Walter Blackman

Modern Barbados is a society which has evolved from a foundation of slavery. Since 1834, up to the present day, the institution of slavery on the island has been replaced by an overt but complex system of prejudice and discrimination based on colour and perceived class.

Putting the “red legs” aside, the perceived lowest class of citizen in Barbados is black in colour. This black colour-lowest class combination is viewed as the sociological pool from which our nation has historically produced its labourers, murderers, thieves, rogues, vagabonds, local prostitutes, and petty criminals, to mention a few categories. With the passage of time, this group has produced almost every type of citizen except the owners of large successful businesses or corporations with the capacity to survive through the ages.

At this end of our social continuum, there are some people who have worked hard to help raise their children and maintain their households and who have assisted significantly in the development of Barbados (e.g. housewives, small vendors, handymen) without ever being officially employed. We can therefore understand and appreciate the need for government to offer this group a helping hand whenever the need arises.

However, there are other persons in this perceived group of the lowest class who believe that all of their needs must be satisfied by government. This group welcomes the intrusion of government and politicians in their lives with open arms, and they rejoice whenever welfare benefits and handouts are increased, or whenever new avenues of receiving “free” taxpayers’ money are opened up. Most sickeningly, they become willing ecstatic pawns in a pervasive illegal game of vote-buying orchestrated, encouraged, and practiced by every politician in Barbados every five years.

At the opposite end of the social continuum, the perceived highest class of citizen in Barbados is someone white in colour, or anyone with wealth, whether hard-earned or ill-begotten. Given the damaging evidence of financial impropriety persistently highlighted by years of unheeded Auditor-General’s reports, we are forced to include some civil servants and politicians in this group. Apparently, our prisons were never designed nor constructed to house members of this group.

The upper class group in Barbados is viewed as the sociological pool from which our successful businessmen have sprung. Our traditional business owners, investors, big land owners, and rich professionals are all portrayed as the “captains of industry”, and the “movers and shakers” in our society who control the “commanding heights” of our economy.

Some members of the upper class group believe that every individual should be left to their own devices to tackle their problems as they see fit.  To their minds, those persons who fail to develop marketable skills, or those who make stupid decisions in life, deserve whatever misery befalls them and others should not be called upon to assist them in any way. Not surprisingly, they are strongly opposed to the idea of any governmental intrusion which forces them to pay taxes to provide benefits for those persons in the lower classes who refuse to manage their lives and reproductive ability in a sensible manner.

By the way, these upper class members, similar to some members of the lowest class, welcome a special type of “intrusion” of government and politicians in their lives. The accepted form of intrusion in their case, however, comes in the form of lucrative multi-million dollar government contracts, bribes, and kickbacks. All at the expense of Barbadian taxpayers.

Every working Barbadian is exposed to the risks associated with premature death, inadequate retirement income, birth, sickness, retrenchment, job-related injury, and disability. The specific risks associated with pregnancy and birth naturally take a higher physical and economic toll on our women who are forced to temporarily leave the workforce to deliver and nurse their children.

Given that these social risks are always confronting the workers of our nation, the question then becomes: What is the best mechanism that should be used, when operating in an environment riddled with parasitism, selfishness, greed, and polarized social attitudes, to manage these national risks?

This question was answered in 1966 when the NIS of Barbados was established by law and in 1967 when the Scheme became operative. The NIS protects Barbadian workers against these risks by operating three funds: The National Insurance Fund (handles old age, invalidity, survivors’ benefits; sickness & maternity benefits; employment injury and disability benefits; medical expenses and funeral grants), The Unemployment Fund (handles unemployment benefits), and the Severance Payment Fund (handles Severance payments).

The philosophy underpinning our NIS embraces the view that, because of different individual levels of economic security, our social risks cannot be effectively tackled by allowing each worker to confront these problems on his or her own. If we did, “the rich would live, and the poor would die”.

