Submitted by William Skinner
Everson R. Elcock a successful Black family business going strong after 50 years
”Everson R. Elcock a successful Black family business going strong after 50 years”

“In his presentation, the Prime Minister made mention of a book about the company (Everson R. Elcock and Company), which he said “refutes the bogus mildewed theory that black people are incapable of establishing businesses that grow and prosper beyond the control and by extension, the lifetime of the founder” –  Barbados Advocate Wednesday, April 20. 2011

Prime Minister Freundel Stewart was participating in the 50th anniversary celebrations of Everson R Elcock and Company. In my estimation it was one of the most interesting statements made by the Prime Minister. I, on this occasion agree with him.

This “bogus mildewed theory” believe it or not, is found in the arsenal of blacks, who are convinced that we do not support each other. N.E. Wilson, James Tudor, Ricks Supermarkets, Jordans Supermarkets, A1 and Carlton Supermarkets, Nicholls Bakery, Pearson Pharmacy, C.S. Pharmacy, Branckers, Nation Newspapers, Enids , Pink Star, Collins, Barbados Lumber Company, Youngs Sweets Parlor, the current folks at Oistins, and dozens of former and present black businesses, prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that we have always and continue to support each other.

Sometimes we should pause before we buy into destructive propaganda that is consistent with the divide and rule approach, which continues to endanger us as we move forward. Indeed if blacks never supported each other, there will be no: seamstresses, tailors, barbers, vendors, taxi drivers, mini bus operators, private schools, hairdressers, carpenters, lawyers, electricians ,shop keepers, masons , plumbers or any level of black business. I have seen us find Shorty selling ice cream around Bridgetown in the wee hours of the morning. We have supported each other from the Rasta trading around the roundabouts to the calypsonians in the tents. We have seen small business people build homes and enjoy good standards of living form selling puddin’ and souse and sweetbread. From primary school we supported all the folks selling around our schools.

Of course we have some jealousy and bouts of envy but this is not unique to black people. I know of whites, Indians and other non-black Bajans, who have epic disagreements and who fight every day. This is more a simple human condition than any inferior trait of black people. In the field of law we often hear about dishonest black attorneys. We may be shocked to know that there are also dishonest white attorneys. However, they are usually given a one way ticket to some distant land. I think it is called circling the wagon. I am not looking for excuses –just calling it as it is!

As we move toward fifty years of the flag and anthem, we must guard against the crabs in the bucket mentality and realize that within us are our greatest strengths. Unfortunately, we have thirty elected officials, who set such poor examples, that they drive many of us to conclude that we were actually better off under the colonialists. While I cannot endorse such a view, I am quite aware, why such a position still holds some support.

Quite recently, I was perusing one of the daily newspapers, when I saw the advertisements of the dances that we used to call brams decades ago. It dawned on me that some of the organizers , keeping the dances have been doing so for thirty and more years. These dances have now, in some cases, evolved into shop limes and other entertainment packages. It represents a fantastic achievement that these grass root economic and entertainment events, are still vibrant parts of our economic and cultural activities. I asked myself how many hoteliers tell their guests about these gatherings. It then struck me that I did not see whites, Indians or other non-blacks being advertised as organizers of these events. Enough said!

120 responses to “Black Barbadians Refute Bogus Mildewed Theory”

1. @Bushie
    U like you have a video pun my life! That is how I live! Stop watching me so close!

HC boys nused to get nuff woman too, except the real bookworms. Indeed, my cousin very probably would have got a Bdos Scholarship but for woman!
    My other cousin who was as U suggest and did get the Bdos Scholarship.

Some bros nused to tear into Springer Girls, even in HC on Sports Day.
    Then beat up pun Cawmere at Kensington or the Nat Stadium! Wuhla!

2. Peeps, wunna can do well, just remember this,

” anything U can conceive U can achieve!”

