Dr. DeLisle Worrel

BU seeks clarification, in the public’s interest, on a 5 millions dollar deposit listed on an asset disclosure to the Barbados Court in an Affidavit filed by LEROY PARRIS to overturn an order freezing his assets and those of Branlee Consulting Services Inc. BU is unaware the Central Bank of Barbados is authorized to accept deposits from individuals. Last week David Ellis, a friend of Governor Delisle Worrell, asked the same question on national radio. To date the question, not surprisingly, remains unanswered.

195 responses to “Does Leroy Parris Maintain a $5,000,000.00 Deposit with the Central Bank of Barbados?”

1. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Lemuel March 1, 2015 at 11:45 AM #
    “David:
    This person is paying their premiums but has no idea if they will ever collect on the policy when it is matured. Is there any information for them to look at?”

Lemuel,
    Anything I write here should not be interpreted as providing advice to any policyholder. All insurance policyholders should seek any needed advice from their agent or insurance company.
    Having said that, I feel that no policyholder should ever find themselves in the position that CLICO policyholders are in today.
    Generally speaking, if the policy is older than 3 years, the policyholder should be able to cash in the policy and receive the cash value of the policy. Apparently CLICO has no money to pay out cash values, so this option isn’t feasible.
    A fully paid up option is also generally available to policyholders who no longer want to continue paying their premiums. For example, if the face amount of the policy was $100,000, an actuary might be able to look at the total amount of premiums paid so far by the policyholder, and determine that if the face amount is reduced to $60,000, no more premiums will be ever required. Whenever the policyholder dies, their beneficiary will receive $60,000. The policyholder can then use the current premiums to purchase an insurance policy from a different company. Of course, the problem here is that some policyholders might be no longer insurable, and are therefore unable to purchase insurance from another company.
    These are the two popular options (out of a package of non-forfeiture options) which are chosen by policyholders when they no longer want to continue paying premiums.
    CLICO and Government have advised policyholders to continue to pay their premiums. At this stage, however, no one can tell policyholders that they are not throwing their premiums into a deep well. It’s a very, very tough position to be in.
    Hope this helps.

2. What about the Statutory Fund?

3. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David March 1, 2015 at 5:32 PM #
    “What about the Statutory Fund?”

From recalling what I read some time ago, the statutory fund was very deficient. Taking the statutory fund into account and auctioning off CLICO would result in policyholders getting about 20 cents on the dollar, tops.

1/2 billion dollars needed to keep CLICO life portfolio sustainable for the time being. No more talk. No more promises. Just show the policyholders the money.

4. If the Statutory Fund as reported is deficient policyholders may feel there is a good case to hold government (oversight authority) liable to make good.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You wrote:

“If the Statutory Fund as reported is deficient policyholders may feel there is a good case to hold government (oversight authority) liable to make good.”

The following may offer some guidance: section 38 of the Financial Services Commission Act states:

No action or other proceedings for damages shall be instituted against a member of the Commission or an employee or agent of the Commission in the discharge or purported discharge of his respective functions under this Act, unless it is shown that the act or omission was in bad faith.

Prior to the passage of the Financial Services Commission Act, the Supervisor of Insurance would have been liable for his failure to carry out or negligently carrying out his duty which would have caused a loss to the policy holders. I am thinking that Government would still have been liable because the failure by the regulatory body to perform or adequately perform its duties occurred prior to the passage of this Financial Services Commission Act.

I have been saying all along that the policy holders and investors should have taken CLICO and the Government to court to recover their losses. Unfortunately, many of them were thinking with their DLP heads.

6. BU is pleased to advise the misunderstanding between Walter and PUDRYR has been resolved.

7. @Caswell

This is a matter BIPA should test in Court,

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am looking for an industrial relations officer, and I thought that I would have to train someone but it seems that my search would be over if you are interested. Congrats David.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

From where I sit, it would appear as though BIPA has allowed itself to be misled or seriously misled itself in the pursuit of this matter. It does not appear that they wanted their money back, it seems as though they were happy just to be featured in the news.

10. David, you are a boss!

Proper.

11. @Caswell

Why would you attempt to trigger a volley of rebukes from Bushie?

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bushie really does not understand so I really do not allow him to set the agenda.

13. @are-we-there-yet March 1, 2015 at 10:29 AM “Or would he operate on the basis that he wasn’t taught treachery at Foundation?”

Some people may feel that by embracing Leroy Parris as “not a leper and my friend” that the Prime Minister has betrayed the CLICO policy holders.

14. @DeeWord March 1, 2015 at 10:26 AM “why would the Governor compromise his reputation like that…And obviously it can’t be just about personal money because he is very well compensated and is surely already well set financially for retirement.”

Has worked as a professional since his early to mid-20’s, to the best of my knowledge has not had to raise chick, child nor dog flea, the employer no doubt has an excellent pension plan. Has likely already surpassed the life expectancy of Bajan men…so what retirement you talking ’bout.

15. There comes a time when money is not important, because we will NOT need money in the place where Bajan men go at age 74.6 and where Bajan women go at age 80.4

Vanity, vanity all is vanity.

16. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David March 1, 2015 at 5:54 PM #
    “If the Statutory Fund as reported is deficient policyholders may feel there is a good case to hold government (oversight authority) liable to make good”

Government certainly is not blameless. However, from a practical standpoint, there is a qualitative difference in the outcome between taking the action, say, in 2010 vs 2015. I am aware that Caswell has already emphasised this important point.
    Barbadians have silently observed the following:
    Money owed to Barrack – little or no payment made
    VAT & Income tax refunds owed to businesses & individuals – little or no payment made
    Money owed to farmers – little or no payment made
    Money to be contributed to CLICO as per agreement with the JM – no payment made
    Money mentioned to capitalize the new insurance company to replace CLICO – none mentioned
    You get the point: government has no money.
    Suppose the government is sued and is ordered to pay 1/2 billion dollars to CLICO policyholders? Where will the money come from?
    How long will our forex cover keep the IMF at bay?
    What happens when a government files for bankruptcy? Has the Barbadian econonmy reached the point of no return?
    Even in the absence of the CLICO liability, do we have enough Barbadian workers to service our massive national debt?
    Is neo-slavery part of Barbados’ workers’ future?

17. are-we-there-yet March 1, 2015 at 10:55 AM “However, it is almost gospel now and known by anyone who would care to know, that the Governor is a creature of the MInister of Finance. Would that creature do something as egregious as this without having written proof that he was so directed or would he think that he could do it on his own volition?”

We all know very well that the Minister of Finance has no authority to direct the Governor of the Central Bank to hold money for a private citizen.

18. @are-we-there-yet March 1, 2015 at 10:55 AM “Or might it be that the whole dirty mess was not supposed to come out?”

Why is it that we like to pretend that we have forgotten what we all learned in Infants B

THERE IS NO HONOR AMONG THIEVES.

Of course the nastiness was bound to come out. Any 7 year old could have told us tis.

19. @Walter

Tempted to suggest the government has recourse to issue bonds BUT with public debt at a high level the Exchequer wouldn’t be amused.

On Sunday, 1 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. @Bush Tea March 1, 2015 at 12:55 PM “Perhaps the Central Bank will claim to have seized the funds.”

Dear Bush Tea: You know very well that ihe Central Bank has no authority to seize the funds of private citizens.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ All

Mr. Walter Blackman of late has borne the brunt of this old fool’s tongue/pen per a matter which I now being fully aware of the innards of the issue categorically retract.

I engaged with Mr. Blackman, as a son who loves the dirt of my country Barbados.

I was wrong to do so armed as I was with facts “illy complexioned”

I pride myself to make 3 claims (1) that I say that which I know to be true, (2) that I comment on/regurgitate that which I believe by empirical evidence I have examined to be true and (3) I comment on that which, based on infallibility of source, appears to be true.

Barring the Holy Trinity, that mantra is itself as fallible as the pronouncement that a bumble bee should not be able to fly.

I retract my remarks pertaining to your integrity Mr. Blackman in your past dealings in a particular matter 30 years ago and express my thank for the cogent facts provided by our Blogmaster

This is not a game where people can come to try hoodwink 270,000 Bajans and 40,000 illegal Guyanese this is a site where the majority of us seek to safeguard the lives and rights of mostly honest hardworking people who want to participate in that promise of having “a piece of the Bajan rock”.

If any of us put up themselves for national services, as scions of integrity, as the spiritual guides of our nation, as educators, upholders of the law, representatives of the people, union presidents in this time of serious crisis, rest assured that while you cannot be automatically “washed clean in the Blood…”

There has to be some point below which, as Bush Tea said elsewhere, we the people are entitled to know your credentials e.g. if you were part of the committee that bought the BMW and gave the $50,000 credit card to the last lot of thieves, why should we vote for you and we are entitled to know what differentiates you when you are now running for that similar post.

Maybe if every potential politician had to come here on BU, instead of the 2 hour make up mock sport CBC electoral run offs and speak intelligently to the issues and respond to this type of scrutiny and malicious cockrat commentary (believe me Walter, no insult was taken) maybe we would get an idea of who the real real men and women are BEFORE, dem get to tiefing de tax payers money.

To the Blogmaster maybe in the same way Danny was invited to post his manifesto, and in the same way Bush Tea has been asking Caswell to start the BUP, maybe it is time for BU to issue cyberspace invitations to both the DLP and BLP clowns to face the nation here, if they have the balls to do so sine nom de plumes, oops that’s me ent it?

Sincerest apologies

22. @Pachamama March 1, 2015 at 11:44 AM “Certainly, if a retail bank seeks to end an account with a member of the public and it is unlikely others will follow suit, or no other bank is willing to extend services to that person, a CB can be the last resort to a depositor. It acts as banker of last resort in other circumstances.
    Based on the report in the Nation today (Sunday), it would appear that that is indeed the case. Of course, this action is extraordinary but need not raise eyebrows, given ongoing circumstances. In fact it maybe a good thing!”

Dear Pachamama: What are you smoking? (or drinking)

23. Thanks Piece and Walter, let the discussions continue 😃

On Sunday, 1 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

24. @St George’s Dragon March 1, 2015 at 1:52 PM
    “…….our central idea is for the CB of Barbados to ……….. lend direct to individuals and companies, at zero interest, thereby creating wealth.”
    Put me down for some of that. I will lend it straight on to others and charge them interest. Splendid idea!:

But why would anybody borrow from you at interest when we could all borrow from the Central Bank at zero interest.

LOL!!!

Are you and Pachamama smoking (or drinking) the same thing this good evening?

LOL!!!

25. @Colonel Buggy March 1, 2015 at 1:09 PM “This is the opportune time for the fellow or fellows who , a few years ago, made an un- scheduled withdrawal of $1 Million from the Central Bank’s vault”

What ever became of the young “gentlemen” who were alleged to have made that unscheduled withdrawal of millions of dollars cash from the Central Bank’s secure vaults?

26. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Simple Simon March 1, 2015 at 8:29 PM #

There comes a time when money is not important, because we will NOT need money in the place where Bajan men go at age 74.6 and where Bajan women go at age 80.4
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    Boy some of those 74.6 men, may well be spending some of their pension money at Rehab. ……..Not the one in St John or Friendship.

27. @ Simple Simon
    Dear Bush Tea: You know very well that ihe Central Bank has no authority to seize the funds of private citizens.
    Dear Dear Simple, No one said that the Central Bank “had any authority to seize the funds of private citizens.”
    Bushie said that perhaps they will claim to have seized LP”s funds….not a word about authority.
    Besides LP is not a private citizen….he is Froon’s friend.

…are you not an English language expert? 🙂

28. Walter:

Thank you for the information. I shall pass it on

29. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David March 1, 2015 at 8:40 PM #
    @Walter

“Tempted to suggest the government has recourse to issue bonds BUT with public debt at a high level the Exchequer wouldn’t be amused. ”

You were right to suffocate that temptation immediately. The rating agencies have been warning the whole world that the government of Barbados does not have the taxing ability to adequately service its existing debt. Any bond additions will now be high risk, and will force govt to pay a high risk premium to lenders. Finally, the bonds will face a high probability of being defaulted. we need to generate jobs and create higher tax revenues.
    Easier said than done, for an economy that is now in uncharted waters.

30. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Walter Blackman February 25, 2015 at 10:49 PM #
    “Enquirer,
    By the time the EFPA came on the scene, CLICO’s reputation had already taken a battering.”

Enquirer.. February 25, 2015 at 10:54 PM #
    “Check and u will be able to find out the facts..Wasn’t head on the Board and EFPA was since 1998 when Clico was as its peak..”

Enquirer,
    CLICO suffered a mass exodus of agents in 1987-1988. In the insurance industry, those who knew and understood how an insurance company should be operated and managed were already eyeing the company with suspicion.

So when you say “since 1998.when Clico was as its peak”, what do you mean? Peak, measured by what? If you mean “peak sales”, then that suggests that after 1987-1988, CLICO simply assembled a new set of “sales”faces and unleashed them on the insurance industry. However, the business model never changed, and the level of suspicion on the part of knowledgeable insurance practitioners about CLICO always grew.

The reasons that the agents walked away from CLICO in 1987-1988 were still applicable in 1999. But people are not motivated by philosophy, they are motivated by money. With Barbados always experiencing high levels of unemployment, CLICO was always assured of a large enough pool from which they could recruit new agents.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Walter Blackman

You said and I quote “we need to generate jobs and create higher tax revenues.”

And not just any type of jobs.

we have a phenomenon here in Barbados called “ole Man’ s Grouse”

As an ole man myself I find it easy to speak of the disease.

Walter let me explain it using elements of the fatwa recently rescinded by yourself lol.

Ole menses, well past our shelf life, esconsed in critical decision roles, lacking vision, lacking the energy to implement any vision and naturally opposed to any young buck with vision.

Ole menses like us, whose body parts no longer work, even when Viagra is used, need to validate self by other means.

Talk Giants.

We indulge in and crave symposiums and conferences because it is the next best thing which stimulates us but what you have presented with your simple solution and statement boggles the mind of us so called statesmen who would love to believe ourselves to be movers and shakers in our twilight years.

The only solution to this predicament is jobs, of a calibre and persistency that will employ people and generate forex exchange.

We do have such job opportunities here but with the preponderance of persons in high places with the Ole Man’s Grouse disease you and I can be assured that as night followers day, we will soon be in the hands of the IMF with its attendant devaluation.

“Enemies of the state” that we ole menses with no vision, lately grown cold of flesh, have become

32. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Pieceuhderockyeahright March 2, 2015 at 8:18 AM #
    @ Walter Blackman
    You said and I quote “we need to generate jobs and create higher tax revenues.”
    “And not just any type of jobs.
    The only solution to this predicament is jobs, of a calibre and persistency that will employ people and generate forex exchange.”

Pieceuhderockyeahright,
    In the lead up to the 1994 elections, one of the BLP’s major slogans was : Job #1 is jobs.
    In the lead up to the 1999 elections, I noticed that Liz Thompson, and Trevor Prescod on different occasions, made references to “sustainable” jobs. This told me that they had seen what type of jobs had been created between 1994 – 1999, and they had reached the point where they were no longer interested in “just any type of jobs”. They were demanding “sustainable” jobs.

You have gone straight to the heart of our national problem and salvation, depending on how you look at it.
    Given the quality of the Barbadian intellect, we can create and maintain the kind of jobs that you envision, which will generate revenues for government and forex for the country. That is the salvation part, and that is what we as a country must work towards.

Of course, a national vision and objective like that would require a “new” approach to national decision making. At the same time, a moribund system bent on maintaining the status quo would quickly and deliberately seek to destroy the seed of such creative ideas before it has a chance to germinate.

The national confrontation now brewing is one in which an “old” system based on privilege, favouritism, nepotism, and social injustice is seeking to stave off the demands for fairness, equal opportunity, transparency, and social justice coming from “new” ideas. The ultimate clash of the “old” versus the “new” is inevitable, and you have highlighted it pretty well:
    “ Ole menses, well past our shelf life, esconsed in critical decision roles, lacking vision, lacking the energy to implement any vision and naturally opposed to any young buck with vision.”

For us to advance as a country, we have to make sure that “new”, creative ideas win when the inevitable clash occurs.

33. Replace the word warload with a type of shoe one would wear in a hot climate. What was the name of the famous male dancer in the eighties classic “Fame”? Substitute the word Africa with Barbados and what do you have?

What is happening in Barbados is a mirror image of what is happening in the continent of Africa – minus her raw materials.

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2015/mar/02/looting-machine-warlords-tycoons-smugglers-systematic-theft-africa-wealth-review

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman March 2, 2015 at 9:56 AM
    “Ole menses, well past our shelf life, esconsed in critical decision roles, lacking vision, lacking the energy to implement any vision and naturally opposed to any young buck with vision.”
    For us to advance as a country, we have to make sure that “new”, creative ideas win when the inevitable clash occurs.”

Creativity resides neither in the pounding hearts of the young nor in the resigned fate of burnt-out fogeys. It ‘lies’ at the eternal spring of intelligence; and to drink there from is a rare opportunity afforded to few.

What Barbados needs to do is to follow the adventurous spirit of its less-educated citizens of previous generations and EMIGRATE. Why not this time around do a ‘prodigal son’ trip and return home mainly to Ghana? I am sure 15 to 20,000 ‘educated’ Bajans would not even make a dent on the potential resources of the motherland. The exit of the Guyanese certainly did on the agricultural and retail spending sectors of the Bajan economy.

35. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Millertheannunaki;

Good point!

But would the “better than” attitudes of many of our people be welcomed there?

The project would have to be done in stages and meticulously planned so that strategically skilled, sensible and adaptable people are sent as forerunners initially to do the groundwork for those that will follow.

That home going would fail in a flash if some of our current crop of entrepreneurs go and muddy the waters for others.

36. In the Harbour Road and islandwide since DLP almost 5000 jobs were lost and major foreign exchange through call centres which is almost a dead industry.

This has nothing to do with the same 5000 or increased numbers from government layoffs/retrenchments within same period.

37. @millertheanunnaki March 2, 2015 at 5:08 PM,

“What Barbados needs to do is to follow the adventurous spirit of its less-educated citizens of previous generations and EMIGRATE.”

“less educated” are you sure? I would say pioneers. Indeed, as you have hinted, those adventurous pioneers achieved more in the UK then they ever would have been able to in Barbados.

That early generation was united and strong, and fought like terriers.

I will forever salute those brave young black men and women.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23795655

38. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Anthony re. your 7:05 pm post

I suspect that your statistics are in the right ballpark and your point seems to add to Miller’s above, if I understand you correctly.

But I also suspect that the current apparent upswing in tourists will only do a minimal amount in turning the economy around. After all we have to turn around about 7 years of negative or no growth and severe attacks on the safety umbrellas that had been set up to assuage lesser situations.

I think we are far from being out of the woods and that there is some merit in Miller’s post and that Government and the Private sector should be looking to put some meat on the idea.

Ghana is an attractive possibility as they at least had an incentivised scheme about a decade or so ago to attract blacks from the diaspora to return. I don’t know if the scheme is still on or not but it might be worthwhile for the Pan African Commission people to check that aspect out. If it is found feasible then a system of incentives could be developed to attract suitable entrepreneurs and workers to go there and contribute to developing that country as well as to prepare a place for other bajans to come and live eventually.

The project could be mutually beneficial in many ways. Our tourism could benefit significantly. Markets could be found for our products. We could aid in developing modern service centres there, etc. etc.

There are a number of Ghanians here and local Bajans with experience in Ghana who could assist in developing such a project.

39. The Wild Coot column is good reading today!

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet March 2, 2015 at 7:43 PM
    “The project could be mutually beneficial in many ways. Our tourism could benefit significantly. Markets could be found for our products. We could aid in developing modern service centres there, etc. etc.”

The same way the GoB is prepared to subsidize airlines to fly into Barbados to fill foreign-owned hotels why not help subsidize Ghana Airways to fly to the Caribbean at least once every two weeks?

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Since the breaking news yesterday that LP does indeed maintain a 5 million dollar deposit in the Barbados Central Bank, it has gone extremely quiet around here. I heard just one discussion on the matter on Brasstacks and even on BU this topic has been pushed aside for other matters.

Is it the calm before the storm?

No one expected the Government or the PM or even Donville Inniss to comment. But has anyone heard the Opposition say anything about this matter? Has the media been in their faces to get comments?

It is possible that the matter is so sensitive that even the Opposition is wary of saying anything that could ultimately damage Barbados significantly where it will hurt most. But surely one would expect that MAM would say something.

I wonder if the people will allow this matter to join the other 9-day wonders and die a swift death until the next revelation comes.

42. @ are-we-there-yet March 2, 2015 at 9:34 PM

“It is possible that the matter is so sensitive that even the Opposition is wary of saying anything that could ultimately damage Barbados significantly where it will hurt most. But surely one would expect that MAM would say something”……..
    ……………………………………

MAM and Kerry Symmonds dealt with this extensively at the meeting at St George Secondary last week but as you know the media would not be able to report on what was revealed. You know how these morons like to call the police for the Nation. MAM said that she has been threatened since she made mention at the St Philip meeting of the money trail in three accounts.

Kudos to the Nation for trying to keep the story on the front burner by getting interviews with two former Governors.

I guess the next revelation would come from the court when the hearing to unseal the JM’s report. Until then we we have to just wait patiently.

43. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Prodigal Son

Thanks!

Seems to me that they have a good case to go back to the house at the next sitting and bring a no confidence motion against the speaker and the MOF.

The speaker re. the sources of the bailout monies.
    The MOF re the revelation of the Parris Central Bank deposit.

44. @are-we-there-yet; short-arm jab to you re one of your few comments that I thought was bad strategy

You said above: “Seems to me that they have a good case to go back to the house at the next sitting”

Remember you were adamant that their walk-out was a solid political maneuver when others suggested that ploy though full of theater would be ineffectual as they would eventually have to creep back to the chamber without the resolution achieved which they demanded.

Well, I do hope they return because at the moment there are not doing the people’s business properly.

You may still not agree, but they should never have left.

They should have been in the chamber to repeatedly voice the concerns on the record.

Bringing it to the public via the town-halls as they do now would have still been possible and desirable.

Bad strategy.

45. are-we-there-yet Avatar

DeeWord

I felt at the time that it was the thing to do to highlight outrage at the revealed actions and character of a far from honourableSpeaker thumbing his nose at parliament.

I now think that it is time that they go back to parliament and confront the speaker frontally by tabling a vote of no confidence in him, since, if the rumours are true, his debt to the old gentleman was paid by others, not himself, and he should have had the monies to repay the man (whatever the report of the privileges committee eventually says).

But, I think it even more important for them to go back to parliament when it reconvenes to table a vote of no confidence against the MOF and through him against the person or people at the Central Bank and even perhaps the Government itself for arranging to have possibly laundered funds placed there. In this case I think the action will transcend the likely result.

In addition it was always necessary for them to be there to debate the Estimates.

So, in the spirit exhibited by PUDRYR and Mr Blackman recently, I can admit that I was partially wrong, but not totally.