The following Press Release issued by the Barbados Labour Party

Dr. DeLisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank

The Barbados Labour Party is outraged by this act of rash and dictatorial behavior on the part of the Governor of the Central Bank. Any restructuring of the Central Bank must start with this Governor.

However, we recognize that for any meaningful action to take place in Barbados it MUST involve the collective voices and energy of those other special interest groups and individuals to whom society also looks for guidance and whom we know can apply the necessary pressure.

The Barbados Labour Party remains ready to provide leadership on this and other matters. But as we have been saying for the last nine months, we wait to see from where else will the voices of outrage emerge. We want to hear what the private sector and the Chamber of Commerce, the trade union movement, the academics, the Church and the rest of civil society have to say on this latest matter, for this is not an isolated event.

It is the latest indication of a Governorship that has gone wrong. This type of reckless behavior will inevitably negatively affect their fortune and the prospects for early economic turn around. The Government is not capable of doing on its own and, as we now see, it is getting bad and confusing advice from its principal economic advisers.

In this week Mr. Worrell added more confusion and uncertainty to Barbados’ economic policy when an atmosphere of confidence must be built. At a time when the exact opposite is required he spoke on fiscal policy, with the proposed recommendation to remove the VAT. Fiscal policy is not his job. That is for the Minister of Finance. The conduct of monetary policy is the Governor’s job.

His press conference this week was also littered with statements of and references to the pronoun “we”, as if he is part of the Government Executive. He is not a Minister of Government nor is he their Public Relations Adviser. He is the Governor of the Central Bank.

Mr. Worrell would do well to remember this when he seeks to give Barbadians foolish and embarrassing excuses for why the Government went for the $450 million Credit Suisse loan at the end of last year. For without that loan, our foreign reserves would now stand at a staggering $650 Million from the high of $1.47 billion one year ago.

Finally, a Governor of the Central Bank performs a public role and has neither the right nor power to ban any journalist or news house. Mr. Worrell is clearly overwhelmed by the magnitude of the assignment at hand and is not displaying either the cool head or the steady hand that his job now requires.

Elsewhere he would either have stepped aside or been set aside.

45 responses to “Barbados Labour Party Outraged at Dictatorial Behaviour Shown by Governor Delisle Worrell”

1. wunna got so many skeletons in wunna closet what nerve to be calling out the govenor for unearthing ‘TRUTH”… the truth is that the BLP cannot find a plan of action that has work for them or against the DLP……from rubbing soldiers to the call for sinckler and the PM head,all have failed led by the leader MIA,,,,even OSA had to distant himself from the over exaggerated and tiresome efforts of the calls to renounce and denounce by mia,,,,now this is just another one of a last ditch effort to recover ,..my guess is that like all other “calls to”” and calls for” resonating from the mouths of the BLP this too will fall flat on its face leaving the crumbs for the BLP yardfowls to fight over…..time for the BLP to get serious and stop trying to use smoke to start raging fires where there was none to begin with……….

singed

sick and tired of BLP

2. @ ac
    We the people are sick of you
    But you still writing crap

3. They want to hear from the Church. You what?

4. Wonder what the BLP would have done…?
    Call Sanka at 3.30 a.m. and cuss he tail…?
    …or bite up Mrs Gittens…?

5. Fractured BLP Avatar

The sheer brillance and intellectual power that Dr Worrell continue to display in carrying out his duties as Governor of the Central Bank is causing acute angina for most members in the BLP

Too bad their discomfort will continue for sometime to come

6. boy the poison pen carries deadly doses of venom…….words like dictator,,,,being leveled at a mild manner and respectable gov,,one who has been pushed to the brink after constant calls from him and others in govt for the nation to check and verify their stories,,,,, now it is apparent that this latest incident is the straw that broke the camels back”” and so it did,,,,,,where are the calls for the freedom to speak openly about what is not right,,,..where are the calls for free speech ,,not only to be free but for integrity and ethics to be included,,,,,where are the calls for the fourth estate to be accountable for its wrong,,,,,the gov ,,, has been challenged ,now his fight for truth is being openly attacked and put to the test .,.a test that might have muzzled him from seeking and fighting for truth in a political charged enviroment,,,

7. ac,

I just want to ask you three simple questions that you can understand.

Is it your belief that the BLP should not or must not have a say in this country?

Is it your belief that every BLP supporter should shut up and let the DLP do whatever the hell they want to do to this fair land of ours even sinking it economically?

