Local authorities including the media remain  understandably silent about the the racist comment uttered by Top Gear Host Jeremy Clarkson. He was recorded muttering the nursery rhyme ‘’eeny, meeny, miny moe catch a nigger by he toe’.  After  vigorously denying he used the nigger word lo and behold he was persuaded to publish an apology. The reason for the silence in Little England is explained by tourism officials expecting great things having contracted to host the Top Gear Festival in Barbados on May 17 and 18. Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton of Grenadian parentage is billed to participate. No way the Barbados government wants the festival to be cancelled.

One of many reports in the UK media suggest Jeremy Clarkson is feeling the heat amid calls for the BBC to fire him. Clarkson must feel unlucky at the timing of his indiscretion which collides with that of Donald Sterling’s racist comment.

There is the saying if you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything. Barbados is a predominantly Black country and the Barbados government must know it cannot ignore this matter. Barbadians are known to be very forgiving of their politicians but in this case the world is watching.   Surely we deserve a response from our elected government? Does the government of Barbados a Black country believe this is mock sport? Barbadians continue to pontificate about Donald Sterling in the USA but appear to be giving Clarkson a pass just as he is about to pack his bags to travel to Barbados for the Top Gear Festival? Is this the kind of publicity we want to generate?

BU holds the firm view Jeremy Clarkson should NOT take the flight out to Barbados in a couple of weeks. There is a price he must pay for his indiscretion. His contrived apology is not enough to remove the insult to Blacks and sensible human beings everywhere. If Barbados – a 90 plus percent Black country – were to welcome Jeremy Clarkson to Barbados it would be a compromise to self which our Black forefathers should rightfully not forgive us.

213 responses to “No Thanks Jeremy Clarkson”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I must say this with respect to our need to fight racism in all forms and fashions, at the rate that we are going we will soon find that “too far east is west”

Let me explain.

The Guyanese Director of Public Prosecutions has laid charges against me for conspiring to corrupt the morals of a child and i shall explain why.

Last week our next door neighbour’s child 7 year old child Mary was over by our house visiting my Grandaughter Fern and sad to say after she rported what i said to her parents, her mother called District A and the police came for me and the DPP filed the charges forthwith.

During the time Mary was in the room with us, I was repeating a less known version of the poem Mary had a little lamb to the older grandson to show him how the human mind is more likely to replace a msssing word with something bad than good.

So i started the rhyme

“Mary had a little lamb, she tied it with a twine,
    and everywhere that mary went you could see her bare … (pause)behind”

The grandson understood what i was saying to him, but Mary went home and told her mother that “i had promised to tie her up (with) twine and wanted to see her behind” ergo the big ingrunt Royal police forece men at my house and the Guyanese DPP charging me

I hope that you all will get how reallys stupid this is going to spin out of control, Imagine President Obama at the National Rifle Association Annual Fund raiser surrounded b over 1000 white attendees, whispering to his wife on the occasion of hime being introduced to tasting our Wibisco biscuits “Michelle you know that I hate these crackers, get them out of my sight!!!’

This is going to get real foolish and we are going to have to vet every single word during our conversations or filter out the sounds, I will not be able to say that my favourite singer is Mantovani and that i hate that gaye guy, Margin Gaye, while in the presence of Allair Shepherd and the President of the Gay and Lesbian cause i going lose my pic.

Ooops i forgot that I am retired so I dont wuk nuh where, but Fumble and Sinckliar could now ask de DPP to garnish my pension.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Apology my a–! I read the text: it is not an apology, and even if the apology had sounded heart felt, he should still pay a price for his racist remark.

I don’t believe that he should be welcomed in this country, but you know this Government has no pride and would prefer to err on the side of the money he can bring in.

3. Seriously, Is Clarkson’s utterance, for which he has profusely apologized, really at the level to be considered the behavior of a racist bigot? Or aren’t the unapologetic utterances of Donald Sterling who has actually said worse in the past about blacks and was ignored by the NAACP (LA Chapter). Barbados may do better on this occasion to set aside their haphazard convenient morality!

4. islandgal246 Avatar

Oh Oh, so piece that means we can’t even sing Baa baa black sheep anymore?

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Island Girl246

That is definitively banned.

Things like three blind mice are insulting to the “visually challenged” including persons wearing glasses.

Two little indians is also racist, London Bridge is falling down is a national insult to the cuntry of Englant, Ole Macdonald is a terrible insult to Alex McDonald and my personal favourite When (de) Johnny (ies) come marching homw again (after the 2018 general election must be shied away with a passion if you are at functions with Fumble and the DLPites, actually any political function

We are moving quickly from the sublime to the ridiculous

6. islandgal246 Avatar

LOLL Piece some people are very thin skinned these days,many won’t go in the sun because dem gine get too tanned. I have two black dogs and now they are offended when I describe them. What can I call them hmmmn…any suggestions?

7. Lotta shiite!!
    Some of Bushie’s closest friends are racist….until intimidated by the bushman…. 🙂

Is he an equal opportunity employer?
    Does he pay equal wages and salaries regardless of race and gender?
    …these are the answers Bushie want….

Some of the nicest talkers and most politically correct are the ones who are PRACTICING racist ….
    …most of us would be closet racist (if we had the power to exercise)

…we should focus on the PRACTICIONERS not the shiite talkers, left the damn man do….a low level comedian talking shiite bout cars….!??!!
    Well said again old Peiceuhderrock…..

….besides, – that is the sweetest version of Ennie menie……
    …if he holla, let ‘e go.. 🙂

8. We should send a petition to the BBC from “BU concerned bloggers” asking that Clarkson miss the Barbados Top Gear festival.

I would be interested to hear what Lewis has to say.

I have been watching Top Gear for the last two years and I am sure he can be replaced without negatively affecting the show.

9. Hants I am sure you never called anyone a Black so and so in your life! Or never used any racial slur in your life. Mr goody two toes!

10. Colonel Buggy Avatar

So what are we going to do about our homegrown racists, and those that we have imported from T&T ,Asia and elsewhere. Are we going to ask for a boycott of their businesses and services?
    But we have no qualms about referring to some Asians among as Coolie Men . A just as derogatory label that they have been tagged with by the same English, who tagged us ‘niggers’.

11. David;

Clarkson only repeating what he heard his parents and his parents before his parents saying every day. Knowing this country Bim he will come be meet by the Governor General, have tea at Holders where he shall repeat the nigger thing in jest, lunch at the Yacht Club and dance the night away at the Harbour Lights, with a small supper at Brown Sugar. So this lota talk here is bare boo.

12. @islandgal246,

I am no Mr.Goody two shows but I have never called anyone a black so and so.
    I am not stupid. I value my life.

13. Haunts not even when you lived in Barbados? What about the Indians? What did you refer to them as?

14. Well then…what are we going to do about David’s “white trash”? Not racist according to David. OK – let me get this right. ‘Nigger’ is out but “black trash” is in?? And then again if David says “BU takes the firm view” I suppose he must speak for everyone and anyone dissenting must be racist??? And then again, I suppose the uttering of a word is what makes it racist without reference to the intent with which it was spoken????

David oh lexicographer in the sky…..guide us. Are there any simple rules about what is and what isn’t racist????? And David please tell us, don’t leave us in the dark night, can a black person ever make a racist remark against a white person in BU’s ‘Shorter Bridgetown’??????

15. Clarkson is an idiot. This latest racist incident follows hard on the heels of the last one where he referred to a Vietnamese as a “Slope”. This is as offensive to them as Nigger is to us.
    BTW, why assume that only black Bajans are disgusted with Clarkson? Is it assumed that all whites are bigots? Is that not racist?

16. Keeping it real Avatar
    Keeping it real

Caswell Franklyn | May 3, 2014 at 8:42 PM |
    Apology my a–!

Where were you when a manager at Bizzy store in Warrens force the shopper to grovel and Bizzy say he isn’t firing the manager. It was only when the one man protestor demonstrated with his placards that we knew it was a Bajan white that committed the racist act. What did Bizzy do? Bizzy say he receive calls of support and he is not firing the manager. The racist manager should have been fired and the guy he force to the ground should’ve have brought a law suit against him and Bizzy store. Where was your voice on that Caswell?

17. Unhappy tourist Avatar
    Unhappy tourist

No way do I defend Mr Clarkson because I totally hate the ‘n’ word but I think Barbados needs to take some of its local people to task on this one. Whilst on holiday I was speaking with the receptionist of my hotel when another local guy went by. The receptionist shouted ‘something’ to him that I hoped I’d misheard! When I asked what he’d said I realised I hadn’t misheard at all! He had used the ‘n’ word!! I was so shocked and told him he couldn’t say that! I was told “Why? He’s my n****r” I told him that would be a racist offence in my country and taken very seriously. I was just laughed at by the guy!! Barbados needs to correct some of their own people before showing ‘upset’ by what is done elsewhere. I love the Country but this is a case of double standards. IF Jeremy Clarkson is allowed to appear this month I am sure he will know, within the first few seconds of the commencement of Top Gear, whether Barbados is happy to have him there! People who have already bought tickets? Are they going to stay away in protest or will they still arrive to see the show anyway?

18. St George's Dragon Avatar

The Top Gear Festival which Jeremy Clarkson is coming to host is at the newly upgraded Bushy Park.
    This would be the same Bushy Park renovation that BU and many others criticized Gline Clarke for making a racist statement about in Parliament when he said:
    “I am appalled …. that a Government in 2011 would be dealing with a group of white conservative rich people. I am saying Mr Speaker that the Barbados Rally Club is a group of White …. conservative people…”
    Clarkson at least had the sense to mumble. Clarke didn’t but was apparently tired at the time.
    You say above – “There is a price he must pay for his indiscretion. His contrived apology is not enough to remove the insult to Blacks and sensible human beings everywhere.”
    Remind me, did Clarke apologise and was his apology contrived?

19. Yeah…imagine sayin a bridge sloped……and do you know that bloody man actually named his black dog after a black footballer? Christ the man is WORSE than Sterling. Gee I was soooooo shocked when I heard him DISTINCTLY say……….
    $YIIG&RRW@

20. BUT to Island and Pieceuh on black sheep………I’m so glad you said that. It means no family can ever have a ‘black sheep’. Yeah…I’m home and dry. Does it mean I’ll go to heaven now?

21. I am sure that 99% of us Bajans, white, black and in between have used this rhyme before.
    This is just sensationalist rubbish that you are bantering around here.
    I hope that no one will be stupid enough to make any scenes when Clarkson comes to Barbados as the bad press from something like that would be really detrimental to our tourist industry; fragile as it is at the moment.
    We need to be positive and move on. Nothing will be achieved by harping on about something as insignificant as this.

22. BU is encouraged that two White majority countries – a former colonizer – has reacted to the two incidents by banning Sterling for life from the NBA and the BBC has issued a final warning to Clarkson. They obviously view the two revelations as serious.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Unhappy tourist | May 4, 2014 at 1:37 AM |
    “I love the Country but this is a case of double standards. IF Jeremy Clarkson is allowed to appear this month I am sure he will know, within the first few seconds of the commencement of Top Gear, whether Barbados is happy to have him there! People who have already bought tickets? Are they going to stay away in protest or will they still arrive to see the show anyway?”

Wait and you shall surely see. The Minister of Sports will be the first to welcome Jeremy with his black doggie called Drogba at the GAIA. There will be a media frenzy scene like Jesse Owens meeting Hitler in reverse.
    Jeremy is quite familiar with Barbados and knows the culture of racial superiority and hypocrisy that favours his kind.

Very few in Britain really cares what Jeremy would be up to in sunny Barbados. Would a few strong rum punches loosen his tongue and let the real Jeremy out to run stark naked on the beach off Sandy Lane? Then, not even Max Clifford would be able to save his sorry ass from the British tabloids.

24. Unhappy Tourist

I total agree with your analysis regarding the usage of the N word within the black social context these days. But what you have failed to understanding is the fact that every generation use the N word differently. Some twenty years ago when I was a young lad, the N word constituted permanented part of my generation vernacular, especially on the basket ball court. The guys would use terms such as: nigger pass the ball, nigger please, and nigger you’re stupid etc, and it was quite conducive to my generation at the time. So how comes all of a sudden it affronts our conscience because the black youth today use it in they own unique way? Unhappy Tourist, I could sure you, that you were talking about two young guys and you’re an older gentleman? So no need to get bent out of shape over the use of the N words these days because it has a totally different understanding from what you perceived it to mean in your generation. Do you remember during President Obama’s bid for office, Jessie Jackson was caught on tape describing President Obama by the use of the N word?

25. first let me say this,,,to make a parody of the seriousness of an issue such as racism or racist attitudes is as close as one can get to being called a racist,,,,,,,which points to the innate and insipid and tasteless comments by one PDYR and endorsed by others ,,
    having said that,,,,,,, i did a little back ground check on Clarkson and from my readings ,,there is not enough evedience to suggest this person to be a racist,,unlike sterling who used his money and power to be openly racist and have had several law suits filed against him pertaining to discrimination even as much as attaching himself to black groups and organization in a pretense of hiding his true self,,,,, the clarkson tape on the heels of sterling might be feeling the effect or fall out from the sterling incident ,,,,however it is crucial and most important that incidents such as those be not swept under the rug ,,clarkson in my opinion made a poor and offensive error in judgement ,,,but does it means that he is a racist …..i need more proof,,,,,,as for the apology ,it was just as bumbling as the tape itself,

26. Unhappy Tourist

It is only because of the enslavement of the man of colour, that the use of the N word affronts the conscience some blacks, when it is use by anyone either than black.

27. Prominent people have to resign and apologize for making ignorant or insensitive statements everyday in this world. There is usually a consequence to doing or saying something stupid. In other words we don’t have to do research to establish if Clarkson is racist, we simply have to react to the fact he said something that was stupid and his employer has discipline him as a result. BU’s position is that coming so soon after the incident to come to Barbados, a Black Country, would be a case of adding to the insensitivity.

On Sunday, 4 May 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

28. Are we forgetting the good that Top Gear will do for Barbados in terms of world wide advertising just so that we can gain a few points by insisting that Clarkson not come.
    At this time, Clarkson IS Top Gear, if he does not come, what will be achieved? It will be an anti climax, like having Who’s Got talent without Simon Cowell. Rubbish.

29. @Sam Shank

As usual we should be prepared to sacrifice anything and everything for the good that the economics can do.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

For once you have made a counter that is worthy of a response.

You have said (i) it was a poor and insensitive comment, (ii) that, (based on a context my append, remarks like these should not be swept under the carpet and (iii) that you would need more evidence to see that he is a racist.

If I, a black man, call my dog Obama what does that make me?

Insensitive?

I have had dogs named Caesar, Goliath and other sterling (no pun intended) figures over these many years.

So if i move from an anachronistic naming practice to a more contempory one and being white used the name obama to speak of tenacity and determination, or droga to speak of artfulness skill and alacrity, does that make me racist?

The point that i am making with my insipid and tasteless comments (innate is not a word you can use here AC) is that we are moving from the sublime to the ridiculous.

Let me give you an example for your edification.

I have been in heated conversations with BLP and DLP avid supporters where, in support of our positions on the economy of Barbados, some of us, in putting forward positions that we genuinely believed in have said, when referring to “Chris Sinkliar” “you en know, He want killing”

Now tell me this, someone gets that conversation on a video and carries it to the current Commissioner of Police or Chris heself and whaplax all uh we phvckers in a heated discussion on charges to kill a minister.

The point oh wise one is NOT THAT ONE IS BEING INSIPID and TASTELESS but that if you really carry this to its logical conclusion, any 2 year old child recorded on a video saying that one person is a cvnt or another is a nigger WILL FIND THEMSELVES having to give some sort of excuse as to their spoken or written word, some time later in their lives, just depending on who the phreaking audience is and what cuntry we are in.

I know that sometimes you can be a stickler for unreasonable support of the indefensible but pause here and put your mind in gear before you put your tongue in motion

31. @David. Sacrifice what? The man used a rhyme that people use all the time without meaning any offense. Grow up.

32. @Sam Shank

And why has his employer told him to apologize or else?

Why has the UK Education minister admonished him as well?

Yes we know the answer, he fund nothing wrong.

33. @David
    “And why has his employer told him to apologize or else?
    Why has the UK Education minister admonished him as well? ”

Because nowadays everyone wants to be PC so that they are seen to be fair and in the case of the Minister to win the votes of the Black constituents

34. Hamilton Hill Avatar
    Hamilton Hill

St.George Dragon is on point here. While we are told that it is a smart man who chooses his battles, the moral compass does not allow such latitude. We gave an unconditional pass to Glyne Clarke. As I mentioned earlier a well connected indian woman said some of the most vile things right to the faces of some in her employ and we did nothing. Remember the company in St George that made pesticides? If memory serves correctly it was called Flick. It also made a product called Febtec.What took place there pales in comparison to the remarks of Jeremy Clarkson, and on more than one occasion the line was crossed where physicality came into play. What did the police at Boarded Hall do? NOT ONE ASS.What did the labour department do? NOT ONE ASS.

35. Right but remember if you say or do something stupid be prepared to take flack.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sam Shank | May 4, 2014 at 8:02 AM |

You are omitting the Didier Drogba black dog incident.
    What are your views on that one? Why not call his dog Mr. Golliwog?
    Jeremy the tartan son of Clark should remember to buy one from the Barbados Museum curio shop to take back as a playmate to his canine friend.

37. Wow! Thanks for agreeing with me on that.
    Taking flack is one thing.
    Asking for the man to be fired or to not come to Barbados is taking it too far

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Suddenly I now find that with every submission to the blog that I get the following message

“Your comment is awaiting moderation”

What are we fighting for?

Is this to make Bulbados better?

Do we have to sit and let a set of ingrunt peoples lead us to our destruction in word or in deed?

I dont really care if it is Owen Arthur or Mia Mottley or Fumble Stuart or Chris Sinkliar who is leading us down the road to perdition or if the ACs or other chap write anything that is patently stupid or just plain shite I will, if i feel so inclined rise and say so.

I am starting to see a change and I have said so to you privately and now I say so publicly.

Either we allow freedom of speech to surface here, as is done regarding the litany of invectives that of late are allowed to run for 20 or more consecutive submissions, or we come to that point where we have a statement that says “if you are going to blog on Tom Adams or David Thompson and those who are dead you allowed to say “a”.

If you are going to blog about the living who come from the echelon of the rich in our society you can say “b”, if you are going to blog against the common man in the streets of barbados it is a free for all and “you are allowed to say anything at all” because they do not matter.

All of our faeces stinks and therefore, as long and we are in the public eye, or we, to use your words ” POST A COMMENT AND JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE” we open ourselves to being remarked upon and cussed.

But, as with all things finite, in this incarnation that we are privy to travail in, all things change and finally come to an end

39. @ David …….
    rolling my eyes………….i don’t believe any one in their right mind would excuse what Clarkson said except for the few comments which took a racist matter and turned it into a satire playing on past nursery rhymes as what was acceptable in eras when racism was the norm…….for sure i for one have not excused his behavior,,,,,,even though i tried to find evidence as to how he is being perceived and to bloaster the point that he is a racist by looking into his background,,,,,,,,,a poor error of judgement yes,,,,a racist the jury is still out, that is my opinion..
    now whether he should comes to barbados and partake in the rally ,,,,,,i hope he would have the decency to decline,,,,,,,,as this could be a double whammy for him….and a real insult to blacks one which every bajan should take personally ,,,one which would smack of elitism and having no respect and (an) up in your face attitude with total disregard for blacks especially when he is asking forgiveness…. the test of his serenity would be whether he opts out of t top gear rally or if he shows up,, revealing whether clarkson is self interested or whether his apology was genuine,,

40. @Hamilton

The same can be said that Sterling has been known for years as an idiot and bigot and yet the NBA et al never went after him until now. They took the path of ignoring him or settling our of court. The bottomline, sometimes it takes the final load to break the donkey’s back. It will be a bold politician in Barbados who knowingly utter a comment construed as racist or stupid in these times a la Inniss and Brathwaite striking at Duguid’s manhood.

41. islandgal246 Avatar

Did Sir Roy apologise when he called someone an “Egyptian Jew”?
    Didn’t the PM say that he saw nothing wrong with what Sir Roy said?

42. @Sam Shank

It is all in the definition of flack isn’t it. Asking for his resignation is part of the flack. The negative hashtags on Twitter is part of flack. You have your position we have ours.

43. @PODRYR

Just updated BU’s filter to temper some of the base language which a few commenters started to feel comfortable using.

44. PDYR says;

The point oh wise one is NOT THAT ONE IS BEING INSIPID and TASTELESS but that if you really carry this to its logical conclusion, any 2 year old child recorded on a video saying that one person is a cvnt or another is a nigger WILL FIND THEMSELVES having to give some sort of excuse as to their spoken or written word, some time later in their lives, just depending on who the phreaking audience is and what cuntry we are in
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

look you are losing point of what is causing the noise and outrage when comments or words of insensitivity racial or bigoted unintentional or intentional are being used,,,,,,WE now lived in a global society where all is being included ..race religion….gay straight u named it,,,the era where the world seem so large and people tried to sterilize or cover up does not longer exist,,,, the fact is in order for all of us to get along in this global and not so unreachable world,, we have to relearned or thinking… your above comments speak of a person who is out of touch and feels comfortable in living in a world which is being left behind,,,,,the reality is that with more exposure and condemnation of words that are used to demean and vilify,,there would be less two year old on video having to face the world in the future with such words which he or she might have to account for,,,,,,what is happening now is a civilization trying to catch up with time and looking for redemption…. doing the best to be less tolerant of the clarkson and sterlings of this world,,,,,a message that is being handed to two year olds all over the world,,,a message which would improve their sensitivity and move them far away from a world which once practiced racism and bigotry as the norm…maybe there is light at the end of the tunnel after all,,,don’t belive i am saying that,,,,

45. david why is my comment awaiting moderation ..i never used profanity i replied to PDYR comment is the most civilised and salient way possible,,,,,

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Having read the other entry submitted by my nemesis, I can now see why…

Wow…

47. @ac

The way wordpress works Peter pays for Paul. We should bear this in mind when we communicate in ways not civil.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

While it gives me some pain to write this, there is reason and profound logic in your submission of | May 4, 2014 at 8:46 AM |

I am convinced that there are two of you at your house….lol

49. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ David..I take your point as I hasten to say that I in no way condone the offensive remarks of Mr. Clarkson. I still hold fast to my point that like charity, the fight against this nonsense must begin at home….glad that BU has finally moved to restrict certain language on this site. For quite sometime now I felt that there were those who were unwittingly playing into the hands of the BAJAN INTELEGENTSIA who cannot wait to make their case why this and sites like this one should be shut down. Just ask the captain of the noise police if ya doubt me.

50. PDYR……
    i hope you learned something from my comment,,,there is a nugget in it for you and all others who look at life through the rear view mirror and see the images of the past that are causing so much pain now as being relevant using them as excuses,,,, yes i am what people called an” ole soul”……..very much ahead of my time,,,,,,,, understandable of those who cannot accept my points of views,,,,,but would continue to say them……

Leave a Reply to pieceuhderockyeahrightCancel reply