Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

The resignation of Owen Arthur from from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) should make Barbadians pause for several reasons. The incapacity of a former Prime Minister of fourteen years to carve out an effective role to serve his political party in the twilight of his career leaves a sour taste. If our leaders are unable to find ways to resolve conflict to the greater good of country what message does it send to the general population?

BU hesitates to join those who believe that with the exit of Arthur it leaves a clear path to unchallenged leadership for Mia Mottley. The decision by Arthur to resign from the party BUT continue to sit in parliament as an independent may yet prove to be a bane for Mottley. Unshackled from the political party that made him, he has created the opportunity to demonstrate in his post-resignation contributions to parliament why he believes the BLP has drifted from its course. For him not to record for the benefit of Hansard and to share his knowledge as a former prime minister with the people of Barbados will be a cheat on his legacy, a porakey parliament notwithstanding.

BU is of the view Arthur sincerely believes Mottley is not made of the stuff required to be a prime minister. He has stated it publicly at a press conference held at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill in 2009.  And many of his statements since has demonstrated he has not shifted his position. When Mottley was selected as opposition leader after the last general election was Arthur present in the room?

Arthur is known for his clear and colourful language when expressing himself, he has been unusually vague about what he finds so distressing about Mottley’s leadership shortcomings.    Many speculate that Arthur is not enamoured by Mottley’s lifestyle and the attendant issues.  Defamation laws may have something to do with his reluctance to be forthright and lucid on the matter, but his constant snipping at the heels of Mottley has backfired. Mottley took a gamble by organizing a protest walk not knowing the level of support she was likely to attract from the parliamentary group AND the public.  The strong show of support from the BLP parliamentary group and the public must have caused the volte-face we witnessed today. Arthur will have a lot of explaining to do in the coming days, weeks … why would a former prime minister and elder of a political party resign from his party rather than use his influence within the party to force change.

As an independent Arthur may decide to frontally challenge contributions made by the BLP and in the process give the Arthur faction that remains of Payne, Marshall and Symmonds  the bravado to continue to show dissent under Mottley’s leadership. The approach by this lot will have to be monitored closely in the coming weeks.  Say what you want Arthur is not a fool, if he and cohorts believe Mottley is not qualified to lead Barbados, the question BU must ask is have they given up the fight to deny her?

What is distressing about what is playing out in Barbados today –  the government continues to struggle managing the economy with all economic and social indicators trending in the wrong direction. Instead of a country fully mobilized to confront the challenges ahead, we continue to be embroiled in partisan political dribble. Listen to the disingenuous quotes in the news today from Minister Donville Inniss and Prime Minister Freundel Stuart reacting to Arthur’s resignation, when just a few months ago they were braying on the political platforms a strong belief that  Lucifer had reincarnated as Arthur himself.

Mia Mottley you still have work to do if you want to be the first female prime minister of Barbados.

192 responses to “Owen Arthur Resigns from Barbados Labour Party”

1. All that OSA needs is ONE DLP independent and he can become Prime Minister again… Arthur understands Westminster better than any of the other jackasses that sit in the same room

2. Can the BLP now rise to the occasion?
    7/27/2014
    LIKE many in Barbados and even beyond, we too are surprised at the sudden resignation of Owen Seymour Arthur from the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP). So shocking is the resignation that last Thursday’s march, which BLP leader Mia Mottley had some reasons to celebrate given the approximately 3 000 people who either participated or were just there, has now faded into the background and will have to be counted as secondary to the resignation of Mr. Arthur. Even when one thinks about the march, one would have to remember that out of it came the bombshell of the resignation, which will be with many of us for a long time.
    While it is well known that Mr. Arthur has not always been an admirer Ms Mottley’s leadership of the BLP, it must have taken him many anxious moments before eventually deciding that enough is enough. In fact, he is reported as saying that it caused him much anguish in making the decision to quit the party which he headed when it was in Government between 1994 and early 2008. He repositioned the party, contributed to the political and economic stability which Barbados endured under his watch, and gave new meaning to regional integration even if that project has lost much of its momentum.
    While he had relinquished the leadership of the party since losing the general elections early last year, his presence in the BLP was still formidable. Quite naturally therefore, the resignation has left a void in the BLP and which many will take weeks or even months to come to grips with. Therefore, some may say that the BLP needs Owen Arthur more than Arthur needs it. Just recently there was enormous debate indicating that what is lacking within the ranks of the ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is someone skilled in Economics to chart a course for Barbados, in much the same way that Arthur was considered in the BLP. If much is attached to that argument and conclusions can be drawn from it, then one of them would be that the BLP could be found lacking in that area as well with the departure of Mr. Arthur.
    The challenge for the BLP is how to get up, dust itself off and get on with the job of proving that it can be an effective alternative to the present DLP administration. While Mr. Arthur and his contributions to politics and economics from within the bosom of the BLP will be missed, the party’s leadership has to demonstrate to all and sundry that it can rise to the occasion. Indeed, the former Prime Minister complained that he did not like the approach the BLP was taking in relation to the controversial Municipal Solid Waste Tax. He maintained that Barbados cannot ignore the fact that some method of financing solid waste disposal had to be dealt with, while recalling that as Prime Minister he had put in place an Environment Levy to do just that. Another Opposition MP also reasoned along those lines. It is an example like this and that of seemingly opposing for opposing sake that the BLP must try to avoid. Many will be looking to see how the situation shapes up from here on

3. More and more people in Barbados than ever before are more and more realizing than previously too the intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP factions as exactly such.

Hence, this is the time for many younger people in Barbados to get up and form other serious disciplined people-centered progressivist parties (in addition to the ones that currently exist) in this country

For, those two corrupt disgraceful factions have been systematically destroying more and more of this country’s social political material and financial affairs, each with the disgusting implementation of their anti-people, anti-developmentalist policy measures and programs, especially when at the helm of government.

What is clear too is that there are some people who – inspite of the evidence of the anti-people, anti-developmentalist nature of these same policy measures and programs – still support them as if they cannot conceive of any alternatives to them.

Imagine Professor Howard supporting Arthur on this issue of the need for this so-called mythical Municipal Solid Waste Tax (nationnews.com today), which really points to the expansion of the government evil wicked Tax-stealing Tax-robbing behaviour?

What trash!

Professor Howard has got to be extremely ill-informed and living in the darkest of ages!!

Indeed, it is really clearly time for all of these old stupid useless clearly failed destructive ideas, principles and programs TO GO, and for their places to be taken by new, sophisticated, politically liberating ideas, principles and programs for helping to take this country back on a certified path of substantial sustained national growth and development.

4. Dompey | July 26, 2014 at 7:53 PM |

Prodigal, Owen Arthur is welcome on our side of the political divided, in much the same light as Dr. Don Blackman when he was booted by Tom. Man, do you somehow sense a historical connection here?

Quite different, analogy does not work.

I wonder why Tom ‘booted’ that MP…. I wonder why…
    Aside from that he was a loudmouth waste of time?

😉

5. GP GEORGIE PORGIE | July 26, 2014 at 3:01 PM |

Very perceptive. Yes, the BLP members are jumping behind MIA because they do smell blood. They realize two things.

• bajans are generally fed up with the current administration and eager for change
    • MIA is getting people’s support, like never before, so if they don’t jump behind her, the train will leave without them.

Arthur seems to realize this too, hence his action to what I might, rightly or wrongly, perceive to be his attempt to stop the train by derailing the tracks.

6. David | July 26, 2014 at 7:30 PM |

Don’t worry about one politician delivering the ‘goods’ on another. That will never happen. Too many closets.

The whole issue is that Independent seat. When not sure of motive, look to the effective result.

And the effective result is that seat and what it signifies.

It signifies a vote I n Parliament. Look at that, anything else is fluff.

7. Crusoe

The numbers at the recent march surely indicates that MIA is getting the people’s support.

8. 10,000 people would have sent a better message.

9. @Well Well

Don’t be a JA, it was held during working hours in a culture which is not disposed to marching.

10. After the 2008 general election, political scientist/analyst Peter Wickham, opined Owen Arthur, as PM, led Barbados somewhat successfully for 14 years. However, many of us may question his performance during the latter 3 years of his last term. Wickham also suggested Arthur should be proud of this success and the popularity he held with Barbadians, and should “ride off into the sunset”, lest he did something stupid to smear his “legacy”. As we all know, Arthur handed over the reins of leadership to Mia Mottley, making us believe he was stepping aside for a younger person to take the party forward.

Unfortunately, by his words, actions and deeds, it was apparent to all and sundry that Arthur missed the prestige of being PM and all the power he wielded while holding the position. Arthur continued to undermine Mottley every occasion he got, beginning with his famed speech while at UWI. Recall in February 2013, during a number of DLP mass meetings, Fruendel Stuart displayed a note he allegedly received from Arthur in which Arthur asked him to take Mottley from off his hands. Arthur admitted sending the note, saying it happened at a time when Mottley “used to make these speeches” and the Democratic Labour Party would give her thunderous applause, and he suggested maybe the Dems should take her.

Speculation has been widespread that Arthur, Payne, Marshall and Symmonds are responsible for the rift in the BLP, with Arthur being the “in the background” mastermind. Arthur went ahead of Mottley to formulate his own protest against the solid waste tax. Mottley’s protest came in the form of a march, which was supported by none other than Arthur’s henchmen……. with George Payne being the surprise inclusion.

Perhaps Arthur was disappointed that his “supporters betrayed him”, leaving him like the boy on the burning deck, hence the real reason he resigned from the BLP.

11. No bashing

No bashing Owen Arthur (FP)

By TIM SLINGER | Sun, July 27, 2014 – 12:11 AM

DON’T EXPECT ANY bashing of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) from Owen Arthur.

This was made clear yesterday by the former Prime Minister in an interview with the SUNDAY SUN, 24 hours after he had resigned from the party he served for 43 years.

Arthur also categorically dismissed reports that he could be the architect of a third political party.

“Absolute nonsense. I’m flattered and I’ve seen the rumours on Facebook but there is no substance in those reports,” he said.

Please read the full story in today’s SUNDAY SUN, or in the eNATION edition.

12. Owen Arthur has lost his way not the Barbados labour party .

13. @ Artaxerxes | July 27, 2014 at 11:58 AM |
    ………………”Speculation has been widespread that Arthur, Payne, Marshall and Symmonds are responsible for the rift in the BLP, with Arthur being the “in the background” mastermind. Arthur went ahead of Mottley to formulate his own protest against the solid waste tax. Mottley’s protest came in the form of a march, which was supported by none other than Arthur’s henchmen……. with George Payne being the surprise inclusion”………………………………….

Artaxerxes,

Excellent analysis. I could never understand how OSA could have gone to the St Joseph meeting and announce his plan seemingly without discussing it with the rest of the party. Mia then to save face went along with the tactic.

Someone who attended this meeting told me that she sensed something was brewing. She believed that OSA had a plan and that behind all that was said was an underlining storm. Then came Kerry’s outburst.

OSA had some friends around him egging him on and one actually told a friend……we are within sight of taking over again. I could not believe that they were actually plotting again.

The Christ Church West Central branch held a meeting at Foundation School a few months ago after the Estimates debate. The branch invited OSA as the guest speaker.

He was very critical of the position the BLP took in calling for the divide saying that is why he abstained. That was no reason, he wanted to make Mia look bad. He then said he was on a mission and he was going on a pilgrimage throughout Barbados. So it did not surprise me that he was plotting to come back as leader.

A friend of mine went up to him after the meeting and expressed her displeasure at his presentation with the media present and told him that the public was growing tired of their behaviour and she asked him point blank if he was planning to take over again, he said no. Low and behold, weeks later, one of his sycophants was bragging that there were within sight of a takeover!

I am very disappointed in him but life goes on.

14. David | July 27, 2014 at 9:58 AM |

@Well Well

Don’t be a JA, it was held during working hours in a culture which is not disposed to marching.

David……..when was the march in the 90’s held, was it a saturday or a sunday? and if it was in the week, how come they drew over 20,000 and if it was in the week, what is the difference between the 90’s and 2014, I do believe things are a whole lot worse than in those times……dont’ you.

Better yet David…….did they get 20,000 people in the 90’s because it was one of the Goddards, local bajan white leading the poor blacks?? presuming that info was correct.

15. David

It matters little what time the MARCH was held and the attitude of a people towards SOCIAL-PROTEST because once you have aroused the COLLECTIVE-CONSCIENCE of a people, you could get them to do most anything-Hitler’s Germany was a prime example. And David, you’re in no position to pontificate on the dynamics of a people move beyond conventional way of thinking because whether you accepted or not, as a HUMAN-SPECIES, we’re not fully conditioned neither are we determined, but we ought to determine for ourselves whether we’re going to given to the SOCIAL, POLITICAL, and ECONOMIC conditions or standup and face them with courage. Moreover, there are many examples in the history book which speaks to the reality of SOCIAL-PROTEST: the Abolitionist-Movement, the Woman’s Suffrage-Movement, the Civil-Rights-Movement and most recently, the Mothers- Against the Wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.

