Submitted by Danny Gill
Danny Gill - NUPW member
Danny Gill – NUPW member

With regard to the recently retrenched workers at the NCC, a meeting for National Council of the NUPW was called. The General Secretary, Dennis Clarke, spoke to issues emanating from that retrenchment. These included, as he indicated: a breach of a Cabinet Policy of “last in first out”; breaches of the Employment Rights Act; an unwillingness by the NCC to sit and discuss the situation; beach of the CTUSAB Protocols; breach of an ILO Convention 158; and the appearance that the retrenchment process was biased in the favour of employees who could be viewed as constituents of the Minister with responsibility for the NCC.

What peeked my attention during the meeting was when I was asked by a fellow Councillor if I had received a call alerting me of the meeting. I replied in the negative. When the General Secretary began his list of grievances with the lamentations about people who could continue to attack him on the front page of the Nation Newspaper or on the blog, I realized why I possibly did not receive any calls from the NUPW on my cell or landline to alert me of the meeting.

From what I heard coming from the General Secretary, I had some concern that if the NUPW was not careful, the rights of those retrenched workers at the NCC would not be protected. Having sat down with the Labour Office, the General Secretary’s next move in the process must be a complaint to the Chief Labour Officer requesting that the Tribunal be set up to resolve the impasse between the NUPW and the NCC. The General Secretary seems to be of the belief that a meeting chaired by the Minister of Labour would have some impact on the impasse, but the Minister of Labour is not the administrator of the ACT; that power resides in the Office of the Chief Labour Officer. The only part of the Act that makes any reference to the Minister is in respect to making regulations.

Furthermore, when the NUPW makes the complaint to begin the process to convene the Tribunal, the Union has to make a case as to why its members have been unfairly dismissed. This is where the General Secretary’s arguments get very, very weak. His main defense, by what he said, lies in the fact the Cabinet of Barbados has posited the policy of “last in first out”, but what the NUPW has to clearly demonstrate is that this policy applies to Statutory Boards. For the purposes of the Employment Rights Act, Statutory Boards are treated in the same way as the private sector. Furthermore, the Act absolves ministries from its domain.

The NUPW has also to clearly demonstrate its political bias thesis, for many of the employees who went home were from St. Lucy, the constituency of the Minister’s fellow Cabinet Minister. Emotional outbursts by Wayne Walrond shall not be enough. Furthermore, the Act provides that before workers are dismissed that consultations must be conducted with the workers or their representatives at least six weeks before any one is dismissed. If that process did not occur, that may be the only ground for the NUPW to prevail in a case of unfair dismissal.

The General Secretary seems settled on the point that the retrenched workers were not given the proper paper work at the time of their retrenchment. However, if that is the basis of the Union’s complaint, those NCC worker shall remain retrenched, for the Act provides for the Tribunal only to order that proper documentation be provided, but in that case, no decision to reinstate would be possible. Obviously what the Union wants is a decision to rehire, but that can only come when the Union makes an appropriate complaint which would logically lead to such a decision. Given the current course, the General Secretary is taking, and if the process is not handled correctly, there is a possibility that even with a strong case, the NCC workers can remain retrenched.

As I sat there, it was clear that apart from the emotional hysteria and collective bargaining wishing and hoping that the General Secretary had not, or could not, make a solid case for strike action to be taken against the NCC or in the wider public service.

214 responses to “Dennis Clarke, Please Provide the NUPW Membership with a Proper Reason to Strike!”

1. @Danny

Clarke hinted that he will mobilze his forces because the otherside is making sport. VoB got the strike talk from delegates who attended the meeting, they are waiting for BWU to meet on the issue.

2. David:

Unless a secret meeting was held; Clarke did not ask for permission to call the membership on strike at the last Council meeting.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The people on BU are discussing this thread without the benefit of some very pertinent information.

Firstly, public servants were being sent home from as far back as June 2013. All along Dennis Clarke was very sympathetic towards the Government’s position suggesting that Government had no choice. They promised the NUPW that there would have been no lay-offs if the union accepted a wage freeze. Despite that promise, Government started to lay off and the union kept quiet.

When the Drainage Division workers were unceremoniously dismissed on December 31, 2013, he did not protest. He was even more ridiculous when he told the workers that he saw no need to march and that he would go home first before marching.

You must therefore be wondering what caused this sudden spurt of militancy especially since his positions aren’t making sense. Well the answer might shock you: all along he was not out there speaking up for retrenched workers, but something changed that stirred Dennis into action; HIS DAUGHTER WAS LAID OFF JUST BEFORE THE NCC WORKERS. The NCC is suffering the backlash for his daughter’ dismissal plain and simple.

