Submitted by Anthony Davis
Dr Tennyson Joseph

Stuart pointed out that for all practical purposes, Barbados was already a republic. A Republican form of government stipulates that those run the people’s affairs should be chosen directly or indirectly by the people themselves. We already do that. Under republicanism, the persons who administer your affairs can serve during your pleasure. In other words, they should only be able to stay as long as you want them to stay Barbados Today

Dear Mr. Prime Minister, please tell me where you will get the money needed to change around everything from the Monarchical system to that of the Republican one?

The Minister of Finance is always complaining about “low cash flow” when it comes to satisfying the needs of the poor, the needy and the vulnerable, and the institutions on which they depend. You come to us now with something which is nothing but another red herring to try to get out of the predicament you are in at present.

You state that there are three reasons why Barbados is “for all purposes already a republic”. However, the criterion for the third is null and void because the Speaker of the House of Assembly has not only been accused of misconduct, but found guilty of so doing. Fingers are still being pointed at him, but he has refused to step down and has this Government’s backing for so doing. Also, if Barbados is already practically a republic, why waste the taxpayers’ money for changing over to one?

The Minister of Finance says that there is still a “low cash flow”, and this will probably continue until the third quarter of next year.

Whence will the money come to change over to the republic system, knowing that it will all cost money? That money would be better being pumped into the QEH! We may need a republic, but not under such circumstances where it seems that you are only doing it for your own self-aggrandisement!

135 responses to “Talk About a Republic Merely a Diversion”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 29, 2015 at 3:57 PM

It would do you a world of cleansing good to take a generous dose of Epsom salts to purge your mind of the years of built-up shite by reading what an ardent supporter of that once dearly beloved party has to say @ Hants March 29, 2015 at 3:09 PM.

Why not dispel any doubt about the way the country should go by putting it to the people? What is Fumble Stuart afraid of, if not the recent Wickham ‘pole’ up his unpopular backside?

Even if he does not go the way of the Referendum why not get his DLP to ‘test’ the pulse of the ‘nation’ by commissioning a true poll on the citizens’ feelings about going the republican route? He can get Bjerkham or some other banana republic sympathetic mafia outfit to underwrite the cost of some foreign pollsters similar to the cost of printing overseas your party’s 2013 manifesto which said nothing about republicanism.

2. @ miller u can take your ardent views of what the DLP should do or not do and ball them up and stick them up your backside so far the PM has not engaged or be influenced by the mouthing of the blp operatives who are unable to grasp the fact of the last election. can’t help but notice that these operatives are constant flame throwers looking for do-overs

3. Republic my arse!! We were also supposed to achieve First World Status in a few years. As it is ,we are now on a level with Haiti,or below, as Haiti has bagan to show some growth,while Barbados is still stuck in turd gear ,driven the ultimate ZR drivers.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 29, 2015 at 4:31 PM
    “.. so far the PM has not engaged or be influenced by the mouthing of the blp operatives who are unable to grasp the fact of the last election.”

I suspect the person who has not grasped the “fact of the last election” is the DLP newly adopted ‘has-been’ guru of paro economics and republicanism Sir OSA (dismissed and retired having long past his sell-by-date in 2008)

But he Lord Fumble from copycat Molasses Hill is being influenced by a BLP past master called OSA. Fumble is only taking over the republican baton from his denuded mentor OSA.
    His other mentor in anal recreation Cammie Tudor was a true monarchist like a Bajan to the bone. Now how the hell in’ tarnation’ is Lord Fumble going to explain this torn-between two-lovers situation to the devil of Lies and the god of Hypocrisy?

5. No doubt about it we are a republic, banana, tamarind ,call it whatever you like. In a few days time the month of April will be upon us and the people of this country ,and most importantly the sugar cane farmers, seem not to have a clue, if and when the 2015 sugar cane harvest is going to start. But yesterday we hear the Minister of Agriculture expressing the benefits to Barbados of GROWING ORCHIDS,at a function just a stone throw away from one of the world first and leading Cane Breeding Stations in the world.
    Forget about the Canes and Orchids, skipper, that is St John, why not support the marijuana farmers up there as well.
    Any proposals for a $500Million state -of -the art Orchid multi purpose factory?