So let we stop the BS and look pun dis

Ten Lessons for Aspiring Entrepreneurs

By Jeffrey Tucker, CEO, liberty.me on December 20, 2013 | Full Essay
    One of my favorite web spaces is meetinnovators.com. It interviews startup entrepreneurs, people who created something new and made it successful. Through casual conversation, it investigates their thinking, mode of working, trials and tribulations, breakthroughs, and visions of the future. Just hearing these people talk gives you a real lift.

Major media don’t usually cover this world, which is strange because the technologies we use and the businesses we trade with define a major part of our lives. The trouble is that most people just take it all for granted.

“Of course there’s an upgrade.” “Of course there’s an app.” “Of course I can make a video call from a wireless device to a person on the other side of the world for free!”

I recently caught up with an old history professor, and it would have made sense to talk about big ideas (about which we both really care). But actually, and very quickly, we gravitated to more interesting stuff. (Read more here…)

About half the entrepreneurs I know went into business for themselves. They had reasons other than the desire to become wealthy. The other half were people that wanted—simply and purely—to get rich quickly by whatever means necessary. Needless to say, the second group was less apt to maintain their wealth over the long haul.
    If you’re a new entrepreneur—or soon-to-be one—here’s some advice: People from both of these groups will try telling you why you will fail. When people tell you such reasons, pay attention to those who have actually succeeded in business. They might be trying to dissuade you from competing with them. But they might be trying to save you time and money.
    Smart entrepreneurs—the chickenhearted ones like me—work hard to reduce uncertainty. They want uncertainty to be as little as possible before risking serious time and money.
    Start-up businesses need neither dreamers nor accountants. They need idea-generators, marketers, and profit producers. Most of the time—during the first year or so of operation—one person will play all three roles.
    I’m not saying you shouldn’t dream big or hope it will be quick and easy—at least in the beginning. Every business I started ended up being more work than I wanted it to be. But if I didn’t have the ability to pretend it would be quick and easy, I wouldn’t have started a single one.
    Competent people now run most of the business I’ve started. They seldom—if ever—ask for my help. I imagine this is a truth for Mr. Tucker now, as well… But if he rereads Ready, Fire, Aim, he will figure out how to get off the treadmill.

3. Nine Lessons From the Shark Tank
    By Brett & Kate McKay, http://www.artofmanliness.com on February 4, 2014 |Full Essay

I don’t watch much television—with two small children and a business, I just don’t have time. But there’s one show that I DVR and watch without fail every week: “Shark Tank.”

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the show, here’s the premise:

Aspiring entrepreneurs get a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to pitch their business to a panel of “sharks”—five self-made millionaires and billionaires including the likes of Mark Cuban and Daymond John—and ask for funding in exchange for equity in their business.

Basically, it’s the dramatization of one of the most stressful, sweat-inducing, make-or-break moments in capitalism: the business pitch.

On any given episode you’ll see amazing and innovative businesses secure hundreds of thousands (and sometimes millions) of dollars’ worth of capital, or you’ll get to watch what’s obviously a weird, laughably-bad business be eviscerated by the sharks. (Read more here…)
    Here’s my take on Mr. McKay’s nine lessons:
    1. Learn How to Pitch: McKay is stressing here the importance of doing your due diligence in preparing your pitch. I disagree. “Shark Tank” is about how to sell your startup to venture capitalists. This is a very small part of entrepreneurship. And it’s one that shouldn’t interest you if you want to build a serious, lasting business.
    2. Hustle is Necessary But Not Sufficient: I agree. Hustle in business is a given, but it’s not the end all.
    3. Don’t Be Blinded by Passion: Yes. Passion is not a virtue. It’s an emotion that will usually do you more harm than good.
    4. Just Because Your Friends and Family Love Your Idea, Doesn’t Mean It’s a Good Idea: That’s correct. Ignore the advice—good or bad—that comes from anyone who doesn’t know the industry you are entering.
    5. Know Your Business: Yes. With a capital Y. I’ve written about knowing your business—and industry—a lot.
    6. Concentrate on Your Core Competency: This is true. The temptation to veer away from one’s core competency is ubiquitous in growing businesses. Things are looking up with your primary product and with the primary method of selling it. So you figure that almost anything you do will be just as grand. In moving away from core competency, move one step at a time. (See Automatic Wealth for a full explanation of this.)
    7. The Best Businesses Solve Real Problems: I don’t agree. We sometimes like to think business is about solving problems. Some businesses are. But most are not. Most products that comprise any country’s marketplace are not necessary. What drives economies is demand, not the need to solve problems.
    8. If You’re Not Making Money, It’s Just a Hobby: Yes and no. As a rule, you want to develop positive cash flow by the end of your second year. And be profitable by Year Three. But some businesses take longer than that. My art business is an example. When I started it, I estimated it would take 10 years to achieve profitability. But I was willing to do it because—by then—it would be a cash machine. One of my nieces or nephews could tap into it for life. That said, don’t go into such a business unless you have plenty of money to spare.
    9. Not Every Business Needs Investors: I agree. I have started dozens of successful businesses and never once needed an investor.

