Submitted by Anthony Davis
Transport Board a failing state enterprise

There has been much ado about the Transport Board’s new service which was supposed to be rolled on 22 June, 2014. My question is: Did they really mean 2014 or do they mean 2015 or 2016?

The service is just as mediocre as before!

Does the Transport Board not have to strive for service excellence like all other entities offering  a service in Barbados?

Why do some people still have to wait two hours or more for service and buses are sent to places like Silver Hill and Wotton with 3 passengers, and they have the audacity to say that they are having challenges with the services?

Common sense would tell me that buses should be sent to those destinations where there are enough people to fill two buses first. They often announce that they are having challenges with the services. The only challenges I can see are the mental ones of the inspectors, because it is absurd to send out the buses mentioned with the three passengers and shortly after to announce that they are having challenges with the service.

79 responses to “Transport Suggestion”

1. @ Well Well
    You could talk all,the shiite you like….
    Hard Seed is EXACTLY correct.

2. “Where are the men ? The doings of women run the men.-Ditto for the Public Service and wherever else.”

Seeking refuge on a block or in the workplace cowardly hiding up under the same women’s skirts to gain their favour.

3. BMcDonald | June 25, 2014 at 10:08 AM |

A very good suggestion and in an ideal Barbados, that’s how the service should be operated.

But there are political appointed employees at the board who are Elliot Ness…..“untouchable”. From the early 1980s when I was at secondary school, while waiting for a bus in the then Lower Green, we would hear inspectors (as they were known then) telling drivers to go to a particular route and those drivers would tell them bluntly they are not going. It’s 2014 and nothing has changed.
    My father was a driver and he often told me he was ridiculed by other drivers when he obeyed an instruction from the supervisor to service particular routes.

Then there are the uncouth drivers commuters have to deal with. For example, there is a driver by the name of Wayne Burgess who used to drive the Speightstown to Oistins route when I was younger. This man is very, very uncouth to passengers and he had numerous complaints made against him for his behaviour. I had to catch an Edey Village bus in April this year and Burgess was the driver. As I was about to put the $2 in the fare box, he shouted “Don’t put that in there so!” My response to him was he was unmannerly for years and it seems as though he will not change.
    In the private sector, there is no way that he would have continued working for so long after so many complaints.

4. I am of the opinion government should appoint individuals to jobs for which they are qualified instead of party affiliation as the main prerequisite.
    Why not someone who has qualifications in transport economics, transport management, transport management and engineering, or transport and logistics?
    …………………………………………………………………………
    Doesn’t work that way in Barbados. I came back from the UK with most of the above, and did not even get an interview, that was promised ,by the General Manager. But the TB’s loss was somebody in the private sector gain.

5. One thing which irks me about the Transport Board, is seeing big 70- seater buses plying routes like Forde’s Road and other low volume routes ,with only a few passengers on board, mostly pensioners ,when the use of a smaller unit would be much more economical. The private concessionaires, were masters of their craft. They were able, without the use of computers, to collate figures on the average passenger load, on any route at any given time and ,supply buses as appropriately.
    Back in the days when the Transport Board was ran by “igrunt”, persons, some of the personnel were sent on attachment to Bus companies in the UK, such as The Ribble Bus Co, to observe and gain some valuable experience in some aspects of passenger transport. A few years ago, a grand hulaballo was made in the press about some employees of the Transport Board working towards the respected qualification leading to Membership of the Institute of Transport. Obviously, like many a busted bus, it all fell by the wayside.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“I am of the opinion government should appoint individuals to jobs for which they are qualified instead of party affiliation as the main prerequisite.”

Who say dat?

Sedition and Treason!!

Whu BU coming to nowadays when people can come here and make such statements and use such indecent language and not be censored forthwith!!

You mean that Michael Lashes and Richard “I seeing Spirits” Sealy would actually have to appoint someone who is qualified for a job to run a specific desk in government?

Whu goin’ on heah? Call de Police!! and de trigger happy recruits man dis body want a good we Jonesing, no not buggery, shoot some people and crack some heads…

Imagine being employed in Bulbados based on what you know and are capable of delivering as opposed to who you know and who doggie you sv.ck? Whuloss…anarchists!!

The sad thing is that as ridiculous as this submission seems, it is truly the level of operations that we in Bulbados have sunk to – hiring buhkunts and electing waste foops…and then wondering why we suffering so

7. @ Hants

Being able to make informed decisions about transport makes life a lot easier.

8. Who stands to gain from the inefficiencies of the TB?

Could it be the taxi operators on the island? Could it be the politicians who want to see a car in every household, or could it be the persons who import cars and also supply the fuel and spare parts?

Some invisible hand might be a driving force in all of this. A poor transport system is a terrible thing for any economy as a whole.

9. We have read in the text how an efficienf transportation system is a requirement to an effcient economy. Travel to any developed country and observe the clockwork precision of the public transportation system. What do we have in Barbados? Are we satisfied our leadership has done a good job?

10. Peltdownman | June 25, 2014 at 11:37 AM |

Excellent contribution.

11. anon | June 26, 2014 at 7:33 AM |
    Who stands to gain from the inefficiencies of the TB?
    …………………………………………………………………………..
    De ZR operators benefiting and the BRA enjoying a $15,000.00 Licence fee. Government looking at collecting taxes and killing a service. Who going to loose….WE DE FOOLISH TAXPAYERS WHO REFUSE TO ACT.

12. Bush Tea | June 25, 2014 at 8:32 PM |

@ Well Well
    You could talk all,the shiite you like….
    Hard Seed is EXACTLY correct.

Bushman……..yeah, but you can be sure as Suck A said, Hardseed is more than likely under some females skirt right now and so are you……lol

13. anon | June 26, 2014 at 7:33 AM |

Who stands to gain from the inefficiencies of the TB?

Could it be the taxi operators on the island? Could it be the politicians who want to see a car in every household, or could it be the persons who import cars and also supply the fuel and spare parts?

Some invisible hand might be a driving force in all of this. A poor transport system is a terrible thing for any economy as a whole.

Peter Harris, Edmund Bayley, Bruce Bayley the current insurance carrier for the Transport Board who was given the contract by Rommel Marshall, Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley, along with all the DLP/BLP politicians who take bribes from them stands to benefit when the Transport Board collapses, they all benefit except the taxpayers.

The personal injury liabilities that have been allowed to accumulate for the last decade or so is unconscionable, the fact that these cases have been just laying in the court system instead of being closed out and the valid claims settled is PURE EVIL.

Colonel…….Transport Board has an even worse driver than the one above, a reckless youngster called Ishan Alleyne, word is that he is connected, so he can injure people, drive recklessly and do whatever he likes then tell lies about it to the insurance company and nothing happens….they got some nasty stuff going on at the Transport Board that the politicians are well aware of and do nothing because they could care less.

14. Have to reiterate who benefits from the collapse of the Transport Board:

Peter Harris, Edmund Bayley, Bruce Bayley the current insurance carrier for the Transport Board CGI (Consumers Guarantee Insurance) who was given the contract by Rommel Marshall, Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley, along with all the DLP/BLP politicians who take bribes from them stands to benefit when the Transport Board collapses, they all benefit except the taxpayers.

15. Colonel……..As a matter of fact this same Ishan Alleyne was on remand for shooting someone in 2010, it was in the newspapers, something happened, the case disappeared and he got his job back at the Transport Board driving the public, a very reckless and dangerous driver on the loose in Barbados driving government buses, so your little piggie driver is nothing compared to the dangers the public is being subjected to on a daily basis by Alleyne, and they are not even aware..

16. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Well Well | June 26, 2014 at 5:18 PM |
    what is Bush Tea doing under some females skirt right now
    is he standing up or facing it?
    murdah!

17. GP……I am sure it’s an exercise in gravity…..lol

18. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Well Well
    You are a very naughty girl…..but I still love you cause is trute you ah tell. Murdah!

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I am sure that somewhere in this post someone has put up this as a logical solution to our problem.

Google search for cheap GPS software http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/five-apps/five-gps-apps-to-help-you-get-where-youre-going-for-cheap/ and a mobaton of solutions come up.

Now granted that alot goes into the Information System Architecture (de granson tell me dat term) fuh a company to arrive at an Automated Vehicle Solution tailored to our local needs but any a#%hole can work out the logic of (a) knowing where your ass(ets – remember dat dis is Bulbados after all) are (b) knowing how full they are (c) knowing their speed and estimated time of arrival (d) broadcasting that info to potential travellers who does be stake out in de hot sun waiting pun a day and (e) mekking de Transport Board efficient and profitable

Wunna all know dat de ole man get he license tek way causing I cyan see too goody goody, even in de day, so I is got to tek de TB bus, I doan tek de minibuses nor de ZRs causing when dem do de “cradle” wid me in de vehicle, de ole man bladder and me bowels does do a little “cradle” too and I does be looking fuh somewhere to mek a deposit uh number 1 or 2.

I ent able to embar-ass meself pun de public vehicles (again de last time i did do dat I was 4)…wunna cud see me now pun face book, or wussa still, in de Nation newspaper wid all me pants wash way in piss or de udder ting..front page news “PieceuhdeRock caught with PieceuhPup in he Pants” read all about it on page 3

Dat wud mek me girlfriends, especially SSS, say dat I is really a “dirty ole man en trufe” and look sharp, once my girlfriend AC find out bout my calamity, I would not be able to say a word here before dem start calling me “number 1, number 2..”

20. Well Well | June 26, 2014 at 5:28 PM |
    Have to reiterate who benefits from the collapse of the Transport Board:
    ……………………………………………
    And added to that list, Leroy Trotman(Sir) Head Honcho of UCAL ,but it does not seem as if the other employees/shareholders share in this benefit,as earlier this year,they had to go on strike for their weekly wages.
    The son of LB Brathwaite,of Transtech,who must be making a small fortune repairing the Transport Board Buses. Some workshop in Searles old factory yard ,that also repairs many of the buses, seems to have struck gold.
    But by far the biggest benefactor of the Transport Board payouts, must be Simpson Motors. Sales of news buses. Sales of replacement parts. Specials repairs to buses and sale of diesel fuel,via SOL.
    Not forgetting the Indians who operate HINO minibuses, who I am told, have access to a ready supply of Hino parts. when they fall of the back of a TB bus.
    I am surprised that the boy killer ,rabbit hutch builder , has not as yet , poked his finger into the Transport Board sweet pie, now that his “putting- on- my -lawyer -cap” mucker is chief Conductor and Driver

21. This is nearing the end of 2018…….. and going into 2019……almost 5 years later, the issues at the Transport Board remain the same.

22. 5 YEARS IN THE FUTURE IT WILL STILL BE THE SAME

IN THE INTERIM, HOWEVER, MANY WILL PONTIFICATE AD LIB AND AD NAUSEAM
    ON THE BU RUM SHOP DAILY DRIVEL ……………BUT TO NO AVAIL

23. Artax,

Ya wrong! They are worse! No school buses AT ALL!!!! Children who were told to chose secondary schools in their zones because transportation would be provided now have to pay minibuses $8 a day for four trips to get to school and back. Mia said she was ready for the school year and that lasted for about a week. Some policemen have stopped reporting minibuses for overloading because the children would be stranded until eight o’ clock.

24. Are things worse than originally told?

25. IS NOT THAT WHAT DONNA SAID?

26. That IS what I said. WORSE! Even the government workers cannot depend on the Warrens buses to get them to WORK. NOBODY waits for the TB buses anymore besides the pensioners. Sometimes they have to go back home if they cannot stand for long and in the terminal. I understand it can be a four hour wait for certain routes.

27. I for one am willing to give the Gov’t some slack on this issue, it is barely six months into its tenure but at least it got the easy stuff done (Forde). For the past few decades the TB has been neglected and the ZR brigade was allowed to run roughshod over public transportation now its hard to exercise some control and get the genie back into the bottle.

Time will tell whether Duguid is up to the task…….

28. re Time will tell whether Duguid is up to the task…….

DUGUID WILL FIND THAT HIS TASK WILL BE LIKE PULLING TEET

29. “Mia said she was ready for the school year and that lasted for about a week.”

Donna

Are you sure school children pay minibuses $8 per day? Is that 4 trips @ $2?

I thought their fare was $1.50 per trip?

To be fair……. there has been an increase in the number of units that should be available for service. Several of the buses that were out of service have been repaired and are currently undergoing repairs and refurbishment. Unfortunately, many of the repaired buses remain parked because they have not undergone inspection at MTW and are not licensed and insured.

And this does not help the transport situation.

TB would purchase 50 buses, for example, and would license and insure them “collectively”…….then immediately take 50 old buses off the road, rather than gradually phasing them out over a period of time. A year later, these 50 “new” buses have to be taken off the road for repairs and prepared for inspection, licensing and insurance.

As it relates to TB’s management, in MY opinion, this current BLP administration made a step in the right direction by offering Sandra Forde a “separation package.” However, they made a step in the wrong direction by appointing a lawyer as Chairman.