16. speculation..Speculation…….THe fact is OSA got tired of MIA and BLP bull sh,it …….and he called it Quits,,,,,,,,,,now let it be ..tomorrow is another day,,,,, move on……BLP yardfowls…..wunna really show wunna true colors,,lord help MIA if she overstep her bounds and do about face on the tax, it would be cat piss and vinegar spilling all ova de place,,,,,,yuh think she would repeal the tax if she become PM…….UH…..,.

17. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Perhaps ,Arthur will try to re -marshall the Eager 11.

18. Please tune in to Maureen Holder expounding on Arthur’s resignation.

19. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

in 1982 he told parliament that he was thinking of resigning as he was disappointed with how things were in Barbados, in 2008 he resigned from leader of the BLP because he did not expect that the party would have been defeated, now as predictable he has resigned from the Party because he did not expect that Mia would have gotten such a show of support…just because he does not believe that Mia should be leader does not mean he is right, he does not know the future…he is not God…so he resigns….. Good riddance to the adulterer and alcoholic

20. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

John Chapman | July 26, 2014 at 4:00 PM |
    “…he has never had a country in or through a recession and we will never know how he would handle it”

i do not know which Barbados you have been living in but as far as i am aware, Barbadians went thru three recessions under Arthur;s watch but they never felt it due to how well he lead the economy

21. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

Brief | July 26, 2014 at 6:12 PM |
    “Kindly apply the Word of the Living God to men that are living according to His statutes and commandments when positing a comparison for victory in this time of our life here in Barbados.”

are u retarded, stupid or a hypocrite? Every circumstance in God’s word is there for any and everyone to learn and use as examples. i guess then according to your naive philosophy, only murderers who want to be leaders should use David (a man after God’s own heart btw ) as a comparison. What about Solomon, the wisest man on earth who was a womanizer and worshiped the many, many Gods of his wives…well u know were these two men living perfect lives? stupes……………….

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

One need not put God in the same thinking , sentence , wording , and more with a Crook , liars and scumbags as Owen /Mia, DLP , BLP , DBLP

23. If there is one person in Barbados with the will and the knowledge to rein in this runaway economy,it’s Owen S Arthur and jackass Stuart knows it and will nor rest until he gets Arthur on board on some committee,commission or body to make a determination of what is needed to be done and who will come on board once Arthur is given full authority.Stuart is desperate and sees Arthur as a way out.Arthur should treat Stuart like a leper and keep his distance.My only worry is that it appears that Stuart will be around for 5 more years.Barbados confused noass with Arthur’s move.Mia cannot make it work,neither Stuart.Its all to do with that elusive condition.Confidence.

24. ac | July 27, 2014 at 9:56 PM

Thanks for the above news report you posted, it was very informative. Other than the fact the news clip contained an item on Arthur’s resignation from the BLP………..the report starting at 4:14 should be of particular interest to you. However, I know you stopped listening to Kaymar after the Arthur news item finished, therefore, the below quote is for your perusal:

“Barbados suffers a sharp fall on the United Nation’s development index losing its coveted place among Caricom states. According to the 2014 report, Barbados, which was ranked 38th last year, is now listed at 59th out of 180 countries”

Now AC, with this 21 point decrease in the index scale, coupled with the downgrades by the international rating agencies, Moody’s recent report outlining a contraction in Barbados’ economy and the overall mismanagement of the island’s economy by the DLP……. since resignation is the main order of the day…….. surely you must agree that Freundel Stuart should resign from the DLP and by extension as PM of Barbados.

25. arterexes now u have entered the theatre of the absurd,,, march on ….dummy.

26. ac | July 28, 2014 at 12:09 AM |

“arterexes now u have entered the theatre of the absurd,,, march on ….dummy.”

I won’t take you calling me “dummy” personally, and thank you for welcoming me with you in “the theater of the absurd”. However, unlike you, I have not taken up permanent residency…………. my visit is temporary only.
    When this specific AC is the author of incoherent contributions filled with numerous grammatical errors, and when this AC can fanatically support the actions of a political party even when it does wrong things, it is indicative you are definitely qualified to identify a “dummy”.
    Obviously, on realizing I was correct when you actually listened to the news item, the truth hurt and this was your way of lashing out.

27. Arterexes. u need to grow some balls..stop being so super sensitive.

28. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The former leader of the BLP leaves the party calling the current opposition leader a self – promoting meglomaniac who is more about promoting herself than the party and states that she is more about political theatrics than serious policy alternatives.

The response of the Nation newspaper in its Sunday Sun is to have page 6 and Page 7 dominated by well known BLP supporters Michael Rudder and Ezra Alleyne and well know that Ezra can spin.
    The only two guest columnists the Nation newspaper could find was two active BLP supporters .

