Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

July 2013 recorded the lowest number of long stay visitors (47,953) during the same period for 13 consecutive years, so I find it not at all surprising that our policymakers have discussed dramatically curtailing certain events for Crop Over 2014. However, I believe a better analysis is needed to explain away the reasons behind this dismal performance. If you look at the principal markets in the last two years, the figures will reveal that the biggest losses in July 2013 were from the USA (down 10 per cent), Trinidad and Tobago (down 9.2 per cent) and what are defined as Other Countries (down 12.4 per cent).

In all, July 2013 recorded 3,318 less stay over visitors than 2012. This was on the heels of a loss of an overall 6,984 visitors when compared with July 2011. In July 2012 the largest declines were USA (down 18.1 per cent), Trinidad and Tobago (down 10.2 per cent), Other Caricom (down 20 per cent) and Other Countries (down 13.1 per cent). So for the last two years a combined decline of over 10,000 stay-over visitors for the month of July alone.

Has the event become less attractive, should it be blamed on higher airfares especially in the case of T & T or are there other mitigating factors? Perhaps more of a surprise is the announcement by Sandals Resorts to delay the re-opening of their Barbados property to 28th January 2015.

With the frequently discussed dearth of construction work it would beg the question, why could the vaunted US$65 million renovation project not be completed on time. Especially when you take into account that the additional lost six weeks covers what the hospitality industry considers the most profitable and highest occupancy period of the entire year.

At published rack rates that could equate to a revenue deficit of between US$7.7 and US$19 million for the 42 day additional closure! As it has been already established the vast majority of Sandals earnings are collected offshore, so the ‘real’ amount that Barbados will lose cannot be easily calculated.

Of even more concern nationally is the roughly 3,000 airline seats, which may not be filled as a result of the prolonged shutdown that could influence frequency and will detrimentally impact overall long stay visitor arrival numbers. While not openly discussed, some thought has to be given to neighbouring accommodation providers in the immediate vicinity of Sandals Casuarina and the economic negative consequences that ten months of construction will have on occupancy. Possibly Government has factored in some sort of relief for these disadvantaged properties with exemption of land taxes for the period.

While the summer may be the ideal time to undertake this work, I am sure very few hotels could afford to write off all or part of a peak winter season as a result of prolonged redevelopment with its associated noise, dust, discomfort and disruption.

70 responses to “Tourism and Crop Over”

1. @Sargeant

Hasn’t the argument always been about other countries out performing Barbados. Interesting the BTA Chairman is on record we need more capacity out of the USA, the demand is there. The question why can’t we get the seats.

2. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, exactly – ‘we’ have not had any growth out of the USA for 11 years. In the last two yearsalone we have lost over 22,000 US long stay vistors. It is not about increasing capacity, it is about filling existing seats and that is why we lost the JFK American service.

3. @David
    Has anyone ever investigated why tourists go to destination “A” instead of Destination “B” all factors being equal? I would say one of the prime factors is economics and “Money talks and Bullshit walks” if we are a “high end” destination and people are “scrunting” and living in fear of being downsized or “outsized” but decide that they just have to get away where do you think they will go? They will look into their wallet and bank accounts and the decision will be made for them.

As to airline seats it is Economics 101- supply and demand- there are enough “experts” on this blog who can fulminate incessantly on the subject but the airlines make decisions based on economics, if we have what the tourists want at a price they can afford the airlines will divert seats to this market.

4. @Sargeant

To restate and this was confirmed by the Chairman of the BTA this week, there is demand out of the US New York area for example, why are we not able to fill seats?

5. David why don’t you visit some of the travel websites and see the choices available.

This is not 1970 when Barbados had very little competition.

My observation in recent years is the lack of Barbados ads on Television in Toronto and I also went to Travel agencies and noticed that they were not selling Barbados.

I would like some of you Tourism experts to say specifically what the BTA and the Ministry should do to increase the number of Tourists from North America.

