Since his assets were frozen by the court, the former CLICO boss has lamented that he had been experiencing hardshipLeroy Parris (BT)

The mouth of Mr. Hal Gollop, lead lawyer for Leroy Parris,  has been running like a sick nigga botsy of late. His protestations about client Leroy Parris are easily accessed on a weekly basis in the traditional media. How convenient when lawyers and traditional media hide behind the cloak of sub judice to keep the masses ignorant. Our mistake, this is only an interlocutory matter still to be heard!

The CLICO issue is complex and must be delineated within the boundaries of what is legal, moral and political to intelligently inform discussion. Parris and his legal Senior Counsel (SC) to be may yet win the battle to be staged very soon in a law court near you if Gollop’s constitutional motion succeeds, however, the fallout caused by political and moral outrage continues to gain momentum. It appears certain the CLICO issue will bury the political ambition and stain the legacy of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) for eons to come. It rides the back of this government like the proverbial Albatross.

Leroy Parris has the right to exhaust his resources to defend himself against what he believes is an injustice being wrought against him. He has the right to sue the government – led by his pals – for damages. And if he is successful with his court case the taxpayers, voters and CLICO policyholders will have to pay. It appears the incestuous nature of relationships and networks in Barbados have conspired to craft what has to be described as potentially the Mother of all ironies.

It is interesting to note the argument that underpins Hal Gollop’s constitutional motion on behalf of his client Leroy Parris – the delay in having the matter heard to unfreeze the assets of his clients is a violation of his [Parris] rights. IF this government sworn to serve Barbadians was to become similarly motivated a feeling would envelop the land that two Barbadoses do not exist. What about the policyholders? What about victims who are remanded to Dodds for unacceptably long periods? What about ordinary citizens who have cases pending in the court system for years? Are we to conclude the lifes of  affected persons cited are not worth a modicum of consideration by the government? Of course the buck stops with the government although there is the pretence the judiciary and the executive are independent – if there is agreement about the incestuous nature of how things are done in Barbados feel free to connect the dots.

The unravelling CLICO Leroy Parris drama has the potential to be a landscape shifter in Barbados. The BU family must stay focused on the prize; fanning the flame of a democratic society.  We posses a quality the traditional media has surrendered a long time ago on the altar of greed, INDEPENDENCE!

132 responses to “Former Chairman of CLICO Barbados Leroy Parris Suing Cash Strapped Government for Damages”

1. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Simple Simon April 6, 2015 at 11:02 PM #

Someone needs to tell Leroy Parris to show that he is an honourable man and that it is time for him to fall upon his sword
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Should come easy to him. He has been falling on Duprey’s dagger for ages.

2. @Colonel Apr 06,1123pm
    I have a couple of friends both of whom had that experience.Both of them are prominent and monied businessmen.One pursued a thief and fired a warning shot.
    The police had him on a charge of discharging a firearm in a public place.The other was a similar situation on the foreshore and involving the businessman’s pleasure boat.Warning shot again.Police charge the businessman with the same offence,discharging a firearm in a public place.In both cases their licences had to be handed over and firearm held until the hearing and the court was satisfied no member of the public was put in a dangerous position.The was no prosecution of the perps.

3. @ Gabriel
    There are many of us who think that Bajans only recently became brass bowls.
    NOT AT ALL….this kinda shiite has been the norm for decades now…

Admittedly, Froon and his band has been the perfect storm, but the REAL thing that has changed is called social media……

4. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@ Gabriel at 3:04 …I have a couple of friends both of whom …The police had him on a charge of discharging a firearm in a public place…In both cases their licences had to be handed over and firearm held until the hearing and the court was satisfied no member of the public was put in a dangerous position.The was no prosecution of the perps.=================

Lesson learned by the two businessmen: If you are going to discharge a firearm then it must be for a valid and just reason.

Shooting the perp in the process of an attack is just and valid. A warning shot is not.

I am not a gun owner but have been around enough of them to know that when you pull that trigger make sure there is nothing wasteful or happenstance about it.

Either shoot the thief if your life or that of your family is in danger or SHOUT and warn him off.

The only good warning shots are those in westerns; and they are are definitely old school these days!

In the Gittens’ case he shot the men in the back so clearly they were not a threat to him. He should be arrested on attempted murder.

Your friends surely would have been if they did what he did.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dee Ingrunt Word April 7, 2015 at 4:19 PM
    “In the Gittens’ case he shot the men in the back so clearly they were not a threat to him. He should be arrested on attempted murder.”