6. In today’s news we learn that EMERA is a bit peeved about the recent publication in the press over its intended mass retrenchment,a la the Barbados Government.
    EMERA’S states that it intends to deal with this matter more confidentially,and on a one to one basis.
    Tell me, Caswell how can this matter be dealt with on a one-to-one basis. Aren’t these individuals not represented by a workers union?

7. Correction: Are these individuals not represented by a workers union?

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Colonel

BWU has not represented anyone at BL&P for a long time, even though the workers continue to pay dues.

9. @ miller
    so what if OSA has some thing of importance to bring to the table all in pushing barbados forward to a higher level ,,,what is wrong with that…the days of self centredeness and naked political jealousy and rivalry should be over but apparently not so….. as the BLP operatives are willing and able to strike that cord at a moments notice taking the nation and its people to a level of disunity,

10. WHO SAYS A REPUBLIC= PERSONAL FREEDOM +INDEPENDENCE

The USA is nothing more than a corporation :

Extracted from the WWW.

Recently, the Natural News Editors wrote a classic article depicting the fact that the corporations have seized every branch of government.

What they failed to realize is that the alleged land of the free and the home of the brave is a public relations scam to give false security to the “employees” living here.

In 1981, William Casey the then Director of the CIA said: “We’ll know our disinformation campaign is complete, when absolutely everything the American people believe is false”.

While we understand that the hookers (lobbyists) for the major corporations seem to control Washington, few people know that Washington, D.C. is nothing more than a corporation. Actually, it is the Mother Corporation of a huge network of state and local governments and governmental so-called agencies that is in reality a CORPORATE franchise system.

First, we have to review the history that was omitted from what was taught to us. The first step is to realize that the original Constitution of 1787 was pillaged and raped after the Civil War and on February 21, 1871, Congress passed and Act to provide a government for the District of Columbia, also known as the Act of 1871.

The Act, with no constitutional authority to do so, created a separate form of government for the District of Columbia.

After the Civil War, the country was really screwed up, weakened, and financially destitute. So, Congress brokered a deal with the Rothchilds’ of London to incur a debt.

Remember, England was really po’d after getting kicked out of the U.S. and wasn’t about to lend money to someone that kicked their butt unless they could get their foot in the proverbial door of CONTROL.

So, The Act of 1871 actually formed a corporation called THE UNITED STATES, which was now to be owned by foreign interests that swooped in and flushed the original Constitution down the toilet.

Because of this deviousness, you can better understand why the following happened:

*USA INC granted corporations the rights of persons in an avalanche of lawsuits right after the end of the Civil War.

*USA INC turned over control of credit and currency to the same international bankers (Rothchilds) by passing the Federal Reserve Act in 1913 and initiated a taxation scam on the people via the 16th Amendment.

*USA INC turned the US Treasury Department, with all its assets, over to the private Federal Reserve in 1920 under the Independent Treasury Act.

In the 1930’s, the plot to bankrupt USA INC began.

*USA INC after being pillaged, raped and bankrupted by the Federal Reserve banking cartel, turned over the entire country including all its employees (the people) as collateral on its corporate debt and bound the individual states to it bankruptcy obligations.

*USA INC gave its CEO (the President) the authority to call a national emergency aka a banking “holiday” and establish Executive Branch ‘agencies’ to manage the state of emergency, which is still in place as we speak, solidifying far reaching “Executive Orders”.

*USA INC declared the American people, enemies of the state and forced them to surrender their gold and use Federal Reserve debt notes as currency.

*USA INC issued Birth Certificates and Social Security numbers, registering people as collateral for the payment of the debt owed to the same banking cartel.

*USA INC started requiring the American people, as enemies, to get licenses to do business.

*USA INC gradually altered the legal system and implemented corporate Admiralty law, aka statutory law, throughout all of the states, counties and municipalities. The statutes are for THEIR corporations and agencies and only apply to us if we agree to contract with them.

