of the DLP will never see the wrong the DLP has done and is doing to Barbadians , we also know that it takes very Sick minded persons to write what we see the ACs write on BU, it will always got under the skin of us that know right from wrong and can feel the pain and suffering of Barbadians who are not the DLP chosen yard stock , so please if you must take on the ACs, do as the older people used to say, I will tell you two words, ACs , YOU SICK .

49. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

@Caswell , yes you are correct we need to move on to the substantive issues and not be distracted as others like Artax have also said.

But the sheer and utter simple-minded stupidity of these remarks should shine a spotlight on the authors and show them as unfit to be in the House of Assembly.

It was said in earlier post and reiterated by Sir Henry’s remarks that these supposedly astute MPs called into question the competence and integrity of all the persons who would have been in official positions (registrar, AG, etc) when Mottley was called to the Bar and then to the Inner Bar.

They in effect by their blundering remarks called our entire legal system going back 25+ years as fraudulent and inept because according to them that system and people therein allowed a non-qualified lawyer to practice and then to sit as AG of the country.

No review, no careful analysis just inane stupid remarks.

That is the behavior of dullards, not sensible people charged with discussing and dissecting ideas for our legislation and development.

The substantive issue is that they clearly show that they have no right representing their constituents.

How can we accept that anything they do is done with even a modicum of commonsense and careful analysis.

Leave a Reply to Bajan in NYCancel reply