What is so “attempted” in a situation where one man died on the spot? More like damn outright murder in one case “attempted” in the other.
    Can’t you see the man is not just a mere loose cannon but stark raving ballistic jackass bent on killing anyone in his way?

6. miller, my friend…………………

I heard some bad news over the weekend on one of my “hob knobbings”. We all knew that as soon as we heard the moron we have pretending to be a PM trying to change the conversation by talking about Barbados becoming a republic, we knew that bad news was on the horizon. They are so predictable.

Well, I have been told things are worse in Barbados than we thought. 70% of NIS funds are tied up in government paper. The NIS was used to prop up everything, plug every hole. That prop has now all but dried up.

The IMF will be here shortly, in a matter of weeks to conduct another consultation which is out of character at this time. Is it not every two years? The Central Bank has continued to print money against the specific IMF wishes and this has made matters worse.

I found it passing strange that in the Sunday Sun, all of a sudden the Stinkliar was willing to offer up his job for the good of Barbados. Strange indeed.

The old folk had some sayings that are so true…..”Night does run until day catches it”. Stinkliar, the PM and the dems continue to lie to Barbadians but the truth will come out eventually.

So we will wait and see!!!!!!

7. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Over the years I’ve heard Barbadians insisting that it would be a bad move to recruit soldiers from the BDF into the RBPP, for the simple reason that soldiers are ” trained to kill.” and look what we have here.
    Soldiers are trained to kill, but not in such a blatant cowardly manner as is the case here. Soldiers are subject to the Geneva Convention, which dictates that outside of face to face combat, a soldier must SHOUT , not SHOOT, a warning three times , ie HALT! HALT! HALT!, before considering opening fire. And I stress considering. As in one active situation experience ,after shouting the required ,warning and COCKING the rifle ,and the assailant posed no further threat ,then the rifle was cleared. If it was necessary to fire, permission had to be sought from HQ.
    Some of the questions that must be asked, is if this policeman is a license gun holder,and if the weapon involved is a police service weapon,and did he have PRIOR permission to carry that weapon.

8. Colonel Buggy Avatar

I have vision of some of these same bastards in years to come walking the streets of Bridgetown pissing themselves, and talking a new kind of idle crap.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son April 7, 2015 at 5:37 PM
    “I found it passing strange that in the Sunday Sun, all of a sudden the Stinkliar was willing to offer up his job for the good of Barbados. Strange indeed.”

Both you and I are certainly not surprised that the Stinkliar shit is about to hit the fan.
    For a long time we were warning these jackasses about their fiscally irresponsible profligacy for which the country will have to pay a very heavy price.
    For our early warnings out of sheer national concern we were labeled prophets of doom and gloom and BLP yard-fowls (who, btw, are not even members of the BLP).
    Now that doom and gloom are about to descend upon Barbados what new label would the BU jackasses likes ac & Co attach to us. Traitors that should be put before Ronald Jones firing squad headed by Killer Gittens?

How can Stinkliar in all honesty prepare a set of Estimates showing a deficit or funding gap of $1.7 billion with absolutely no realistic proposal to finance that deficit except by way of additional taxation on the poor working class and heavy reliance on the NIS and Worrell’s printing press?
    Didn’t the blasted fool realize such a humongous deficit on top of a $11 billion and growing debt would attract the attention and ire of the credit rating agencies and the IMF who will be here to take FULL Control of the country’s financial affairs before Barbados is turned into a real basket case by the current lot of banana eating clowns?

For sure both Pinocchio Stinkliar and Garden Gnome Worrell need to go. The sooner the better and certainly outside of Fumble Stuart’s timeframe of decision-making.

10. Right on, miller! Well said.

11. Miller and Prodigal
    As I recall our public minded economists have been saying since 2009 that this DLP government has been borrowing about 40 million a month from the NIS to prop up the current account.I for one am not surprised to hear that the NIS funds firstly were moved from the oversight of the ministry of finance by Stuart and secondly put under the purview of the medical doctor who lost her seat during the last election and was restored to the ministry but speaking out of the senate to continue to oversee billions of pension dollars although the senate has no authority on matters of finance.Pure unadulterated confusion exists in this administration.Recall too that the IMF made some specific pointers in respect of the working relations between the Minister of Finance and the Governor of the Central Bank.