In the 70’s and 80’s, USA INC removed the gold standard from the dollar, tricked the states into sending their tax revenues to the District of Criminals and authorized the Department of Defense to wage war on the general population, which is obviously being done every day.

In 1992 the CEO of USA INC ordered the corporate states, counties and municipalities to sell off their public’s assets. Come on, do you really own your home?

In 2001 USA INC passed the Patriot Act, which allows unlimited spying on the American population and in 2011 Obama, the current CEO of USA INC, signed the National Defense Authorization Act, allowing the arrest and indefinite detention of ANYONE on US soil simply for not being in his good graces.

So, why aren’t we told we are still classified as enemies of the state by the so-called federal government and why haven’t we heard of the USA INC bankruptcy of 1933 and why aren’t we told our justice system is based on corporate/commercial law and not on justice?

Because all lawyers, including self-proclaimed constitutional ‘experts’, have to swear an oath of secrecy and agree to administer the bankruptcy. Did you ever wonder why many of our so-called elected representatives are lawyers themselves?

Guess what? We did not and if we knew, would not have agreed to any of this. We were kept in the dark and now find ourselves contracting with a completely corrupt franchise system that does not in any way represent our best interests and worse, we don’t even know its there.

So, I guess that CIA Director was right when he said “. . .everything the American people believe is false.”

Now what? Is our alleged government of, for, and by the people? Hell no! These “politicians” are posing as a government serving their private corporations listed on Dun and Bradstreet by their all capitalized corporate names.

We owe them no loyalty and it is our duty to expose the fact that they are fraudulently receiving public funds and governmental immunity while they are actively profiting from and harming all of us, even if their employees are as much in the dark as the rest of us.

Sources:

http://www.anticorruptionsociety.com

http://www.federaljack.com/slavery-by-consent-the-united-states-corporation/

http://www.barefootsworld.net.usfraud.html

11. It is reported ” states that it intends to deal with this matter more confidentially,and on a one to one basis.”

That is good business practice.

It is also good worker practice to consult their union representative AND an employment lawyer before they agree to a “settlement”.

Sweet talk don’t pay bills.

12. Here are the major signs of government corruption:

◾Fraud and/or Misrepresentation in all fields.
    ◾Conflict of interest
    ◾Bribery
    ◾Lack of transparency (concealment or deception)
    ◾Manipulated (or omitted) studies or facts.
    ◾Propaganda (‘spinning’ the facts to conceal the truth) disseminated by Government thro the mainstream media!!

Manipulation of the legal system.
    Dishonest Legal Officers.

A displayed contemp for Populace by Ministers.

13. one thing i can say for PM stuart he knows “good timing” and he knows how ! when! and where to throw scratch grain in which and whose direction and the yardfowls always respond on queue

14. @Col, Buggy

“”Barbados is still stuck in turd gear ,driven the ultimate ZR drivers””

I take my hat off to you Sir.

In 12 words; a TOTAL summary of Barbados today.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE one thing i can say for PM stuart he knows “good timing” and he knows how ! when! and where to throw scratch grain in which and whose direction and the yardfowls always respond on queue

SO VERY VERY TRUE!
    BUT AFTER ALL THESE YEARS HE STILL DOES NOT HAVE A CLUE OF HOW TO RUN BARBADOS……..PROPERLY

HE CERTAINLY RUNS IT AS THOUGH HE IS THROWING throw scratch grain in SEVERAL directions

16. @ Caswell who said…
    What is all this nonsense about Freundel being ugly. Be that as it may; what is the problem? After all everybody can’t look like me.
    ………………..also…
    BWU has not represented anyone at BL&P for a long time, even though the workers continue to pay dues.
    ………………..
    LOL …. skippa you kickingup real dust tonight ent it??…!!
    Sounds to Bushie as if Unity membership picking up…. However don’t you start counting your chickens before they hatch…. by the time Froon and company done with Barbados only AC and a few other yard fowls will be employed… your membership may not be able to pay you any fees…..

Tek Bushie foolish advice hear — GO FOR BUP instead….