In essence, the message that the NIS sends to the wealthy upper class is that despite their riches, they must always see themselves as part of a scheme which views every worker as their brother’s keeper.

The message it sends to the poor and parasitic is that no free benefits are available. To receive a particular type of benefit under the Scheme, every worker must be covered for a minimum amount of time and must pay the minimum number of contributions related to that benefit. For example, in order to receive an old-age pension under the NIS, a worker must be covered for at least 500 weeks, and must have paid contributions for at least 150 weeks.

In order to provide “some level” of protection for all workers against these social risks, policymakers had to make coverage under the NIS mandatory. This means that all workers in Barbados must be registered with the NIS. Some people (most notably, the wealthy) object to the compulsory nature of the NIS program, but if some workers were allowed to opt out, only the poor, unhealthy and high-risk lives would remain in the scheme. That would make a voluntary NIS extremely difficult to implement and costly to maintain.

Additionally, universal coverage of workers under the NIS allows actuaries to use the Law of Large Numbers to predict the frequency and duration of benefit claims with some degree of certainty and to plan accordingly. Given the desire of the NIS to provide “some level” of protection for all workers, what should that level be?

The NIS of Barbados seeks to provide only a minimum floor of protection against the social risks outlined above. The scheme recognizes that each worker is ultimately responsible for his economic security and in cases where governmental intervention is needed, only a minimum benefit should be paid. Barbadians, theoretically, are expected to supplement any benefits they receive from the NIS with their own savings, investments, private insurance, and private pensions. In practice, though, most Barbadian workers have to battle against little or no wage increases, continuously rising consumer prices, burdensome taxation bordering on extortion, and the ever-present threat and incidence of layoffs. Consequently, few of them are able to save adequately to cope with current or future financial emergencies.

In the area of private life insurance, all policyholders are treated fairly. The cash values of their policies are determined mathematically by an actuary who understands the relationship between premiums paid and benefits accrued by policyholders at every age. The NIS, in contrast to private insurance, utilizes principles of social insurance. So instead of focusing on individual fairness, the scheme stresses social adequacy.

The social adequacy principle, as practiced by the NIS, results in a minimum level of benefit that favours certain groups such as lower-income workers, participants with large families, and those workers who were near retirement when the system started in 1967. The actuarial value of the NIS benefits received by these groups, and their dependents, surpasses the actuarial value of their contributions and this implies that the NIS redistributes income from higher income groups to lower income groups. Rich man Peter contributes to the enhanced social and economic protection of poor man Paul. If we were to rid the NIS of its social adequacy principle, these groups would be forced to receive a benefit based on the actuarial value of their contributions. For low-income workers, the benefit would be so low, that the goal of achieving a minimum level of protection for all participants under the scheme would remain, Bob Marley style, “a fleeting illusion, to be pursued, but never attained”. In 2009, the minimum old age normal retirement pension under the NIS was $148 per week. This amount changes each year based on a 3-year average price or wage increase.

For the most part, benefits under the NIS are loosely related to earnings. In 2009, the insurable earnings under the NIS ranged from a minimum of $91 per month to a maximum of $3,720 per month. Since the maximum NIS pension benefit is 60% of insurable earnings, the theoretical maximum NIS benefit that a worker can receive in Barbados is $2,232 per month.

This situation creates a serious point of contention for the enlightened high-income worker and has led to the emergence of calls worldwide for the privatization of NIS benefits.

To understand the nature of the problem, imagine a worker born in 1948, who worked for $3,720 per month from age 16 to age 66 and retired today. That worker could receive a theoretical maximum NIS pension of only $2,232 per month.

If we had taken 13% of combined employer(6.5%) and employee (6.5%) contributions for that worker and invested those payments at 5% interest for the past 50 years, then that worker would now be able to purchase a private annuity from an insurance company paying a retirement benefit of just under $9,000 per month. In short, using private investment accounts and private annuities, this worker would have earned a benefit four times higher that the NIS provided benefit.

66 responses to “Understanding the NIS of Barbados (1) – Social Characteristics and Basic Structure”

1. Walter Blackman wrote “Is our national goose truly cooked?”

No it is not.

Some of you will no longer afford Bimmers and Benzes and you may be reduced to $99 dinners instead of Champers best but most Bajans will be pre occupied with survival until the Capitalist has a real economic boom in about 5 years.

Bajans have been living in a bubble called Tourism and Low Tax haven.
    Well it get stick with a pin and leaking.

2. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Sunshine Sunny Shine | May 26, 2014 at 7:44 AM |
    “Boy you write too sweet.”

SSS,
    Thanks for the compliment. Truth be told, there are two persons alive today in Barbados who deserve any credit there is for my writing: Mrs. Pamela Hinkson (the mother of Edmund Hinkson, MP) who taught me English in my formative years at Combermere, and Mr.Tony Cozier whose cricket reports and commentaries added immense value to my vocabulary and sentence construction as a young boy growing up. I would like to this opportunity to thank both of them for the contribution which they made to my development.

“The SSS is in love with you…”
    I suspect that you do not give your love in a free spirited and wanton manner, so I will treasure it for the rest of my current life. Once I am reincarnated, all bets are off. LOL.

3. David | May 25, 2014 at 7:30 PM |

Given the importance of the fund to financial security of Barbados we need to exact more effeciency from government in the way financials are produced.

I was horrified when the Thompson government decided to take taxpayer’s hard-earned NIS money and throw it away in the 4 Seasons scam, with no regard whatsoever about how it would have/has ended.

Let the private sector find their own funding, there are tons of investors around the world, no need to keep dipping into taxpayers funds because some private sector business persons decide they had/have a light bulb moment that can get them and no one else millions of dollars, look at the 4 seasons mess now, where is the taxpayer’s money.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Walter Blackman
    I give credit to those who fully understand and politically comprehend the basis of proper research when presenting and correlating facts. You present an unbias view of the events unfolding in Barbados. Your views represent the views of stalled progress for one bias or crooked reason or the other. There are many on this blog who are benefactors of either political party, whose agendas are clear as darkness is to them the light. Their interest is not the interest of state progression but personal possessions.

To you and my boy Tea Bush, your views presents the reality of the surreptitious picture painted by those who reel power and whose established links hold the cloak over the eyes of many that are employed under their rule. In an island as small as Barbados where the divide is obvious how can progression and prosperity be merited where unity is split in the middle and the gains spread across a mix but small spectrum of the corrupt and the legitimately inherited.

Division is ‘the wait’ before the fall and in its coming chaos an uprising is just a corner away. You obviously understand this, Tea Bush obviously understand this but the party loyalist are too busy fighting each other to see this. So Barbados is left to sink under the weight of the great divide because state takes the back seat over political loyalties. Both the current government and the opposition are too into themselves to see what needs to be done.

YOU ARE THIS LITTLE GIRLS NEW FOUND FRIEND….MUAAAAH FOR AND TEA BUSH

5. Walter Blackman

When are you going to return to Barbados and put your immense talent in the political arena?
    We need some new blood in our politics. We need a new party. You could imagine the BLP winning which they will because the government will not be able to recover after carrying out this restructuring program. Where will the country be with the return of Glyne Clark, George Payne, Noel Lynch, Cythia Forde, Ronald Toppin and Jerome Walcott.
    By the way why were taxpayers paying full cost for UWI graduates when Codrington High school advertised for a work permit for a Science Teacher

6. @ Walter
    You will find that the only real difference between yourself and the Bushman is that you are yet young …and still relatively immune from the cynicism that comes with age and experience.

..like Caswell, you have a solid background based on the sound theme of John Bunyan’s “To Be a Pilgrim”., ..and Mrs. Hinkson’s hard work seems to have paid some dividends…
    …one difference between you and Caswell would be the ‘goat milk factor’ and its implications wrt your response to SSS’s professed love…..

Bushie seems to recall that, like Caswell, you were somewhat of a rebel in your youth…(.a good sign), and Bushie would join with Clone in asking that you consider coming back home to show Caswell how to organize the BUP and to at least bring us a glint of hope…..

@ Hants
    Not only is our national goose cooked, it has already been half eaten by a whole set of foreigners including Canadians, Trickidadians, English etc…..shiite man….even that Jamaica gal take a bite through the Caribbean Court….

…half of the remaining half is being divided among the local political vultures, while 80% of the remaining quarter belongs to COW and Simpson……

Goose shiite…only backs, necks and gizzards left back now…. 🙂

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Tea Bush

I agree with you. This Walter guy and Caswell would be a force to reckon with. My problem however is that I am not sure if Caswell would be an upfront politician. I like the man bad base on his views and the fact he swears no allegiance to no political party, person or professed creed/breed or dastardly deed. However, there is a weasel like balefulness about Caswell that could shape his character towards the ruthless. In that regard I am not sure if he has what it takes to rise above the corruptive spirit that prevails at this level of governmental operations. Not saying Caswell that you are corrupt just saying I do not know if you have the wherewithal to be in it all and rise above it all. Sometimes you come over as ‘stewing’ your own agenda and that you are far above reproof. Be that as it may, I think the formation of a third political party by you and Mr. Blackman, throwing in a bit of Tea Bush in there, would be good prospects.

What say you AC boo boo. You seem these days to be ignoring me and I fail not to make mention of my BOO in my comments (but no more insults or cussing).:P

8. What is critical and alluded to by others is a robust statistical and information gathering exercise on our social care structure. BU is not satisfied that some very important planning decisions are not being made from the seat of the pants of politicians.

9. hell no. don’t want no part of any political party formed by bush tea,,,,,,,the man is a dictator,,,,,first of all the man seems to know it all,,too much to deal with ..his word would be first and last,,,as for voting rights and free speech..those two would be first on the agenda to have their head cut off,,,, bush tea political party ….talking about bitter too bitter fuh me,,,don;t want nuh part of it,,,,,,,rather live in cuba first,,,,,this guy have no answer but great at pontification…… as for the nis….no system is safe proof but the voters have a guaranteed right to change ,,,,,,with these fly by night private investors ..the board of directors reshuffles the deck always making sure that their interest comes first. the little guy who invest there few pennies have no talk in decision can’t even vote out the crooks no bosey clico and all them wall streets macguffie investment firms …..no bosey too risky,,,,and no recourse,

10. Bushie:

You claiming to be a cawmerian? I thought you wid Hants and that college crowd!!

11. @ SSS
    You are a smart woman.
    Caswell is a man to be feared indeed.

1 – If you are as attractive as you sound to be…..watch Caswell…..
    2 – if you are doing anything underhand AT ALL…..watch Caswell

If you want a fellow who knows EVERY POSSIBLE RULE AND REGULATION……and is obsessed with having them followed….you want Caswell…

Bushie know the fellow for decades now….he will ALWAYS be poor… so we can afford to trust him with the NIS funds ( LOL) the most Caswell will want is a little trip to a conference from time to time – to learn some new rules and regulations…

Caswell is a freak….but he is a special gift to Barbados – if only we (and he) were not such brass bowls, we would recognize that…

BTW a few more such gifts are:
    Mac Fingall
    Elombe
    Lowdown Hoad
    …..note that all are shiite talkers, but valuable assets…..so there may be hope for Bushie yet….