4. ENTREPRENEURS

Checkout Shark Tank, ABC TV Series on Youtube.
    There is a dark bro pun here that is an excellent role model to learn from.

Notice how tough these guys are on wanna be Business peeps, regardless of RACE! Life is a Bitch and a Beach! U should learn that Bankers are supposed to be tough on U—so DONT take it personally or racially. Surely Bim Banks have many darker peeps in Lending anyway.

Watch Dragons Den, CBC Canada on Youtube

MEK SOME $$$$$$ nah!

David, please post this up pun The corner.

5. MoneyBrain wrote “Surely Bim Banks have many darker peeps in Lending anyway.”

Don’t be naive. White Canadians manage the Canadian banks in Barbados and formulate the lending policies.

Please don’t trivialise the issue.

6. @ Hants
    Money is not trivializing….
    ….In all honesty, it would be very difficult for MoneyBrain to fully grasp the challenges faced by a black wanna-be businessman in Barbados.
    He would need to borrow our skin and then try starting one of those businesses…. LOL….Not that MoneyB would not succeed with some, ….cause he is clearly talented in that area, but he would develop a whole new perspective….

7. I have often pointed to Everson’s business to show colour is not an issue in the building of a business ……family is!!

I had the privilege to see that family at work.

8. Color can’t be an issue for you John….
    …and you can’t know what it is for Bushie or Hants unless you have walked in our shoes….

….and if family is the issue, considering the impact of 300 years of de-humanizing slavery, kindly explain what you would be expecting from black “family strengths” in 2014 – that is so outstanding in whites….after a few generations of emancipation….

9. mb ..shut up,,,you can never relate . to the challenges black businees faced, having all the ideas in the world don;t mean sh..t unless one have the finances to implement……. the banks takes black through all, kinds of hills and valleys to get a loan…most of the time the blacks with good ideas rather not even try because of the stories they were told by other blacks trying to gain access,,so MB ,,,,i suggest that maybe you have yuh skin painted black then go on a test drive in a local or international bank and apply for a loan to start a business,,,btw don’t let the bank know that u are rich just act like a poor black man with a great idea trying to get a loan to start a business,,,.

10. @Hants, Bushie
    It is very hard for me to believe that a Black Businessman in Bdos with a good lil business that requires expansion Capital and armed with a well thought out Business Plan would be refused purely because his/her skin is darker than pale. In 2014???

So U peeps are serious that with tons of black managers, Loans Officers and a black Govt that a Good BP would be rejected like Shaq at the Basket.
    If that is indeed the case then I am very ashamed to be Bajan in this context because that should have been resolved a very long time ago! Govt fellas mussseee SELLING OUT.

U telling me that HC bros like Tom,Owen,Woodsy, Darcy, John, Ronald, et al been in high position and didnt resolve? Please tell me wunna fatiguing me!
    This is mock sport ?

I understand that Banks might not lend based on a concept only. If you watch the programs like those I have recommended you will always here the experienced guys ask “please tell us about sales”, “”what about profit margins” “sales growth?” They virtually have no immediate interest in concepts.