BTW Caswell, you said …”After all everybody can’t look like me. ”
    …and we thank God for that fact every single day…. It is bad enough that Bajans are brass bowls …shiite man, we could not take THAT much more of a burden…. 🙂

17. @ David March 29, 2015 at 9:30 AM #

Does this talk being floated about a Republic has the support of the Opposition? The government needs their support to swing this right?

………………………………

If I were the Opposition, I would tell Fumble that they did not give turning Barbados into a republic the time of day in their manifesto only a short time ago. If they want to go republic, go back to the electorate. If the electorate votes no, they should resign immediately.

Fumble float this out there to change the agenda………..

The damaging revelations in the unsealed CLICO report

Poor people not being able to get NIS benefits

People cannot get their Income tax refunds or companies their VAT refunds or Corporation tax refunds

Poor people not being able to get buses to go about their daily business

Two ministers driving vehicles registered to a company which is getting lots of government work

A DLP operative charging over $700,000 for legal work for which another charged $17,000 under a previous administration

Garbage piling up all over the country with trucks in scarcity

The QEH in a mess, with a shortage daily of basic supplies thus compromising the health of all Barbadians. Things are so bad that suppliers are only supplying if the goods are paid for in cash and then the same amount required to pay down the monies owed

NCC workers laid off years ago still cannot get their due after a deceitful PM whom they apparently trusted referred their matter to a tribunal which he knew was not functioning

A Speaker of the esteemed Parliament withholding funds belonging to his client in a matter that lasted 14 years which he still refused to turn over even after being ordered to do so by the High Court. Remember how this same crooked Speaker carried on when the opposition refused to attend the $100,000 cocktail reception when a Prince was here? What a hypocrite! The Opposition disrespected Parliament for not attending a pappy show yet he can sit as a Speaker of this House while being a crook.

Allowing a member of the DLP to charge over $700,000 for simple legal work

Selling out the CLICO policy holders with lying promises

Having a woman in their ranks who sits on great wealth while the CLICO policy holders suck salt

Destroying the lives of a generation of young people by refusing to fund the UWI and making them pay exorbitant fees at UWI and then seemingly condoning their incompetence by insulting the President of the Guild of Students

Cutting the budgets of schools that many of them have no basic materials with which to teach our children

I am tired at this point talking about this destructive bunch of morons!

“Brek up dem”, this is something the Nation should be writing about! Your biases, not the Nation’s perspective is an insult to intelligent Barbadians.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Prodigal Son March 29, 2015 at 7:53 PM #
    THERE IS A NEED TO GET AS MANY FOLK IN BARBADOS TO READ THESE EXPOSITIONS ON BU

THERE IS A NEED TO EXPOSE THE DLP and the BLP TOTHE UNSUSPECTING POPULACE

TALK TO THE SCHOOL CHILDREN AND GET THEM TO TALK TO THEIR PARENTS

19. Onward Captain Stuart and Arthur!
    Republic of Barbados beckons.
    The current BLP miscreants of Mia Mottley, Trevor Prescod, Gline Clarke,
    George Payne, Ronald Toppin and Cynthia Forde MUST support the call for

Republicanism…….after all they already composed the ‘Republic Song’ in the late 1990’s !

Talking about spit……falling back in your face!

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 29, 2015 at 5:46 PM
    ” …so what if OSA has some thing of importance to bring to the table all in pushing barbados forward to a higher level
    ,,,what is wrong with that…the days of self centredeness and naked political jealousy and rivalry should be over but apparently not so..”

What OSA would bring to the table was rejected in February 2013 by the likes of you, ac & co.

Do you remember rejecting his demonized privatization proposals and the DLP concocted propaganda plan to send home thousands of public sector workers?

What about his plagiarized disclosure to incentivize through the tax system parents and individuals to make private provisions for their children’s education and health requirements. Isn’t that being preached today by the DLP headed by a lying cvnt of a PM?

OSA is no different today than he was in January 2008 and February 2013. Just cold soup warmed over and given to the DLP and Fumble to serve to idiots and yard ducks like you.

