Submitted by Anthony Davis
Dr Tennyson Joseph

Stuart pointed out that for all practical purposes, Barbados was already a republic. A Republican form of government stipulates that those run the people’s affairs should be chosen directly or indirectly by the people themselves. We already do that. Under republicanism, the persons who administer your affairs can serve during your pleasure. In other words, they should only be able to stay as long as you want them to stay Barbados Today

Dear Mr. Prime Minister, please tell me where you will get the money needed to change around everything from the Monarchical system to that of the Republican one?

The Minister of Finance is always complaining about “low cash flow” when it comes to satisfying the needs of the poor, the needy and the vulnerable, and the institutions on which they depend. You come to us now with something which is nothing but another red herring to try to get out of the predicament you are in at present.

You state that there are three reasons why Barbados is “for all purposes already a republic”. However, the criterion for the third is null and void because the Speaker of the House of Assembly has not only been accused of misconduct, but found guilty of so doing. Fingers are still being pointed at him, but he has refused to step down and has this Government’s backing for so doing. Also, if Barbados is already practically a republic, why waste the taxpayers’ money for changing over to one?

The Minister of Finance says that there is still a “low cash flow”, and this will probably continue until the third quarter of next year.

Whence will the money come to change over to the republic system, knowing that it will all cost money? That money would be better being pumped into the QEH! We may need a republic, but not under such circumstances where it seems that you are only doing it for your own self-aggrandisement!

135 responses to “Talk About a Republic Merely a Diversion”

1. @Prodigal and Artaxerses – two of the most consistent BLP Yardfowls on the blog
    You said and Artaxerses almost tripped over his illogic in trying to support you.

“Just like I cannot understand why the moron we have for a PM keep hosting parties for visitors when they are not spending money”

Come on Guys, Let us not be like that – these “parties” are for multiple repeat visitors who have a loyalty to Barbados and who over the years have brought hundreds of their friends and families, some of them have encouraged others to buy property here. If that is not spending money ,then what is.

It is not picking up the man who lands at the airport for the first time and taking him to Illaro Court

Is that too difficult for you to comprehend or have your political blinkers so you hindered your view that you that you continue to see only BLP party first and Beautiful Barbados second?

2. NationBLPNewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPNewspaper

Georgie Peorgie , Try and Try
    To Kiss Mottley ass everyday, why why?
    When the evidence of Nation paper BLP Bias is revealed day by day
    From an honest debate,The BLP Yardfowl Georgie runs away.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife March 31, 2015 at 5:21 PM
    “Come on Guys, Let us not be like that – these “parties” are for multiple repeat visitors who have a loyalty to Barbados and who over the years have brought hundreds of their friends and families, some of them have encouraged others to buy property here. If that is not spending money ,then what is.”

I have to agree with you there.
    Why kill the goose that lays the golden egg? Why not fertilize and stimulate its ovaries to ensure a constant flow of golden eggs?
    Since the layers of golden eggs must be well off to return so often to paradise why not let them show what real friends of Barbados they truly are by the P M doing a whip around and collecting donations to help pay the NCC retrenched workers?

Why not get the well-off friends of Barbados to adopt a ward at the QEH to ensure it is adequately provided with medical supplies and cleaned regularly to contain the spread of superbugs?

Barbados has to stop being a Mrs. Bucket in keeping up appearances of having champagne taste with mauby pockets. It makes no sense sweeping the dirt into the corner of the room just to impress your so-called friends invited to your house.
    The way to measure a true friend is not by how many parties you invite him to but by the amount of time he is there for you in time of need.

4. @ Pachamama,

In most western democracies we are reduced to a two-party system; and we call this a democracy. What a farce!

Would you feel happy to cast your vote at the next general election for either the corrupt DLP or the equally corrupt BLP? Exactly.

The masses should beach these two political parties and should plot their own destiny for the sake of this country.

@ Colonel Buggy,

The rise in violent crime within Barbados does not surprise me. I certainly do not condone it. What I find bizarre is that you have certain people living in gated communities or well-to-do areas who believe that they are insulated from every day violent criminal acts.

As long as you have a government who is prepared to impoverish their own people, a privileged, uncaring middle class and a wealthy elite who show no concern for their poor brothers and sisters you will continue to see a huge surge in criminality.

Barbados has become a fool’s paradise.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

NationBLPNewspaper March 31, 2015 at 5:32 PM #
    Georgie Peorgie , Try and Try
    To Kiss Mottley ass everyday, why why?
    When the evidence of Nation paper BLP Bias is revealed day by day
    From an honest debate,The BLP Yardfowl Georgie runs away.

SIR
    IN 1987 I WAS ASKED TO JOIN THE BLP………AND REFUSED
    THE BLP HAS NEVER DONE ANYTHING FOR ME EXCEPT TO CAUSE ME HARM

YOU ARE BARKING UP THE WRONG TREE WITH YOUR PITIFUL PUERILE ATTEMPTS AT POETRY

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife March 31, 2015 at 5:21 PM
    “Is that too difficult for you to comprehend or have your political blinkers so you hindered your view that you that you continue to see only BLP party first and Beautiful Barbados second?”

Not at all, “Beautiful Barbados” should always be No. 1.
    So why doesn’t the P M ask for donations towards the cleaning of the streets so that these same foreign friends (who the current xenophobic DLP leaders hate so much) can walk safely instead of competing with the traffic because of the detritus left for weeks on the (sidewalks) pavements and kerbs after the now rare weeding and de-bushing exercises.
    I am certain a private contractor like Maloney & Co can do the job the Drainage Unit and ‘Beautify Barbados’ teams used to do.

Why not get the same Maloney (in addition to extending his commercial empire to the Port) to fumigate and clean up the country’s World Heritage site so that the same regulars of visiting pals can feel safe and comfortable taking a moonlit walk on the City’s Boardwalk and though the ole alleyways of historic Bridgetown starting at Fontabelle and Lakes Folly just the constant whiff and a sniff away from the perfumed Sewage plant.

Why not get the same foreign white friends of ‘Beautiful Barbados’ to invest in a company (a form of that much needed FDI) to clean the beaches of Sargussam seaweed but instead of dumping it like toffee paper at Greenland where the flying fish dare not go to spawn why not clean it up and export it to China where there is a high demand for its medicinal qualities and where, it is felt, its beneficial properties outweigh those of ginseng or even Viagra Chinese Rock or Coffin?
    Here are some readymade Sargussam seaweed brand name offers for you to replace your dying rum industry: Barbadianis Seaweed Special, Cock-in-the-Spur and Ready to Rise for the Pretty Bajan Girl called Do(or)lly.

7. I have said that I would have no problem with these Illaro parties if Barbados COULD afford them. Barbados is broke, it cannot pay its bills:

Income tax refunds are normally repaid by September of the following tax year, tomorrow begins April when filing begins for another year and this wicked inept government cannot pay back people. They still have two years for me.

Companies cannot get their VAT refunds nor corporation tax refunds.

The QEH is in dire straits with out basic supplies, doctors and nurses are complaining, people are dying as doctors have now to decide if it is wise to continue treating certain sick people.

Al Barrack has not been paid despite multiple promises.

Schools are crying out, they have no money to buy supplies to help in the teaching of the nation’s children.

Garbage is strewn all over Barbados making the island so unsightly to the point where tourists are posting scenes on BU.

Transport Board cannot put buses on the road, they cannot pay UCAL, the have no money to pay insurance for the said buses and people are left waiting hours for buses.

Government owes every company which does business with it.

And you, Bajanfuhlife have the nerve to ask Artaxerxes and I …………..”Is that too difficult for you to comprehend or have your political blinkers so you hindered your view that you that you continue to see only BLP party first and Beautiful Barbados second”?

Does it make sense to entertain when you cannot afford it? Get one of the unemployed talented young graphic artists coming out of BCC and let then design a nice card and send to the visitors. they would understand that things are hard and sacrifices have to be made as the deceitful Maxine McClean said in the Senate last week, why crumbs, only the lowest of the low are the ones to make these sacrifices?

These parties do not come cheap, “big mouth drinks” flow, all the big ups in the dlp go and every guest, locals included are given gift bags which are well put together.

Stop thinking we are fools, you and your party are the dummies! We are as patriotic as you, dont come to me with your crap!

8. Colonel Buggy Avatar

The Bussa statue can serve as a double sided monument. The face side, looking towards the north, remains dedicated to Bussa, or General Bussa and the UWI Chief has christened him. The south or arse side , pooching back towards CBC and the new multi million dollar Water Works building, and the $3 Million dollar overpass that is hardly ever used,should bear the inscription, “Ready Made Father of the Republic”

9. You guys in BIM have truly mastered the art of Black Comedy!

““Those who have been keeping noise and saying it was a distraction and we should take our time are themselves innately lazy intellectually and have no pride in being Barbadian,” ……. Donville Inniss.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/04/09/minister-says-country-49-years-late-in-going-republic/

10. @ Exclaimer
    LOL…
    He actually said it in an interview on CBC… Bushie had to laugh out hard as shiite…
    REALLY expected him to laugh out afterwards and say he was joking….

It is now clear to the discerning that some of David Thompson’s duppy dust has been given to the surviving DLP members in various doses…..or as the bible would have put it, the Devils that resided in Thompson have taken up new residences in them since his death.

This CLICO/ Parris thing has been their undoing from the very start.

11. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@ Bush Tea at 3:12 PM…It is now clear to the discerning that… as the bible would have put it, the Devils that resided in Thompson have taken up new residences in them since his death.=================

SINCE his death, you say…you normally don’t get ‘mamaguyed’ like that.

All de bunch of them sprinkle wid de duppy dust and imbued wid the spirit of the devil long time.

So they didn’t know D.T. & Associates was CLICO’s legal advisers all those years prior to the sweet boy becoming PM and then dipsidoodling around parliament on the business of the CLICO meltdown as if he was so absolutely ignorant of the key statutory issues there.

These bright boys and girls who all went secondary school and as my grand mum would say ‘got dey certificates’ didn’t grasp any of that and more!

SINCE his death. don’t mek mock sport!

12. Stuart pointed out that for all practical purposes, Barbados was already a republic. A Republican form of government stipulates that those run the people’s affairs should be chosen directly or indirectly by the people themselves. We already do that. Under republicanism, the persons who administer your affairs can serve during your pleasure. In other words, they should only be able to stay as long as you want them to stay” – Barbados Today . . . . This means that the Barbados people allowed Owen Arthur to stay 14 years, 14 year too long. This mean also that since 2008 the Barbados people has allowed the DLP to rule instead of the BLP.

The Barbados people in 2013 had a choice between two bad apples, Owen Arthur and Freundel Stewart. Prime Minister Stewart may not know what in the hell he is doing. Owen Arthur also did not know what in the hell he was doing. Both government parties have mountains of mess. The BLP mess mountains sad to say are more immense and much more embarrassing.

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Just saw this quote in Barbados Today from the PM in Jamaica about expectations of the Obama summit.

“If nothing more comes out of the meeting, [we would wish] a commitment on the part of the United States to sit with us for a much longer period than we are scheduled to sit [on Thursday] to talk through our challenges, not in a way that puts the US in any position of VERTICALITY in relation to the people of the Caribbean, but in a relationship based on HORIZONTALITY,” he said.

Wow! That seems to partially define his new republicanistical stance (We kan mek up long words too). No more pssnng on we, We want to get much closer.

But who knows, perhaps the terms are well recognized ones in the political intelligensia class?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Those who have been keeping noise and saying it was a distraction and we should take our time are themselves innately lazy intellectually and have no pride in being Barbadian,” ……. Donville Inniss.

So what can it be other than a distraction? Why did Fumble the artful dodger of communicating and interacting with his unwashed subjects announce in his regular court of clowns and jester his intention to take Barbados down a road he sees fit to deposit his ugly legacy like Nero did while Rome burned? Why not in Parliament to the other 29’ people’s representatives’?
    Is Dumbville telegraphing to the people in his obnoxiously arrogant self-loathing manner that whatever the people have in mind there will be a republic at all cost even with the spilling of blood of the naysayers via the Ronald Jones preferred style?
    Why is he so cocksure about the support from the Opposition in his cause célèbre for recognition as the next DLP PM?

Dumbville , the people of Barbados might be intellectually lazy as you say but they are not all brass bowls to be pissed into at your whims and fancies. Are the people of Australia and Scotland intellectually lazy too?

What is so wrong with the people having the final say about their political destiny? Don’t you think that after the disappointment and callous deceit you and your lying colleagues have been showing since February 2013 towards the people of Barbados by taking them for fools at every corner they have every right not to trust you in anything you promise to do for their so-called development and intellectual advancement?

Get this straight, Dumbville the people will not accept from you and your political class any further intellectual abuse, threats to their freedom of expression or threats of incarceration in your budding police state.

Just remember you are a father of young boys. Those who have children should always try to ensure they set good examples and be positive role models in their children’s eyes.

You are a man who likes to ostensibly wear your moral garments of hypocrisy by attending church to advance your political ambitions but here are some words of advice to the congregation of the spiritual dumb and blind among which you are hold an honourable seat. Those who have ears to hear let them heed:

“The Lord is slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love, forgiving iniquity and transgression, but he will by no means clear the guilty, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, to the third and the fourth generation.”

15. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Look; re. your 4:15 post.

Whey yoo livin?

16. Colonel Buggy Avatar

are-we-there-yet April 9, 2015 at 4:42 PM #

to talk through our challenges, not in a way that puts the US in any position of VERTICALITY in relation to the people of the Caribbean, but in a relationship based on HORIZONTALITY,” he said.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    All it means is that we, instead of being perceived to be shafted standing up, by the British, will now take it lying down with the Americans, a position that we have become very familiar with, here of late.

17. new onion wedges Avatar
    new onion wedges

The Barbados people in 2013 had a choice between two bad apples, Owen Arthur and Freundel Stewart. Prime Minister Stewart may not know what in the hell he is doing. Owen Arthur also did not know what in the hell he was doing. Both government parties have mountains of mess. The BLP mess mountains sad to say are more immense and much more embarrassing

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||\

Look
    Tell dat fella look ……look shut to FCUka up do!…U stupi-dy or what?? ….14 years under OSA would be welcomed 100 forth today, than to this crap we now under….whey U living bredds?…could not be bout here. When last U see a garbage truck twice in a week?…..when last U hear TP or soap up at the QEH? When last U see a new road or bus?….when last U see so much taxation and nuttin to SHOW?

Look U… just talking balls man…..Go look again!

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet April 9, 2015 at 4:42 PM
    “.. not in a way that puts the US in any position of VERTICALITY in relation to the people of the Caribbean, but in a relationship based on HORIZONTALITY,” he said.”

What a confused sesquipedalian and sanctimonious hypocrite he is!
    Isn’t “VERTICALITY in relation to the people” what he is demonstrating to Bajans?

Why is he seeking to impose his verticality of arrogance and disdain on the people with his red herring of republicanism while the country experiences unprecedented economic uncertainty and falling standards in its public health and sanitation?

Which is more important? A republic full of garbage and unemployed people robbing and assaulting both tourists and visitors or a Barbados in which opportunities to earn a decent living and the right to speak your mind and enjoy life are available to all?

If he is so serious about a relationship based on “HORIZONTALITY” why not communicate directly with the people and take them into his confidence by moving a motion in Parliament to have the matter of republicanism determined by the people by way of referendum or the less costly option of general elections by killing two political birds with one people’s stone.

19. Colonel Buggy Avatar

But lets face it, a beggar stands a better chance of a hand out when he adopts a HORIZONAL position kissing your feet, that when he stands erect adopting an eye ball to eye ball stance.
    And for some reason ,our PM does not like the face to face position.

20. KINGSTON, Jamaica – Shortly after landing in Jamaica for the first time, President of the United States Barack Obama deviated from his official itinerary by paying an unannounced visit to the Bob Marley Museum on Hope Road in St Andrew.

21. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Colonel Buggy;

What I am sure he is trying to say is that he wishes the US (through Obama) to commit to having a serious longer meeting with the HOGs as equal partners to the US. But as usual he gets it all unnecessarily tangled up in big meaningless words.

The UN is there for such meetings. The US and the Caribbean states CANNOT sit down in any political or quasi political forum as true equals. Our Musicians can perhaps in certain instances sit down as equals and there may be other areas approaching equality of intrinsic human resources that there could be such equality but not in the areas of dire importance to the politics of the region.

We are at this time beggars at the table. Nothing more

22. @ Bush Tea,

When I look at events unfolding in Barbados I wince. Mediocracy and lunacy reigns supreme in your country and I have lost interest in following the latest news.

Your Prime Minister would be considered a tenth rate politician in the UK.

I wonder how he would match up with our very own George Galloway. A politician who could bring much energy to the intellectually deficient politics as practised in Barbados.

23. @ millertheanunnaki April 9, 2015 at 4:42 PM

Excellent post!

24. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

“Those who have been keeping noise … are themselves innately lazy intellectually and have no pride in being Barbadian,” ……. Donville Inniss.

Min. Inniss has spoken with unvarnished clarity and accuracy. His only fault in his remarks relates to his use of the introductory phrase “Those who have been keeping noise”. Because, he failed to encompass the other citizens who were less vocal but who also clearly displayed abject intellectual laziness.

Several thousand Bajans – a majority actually – were innately lazy intellectually and saw fit to return the DLP to power at the last elections.

Damn lazy they were. The man is right, so accept the shameful insult and move on.

Ideally, the electorate are slowly emerging from their indolence and will have all their intellectual powers at full synapse readiness going forward.

(Tongue out of cheek), It’s plain to see the Minister’s hubris and hypocrisy in suggesting that we are 49 years late to a republicanism change of status.

He completely disparages the fathers of his political party who took us to independence linked to the mother country rather than republicanism.

He conveniently dismisses the fact the we have had our own voice in all international fora since then.

He could be considered a snake oil salesman when he asserts that its “a tad bit embarrassing to know that we still have to swear allegiance to the Queen”.

Allegiance in a meaningless pledge. Insignificant, and has always been.

He is clearly pandering to those still innately intellectually lazy when he says these type of things and that becoming a republic would demonstrate true sovereignty and show that Barbados was finally in control of its affairs.

True sovereignty of what other matters exactly?

Finally in control of which affairs precisely?

We can argue that many of our politicians are truly ‘irrelevant to present or future Barbados’ just as Inniss reminds us the Queen is also.

Mr, Inniss based on his remarks fits that category.

25. The Minister of Labour is special! Really special! (sarcasm)

This is a woman who won a seat in 2008 by over 900 votes and then came back to the people in 2013 and lost by over 900 votes. She was nevertheless given back a minister job.

She was the only minister who was moved in every reshuffle by the dead king. She as minister of labour sat in a meeting and went along with the moron we have for a PM to refer the NCC dispute to a Employment Rights Tribunal which was under her portfolio and she therefore had to know or should have known that the ERT was not fully constituted and was not functional. We all know what happened after that……….she decided to write a letter of reprimand to the ERT, nearly all the members resigned and embarrassed her. A new ERT has been appointed for months now and I read this week that they are to meet this month and the NCC matter would be its priority. Hooray!

This same special woman sat in a cabinet and said nothing while the lying minister of finance in one fell scoop cut 3500 low income workers without following protocol, sent people home in the most unceremonious manner, we saw in the media some workers going into shock at the way they were laid off. Some had to wait months for a cent in severance. And not a word from her that the cabinet that she is a member of…….treated poor Barbadians in such a callous manner.

Fast forward to the back page of today’s Nation………BL&P not following procedure. It has so far not followed procedure in its plan for major staff cuts and that they have to write to her first.

What a hypocrite! Fellow bloggers, read the article to see what a moron this woman is.

We are doomed!

26. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@Exclaimer at 6:42 PM …Your Prime Minister would be considered a tenth rate politician in the UK=================

Exclaimer, such is the cycle of life.

Mr. Stuart will not be considered one of Barbados most esteemed PMs and indeed in the ranks of your current Labor personnel he might well be down the totem pole.

But we have had PMs here who would have bested the best there and similarly these have been one or two of your lack-luster PMs who like Stuart became the de facto leader after the main power broker was sidelined.

Indeed our two most recent leaders despite their flaws were very savvy, smart and intellectually more nimble than Stuart .

There was everything first rate about how they would match up against your top dogs.

We will take our licks now and move on to another up-cycle.

27. I know it appears that Stuart pays attention to his language.Its like spitting in the wind to say to Inniss that one does not “keep” noise,but “makes” noise.Furthermore, you Inniss are displaying to all and sundry by your poor pronunciation of everyday words,that in spite of your benefit of a ‘free’ secondary education,you did not pay attention to your teachers and if you did not pay attention to your teachers,neither would you pay attention to the problems of Barbados,and so you, like your Chief Mutt,want to muzzle the critics of your toady political class brethren and sistren.It comes with the territory Inniss.If the heat is too great get out of the kitchen and go back to your nastiness,ye sinner.

28. Gabs,

Laugh at this one!

A friend of mine in the public sector told me that he cannot pronounce the word……statistics…. so when writing speeches for him the speech writers have to use the word…..data.

This from a man who plays he is so smart and is a knowledge on every subject under the sun in Barbados. Ha, ha, ha. He sure aint one of the bright sparks of Harrison College like GP!!!

29. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Perhaps the Prime Minister should have first strive for HORIZONTALITY within the “Black Sand -Grey Sand” regional group CARICOM.
    Bloody lot of Jokers,who feel that they can hold the United States to ransom?

30. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Exclaimer April 9, 2015 at 6:42 PM #

Not including Dipper Barrow and Tom Adams, the other Prime Ministers of Barbados would be hard push to even secure a seat in local government in the UK.

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

I will not hesitate to correct you lest you mislead the country like the mainstream media. The Government did not send home 3,500 people. In fact they sent home 6,000. Your figure only relates to the people who were sent home after January 1, 2014. 3,000 persons were sent home between June 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013. You should recall that on the last day of 2013, the Government fired about 300 workers from the Drainage Division, and we were told by Dr. Byer-Suckoo (as she was then) that those workers did not count towards the 3,000 that were to be placed on the breadline in the New Year.

You should also recall that when the first set of workers were sent home in 2013, the Prime Minister said that they were temporary and that they had come to the end of their contracts. He went on to say that he checked his dictionary for the word temporary. Mind you, some of these so-called temporary workers were employed continuously for as much as eight or nine years. That first 3,000 were conveniently left out of the official statistics.

So please Prodigal, do not go about and spreading the Government’s propaganda, even though it might be unintentional. What you have demonstrated is that if you repeat a lie often enough people will believe it. You are repeating the Government’s lies.

32. Thanks for the correction, Caswell. I knew more had gone home but I stuck to those who were laid on en masse in the December debacle.

Not at all, I am one whom these morons cannot fool…….dont believe a word they say!

33. Instead of pulling it down, they should have built a bigger statue of Mandela pissing on it……