37 responses to “BU Crop Over 2014 Buzz”

1. Thanks David.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

THIS NEED TO BE A TIME TO LET THE WORLD KNOW WHAT THE CROOKS OF THE DLP GOVERNMENT ARE DOING WITH THE HELP OF THE BLP.

YET WE SEE PARTING IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN FIXING THINGS , HALF NAKED WOMEN AND DRUNK ME IS THE SAME SET UP OF THE GOVERNMENT USE TO DISTRACT THE PEOPLE MIND SET.

WE BOYCOTTING THE EVENTS AND WILL NOT REST UNTIL THIS CRAP IS OVER AND NOT CROP.

3. Big Irie is a consistent sort

4. This one is getting a lot of airplay

5. A big conversation piece is the bands are targeting the nice bodies, what BU call the trophy look on the road. Isn’t this about having a good time on the road?Do we need the beads and feathers?

6. David sex sells.No creative ability so they resort to exposing botsies.

You put an image of Rihanna fully clothed and looking amazing and nobody commented.

I would like to see bands from the BCC showing the creativity of students in the Arts programs.

7. Rihanna rocks that outfit, she definitely does not need to undress.

8. Minister “in-your-face” Lashley is threatening to come down hard on those who benefit from “Crop Over” ,but put very little money back into it, by making them pay for the “Crop over ” Brand. Does Mr Lashley realizes that the term “Crop Over” belongs to the people of Barbados and not just a single entity, the same as “Crop Start”, ‘Hard Time” ” Crop in full swing”.
    Perhaps Mr Lashley should also penalise those persons who are still labouring under the hot sun struggling to reap what little canes we have from using terms associated with his Crop.
    This is the same man who travels about the island and can see venues for future Pick of the Crop galas, but cannot see or give a damn about the thousands of acres of once fertile land now covered in bush and river tamarind.

9. It just seems like they are ”straitjacketing” the festival.

10. Barbados could become very “quiet”.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/coscap-pay-up/

11. @Hants
    What is your unvarnished critique of this one.

12. low budget x rated softcore pornographic video.

13. David the comments on youtube are interesting. Seems the majority like it.

14. @Hants

This is the point, not the video but refusal by ALL to condemn it as nonsense. It provides an opportunity to gain terrific insight to what kind of society we will have in 5 to 10 years.

15. David the society you have now can’t get much worse.

From Nationnews.com

MEN HAVING SEX with girls under the age of 16 has been identified as the most common form of child sexual abuse cases in Barbados.

This was closely followed by family friends and neighbours who were the perpetrators of sexual abuse, United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) child protection specialist Heather Stewart said”

16. Hants, as I have said here on more the one occasions: I was born and bred just behind District A Police wall. And as a young lad, I saw many of my police friends engaging illicit relationship with under age school girls. So engaging in illegal sex with under age young girls in Barbados, is a common practice .

17. David, what’s wrong with the vedio? We have had worse in the 1980’s and well into the early 90’s. Using black women as sex objects in vedio, isn’t a new phenomenon. Shabba Ranks, sung about needle eye punny back in the ealier 80’s and it was hailed as a great vedio back in the day.

18. why are so-called” promoters” allowed to use overseas acts to push their shows when they knew in advance they could not pay the top guests artists this gone past outrageous! The NCF need TO INVESTIGATE THIS AS IT IS FALSE ADVERTISING

19. @Tiny

What are you referring to?

20. Those interest can follow the Pic o de crop semi finals streaming on VOB:

http://vob929.com/

21. Caribbean Soca Queen Alison Hinds is the latest addition to the commentary team for the Nation’s live stream of Friday night’s Pic-O-De-Crop Finals
    via Skype.

She is also performing in Toronto from 8.30 pm to 10 pm.

22. Another talented Bajan beauty.

23. The 2014 Pic o de Crop positions:

10.Classic

9.Mikey

8.Ronnie Clarke

7.Miguel

6 .Kidsite

5.blood

4.Biggie

3.Chrystal

2.Adrian Clarke

1.Ian Webster

24. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/ian-webster-is-calypso-king-again1/

Ian Webster is calypso king again

Ian Webster won back-to-back titles this morning at Kensington Oval in the MQI/LIME/Banks Pic-O-De-Crop calypso finals.

25. @Hants

Music was not made to be judge, it is a purely subjective affair. Do you remember the controversy when the great Gabby won with this selection?

http://youtu.be/rhj9HmwfzTI

26. Music was not made to be judge, it is a purely subjective affair.

There are criteria for judging but they are not followed.

Anyway there will always be controversy because it is partly subjective.

27. Ah Feeling ,Mega Monday and Imani’s Bacchanal Road are 3 good songs but I miss the old time instrumentation.

28. @Hants

A synthesizer cannot product good horns and this is what gives a kaiso life. It is about cost and flexibility nowadays.