BTW, have you received a private explanation from OSA about the $75,000.00 cheque.
    Is he OSA no longer a paro outlaw wanted for the selling off of Bajan-owned commercial assets and land to foreigners? It seems so since all is forgiven and OSA is now elevated to the status of Sainthood.

21. Rhi Rhi rocks. Animated film “Home” has $54 million box office debut.

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni58448850/

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Hants March 29, 2015 at 9:37 PM #
    Rhi Rhi rocks. Animated film “Home” has $54 million box office debut.

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni58448850/

HANTS IS THIS ANOTHER DLP DIVERSION?

23. Hants March 29, 2015 at 9:37 PM #

Rhi Rhi rocks. Animated film “Home” has $54 million box office debut.
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    A blogger on another site,said that since the announcement of Barbados’ intention to go republic,and with the picture of the Prime Minister splashed across the world’s press. Barbados has now become famous for R&B ……..Rihanna and the Beast.

24. “more and more foreigners were having greater and greater control over more and more of our land spaces in this Barbados”

For my benefit PDC because I am nosy and like to know things- I notice the use of the words “greater and greater control’ but name for me one piece of land space that was sold to foreigners by the Owen Arthur Administration.

25. @ balance
    “…..name for me one piece of land space that was sold to foreigners by the Owen Arthur Administration.”
    You can always depend on Bushie to catch you when you to go off-balanced…..

Don’t talk shiite now B….
    Owen was PRIME MINISTER of Barbados…not manager of COW or BS&T. His role was to have a national vision, influence behaviors, monitor progress and guide development.
    He will NOT be judged by how much land he sold to foreigners….but by how much he allowed to be sold; facilitated the sale of; and indeed… ENCOURAGED the sale of, to foreigners.
    shiite man…..Owen actually articulated a policy of encouraging ‘high worth’ individuals to invest here ..and provided incentives that were NOT available to locals.

Owen sell land shiite….even worse…
    He sold out Barbados to outsiders for a pot of porrage…erasing all the sacrifices that had been made by early Bajans who SCRUNTED and saved to buy OWNERSHIP in Bartel, BNB, BL&P, BS&T and other vital national assets.

Lotta CSME shiite …..and begging cap in hand behind rich white people to come back and re-establish the old plantation system.

Well, ..now we have MASSY laughing at we; and EMERA ruling their newly acquired plantation with a big stick….

…..and he actually got the gall to come now talking shiite about “asset rich” and cash poor….
    We ain’t cash poor….we are leadership starved…starting with him….

French Connector (UK) !!

26. @ Georgie Porgie who wrote “HANTS IS THIS ANOTHER DLP DIVERSION?”

NO GP. JUST EXERCISING MY FREEDOM TO BLOG AS I PLEASE.

WUNNA CAN CONTINUE TO ATTACK THE DLP. DOAN MINE ME.

27. When oh when will this happen in Barbados?

Former Israeli Prime Minister Ehud Olmert has been convicted of unlawfully accepting money from a U.S. supporter in a retrial of corruption charges.
    The 69-year-old accepted around £104,000 ($153,950) from Morris Talansky while he was a cabinet minister, Jerusalem District Court heard.
    He could now be given five years in prison – in addition to a six-year sentence he received in 2014 for a separate bribery conviction.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3017510/Former-Israeli-premier-Olmert-guilty-bribery-case.html#ixzz3VsFhtTx9
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

28. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

As the walls fall on this Massive Land fraud and Ponzi ,most will see more pain to come , Its will be a while the pain stop, Maybe when an election is called and the people let their Brain show at the Polls, Media in BIM is also to blame for not telling the truth and covering up for the both DBLP government,

29. When you think that this government cannot get any worse, they deal Barbados another low blow.

Can you imagine that these morons could be so insensitive as to host a big black tie affair to honour employees at a time when the hospital does not have the basic supplies and doctors are crying out daily? Under different circumstances, I would have no problem with this function but “cudgod” why now?