11. I know that in my family when somebody wants to start a Business they might go to one of the wealthier family members to discuss, as in seek advice and then solicit a loan or Capital.

12. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

MB
    i HAD A SO CALLED FRIEND WHO WAS DENIED A LOAN BY A LOANS OFFICER FOR HIS BUSINESS
    THE SAME LOANS OFFICER MET HIM IN THE STREET AND OFFERED TO PUT MONEY IN HIS BUSINESS

13. Bushie:

Some of us here are behaving like Donald Trump; lest we forget, Donald got his start with a $1 hotel sold to him by Mayor Koch.

Money Brain don’t get me started on fund managers. Keep up your little fantasy; even Lemmie enjoying it!!

14. @ MoneyB
    It is very hard for me to believe that a Black Businessman in Bdos with a good lil business that requires expansion Capital and armed with a well thought out Business Plan would be refused purely because his/her skin is darker than pale. In 2014???
    Boss man, not only is he refused financing, but if his ass is not careful he will soon find another new business – well funded- running with his business plan and exploiting the weaknesses HE HIMSELF would have outlined in his business plan included in the rejected application….. To shut him down…
    He may even be offered a job…….after these are very nice people….

15. …the “not so nice” ones would not refuse the loan…..they offer about 80% of the funding needed……then wait quietly for you to run into cash flow tights….
    …then a “completely independent businessman” will appear and make you an offer that you would be REAL BRAVE to refuse….
    …or real IGRUNT like Bushie….

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What the shit
    AC
    What the heck wake up your brain. I am starting to read views that are sounding balance. Darn I wonder what ant climb up your pee hole and stung your pink peenagooga into commonsense. I starting to like what ya writing these days. Have not seen the before comments but ya coming around. My surveillance of ya will still continue but so far no reference is drawn to the pet name I have been calling you. Keep the good balance views AC, soon I will refer to you differently than a cunt or PIMP

17. Bush Tea | May 10, 2014 at 5:32 PM |

….and if family is the issue, considering the impact of 300 years of de-humanizing slavery, kindly explain what you would be expecting from black “family strengths” in 2014 – that is so outstanding in whites….after a few generations of emancipation….

With pleasure …… but I have done so and expressed my findings already on numerous occasions!!

You may just have not been paying attention as you believe you know everything already!!.

The Quakers treated their slaves well …. no one disputes this.

What you may dispute is whether they were a minority or majority and I say they were a majority.

It logically follows that the majority of slaves were treated well. Ultimately it was the Quakers who figured out slavery should be done away with and took action. The world owes them a debt of gratitude..

Your posit is thus in my opinion without merit.

Black and white are social constructs. My observation both here and in the real world is it is all in the mind.

The reality is that most if not all Bajans are descended from both slaves and slave owners.

J.N. Goddard (Goddard Enterprises) didn’t do badly for his family and he came out of slaves.

The reason why family plays such a role is because it is natural for a man to want to protect and provide for his wife. Both will move heaven and earth for their children.

The children will learn to respect and honour their parents and in turn move heaven and earth to provide for their parents and each other to lessen their parents loads.

I do think you make a significant point about generations 150 plus years after emancipation.

Slaves were being freed from the beginning, 150 plus years prior to emancipation …… by Quakers.

These had a head start on the slaves freed in 1833 as the families created within that population had by emancipation developed strategies for survival that worked.

What separated the two groups was the responsibilities of freedom.

Slaves and their descendants who remained as slaves till 1834 were at a severe disadvantage after emancipation.

It doesn’t mean they and their descendants were unable to compete and did not do so well.

J.N. Goddard had ancestors from that first group of freed slaves.

I do too.

I suspect most Bajans do but don’t know it.

King Dyal was out of the that group too …. and boy, did he know it!!

18. @Bushie
    The people stealing the business Plans or offering to partner after a Bank rejection are Whiteys only, all shades, Black only???????

19. @John
    I may have missed your assessment previously, elsewhere, BUT given your background and experience, just how discriminatory is the Bank Lending in Bim???