12. So the tief and his lackey lawyer got shown the door at Court today. Still no date for their hearing. Let him wait six years to be heard like the pensioners he robbed. Who the hell he thinks he is he can jump to the front of the queue of 25,000 Bajans? Maybe he’s starting to find out he can’t buy everyone. Its about time.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mitchlans April 7, 2015 at 11:04 PM

Yes my naïve friend, continue to live in cloud cuckoo land and not the real banana republic called Justice Barbados.
    Do you understand how deep the CLICO tentacles of corruption and bought protection against the law run in Bim?
    If a man can commit fraud to the firmly established tune of $3.3 million and remains untouchable to the police (while a hungry man is sent to Dodds for stealing a tin of sardines or a boy from the block is charged for smoking a spliff) don’t you think the same man who has royal loyal pals at the very top of the governance pole can buy his brand of justice in any court in the banana republic?

You should listen carefully to the calypso craftily penned by Adonijah “Two Barbadoes” and you might understand what we are saying to you, innocent one.

Parris will get what Parris demands and pays for, Justice included!

14. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@millertheanunnaki at 7:48 …Parris will get what Parris demands and pays for, Justice included!=============

That he will indeed.

You do know well of course that the great puppet-master John O’halloran on whose legacy nephew Duprey surely fashioned his empire was brought to heel.

John Gotti of NY wise-men notoriety also fell.

It took a long time in both cases, many millions of $$ had already done its dastardly work and indeed many good people lost their lives but the empires fell.

Mr. Parris’ empire is doomed also. There will be justice…delayed though it be.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dee Ingrunt Word April 8, 2015 at 8:14 AM
    “Mr. Parris’ empire is doomed also. There will be justice…delayed though it be.”

Yes indeed, there will be justice alright! Justice by the name of the Great Leveller.
    But not before Parris’s assets are unfrozen to pay those who he has in his pockets, lawyers included.
    The broken wheel of the Real Justice for Crimes grinds so slowly in the banana republic that Parris could go to heaven and back before the hidden spoke on which he treads is fixed.

16. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Mitchlans April 7, 2015 at 11:04 PM #

So the tief and his lackey lawyer got shown the door at Court today. Still no date for their hearing. Let him wait six years to be heard like the pensioners he robbed. Who the hell he thinks he is he can jump to the front of the queue of 25,000 Bajans? Maybe he’s starting to find out he can’t buy everyone. Its about time.@@

This HIV, Ebola, Cancer is in the Full Body of Barbados lawmakers ,lawyers, doctors , friends and family of such , Take none at their word, After they finish telling you , then ask them to tell the truth , Silence will follow,
    The Big Picture that is real and live is not a pretty one.

They not focus on the rights of the crooks and not the victims ,going to court once again put crime back in the hand of the lawyers , who help get this mess started, They advise to be greedy and not lawful,

In American they are or were looking to have you go before the same Judge for any and every thing when charge, So you will have a personal Judge till he dies or retire,
    Every Judge in Barbados have a hand in the crimes , for most were lawyers doing the same mess the lawyers to day doing , David Simmons , Keith Simmons, One two punch that KO Barbados,

17. NC Police Officer charged with murder for shooting unarmed black man in the back. http://edition.cnn.com/2015/04/08/us/south-carolina-officer-charged-with-murder/
    Poor officer, he should have done that in Barbados.

18. Let us see what the DLP yardfowls have to say to this latest development.

19. @ David

This demonstrates the power of forensic auditing.

Perhaps you could use a separate blog for comments on this new and interesting development.

20. @Artax

Submit something nuh!

21. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Re. the 5:32 am post

Great news. Now let’s watch as the dominoes fall.

The fall might be slow at first but it will pick up momentum taking along the Mara’s and others in its path.

Elections soon? anyone?

Let’s see what the ac’s reaction to that news will be, especially the big AC.

22. I wonder if he is still not a leper?

23. I swear my question mark has take over my full stop’s button.

24. are-we-there-yet February 3, 2016 at 9:17 AM #

“Great news. Now let’s watch as the dominoes fall.”

Recall that on January 25, 2015 CLICO, through the judicial manager filed a civil suit, claim form 99/2015, against Leroy Parris, Branlee Consulting Services and the estate of late Prime Minister David Thompson (by his widow, Mara Thompson) to recover the sum $3.333M.

According to the filed statement of the claim, CLICO International Life Insurance Limited alleged that on January 16, 2009, Parris “in breach of fiduciary duty and/or in breach of trust” procured a CLICO cheque #92, in the amount of $3 333 000 to Thompson & Associates. It further stated that those individuals/entities named in the suit should account to CLICO for the money, noting that there was no resolution from the board of directors of CLICO International Life Insurance Company to authorize payment.

On January 27, 2015 during an ex parte hearing, Justice William Chandler made an order in the High Court to freeze the assets of Leroy Parris and his company Branlee Consulting Services Inc. to the tune of $4.5 million.