Just like I cannot understand why the moron we have for a PM keep hosting parties for visitors when they are not spending money…..yet he turns around and spend back what little they spend on them. Does this makes sense…….only to the morons we have as a government.

I keep saying that we the people have to get up and stand up against this government. They keep taking the people for fools.

30. I must take my hat off to the DLP Spin Doctors. They are good! They are tossing distractions at us like bullets out of an AK47. On the heels of the master stroke “Republic soon” talk, we now have to contend with the newly proposed Barbados Airways.
    A Barbados Airline????????/ lest we forget
    Transport Board buses
    Sanitation Service Authority trucks
    QEH ambulances.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Colonel Buggy March 30, 2015 at 12:51 PM #

they are hoping to get 1 out of 4 right lol

32. Do you think that the United States is going to be pleased with another little banana , begging bowl republic on its door step.It was not pleased back then during Cold War #1 when the Kremlin was looking in the Caribbean for a firing point at the back door to the USA ,in one of the hand- to -mouth island- republics. A few years ago when it looked as if USA , UK and the EU were becoming close chums of Russia and states of the former Soviet Union ,what took place in the Caribbean no longer mattered.The USA no longer had to play sugar daddy to the Caribbean to keep the leaders from pursing other avenues. Today we scarcely see a US Naval warship come a- visiting, and very seldom one from the Royal Navy. But the situation is gradually changing, sort of reverting to the days of the Cold War, with Putin flexing his recovered muscles,in what has now become Cold War # 2, and ISIS and others looking for that coveted back door to the USA mainland.
    Declaring Barbados a republic is not going to be an easy ride for any country in the Caribbean,regardless of which political party is in power.
    The United States giveth and the United States taketh away.

33. Prodigal Son March 30, 2015 at 11:26 AM #

“Just like I cannot understand why the moron we have for a PM keep hosting parties for visitors when they are not spending money…..yet he turns around and spend back what little they spend on them. Does this makes sense…….only to the morons we have as a government.”

Excellent point, Prodigal.

34. So Ronald Jones is backing the Prime Minister on this Republic thing. Not surprise. Ronald Jones has already qualified,by his ”Crack some heads” speech, as a budding dictator. But more of a concern, is that he seems to think that his party will have the support of the Opposition.
    A lot of what Plantation Deeds / Hanson has said , have come to pass, and why not a BDLP ?

35. “You can always depend on Bushie to catch you when you to go off-balanced”
    Shite Bushie your comments these days tend to border on he philosophical and I ask again if you trying to outdo lord Bertrand Russell and I really appreciate your effort for trying to bring me back on a balanced keel; I welcome your philosophical intervention but emotion cannot replace fact –

“but by how much he allowed to be sold; facilitated the sale of; and indeed… ENCOURAGED the sale of, to foreigners.
    shiite man…..Owen actually articulated a policy of encouraging ‘high worth’ individuals to invest here ..and provided incentives that were NOT available to locals.”

Hasn’t the above always been the case and moreso in recent times haven’t we even gone as far as the colonial doorsteps seeking re-investment in foriegn generated projects like Four Seasons? Don’t we bask in the glory of attracting these money launderers to our shores? Do we not loiter on the doorsteps of the Organisation for Economic Deveolpment begging for mercy when obstacles are placed in the way of our efforts to attract International business to our shores which in recent times has become our No 2 Foreign exchange earner.
    shite Bushie we can’t eat our cake and have it too.

36. @ balance
    solid attempted response as usual….however, as you well know, national development is about MUCH more than eating cake….
    It is about placing yourself into a position where, based on your OWN productivity, ingenuity, creativity, and hard work, you are in a position to bake enough cake to satisfy your hunger and that of your family and dependents.

…..The emphasis being on “PLACING YOURSELF” into such a position.
    It is like a child growing into adulthood.
    One child may seek to eat by selling off his inheritance (like Prodigal son) and enjoying the pleasures of life
    …while another builds on what his forefathers had accomplished – with the aim of leaving his descendants in an even better position than he found.

Which one is developmental?

Arthur was like the prodigal son (no offence to Bushie’s BU cousin 🙂 )….looking at the assets that had been transferred into his care as so much cash that could be used for the pleasures of life (which he called “developed status”)

TRUE NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT calls for government to continue to BUILD our social capital, national core assets and particularly our human resources so that the next generation is BETTER than the last one…..

…we are going in the reverse direction. You CANNOT defend the indefensible and remain balanced….

37. @Bushie

In a word, leadership!

38. Bushie you are very good at “critiquing” the past and the present.

How do you suggest we go forward with a rebuilding process?

Barbados is a capitalist country. The average Bajan just wants mo betta house, car, an big screen TV.

How will you convince people that they should give up there greedy habits in order to build a better Nation?

How do you correct the mistakes and failures created the mess we are in today?

Dictatorship Bushie?

39. @ Hants
    Bushie you are very good at “critiquing” the past and the present.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    LOL ….the future too…

You can rest assured that we will continue to do bare shiite.. despite anything that you, Bushie or balance says….
    The average Bajan (..and American…and Chinese…and Timbuktuian) are brass bowls …that is why they think that a betta house, car and TV means so much…

How do should we go forward…?

First we will need to go back……WAYYYY BACK.

Listen carefully Hants…
    The VERY FIRST STEP IN BEING SUCCESSFUL lies in knowing what success is….

If you are in a race and you don’t know where the finish line is located, chances are that you will just run around in circles…following other jackasses…doing shiite… ..just like practically everyone currently does…

WHERE IS THE FINISH LINE? (AKA…What is the purpose of our lives?)
    …answer that question and at least we will know how to set our compass….. 🙂

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea March 31, 2015 at 6:45 AM
    “Arthur was like the prodigal son (no offence to Bushie’s BU cousin 🙂 )….looking at the assets that had been transferred into his care as so much cash that could be used for the pleasures of life (which he called “developed status”)”

Bushie you are the eternal nihilist when it comes to the human capacity to ‘improve’ life in its many forms, whether materialistic or epistemological.

Even Arthur’s former archenemies are now singing most heartily in his national choir of paro economics.
    So if Arthur is the prodigal son who is the son that stayed at home and worked his ass off for nothing?

41. There was an interesting article in today’s Barbados Today entitled “When our Govt becomes our problem”.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/03/30/when-our-govt-becomes-our-problem/
    I found it an excellent article. However my problem with the Barbados media is that it is often two/three steps behind events on the ground.

I have always stated with a loud voice that our governments since the days of our independence have always been the enemy of the people. It is clear to all that the rot within Barbadian society commenced with the reign of King Arthur, followed by a period of incubation where the infestation took hold of the structure, under the leadership of the thoroughly discredited and tainted Thompson; through to the leadership of the calamitous King Stuart whose sole purpose was to add more rot to the structure in order to assist in her total collapse.

Almost every government legislation, initiative or non-action is designed to undermine the Afro-Bajan and to strengthen external and internal forces that remain adamant that Barbados must open herself to the vagaries of the free market.

This government is prepared to put her residents back into shackles.

Our politicians have been well rewarded for their treachery by their numerous funders. However they have overlooked what they perceive to be the placid nation of Bajans.

I predict that we will have a backlash in Barbados within the very near future. Indeed the evidence for such events taking place is becoming more and more evident. Take the example of the incident at the Boat House concerning the owner and the boat ski entrepreneurs. This is a pre-cursor to what will become a sustained and a hostile campaign conducted by Afro-Bajans who will carve out their own future irrespective of their mock government.

Full and unfettered access to the beach is a must and should be a rallying cry to unite the Afro-Bajan.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/p02l52fy/caribbean-with-simon-reeve-episode-2

My main concern for Barbados is that our fight to liberate our country will be disunited. I am convince that those individuals living in prosperous locations (foreign or Bajan) will be seen as justifiable targets by organised criminals who believe that they have been let down by their government.

Barbados has become a paradise for the free marketer and neo-liberal anarchist. It needs to be challenged.

42. Off message:

Ex-army man wins Nigeria election.

The so-called “born-again democrat intent on cleaning up Nigeria’s corrupt politics.”

