Leroy Parris

In May 2012 BU posted on the matter Everton Cumberbatch Versus Leroy Parris, Larry Tatem and Breakers Investment Inc Case number”2008/770. Arising from the law suit one gleans that Leroy Parris has access to monies which he is the beneficial owner lodged in offshore accounts totalling in the million of dollars.

In todays Sunday Sun we learned of a case where Leroy Parris has applied to the High Court of Barbados to overturn an order freezing his assets and those of his company Branlee Consulting Services Inc.  In his Affidavit to support the application Parris listed assets as a residence at #8 Dayrells Heights, St. Michael valued $3.5 million; property at #243 Crystal Heights, St. Michael $1.5 million; Lots #’s 403, 404, 601, at Crystal Heights valued at $1.5 million; Lot 7 Dayrells Heights valued at  $450,000; three lots at #’s 17,18,19 at Sentinel Gardens. Barrack, Christ Church; and lot 15 at Westmorland, St. James valued at $2.2 million. In addition accounts were listed at Scotiabank and the Central Bank totalling $12 million dollars.

Relevant Links:

Under the FATCA agreement of which Barbados is a signatory although the intent is to identify US citizens who own bank accounts overseas, there is the opportunity for private individuals to be captured if   ‘current (mailing, residence, post office box or c/o) address is in the U.S, sole address is a care of address or hold mail among other indicators’– see FATCA Frequently Asked Questions.

It is obvious even to a Leroy Parris apologist that over the years he would have stashed significant monies overseas as the Barbadian middleclass has done over the years. Instead of filing a frivolous lawsuit which his lawyers have been accused of doing by the Caribbean Court of Justice why not drawdown from his overseas stash? The country and his friend the Prime Minister needs the forex now more than ever.

65 responses to “Leroy Parris and His Overseas ‘Stash’”

1. Prodigal Son re. your 12:33 pm post;

I agree with practically all you have said above.

2. David February 17, 2015 at 12:30 PM #

“Regarding the press conference there must have been a strategy behind it. Artax’s suggestion seems farfetched but who knows.”

Although farfetched, mine was a hypothetical suggestion, which was not properly explained. But I’m convinced there was a strategy, especially when you take into consideration the publicity and attention in the press the Michael Carrington case received.

We are all aware that the Nation sensationalizes simple news reports for the benefit of selling newspapers. However, as it relates to the Carrington affair, the Nation was able to publish information which was not published by the Advocate or broadcasted by CBC. Like it or not, we must admit the newspaper’s reporting of the information was consistent and sufficient enough for anyone to analyze and come to an informed conclusion.

Important associates and members of the DLP have been implicated in the JM’s civil suit, [Leroy Parris and the late PM David Thompson and his wife, the present Deputy Speaker, Mara Thompson]. Also, recall that Parris’ suit came on the heels of another civil suit against the DLP’s speaker.

Parris and his legal team probably decided to draw “first blood” (and subvert media attention) by having his lawyers present, during the press conference, copies of letters to substantiate payments he received, because the Barbadian mentality is one that usually interprets anything displayed by lawyers as being legitimate.

3. Parris ‘should’ have foreign bank accounts. David why dont you tap into your spy base and substantiate that comment.

4. “HSBC: Swiss bank searched as officials launch money-laundering inquiry
    Officials open investigation into suspected ‘aggravated money laundering’ and search bank’s Geneva premises”

It is time we become serious about combatting corruption in our country.

There comes a reckoning in everyman’s life. Call it a crossroad. We are now at that crossroad.

Barbados has no future unless it is prepared to tackle, charge, imprison and confiscate those sums of monies that were gained from those individuals who were directly involved in The Clico affair.

http://www.theguardian.com/news/2015/feb/18/hsbc-swiss-bank-searched-as-officials-launch-money-laundering-inquiry

5. Eye of the south Avatar

Nobody in Barbados will have sympathy for Leroy Parris. Why ? He has been obnoxious, arrogant and unkind to all those he came into contact with over the years.

All the while he has been creating an empire by clever manipulation of funding the source of which is questionable.

He once stated that his boss told him to get involved in politics, so he bought a whole set of politicians.

Would wish that the forensic audit be opened and everything made public. But then many will be tainted…..

Death was a merciful relief for our leader, but then again the future would have unfolded in a different manner.

6. @ Eye of the south
    Agreed.

But why is it that we don’t seem so upset or surprised when people like COW and Bizzy “buy a bunch of politicians”?
    …although they mostly brag in white circles, They have been known to do it on TV …. of course Bizzy sometimes cries in the process …so he does not come across as obnoxious, arrogant and unkind.

Bushie can’t wait to see the names of these other ‘PET’ politicians listed when the shit hits the fan…

7. Bushie, isn’t that level of ‘corruption’ “when people like COW and Bizzy “buy a bunch of politicians” unfortunately par for the course.

Donations to political parties or as in the US a political action group raising funds to the tune of 3/4 BILLION $$ to spend on their chosen politicians is done at every election cycle (well, not that type of money each time).

We caught Parris and Thompson in a blatant illegal act and that has allowed us to better understand the scope of the CLICO corruption and the misdeeds.

But, does Bizzy, COW or Rayside pass money directly under the table to sway a contract? I don’t know that.

So far, other than Caswell’s veiled comments that Ministers may be driving cars registered to corporations with whom they are doing business we do not have any direct links.

So I understand the corruption thing and your indignation of its pervasiveness but how exactly do you see us changing that other than electing different politicians.

And of course, then David’s mulberry bush theory comes into play.

8. One of his lawyers decided to really go the whole hog today!!

Vernon Smith has taken offence to the ruling of the CCJ.

“Following the court’s dismissal last Thursday of a submission filed by him and two others – Hal Gollop, QC and Steve Gollop –– Smith told Barbados TODAY he was “very offended” by the judgment handed down by the Trinidad-based court in the appeal case brought by Systems Sales Ltd.

In fact, he described it as “diatribe”, while expressing outrage that the regional court, which is this island’s final court of appeal, had spent more time criticizing the legal applicants and other members of the Barbadian judiciary, rather than dealing with points of law or their submissions.

“When I read it [the judgment], I was absolutely amazed. It was a judgment by way of diatribe”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/18/diatribe/

9. A story in BT has DD shaking his head.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/17/another-charge/

Another charge
    Scotiabank robbery accused back in court
    Added by Barbados Today on February 17, 2015.
    Saved under Court cases

The young man who appeared in a Bridgetown Court last week accused of robbing the Black Rock branch of the Bank of Nova Scotia on January 27, went before the District ‘B’ Magistrates Court today.

Malcolm Marlon Archer, 20, of Lowthers Hill, Christ Church, who was earlier remanded by Magistrate Douglas Frederick for robbing the bank of BD$13 956 and US$308 while having a firearm with him, re-appeared at the District ‘B’ Court on a possession of cannabis charge.
    After pleading guilty to the offence, Acting Magistrate Anthony Blackman fined Archer $500 forthwith, with an alternative of two months in jail. The fine was not paid.

Meanwhile, his mother and stepfather had their matters adjourned until June 3, by the same court. Adrian Athelston Pinder, a 50-year-old steel bender, is accused of dishonestly receiving stolen goods, that being BD$3 650 and US$50 belonging to Scotia Bank, between January 27 and February 8.

Archer’s mother, 43-year-old housekeeper Mohandai Durga-Pinder, who allegedly received $500, which was the proceeds of a crime, has been charged with money laundering.

Pinder and Durga-Pinder were granted $10 000 and $2 000 bail respectively, and must report to a police station once a week.”

So a young (probably unemployed) man robs a bank of about BDS $15.000 and allegedly shares part of his “stash” with his parents, including $500,00 with his housekeeper mother, who probably used the $500.00 to purchase groceries. And his mother is charged with money laundering, within days of allegedly receiving $500.00 from the proceeds of crime.

But, LP and his associates robbed CLICO investors and policy holders of hundreds of millions of dollars, part of which were scrubbed through his attorney’s account, and nobody has been charged with a crime years after the robbery and scrubbing.

Something is wrong with this picture.

10. @ Due Diligence

Maybe you will now understand the reasoning behind Leroy Parris’ article on the front page of our local newspapers recently.

It could easily have read ” you pariah and persons who have aided and abetted me in this big foot crime against the peeple of Bulbados should go on notice that, in the unlikely event that I should fall in this big up theft and the millions of dollars that we have fleeced together, as you can see from this full page article, if my new housing accommodation becomes Dodds or if I have to move from where I am, ALL UH WUNNA GOING DOWN WITH ME!!!”

“My name ent Pinder, I is Leroy Parris”

11. Tell me something I don't know Avatar
    Tell me something I don’t know

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66298/smith-parris-team

The CJ really should dismiss this case. How could you choose not to have audience with someone who has not paid their bar fees but accept papers filed by them. Especially since these jokers have been so defiant and vocal. maybe that is why they didn’t want Madam Justice J Cornelius – she would have had the intestinal fortitude and independence to throw out the case but the CJ allows Hal the Ponificator and pal of the PM to hurriedly pay his dues. Justice will be served.

12. Due Diligence February 18, 2015 at 11:41 AM #

Yes. And I am getting very worried about it. Surely you and others can appreciate, that if one pulls a string hard enough and long enough…..

THAT is the worry. Exacerbated by the arrogance and nonchalance of the administration, including an apparent lack of interest in how folks are treated at the QEH, due to the state of the QEH and its operations, including the position of the economic state.

There are many things wrong, but all some folks can talk about are blogs and a lot of irrelevant trivia.

Instead of LEADING.