Submitted by Douglas
It has always contemplated some students assuming responsibility for their education at some stage
“It has always contemplated some students assuming responsibility for their education at some stage”

It is the duty and the responsibility of the Government to ensure that the resources of the country are spent in the most prudent manner. In a situation where the resources are already under pressure, government has to take the tough decision to ensure the viability of the service being offered. The area of education has been one of the areas where Government has taken the decision that an intervention was necessary to halt a runaway budget before it collapsed the entire educational system.

In the presentation made to the DLP’s Annual Conference, Prime Minister Stuart articulate what has been the DLP’s longstanding policy as it relates to UWI education:

“One area in which the stridency was very evident was that related to the contribution by student to the cost of their education at the University.

This measure, in which government still continues to meet 80% of the cost, was described variously as a declaration of war on the poor, a cutting back of the opportunities available for persons to access university education, a repudiation of Errol Barrow’s legacy, and an attempt to undermine the viability of the university itself…

The response of the Democratic Labour Party in government to this particular challenge has a history which needs to be told.

As long ago as October 1980 the DLP in Opposition had been reflecting on what its policies should look like on its eventual return to government. Through its Academy of Politics, the Party hosted a series of lectures under the theme “Social Problems We Face”. One of those lectures was delivered by Dr. Leonard Shorey who spoke on the subject: “Perspectives on Education in Barbados” Amongst the views clearly expressed in that lecture, Dr. Shorey insisted that to avoid the proliferation of imbalances produced by the tertiary education system, a future government of Barbados should link funding for students to national priorities and manpower needs.

Five years later when the Party was celebrating its 30th Anniversary, it produced an 84 page publication bearing the title “30 Years and Onward” which highlighted both its achievements for the first 30 years of its existence and what it proposed to do on its return to office. At page 60 of that publication it stated as follows: “A DLP Government will work more closely with the UWI so as to determine where priorities lie and to determine how many places will be funded in each faculty, based on plans and manpower projections.” I might add that the foreword to that 84 page publication was written by Errol W. Barrow. The Party has never contemplated funding university education for all students indefinitely.

It has always contemplated some students assuming responsibility for their education at some stage. For that reason it passed the Student Revolving Fund Act in 1976 to facilitate student loans. Present policy is in keeping with that commitment and also with the Barrow legacy.”

Over time it will be seen that the decisions taken by the government to right size the budget of the University of the West Indies will work out to the benefit of the students and the people of Barbados. What could would the University be to the country if it had been allowed to continue on its trajectory with an unsustainable financial model? It would have led to the collapse of the educational system in Barbados.

This measures also brings into focus the importance of the University to meet the demands of the students and the workplace by focusing more on quality as oppose to through-put. A university education was never intended to be a factory production line where the focus is on the number of units produced. A university education should be tailored-made and hand crafted. Creating specialty pieces which meets the needs of the end-user and which over all benefits the environment where it has been deposited.

The focus of the University of the West Indies should be on creating programmes where students exiting the campus are equipped with the skills and knowledge which are in demand in the workforce; placing them at a competitive edge locally, regionally and internationally.

Finally, it must be noted that UWI cannot be the single largest beneficiary of the resources of the Government. It is time that greater emphasis is placed on the other institutions such as: the Barbados Community College, The Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic, The Secondary Schools and the Primary Schools as well as other technical and vocational training centres so that they too can assist in the development of our workforce to exceptional world class standards.

71 responses to “Prudent UWI Correction”

1. Nobody give a topic without strings IF true.

2. David
    This is the latest rumour making its way around informed sources. I am just trying to see whether there is an truth to it or it is PR.

3. millertheanunnaki | September 25, 2014 at 9:19 AM |
    “Now here is one! Get rid of the useless Cabinet since for the last six years it has been incapable of designing and implementing an “original plan of action”! Your business model has failed and it’s time to call in the IMF administrators.”

First things first Miller, the IMF is already here. Do you think things like the Barbados Revenue Authority, students paying UWI tuition fees, retrenching over 4,000 public sector workers (and bear in mind, of the 30 or so statutory and quasi government organisation, only 5 have been affected by lay-offs so far) and school children paying bus fare (they did not implement it fully, but conveniently placed a time after which fares are to be paid) are policies created by this administration?

Talk about the Cabinet……. it’s the largest in the history of Barbados, but they are immune to the recession excuse that was used to send home bus drivers from the Transport Board, life-guards at NCC, those people who clean the drains from the Drainage Unit and, rightfully so, all those people Michael Lashley brought on at the NHC months before the 2013 elections.

As it relates to my questions about the 4 losing candidates, recently, I saw Harry Husbands in the papers taking about education, Irene Sandiford-Garner was on BU writing shiite, so, that leaves Jeptar Ince and Patrick Todd.
    What the hell does Todd do for his salary other than walk ‘bout town in blue pants and white, long-sleeve “bush jackets”?

4. As for ac the consummate patriot one not willing to lay out a platter laden with political mischief bundle with marches and diehard intentions weighing in on divisionary tactics unleased on govt hoping all to be the politcal blow which will dessimate the govt and throw country into a perilous flight of desingration..all of which the political arm of the blp party and operatives are guilty of………………..signed a patriotic barbadian

5. Miller and the motley crew can keep banging wunna heads against the policies of govt but until wunna have plausible and reasonable alternatives to counterattack.your views and comments would become as tumbleweed tossed and driven by the wind

6. ac
    What about Dennis Kellman’s recent special interest rampage attack on the goodly people of Six Mens, referring to them a SQUATTERS? But then again maybe he was emboldened by the Constituency Representative’s refusal to defense them again Bjerkhamn

7. As far back as February 2010, Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur, suggested the following five key guidelines for success in spite of recession:

1) SUSTAINED INVESTMENT IN SOCIAL CAPITAL
    2) SOUND MACRO-ECONOMIC POLICIES WITH EMPHASIS ON ENERGY AND INFRASTRUCTURE
    3) PURSUIT OF RELEVANT STRATEGIES TO CONTINUE A DYNAMIC CULTURE – STIMULATING CREATION IN BOTH PRIVATE & PUBLIC SECTOR SO AS TO GENERATE SIGNIFICANT RETURN ON INVESTMENT {ROI}
    4) INSTILLING ENTREPRENEURSHIP WITHIN GOVERNMENT
    5) MAINTAINING AN OPEN SYSTEM IN THE SOCIAL PARTNERSHIP

However, the DLP is on record as saying they don’t want any suggestions from the BLP, so why should the BLP or any of its supporters give the DLP any alternative suggestions?

But the counter attack is to say “you can’t criticize me if you can’t bring
    ‘plausible and reasonable alternatives’….”. This is a weak cop-out.

8. Roger Smart | September 25, 2014 at 12:58 PM |

What about Dennis Kellman’s recent special interest rampage attack on the goodly people of Six Mens, referring to them a SQUATTERS?
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    here is websters definition of the word SQUATTER

a person who settles on land or occupies property without title, right, or payment of rent.

roger not so smart so foolish of you to take little stick to cut down a forest,,

9. Artaxerxes | September 25, 2014 at 1:20 PM |

As far back as February 2010, Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur, suggested the following five key guidelines for success in spite of recession:

1) SUSTAINED INVESTMENT IN SOCIAL CAPITAL
    2) SOUND MACRO-ECONOMIC POLICIES WITH EMPHASIS ON ENERGY AND INFRASTRUCTURE
    3) PURSUIT OF RELEVANT STRATEGIES TO CONTINUE A DYNAMIC CULTURE – STIMULATING CREATION IN BOTH PRIVATE & PUBLIC SECTOR SO AS TO GENERATE SIGNIFICANT RETURN ON INVESTMENT {ROI}
    4) INSTILLING ENTREPRENEURSHIP WITHIN GOVERNMENT
    5) MAINTAINING AN OPEN SYSTEM IN THE SOCIAL PARTNERSHIP

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    now pray tell me why didn;t OSA not take to heart the same advice which he was ready to doled out before the melt down of the economy. if his wisdom was as good as you artexeres believe and other yardfowls ,don;t u believe the same advice would have been equally relevant in prosperous years when he was pm which would have saved barbados the pain of economic doldrums when the world wide recession became a reality,,,as usual the same political poo,which was rightfully rejected by a govt who understood that the mitigating factors and underling economic tow had brought investment to a screeching halt when financial institutions and lenders were feeling the squeeze and lending had crawled to a snails pace because of the high risks brought about by weakened economics,, now u artexeres can come here and pontificate to blp yardfowls and fools ac excluded

10. ac | September 25, 2014 at 6:44 PM |

“now u artexeres can come here and pontificate to blp yardfowls and fools ac excluded…”

You have constantly demonstrated on BU how much of a jack-ass all 5 or 6 of you are. You often admonish the BLP and those other people who criticise DLP polices, while accusing them of failing to bring alternative solutions.

By my post, I indicated that Owen Arthur GAVE the government alternative solutions as far back as 2010. And your reply:

“now pray tell me why didn;t OSA not take to heart the same advice which he was ready to doled out before the melt down of the economy. if his wisdom was as good as you artexeres believe and other yardfowls ,don;t u believe the same advice would have been equally relevant in prosperous years when he was pm which would have saved barbados the pain of economic doldrums when the world wide recession became a reality”

If this is the type of answer anyone who is willing to give the DLP alternative solutions receives, then why should they bother doing so?

Your ignorance has once again surfaced to show BU what the true characteristics of a real political yard-fowl.

11. Hants | September 19, 2014 at 3:10 PM |

“ac is definitely a BLP supporter. Her sole function on this blog is to create enemies for the DLP.”

Hants, I agree with you that the sole purpose of these AC jack-asses on this blog is to create enemies for the DLP.

I can not understand how so many people can be so ignorant.

12. arterexes understandly u would cringe at all my responses.the truth does have a way of making people uncomfortable as it peels away at the scabs and exposes the infections that lay hidden beneath the surface.u come here on Bu in pretentious manner as one a-political yet beneath your surface lies a political animal wallowing in the cesspool of political dirt quick to defend those of similar affiliation while throwing political stink bombs in the path of those with whom u disagree

13. ac | September 26, 2014 at 12:49 PM |
    “arterexes understandly u would cringe at all my responses.the truth does have a way of making people uncomfortable as it peels away at the scabs and exposes the infections that lay hidden beneath the surface.u come here on Bu in pretentious manner as one a-political yet beneath your surface lies a political animal wallowing in the cesspool of political dirt quick to defend those of similar affiliation while throwing political stink bombs in the path of those with whom u disagree”

Clearly, this reply is from the “Donville Inniss AC”….. and not the regular dyslexic one who rambles and can’t put two sentences together. It reeks of the same rhetorical party political diatribe that he is famous for.
    I have unnerved you all so much that you had to go for the big guns who have accused me of doing the exact same thing you do.

You all don’t know TRUTH if it weighed 1000 tons and hit you on the head. Let me mention 8 of the many “truths” you have told the electorate:

1) Immediately upon assuming office in 2008, introduce the integrity legislation requiring freedom of information laws and a code of conduct for ministers.
    2) Prior to the 2013 general elections, Stuart and the DLP promised no civil servants would be sent home.
    3) The DLP said they were committed to providing free tertiary level education.
    4) The NHC accounted for the over $40M received in monthly advances with parliamentary approval.
    5) The reason behind repealing the PAC act was to stop the “witch hunt” and not to cover up the $40M the NHC received without parliamentary approval.
    6) Layoffs in the public sector should be around 3,000 [it’s almost 4,000 and still counting].
    7) A careful analysis would be done so that no 2 persons from the same household would be terminated.
    8) The retrenched Transport Board and NCC employees would receive their severance payments 2 months after being terminated (6 months gone now).

The voters want answers to the above truths, answers which, I’m sure, will have both you and the DLP “uncomfortable as it peels away at the scabs and exposes the infections that lay hidden beneath the surface”.

Obviously, you will be “quick to defend those of similar affiliation while throwing political stink bombs in the path of those with whom u disagree.”

14. ac | September 26, 2014 at 12:49 PM |

“u come here on Bu in pretentious manner as one a-political yet beneath your surface lies a political animal wallowing in the cesspool of political dirt quick to defend those of similar affiliation while throwing political stink bombs in the path of those with whom u disagree….”

NOW, WHAT COULD EXEMPLIFY THE ABOVE STATEMENT MORE SO, THAN THE ARTICLE PENNED BY THE POLITICAL PIG, DOUGLAS RE: “LISA MARSHALL – RETRENCHED WORKER FROM THE TRANSPORT BOARD” POSTED ON BU ON AUGUST 29, 2014?

Douglas, the political animal [pig] he is, and aided by other pigs, dug deep into the cesspool to dredge up “dirt” on Lisa, purely for “political” reasons.
    This was the DLP’s reaction to a woman who asked for her severance payment, which by law, is rightfully hers [even if she allegedly committed an offence some ten years prior].

Douglas’ in his response, was “quick to defend those of similar affiliation [DLP] while throwing political stink bombs in the path of” Lisa, all in an effort to tarnish the lady’s reputation.

And you, AC, the political animal you are, took much pleasure in wallowing in that cesspool, now you come to tell me shiite.

Wheel and come again, I’m too good for all of you!!!!

15. Hants, just think about your thinking and I am quite sure you’ll be able to ascertain that you’re as ignorant as you seem to think others are. Even the most intellectual of persons are as ignorant as the practical man in certain areas of academics.

16. Hants, just to inform your thinking for just one moment: the Practical-Man thinks with his Hands rather than with his Mind.

17. YOU READ SOME BOVINE EXCREMENT ON BU EVERYDAY

NOW IT IS THAT SOME FOLK THINK WITH THEIR HANDS!
    HOW EXCITING!
    HOW HILARIOUS!

18. @arterexes

reply to your worthless propaganda comments..steupse. you seem to be a ” big” yet little gold fish trying to swim in a big pond, LOL.

19. ac | September 26, 2014 at 3:59 PM |

“@arterexes: reply to your worthless propaganda comments.. steupse. you seem to be a ” big” yet little gold fish trying to swim in a big pond, LOL…..”

You cannot reply, because, “understandly [understandably], u would cringe at all my responses. The truth does have a way of making people uncomfortable as it peels away at the scabs and exposes the infections that lay hidden beneath the surface.”

20. Even the UK has a problem, more students are going to University and leaving without skills.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-29429466
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-29454002
    Back in the 1990’s our UK director thought that hiring First and Second class honours graduates, giving them 18 months intensive training followed by 18 months of experience mentored by experienced staff would deliver top flight employees.
    Of the 12 hired, only 3 made the grade, 2 young ladies and a guy, all now holding top positions in different high tech firms. The remainder were let go, though they probably proved very competent in areas not as demanding as ours.

The graduate hiring exercise was deemed a failure and never repeated.

21. The Government of Germany has joined Denmark,Norway and Sweden in providing FREE UNIVERSITY EDUCATION to all, including International students.
    The US is being urged to buy out the 7 trillion owed by students and free up spending money to the middle class families.Germany has said Tuition Fees are socially unjust and particularly target the poor and more vulnerable in their society.But Bobby Morris,who was head of the task force so called,set up by OSA to amalgamate BCC,SJPP and others into a University of Barbados,similar to what Trinidad did some years ago,has suddenly determined that free university education in Barbados is a no no and must be paid for by all including struggling middle and working class families.All Dems are alike.Not to be trusted and clueless about the future of Barbados and Barbadians.Once the Fatted Calf get their parliamentary pensions,Barbados can go to hell.