20. @Lemmy
    Trump’s father was already BIG in RE when the Donald came along.
    Several people have made big moves in RE because of Economic conditions. The Reichmans of Toronto bought several such buildings in NY in 1976, they had made their early money on tiles and other building products.

Tell me more about the Fund Mgrs nuh???

Have U researched who the really honest, top notch Managers are and HOW they accomplish an excellent track record? Have U implemented the strategies???

21. MB

I have little experience borrowing from banks.

I got my first car loan from BNB in 1980 I think.

Thereafter the only car loans I had I got from my place of work, one of the perquisites ….. extended to all who merited it regardless of colour.

I could even have got a house loan at the time.

The only other loan I have had is from a friend …. not a Quaker at least I don’t think so ……

I would not choose to go to a bank to borrow to finance what I do because they would think I am crazy!!

…. plus, I prefer to keep my business to myself.

22. @ John
    …no wonder Bushie missed your first attempts at explaining this “family advantage” that whites have…..missed it again this time too….
    In fact, right after you wrote that shiite about how “nice” these Quakers were to their slaves – Bushie scrolled on….somewhat like telling the bushman that killing a fellow humanely – to use his body parts – is treating him well…..and he should be grateful.
    …nice people indeed….

Some shiite in your head is screwed up John, but perhaps it is this kind of thinking that empowers some of us to be able to do whatever it takes to make money….and still sleep at night.
    ….Is that the “family advantage”? ….the ability to treat another human being like garbage and convince yourself that you are being kind, nice and decent?

Steupsss……you are not helping your cause…..

23. Bushie:

These people that he refers to are called the “Closed Brethren” in Barbados. Blacks are treated so nicely they can not marry Blacks in that church. If you buy that wishy washy hog wash, then I know you losing it Bush Man!! If they were so nice they would not have slaves. remember how Rhode Island was formed because of narrow mindedness by the early Quakers in the US.

24. that should Blacks can not marry whites.

25. …and this lotta shiite ’bout “Bushie feels that he knows everything”
    Look!…..if wunna feel intimidated by Bushie don’t take it personally…..know everything shiite!
    Bushie has NO IDEA what happened to flight MH370….NONE.

Bushie NEVER said that he knows everything….and indeed, has on previous occasions outlined clear examples of other areas of complete ignorance to the bushman…..like how ac could possibly be so dense…and still live…

So why not let us discuss the ISSUES and the FACTS and stop trying to focus on what Bushie does…or does NOT know…?

It should be so very simple to point out the flaws in the lotta bullshit that the bushman posits on BU – that one would think that such highly acclaimed bloggers as Doctor the Hon. Georgie Porgie, GP, MD, HC and John – resident “his story ” expert – would EASILY debunk Bushie’s junk……..or hush!!!

26. It is the Bajan way to brand those who would freely express themselves as knowing everything. If only more of us would feel like we should freely express and not leave it to the Wickams and these talking heads who the talk shows have made.

On Sunday, 11 May 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

27. @ Lemuel
    Thanks skippa……Bushie was waiting to see how long he would take before telling bloggers who these “great, kind people” were – in modern language……or if he thinks that we are all a bunch of retarded yard boys….

Bushie likes John. He ain’t a bad fellow. He just lacks guile …and any experience in dealing with bushmen who may be his intellectual superiors…..his experience is with typical BBs who just drink up his shiite talk ….after all …he white ain’t he..?

…imagine a grown man coming on BU telling Bushie bout how ‘nice’ the f$);&@? were…..who forced the Bushman’s ancestors to labour in their plantations for THREE CENTURIES….accumulating wealth that now allows him to “not need to borrow from any bank” …..AND EXPECTING BUSHIE TO FOLLOW HIS LOGIC…..

Steupsss….man David, yuh could let a fellow leggo a few pips in a case like this…?
    Steupsss

28. Are they legally allowed to do this in Barbados?? I am seeing where Worrell is advisor to Stuart….

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/worrell-bans-nation/

29. Apparently Worrell got an invite to the Petersen Institute in Washington (AC i remember when you were licking C. Fred’s ass on his visit to Barbados) got some honorary title that means squat, saw too many white people and returned to Barbados as a dictator……I say fire his black ass..

