Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart admitted he witnessed voting irregularities

In reference to the current debate about corporate financing of the BLP and DLP, The Mahogany Coconut Group quotes from an article, it submitted to, and was published by BU shortly after the last (2013) General Elections

“ While we shout from the roof tops about what took place on elections day, we bury our heads in the proverbial sand, by refusing to ask one simple question: How did the two political parties, both claiming to be rather financially impoverished, raise a conservative estimate of over twenty million dollars to pour into a three week campaign? We ask Dale Marshall (BLP) to tell us about the successful “cake sales and car washes” that raised their money. We ask Ronald Jones (DLP) to tell us more about the “$500 here and there” that was given to his party by well wishers. Let’s face it; elections are now big business and the corporate shadows are well entrenched in both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party.

Anybody who believes that car washes, cake sales and a five hundred dollar donation here and there, can raise this large amount of money, needs to seriously wake up from his/her  slumber!

The truth is that deals are common place in our politics and state agencies are used to distribute largesse. There is a sophisticated corruption sanctioned by both parties. We hear about consultants and contractors being given work for which they are unqualified. We should pause and thank the majority of our civil servants who are honest, hardworking and not corrupt, like some found in other countries.”

Full article link : http://mahoganycoconut.blogspot.com/2013/02/barbados-elections-2013-and-cash.html

50 responses to “2013 General Elections Follow-up – Campaign Financing”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Isn’t it amazing that everyone, but law enforcement, knows of corruption. The problem is that the tentacles of corrupt politicians reach as far as the appointment and promotion of the law enforcers. So it is simple, if you want a promotion turn a blind eye to corruption.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Well you all know and knew that these CROOKS LIARS AND SCUMBAGS.
    had their plot in the making .
    Nothing is clean about them and can never be, All those who love the party that few were invited to partake in the Massive Election Fraud ,,
    Where was President Carter to over see the undoing of a Nation,
    The C.U.P and others Knew and Feel the sting of being Cheated by the Snake that walk the Halls of the People House,
    If that dont wake up the dead, then the living need also need to lay down and eat some worms,
    Audit is needed as We said , A word more Dangerous than Fraud, For the Audit well let US ALL know who , what , when , where and well now know WHY.
    PLANTATION DEEDS AND ALL OTHERS Will keep the Blogging Going until next Elections, The World is in reverse ,
    CLICO,AG, CJ,MOF,COP,DPP ,PM,= PROBLEMS FOR US ALL,
    NWO, NOW,OWN, WON, We are the Ones You Have Been Waiting For , There Is No One Else To Do This , But Us,

3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart admitted he witnessed voting irregularities@

This Snake witness his own parties crimes and if he had lost , and only then would they be a Do Over,

4. I dont think the government and their financiers realise the long term damaging effects the last election and subsequent policies will have on Barbados.The “educated” middle class will be reduced as upward mobility through university education will be reduced.The land and property owning middle class will be under severe threat and reduced.It will be more difficult for new businesses to emerge by the middle class as they are taxed into oblivion.The middle class will naturally be inclined to have even less children.All this leads to a vacuum which could be be hastily occupied from extra regional sources looking for property, jobs requiring university skills,increasing a buffer class between Bajan/Caribbean nationals and the elite with larger families.This will become a national problem but I hint at the middle classes because they have always been used as the indicator of the economic prosperity of this rock.Then the govt and their financiers will realise what they have done to their and all our detriment.

5. How many paid up members are there in each Party? I’ll wager that more than 60% of the members are in arrears at any one time with the exception of nomination meetings when someone will pay on their behalf in a quid pro quo arrangement. The dues have to fund office expenditure and other related items and Elections are an expensive proposition but Parties don’t have the wherewithal to borrow funds in the commercial arena and don’t have any discretionary funds to pay for an Election campaign so it’s mostly everyone for themselves.

There are some wealthy individuals who finance these campaigns however since the David Thompson exposé of the $75,000 cheque they won’t risk issuing cheques but they play both sides of the aisle with a politicians best friend- cold hard cash- so there is no risk of public exposure which may be embarrassing to both Parties as well as the donor(s).

Who receives this money? Each Party has a “handler” who receives the funds and doles it out (sometimes) according to need but if you are in a no hope constituency tough luck seeing any of those funds. There is no paper trail so some of the funds don’t always trickle down to marginal candidates, but the donor doesn’t care because he or she would have achieved the desired result since the “handler” is always a prominent member of the Party and whatever the result of the Election the donors would be looked on favourably.

There is no impetus to change these arrangements in the near future by amending the tax code so donors can receive a tax credit or deduction for their contributions because it is not in the politicians or their financiers’ best interests for these transactions to be vetted by a sceptical public who may be inclined to connect various decisions to funding the Party receives

6. @ Sargeant : “There is no impetus to change these arrangements in the near future by amending the tax code so donors can receive a tax credit or deduction for their contributions because it is not in the politicians or their financiers’ best interests for these transactions to be vetted by a sceptical public who may be inclined to connect various decisions to funding the Party receives ”

You are ABSOLUTELY correct !

7. We should not forget the Attorney General associated himself with the PM’s observation regarding irregularities on election night. These are the two important offices recognized in the Constitution.

8. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

While I understand the trauma that intimidation can have on the timid soul, and I do not use the term timid disparagingly, I really believe that this next march has got to be a defining moment for the Barbadian. If we as a people are unable to see the bigger picture, thereby looking past the antecedence of the organizers real or perceived, then heaven help us all. This march could be about the so called municipal tax for some marchers. It could be about campaign finance for others, while others might march against the slip shod way this government instituted its redundancy policy. Bottom line is very simple. A serious message needs to be sent. Let all who in the future aspire to hold office in this fair land understand that no longer will their service be a path to personal riches.

9. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Just heard Owen Arthur in the 7:30 edition of news on VOB making the point that only government can repeal this shit tax. Can one of our great journalists get him to commit that should his party be returned such will happen by such time?

10. The unions who are likely to pull numbers can march as well, they have enough reasons to do so.

11. @ David
    ….and the damn Credit Unions whose assets are being raided by Stinkler and Froon. …why the hell are they so quiet?
    …is it because the leaders are of the same ilk as Stinkler and Froon and are just hoping to sit in a corner with the PM and come up with some mutually agreeable “arrangement” that benefits Hally et al while tossing the members to the dogs…?

WHY ARE THE CREDIT UNION LEADERS NOT SERIOUSLY MOBILIZING AGAINST THIS ASSET TAX?

What is the DLP offering to Haynes and his band to let this shiite ride?

Caswell….do you have the answer?

12. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ Bush tea…Duty free shit, like cars and boats and the other toys for the big boys has been an enticement since Adam was a lad.Still works today like a charm.

13. @Bushie

Caswell a reason to march also, by his words the Employment Rights Tribunal has not honoured its obligation to disadvantaged workers. Here is another, the PM promised the ERT would have swiftly dealt with the NCC matter…

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The credit unions cannot justify complaining about the new tax when most of them are sending delegations to Australia to be observers at the World Council of Credit Unions’ convention at a minimum of $25,000 per man. The convention is scheduled for July 27 to 30, and some of them are taking the long way to get there and back. Some of them would be out of the country at the credit unions’ expense for as much as 15 days to attend a four day convention. They are not keeping noise now because they don’t want that to get out, oops!

15. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

HAMILTON A HILL | July 4, 2014 at 7:40 AM | Owen and Mia started this shit from 1997 with the VAT , bring on greed and RR for everyone and off shore accounts ,
    It all lead back to the PLANTATION LANDS , RUNNING LANDS , BAD LAND TITLE DEEDS , WASHING ALL KINDS OF FRAUD ,
    Tell us that all out side of Barbados can see and know better then you fisr hand,
    All of this started with LAND FRAUD that is feeding the crooks , covered up in World events and TAXES , Dont not get tied up in the DBLP talking and taking, Understand and know the land is the KEY to all of this Madness .

16. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Caswell Franklyn | July 4, 2014 at 8:54 AM |@
    We dont want to tell you , what you may already know ,
    Just one Credit Union is holding more than a 1 BILLION IN ASSETS ,
    What are the other holding and where did they get it to hold?
    Must be the land and building like the Light and Power Credit Union that holding on to the Bay Estate and Mr Skinner holds on to the Bay Mansion on Bay Street , Deed less and full of land ,

17. There is no credit union holding one billion in assets. The total credit union asset base is probably what you mean.

18. @ Caswell
    Stop telling lies on the people do….
    Wuh that is an even bigger tax on the Credit Union assets than Stinkler is proposing….. No wonder Hally Haynes is so quiet…

Now pray tell us what the benefit will be for credit union members at a time like this when layoffs and delinquency is a MAJOR issue ….
    For hoards of credit unions officials to jaunt off to Australia at HIGH per diems and other costs TO THE CREDIT UNIONS….and for what?

Say it ain’t so Caswell ….

19. But they do these jaunts all the time, was it not in Panama las year?

20. This government, DLP/BLP, needs overthrowing, by any means necessary

21. @ David
    This is WHY many of the useless officials hang around these organizations….for their annual paid vacations….
    Same shiite in Sports…. THEY will be off to Mexico, Glasgow and “Lord knows where else” for their holidays around the same time too…
    But Australia is FAR and expensive…. and the per diems will be sweet….. 🙂

@ Caswell
    Thanks boss….
    That explains why the Credit Union folk prefer to ‘talk privately’ with the PM rather than raise a public stink….. Froon will be MUCH better placed to understand this business of needing to attend expensive and useless conferences …..and will no doubt be able to show Hally why he should not bother too much if a few thousand poor people lose a few dollars each in the process….

Man Caswell let we BUP the damn place nuh….!!!

22. The jaunt to Australia deserves separate attention.

23. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | July 4, 2014 at 9:03 AM |

There is no credit union holding one billion in assets. The total credit union asset base is probably what you mean.@

One again David you find hard to believe the words of PLANTATION DEED, After all we have written ,and what you are living now? Fraud Elections, Bad ratings by the White Bank, taxes , vat and all other PONZI and off shore accounts, Ministers 5 Million in Mothers Accounts,

Well Well you must be made to LOOK after drinking some Bush tea with no ac running ,

24. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Here I am this rainy Friday morning listening to Mark Williams talking bare SH—-foolishness. Mr Williams would have us believe that his are clean hands when it comes to the by election in St.Michael north west. Mark would you be so kind as to tell all of Barbados what was coming out of the brown hand bag that swung from the right shoulder of Cynthia Forde? Right there at the corner of Black Rock main road. Dirty hands abound where both D and B are concerned, so Mark just shut ya trap do!

25. At least it is not taxpayers monies these moochers are spending.

Maxine McClean takes the cake for always on expensive jaunts on the taxpayers dime. She has racked up more air miles than any BLP minister ever did in 14 years and pray tell me what has she achieved? She is one of the most incompetent ministers in this government and arrogant to boot! Her signature achievement is the bungled way in which the Myrie complaint was handled initially.

Last month she went to Florida then to London and then to Switzerland. Can anyone tell us on BU what could be happening in Switzerland that warranted her attendance? Have these people ever heard of tele-conference?

They have no intention of making any sacrifices, the peasants are the ones to make the sacrifices. No wonder the Stinkliar has to tax us more. we are doomed with this lot!

26. Prodigal…..I keep wondering what is wrong with teleconferencing instead of these expensive trips that just bleeds the taxpayers, then when they return, they cannot even give a good account of what they heard or why the money was spent, the men boast of how many whores they slept with and the females, well, what do they even have to boast about besides wasting taxpayers money, hell, they don’t even have to set up tv cameras, skype got group conferencing, they are wasting money because it’s not theirs…….

27. I smell lots of fish here in the Banana Republic market where transparency has died due to greed among the market caretakers. Who is BOLT Solutions Inc and what is the Moorjani’s connection@ David King

Bolt Solutions Inc, CAIPO registry # 37941, Category = company, date registered 2014-02-19

28. Sargeant | July 4, 2014 at 12:52 AM |
    “There are some wealthy individuals who finance these campaigns however since the David Thompson exposé of the $75,000 cheque they won’t risk issuing cheques but they play both sides of the aisle with a politicians best friend- cold hard cash- so there is no risk of public exposure which may be embarrassing to both Parties as well as the donor(s).”

“The David Thompson exposé of the $75,000 cheque” was of a different circumstance. Recall CLICO gave Arthur that cheque…… Thompson and Parris are buddies. The political environment prior to the 2008 election was of such that people were demanding a change from the BLP. We all knew that Thompson was eager to capitalize on this situation, since he saw it as an opportunity to realise his childhood dream of becoming prime minister of Barbados.

In this scenario, Thompson took advantage of the fact that his buddy Parris (whether deliberately orchestrated or not) contributed campaign funds to Arthur. Obviously, he was given a copy of the returned cheque by Parris to deal a significant blow to the then rising unpopularity of Arthur.

29. @Deeds

For your information, the largest credit union, Barbados Publci Workers, has assets of $779,509. You can check the League’s website if you don’t believe BU. You and PDC have something in common which there is the opportunity to improve if you want ANYONE to take you seriously.

http://barbadoscoopleague.org/cms/index.php/2011-12-13-12-06-21/members

30. The directors are Richard W Moorjani, Achal S Moorjani,Richard L V Edgehill, James Y Edgehill. All the above except James are John Boyce Minister Of Transport & Works neighbors who all live at Atlantic Shores.

31. @David King interesting to note is that the registered office of BOLT Solutions Inc is in care of a company called Moorjani Caribbean Ltd which was closed since 2004. Perhaps you can can Afra Raymond to give you the rundown on Moorjani. My clerk will send you a bill for her services. Lol

32. @Bush Tea

Was Nobby Estwick not the head honcho?

33. Chris begs for kickback Avatar
    Chris begs for kickback

Why is all of the allegations of misfeasance seem to be from MOE?

34. Concerned Citizen Avatar
    Concerned Citizen

Look what @david spieler is saying

35. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

http://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/ @ on page 19 , DBLP seem as they just sold out the county to BOLT., We are in shit until the next election and very past that for years to come.

36. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | July 4, 2014 at 7:56 PM |

@Deeds

For your information@ David for Our Information, We stand by our posting by way of Affidavit which adds up to 2.
    If you and some of BU reader look to trust words and the lips printed and typed by crooks liars and scumbags,
    The you all better go to UWI and get a Phd in Bullshit,
    We tell you what we Know, what we think and what we see ahead , This is what was said by those to know first hand , The was more than 2 years ago so be maybe wrong base on Market and it may be more or a few less, ,
    We trust our info better than yours, If you understand what we talking about and the NEWS around you each day, Then you may give more thinking than to post numbers like an Election Return posted by the paid News rooms of Barbados .Keep getting your news from that DBLP crook Tony Best and see how far you get ,
    We at PLANTATION DEEDS have no time to waste until you get the picture, Try to think out side the Box to see how these crooks are working ,

37. Attached is the most current financials non consolidated financials for BPWCC which list assets of 827 million. BPWCC is the largest credit union in Barbados.

http://www.publicworkers.bb/documents/news/areports/Annual_Report2013_Non-Con/files/assets/basic-html/index.html#11

A look at the consolidated financials is also less than a million.

38. All the policies which have helped to build Barbados to what it WAS are being dismantled. Barbados Today is reporting that the IMF has concerns with the large number of tax allowances and exemptions. The middleclass is about to be decimated.

39. simple economics the country can;t afford it,,,,,it has lead to the economic death spiral that all have been witnessing,,,,,,the only way going forward is to face reality,, that the barbados mansion is in severe need of repair and it has to be fixed,as for over the years it has been left in disarray painting only the outside while the internal structure was collapsing,,,, the few remaining contents needs to be saved and all the dwellers are being called as a civic and patriotic duty to lend a helping hand,,by putting political pettiness aside and self interest and putting country FIRST,,,,,may god bless this barbados .. A place WE call HOME,,

40. Concerned Citizen Avatar
    Concerned Citizen

@Ac the yardfowl, everybody needs to develop a model that can work for them the IMF makes money when countries run into trouble. Barbados is at the crossroad because of institution theft and mismanagement by members of parliament from both the BLP and DLP.

41. Concerned Citizen Avatar
    Concerned Citizen

A country is a large household with many people. The incompetence of the DLP and corruption is like nothing the country has ever seen. It will either be a situation of the government calling early elections or a spontaneous civil unrest if the country continues along this trajectory.

42. Correct concerned citizen
    …the difference between the BLP and DLP is that the former were smart and crooked – while the latter are crooked and stupid….
    ….just having ac and Dompey as their main voices here on BU speaks volumes for the DLP…..especially since she seems to be just about as intelligent as the PM and MoF…..

43. Sad that the DLP can only find two stupid people to sing their praises……lol

44. @ccc..u rift raft who u calling a yarfowl…negro fuh the past fourteen years u had no problem wid thiefing govt….as long as u your ass was comfortable ..even when the national interest was going to hell in a hand basket..now yuh backside hurting yuh get up in here trying to. lecture and blame and call names..well negro ac have news fuh you u too have as much to blame in the system failure

45. @ ac
    you are a hen yard fowl that lost your paling cock
    that’s why you watch prom all day and write all kinds of shit on this blog

46. The leaders of African countries are becoming cognizant of the fact that they have to break away from the European web, what is wrong with the Caribbean leaders..

http://allafrica.com/stories/201406302281.html

47. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David BU, Tell us all which books are right in Barbados.
    The History Books?
    Bank Books?
    Archives Books?
    UWI Books?
    Land registry Books?
    Inland Rev.?
    Court Records.?
    Election Returns.?
    Title Deeds.?
    CB records.?
    DPP Books.?
    COP Books , Reports.?
    CLICO.?
    DLP.?.?.?
    BLP.?
    COW.?
    Cheltenham Sir.?
    Ralph Thorne.?
    MOF.?
    Denis Clarke QC.?
    Denis Lowe’s $5 Million in Dead Mother account?

Oh I See Only the Union Books , I see where you coming from , We not going there .Credit Union hold on to land they dont own, fix and rent out , they place it on their books,Much on the same line as CLICO with the PLANTATIONS THEY NEVER PAID FOR TO HELP PONZI UP THEIR BOOKS.

Only Books and records that are right in Barbados is the C.U.P Books and Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles Books.
    Ask the Royal Barbados Police and the Fraud Squad of Barbados Who’s Books and statements are Right and Sign. Also hidden form the Public .

CHECK THE LINE That past your test..

48. @Deeds

Carry on smartly.

49. What a joke we are making of our democracy:

$2.2m poll

$2.2m poll Peter Wickham. (FP)

By Sanka Price | Sun, July 06, 2014 – 12:10 AM

It’s official. Millions of dollars were spent for the February 21, 2013 general election.

This was revealed in the final report on the poll by supervisor of elections Angela Taylor which shows just over $2.2 million was spent by the 68 candidates who contested the poll.

And the majority of this, $1 172 239.41, was spent by the candidates of the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

However, regional political pollster Peter Wickham voiced concern about the manner in which these figures are collected and called for a more robust system, noting that the money declared had nothing to do with what was actually spent by the two major political parties. So the public is no wiser as to how much was spent in totality for the poll.

Please read the full story in today’s SUNDAY SUN, or in the eNATION edition.

50. Truth is hard for fools Avatar
    Truth is hard for fools

Peter Wick-shitham