Parris subsequently applied to the High Court to overturn an order freezing his assets and those of his company, Branlee Consulting Services Inc., citing “undue hardship.”

“Parris STATED there is NO DIFFERENCE BETWEEN the late Prime Minister DAVID THOMPSON and DAVID THOMPSON AND ASSOCIATES as the latter is ONLY a BUSINESS NAME. In his application to the court Parris made the point that the WIDOW of the late Prime Minister, Mara Thompson should then be SOUGHT for ANSWERS as she was DESCRIBED as the PERSONAL ASSOCIATE of David Thompson and not the law firm De Novo Attorneys-at-law.” [Trivester, Sunday February 15, 2015]

This situation became one of “every man brek fuh he self.”

25. It would be even better news if the name now emblazoned on the new St John Polyclinic is erased.

26. The Guyana government is moving to recover US$26 million of NIS funds tied up in Clico there.

27. And will we now see BRA investigate whether the income of $3.3m was stated on Parris tax return for that year and explore why VAT was not charged and whether it was thus a fraudulent invoice on more than one count?

28. mitch….
    What BRA what??!!
    You see those pictures on top of this blog?

A woman ‘running’ dat BRA thing…… ie Stinkliar decides, not the rules /Law….

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ mitchlans February 3, 2016 at 10:29 PM

Your concern has been raised on numerous occasions and to no avail. As Bushie pointed out the people who are to exercise this duty of income tax law enforcement is buried in the corrupt bowels of the same untouchable leper.

Not only has the ruling confirm the payment as invalid but has given greater credence to the suggestion that money laundering might also be involved. We shall see if the ‘powers-that-be ‘ follow through with this line of investigation now that ‘objective’ additional evidence has been brought to light.

Failure to do such can only make one more concerned about the country’s international rating on the index of corruption.

One also wonders if the nouveau riche the G(a)lloping godhorse is going to appeal this decision up to the CCJ. Hasn’t he extracted enough fees (pensioner’s lost savings) from the silly greenverbs fella from the Lemon Arbor plantation tenantry land? Why is he taking advantage of these silly psychologically at risk wannabe social elites? Poor Leroi the estimable leper and now the sickly Adios Marie. He is no better than the damn(ed) speaker who took advantage of the wheelchair-bound pensioner for over 10 years.
    The same advocate of justice once opined that morality is the highest law of society. One can only conclude that morality has taken a nosedive at the same speed as the credit rating of the country.
    Dr. Faustus would have been proud of you.

30. mitchlans February 3, 2016 at 10:29 PM #

“And will we now see BRA investigate whether the income of $3.3m was stated on Parris tax return for that year and explore why VAT was not charged and whether it was thus a fraudulent invoice on more than one count?”

@ Mitchlans

I agree with you 100%, but obviously you are not familiar with the BRA (which has continued where Inland Revenue left off). The name has changed but the status quo remains the same. Our tax administrators do not investigate the “big boys”, they prefer to scrutinize poor people’s tax returns and find all types of loop holes so as to deny them their legitimate refunds.

I had a client with a small business whose VAT returns and business transactions for about 3 years were audited by the VAT Division. The officer who reviewed the transactions was a former policeman that grew up in the same area as my client. He made a comment to the office clerk that her boss was making “a lot of money.”

When money was available, the client would buy enough stock to last him for at least two months. Having not found any evidence of him filing falsified returns, the officer decided that he would categorize the owner’s purchase of stock as “bulk buying” and prorated the purchases into consecutive months, so as to disqualify him from receiving a VAT refund when applicable. But did not recalculate for those months my client had to pay VAT.

He then recalculated the returns and added interest and penalties, which caused the owner to owe VAT in excess of $100,000. Unfortunately, the longer you owe, penalties and interest accumulate. As a result his business is now closed.

Do you think that VAT officer or any other officer, would have done that to Leroy Parris, especially knowing Parris could “call a shot” to get him transferred?

31. Violet C Beckles Avatar

That is a small part of outside justice? Where is the inside justice to the crooks, DPP COP not doing their work , they feel if they dont look they will not see, if they do not see they can not charge, if they do not charge , then there is no case, Fvvckery,
    All them bitches going down , We will not see who the Blockers are , All 3 of the Major crook on the same ROAD,, called WHITEPARK , SIR RICHARD L CHALTENHAM , SIR EX CJ SIMMONS/ COURT AND CLICO 3 GROUP THAT NEED TO FALL IN BIM.