30. Wait……no bajan whites, indians, or blacks wanting to be whites etc on here telling me how racist i am for attacking Worrell, SO, that is only saved for when i am roasting bajan white asses and they really feel i cannot tell or do not know the difference? lol

31. @Bushie
    Thanks for not giving me, MoneyBrain, an Honorable mention in the Pantheon of the Clever who have NOT exposed your BS( from time to time LOL).

We both know U are clever BUT from time to time U need me to destroy your supposed Logic.

I am sure that U are unaware of John’s Educational achievements and high positions held ( I am 99%+ sure I know who he is). John’s potential weakness is that he is religious to the extent that he almost never sees negatives, people’s Faults. If I were U, I would certainly NOT be too sure of your Intellectual Superiority.

John has never claimed to be White and always points out that his family were on the wrong end of Slavery. Indeed, he tends to take a very Intellectual approach to this without being purely emotional and certainly never plays the victim card. NOT the guy just to jump on any bandwagon without fore thought.

32. @WW
    U mudder never tell U to let sleeping LIONS rest?lol

Isnt Worrell White? lol

33. It isn’t because I am religious (whatever religious may mean) that I have enjoyed so much telling the story about the Quakers and their effect on Barbados.

It isn’t even original.

I got the principles when I was a boy at school.

The only originality I can claim is what I discovered in researching the genealogies of various families.

While I am distinctly partial to the Message of the Gospel, I have tried to show what I take to be its impact on the Quakers who found a way to bring all interests together to build Barbados.

Placenames I think go a long way to support what I say.

I have brought forward simple provable facts.

It doesn’t bother me I may be pushing a way of looking at our history that is at variance with what is often portrayed. Everything I have said is based on facts I have researched and realisations I have reached as a result..

I will take any attack seriously if the attack can be shown to be based on facts ….. until then, I am simply enjoying myself.

There are two reasons I don’t really worry about having to face a serious attack …. first and foremost, I honestly believe I have done thorough research and second ……

….. I have come to realize that the quarter from which I could be expected to be attacked do not read much!

34. John:

Stop calling a difference of opinion attacks. Furthermore, you are showing your intellectual superiority stuff ably supported by Money Brains. I take what he said about you but it does not mean I have to take it as the gospel. I tell people when you expose yourself in public, expect that some shall be better than you. That certainly does not mean myself as I only went to 7th Standard.

Again, I repeat if the Quakers had this love for mankind, they would not have had slaves. Tell us how you have morphed out of the “exclusive brethren” model which is out of England? Do not assume my brother; it makes an ass out of me and you!!

35. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

john

RE I have come to realize that the quarter from which I could be expected to be attacked do not read much!

THIS IS VERY TRUE AND VERY EVIDENT ON BU
    MUCH OF WHAT YOU SAY ABOUT THE QUAKERS IN BARBADOS I HEARD ON NATIONAL TRUST SUNDAY MORNING WALKS

LEMUEL
    wHAT IS THE EXCLUSIVE BRETHREN MODEL?
    TELL US WHAT YOU KNOW ABOUT THE BRETHREN?

36. Georgie:

When I find time I shall do something on the brethren, or let John share his research with us. I would surely read it.

37. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

lol
    do you know that there are three groups of Brethren in Barbados- all derived from the Plymouth Brethren. The Exclusive Brethren is/was an extreme group that took the concept of “separation” to its zenith. This group has more or less died out in Barbados.

Another group is the Gospel Halls with their 13 assemblies. Some prominent Gospel folk include the Governor of The Cental bank who group in the Crumpton Street assembly, former Headmaster of HC Dr Belgrave is a member at Dayrell’s Rd. Dr VS Evelyn grew up in the Stream Gospel Hall in St Lawrence.