His actions are a bit clearer now aren’t they?

4. @Caswell

No!

His declared position is that the government not adhering to a cabinet decision of last in first out.

5. To add to another controversy the BEC indicated this evening it will NOT be signing the resolution to give live to Protocol 6. It is all happening apace. This is a clear indication the private sector is unhappy. We note Ian Goodimg-Edghill is the head of the BEC.

6. David:

Word around the NUPW offices is that Dennis Clarke signed as surety for his daughter; now that she has gone home he will be asked to repay her loan. That would mek a man mad enuff to call a big strike!!

7. David there will be none Dennis don’t have any support ,what members must do is to get rid of dennis and walter, those two traitors ,who were then betrayed by the government . O the great betrayal of them all

8. The BEC’s action shall spell the death of the CTUSAB. However, it was already dead when the BWU withdrew.

On another matter, I understand that the DLP met and has begun to formulate plans on how to get Derrick Alleyne (former Deputy General Secretary of the NUPW who resigned to stay at the Urban Commission who may not have a job when the commissions are amalgamated) as the next General Secretary. Dennis is not going to be too happy to hear this. neither should the workers, even Sir Roy had to part with Derrick after he realized his inabilities!!

9. Oh my gosh! Say it aint so!

Can you imagine how militant Dereck Alleyne is going to be if he gets to be General Secretary and the Barbados Labour Party is the government. I hope the BLP would slap him down just like the DLP is doing to them now with impunity!

10. Prodigal:

Derrick Alleyne pounded the ground in the NUPW yard and swore never ever to support Danny Gill because he is of the opinion that Danny is a BLP and as Maloney is a DLP he should win. How will he face that same man to get at the General secretary job!!

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

While addressing the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry luncheon on Wednesday, Sinckler dismissed reports Government had discussions as a precursor to retrenching thousands of public servants.

“It is an insidious and unsubstantiated untruth. No such meeting took place. No file has been sent to me, contrary to what has been said, with any such recommendation and certainly no such discussion has taken place in my Ministry. I want to make that abundantly clear,” he said. shawncumberbatch@barbadostoday.bb

The above appeared in the Barbados Today on May 31, 2013. Sinckler was referring to a revelation that I made on the call-in programme, Brasstacks, where I stated that the Government was making plans to lay off thousands of public servants.

Dennis Clarke and Walter Maloney went on air and also denied what I had said.

Who was telling the truth then?

12. Caswell:

Clearly, the truth was with you!!

13. Caswell:

As I understand it, Jepter Ince, Ma Money Maloney, Dennis Clarke and Chris Sinker were meeting regularly at Ma Money Maloney’s house before the retrenchment. So both Dennis and Maloney knew what was coming so they had to remonstrate to fool the members of the NUPW. Oh, what a web we weave, when we stoop to deceive.

14. Fractured BLP Avatar

Helllo Danny Gill
    I noticed you mentioned my glee at Maloney victory last NUPW elections
    Why do you want me not to celebrate
    All over the world Governments and organisations are retrenching and restructuring
    Why do you feel Barbados and its workers would escape such

Barclays Bank in England retrenching nineteen thousand workers

Miami Dade county just retrench a number of their lifeguards from a few of the beaches in Florida

Why do feel Barbados would escape such an episode of occurences

Who trying to fool WHO

15. Derrick Alleyne , stop writing as fractured
    BLP , you living dead mag from David Thompson dead body

16. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

When the Nation newspaper is quoting Ian Gooding – Edghill criticizing the government in his capacity as President of the Barbados Employer’s Confederation. they should also highlight that he is the losing BLP candidate for a St. Michael constituency and former BLP senator.
    This should be stated in the same way that James Paul is referred to as government MP when he speaks as BAS President.

I think that the public should be aware of the hats that Gooding-Edghill wears just in case investors outside of Barbados are reading. Just a little perspective which I find the Nation newspaper forgets to mention whenever they put quotes from Gooding-Edghill in the paper.

17. Fractured BLP:
    Members of the NUPW know there is an intimate connection between Maloney, Cedric Murrel and the DLP. My problem with your approach is that it is alright to wave the DLP political flag to get a union candidate elected. However, when it is exposed you have a problem with it. It is my right to speak and I shall abandon it, Fractured.

By the way, you could also let Derrick Alleyne know that I shall never ever support him to be General Secretary of the NUPW!!

