Submitted by Cassy
Golliwog doll

It was Easter Holiday so I took the opportunity to take my children around Barbados, not only cultural events and historical places but also to listen to some political views of the Caribbean people.

It was at the Barbados museum bookshop while buying some books that one of my children asked me if it was still legal to sell golliwog type dolls. My reply was that it was in Barbados because clearly those type of dolls are right there for sale next to the books on Slavery and the effects of the slave trade.

A week later and my children are still upset that those dolls are for sale with  ” Barbados” printed on the front.

The sales lady too said that it upsets her to sell them but the white tourist love to buy them so in that case the dolls bring in money.

Anywhere else and there would have been an outcry!

203 responses to “Golliwog Type Dolls on Sale”

1. @islandgal

You are saying that an artist determines what is good art and to hell with its symbolic implication?

Go Rihanna!

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/04/11/rihanna-naked-nude-bum-bottom-pictures-nsfw-photos_n_5131722.html

On Saturday, 26 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

2. David an artist does whatever inspires him or her at the time. It can be a thing of beauty to some and not to others.

3. Agree with you islandgal and this is the point.

4. @ islandgal246

“Artaxes..I hope you were also traumatized by baby Jesus and the bible.”

Firstly, I wrote “traumatized” in inverted commas to denote my play on the word.

The only difference between you Bible lovers and Bible haters is that one likes the Bible and the other hates it. All other things remain equal….. in that you both refer to the Bible in cases where it does not merit being mentioned……. or when you seek to be sarcastic or insensitive to other people’s beliefs or opinions…… and when you try to force your beliefs on others.

5. Islandgal

“An artist does whatever inspires him or her at the time”

You’re quite right Islandgal, one without any moral compass. As provocative as Rihanna has become, why would you allow impressionable children to watch her videos? ( I guess it is a parent responsibility to monitor what his or her child watch or listen to) Why am I surprised by your comment? What meaningful lesson can be derive from Rihanna exposing her rear end?

6. The controversial Angela Cole. Some call her mad other a straightshooter.

http://youtu.be/JcoxCNDvrn8

7. Where have I said that I approved of rhianna’s latest bare butt video? Donkey you are an asshole. How dare you decide on what my moral compass is. At least I don’t pretend to be a hypocrite like many here.

8. Islandgal

Let me ask you this question: without a standard of conduct upon which to stand, how would you be able determine what’s an acceptable standard of conduct?

9. Islandgal

Whether you want to accept it or not, you’re entire moral outlook is guided by a religious morality.Your ideas about murder, fornication and incestuous-rape etc, are all predicated upon religious values.

10. Racism exist and we MUST kick proponents of it to the curb. President Obama MUST make a statement.

NBA investigating if Clippers owner Donald Sterling made racist comments

Jeff Zillgitt and Sam Amick, USA TODAY Sports6:06 p.m. EDT April 26, 2014

USATSI_7556685

(Photo: Kirby Lee, USA TODAY Sports)

SHARE 2928CONNECT 458TWEET 122COMMENTEMAILMORE

The NBA is investigating whether racially insensitive comments in an audio recording obtained by TMZ were made by Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling.

"The remarks heard on the recording are disturbing and offensive, but at this time we have no further information," NBA executive vice president of communication Mike Bass said. He also said the league is conducting a "full investigation."

MAGIC OUT: Johnson vows he won’t attend Clippers games

OUTRAGE: Players, coaches react to comments

The players union is also looking into the situation, according to president Chris Paul, who is also the Clippers point guard.

"On behalf of the National Basketball Players Association, this is a very serious issue which we will address aggressively," Paul said in a statement. "We have asked Mayor Kevin Johnson to expand his responsibilities with the NBPA, to determine our response and our next steps. As players, we owe it to our teams and our fans to keep our focus on our game, the playoffs, and the drive to the Finals."

Sacramento mayor Kevin Johnson, who is helping the union find its next executive director, called for an investigation and possible punishment.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nba/clippers/2014/04/26/donald-sterling-clippers-audio-recording-racist/8202135/

11. Can’t understand why a young woman would even entertain partnering with this lump of garbage, there is not enough quadrillions in the world to attract me to such an unhealthy lump of flesh…uhhh!!

12. Racism exists because some(the vocal ones) of us buy into it.
    Psycological damage exists because we want it to.
    The poor me syndrome exists because we like it so.
    Only when we remove the above can we move anywhere.

13. David

We have failed to realize that in America, one is entitled to express his or her racist sentiments. It is a constitutional right granted under the Free-Speech clause, of the First Amendment to the United States Constitution. Racial speech which is designed to incite violence is unconstitutional.

14. @Vincent

Your observation ignores the often unidirectional nature of how racism is heaped on Black people. Whether it has an effect on Black people is irrelevant.

15. every time i flip these pages one island gal trying to flipf the issues her defense of last resort is a sorry attempt to shove dow peoples throat the historical jesuis character whether true not to a golliwog,, some what like comparing apples and oranges,,,,for as well as we all know that the jesus character is enshrined with royality ..martyrdom and some would say spirituality,,,,,,,,all of which was designed and defined by whitesclearly as a representation of themselves……..the same whites who designed and defined a black character in the most inhumane ways ,,one whose character was completely the opposite of jesus ,,which as we all know was to protray blacks ad stupid and ugly and pitiful,,,,,,,even if blacks did in deed show respect or positivity towards a white jesus mostly it was by indoctrination and a necessary need to find a person with good qualities to lean on some or any such person (black ) as most would agree did not exit in the minds of whites who pressed forward with justification to villify and ridicule a black race,,,,,not surprising that the only character of that time would have been a golliwog or a “tar baby”now in this same vein can the same appreciation be attached or said of a golliwog similar to that of a jesus,,,,idare say not,,,,,as one can clearly see that the two are living at opposite ends of the reality pole ,,, however i would venture to say the good guy was perceived as white and pristine even though historical facts are inconclusive and the black guy,,,,,,umm you be the judge,,,,,,,,

16. Skippah….You can unidirect…. as much as you want…….once I pay you no mind,what happens….huh???

17. @Vincent

What about those who don’t have your capacity?

And what about the public morality obligation of society to protect them?

18. David….looking after the disenfranchised,dispossesed and the poor,irrespective of melanin content is what civil society has been doing for eons,with from time to time some help from government.

19. Vincent

Racism exist because those on the opposite spectrum perpetuates it and it has real and concrete consequences for those on the receiving end. Why do think Affirmative Action was instituted in the first place? Well, let me inform your thinking: it was implemented to addressed the racial as well as the gender disparities in work place, brought about by institutional racism.

20. @Vincent

Good, we agree on something, there is hope.

Now tell President Obama, a Black president, to tell the owner of the Los Angeles Clippers to kiss his Black ass so that a clear message is sent to White bigots who make money from the sweat of mainly Black players where the country stand and what will be tolerated. An eery similarity here.

21. Vincent
    Racism is NOT about people talking shiite-talk like “golliwog or nigga or honky”… Racism is the culture of using state powers to unfairly enforce racial bias…
    How does one “pay that no mind…?” …..except of course for us Bajan BBs, who by “paying it no mind” allows the unique situation where the majority (holders of political power) operate and endorse a default racist system that is biased against them, and towards the minority…..

It is therefore a double slap in the face when such a minority, in addition to enjoying the spoils of this default racism, would promote such symbols as the golliwog doll…..and worse, when the victims can “see nothing wrong with this…”
    Obviously the golliwog proponents have come to the conclusion that we are such brass bowls that we don’t even know when we are being pissed on…

There is none so blind as he who would not see…

22. Vincent

Racism is allowed to flourish because those on opposite spectrum, have the power and economic means, to deny those on the receiving end. So it is time to push this economic empowerment agenda, if we hope to undermine the racist agenda.

23. Bush Tea | April 26, 2014 at 7:53 PM |

Vincent
    Racism is NOT about people talking shiite-talk like “golliwog or nigga or honky”… Racism is the culture of using state powers to unfairly enforce racial bias…
    How does one “pay that no mind…?” …..except of course for us Bajan BBs, who by “paying it no mind” allows the unique situation where the majority (holders of political power) operate and endorse a default racist system that is biased against them, and towards the minority…..

………………………………………………………………………

Is that happening here,if so how,where and why???

24. Vincent

Is this mental telepathy? We have arrived at the same conclusion coincidentally…

25. Dompey….Chuckle…..you will note that I have avoided you and the reason is simple it takes a highly intelligent human being to play the part of an idiot/fool….Have fun.

26. Vincent

You’re speaking to someone who has lived, read and understands the dynamics of racism. I have lived in America prior to the Profiling- Laws brother. This is where the racist police use the (Law) to keep the negro in his place. This is how the power aspect of racism is expressed in America.

27. Dompey……are you sure you live in the US, this guy Sterling would be drawn and quartered by everyone in the US for being an asshole..

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/donald-sterling-apologizes-racist-comments-receives-backlash-twitter-article-1.1770323

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well well,

That you have come to this surprises me and hurts me ….you MUST HAVE contrived that article in an attempt to discredit the mighty Amurica

Things like that do not happen in this forward thinking, advanced society not according to what i have been seeing by post by my new comrade who graciously likened me to Nietzsche recently.

There is a law against falsifying websites like how the Nation Newspaper falsified the polls and results prior to the 2008 elections

You must take it back immediately or i will beg David[BU] to ban you for compiling spurious information regarding the peace loving (war mongering against smaller sovereign countries) fair playing (teifing other peoples technologies, downing plane and blanketing transponder signals) democracy supporting ( purveyors of coups and sanctioned assassinations) United States of America – Bless all 52 stars and stripes

I going get my friend from the US Army come for you in the cool of the night and waterboard you hmmmph….10 more minutes to the dope up wid de insulin….

29. @Pieceuhderochyeahright

Did you say CHADS, Florida?

On Sunday, 27 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

CHAD Florida or St Michael South it is all the same for where could one have a PM see vote buying with his own eyes and mention it in a victory speech and leave it untouched?

Just like the golliwog dolls, show that people are lacking in sensitivity, and much like said golliwogs are devoid of hands, so too are our Prime Ministers men without balls!!

31. It is amazing that in USA which promotes itself as the land of the free and the greatest democracy on earth the owner of a bssket team can say what he said and the team plays. Some things transcend money.

32. in a way david you are right.. however the team is shackled to contracts ,,,,,,,,,no and buts about it…. which might make for play power by the owners when this all blows away…..nevertheless some team members and other influential basket ball players like lebraun has spoken out…… the most they can do………. the laws are there to protect and defend the rich …freedom for the rich is different for freedom for the poor,,, the right to free speech gave that ignoramus a ground on which he could spout his bile,,,,,,the right for the players to speak out although governed by the same laws can make sh,,t for the team members if they ventured to cross the line between their owner and their job,,,

33. @ac

This is the problem with the world today, money.

What better stage for a whole team plus management to make an unequivocal statement that there is no place for racism in this world?

Hypocrites!

34. @ David…..Just heard Obama say this ““When ignorant folks want to advertise their ignorance, you don’t really have to do anything, you just let them talk,”

That is the slick way of using “clean” language to tell Sterling ” to kiss his Black ass “

35. Piece…..what can i tell ya..lol

36. @Hants

Yes he was nice about it. It just goes to show when we compromise on principles read doing the correct thing it will come back to bite you in the posterior. Because this guy slushed his money around he was able to weasel his way around the corporate and social scene in Amercia.

37. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

racism might never go away but who cares, blacks can get pass that and not give a rat’s ass who thinks what.. Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling, is racist, no black person should ever again support his games as much as they might love basketball.

they are very wicked people in this world who are bent on showing the black man that they want him to think he is less than them. for instance look at our girl Rihanna with her lastest photoshoot. she is totally naked while down on her knees with her vagina exposed , the man next to her has a mike. her body was spayed with some kind of spray giving her a chocolate look in one pic and olive in the other. why i do not like the pictures is due to the fact that even tho she has a beautiful body, she allows mainstream media to purposely portray the black woman as a slut and not a chaste female.

rihanna and Katy Perry are good friends, with similar talents yet i have NEVER seen Kary Perry in those kinds of controversial poses, in fact she she more beautiful than Rihanna and white yet somehow Rihanna is the one degrading herself for the world. when those agencies approach her with their sleazy offers, ‘complimenting’ her on her looks etc, she has every right to stand up for the black woman. Wendy Williams spoke on her show recently that even with that show Dancing with the Stars, she was kicked off pretty early because, even tho it was reality TV, they were still given scripts and her script was that she should talk and act like the ‘angry black woman’, with the silly hand movements and slange talk. she of course refused and spoke in her natural accent and did not say what the producers expected her, so she was kicked off during her second appearance on the pretext that she and her partner scorned the lowest scores.