There is another group with assemblies in White Hall , near Combermere school, Welches Christ Church, Chapman Village in, St Thomas

The Brethren in Barbados: Gospel Hall Assemblies 1889 – 1994
    Sylvan R. Catwell privately published, Barbados 1995, is a fairly informative book.

38. Georgie:

Thanks. I never said I was an expert on the subject like your boy Bush Tea. He is going to cuss me for that!! What I am maintaining though is that I find the thing about the Quakers being gentle slave owners hog wash!!

39. Lemuel | May 11, 2014 at 3:08 PM |

John:

Stop calling a difference of opinion attacks. Furthermore, you are showing your intellectual superiority stuff ably supported by Money Brains. I take what he said about you but it does not mean I have to take it as the gospel. I tell people when you expose yourself in public, expect that some shall be better than you. That certainly does not mean myself as I only went to 7th Standard.

Again, I repeat if the Quakers had this love for mankind, they would not have had slaves. Tell us how you have morphed out of the “exclusive brethren” model which is out of England? Do not assume my brother; it makes an ass out of me and you!!

You are right, attack is the incorrect word for what should be just a difference of opinion ……. but hey if the shoe fits …

George Fox did not wake up one day and form the Quakers, The Quakers themselves are not one homogenous group. There are differences.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quakers

What George Fox did wake up and find was slavery, an institution in existence for millennia.

His position evolved over time as did his followers.

Many Quakers did from the beginning free their slaves or choose not to own slaves.

http://www.quaker.org.uk/quakers-and-abolition-slave-trade

40. MoneyBrain | May 11, 2014 at 1:17 PM |

@WW
    U mudder never tell U to let sleeping LIONS rest?lol

Isnt Worrell White? lol

Moneybrain…….well excuse you me…..lol, i did not even know that, well, i will be prepared for the attacks, i am waiting…lol

41. Has anyone noticed that all the white bretherens/sisterens in the Closed Bretherens in Barbados LOOK ALIKE, is that healthy?

42. @WW
    All we Whiteys look alike!!! lol U heard that before?

Seriously, my grand father and father (when I was under 8) were in The Bretheren and I went to Primary School with lots of them, they came in several varieties.

Bdos was one of the major locations for Quakers, globally.

43. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

JUST PROVIDING SOME BASIC INFO SIR
    NEVER SAID THAT YOU SAID YOU WERE AN EXPERT

44. Money…….no, this look is different, I am talking same features, carbon copied, I don’t want to describe every bajan white in Barbados to start a riot…lol, but the closed guys/gals have real closed looks, too closed for comfort, you cannot, i repeat, cannot, tell one of them from the next.

45. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

There were a number of Closed Brethren at HC in the sixties from several families, and they did not look at all alike

46. @MB

MoneyBrain | May 11, 2014 at 5:38 PM |
    @WW
    All we Whiteys look alike!!! lol U heard that before?

………………………………………………………………………..
    Yes MB. That is exactly what my son was told by his superior officer when he first joined the RBPF. My son was concerned about his complexion makng him easily targetted by the criminal minded and mentioned it to his superior when he was told,

“Don’t worry about dat, all white people look alike so you should not be concerned about being easily identified”. Lol.

47. De Hood:

Superior policeman would have to be a big idiot, even a half white policeman would stand out in a all black police force.

48. @Lemuel

I’m just telling it as it was told to me.

49. Perhaps the officer was not referring to him “standing out” as you put it but was saying he would not be easily identified.

50. David and fellow bloggers….for the umpteenth time….Leonard Shorey….. has stated certain facts,pertaining to the slave trade and Olusegun Obasanjo(former Nigerian President) comment ,which can be found on….page 39a….of today’s Sunday Sun May 11,2014…..what I find most interesting is that no one mentions it…..every one is happy to go down the path of Hilary’s hogwash(except Bush Tea) and wallow in the how perfect and gracious Africans are(refusing to acknowledge the different tribes or mention Rwanda,Congo or Nigeria)….oh how I love the myopia of we bajans….carry on smartly cousins.

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply