Submitted by Cedriann Martin – UNAIDS Caribbean Communications Officer

Please find attached a press release on the launch of the Caribbean Men’s Internet Survey (CARIMIS)–the region’s largest study of men who have sex with men and the first such research to be conducted online.

Launch soundbites from Dr. Ernest Massiah, UNAIDS Caribbean Regional Support Team Director and Dereck Springer, Director of the Pan Caribbean Partnership against HIV and AIDS (PANCAP) are attached. You may also post/play/hyperlink our message videos:

Meet the men of CARIMIS

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZY2rsoWy0g

Men’s sexuality is diverse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGtfCUteHAs

Who’s out, who’s not and so what?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxH_SDYGApU

How many CARIMIS men experience self-stigma and abuse?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G1LCRX-UrJc

CARIMIS men and sexual health

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17YIx-E-muA

CAPTIONS:

4359: UNAIDS Caribbean Regional Support Team Director, Dr Ernest Massiah (from left), Chairperson of the Trinidad and Tobago Equal Opportunity Commission, Lynette Seebaran-Suite, UNAIDS Caribbean Communications Officer, Cedriann Martin, Coordinator of the Community Action Resource, David Soomarie and Director of the Pan Caribbean Partnership against HIV and  AIDS (PANCAP), Dereck Springer.
4449: UNAIDS Caribbean Regional Support Team Director, Dr Ernest Massiah (left) and Director of the Pan Caribbean Partnership against HIV and  AIDS (PANCAP), Dereck Springer.

92 responses to “Study of Caribbean Men Who Have Sex With Men Launched”

1. most men jump at the chance for a two to one concept with lesbians
    1 intriguing
    2 exploring
    3sexual fantasies
    4 a misguide beliefs ,, that there sexual performance would be an automatic transformation for lesbians becoming heterosexual, needless to say these men might have a heart attack trying to prove themselves

2. GP

What a joker. OK. No more art. No more science. Only Paul and the mindless plodder GP. YEAH!

GP would you agree that the creative element in man, along with love, are the nearest we have to ‘godliness’? Or would you say it is the ability to read?

3. ac

Your (4) is spot on.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon | October 29, 2014 at 10:25 PM |

Your explanation for the origin of the words “bulling” and “wicking” and their Bajan contextual meaning sounds rather plausible.

The Bajan dialect is predominantly infused with English, Gaelic (Scottish and Irish) and Welsh sayings and idiomatic expressions with a scattering of West African dialectal relics mainly around food.

However, I was of the view that the word “wicker” was a corruption of the word ‘Wicca’ referring to so-called witches who live alone or in all-female settings (covens) and who practise the pagan religion called Wicca, what people would call sorcery or witchcraft.

5. ross
    can you understand this simple outline of a simple Pauline arguement?
    ROMANS 1:18-28

Revelation of God derided
    Rejection of God preferred
    Rationalization of God’s Word decided
    Reversal of Truth presented
    Religious perversion accepted
    Reprobate minds adopted
    Ravishing appetites practiced
    Retribution of God delivered

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hahahahahaah…@millertheanunnaki

Wuh you people too scholary with these explanations. Please can you explain the origin of boxcy.

7. GP

You are pathetic. But sorry…remind me…is that little list to be found in Romans? Did Paul incorporate it into a sin list? I conclude, however, that you account ‘godliness’ as an ability to read. So I guess that ends it……………..”pieces of eight, pieces of eight, pieces of eight, pieces of eight….squawk, squawk” – sorry GP, did you say something?….Don’t shit on your perch there’s a good fella..

8. @Simple Simon
    In old English to bull simply meant to have intercourse, but the meaning of the word developed in Barbados to mean male-male intercourse only
    Show us the Chaucerian evidence, is there any evidence that some variation survived to this day? Is your explanation another “cock and bull” story? I am surprised that “Miller” fell for that bit of speculative etymology.

Now could you explain the origin of Papal Bulls, or the piece of paper known as a “bull” that we used to put on our kites to make that buzzing sound? How about the Jamaican pastry known as “bulla bread”? How did “bully” originate?

I am all eyes and ears.

9. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine the word is “botsie”. Don’t know the origin.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hahahaha than how can you dispute that I spelled it wrong when you are saying there is apparently no known origin. Look the bajan language too sweet. Anybody know this one: ” You musse catch gookma and gookapeckie. You is catching is a head cold”

11. robert ross | October 30, 2014 at 8:20 AM |

You are pathetic. But sorry…remind me…is that little list to be found in Romans? Did Paul incorporate it into a sin list? I conclude, however, that you account ‘godliness’ as an ability to read. So I guess that ends it……………..”pieces of eight, pieces of eight, pieces of eight, pieces of eight….squawk, squawk” – sorry GP, did you say something?….Don’t shit on your perch there’s a good fella..

you are such a Bible illiterate
    what you call a little list is a beautiful summary or sermon outline on
    ROMANS 1:18-28

Revelation of God derided
    Rejection of God preferred
    Rationalization of God’s Word decided
    Reversal of Truth presented
    Religious perversion accepted
    Reprobate minds adopted
    Ravishing appetites practiced
    Retribution of God delivered

read the list and read the passage again
    this passage is one of those that explains the aetiology of sin
    17 For therein is the righteousness of God revealed from faith to faith: as it is written, The just shall live by faith.

18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness;

19 Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them.

20 For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:

21 Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened.

22 Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,

23 And changed the glory of the uncorruptible God into an image made like to corruptible man, and to birds, and fourfooted beasts, and creeping things.

24 Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves:

25 Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.

26 For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature:

27 And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.

28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;

29 Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers,

30 Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents,

31 Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful:

32 Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

12. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine,

I spelt it the way we used to pronounce it 50 years ago.

” da girl dey got a big botsie yuh” lol

13. Apple CEO Tim Cook: ‘I’m Proud To Be Gay’

Bloomberg via Getty Images

Apple CEO Tim Cook came out as gay in a powerful essay for Bloomberg’s Businessweek.

In the essay, published Thursday, Cook said that he has never denied being gay, but has not publicly discussed his sexuality until now: "So let me be clear: I’m proud to be gay, and I consider being gay among the greatest gifts God has given me."

Read the whole story

14. RE Hants | October 30, 2014 at 2:43 PM |
    @ Sunshine Sunny Shine,

I spelt it the way we used to pronounce it 50 years ago.

” da girl dey got a big botsie yuh” lol

HANTS I PERCEIVE THAT YOU ARE A MAN WHO LOVES TO HAVE SOMETHING SOLID TO HOLD ON TO IN A SERIOUS CRISIS!

15. @ Georgie Porgie ,

YOUR PERCEPTION IS CORRECT. LOL

16. hold on tight bro
    to fall off at your age and get a brek up back would be worse dan Archie

17. During my service days I lived at two barracks ,one in the Rhine Area and the other in Aldershot, and when sending mail to Barbados I had to omit the names of these barracks. They were both name after General Sir Redvers Buller , VC. (pronounced Boo-ler Barracks)

18. LOL. Not only an idiot parrot – a self-confessed and incorrigible idiot parrot. If you MUST shit on your perch for Christ’s sake wipe your ass.

19. Life with all its complexities subject us to make judgement calls , But before doing ,should we not take a step back look with great depth while searching seeking understanding and allowing our minds to sift through the the complexities that others live that we donot understand and asked ourselves why?
    Here is a story makes for interesting reading about the daily life of a homosexual trapped in a life of social taboos and wanting to know why

http://www.irinnews.org/report/100509/paul-gay-rights-campaigner-in-drc-they-said-i-was-the-antichrist

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | October 30, 2014 at 8:38 AM |
    “Now could you explain the origin of Papal Bulls, or the piece of paper known as a “bull” that we used to put on our kites to make that buzzing sound?”

The term Papal Bull is associated with the seal or “Bulla” of the Pontiff of Rome. The material making the papal seal had to be boiled (it’s Latin origin being “bullire”).

I am sure you have heard of the term raging bull. What better term to describe a noisy kite called Jake LaMotta who would have enjoyed a good dish of Jamaican “bull-foot” soup?

21. Discussion of bullerology an wickamology.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/changing-views/

22. For me fellow geriacreics who can only look or lick, these girls could wake the dead. lol

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/calendar-girls-rock/

23. sorry about the spelling mistake….Geriatrics.

Dem girls got de ole man head spinnin although duh too young fuh me,

24. hants
    cover your stumps, go on the front foot and play straight

25. Georgie Porgie

You don’t seem to get it? And it is funny how you think that your Religious- worldview is the be all and end all? This is not the way the Hebrew Scriptures conveys it brother. And from the secular point of view: it appears readily apparent that you’re attempting to force your religious convictions down the throats of those persons who aren’t the least concern about your views on Christianity. I am a Christian and have been for the past twenty years. But I know enough to respect the beliefs of others whether they’re: atheist, agnostic, pantheist, secular- humanist, existentialist, Buddhist, Hindus and Muslim etc. And the reason why I have chosen to respect the views of others whether they’re believers or nonbelievers, centers squarely on the fact that when God along with his Son Jesus created the world. In His prescience, God knew that Corrupted man was incapable of a perfect obedience. So what did the Omnipresent, Omnipotent and Omniscient God did? He constructed within man the concept of Free-Will. God endowed Sinful man with the divine principle of Free- Will because He wanted Sinful man through the process of critical analysis, to make his own decisions; to act in accordance of his own judgment sir. So in essence, the entire concept of the Christian- Faith oscillates upon the divine principle of Free- will, or what modern academia would termed today: self –determination, self- realization, self- actualization, intellectual and cognitive freedom and finally, self- perfection.

26. @ baalam’s ass

Your words, quote………..”But I know enough to respect the beliefs of others whether they’re: atheist, agnostic, pantheist, secular- humanist, existentialist, Buddhist, Hindus and Muslim etc” Unquote.
    By your very words you prove yourself a total LIAR. I distinctly remember that only a short while ago you were trying to lambaste the LDS church. Where was your RESPECT then for others who believe differntly to you!! Huh? You Liar!!!!!

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

It is a thing Bulbadian that there will be three types of people who will risk commenting on this type of topic (i) those who are absolutely against the same sexness practices (ii) those who are for it and (iii) those who, while brought up with homophobic orientations, are saddled with a loving, caring Brokeback Mountain relative.

So for the most part when many comment here it is with a fear of not voicing one’s opinion too vocally since, just the act of being here, irrespective of wishing to be assigned category (i) just because one posts here one is considered considered category (ii).

But I wanted to give another perspective, a category (iv) which will call on all aspects of this connundrum for your thoughts and learned consideration.

At all times the Holy Bible or some other religious instruction comes into focus by those espousing why it is “not right to be same sex oriented”. I am being politically correct.

When you have a family member who is “that way given” as heterosexual men with gonads it is like a physical slap in your face. “Which side uh de family dat boy/girl get those genes from?”

Over time, and with exposure to the boy/girl, you cant help but grudgingly love the little fellow and you dont see his … I am searching for a word… variancy, you see him

With time, and with genuine introspection, you are less disposed to scorn his disposition and you start, some of us, TO TRY TO UNDERSTAND.

I must say that I do not “understand” it at all BUT I do have some queries that I have formulated over the years.

For the Holier than Thou brethren and sisteren and those in that crew that rely on Romans without exclusion I would ask you to ponder this.

Genesis1. 26 And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth. 27 So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.

Yet In Genesis 2. 18 in undisputed chronological order, it says “And the Lord God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him.

Some of the metaphysicists among you will understand the yin and yang rather the concept that both principles, the male and female essence coexisted in the First Adam prior to the “sleep”.

Essence is not predicated by form so a male principle can be in a female body or a female principle in a male body.

Fast forward @ today and Chris Back (Australia) who restates that “maleness is actually suppressed femaleness due to the stages of embryonic development”

In simple biological terms, which Dr. GP might affirm or gainsay, we males are males because the dominant female chromosone, is suppressed!!

So we have an androgynous creation with a departure point in the Biblical version of Adamic man, possibly coinciding with today’s meiotic divisions as posited by science bring us to a point where UN Human Rights Charters seek to enforce tolerance of “bullers and lesbians” for us homophobic males and (pretend) heterosexuals.

After a while the grandness of this creation befuddles you and makes you pause a while “and their fond pageant see, just to realise “what fools (we) these mortals be”

28. de hood | November 3, 2014 at 6:54 PM |

GLAD TO SEE YOU MAN
    JUST THE OTHER DAY I WAS WONDERING IF THEY HAD PLANTED YOU
    YA GOT TO KEEP FAR FROM BU DESE DAYS CAUSE THE VOLUME OF SHIT BALAAM;S ASS PRODUCING BOUND TO GOT THE EBOLA VIRUS IN IT

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright | November 3, 2014 at 7:49 PM |

What you have written is the one of the most befuddled explanation of why men and women are neither male nor female but a conundrum of both. Homosexuality is just the extreme points of the Bell curve; both left and right, male and female.
    Bisexuality is a genetic trait that either afflicts or free many humans caught up in their ‘black or white’ cocoon of sexuality.

Human life is not only a beauty of sexual and social variegation but a colourful reflection of our evolutionary genes. The bonobo philosopher would be proud of you.

PS: Could you please advise our mutual friend in intellectual drunkenness, Dompey the JA, to stay off the bottle on this one.
    As consideration to his agreement to forego this debate we will be prepared to pay his bar tab woefully in arrears.

30. @GP
    Hi Doc. I guess that one of these days planting time will arrive but I hope “not yet”.(lol) However I am ready for the event. I have already left instructions with the family how things should be done for the disposal of my mortal remains. I rather prefer to go the route of being put in the big oven at Coral Ridge as apposed to making fertilizer and food for the worms up there, (nothing wrong with a little levity at times, huh?). Also, I will ask that BU be informed of the event of ol’ de hood going to claim a likkle room in his Heavenly Father’s house. Never wanted the mansion; I’ll leave those for people like Froon & Stinking liar (Dopey Domps?) LOL.
    Regards.
    dh.

31. @Hants | November 1, 2014 at 9:15 AM |

sorry about the spelling mistake….Geriatrics.

Dem girls got de ole man head spinnin although duh too young fuh me,

H, don’t let the age bother you, there is still some hope for us geriatrics because right now there is a 19yr old who trying to set flybait for ol dehood. (LOL) And let me tell you, she is a great looking specimen of our Father’s creation!

32. de Hood

Behave!

Lol

33. @ David

Just a likkle levity, Dave, never hurt anyone; but thanks anyway for the chastisement! LOL.

34. @ De Hood, ” trying to set flybait for ol dehood.”

Sometimes it is enough to know that “you could if you wanted to” but your maturity prevailed and you didn’t. lol

35. @Hants

Has this been your experience?

36. Yes David but I have learned to resist temptation in my old age.

37. De Hood

If you intend to bring a charge against me, you ought to have given it verbatim or at the least paraphrase it brother. The only comment I do recall making in reference to Church of the Latter Saints, was its discriminatory practices against African Americans in the 1800s.

38. @ dompey the dopey
    Ok!!!!!!!! I fully understand your defense! You are now trying to claim you were too full of “de spirits” (what’s your fav? Mount Gay/Cocpspur?) to even remember what you wrote. You remind me of those politicians we have around here in Bim, they have become so good at LYING that they now believe the lies that they tell is the truth!! Carry on smartly fella.

39. It’s about time that Jamaica stops condemning and attacking those who choose to live a gay/bi-sexual life. Jamaica is increasingly viewed as a pariah state by those who find her attitudes on gays as both ignorant and intolerable.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2015/may/05/bisexual-jamaica-asylum-seeker-facing-imminent-deportation-from-uk

40. Surely Britain isn’t the closest safe country to Jamaica though.