I’m sure I’ve heard this before.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2015/03/buhari-closes-historic-win-nigeria-election-150331113051821.html

43. Exclaimer March 31, 2015 at 9:51 AM
    My main concern for Barbados is that our fight to liberate our country will be disunited. I am convince that those individuals living in prosperous locations (foreign or Bajan) will be seen as justifiable targets by organised criminals who believe that they have been let down by their government.
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    And yesterday’s armed invasions in two upscale areas, as reported in the Nation,reinforces your thoughts.

44. Ralph Pounder QC. Avatar
    Ralph Pounder QC.

Fruendel Jarome playing people up and down the pasture with DIVERSIONS GALORE. The real hot issues he managing to switch peoples’ attention like a traffic light.

CLICO is the killer, followed by Mr. and Mrs. Speakers’ fowl cock thiefery. Don’t let go of the jugular…like the lion it can bring down the prey.

Republic talk is all Foo Foo!

45. St George's Dragon Avatar

The Nation, reporting about the armed attacks says “two men, clean shaven and dressed in long-sleeved shirts and reportedly posing as employees from a Government agency….”.
    “Reportedly posing”? I knew the Government was short of cash, but this is ridiculous!

46. @ Exclaimer

What we are going to say may shock you, but we find Nigeria to have a vastly more organic political culture that anything known to us in the West. Yes, its full of dysfunction at all levels. And indeed there have been several strong men ceasing power. And how are these different to Bush. Or even Romney, who attempted but failed, to cease power, illegally.

There are at least 14 parties and we know them and their leaders. This is not the status quo in the West. As a unremitting anarchist, we are happy to see the constant changing of the political formations. That hardly happens anywhere in the West. And yet there is a popular narrative, within Nigeria, to try to move more and more towards a political homogeneity which we have in Barbados and the USA and almost everywhere else. That is a misguidance.

By the way, this writer is not totally opposed to means other than your so-called ‘democratic’ ones to remove tyrants. Whether those tyrants are dressed in collar and ties, military garb or boo-boos.

47. Balance,

We have NEVER and could NEVER have presented that the Owen Arthur Administration sold land to foreigners.

We do NOT subscribe to the false and inane notion that land is either bought or sold.

It is absolutely impossible to use such words as ‘buying and selling land’, and for any reasonable person anywhere to realize human behaviour consistent with what those terms mean.

That is the reason why we use the term greater control over our land spaces, meaning that these foreigners have been able to regulate who go on these lands.

The use by the PDC of the term ‘our land spaces’ was used not to connote ownership of these land spaces – which too is absolutely impossible to realize – but to indicate an expanse of territory that is IDEOLOGICALLY PSYCHOLOGICALLY seen within our national boundaries.

48. Pachamama March 31, 2015 at 2:28 PM #
    By the way, this writer is not totally opposed to means other than your so-called ‘democratic’ ones to remove tyrants. Whether those tyrants are dressed in collar and ties, military garb or boo-boos.
    …………………………………………………………………………
    You mean replace one tyrant with another?

49. No, we’re talking about the innate rights of ‘the people’ to never surrender their power to others. And even if they mistakenly do so to regain it within let or hindrance.

50. Now that armed home invasions have become a real thing in Barbados, I would like to ask those companies in Barbados ,such as LIME,who prefer to employ people from outside of Barbados, and from some countries well known to have high incidences of such crimes, if the people whom they employ,and are given relatively free access into our homes to carry out repairs and installations, were asked to provide Certificates of Character form the police in their respective countries, as most employees demand of Barbadians in Barbados before hiring them.
    Daily we see explicit photographs with names of people who were lucky in some Lotto games. The publicity amounts to setting up these people as target for this new wave of criminals. The same way that auditors like Ernst and Young work behind the scene to verity the authenticity of the various lotto draws, they could also be used in a similar manner to identify bona fide winners without publishing personal details in the press and online.
    I do hope that Crime Stoppers will, at sometime ,have some say on this.

Leave a Reply to Prodigal SonCancel reply