Is it your belief that Barbados belongs to the DLP, so not a BLP supporter nor those the people of this country elected should open their mouths to say anything about the disaster called the DLP?

8. Newspaper spat puts ‘serious dent in credibility’ of Central Bank of Barbados

A spokesperson for the bank declined to comment on claims The Nation has been banned from attending press conferences; newspaper is considering legal action

Author: Arvid Ahlund

Source: Central Banking | 13 May 2014

Categories: Governance

Topics: Central Bank of Barbados, DeLisle Worrell, Barbados,Transparency

central-bank-barbados

A Barbados newspaper is considering legal action after the country’s central bank has purportedly banned it from attending the press conferences of its governor, citing a "lack of professional integrity".

Bridgetown-based The Nation said on Sunday that it had received a letter from DeLisle Worrell, head of the Central Bank of Barbados, on Friday, notifying the newspaper that it would "not be invited to any future press conference or media event hosted by myself as governor of the central bank".

The alleged ban was prompted by the paper’s claims the previous day that the CBB was looking to lay off 60 of its roughly 250 employees, associate managing editor Tim Slinger confirmed toCentralBanking.com today. According to the paper, the claim was retracted the following day.

The central bank commented on the alleged ban yesterday, stating in a press release that it "assures media practitioners in Barbados as well as the public at large that it will continue to keep all media houses fully abreast of all developments on economic and other pertinent matters that fall under its purview, including the Nation Publishing Company, as is normal".

"The Nation Publishing Company will receive all press releases and other communications issued by the central bank," the CBB added, but made no mention of press conferences. A spokesperson for the bank declined to elaborate on the statement or whether a ban had been issued against the newspaper.

Slinger described the press release’s language as "technical", noting that it "doesn’t say we’re able to attend any press conferences". He interpreted it as the ban was still in force. "We’re having some legal advice on the entire matter. Our lawyers are looking into it," Slinger added.

Ryan Straughn, a risk management consultant and a CBB economist from 2002 to 2005, agreed that the "wording of the [press] release is quite curious and is open to much speculation".

Straughn, who added he had been in contact with the central bank, said he had been informed that "no follow up correspondence has been sent to the Nation to formally reverse the intended actions" of Worrell’s letter on Friday.

He described the fallout as "widespread" with "lots of discussion on the radio regarding the matter", adding: "A serious dent in the credibility of the institution has occurred and will take some time and significant work to repair".

http://www.centralbanking.com/central-banking/news/2344581/newspaper-spat-puts-serious-dent-in-credibility-of-central-bank-of-barbados

9. david if i were you i would stop quoting anything you read in the nation….. as witnessed for the past two days they have shown they have a propensity to be openly biased and ignorant of facts that are critical to a country survival without giving thought to consequences by feeding and releasing junk content as news to a public,,, as an administration of the BU you have a crucial job in providing information that is factual and not trying to be a copy cat of media houses that practiced unethical and repugnant journalistic standards,,,

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Barbados Labour Party@ This is the Agent of Violet Beckles and Beatrice Henry , The rightful owners of most of Barbados ,
    The Citizen of BARBADOS , know about the fraud Owen and Mia did to this country with the land deeds , and how business can not move forward ,and World Bank ,and other Banks know that you and your crook liar and scumbags Ministers lawyer have done to this country.

We at PLANTATION DEEDS WITH THE SUPPORT of lawful Bajans, will drive you crook out of the people House,
    Because Dr. DeLisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank did not agree with your Madoff and Stanford PONZI plan, you held him back and you all control the free press, of the Nations and Advocate PAPERS.

Now that Audit General outed you SKUNTS
    NOW the Dr. DeLisle Worrell, late but on time after covering for the DLP during the last bought voter fraud elections. maybe he knew if the BLP won you.. OWEN AND MIA would have removed him.
    Now the next step for MOF and AG and PM to tell the truth of the estate of Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles,
    Let Barbados and the world know what MIA and Owen did while in office with CJ Simmons with VAT and the UDC, Marva Clarke and Crane Scott during her time,
    next for the Archive Audit with Williams , Audit of Town and Country with Mark Cummins, and Inland Rev,
    Then we can get People back to work and no need for the IMF , masters to make Slave of the people,
    We are the only one that can CLEAN UP THE LAND DEEDS , , and back all loan from the banks with clear titles .
    The BLP and the DLP must never be in power in Barbados again,
    The 10 Heros of Barbados need to be 12 , Beatrice and Violet,
    The Books of Barbados have to reflect the 2 Queens land and business owner ship , as in Hotels the government took over like the SAVANNAH Hotel , GEMS of Barbados and other ,
    We know the truth, lets hope the rest of Barbados know what time it is.
    MIA need to be charged with the deaths and fraud up on Brittons Hills Plantation land CAVE IN , WE know what you did in the dark MIA .and now the rest of the world , Yes we hold the Plantation Deeds , no lot , no spot , running land,

11. What is the difference between banning and bullying?

12. The Guvnor is clown, take a look at the man……….you would trust him with your money?

13. It’s so simple, this is the definition of Uriah Heep

Uriah Heep is a fictional character created by Charles Dickens in his novel David Copperfield.

The character is notable for his cloying humility, obsequiousness, and insincerity, making frequent references to his own “‘humbleness”. His name has become synonymous with being a yes man.[1] He is the central antagonist of the later part of the book.

His can be replaced with Her…

Ring any bells ac…

There are laws in place that gives media the right to report on what they believe to be true, if Worrell believes he can BAN anyone for reporting what they believe to be true, he is being dictatorial = dictator, how he managed to violate 2 of Barbados’ constitutional laws and the Uriah Heeps can say he is not being a dictator is sick…….

Funny thing is……no one is disputing that they are going to LAYOFF central bank employees whether it’s 6 or 60 is moot…….

14. @Well Well

Publishing a number which is know to be inaccurate is wrong and you must consider the well being of the employees. Banning Nation reporters from attending press conferences is another matter.

15. David….it would not have hurt the GOCB to ask the nation for a retraction, presuming the number was/is inaccurate, something that has not been said yet, while letting the taxpayers know the accurate number of people to be severed, which they will know eventually anyway, unless the plan to do so in the dark, which is impossible………was the threat of banning the nation newspaper not linked to the report, it seems like everything is done ass-backwards on the ground in Barbados? So, why did Worrell threaten to ban them and does he not consult with the bank’s attorneys before opening his mouth……it smacks of incompetence, lack of professionalism, stupidity, just to name a few.

16. Nationnews “Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler has firmly rejected abolition of the value added tax (VAT) and its replacement with a sales tax as mooted by Governor of the Central Bank Dr DeLisle Worrell.”

Nationnews “He (Owen Arthur ) said too that Barbados was used as a success model when The Bahamas was considering the implementation of VAT two years ago.

Yuh just can’t get Owen to stop “leading”.

17. The GOCB is either trying to get himself relieved of duty, or is cracking up. First he gets on his high horse and bans the Nation newpaper from Press Conferences, then climbs higher onto an elephant, and criticizes a sitting- and a former Minister of Finance who agree on nothing else, but the benefits of VAT. Can’t wait for what will come next if they haven’t told him to shut up already.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Again I rise in defense of the underdog to say “let not the pot call the kettle black”

The same ingrunt dictatorial stance to ban the Nation newspaper that Delisle employed on a whim and fancy was something that Owen Seymour Arthur employed when he fired Marva Alleyne from the Bureau of Gender Affairs years ago. (and then had to pay her out handsomely when she sued)

When you are a foolish politician this is why you need to hire savvy political strategist, men like Tom Adams and Dipper Barrow had no need of these intermediaries, these were well read men, Tsun Tzu strategists, who knew the Art of War and politricks and how to disable the enemy without firing a shot..not these little boys pulling out their firearms in the yard of Parliament jes to show off that they both got a Glock…

Sometimes i wish that, like the gun that policemen had down by Miss Weir when he chuck in the barrel to frighten Weir’s nextdoor neighbours, the gun them threatening each other with just goes off and kills one of them.

That way all of us ingrunt Bajans would see the cvunts that we are voting for to run our affairs…

19. I am wondering if anybody on this blog remember when TOM ADAMS baned ALBERT BRANDFORD A JOURNALISTS from the House of Assembly . the nation continued its mischief yesterday by saying tax payers will not be getting back they tax refunds . government was going to parliament to pass that legislation yesterday.

20. After I read the actual quotes from the so called Minister of Finance, you cannot blame the Nation for quoting from the order paper.

The resolution says ……….”Be it resolved that Parliament approve the 4.0 billion dollars as the amount to raised by the issue of treasury bills and tax reserve certificates and tax refund certificates in accordance with the act.

Whoever put out the order paper is to be blamed not the Nation. If the bill came from the Minister of Finance, the Stinkliar is to be blamed. Donville Inniss, the attack dog came out and attacked the Nation saying that they continue to mislead.

Donville, what say you how how you and your party not only mislead the country, you darn well LIED to win the last election. The constitution needs to be amended to include a recall law for instances like what the DLP did to Barbadians in 2013.

21. Will someone in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, namely the chief Protocol Officer who actually knows about diplomacy, please tell the Minister of Finance who every day confirms that he should never be in the position he holds…………that you do not throw around Royalty names just so.

Even if a member of the Royal family was helping him with investors…………which I dont believe him………….he lies for lying sake (remember the ZR lie, ZR drivers were taking schoolgirls out of the country for prostitution)……he should not say it.

Don’t these people who are elected receive some kind of training in diplomacy before or after they are sworn in? Gosh man!

22. Prodigal
    I recall a doctor,a performance specialist having a hand in shaping the expertise of EWB’s cabinet of the 80’s.What you are saying makes sense.Besides,this poor rakey bunch need to have their public speaking skills sharpened.

23. zena phillips Avatar

@AC
    Its is so sad, to know that this country is sinking under this DLP group and people like you are giving DEM stimulus. Something would eventually give, and when the SHIT gets up and hits you in your face, it would be too late.

24. Ban, ban, Taliban, ban, ban, Taliban, ban, ban, Taliban

25. Is the relationship between the Central Bank governor and the Nation a relationship of equals?

Or is it a master slave kinda thing?

26. I think that Delisle has forgotten when he was a sandal wearing, dashiki sporting young economist back in the early 70’s

Some people woulda like to ban de den.

Some people thought that he looked mustee, and that his clothes did not suit a professional job.

Some people back den would-da like ta mek he wear a “propa” suit.

But he didn’t get ban. He continued to do a good job.

And looka Delisle mek it to governor the sandals and dashikis notwithstanding.

But you know I think that Barbados was a more liberal place back then.

I know.

I was there.

27. @pieceuhderockyeahright May 14, 2014 at 6:55 PM “The same ingrunt dictatorial stance to ban the Nation newspaper that Delisle employed on a whim and fancy was something that Owen Seymour Arthur employed when he fired Marva Alleyne from the Bureau of Gender Affairs years ago. (and then had to pay her out handsomely when she sued)”

The thing is Owen didn’t have to pay anybody a cent. If any payments were made, those payments came out of the pockets of we the beleaguered taxpayers.

If only politicians had to pay out of their own pockets when they misspoke or when they misfire.

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Did the Earth just move?

29. Prodigal:

The resolution says ……….”Be it resolved that Parliament approve the 4.0 billion dollars as the amount to raised by the issue of treasury bills and tax reserve certificates and tax refund certificates in accordance with the act.

That is what had me confused, because i could swear that is what i read, so…….i wanted to know exactly what Dumbville was going on and on about……as i said…….it’s all ass-backwards on the ground in parliament in Barbados.

30. Prodigal said:
    “that you do not throw around Royalty names just so.

Even if a member of the Royal family was helping him with investors………”

Even If, and i also doubt it royally, what is the catch? who will he sell out for that favor, what is in it for him? why would that buckingham palace crowd even do anything like that, the modus of these parasite has for centuries been of the parasitic nature, they do nothing if there is nothing in it for them…..again, who is going to be sold out?, again.

31. If truth be told about this governor, one will then understand why the bank is making such losses.

This man lives at his house in St Joseph, comes up to Newlands most mornings to have “official” catered breakfast, has catered lunches, spends $100,000 monthly as entertainment and because the driver has to work such long hours, the driver is taking home a massive 6 figure salary as much as a bank CEO. You think this governor easy?

I am wondering if there is going to be a parting of ways with him and the Stinkliar seeing Stinkliar smacked him down on the VAT telling him he does not set policy. Wow, Stinkliar playing he is powerful! Take care the governor dont expose the liar.

32. @Prodigal Son

The Central Bank is bound to lose money because of low interest rates offered on its US investments.

33. Worrell is a goner. Darcy lick he out.

34. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

This country live so long on lies and fraud, when people talk the truth to fix and get things done some will go against them, Those who dont know the roots of things seem to turn on them.. This must be the Emmanuel complex .face the lies learn the truth,

35. Interesting the volatility being seen in global financial markets.

36. Without doubt borrowing from banks in Caribbean going to be difficult. This CIBC article which I copy and paste below shows the region and Barbados under stress

CIBC to take C$420 million second quarter writedown on Caribbean unit
    15 May 2014 – Reuters

CIBC to take C$420 million second quarter writedown on Caribbean unit
    TORONTO (Reuters) – Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce CM.TO said on Thursday it will take a non-cash goodwill impairment charge of C$420 million ($386.10 million) on its Caribbean unit due to challenging economic conditions in the region.

The bank, Canada’s fifth-largest, said the charge will be included in its results for the fiscal second quarter ended April 30, which it will report on May 29.

CIBC also said it will record C$123 million in incremental loan losses for the unit, CIBC FirstCaribbean, “reflecting revised expectations on the extent and timing of the anticipated economic recovery in the Caribbean region.”

Before the writedown was announced, analysts had expected the bank to post net income of C$818 million for the quarter, according to Thomson Reuters I/B/E/S.

CIBC’s shares ended the session up 10 Canadian cents at C$97.29. The results were released after markets closed.

37. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | May 16, 2014 at 5:59 AM |

Interesting the volatility being seen in global financial markets.@

Has nothing to do with Barbados, Don not side step these crooks and give them and excuse to blame the World for what the DBLP did and doing to this country, The problem is home grown GREED.

ICELAND PROBLEMS WAS THE BANKS AND FRAUD,
    BARBADOS PROBLEM IS THE PM, AG, DPP, MOF,EXCJ, LAND TAX AND UDC AND NHC, SIR COW AND SIR HAM TO NAME A FEW.
    CROOKS LIARS AND SCUMBAGS LAWLESS , TAKEN OATHS OF OFFICE TO ENGAGE IN FRAUD .

38. Well said David. May all the nay sayers open their eyes.

39. @Prodigal Son | May 15, 2014 at 4:36 PM “This man lives at his house in St Joseph, comes up to Newlands most mornings to have “official” catered breakfast, has catered lunches, spends $100,000 monthly as entertainment and because the driver has to work such long hours, the driver is taking home a massive 6 figure salary as much as a bank CEO”

Tell me it ain’t so.

Because I know that it is possible to make a good healthy, nutritious breakfast for less than $2 BDS and I ain’t no economist, although I know how to economise LOL!!!

I’d suggest 2 corn bakes and a good cuppa coffee (Monday)

2 cassava bakes, and a nice cuppa tea and a banana (Tuesday)

A one egg omlette, with 3 leaves of spinach and 2 slices of whole wheat bread (Wednesday)

A bowl of hot multigrain cereal and one orange (Thursday)

A little cassava and brocolli lightly boiled together and slathered with a teaspoon of good butter, and a glass of refrigerated tap water (Friday)

No breakfast today. Give the stomach a rest day (Saturday)

2 scrambled eggs, 2 slices of whole wheat toast, and a tomato, and a glass of water (Sunday)

I don’t believe that I have spent $20 yet, and this is enough to feed any office worker man.

A man doing manual labour work would get about 25% more.

We are all eating too much nowadays.

The fancy catered meals killing we.

40. @Prodical Son “spends $100,000 monthly as entertainment”

I don’t believe this.

No official funded by the beleaguered Barbados tax payer would dare to spend $100,000 monthly on entertainment.

Entertaining who? And for what?

If this is true every government official should be required to publish on the department’s Facebook page all receipts for all money spent on entertainment by the 7th day of the month after the money was spent.

We want to know where we tax money gone, that’s all.

41. LOLL Simple Simon this is a case of crooks borrowing from crooks ROTFLMAO

42. David | May 16, 2014 at 5:59 AM |
    Interesting the volatility being seen in global financial markets.

None of that affects Barbados / Utopia.

43. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

islandgal246 | May 19, 2014 at 7:16 PM |

LOLL Simple Simon this is a case of crooks borrowing from crooks ROTFLMAO@

Home loans and land loans to crooks, liars and Scumbag ,
    Banks never loose they may make less from over pricing to start.
    Buying and selling and bypassing the rules of Land and Clear titles
    IDB , saw the fraud on the wall and pulled out,
    MoF had to defend himself of the BLP who jump on him for letting $60,000,000 going back for the none deed holder of down town, 2000 person had no title , no Clear title to the land, Yet the UDC and NHC did their own internal PONZI with the Estate of Violet Beckles.
    Study the FACTS for get the PARTIES LONG TALK,.AND THE FOOLS THAT RUN BEHIND THEM GETTING GASSED,

44. […] May this year Governor Delisle Worrell issued a directive to ban the Nation newspaper from participating in press conferences hosted by the […]