@ ac
    WHEN (not if) Bushie take up his destined appointment, you will have nothing to fear…..even though you are right about a couple of points about Bushie….. 🙂
    ….nothing to fear- cause you will be appointed ambassador to Arizona… So you can rejoin your better half and represent us in relation to the diamondbacks out there….. Ha ha lol

12. Due Diligence Avatar

Bush Tea | May 26, 2014 at 1:40 PM |
    “.even that Jamaica gal take a bite through the Caribbean Court….+

The bite that Jamaica gal take is small compared to the bite that Jamaica guy, Butch take

And, you can be sure that Arab Visitor with his yacht parked at the Port is looking for a very big bite

ARAB VISITOR
    Added by Barbados Today on May 24, 2014
    For the past several weeks, the Topaz has been docked in the Bridgetown Port. Why? It’s anybody’s guess. From what Barbados TODAY has been told, its owner, the deputy prime minister of the United Arab Emirates is not here on official business, so maybe it’s a pleasure trip –– even though there’s been no sighting of Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, known as Sheikh Mansour, a member of the ruling family of Abu Dhabi

13. @ Lemuel
    …wid Hants, GP and that crowd…?

You joking…?
    Bushie ain’t no bright boy….Bushie ain’t get no high marks in the 11+ (….well….not as bad as Peter W…. 🙂 ).but nothing like Hants and GP bozie….but…
    Bushie got NUFF family from Cawmere….. 🙂

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Bush Tea
    I will take your word for it that you have knowledge of who Caswell is. However Tea Bush, remember that familiarity breeds contempt and tends to blind us to what we see and know to be obvious.
    So there are potentially good candidates out there. So the next question is: how do we convince them? Also you think they would be able to avoid the highly contaminated environment of the free flow of money?

Maybe we should ask one of the honest, upright, upfront, transparent politicians. And that would be ahh ahh hmmm…..?

15. People will always be lured by greed, the job is to create a system which tightly manages the risk by holding officers accountable, adequate compensation etc.

16. Unless many kinds of flagrant misconceptions and their serious conflicting with the actual social political practices of the essences over which there are held are seriously dealt with by progressive intellectual political leaders in this country – and to with a view towards the coming into existence of sound valid conceptions and with their being in harmony with the actual social political practices related to their essences, Barbados will continue its head-first, body-long, down-ward diving plunge towards greater degradation and decline in its broad social, political, material and financial affairs.

So here is one of the flagrant misconceptions and the great conflict that it has with the actuality of the social political practices seen: that Money (essence) is a Medium of Exchange.

There are six arguments that the PDC has so far evolved to illustrate that Money is NO Medium of Exchange whatsoever. Here is one of them.

1) Whereas any Medium of Exchange must NOT be personal property and must instead be public property (meaning then that it must not belong to its own individuality, but instead belong to a wider community/nation of people themselves) the fact is that M is purely a commodity that is used by hordes of people in Barbados daily to help them secure or pass on the use of remuneration costs/benefits, savings to one another, shows that these and other human related factors are having significant bearing on why Money has been long made by particular social conduct of most human beings to be the ONLY commodity that has been given by its relevant users its own remunerations benefits/costs of use, whilst at the same time serving as a means of remuneration itself. (Money though is NOT used by persons generally because it is a form of public property – which it is – but generally because it is a means of giving/receiving and too measuring numerically remunerations (and their different derivations)).

So, though, it is another substitute for REMUNERATION in houses, cars, shoes, food, etc., and houses, cars, shoes, food, etc are other substitutes for remunerations in money, ( a Remuneration is anything that has general currency and legitimacy of commercial use according to the different purposes assigned by the users of it), Money has NOTHING to do with exchange for the said houses, cars, shoes, food, etc., as that, the exchanges themselves are only a type of limited human social conduct whereby, say, one person passes a golden apple to another, and at the same time or later under the same contract receives an orange from the said other (clearly the exchanges are NOT the apple/orange)( there are even multifarious countless resources, goods, (services totally) that cannot be humanly exchanged), but has every thing to do with the few but various purposes assigned to it by the different users of it.

By many people in Barbados and beyond continuing to falsely ideologically and psychologically invert money to a medium of exchange – as against what it really is and what are its two principal functions – they really fool themselves that money is just one (principal) form of remuneration rather than correctly ideologically and psychologically converting every commercial resource and good into a potential or actual remuneration that can be used to assist in the greatest development possible of this country.