The Alexandra Commission of Inquiry headed by retired Justice Frederick Waterman was established by the Prime Minister as a means to resolve the long running conflict between former principal Jeff Broomes and the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU). The Ministry of Education at the conclusion of the Inquiry transferred 18 teachers AND Jeff Broomes who was appointed principal of Parkinson School. Less than two years later Uncle Jeff is at the centre of another dispute at his latest school. It is too early for the fair minded to take sides even if the protagonists are the same.

91 responses to “Jeff Broomes Drags Parkinson Secondary School into the Public Eye”

1. RE Observing(…) | August 21, 2014 at 1:55 PM |
    The thought of Bushie pinning me down really isn’t pretty. Just had to go and take a puff of the ventolin to reboot.

The point you and Bushie are making prove that the ENTIRE SYSTEM is at fault. Therefore the real issue is not Jeff NOR the teachers but our entire system of leadership and ascension to leadership .

YOU ARE ASKING TOO MUCH ESPECIALLY FROM THE SELF CONFESSED RETARD WHO TINKS HE NOSE EVATING ABOUT EVATING TO UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU HAVE SAID

THE RETARD HAS PICKED UP A FEW SEEDS HERE AND THERE AND REGURGITATES THESE THINGS OVER AND OVER

THEN HE TRIES TO CHALLENGE REAL SCHOLARS
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

2. “RETARD OVERSIZED GONADS ARE USUALLY ASSOCIATED WITH DISEASE”

GP…..Then your gonads are badly diseased and Bushie overwhacked them to nothing. Keep yuh rass quiet Georgina!

3. islandgal246 | August 21, 2014 at 3:54 PM |
    “RETARD OVERSIZED GONADS ARE USUALLY ASSOCIATED WITH DISEASE”

GP…..Then your gonads are badly diseased and Bushie overwhacked them to nothing. Keep yuh rass quiet Georgina!

what an ass!
    your response is a as much a non sequitur as the retard who wrote about oversized gonads in his ignorance as he pretends that he knos about gonads

FOOL IF THE RETARD HAD WHACKED MY GONADS TO NOTHING THEN THEY ARE NO LONGER THERE AND OVER SIZED

BOTH YOU AND HE ARE DISPLAYING YOUR IGNORANCE AND ILOGIC
    ROFLMAO

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You said to me:

You of all people should understand Broomes’ position. You are just being petty because he refused to be intimidated by your attempted intimidation in some shiite union matter…. 🙂

You are quite wrong, I was only ever involved in one matter over the table with Broomes. And in that encounter, I had no choice but to leave him in disgrace. Put another way, I wiped the floor with him. He was no match for me: he relied on bullying those who had a different perspective from him, while I relied on the rules and truth. I beat the school yard bully, so you got it wrong!

5. RE Caswell Franklyn | August 21, 2014 at 5:59 PM |

so you got it wrong!
    AS USUAL CASWELLTHE PIECE OF SCUM HAS NIEMAN PICKS OR EARLY ALS
    HE TENDS TO GET EVATING WRONG
    YOU SEE HE TINKS HE NOSE EVATING BOUT EVATING AND EVABODY
    TO MAKE A POINT HE HAS TO TRY TO PUT DOWN OTHER PEOPLE

WHATS AMAZING HE CUSSING YOU—THE SAME ONE HE WANTS TO LEAD SOME FIGMENT OF HIS IMAGINATION CALLED BUP

SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING FALLING DOWN
    BUP BUP BUP BUP MUST BE HE OVER GROWN GONADS HITTING DE GROUND

6. I thought the ‘menopousal’ women at Alexandra were the MAIN stumbling block in the path of Jeff Broomes. They were scattered to the four corners of the earth and the problems solved. This time around it is the younger staff being sidelined. Go Jeff Go, do not stop, do not be fazed. I would like some more days home in solidarity with my colleagues.

7. Just for GP, AC and IG246

8. hants now put one them video for bush tea,,,,include the whacker,,,

9. There should be some way in which guys like Caswell Franklyn and Dennis Johnson can be given the old 18 month bar finals (as obtained in the UK)
    and be allowed to practise law.There are several among us who have only got that bar finals qualification and they are QC’s.Caswell and Dennis can give some of them a run for their money,given the requisite exposure.

10. Hants it has been changed to
    Geogie Porgie sat on a wall,
    Georgie Porgie had a great fall,
    He busted his head and busted his balls,
    And couldn’t get over his tumbling wall.

11. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Religion is a thing isn’t it, so much disharmony over a man of peace and different interpretations of the same book. You got GP saying European Jews in Israel are Gods chosen people and AC saying Africans are Gods favourite people.

• As music is my Religion and I like the Reggae versions of Psalms, I’m putting my bet on the Party Train to Zion
    • Yuro’s probably adapted the original version

http://youtu.be/b31qtLPZ0Us

Is Bush Tea V Georgie Porgie rumble staged like WWE Wrestling, it seems very fake

12. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Abe Broadway & The Upsetters-Train To Zion, Black Blood-Party Train (Extended Version)

13. Wunna waan tell me 200 teachers wrong and ONE Principal right? There is a common thread running through both scenarios–poor management skills. It is clear that Mr. Broomes, though a good teacher, lacks the management and leadership competencies required of a Principal. Organisational change is no walk in the park, it requires consultation, communication, collaboration etc etc ie CHANGE MANAGEMENT. We are always behind the curve in doing things simply because too many that feel they know plenty, don’t have an effin clue.

14. anthing can happen in WW BU

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

One fellow was Bushwacker or BT who was the other fellow that de Bushwacker decimate?

Musee GP lol

16. Dear Dr. Georgie Porgie:

Please tell me (or tell me again) what a decades long heavy rum drinking habit can do to a human brain.

Can it damage reason?
    Can it damage the emotions?
    Can it damage psychologically?
    Can it make it impossible for the drinker to get along with others?

You can include Powerpoints as well. Because even though I don’t go down the same religious road as you do. I am happy to sit at the feet of the Dr.

17. Now if we had really good investigative journalists they would have staked out “Bo” Bryant’s shop eversince. Nice secluded country shop..but a lotta action does go down there.

18. Dear Caswell and other people who know the public service rules real, real good”

Is it against the rules to go to work drunk?

But oh shite..I faget that I in Barbados , the one place on earth without a legal definition of drunk.

So no law against drunk..means that nobody in Barbados is ever drunk.

And so we go on the merry go round, round and round, round and round, round and round.and round.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Ahhh back from a nice trip to Denmark. So what is cooking on the BU household. Tea bush and piece I hope you miss me. Where is a lil boo boo AC. Behaving yourself I hope. Hmmmm let me see…Tea Bush why is Georgie Porgie on pun you like a fly on shit? Hmmm

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ SSS

I was wondering where you were since you left without an announcement and of course I missed you.

De madam find out my alter identity, from (i) how I used to have de tablet wid a password (ii) a profile on de desktop with a password (iii) something I said bout de church dat get report (iv) some body who does look at BU (but dem is a saved in de blood (so dem doan post only report) and so she does come here and review my submissions every Monday pun she “day off”

I did taught it did Lemuel but I ent see he fuh a little time but de results is de same, our affair ovah, en I so seriously sad dat is SSS to yuh know.

While you was away de BU blog get elevated to the esoteric ranks uh “Rum Shop” which, on closer examination, while intended to belittle de submissions here, has, in the context of Bajan culture, raised it to passing through the pillars of Boaz and Jachin.

Glad you are back to rejoin the Usual Suspects and I hope that no trolls nor wights ent follow you back but of course de ones dat you lef heah still here.

No I have to say dem heah 50% of de time cause some days one uh dem does write some excellent articles and den de udder one does assume de identity, get pun de cuntputer and revert to dem usual self

21. Welcome back, change is as goof as a rest so they say. Can you tell me, in a world that is flagrant with the failures of civilisation, what there is particularly immortal about this site……..
    Should it be – welcome back to automatic mode..

22. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

enuff | August 21, 2014 at 9:17 PM |

Wunna waan tell me 200 teachers wrong and ONE Principal right? There is a common thread running through both scenarios–poor management skills. It is clear that Mr. Broomes, though a good teacher, lacks the management and leadership

YES 200 teachers can be wrong and one man right.

Broomes is up against a society with morals and values that are being tested everyday. Wrong has become Right and people such as Broomes are facing the folly of a generation whose idea of what is right and what is wrong is completely different from what you know as a child growing up in Barbados. Broomes is trying to maintain a standard that is not appreciated by this mock botsy ; false hair-Remy hair; Cell phone toting, overeating , loud and boisterous , untrained bad-behaved , ignorant crowd led by and consisting mainly of women who like to block , who have no sense of history, a limited world view and responsible for a lot of the nonsense in the society. I am backing Broomes. The gun toting youths are displaying the same delinquency as those persons who are opposing Broomes.

Nowadays People want to do as they like and nobody is to tell them anything. As soon as you do that, you are the worst person in the world and they use all the wicked devices to make their point. People nowadays are very indiscipline and seek to denigrate those who strive for better.

23. @DR. THE HONOURABLE | August 22, 2014 at 7:36 PM | enuff | August 21, 2014 at 9:17 PM |

Ahhhh.. someone who understands WHY West Indies is losing at cricket…..and everything else is falling apart, systemic, as I said.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright

I know my piece would miss me. Had to leave impromptu for a business trip to Denmark and had a couple of days to spare. The SSS is on a mission for money; so that when I return to my beloved BIMSHIRE I can live comfortably without having to be to totally plugged into the system that is so much crap in Barbados. Take for instance sweet piece, this debacle with Broomes again. Broomes typifies that ‘ I hold the keys’ thus that makes me the all knowing oracle,shitey attitude. This is so synonymous with many bajan management structures and is the tip of the ice berg that constitutes all that is bad about the management structures in Bim, though Broomes may be perceived by the children as a good cause because their minds can only comprehend his down to earth personal and open approach towards them. TO them that is cool..

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

There is a serious drought of professional work ethic amongst many bajans in Barbados and this is the cause for a malaise, if not to say, defiant and opposing mentalities.from many subordinates. How many of our managers typify the massa mentality. How many of our managers perform the all inclusive ‘I am an island’ mindset.. How many of the subordinates whose propensity to protect what they know and oppose what they feel dredges p all sorts of ill conceive manipulations and innuendos intended to oust the change that effects their accustom norms at change they feel increases their work load or introduces a concept they do not want to learn, . Why you think its so hard to change the dispositions of bajans? Because the focus of development leaves out professional approaches and focuses so much on the accumulation certification. There is hardly any professional training attachment programmes by corporations in Barbados that provides this service for the studying student. So that young managers can be put in the aegis of things to learn managerial approaches to systems and people management. What you have is void and people arbitrarily making decisions base on their own notions

26. @Dr. the Honorable “Broomes is trying to maintain a standard that is not appreciated by this [rum-drinking, drunken] mock botsy ; false hair-Remy hair; Cell phone toting, overeating , loud and boisterous , untrained bad-behaved , ignorant crowd”

Dear Dr. The Honorable: You forgot to add [rum-drinking, drunken] so I put it in for you because I guarantee you that mock botsies, Remy hair, and cell phones cause far less trouble in Barbados than rum drinking and drunkeness.

I we could only get rid of the rum, the rum sellers, the rum drinkers, the drunks, the drugs, the drug sellers and the drug users Barbados would be a a mock botsie Remy wearing, cell phone using paradise.

Imagine a place where everybody is in their right mind everyday, where minds are unaffected by rum/alcohol and by drugs.

27. Your honour, the argument posited by Dr. The Honourable vindicates my thesis and as such Counsel rests.

28. It is popular in Barbados,when one’s back is to the wall,to introduce to the argument the fact of one’s upbringing.Broomes did it and I too rest my case.

29. The question – if we had a system of meritocracy in place – would be to judge Broomes’ performance as principal since his appointment to Parkinson. Instead we have the usual emotional rant.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

And that is the crux of the matter. with a Public Service Reform whose singular contribution to reform is the change in their logo, without any measuring stick that affords each and every person in and across the public service a marker to show what they have done, we must resort to wishy washy feelings

I feel that he would mek a good Permanent Secretary and WHAPLAX, jes like dat, BuhKVNT Edison Alleyne is a PS till he eider dead or he retire and will float around the various ministries telling de yung ones whu en whu he gine do wid dem posteriors

31. The objective is reaching voters where they are. Content is content and whether you see an ad or video on your iPad, your TV or on your smartphone, it seems the [BU] ‘s job is to get in front of your eyeballs and get your attention. That means looking penetration, and finding targets someplace else.”

What about what is happening for the youngsters. Perhaps a youth overground site… Might give us all a heads up.

32. On Thursday night on DLPTV,Minister Jones was addressing a group.I think they were scholarship and exhibition winners.At the head table with Jones were three others,two of whom were listening attentively to the Minister,while the other with the usual shiny,plastered mat on her head,
    was there punching away on a laptop or ipad,oblivious to her surroundings.If a question were asked of her as to what was said she wouldn’t have had a clue.And I am told this woman is a deputy chief education officer.I remember her and her awful moaning but loud voice when she represented the BUT as their president.Some people might be certified but remain uneducated and untrained in etiquette.What would the likes of Rawle Jordan have thought of current appointments to such high office.No wonder we are in trouble.Poor rakey parliament and some poor rakey public officers in key ministries.

33. David | August 23, 2014 at 9:59 AM | The question – if we had a system of meritocracy in place – would be to judge Broomes’ performance as principal since his appointment to Parkinson.

Exactly!!!!!