18. Nation BLP News paper:

I could agree with that last post.

19. Fractured:
    If you reread my earlier posts you would see that I am not against the retrenchment. I am supporting a transparent process which abides with the Employment Rights Act. People are not cattle to be thrown out on the street at a whim!!

20. Fractured:
    Before you jump up and down that sentence should have “I shall not abandon my right to speak.”

21. Now we are hearing that the NUPW is waiting on a meeting with the Minister of Labour. What a waste of time when we all know the management of the NCC and Chief Labour Officer are both acting under directions from the minister of Labour and government.

22. David:

The NUPW knows why it does not want to go to the Tribunal. If you meet and negotiate from a position then you would be a laughing stock if you are exposed at a Tribunal hearing.

Obviously, the NCC knows from which position it proceeded with the retrenchment, and it is not backing down. So General Secretary, please file your complaint before the time runs out and these workers remain retrenched!!

23. What I find so interesting is that the Unions said that they would not strike.

Portvale workers struck (wild) and the union managed to down play it…. no further repercussions… and lost this moment of true bargaining power.

Look back in time to two wild cat strikes with NO grounds (Royal Shop & Sandy Lane)… and the unions threatened to shut down the country…. the PM was demanded to get involved and the labor minister HAD to be involved…
    NOW…. ALL OF A SUDDEN – the unions are playing by the rules. WHAT HAPPENED ?!?!!??!

Workers better think twice about paying dues.

24. David:
    This scenario aint looking good for Dennis Clarke and his merry band the NUPW at all. Heard feed back from some government offices. Some are saying when they needed the union, it was not there. Others are saying they are not going or marching any where with Dennis Clarke!!

I hope he does not blame this messenger!!

25. AND – the unions should be training the workers who are getting re-trenched! Instead of buying Audi SUVs!!!

26. iwatchya:

Workers in Barbados need to learn some of the basics of industrial relations because of their lack thereof, people like Dennis Clarke, Maloney and crowd can lead them down the garden path of industrial relations.

27. Tomorrow is D-day, let us hope the goodly Senator McClean acting minister of labour rises to the occasion.

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The posturing by NUPW over the NCC retrenchment process can be easily solved by re-employing Dennis Clarke’s daughter. Matter fixed! That is what you call the status quo ante.

29. Dennis Clarke is saying that every man jack who went home must be rehired; that includes his daughter!!

30. In my opinion Dennis Clarke is in the departure lounge just waiting till his fat cheque. The union has failed the people miserably.

31. Apparently union recruitment is at an all time low . Will the NUPW suffer the same fate as the dinosaurs? Wake up Mr. Clarke

32. It is now clear. Dennis Clarke and Maloney can not go to the Tribunal. They went to the Minister and for the first time in the history of collective bargaining, the Cabinet shall make a decision. Maloney and Clarke are hoping that their boys in the Cabinet shall rule in their favor, but that shall have collective bargaining repercussions!!

However, even the acting Minister and Maloney are now confirming what has been said here on BU; that the last in first out can not apply to Statutory boards who are now part of the private sector. If this prevails, the unions would be telling private sector employers who they can and can not fire!!

We now wait for this big big strike!!

33. One wonders about productive use of time asking NCC workers to attend a meeting at 10 today.

34. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

When you examine the comments of Donald Sterling re minorities in the states and he not understanding the difference between HIV and Aids in reference to Magic , then criss cross to Barbados and you examine the comments and actions of Delisle Worrell re Vat and the banning of the Nation,then dove tail to comments from Freundel Stuart re his standard of living dropping, Sinckler’s many many statements from Bald pooched cat to stripping naked. When we really examine these situations , we must come to the conclusion that RABBITS are in positions of authority and influence because of affiliation, money and other considerations.

After all of this and you come to BU and read comments from AC -a Rabbit extraordinaire , you wonder about the continued existence of the planet Earth

35. David:
    If the Cabinet gives in to the Union, it would mean that the other Statutory Boards would have to follow suit and do something that is not mandated by the Law. On the other hand, it would also mean a political slap in the face of the Minister Denis Lowe.

The other problem Maloney and Clarke has is that no public workers shall march with them; the two of them are not trusted any more!! Maloney and Clarke may end up getting more NCC workers fired!!

I understand the grandmother from NCC who is the sole support for her grand children was rehired. You can not say the NCC does not have a social heart.

36. David:

I am being told that the NCC has evidence that Dennis Clarke signed off on the number and who should go home. If this is true, then why is he and Maloney wasting time?