Then they would come to the country and pretend that they are fair and independent. Joke.

29. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

When Clyde Mascoll left the DLP and crossed the floor, Nation Newspaper writer Albert Branford was every week criticizing the then opposition leader David Thompson , week after week.

Now Owen Arthur has left the BLP and what does Albert Branford do? He puts his biased tail between his legs and writes a lollipop ,soft article titled “Mia’s Time Now”.

Absolutely shameful is the political bias of Albert Branford . How does he face himself in the mirror knowing that he writes as a political whore.

30. Fractured BLP Avatar

On reflection, the constant lies and misrepresentations that Prodigal and Miller keep spewing on BU must be blamed for Owen Arthur to declare that the BLP has lost its way.

Therefore , causing him to resign from his beloved BLP.

31. @Hants

The title is “Arthur’s exit a good thing”, my response- consider the source. Didn’t he join the BLP and was named head of the Pan African Commission? The idiot then ran afoul of Arthur and was removed in favour of Israel (can’t remember the last name).

32. I stand corrected I may have misspoken about the name of the Gov’t supported organisation that Comissiong headed but he was removed in favour of his deputy.

33. Sargeant
    Ikal Tafari formerly called Michael Hutchinson was the name that eludes you.Commissiong is notorious for being a mischief maker and is a relative of the Mottley clan.It’s a case of whats-in-it-for-me this time around.
    Arthur’s decision has thrown David Ellis,Peter Wickham,Maureen Holder,and all the other mischief makers into a flat spin.They are all guessing the significance of the decision and they all have something in common,they all despise Arthur because they have been at the bad end of his temperament.The man sees through these frauds like a divining rod.
    Owen Arthur has the interest of Barbados and Barbadians at heart.He has no time for the corrupt,dishonest,deprave,despicable deceitful,indecent dishonest,opportunistic slime that wants to take over this Great Party, built and nurtured by Adams the First and Adams the Second and passed on to
    Arthur by the latter.

34. I believe Owen said all he had to say on that matter at his Press Conference when he took over as Leader of the Opposition”
    What indeed did he say? Sarge, surley i would not expect you of all people to substitute innuendo for informed comment ” I AM PREPARING mS MOTTLEY FOR HIGHER OFFICE.” Furtheron in the interview he even castigated by way of innuendo those who were referring to Ms Mottley putorted lifestyle.

35. for what it is worth,,,OSA would make a good guinea pig for scientific political research,,, the data gained would be useful in helping voters to make clear cut choices that are not influenced by political rhetoric,,, EXHIBIT A the above comment by (balance)

36. @Gabriel July 28, 2014 at 11:24 PM “this Great Party, built and nurtured by [King] Adams the First and [King] Adams the Second and passed on to
    [King] Arthur by the latter.

King Adams the First is dead, dead,dead.

King Adams the second is dead, dead, dead. Deader than a door-nail.

King Arthur if not quite in the departure lounge is at least on his way to the airport.

Male life expectancy in Barbados is 74.6 years
    Owen Arthur, born October 17, 1949
    Do the math.

Leh de younger people tek over do!!!

37. NationBLPnewspaper | July 28, 2014 at 2:30 PM |

Absolutely shameful is the political bias of Albert Branford . How does he face himself in the mirror knowing that he writes as a political whore.

And how does the Rotweiler, turned poodle, face hisself knowing that he should have spoken out to the voters but ran back to the kennel after barking hard at the fence, as soon as the others dogs bark back?

How does this administration feel, knowing that bajans are catching hell paying all the added taxes and bills, when promising on election to REDUCE COST OF LIVING!

And them still 17 Ministries and counting, the ‘fatted calf’ being shared well amongst, while the bajan taxpayer suck salt!

Look in the mirror, indeed!

Bunch of jokers.

Maybe the same Albert Branford that you quote, should do an analysis of taxes before DLP and taxes now, list them and publish.

And cost of living prices of standard items before and now.

Would that be biased? No, it would be reporting fact.

Betcha would not like that.

And yes, that IS the beauty of fact, yuh cant dispute, because bajans know the reality.

38. The Mottley crew is celebrating the exit of Arthur from the party. They will destroy the BLP to make room for her. Tom Adams must be turning in his grave to see how Mottley worked behind the scenes to force out Arthur.

This woman should be kept as far away from the Prime mInister’s office as possible.

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bajanfuhlife

People will abuse you for your remarks but they will praise you in the end.