Submitted by Anthony Davis
Who is the president of the BAJ?

Deputy Chief education officer David Clement and two other senior education officers were under a tree just outside the principal’s office during the exchange. When Clement was approached, he responded:”There is nothing to report. After an exchange between a security guard and the NATION team, which threatened to get out of hand, Clement gave an instruction to call the police if the team would not leave the compound.” – Nation 29/10/2014

There is lately the tendency of people in this country to exclude the press!

This does not augur well for our country, because those who are citizens of countries which really have freedom of the press will not want to set up business in a country which does not subscribe to freedom of the press. I would like to know what those people have to hide. From the Governor of the Central Bank to some members of the congregation of the Ebenezer Methodist Church, to the deputy chief education officer,  want to curb the freedom of the press because they have their own agenda. They all want to suppress information which seems to them the rest of Barbados shouldn’t know anything about.

What irks me most is the shutting out of the press from a Methodist Church which goes against all of the tenets of that church and makes a mockery of all that Sarah Ann Gill and Rev. Shrewsbury worked so hard to attain. They must be both turning over in their graves!

Whenever I hear or see the press being shut out it reminds me of Hitler and the jackboots of his henchmen who wanted a segregated world, and the men and women on the Allies’ side who gave their lives fighting against it. Are we not celebrating Remembrance Day on Sunday 09 November, 2014? Did those Barbadians give their lives die for nothing?

We have not gotten that far yet, but we must nip this scourge in the bud!

We already have a Government whose members go into stand-your-ground mode come hell or high water. We must not become complacent in such cases, as all dictatorships start with only a few people. A Freedom of Information Act has been mooted since Adam was in short pants, but all we are getting is talk.

You want to be players with the big boys and become a First World country, but on the other hand you want to keep us under the yoke of slavery by withholding information from us because we are not – in your opinion – worthy of having it, or are too stupid to comprehend what you say/do. Former PM of Barbados, Owen Arthur, said:”Massa day done”, and you had better believe it.

Do you really think that you would be accepted as a First World country if the players in them know that you continually hide information from the people in your country, and hinder the press from carrying out its duties?

I don’t think so. We must remain vigilant!

“The future depends on what we do in the present.”

19 responses to “Media LOCK!”

1. What are you saying. You actually want rights and freedom to ask questions?

What do you think this is lad? Stupse, get from roun’ me!

We is we and we like um so.

Tek whuh we say and guh long! Tings sweet, yuh lucky, yuh got it good.

That about it?

2. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

As the saying goes God helps those that help themselves. Journalism like so many other organs of society has been made to dance to the beat of the political drum. Certain news stories are stifled and relegated to the thrash bin,so as not to shine unfavorable light on some connected soul. Imagine a governor of a central bank imposing a ban, selectively nonetheless and the other lackeys, those on the electronic side included would let him get away with this nonsense. The opposition apologists today cuss those in charge for doing exactly the same thing Owen Arthur and Noel Lynch did so well back then. Dangle advertisement revenue in the face of a lap-dog media. That’s why I hold fast to the contention that BAJ is simply an acronym for Blowhards And Jokers.

3. @”They want to curb the freedom of the press because they have their own agenda. They all want to suppress information which seems to them the rest of Barbados shouldn’t know anything about.”

AS LONG AS WE ARE PAYING THE TAXES WE HAVE THE RIGHT TO KNOW. AND LAST TIME i CHECKED WE WERE LINED UP ALL THE WAY AROUND THE TREASURY BUILDING ANXIOUS TO PAY OUR TAXES.

What irks me most is the shutting out of the press from a Methodist Church which goes against all of the tenets of that church and makes a mockery of all that Sarah Ann Gill and Rev. Shrewsbury worked so hard to attain. They must be both turning over in their graves!

SUMMA DESE BASTARDS WOULD LOCK UP SARAH ANN GILL AGAIN, OR CRACK SHE HEAD, OR SHOOT SHE. WHO DE HELL SHE TINK SHE IS?–OLE’ FOOLISH CHURCH WOMAN CHALLENGING THE POWERFUL.

4. @HAMILTON hILL “thrash bin”

CHEEZE ON BREAD hAMILTON. YOU SDON’T HAVE TO PUT AN “H” IN EVERYTHING. tHE WORD IS “TRASH” is discarrrds, garbage etc.

Thrash is a completely different word which means means to beat.

In the good old days Mohammed Ali thrashed all comers.

5. We only playing we respect Sarah Ann Gill now, because she is dead and can’t call us deceitful to our faces. If she was living we would pelt she outta hay, because we the powerful don’t have any respect, or any use for foolish church women who feel they could come telling we powerful men what to do…looka our own wives have to be silent in our presence. Our word, right or wrong is law.

We is dan gorgons.

6. @..simple Simon. …now I must stand at the back of the class for that little mistake? You are one toug- cookie. Lol. I stand corrected.

7. There were no such thing as Freedom of the Press when this ancient Greek concept of Democracy first made itself known in the Americas and elsewhere. And in fact, there were no such things as the Free of the Presss when the American Republican form of government was first ratified. Those who studied or have read American Constitutional Law know that the Constitution of the United States of America, was constructed without was is commonly refered to as the Individual Rights. And Thomas Jefferson authored many of those Rights which are called the Amendment to the Constitution today. And today the Press by all intents and purposes the Press forms the basis for one of the vary important Checks which Balances the democratic institution of government. Now there is your history lesson Pach, Miller and Bushie.