37. @Lemuel

If Clarked signed it should easy to resolve using the threat of going public and or using the social partnership.

38. David:

I was told Clarke did it to the workers who were sent home from the Urban Commission. Caswell Franklyn was negotiating and Dennis Clarke went behind his back and agreed to the workers being sent home!! The people at the Commission were laughing while Caswell was fuming but the workers went packing!!!

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Lemuel

I think that you should have been clear and point out that I was an employee of the NUPW when that occurred. That happened around the same time that he got the duty free car.

40. David:

This NCC saga has become a mess for Dennis Clarke. He is in public accusing Denis Lowe a minister of the Crown of wrong doing. People are hoping that Dennis Clarke can prove what he and Wayne Walrond have been saying about Denis Lowe because the Minister now has a good case for suing the NUPW and its General Secretary. Remember Mrs Ram and Harper; Mrs Ram won the case.

In the Nation this morning Clarke is calling for solidarity; where is he going to get it from?

41. @Lemuel

Let Minister Lowe sue, that would secure his legacy for sure.

There is fading confidence in so many areas of civil society nowadays. The union is another one. Confidence in a market is created by many factora. Isn’t the Social Partnership designed to treat with this kind of a situation?

42. David:

I am yet to see how the Social partnership improved lot and the wages of the average worker. Since its existence, I have not seen the public service get a decent raise and one solid benefit as a result of the social partnership. It is a place where wunna bees crowded to rub shoulders with the Prime Minister!!

43. @Lemuel

Is the measure for a calm industrial climate predicated on wage increases? If this KPI is a burning issue why has it not been raced as a burning issue and addressed before protocol2,3,4,5 were signed?

44. David:

Look at all of the protocols, each year the noose was being tighten around the workers necks. The worker representatives around the table were more about themselves than workers or their rights. And Owen Arthur use it to the fullest to set up the demise we are now seeing in unionism. Remember how Millie Small became a Permanent Secretary after being the NUPW’s President?

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Lemuel

You must first understand that the Social Partnership was not set up with the interest of the workers in mind. It was devised as a way for capital and Government to maintain industrial peace when workers had just cause to be angry.

46. Lemuel and David .
    Today is Friday,two days after Wednesday where is the strike of Denis Clarke ,Wayne Waldron and Walter Maloney .?

47. According to Senator McClean they are meeting this afternoon to resolve.

48. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

LOOKING at the group liars long talk and delay to the people going home, Orders from the IMF as the crooks look to look good.People still going home. If the Scumbags get the 4 Billion in the dept to pass , That will pay for worker to stay on the JOB until next elections..
    We can not recover from FRAUD, We must clean it up , heads need to roll and held on charges.

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Below is taken from Starcom Network News. Basically it is saying that the workers have been sold out but they will find out next week.

Another attempt to end the dispute between the trade unions and the National Conservation Commission
    May 16, 2014

Starcom Network News understands that one of the major outcomes of yesterday’s cabinet meeting is that cabinet has made it clear that it never directed a strict adherence to the-last-in-first-out principle for layoffs, but only that this be one of the key considerations along with the skills of the people concerned in relation to the critical needs of the organization.

It’s a point that President of the National Union of Public Workers, Walter Maloney, conceded just before he entered this morning’s 10:30 meeting at the Labour Department.

But Mr. Maloney believes that, having said that, there are still what he calls anomalies in the layoff list that have to be corrected. This is a reference to the union’s strong view that there’s been political interference in the layoff process.

Mr. Maloney also says the dispute has gone on too long and he hopes for an agreement. He indicates the union is willing compromise in order to clinch a deal.

Senator McClean, also speaking just before entering this morning’s negotiating session at the Labour Department at Warrens, seemed to suggest the last-in-first-out principle was indeed now less of an issue than previously, and she hoped for an agreement on other outstanding matters.

But Senator McClean who seemed in a relaxed mood today, even ahead of what could be another gruelling session, joked that with tomorrow being her birthday, she hoped to have the matter wrapped up by tonight.

Stetson Babb

50. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

well most of the worker seem to be BLP and after PM David can in office other last hired may be DLP… SO for the DLP to send home the DLP hires before the BLP Workers who where there before, To us , it seem they dont want to go by last in first out, for the DLP voters will go home and the BLP will stay. So now they want to flip that, so the older BLP wil go home and save the work of the DLP last hired voters
    What do you think? Do anyone see some thing different? Same Union for the DLP and BLP workers.

Leave a Reply to LemuelCancel reply