<p><strong>Chris Sinckler</strong>, Minister of Finance (l) <strong>Fruendel Stuart</strong>, Prime Minister and Head of the Civil Service (r)</p>
Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister and Head of the Civil Service (r) 

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has done the unthinkable by breaking his silence on the CLICO mess. To quote him: “. . . Wait. There is going to be a lot to be said on this. Do not mistake my silence for an incapacity to speak. The time will come when all things will be made clear and explained. I ain’t saying anything yet” He added: “I have a list . . . of all of the persons who invested in the Executive Flexible Premium Annuity [EFPA], but I ain’t saying nothing yet. I know all the people who earning quick money, who were entranced by the lure of attractive interest rates. I know them, I have all of the names”.

Given the pace – or lack of it – at which Stuart moves Barbadians should not expect to hear from him anytime soon. Instead CLICO policyholders would prefer to hear the government enunciate a plan to resolve the plight of the policyholders.

So what if the Prime Minister has a list of Barbadians who bought the EFPA? Of course we agree with him greed played a part and high interest rates offered by the Parris led company resulted in the predicament many EFPA policyholders find themselves.  The question we want the prime minister to answer is why was CLICO allowed to sell the EFPA and who should ultimately be responsible.

The Prime Minister’s statement is obviously meant to deflect from the unfavourable barrage of public opinion directed at the government. The incestuous relationship which exist between prominent Democratic Labour Party (DLP) players and Parris explains why the DLP is forced to defend the indefensible.  AND there is the shattered legacy of the late David Thompson who was the ultimate ‘’’ÇLICO insider’ to consider.

A search of BU archives will turn up many blogs complimentary of Leroy Parris. We are on record of praising his rags to riches story. However, BU will not be distracted – our concern is one issue the CLICO investigation has exposed and which no sensible explanation has been offered so far.  On page 9 of the Forensic Audit Report $3.33 millions dollars was made by CLICO Insurance Life on behalf of CLICO Holdings Barbados Limited supported by a fake invoice. The Group Financial Controller Terrence Thornhill was interviewed by Deloitte Auditors who confirmed the finding.

So Mr. Prime Minister go ahead and use the list of names on the Schedule of Executive Flexible Premium Annuities (EFPAs) included in the Forensic Report which was not made public, BUT, also take the opportunity to explain the $3.33 million dollar payment on a fake invoice and the fact the invoice was emailed from thompy@caribsurf.com.

We are wary and weary of the political gymnastics Mr. Prime Minister. We continue to look for signs that Mr. Integrity is back!

250 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Promises to Expose the Names of CLICO EFPA Policyholders”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David March 18, 2015 at 7:48 PM #
    “Yes Edmund has been hard hitting reminiscent of the days of the three blind mice. He crossed the line though when he referred to Freundel Stuart as Fraudel Stuart.”

But poor Hinkson was only repeating what the icon of the DLP Dipper Barrow used to call Fumble. Hinkson should have done that not in Committee of Supply but when the real fraud Carrington is in the chair.

Hinkson’s excuse could be that he has a speech impediment which the honourable members on the other side- especially Adriel and Donville- like to tease him about and that he really meant to say Frau Stuart of Tudor Land. I doubt the learned Speaker would know what Frau means in German.

2. With the face that Freundel has, he should be a nice person instead of showing people that he is ugly outside as well as inside!

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn March 18, 2015 at 8:34 PM #
    “Owen is clearly not independent: he opposes Mia and because of that he supports the Government in doing crap. It is about time that he is fitted with a muzzle. He is suggesting that we kill the goose that lays the golden egg.”

Owen is making himself look like one broken-down royal jackass. If he had spent a similar amount of energy trying to expose and bring down Fumble Stuart in the last general elections he might have been PM today wreaking his vengeance as he so pleases, including firing Mia.

Imagine Owen in bed with Fumble, a man who denuded OSA so completely that his tiny political willy could not be seen again.
    What the fcuk is wrong with you Bro Owen? The whole town of Bubaydos is laughing at you. Do you think Fumble Stuart will listen to you and fire Sinckler and replace him with your boy Estwick?

4. @millertheanunnaki March 18, 2015 at 8:49 PM “Frau Stuart of Tudor Land. I doubt the learned Speaker would know what Frau means in German.”

Just in case the speaker does not know. In German Frau is the honorific used for a married woman, eg. Frau Miller

Or Mrs. Miller

Or Mistress Miller

5. Is it me or did others see or hear how Freundel boost about tricking the NUPW in going to the Tribunal when he could have made a decision about Lowe’s nasty piece of retrenchment. The members wanted to march, but Maloney and Ikani persuaded them that “talking” to the PM was paramount and now Fumble has the temerity on the floor of the House to brag about how he tricked: Dennis Clarke, Ma Money, Ikani and Margot Bannister.

By the way this Margo voted against the march the other day; went to the Park but never marched. I was told she is a constituent of Denis Lowe and said she would never march against Lowe or the DLP! Yet, I see her name for President. What an interesting NUPW election. Maybe the DLP shall bring another bag of tricks!!!

6. @ David “If the PM drop names of EFPA policyholders in parliament he benefits from doing so behind the cloak of parliamentary privilege.”

But what if one of those EFPA policyholders were to seek an injunction with the court, or gag order before he could make that announcement in parliament, then he wouldn’t be able to claim that as a defense, and that would really make him more of an idiot than he already is….

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Simple Simo

The word Frau also directly means woman. The correct title when referring.to a married woman is Ehefrau but shorten for simplicity as in the examples you.provided.

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Caswell

There are intelligent idiots and indeed the current PM fits that title. If you think his strategy will work again to win the next election think again. If the opposition.party did not.show more of that same pomp and arrogance that cause to lose face with the swing voters they would have been gracing the walls of parliament as the prodigal party returned to power to be celebrated ny the people. But know they were more concern with images and showing offbtheir great wealth by being trasported all together in an expensive air condition coach. I am glad their asses suffered.for it. But look what we got in return- an intelligent idiot who is being credited for biis brilliant strategy in winning an election and no other praise leveled at him since he became Prime Minister. If that is brilliance for you Caswell than you must be drinking from the cup of Fraudy Fruendle

9. the bees belittle the PM at every turn but got nothing to offer the country but laundry list and recitations,

10. Wuh shiite, looka dis sanctimonious hypocrite fuh me doh, nuh…… wuh you and the rest ah wunnuh DLP misfits does “belittle the opposition leader at every turn but got nothing to offer the country but laundry list and recitations.”

Listening to wunnuh in parliament is proof, Stuart talking ‘bout a LIST and Inniss, Kellman, James Paul, Jones, Sealy, John Boyce and the rest ah de boys and dem does get up and say same thing like RECITATIONS.

So wuh is difference if the “the bees belittle the PM”? Wuh six is half dozen, he ain’t nuh better than nuh body else that you seem to think he beyond criticism.

You need to get a life, perhaps if you were to serve God the way you serve and defend Stuart, Parris, Inniss, Sinckler and the DLP, He may grant you with wisdom and understanding to discern between right and wrong and not everyone who criticizes the DLP is a BLP supporter.

It just that some uh we ain’t like you to perfume the shiite this government doing.

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Fumble Stuart

On Tuesday de ole man sat in front of “CBC reporting lies” at 7 pm and watched as you incredulously embar-assed the entire Bulbados population in front of 300,000 Bajans 40,000 Guyanese, the Director of Public Prosecutions, another Guyanese, and the several hundreds of thousand “low islanders” who are unfortunate enough to watch that TV station.

I must admit Fumble that I do not normally watch “reporting Lies” but I was indeed a captive audience subject when the pastor’s wife visited de madam and asked that the TV be turned on so that she cud see ** she daughter at **.

Now as you would know, when your picture started to show I would normally either do de-Blasio and turn my back pun you OR, when de madam ent dey, turn off de TV BUT, given that I doan want the rest uh de people at the church know dat de ole man got you in he mind, I had was to suffer through the display of stupidity that you put on.

When you get a chance, tek a look at this webpage that i pasting here and encourage your ingrunt colleagues, pun both sides uh de floor, including dat independent fellow, to view http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-31830651

Now I is not promoting talking British wid you voice all up dere and squeezing you pooch hole and ting (though some uh de fellows here mekking accusations bout you having to squeeze you pooch, given you associations wid Miss Leroy “you mamma calling you” Greenverbs) but I would suggest that wunna look at these example of debates which, while heated, still show how debating in the House of Parliament should be done.

Your suffering Bajan consitituent (even though i ent in you constituency)
    Piece uh de Rock Yeah Right

PS. In case you wishes to write me back or get in touch wid me, cum pun a Friday to the Independence Square and place you letter in de back uh de van, I will get it later in de day. I sorry dat I cant tek it from you personally but i is afraid dat Adriel Nitwit going get me lock up like Michael Lashes get Omar lock up en ting. You does drink soup, without dumplings?

12. On a point of interruption- Is the Guyson Mayers so vehemently defending the infelicities of Mr Parris and castigating the general public of Barbados in his Sunday Advocate column the same Guyson Mayers who led the charge to get rid of Commissioner Darwin Dottin ?
    If so; these DLP operatives have no shame at all.

13. so name one thing that the BLP has contributed to saving the economy outside of a doom and gloom strategy fueled by an election defeat .Now the BLP get up in Parliament talking sh,iit about rolling back tuition fees
    But the best part is when they talk about deficit and govt contribution , and trying to compare spending of the past six years to sending in their fourteen year reign. talking about hogwash , my take on that comparison is like comparing gas rices in the early eighties to present time, the fact being that as economies grow rising costs would impact spend which in turn would escalated budgetary spending. the bees as always used perfume to sell shite

14. Look forward to the Prime Minister elaborate what he means about the names and the list. It is bad enough CLICO policyholders having to suffer through this issue but to witness the political shuttlecock is highly insensitive on his part.

15. old onion bags Avatar

One thing for sure…..tis is ONE TERM….that Elections Mode was never turned off. What does that tell you?….. Wickham was right. A most unpopular guvverment !…..16- 13- 1. More rangoat.

16. To Pacha’s point every election cycle we go through this mulberry bush thing which promise do we want o believe. We need to insert RECALL in our system of governance. If enough taxpayers believe they are being sold short boot their asses out.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David[BU]

RECALL!!!

That is the single most important thing that is going to make all the difference in Bulbados going forward.

When you have a string of nincompoops who can do shyte for 5 years, WITHOUT ANY MECHANISM TO ABORT THEM INUTERO, they ascend to Olympian heights and from thence, let go balls of pup on us.

F=ma or force equals mass multiplied by acceleration so their faeces dropping from on high into our heads, like a hog-plum falling from high enough and hitting you in your head, bound to do some damage, as did the bullet falling into the head of that child in Swan Street.

Unless and until they know that we going recall them donkey WHEN they do shyte, note that i did not say IF, will mean that either of the parties WILL be guided by the system of making sure that the constituency representatives will have the capacity to stay in them seat, through effective representation, and not be just along for the pension

18. @pieceuhderockyeahright,

“…….but I would suggest that wunna look at these example of debates which, while heated, still show how debating in the House of Parliament should be done.”

Sadly, politicians the world over are, mostly, viewed with contempt and disdain.

The UK, Houses of Parliament is no nirvana for how politics should be played out on the political stage. The example that you posted is confirmation that the standards of parliamentary debate in the UK is in serious decline.

The exchange between these two leaders was the equivalent of two five year old boys having a fight in the school playground. That you chose to forward this reference as being a reasonable model for debating in parliament would indicate to me that the Barbados political system is close to meltdown.

Fortunately in the UK we still have a minority of politicians who stand head and shoulders above their peers. One of them goes by the name of George Galloway: one of the finest political orator and politician that we in the UK have ever known.

The link below is an example of what I believe you are alluding to:

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This is the real wickedness of this PM.He talks about a list but draw no reference to his former crooked dead Prime Minister or his Ponzi friend Parris.Thisan is a h ypocrite of the highest nasty order. It is clear that Fruendel Stuart is at home with immorality and despicable behaviour. Either bajans got a lot of tolerance or just do.not care about their destiny.

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine March 19, 2015 at 7:29 AM #

“This is the real wickedness of this PM. He talks about a list but draw no reference to his former crooked dead Prime Minister or his Ponzi friend Parris. This man is a hypocrite of the highest nasty order. It is clear that Fruendel Stuart is at home with immorality and despicable behaviour.”

SSS, I couldn’t agree with you more. What amazes me is the fact that Stuart could tell Barbadians “I have a list . . . of all of the persons who invested in the Executive Flexible Premium Annuity [EFPA], but I ain’t saying nothing yet. I know all the people who earning quick money, who were entranced by the lure of attractive interest rates. I know them, I have all of the names”. And the other DEMS laughing and thumping the desk, while the DLP misfits on BU think Stuart has some ace up his sleeve.

I believe Stuart should be more concerned with obtaining a list of all the names of those former NCC employees who were retrenched in breach of the “last in, first out” policy, which have seen those individuals awaiting severance payments for just over a year after their services were terminated. Especially after he knowing referred them to a non-functioning Employments Rights Tribunal.

He should then have given the list to Maloney and included a stipulation making it mandatory for him [Maloney] to employ as many as former NCC workers as possible in the “Adopt a mile” project.

Better yet, after requesting the list of former NCC employees, Froon should have commenced discussions with Sinckler so as make adequate funding available from the Enterprise Growth Fund or Fund Access to these former workers. This would have enabled them to establish a business similar to that of Maloney’s. Fraudel’s next priority could have been informing Denis Lowe that all work should be sub-contracted the work to them.

Fumble should also ask for a list of those persons from Lowe’s constituency who were hired by the NCC prior to the 2013 general elections and remain employed irrespective of the “last in, first out” policy.

And while we’re at Lowe, perhaps Froon should ask him to compile a list of ALL the legal services Richard Byer provided for the Environment Ministry so as to determine how many other outrageous fees, such as the $766,824, that lawyer charged.

21. ‘Corruption has opened door to al-Shabaab in Kenya’

“As government ministers and top businessmen are charged over the Anglo Leasing scandal, whistleblower John Githongo argues this fraud has played into the hands of terrorists”

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/mar/19/corruption-has-opened-door-to-al-shabaab-in-kenya

22. What is Stuart yammering on about now, he acts as though the policyholders are the criminals and not him and his friends and cabinet ministers…steupss

23. The nastiness displayed by a man who based on his performance had no right to be any where near the PM’s office, tells you all you need to know about this man.

I have said on BU already that ugly people should be the nicest people. I have no love for the DLP but there is a former DLP MP whose wife is not the prettiest but that lady is such a wonderful person with a beautiful personality, one cannot help but admire and like her.

But Fumble, he seems to be angry that he is so ugly and that he is so black. The man is full of scorn, venom and is downright sarcastic. Why should we be saddled with a goat like him. He hates whom he is and is using his position to take it out at us.

To the ignoramus ac, you still begging the BLP for ideas? Have you no shame? Even if the BLP give you morons ideas, you are so ignorant, you would not know what to do with the ideas!

24. shut up wayward child (prodigal) nobody begging the BLP losers for any ideas given that most of their time in the wilderness they have only offered doom and gloom also given the dis-repair the party is undergoing they need all the solutions necessary to repair a disjointed party that has lost it,s way.

25. The then Prime Minister Owen Arthur also had a list on his desk from the FBI, of which he said on CBC that he was going to “pursue to the four corners of the law.” That list is yet to come to light.
    Prime Minister Stuart admitted just after the last general election that he was people buying votes. We have yet to see the Prime Minister expose these vote buyers.
    Mr Stuart is not a leader,he is a bleeder, not just a Yes Man, but a ‘Me too’ man,and this whole CLICO fiasco has brought this to the fore.
    We will never see the PM make that list public. He is just like the little boy who owns the ball at the cricket game. If things do not go his way, he grab his ball, and shout ‘I got this!’

26. Fraud, theft, money laundering, ponzi schemes, political corruption, political interference, PMs, etc

This blog is almost depressing enough to cause this observer from the Great White North to tune out of reading BU.

But, as I was eating my poached eggs on toast I read an article in The Nation that has restored my faith in justice in Barbados

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65005/police-capture-suspected-sea-egg-poacher.

Justice is indeed swift in Barbados – if you are one of the little guys trying to put food on the table.

27. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

The Shitstem Is A Fraud

28. Hants

Two tablets = two years

Tens or hundreds of millions of dollars = no time

29. St George's Dragon Avatar

Murder by shooting of unarmed man trying to retrieve his stolen tablet and double shooting of his son = paid holiday leave.

30. A fellow on the block told me that next time he see Sinckler or Stuart walking down Broad Street, he is going to snatched thier cell phones or tablets and take off towards Central Police station,while keeping his head down.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Panchama

I now saw the clip of the PM’s presentation. Sorry my sweet piece and David but I have to break a promise this one time. This man is a cunt and intimidator who is not fit for the office of Prime Minister. This shite wants Barbadians to think that those who rushed at these real estate deals where guilty. Regardless if.they were politicians or other persons.of prominence. CLICO the corrupt did nothing wrong by providing the attractive temptation. If CLICO offered the attractive package how the ass the buyers are the ones who were greedy. And the way he speaks seems like he is trying to say he is the facts- man, he is the judge, jury and executioner. Barbados in serious trouble with this piece-a-idiot

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine March 19, 2015 at 5:58 PM #
    Barbados in serious trouble with this piece-a-idiot
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    Boy, he is sounding, looking and behaving like Mugabe every day. He waited until the last moment to name the date of the last general election, Don’t be surprise if he does not call a date next election.
    Seig Heil, Mein Fuehrer.

33. Am I the only one who has wondered whether the Prime Minister is autistic”

34. @ Simple
    ya hear de man is probably ill……
    The combination of stress and diabetes can be real serious hear? …plus wunna musee got the poor man blood pressure in the sky…

Surely someone can take the poor man for medical assistance…
    You REALLY think a normal man in his position could talk so much shiite if he was well….?
    ..and with the doctors at the QEH pissing vex he can’t even go down there for a free checkup…..
    ..perhaps after her honeymoon is over Dr. Byer will give him a look over….

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Do you realise that your last comment could equally apply to Owen Arthur.

When he was much younger and alert, he stayed away from debates in the House. Now that early onset dementia has set in, he is in the House talking a whole load of bull faecal matter. He is still trying to justify placing a disproportionate burden on the poor, in the form of VAT.

I don’t know why Julie don’t tie him in the house before he walks away to become a missing person and his bones found in some gully years later.

36. “I don’t know why Julie don’t tie him in the house before he walks away to become a missing person and his bones found in some gully years later. ”
    I understand that she breathes a sigh of relief when he leaves the house so that wouldn’t happen

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You people would really comment about that crooked fraud Owen. The only thing he got on fruendel is several bank accounts plastered across Europe and else where. He and David Thompson are stupidly rich. He knows he has the secrets to pull down Mia from her reign but can’t do it because he won’t take the chance of exposing himself when Mia retaliates with her many stories about his numerous deals over 14years of pilfering. Why you think its easy for him to say sell this and increase taxes. The nasty little weasle got more money than sand.

But this current PM behaves like he is not involve in any deals. He is only interested in making sure he articulates pretty with much latin.phrases whilst talking a bumch of ignorant shite. Two prime ministers with contrasting sifdere.ces but both immoral is shite.

38. And you this to be a fact ?

39. You come here on this blog making accusations and sullying the good name of Honourable men whose only remit is to do good for Barbados and the citizens of this fair Land ? How dare you , hiding behind a pseudonym and making these kinds of wild allegations? You should be ashamed of yourself. Is this what we educated you people to do ? Cowardly attack individuals in Public life and cast aspersions (some people incorrectly say aspirations”) –on the good name of Honourable men. There should be an enforceable Law against such actions. Shame on you !!–Sunshine Sunny Shine

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Neville (who ironically only used a first name)

People will be people and I would wish to point out that “sullying” the name of politicians is not a pass-time that is only reserved for one politician against another politician

I would cast your remembrance to allegations of Mark Williams beating that young ting in Deacons so mercilessly that were it not for the intervention of Mia that the policeman who came to the incident would have arrested him on the spot.

Ironically, the very person who save his abusive ass is one who others “sully” with the revelation that she bit out someone’s clitoris.

Tom Adams was sullied as a woman beater, LoweDown is purportedly an HIV patient etc, etc.

But i guess that you are from the crew that gives “free passes” to tiefing politicians or to use your sanctimonious terminology “individuals in public life” who are above any such aspersions because “like gods” they have ascended to the heights of social deification

The truth tends to do this to people like you though when what is done in the darkness is seen in the clear light of day….

41. Prodigal Son March 19, 2015 at 12:37 PM #

“To the ignoramus ac, you still begging the BLP for ideas? Have you no shame? Even if the BLP give you morons ideas, you are so ignorant, you would not know what to do with the ideas!”

Prodigal, why are you worrying yourself with those DLP jackasses, political yard-fowls misfits parading on BU as AC?

When Owen Arthur was a member of the BLP and advanced the idea of privatization, he was admonished by the same AC. Now Arthur is an independent member of parliament and has again reiterated his position on privatization, he is being herald as a hero by the same sanctimonious AC hypocrites.

42. @ Neville
    “There should be an enforceable Law against such actions. Shame on you !!…”
    There should be an enforceable Law against;
    .. taking bribes
    .. misdirecting public funds to friends and family,
    .. stealing policyholders’ money,
    .. gross incompetence,
    .. failure to keep specific promises,
    .. pretending to be competent while putting a whole country at risk…..

Shame on you !!
    You want a law against the TRUTH?

43. “the persons who invested in the Executive Flexible Premium Annuity [EFPA],”

IT IS NOT A CRIME TO INVEST IN A PRODUCT FROM AN INSURANCE COMPANY.

“the people who earning quick money, who were entranced by the lure of attractive interest rates”.

IT IS NOT A CRIME TO “EARN QUICK MONEY” FROM A PRODUCT FROM AN INSURANCE COMPANY.

When you make an investment with an Insurance company you have a reasonable expectation of privacy.

Let us hope the “list” is destroyed. We do not need to know who “Invested”.

We jut need to know when the policy holders will get their money.

44. The unfortunate or fortunate thing is that all of this has become the knowledge of international investors, the IMF, international police agencies, international tax agencies and many more. The harm that has been done to Barbados is unmeasurable. You are known by the company you keep. If your friends are crooks then you too are likely to be one as well. There appears to be no law in Barbados against money laundering and tax evasion. Apparently it is acceptable if it is done by a certain class. It is the Al Capone story all over again. Hopefully international pressure will prevail and the crooks put away,

45. Then there is this. No luck for Bajans after 13 years.

“BARBADIAN POLICYHOLDERS, who have been battling Manulife in court for more than $160 million in compensation, will definitely not be getting even one cent from the Canadian company.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65068/cent-manulife-clients#sthash.vpd1egcb.dpuf

46. So having a list of names of people who invested in a company that the GOVERNMENT of the day told them that it is a safe company and to go ahead and invest in, and now this slimy PM want to let the public know who were these stupid people? And yet the government want people to buy their bonds? I hope you got the list for the POLICE and the DPP of the people that created, implemented and benefited this ponzi scheme to fleece the investors.

47. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65071/audit-reveals-dubious-dealings

Hadley Byer anyone, Richard Byer the fleecing lawyer’s brother.

48. So when the PM exposes that BARP and The Nation among others have EFPAs what that will prove – that he was smarter to buy an FPA. How that will assist me in getting back any of my money. Damn fool!!

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SITH March 20, 2015 at 9:44 AM #
    “The unfortunate or fortunate thing is that all of this has become the knowledge of international investors, the IMF, international police agencies, international tax agencies and many more. The harm that has been done to Barbados is unmeasurable. You are known by the company you keep. If your friends are crooks then you too are likely to be one as well. There appears to be no law in Barbados against money laundering and tax evasion.”

The above comment is in sync with the argument I have been putting forward all the time. There are ‘proper’ laws in place to deal with both money laundering and tax evasion; and even fraud and criminal negligence. The problem is one of enforcement against those who have friends in high political places.
    When a Prime Minister of a country can boldly stand up and claim that a fraudster and crook is his friend and no one can touch him for such obvious criminal behaviour what does that say about that country’s moral composition and its adherence to the rule of the law?

If the DLP administration and its sycophants believe their leader’s obvious association with a fraud perpetrator- who appears to be above the law because of his intimate involvement with members of the Cabinet- is just a storm in a local teacup and that Bajans shall soon come around to the reality that ‘Lepry’ Parris and his gang of fraudsters are no lepers then they have another thing coming.

The credit rating agencies would soon be further downgrading Barbados and the OECD will follow suit by blacklisting Barbados as a jurisdiction where tax evasion along with blatant money laundering is par for the course of doing business in the country and where the inefficient corrupt system of justice is known for accepting that the rule of law is the toy of lying politicians and where the law is observed more in the breach than in its observance. The CCJ is not too far off the mark in describing the local judicial system and law enforcement agencies.

Leave a Reply to Colonel BuggyCancel reply