State what the BTA has done wrong and exactly what they should be doing.

6. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

HANTS

THERE IS A lack of Barbados ads on Television in ALSO

7. @Hants

Here is what we know and this was echoed by Chairman Elcock this week in the news. We need more seats out of New York, there is demand.

8. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Hants, some of us have already done this in very recent times. We will now wait and see if we have been listened too and our suggestions implemented.

9. David wrote “We need more seats out of New York, there is demand.”

If that is true then the BTA should be negotiating with an airline to fly to Barbados but any airline will want incentives and guarantees they will fill the seats.

10. @GEORGIE PORGIE

I BET MOST PEOPLE WHERE YOU LIVE DON’T KNOW WHERE BARBADOS IS.

11. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

YOU ARE CORRECT HANTS

12. @Hants

They have and Jet Blue has brought on a second flight but we are behind 20,000 seats still. The question why did AA give up the route and why has the BTA struggle to get airlift. If it is a case of incentives it should be in the public domain to give better appreciation of the issues at play.

13. David wrote “The question why did AA give up the route and why has the BTA struggle to get airlift.”

Since we know the BTA elite probably read BU one of them can answer that question.
    20,000 seats is a lot of business for an airline.

14. Georgie Porgie, I am assuming you’re talking about rum shop bullshite you spew incessantly on BU? When has anyone agreed with anything you have written on BU? I think you had better leave the critique to those persons whose opinions are valued here on BU.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ GEORGIR PORGIE

WHU YOU DO TO INCITE MY AMERICAN FRIEND TO ATTACK YOU???

MAYBE IT IS DE CAPITALS DAT YOU USING?

OR DE CAPITAL YOU LIVING IN, YOU LIVE IN AMERICA DO YOU? WHU STATE YOU LIVE IN?

WHY YOU AND MY PARTNER IS PRACTICALLY NEIGHBOURS..

GP LEF MY PARTNER ALONE OR I GINE SEN MY GIRL FUH YOU, YOU HEAR??

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

The BSS have now posted April 2014 arrival figures and while across all markets there was a 2.4 increase, this is based on April 2013 which recorded the second lowest arrivals in 11 years. Once again the USA showed a decline (9.6 per cent or down 1,018) and recorded the lowest arrivals for that month during the last 12 consecutive years despite having Easter in the month.
    Once again, WHY are we looking to increase airlift out of the USA when we cannot fill existing seats?

http://www.barstats.gov.bb/

17. @Adrian

It follows what we were discussing yesterday. The simple answer, we have to keep our marketing people in the US employed. The easy thing to do would have been to divert marketing dollars to an airline willing to fly to Barbados to soak up some of those 20,000 seats.

http://www.barstats.gov.bb/

18. @David
    The question why did AA give up the route and why has the BTA struggle to get airlift. If it is a case of incentives it should be in the public domain to give better appreciation of the issues at play.
    The airline business is a cut throat business and no airline gives up a profitable route willy nilly. I don’t know enough about aircraft loads and profitability to comment on whether 20,000 represents a profit making exercise but if an airline could make money on it they will jump to fill the breach and not let the opportunity go abegging.

What do you mean about incentives in the public domain? What if the hypothetical airline that the Gov’t is trying to lure objects? Some businesses would not be happy at that kind of disclosure as they want to keep their competitors in the dark about their activities and Gov’t may not want this information in the open otherwise they will be others lining up to get the same a la Sandals.

Then you wrote: “The easy thing to do would have been to divert marketing dollars to an airline willing to fly to Barbados to soak up some of those 20,000 seats” This is a simple solution to a complex problem, why not write that they could buy 2 planes with the marketing dollars and fly the whole lot down over the course of a month and voila problem solved.

I am going to leave this thread lest I be discovered to be a fool rushing in…….

19. @Sargeant

Disclosure does not mean revealing the most granular details. Regarding your other flippant comment BU described the comment as simple therefore no need to echo.

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply