The National Insurance Office wishes to advise customers that a hardware malfunction has severely affected its computer network. As a result, the delivery of all benefits including pensions will be delayed. The NIS technical team has been working consistently to rectify the matter but it is anticipated that it will take about three weeks to correct the problem and restore the network to its full capacity. The National Insurance Office apologises for the inconvenience causedNIS Website (30.09.2014)

The National Insurance  Scheme (NIS) has advised that they have encountered a computer hardware problem and it will take about three weeks (they hope) to mail benefit cheques including pensions. It is unimaginable if the same malfunction were to occur in a private sector company the catastrophic impact it would have on the business.  The cryptic message delivered by the NIS fails to give insight as to the nature of the problem therefore Barbadian taxpayers and those directly impacted by the hardware problem are left to speculate as to how come.

Thousands of senior citizens who depend on pension (benefit) cheques – to sustain themselves – will have to find creative ways to survive for about a month. The thought of old people who do not have access to alternative sources of financial support having to survive in the period is heart wrenching. The inability of the Minister of Labour to propose alternative payment options points to an insensitivity (inability)  to respond in a crisis situation. And this is another component of the problem we hope is on the radar of the managers.

Barbadians have had to endure failure of systems at the Barbados Licensing Authority and of interest to BU the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) in the last week. It is a fact of life that system failures will occur, it is the inability of managers of the systems to implement a robust contingency plan.

According to the relevant Act the Barbados Revenue Authority will have to release tax refunds by the end of this month or pay interest to taxpayers. Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler on a Sunday talk show in July made light of feedback in response to concerns expressed about the possibility of late distribution of tax refunds – Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Authority Margaret Sivers Meet Talk Show Host Corey Layne to Debate the Muni Tax. All reasonable people understand the government is challenged with finances but if the state of affairs continue with the government defaulting on a weekly basis on payments, the confidence the Governor of the Central Bank and others harp about will remain as elusive as the content of the FBI report or Transparency Legislation.

The problem affecting the BRA is more than a cashflow problem. The retrenchment exercise has wreaked havoc on the unit and key individuals who have the experienced about the relatively new system have left the department. The statement issue by the BRA’s public relations Officer Erica Lazare should be taken as the usual b*****t.

In the uncertainty about so many things there is the unabated silence of our leadership.

140 responses to “Senior Citizens Affected by National Insurance Glitch and LATE Tax Returns a Possibility”

1. LOL@ Observing
    Wuh if the backup system fail then they obviously have to shut down the MAIN systems in case these fail too …..and then there is no backup….Ha Ha Ha Ha …..ohhh shiite!!!

…..unless of course the main system failed some time ago and is awaiting repairs – making the backup the only current option.

…or perhaps Carrington don’t known one shiite about what he was saying 🙂

Talk bout place sweet…..

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“The director of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) Ian Carrington today insisted that it was not a cash flow problem that has prevented pensioners and other Barbadians expecting benefits from getting their usual cheques.”

“As it stands today, the contributions we are receiving are sufficient to meet the benefit payments.”

So Mr. Carrington is it impossible to implement a temporary payment arrangement while your so-called back equipment is being fixed?
    Why not send the last set of payment instructions to the banks of pensioners who have opted for this type of payment arrangement?
    Why not manually prepare ‘cheques for encashment’ for those pensioners who don’t have the bank account lodgement facility in place?
    What would happen if a similar problem were to arise regarding the Smartstream payroll system for central government employees or for politicians and members of Parliament? Would they too have to wait for 3 weeks while the hardware problem is being sorted out with the treasury awash with money to pay salaries and allowances?

3. @Ian

What about redundancy?

Yes you are doing all you can to get the replacement equipment to arrive by Friday. And yes we understand it is unique. Your situation is analogous to the BLP rebuilding a state of the art prison AND ignoring the problems that would have caused the problem.

4. The situation has changed somewhat now, we, pensioners has been told we will get our pensions by next week end, so we are hoping the corn beef & sardines left in the cupboard will last out until then. BU do you think I should hold my breath? (It isn’t a laughing matter or I would put in LOL).

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Just trying to analyse the comments from the NIS operatives so far since the politicians and real big-ups haven’t opened deigh teet yet ;

1) The hardware glitch is being worked on with dispatch and professionalism but will take 3 weeks to fix.

2) The problem is caused by the breakdown of the power supply (UPS?) system for the backup servers. That system is unique but Dell has already manufactured a new one for Barbados (LOL) and it is already on Fedex to arrive by tomorrow.

3) With the above initiative, we, the pensioners, will have our cheques posted by next weekend. Therefore the problem will not take 3 weeks to fix but just about 1 week +.

4) The professionals at NIS are eminently capable of doing their jobs but have been constrained to some extent by unnamed authorities higher up.

5) The problem does not appear to be a sudden one but one that has been acting up for sometime now.

The questions that needs to be asked are:-

Why did it seem that it would take 3 weeks to solve this problem and why was that official announcement made? Wouldn’t competent professionals in this area know that the problem was a one-week-to-fix one rather than a 3-week-to-fix one? Why have the politicians, especially the Ministers responsible for the NIS and the MoF been silent on this issue (Please discount the Freundel model in this case)?

Could it be that, despite what Ian Carrington says about the 4.2 billion, that that money is primarily in government bonds of debatable value at the present time and there is an overarching Government cash flow problem that is evident in government’s inability to pay most debts? Could it also be that the presumably very high cost of fixing the problem in 1 week was one which only the MoF could resolve? and that the initial response from that agency to finding that money was akin to “let them eat cake” and hence the publication of the initial 3 week solution that paid little consideration to the plight of pensioners?

Are there some serious lessons to be learnt from this incident re. if we’ve reached there yet?

6. @Bushie
    “or perhaps Carrington don’t known one shiite about what he was saying”

this is the most likely option.

anyone with an iota of systems analysis or computing knowledge knows that this explanation is hogwash. Or at the very least, the length of time to fix the problem indicates a MAJOR flaw in contingency and business continuity planning, not to mention data security, integrity and as you correctly said, redundancy policies. The IT guys are taking the fall for administrative lapses.

Does anyone want to wager that we will NEVER get any clearer or more detailed explanation about this…?

Looka look over and away, Pierson get grilled one day and resigned the next. Accountability at its best. But as Kid site said, only bout hey.

Just Observing

P.S. I ain’t get nuh income tax yet, so was hoping that my great-grand mother could help me pay this hire purchase bill. Now she has to wait too. well well well.

7. @awty
    Even after much time away it’s clear we still think alike. Good points. As I hinted at, in other places a head or two would roll for this.

uh gone.

Just observing.

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Observing;

Thanks! I seek only to walk in the footsteps of the master.

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Observing; looking at your post again. The problem here is that in the unlikely event of a head rolling, that head would be the wrong one.

10. The REAL ISSUE is…………………

THE MONEY PRINTING PRESSES AT CENTRAL BANK ARE DOWN…..

11. @Persimmon

You got this Wily Coyote mixed up as some other coyote !

12. Just had to drop THE WASTE MANAGEMENT a note advising them that my personal FART MACHINE BACKUP is malfunctioning and as a result the Chinese supplier of the volcanic parts has advised replacement parts will not be available until late 2016, so I’m forced to defer payment of my WASTE TAX until repairs are completed.

Thank You for your understanding.

13. Formerly Middle Class Avatar
    Formerly Middle Class

Interesting how the failure of the backup power supply shut down the system………

That means that the main power supply failed and would have had to have done so, some time ago. So why was the main power supply not replaced? Systems such as this have redundant power supplies for such an occurrence as this. This combined with a warranty process would have led to a situation where the failure would not have caused any downtime.

Even if the system’s original warranty period had expired, there is usually an option to extend the warranty. In the case where the warranty cannot be extended it is prudent to keep spares on hand.

The excuse given does not hold water…………………

14. Many , many years ago I visited one of three semi-automated industrial manufacturing plants spread across the USA, which were all linked by computer,and any two of them were capable of instantly taking over the production operations, in the case , anyone of them breaking down. Do you mean to tell me, with all the computers which the government owns, and the bariffle of gurus with all types of qualifications and high salaries, that we , an almost- there, First World Country, are unable to make adopt a similar system.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Wily Coyote | October 2, 2014 at 10:52 AM |
    “THE MONEY PRINTING PRESSES AT CENTRAL BANK ARE DOWN…..”

You are onto a something here, mate! Maybe a dead rat of a Worrell stinking in Denmark like an old onion in a bag of decaying bloaters.

The IMF has thrown a business monkey spanner in the works and has certainly done a luddite job on Worrell’s printing machine. Even the poor PM is so stressed out by this act IMF act of ‘agent-saboteur’ that he has decided to delay the inevitable return to face his fiscal Waterloo.

What would be the outcry and alibi come November? Tax refunds can’t be processed or some public workers’ salaries have to be put back to the Xmas payroll?
    Can we expect the MoF soon to go on extended sick leave suffering initially from a hot touch of Chikungunya and then leading to the contracting of the more deadly Ebola, the first political case in Barbados?

Be on the alert, Dr. Estwick, your medical knowledge of fiscal resuscitation might be soon on demand!

16. miller was that old lady you on the front page of barbados today,,, good actress i must say,,,

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 2, 2014 at 5:26 PM |

How can the old girl be the miller, old sow ac? You of all people know what the miller’s foot looks and ‘feels’ like.
    Unlike the old ratbag of a political yard-fowl called ac the matriarch is representative of that spirited Bajan old-timer who built Barbados for what it was up to 10 years ago. Hard working with nothing but a basic education, brimming with pride and compassion all infused with more than a modicum of commonsense and not afraid to tell it like it is.

18. Miller,

Tell ac that that old girl spoke with more sense than their old girl Ms Mapp who now cannot access a bus on weekends from where she lives!

Tell ac she should be on her knees praying for a speedy recovery for the sleeping giant!

19. Miller,

I was surprised that the MOF allowed the IMF to come for this visit at this time. Let’s wait and hear the IMF’s findings and recommendations since the Chamber has said that the imposed measures are not delivering the desired results.

20. “Barbados Revenue Authority will not accept Land Tax and Municipal Solid Waste Tax being paid on one cheque for the same property. It MUST be 2 separate cheques, even though it is written to the BRA. HOWEVER, they will permit you to pay land tax for more than one property with a single cheque. Go figure.’ taken from FB

21. Is it any wonder that two weeks ago the Minister of Health , revealed plans to upgrade the existing Geriatric Hospitals. Was he hinting to the pensioners , now affected, that the time may come when we have to revert to the old Almshouse System

22. islandgal246 | October 2, 2014 at 7:36 PM |
    “Barbados Revenue Authority will not accept Land Tax and Municipal Solid Waste Tax being paid on one cheque for the same property. It MUST be 2 separate cheques, even though it is written to the BRA. HOWEVER, they will permit you to pay land tax for more than one property with a single cheque. Go figure.’ taken from FB
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Perhaps the Land Tax is going into the Treasury, while the Solid Waste Tax is going into the Trousery

23. miller if u were nice i would give u a sneek peek at ac,,,for sure ac does not look like an ole sow and for sure all them nasty things u say about me u would have to retract.BTW is the old lady crying for her NIS check on the front page of the barbados today, the new face of the BLP…

24. “BTW is the old lady crying for her NIS check on the front page of the barbados today, the new face of the BLP…”

Like the old lady on the bus saying that the BLP will raise bus fares and vote the DLP back to cut bus routes and make people like her pay, to lay off people and put more suffering pon de Bajan public?

25. o,k copy cats not an original idea coming from the BLP .

26. This excessive wait times for severance and now delaying pensions is totally unacceptable.

BLP DLP or PIMP government should not influence the thinking of reasonable people.

Barbados is not Kuwait or Brunei. A lot of lower income people live pay cheque to pay cheque.

Hopefully this Server Backup problem will get solved by Monday because in my world you drink gallons of coffee and work until the problem is fixed or the work is complete.

27. but this is the third world,,,

28. So de computer will soon be fixed? When I heard about de long wait I thought that they were still using the IBM 1401 gifted by the US Gov’t in 1969 and had difficulty acquiring parts.

29. No Sarge I hope it ent de Chinese computers dem get as gifts.

30. You mean those Chineseleak computers that are connected directly to Beijing. The Chinese will always ensure that they are up and running.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 2, 2014 at 9:40 PM |
    “but this is the third world,,,”

Sweetheart ac, (you see, the miller is being nice to you) that is the truest thing you have ever said on the blog.

So we must accept the shit that is happening with the NIS. We must accept the bad treatment meted out to the laid-off workers. We must accept the mountains of garbage and litter around the place compromising the country’s longstanding good public health systems.

The people must also accept a vile corrupt socially destructive lying deceitful political party to administer their affairs of state.
    The ignorant docile third world classless people, as a consequence, must accept the ugliest despicably arrogant most incompetent biggest liar of a man in the world to be their leader.

You said it all, smartass ac, welcome to modern Barbados; a country that moved from No.20 on the UN Human Development Index in 1992 to No 59 in 2013 sliding inexorably to becoming a real, real third world failed state indeed!
    But ac according to your standards and those of your jackasses for bosses who like to dismiss those international rating agencies Barbados has shown marked improvements since 2008.

That’s what happens when you put the cart before the horse or a society long in front of an economy.

32. Miller,
    I heard Petra Roach saying today that some “high end journalists” will be coming from the UK. My first thought was..oh no…..what roads will they use to transport these British people who can be so sarcastic and condescending………….along the highway?………………….

Seems like Maloney only found sponsors to Graeme Hall. The section from Graeme Hall to Gary Sobers is like a jungle. I am just hoping that the journalists stay indoors and do not drive along our roads to see the garbage.

God forbid…………..can you imagine the headlines and pictures of the garbage spewed all over Barbados in the UK papers?

33. prodigal Son

Who really cares what those British jounalists, who are obviously skilled in the art of frugality thinks or writes about Barbados? Do their pay the bills around here? Well their could F off…. Now are we beholding to their opinions? I really hope not? And that we are cognicant of the fact that people will write shite even if you have the most prestine and ideal conditions,

34. Prodigal Son

You cannot allow the negative opinions of others to influence your opinion of the LAND of your birth. You have treat the LAND of your birth as though it is one of your family, who you would defend at any and every cost. You wouldn’t allow another man to stand in your face and insult the WOMAN who gave birtth to you right? Well, you ought to treat your COUNTRY with the same unconditional and unfailing love, as you do your MOTHER, and must do it irrespective of HER faults and failings. sir.

35. Where is the accountability factor now? If our phones, ATMS, airline reservations etc were out for 3 weeks would the private sector hold anybody accountable you think? A function as important as generating benefit/pension cheques must be managed under a strong IT governance system. Can we expect answers?

36. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sargeant;

You know about the IBM 1401 computer? I might know you. I worked with that for a short period. Remember Autocoder?

37. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; Re. your 5:59 am post. It is my understanding that Bushtea was right about the relationship between Main power and backup power. There are only certain conditions under which backup power becomes necessary. The Technicians can’t be blamed for this problem. If they were, heads would have rolled already. Note that the politicos are still quiet. That says a lot.

38. @are-we-there-yet

What are you saying? When does a BCC plan becomes relevant?

39. @AWTY
    Our paths may have crossed back in the day but my association was short as I left for “greener pastures”. When I posted about the 1401 I wondered if anyone on this blog had heard about it, I believe it may have been the first computer in the island although there was a firm in the Grazettes Industrial Park (the name escapes me) that also had some sort of card reader/computer.

40. No Sargeant todays lingo in IBM mainframes is as400.

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

The CPU for the IBM 1401 Mainframe took up a whole big room in the New Treasury building and the 1401 indicated that the memory was a whopping 14K. Coding was done in a machine language, Autocoder.

The 1401 was replaced with an IBM 360 around 1972 or thereabouts which was a much more current computer at that time. The Data Processing Unit had a good staff that included stalwarts like David Medford, David Holford, Yvette Mellowes and a number of others whose names do not come to mind now.

I wonder what the survivors of that era think about this current situation at NIS and what might have led up to it?

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; Didn’t see your 7:07 am post until just now.

A BCC or indeed any maintenance plan, irrespective of how good or how relevant it might have been, could become irrelevant if funds are not made available in a timely manner for essential replacements at all stages of the plan.

43. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sargeant;
    I forgot to mention one name in my short list of people of some influence who worked with the DPU in the 1960-70’s. That name is Harcourt Lewis. You might remember him.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dompey | October 3, 2014 at 3:10 AM |
    “Who really cares what those British jounalists, who are obviously skilled in the art of frugality thinks or writes about Barbados? Do their pay the bills around here? Well their could F off…. Now are we beholding to their opinions?”

The British pay loads of bill around your country. If not the British journalists then certainly the British residents whom your government beseechingly encourage and grovel to entice to visit hungry Barbados.

Don’t you know that the British visitors make up the largest percentage of long-term visitors and spend the most money on the island? Check the accents of those who frequent your beaches or visit the Oistins Bay Garden.
    Can’t you understand that the same way the BTA and its successors spend millions of dollars promoting Barbados and influencing the British tourist to come to paradise the same way negative images in newspapers and on TV can have similar impact on the decisions of the same potential tourist NOT to visit a dirty rodent infested crime-ridden place?

You are so intellectually myopic you allow your xenophobic constipation to pass for patriotism.
    But we know you would never see anything wrong in visiting a stranger’s house and having a meal with the toilet bowl full of shit and rats and roaches running around the kitchen.

We are not surprised at the level of your thinking; strictly a ‘dlp’ mindset. Dirty lying pest just like your partner in filth ac. Both of you make great ambassadors for that jurisdiction for a cesspool of incompetence, lies, deceit, dirtiness and classlessness located in George Street.

45. AWTY
    Yes remember him well first Head of the DPU, if I start to talk I may reveal too much do you know when it was first located on the ground floor of the treasury Building? Will talk later

46. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sargeant;

Yes, I was there briefly during that time. Pjop Williams was also there. He was an excellent teacher and System’s analyst. Left for other pastures.

47. Another case of governmental indiffence and incomptence. Where is the leadership ?

48. Caswell Franklly you complete jack ass … Complimenting Dennis Johnson at my expense gets your juices flowing … is that it .. you idiot. How the hell does that help anything .. huh?

49. @BAFBFP

What should be clear to you by now is that the guys don’t react well to your barbs. Public radio is not the BU forum where we try to go pass the idiosyncrasies of fellow commenters to identify the substantive content of your message. Change or get banne again.

On Friday, 3 October 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

50. Banned .. Now why the hell would they want to do that …? … An institution that is traditionally packed to the hilt with the most cowardly examples of Barbadiana imaginable, is capable of creating yet another reason to ban me ..? Really David

Leave a Reply to Lincoln Carrington HarperCancel reply