8. Now I beg your pardon. I have made a few mistakes above and want to give clear notice to the verbal Jihadists.

9. @ Dompey
    Now I beg your pardon. I have made a few mistakes above
    ++++++++++++++++
    True
    ….and the first was writing that lotta shiite

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dompey

As one of the “Verbal Jihadists” you speak of, who dies many a death here inflicted by your assassination of the English language let me suggest the following.

You will notice that sum uh we can shift from “the Queen’s proper English” to Bajan on occasion and there we will purposely destroy the “gramaticality” of the sentences.

There is a site called reverso.com which is an online grammatical sentence tool to assist in simple things like subject verb agreement.

That way when you are finished writing something you should cut and paste it, get it to correct your subject matter and then paste it here.

That will at least address your challenge as far as the Verbal Jihadist are concerned.

I am still searching for a site which will address content a sort of “Blogging for Dummies” equivalent where one can feed in the subject matter, put in your ingrunce and whaplax, like Pilly dennn out comes Aristotelian material that would mek you into a Dan Gorgon dennnn.

Dat way everybody, including Mr Sealy who used to “take corporal punishment to unprecedented levels”, Hants. The Annunaki and GP would immediately have greater respect and GP would recant for not having taught you at St Leonards in the 80’s

And that fellow Bush Tea who nearly mek me dead de udder night when he mek dat comment bout “tazing students like you in classrooms not being legal en ting” would have to tek back all dem insults en ting…

I will sit back and await your barrage of forthcoming responses…. (dots of continuity)

11. Bush Tea

Brother, you’re in need of a mental -douche. You certainly remind me of the kid who runs off at the mouth when teacher is in and about the classroom, but has to make a hasty break for it just after the last school bell has rung.

12. Bush Tea | November 3, 2014 at 6:53 AM |
    “@ Dompey: Now I beg your pardon. I have made a few mistakes above++++++++++++++++True….and the first was writing that lotta shiite”

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

pieceuhderockyeahright | November 3, 2014 at 7:47 AM |

“I am still searching for a site which will address content a sort of “Blogging for Dummies” equivalent where one can feed in the subject matter, put in your ingrunce and whaplax, like Pilly dennn out comes Aristotelian material that would mek you into a Dan Gorgon dennnn.”

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha…………wuh loss………PUDRYR, you and Bushie are nuff, nuff sport……….hear?

13. Meanwhile the Trinidad Express has challenged the government of Guyana in the matter of the AG Nandlall’s threats against the publisher of the Kaieteur News.Dare we hope of a look in by the 2 dailies of Barbados?

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Gabriel

In the very damning recording of Attorney General Nandlall’s death threats you will find the response to your answer.

Somewhere in the recording Nandlall spoke of Jack Dear of Bulbados and went on to say “me of a different higher breed” a statement akin to what the wise Bush Tea utilizes when speaking of “Donkey” and jackasses.

The Donkeys (almost said Dompeys) who abound in the local dailyies are not of the cadre and ilk of Kaiteure Newspaper we only present young girls wukking up on fellow male students in our efforts to sell newspapers

The Price that the Nation had to pay for broadcasting lascivious news under the guise of serious journalism was one or two days in the local news and 2 weeks here on the blog.

Then it dead a natural death

There is no local equivalent really, no body heah does makes death threats to our local newspaper owners.

Here people may threaten never to put a red cent in advertising at the Advocate when the Editor in Chief doan want to publish an advertisement for an African Cook or like de nex daily newspaper, tek pictures uh Vivianne Gittens en de rest uh dems, sorry them (DEMs is a derogatory word) walking to court to a case of “perverting the morals of the Bulbados public”.

We doan really have de Editors who gine cry in front uh de cameras en ting.

De closest body dat we got to repeating de Editor Glen Lall tears is Sankey Price who I am told dat when Viviane light into Sanka backside bout de article, she and Roy Morris did treaten to fyah he and dat mek he cry after putting de photograph uh de school chilrun pun de nation back page.

No Gabriel, you gots to have balls to do dat and Vivianne isnt got none uh does, I tink?

15. There is always talk about two ‘Barbadoses’. You compare BU content to what flies in the traditional media and it becomes apparent. Pick any subject, politics, the judiciary …

16. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Did anyone realize at the opposition press conference last week , that in more than a few instances Mia Mottley sought to tell the reporters how to do their jobs.
    Does Mottley want TO CONTROL ALL the media outlets in Barbados?

Everytime she sneezes, the Nation carries a story. She has Tennyson Joseph kissing her ass every Tuesday and Mascoll sings the party tune every Thursday along with Harry Russel , Albert Branford and Ezra Alleyne.

The evidence shows that the BLP is in full control of the Nation management. A sad day in press freedom in Barbados.
    At least Freundel Stuart, despite his lack of regular communication does not threaten news reports as Mottley and her cronies do.

17. @NationBLPnewspaper

Believe what she said was the need for local media to be more intelligence when dissecting and presenting financial information.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply