Submitted by Douglas
Lisa Marshall
Lisa Marshall hosted on VoB talk show and was scathing in her critical of the Transport Board. Listen to the 28 August link 

When for the sake of using airtime on Voice of Barbados (VOB) they host the ilk of LISA MARSHALL they ought to do the listening public the favour of letting them know that the mission of the station is one of political mischief, they have long loss the art of being subtle and discreet and smooth but rather they will go to the extreme to seek to discredit the government of the day.

Lisa Marshall may have been retrenched by the Transport Board but some would ask how did she survive so long on the job.

See the files attached: she is a rotten apple and if you think these are the only charges against her, think again, she has a further six on file.  In my book before she receives her full payment  she should first be made to repay the monies she has stolen from the Transport Board.

A lean clean and fully operational Transport Board need not be burdened with the likes of the Lisa Marshall types, rid the taxpayers of supporting uncouth thieves and criminals from the workforce.

See relevant files:

185 responses to “Lisa Marshall – Retrenched Worker from the Transport Board”

1. are-we-there-yet | September 1, 2014 at 11:29 AM |

“Douglas was wrong. The people at the TB who leaked the file to Douglas was wrong and David should have pulled the post soon after it was filed.”

I agree with your above comments…… that contribution by Douglas should not have been posted on BU. But it has already done.

2. David defend yuh journalistic integrity it is under rattack,,,,,well yuh could always say ,,,,,,it is about transparency,,,,,,, hi BLP operatives politics is a blood sport not for the faint of heart,,,,,,,

3. @ Artaxerxes | September 1, 2014 at 12:21 PM |

I pray the day will come when Barbados will rid itself of this wicked, inept, incompetent DLP government. This government has gone from bad to worse and now to the worst government with which Barbados has had to be saddled.

I wonder why Douglas could or would not post dirt on the likes of Dennis Lowe, Chris Stinkliar and oh…..Michael Lashley. Now that would be fair!

4. a thief demanding her fair share,,,,enough to make dog stomach sick,,but the BLP yardfowls seem to be O,k, with that not a picking teet about this criminality,,,,

5. ac,
    I did not hear you call Dennis Lowe a thief when his brothers and sisters were demanding their fair share of the millions he had stashed away in his mother’s name. Hypocrite you. Wrong is wrong. Wrong is not wrong when it is BLP and right always when it is is the DLP. My gosh, you cannot continue to be so one sided!

6. Where did the millions come from. bribes? drug money? taxpayers money?

Where?

7. Have read the views as always. BU made a tough decision regarding this update. We have ‘stuff’ in our inbox that has never seen the light of day. In this case the chronic basket case the TB has become calls for a different a different approach. Both governments have played the taxpayers for idiots for far too long.

8. @ac September 1, 2014 at 2:03 PM “a thief demanding her fair share,,,,enough to make dog stomach sick,,but the BLP yardfowls seem to be O,k, with that not a picking teet about this criminality,,,,”

If the Transport Board (TB) had good evidence they would have had Lisa prosecuted..but the TB did not have any evidence that would stand up in a law court. Since the lady has paid into the severance payment fund she is ENTITLED to her severance payments and neither the TB nor DLP yardies have the AUTHORITY to withhold the lady’s money from her. If the TB is so badly managed that the Board cannot pay severance when it is due, that is management’s fault, not Lisa’s fault and she should not have to suffer the consequence of being out of pocket.

And NO. I have NEVER been a member of the BLP. I have voted for the DLP many, many times. But as a taxpayer I don’t like a badly managed Transport Board. It is NOT in the taxpayers interest to have a badly managed TB.

9. I repeat:

If the Transport Board is so badly managed that the Board cannot pay severance when it is due, then that is management’s fault.

Piss poor management.

Management that ought to be ashamed of themselves.

10. @ Tell Me Why

There isn’t a slip nor a crack here at all.

This is blatant breach of confidentiality and the management is and will always be ultimately responsible for not commanding the level of respect from colleagues especially those in key positions.

11. i got some dirt to throw pun wunna low life belly aching scalliwags who believe that employees thieving taxpayers money should not be exposed,,,what nerve,,,,,

12. ac | September 1, 2014 at 10:29 PM |

“i got some dirt to throw pun wunna low life belly aching scalliwags who believe that employees thieving taxpayers money should not be exposed,,,what nerve,,,,,”

Lisa was accused of stealing $403.50 from the TB in 1994, but remained employed until 2014. Obviously, the reason why she remained with the Board almost 10 years after the accusation meant she had to be found not guilty of the charge.
    However, Douglas and Sandra Forde chose to “expose” her after she demanded the severance payment that is rightfully hers.

But I agree with this particular AC………. those individuals who steal “taxpayers’ money” in any form or fashion, should be exposed.
    Jeptar Ince, Harry Husbands, Irene Sandiford-Garner, and especially Patrick Todd, should be exposed for stealing taxpayers’ money they are receiving in the form of salaries. I would also like Douggie to expose what these four losing candidates do for this money that is being given to them.

13. arterexes u are such a fart hole……these people were voted or appointed by the citizens of barbados and govt,,,now are they not entitled to what is due them,,where in the constitution does it say that a person must not be paid a wage for a service they provided unless proof to the contrary can be provided,,,btw where is your proof,,and while u are at it u can also add osa to the list as public record would show through various documentation of his parliamentarian record .. absenteeism from work on numerous occasion as a cabinet minister some of which he was not entitled do u forget that yet he was paid… and then again how de hell, u come here trying to twist the issue ,one where documentation shows illegality of a supposedly civil servant and comparing it to what u perceived as nonperformance by dlp cabinet minister,,,,are u nuts or what

14. ac | September 2, 2014 at 6:01 PM |
    “arterexes u are such a fart hole……these people were voted or appointed by the citizens of barbados and govt,,,now are they not entitled to what is due them,,where in the constitution does it say that a person must not be paid a wage for a service they provided unless proof to the contrary can be provided,,,btw where is your proof,,”

Are you the best the DLP can send to defend them on BU?

You are a real shiite bucket. I never stated that a person should not be paid for a service they provided.

In your haste to defend your people, you missed some vital points. Ince, Husbands, Sandiford-Garner and Todd were all LOSING DLP candidates in the 2013 general elections. Therefore, they were NOT voted for or appointed by the citizens of Barbados. So, tell what are these 3 losers entitled to? It was the DLP that felt that as losers, they are entitled to a share of the fatted calf.

.All I’m asking is that you tell me is what do these 4 losers do for the salary they are being paid?

What you should concern yourself with, is the fact that government is breaking its own labour laws by withholding severance payments from those former Transport Board employees for a period more than 2 months…. it’s 6 months now to be exact.

15. Recently we heard that Dr Leroy McClean is leaving the BIDC and “moving on”. Retrenched public working are fighting tooth and nail, to get what monies that they are due. One wonders if Dr McClean, will once again, receive a golden hand shake ,as the Sandiford Government did to the tune of $90,000.

16. Minister Lashley what are you doing about this?
    Has Ms. Sandra Forde briefed you about why this was leaked?
    Why she got Eleine White to leak it to discredit Lisa Marshall in the public eye, for money that she is entitled too just like we all are and are waiting for.. She must get her money and now she may get even more after this shameful act that you all have done.aimed solely at deflecting criticism from yourself while simultaneously seriously damaging her reputation.

Give us our money all not some, and give Lisa something extra before a good lawyer gets her alot more. The BWU should be shamed for abandoning us all, never again in another job will I waste my money giving the union 6.50 per week for nothing.

YOU ONLY MAKE IT WORST. SEPTEMBER 10TH IS SOON HERE.
    WE WANT ALL, 6 MONTHS TO LONG.

17. artexeres u call people names as being slackers ,now show the documentation of the illegalities u have stated here,,,,,if u can make such damaging statements publicly show the proof if not shut to hell up,,with your ascertations and figments…however i noticed the point of unprecedented and persistent absenteeism b y the right hon.OSA ,over the past five years in parliament was simply overlooked or dismissed by u ,btw he was paid ,,,,even though he was publicly denounced for it in parliament,, wha say yee motor mouth,,,,

18. ac | September 2, 2014 at 11:37 PM |
    “…however i noticed the point of unprecedented and persistent absenteeism b y the right hon.OSA ,over the past five years in parliament was simply overlooked or dismissed by u ,btw he was paid ,,,,even though he was publicly denounced for it in parliament,, wha say yee motor mouth,,,,”

In your previous post re “ac | September 2, 2014 at 6:01 PM”, you stated “while u are at it u can also add osa to the list as public record would show through various documentation of his parliamentarian record .. absenteeism from work on numerous occasion AS A CABINET MINISTER some of which he was not entitled do u forget that yet he was paid…”

You are correct; hence, I saw no reason to reply or to refute your statements.

By your own admission, Arthur was absent “from work on numerous occasions as a CABINET MINISTER”, and this is very true. “Over the past five years in parliament”, Arthur was not a member of the DLP, he has not held any ministry in this administration and therefore, he cannot be considered a member of the cabinet. With Arthur, not being a member of cabinet, obviously he will be ABSENT from work and not entitled to be paid.

Now AC, if you have information that suggests Owen was actually being paid as a cabinet minister over the past 5 years, as you say, then you should have brought this anomaly to the attention of your DLP colleagues and the police.

19. O.k so pull and turn the issue…. Facts are facts,,,,,,avoiding the truth is a way to avoid the issue,,,,, the issue here is whether govt officials selected by the voters and appointed by the govt and others whether in parliament or not collects salaries that they are not deserving of,,,,,u arterexes pointed out several names in parliament that some parliamentarians are not deserving of a taxpayers salary, i pointed out to u that OSA was also a member of parliament who did receive salary and was not deserving because of numerous absenteeism.. so again u decided to spin the top, however documentation to such behaviour was stated by the Rght Hon pm stuart in parliament when he single out the Hon minister of ST Peter OSA as spending not more than 20hrs in parliament between 2008 and 2013 ,that is on record and u can check it out for yourself,,,,

20. Many have become tired to observe all issues in Barbados distilled in political terms by the usual suspects. One can support a political party but have the sense, academic and common, to support a cogent position. To always defend positions based on partisan positions is dishonest and does not help to move us forward.

21. @ David
    ….what you mean to say is that EVERYBODY tired with ac…..!!

22. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

David , I said the same thing in discussion last night.
    What the people at the Transport Board did in releasing this girl’s personal information is a low down nasty dirty act . I t is testimony to where we have reached in this society. This is the new normal . What is even sadder is that people like ac would want to justify this nonsense , all in the name of political party affiliation. The nastiness is being carried out and the defence of such actions are being heard on the call in programmes etc.

Many were reviled by the way Announcer performed at the Calypso Finals , the words he used in reference to AC —
    What he did was not accepted by some people but it is an example of the kind of nastiness going on, all in the name of getting back at others and being prepared to do anything never mind how low.
    I think what we are dealing with here is a shift and good people need to devise a strategy to deal with that shift .

23. Bush Tea | September 3, 2014 at 7:23 AM |

“@ David:…. what you mean to say is that EVERYBODY tired with ac…..!!”

Good one, Bushie.

24. ac | September 2, 2014 at 11:37 PM |
    “artexeres u call people names as being slackers ,now show the documentation of the illegalities u have stated here,,,,,if u can make such damaging statements publicly show the proof if not shut to hell up….”

Again, I shall ask……. are you set of ACs the best the DLP can send to infiltrate BU in order to push its propagandist agenda?

This is my point, and I will stand firmly by it.

We have a government that sent home hundreds of workers from the Transport Board, who, up to September 3, 2014, have not received their severance payments… almost 7 months after. You are such a jackass political pimp, that you can support this action.

You want us to believe that Lisa should not be entitled to her severance, because she was accused of stealing $403.00 on September 5, 1995…. 19 years ago. So you are condoning dragging her name through the mud, because she appeared to make the DLP look bad. The mere fact that she was employed up to February 2014, suggests she was found not guilty of the charge. Whatever you believe or not, Lisa IS ENTITLED to her severance payments, and if you or any DLP yard-fowl were to take this matter to the law courts, you will lose.

People like all you ACs came to BU to defend the government and stating reducing a “bloated” civil service was in the best interest of Barbados. During a recession and times of austerity, Barbadians are forced to sacrifice their jobs to help the island, while the largest cabinet in the history of the island exist.However, you can support losers like Jeptar Ince, Irene Sandiford-Garner, Harry Husbands and Patrick Todd remaining in employment, when their jobs are gifts in lieu of losing the election.

Another thing, you stated ““IF U CAN MAKE SUCH DAMAGING STATEMENTS PUBLICLY…..”, in response to my questioning the importance of those four losers being reward with month salaries. This was just a statement, and it offended you significantly.

Yet, on the other hand, you do not see anything wrong with Douglas writing this POST that is DAMAGING to Lisa’s character…….making it PUBLIC. And you TAKE PRIDE AND JOY IN SUPPORTING THE REVEALING OF LISA’S MEMOS TO PUBLICALLY HUMILIATE HER, ALL IN THE INTEREST OF PRESERVING THE FALSE INTEGRITY OF THE DLP.

We must realise that this action taken by “Douglas” served two purposes:

1) To humiliate Lisa because she exposed the tardiness of this administration by dicussing her plight in a public forum.
    2) And in keeping with the DLP norm of lambasting and humiliating those who dare criticise them, to deter others from taking similar action.

25. @Artexeres
    2) And in keeping with the DLP norm of lambasting and humiliating those who dare criticise them, to deter others from taking similar action.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    And we thought that Tom Adams and Lemmy Craig ,had the monopoly on this.

26. Colonel Buggy | September 3, 2014 at 10:31 AM |

And we thought that Tom Adams and Lemmy Craig ,had the monopoly on this.

Those guys are dead.

27. @ Art Those guys are dead.
    ……………………………………………………….
    So are Shakespeare and all of those Classical Characters

28. Colonel Buggy | September 3, 2014 at 10:56 AM |

“So are Shakespeare and all of those Classical Characters”

What EXACTLY is your point???????

How does Adams and Craigg come into this scenario of Douglas, who contribute post to BU in support of the DLP, publically humiliating Lisa Marshall, in year 2014?

We are dealing with a situation that is current, and you are introducing Adams and Craigg into the scenario for what purpose? You are implying that these two BLP dead men did it, so you see no problem with the DLP living guys doing it. That is a shiite point.

If Tom Adams, Lionel Craigg, Chris Sinckler, Brandford Taitt, Freundel Stuart, Sam Couch and the Duppy, any member of the BLP or DLP or anyone one else engage in the practice of “lambasting and humiliating those who dare criticise them, to deter others from taking similar action”, THEY ARE WRONG TO DO SO.

29. @Artax

Let us accept that the personal record of any employee should be kept in a confidential sfate. Any coment about an errant behaviour that has spanned both parties? What does it say? A rhetorical and there is the rub.

30. I have read these comments and cannot sit here and allow such ignorance in my opinion to continue….I am not sure how the memos of Lisa Marshall’s record was leaked, but does this really make a difference in her right to her severance?

She was employed long after all these accusations were made, therefore I would assume that if not for retrenchment Ms. Marshall would still be employed….and they are others who I can say the same of.

For the leakage of Ms. Marshall’s work record and accusation of theft, why did the person who leaked the information did not leak the issue of missing monies for twenty five(25), yes 25 buses out of 75 after a Mother’s Day Scenic Ride was uncounted for, yet all the managers are still employed.

When you come her and try to discredit workers of TB, you should make sure you get all details first, and understand the level of victimization that lives in this institution and believe me is great. The management would do whatever it takes to make themselves look like angels, however the workers know different and fear of the evil hand of victimization keeps them inline.

As for the BWU; they are the ones who set the field to rid of the workers. That is the reason why they have, and continue to be silent on the issue of the TB retrenchment. This union has done very little for the workers of TB in the past and will do less in the future….

31. @Concern Bajan

Why not tell us more?

On 10 September 2014 17:27, Barbados Underground wrote:

32. On the issue of discredit….can you recall some drivers of the Pelican Terminal went to the Nation to highlight issues of great concern, which not only impacted the workers but general public at large? The Marketing Manager tried to discredit these drivers in the same article, noting that drivers were issued with memo books, which they are to log any defects and have them repaired. She went on to say that if the drivers drove defective units it was solely there choice…..talk about discredit to peoples character.

Mr. Tony Marshall was a moderator on V.O.B call in program “Down to Brass Tacks” at the time…he took it on himself to go into TB, where the Quality Assurance Manager took him to the department – where Ms. Marshall was assigned, and showed him the memos of defects that was made by the drivers. he forgot to show him the ones that were torn to shreds on mornings and the unit issued to another driver, with the remark, “he would drive that”…..destruction of character.

The following sitting of parliament saw former transport minister Mr. Glyne Clarke, stating that many drivers came to him with complaints of being force to drive defective units for fear of victimization. Then minister Mr. John Boyce, in an effort to discredit the former minister, stated, and its a document of parliament, that the drivers are issued with memo books and he knows for a fact that they make many memos. Again, he too forgot to mention to parliament of many of the defects are repaired…. The issue I have with Mr. Clarke’s statements were, when he was minister the same thing was taking place and was never addressed…..even parliamentarians discredit each other.

The BWU once wrote a letter to the then GM of TB, which was in relation to drivers from the outside depots making memos for defects, and the units went to Weymouth, stood there for 2 to 3 days and came back with the very same defect…In response, the GM replied by way of a letter in which the very first paragraph stated, “its not the policy of the Management of the Transport Board to have defective buses on the road..” Yet when these drivers try to do their job in a professional way, the are branded by the same managers as not wanting to work….is this discredit to one’s character of hypocrisy of a person.

Everyday on the call-in programs, people try to discredit these workers, and not one of them have any idea what these workers go through on a daily basis on the job. Then people here try to defend the management for not paying workers their due BY LAW…they are the ones who made the law…these workers were retrenched on the 3rd of March, given letters stating the would be paid all outstanding monies by April 28 – not part of but all…It took workers to go to TB headquarters making noise to get funds the first week of September, with a promise to have the remainder by September 10. Today is September 11, the workers have not yet gotten the remainder…if this was a private company the government would be insisting that the workers be paid.

This is not about which political party you like, it about right and wrong.. In January when questioned by the media, the PM stated that the severance money is not a problem. The Minister of Finance, stated that the monies are there for the retrenched workers and they will be paid in a timely manner. If the monies were there in January, why is it an issue in September for people to be paid what is rightfully theirs,

I dare anyone from the TB to say I am lying about anything I post here….I will deal with the BWU when I am ready….there is a lot more to the TB retrenchment program….

33. […] following posted to BU blog Lisa Marshall – Retrenched Worker from the Transport Board by Concern […]

34. Who was asking for this article?….