Let us have the following, to judge results:

• a listing , published or available at GIS, of pass rates for CXC and CAPE, by subject, by school. And the percentage of grades 1 etc etc
    • a comparison of pass rates for each school, by subject and level
    • attributed reasons for differences
    • a listing, for each school, of discipline actions, with ratings from 1 to 4 or such, where 1 is say, detentions, etc, 4 being suspension/ expulsion etc.

This will give an indication of discipline issues

• a listing for each school, of teacher absence numbers during the year, by term, by subject area (the school will have individual teacher performances).

Reasons to be include with coding (S-sickness), (V Vacation) (X -no reason).

This is basic information with which to judge school management performance and the inherent issues in the school.

Surely this should be available to the public, THAT PAYS FOR THE SCHOOLS??

Problem is, nowadays no one wants responsibility for anything.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Gabriel

You may be wrong about her scant respect for the Minister of Eduhation’s remarks. (albeit, if she had been ingnoring the clown, i would have commended her)

Of late, many of those who are assigned to note taking do so by virtue of an IPAd or Cuntputer.

It would offend a few of us who, being ignorant of the skill and are like me, cannot type a sentence without making 10 mistakes and am now teaching Dragon Dictate Bajan.

But is is the new styling where people have taken to the practice of typing what is being said, instead of writing with a pencil/pen.

Or so I would hope, if not I commend the DPS for ignoring the assassin to the English Language We Jonesing while blogging about the foolishness that he always voices.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Crusoe.

As of this moment you have earned yourself a position within the group TWWACS&NTBI.

They Who would Advocate Common Sense and Need to BE Incarcerated forthwith.

You actually mean to tell me that, if i were on the School Board at Alexandra’s or Parkinson’s you are advocating a system that I could actually see teacher absences, student performances, and truancy?

You mean to say that in the even of another incident where Jeff Broomes is accused of trying to do his job as a teacher, that someone at the Ministry of Edukation, like the bungler Ronald WeJonesing cud tek a look at a list pun de cuntputer in he office en see if whu Broomes saying is true?

Men like wunna so need to get ban from BU and expell from Bulbados fuh dese seditious thoughts!

De next ting dat you gine be recommending is fuh de Public Sector Reform Office to have someting similar fuh employee metrics en fuh de Electoral Boundaries Commission to have a System dat demands de politrickians to upload dem expenses BEFO de election, one dat integrated wid de bank account and does show whu WeJonesing spend pun he electioneering en ting down tuh de very cent.

It is peeple like wunna so dat does mek bad fuh Bulbados.

I kin bet anyting dat you is a Bajan dat di live overseas en dat you is one uh dem dat feel wunna know more bout Bulbados dan we who did heah all we life.

Whey you life, I gine get we Jonesing tuh gi’ you a visit in de night and brek in you skull and show you who is boss bout heah.

Wunna too uppity doah, seditionists and anarchists … bullets fuh wunna doah

36. We need to assist Broomes and others with the balls like Broomes and stop the criticism.
    We have a young violent drug craved society.
    The funny thing is that some of the older folks are joining them instead of mellowing in their twilight years.

37. Next five years or so we will be begging for help against this troubled society.
    No work…
    The have nots terrorizing the haves….
    We hearing daily “we have to eat too”

38. The ministry will meet with concerned teachers from Parkinson next week. Bone of contention, Broomes bringing in temps (did not know principals have the authority to hire temps) and his demand to design the school curriculum to teach subjects during school time and not after hours. We know teaching after hours is big business for teachers.

What we have is the beginning of AX all over again. BU notes Broomes has indicated his concerns and rising tension at Parkinson was documented in a letter and sent to the ministry of education which according to him has not been acknowledged. God help us!

39. @ David
    How many times does Bushie have to tell you that THE problem with education in Barbados is the Ministry of Education?
    Here is a set of clowns whose role is to appoint lackies and yard fowls to too positions, and then to micromanage every aspect of school life such as discipline, time-tables, staff assignments etc….. …with piss poor results.

Furthermore, THERE IS NO PUBLIC REPORTING OF RESULTS, so Bajans are UNABLE to see just how BAD things really are….
    We are fooled every year with the dozen or so “scholarship winners”… While THOUSANDS fall through the cracks….

When rebels like Broomes come along (even if aided with a few grogs) and tries to change things, it is only obvious that he will lose..

It is too late anyway…we have ALL lost already….
    Broomes should just do like all the others and keep a low profile until pension time….

We always get exactly what we deserve…..

40. @Bush Tea

No big fan of Broomes but based on what we know of the system (like you) maintaining the status quo will continue to produce those 11+ students who gain less than 20 marks and the problem is papered over because they ‘pass’ for a secondary school.

41. Are we surprised?  Remember that change must be managed.

UWI roll tumbles