Rihanna is mature enough now to realise that people out there are bent on pushing out the black female entertainer as a slut and she should not put herself in the way to confirm it

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Smooth Chocolate

Before i even start writing this I want to make a plea to you all, ignore me as messenger here and look dispassionatley at what i am saying just for a few moments please

Unfortunately what you smooth chocolate are saying seems so true, while some of us would have wanted to have (i) someone black (ii) someone beautiful (iii) someone Barbadiense / Bajan to be the ambassador and hold that title proud and continue to be the envy and idol of the world, we are where we are at today

Soon, if she continues on this pathway, her UN ambassadorship will be revoked.

Even Baffy or the most avowed Rihanna supporter cant gainsay the sluttish behaviour, which being the former imbiber of strange things in my youthful days, am sure is drug induced.

It comes over like a cry for help as in an obvious “something-is-seriously-wrong-since-i-have-all-the-money-and-all -the-fame-and-adulationa-person-could-want-but-i am-suffering-something-real-serious-right-now-and-i-am-not-coping-well”

I dont know if de ole man reading dis ting right but all of this wild abandon seems to me like if she is in so much pain right now and the hallucinogens are controlling her and thee is no one to pull her back either.

So sad really so very sad….so much talent and potential… so wasted..so soon

39. ….with the advent of the blacks being portrayed as golliwogs and monkeys and less than human…..we have now come full circle and have introduced a new form of acceptable intellectual racism which is portraying blacks as angry and worthless sluts and whores,,, suttle as it maybe,,,,, this kind of introduction is slowly being weaned into the human mind with an effect of changing the way blacks see themselves one of being proud and dignified,,,, this type of mass reconditioning of the black psyche has now reduced blacks to a level so low that even the devil himself might be offended,,,

40. @David
    It is amazing that in USA which promotes itself as the land of the free and the greatest democracy on earth the owner of a bssket team can say what he said and the team plays.
    ++++++++++
    Yuh know I’ve been around so long that comments from people like Donald Sterling don’t bother me, I don’t lose any sleep over these type of people. The man has a history of making racist statements about Blacks, Mexicans and other minorities and if anyone should be blamed for his holding on to that franchise so long it is the former NBA Commish David Stern who left the job at the beginning of the year. Stern knew about Sterling’s history and never called him on the carpet

However I save my greatest ire for the NAACP an organisation that has clearly lost its way, why was what one of the most important institutions in the history of Black America about to give the man a lifetime achievement? I understand that he has already received on lifetime achievement from them and they were about to give him another, how many lifetime achievements does one man get?

Given his history he should be as welcome at an NAACP gathering as a skunk at a garden party. The people who donate money to the NAACP should ask for their money back, recently they were complaining about the US Supreme Court decision upholding Michigan’s decision to ban affirmative action. With organisations like this representing Black people is it any wonder that we are taken for fools?

41. @Islandgal246 April 25, 2014 at 10:57 AM “Piece if you have never seen a white doggie then Google it!”

Dear island: I’ve never seen a white doggie either. So I took your advice and googled it and this is what I found.

https://www.google.com/#q=white+doggie

Thanks.

42. What was a beautiful young woman doing with this ugly adulterous, racist old troll?

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

Thank you for the link, if i should ever grow bored and or have a moment where seeing a white penis will be the panacea, i shall make use of your link and follow the advice of island girl 246.

It would appear that I, having not seen a white doggie, am likened to some type of pariah, and you, young black woman are probably going to be dubbed an anachronism as well, since we seem to have missed out on what our black brothers and sisters do as an unwritten rite of passage for which we did not get the memo.

As to the question about the young woman/old man encounter I being old can answer that with some certitude.

Generally, for the young woman it is the comfort of “comfort (translated here as wealth) by proxy” since, of her own, she may not have the resources to take care of herself and may have grown tired of the games that men of her age play with women of such pulchritude

For him it is a series of things

(i) the potentiometer of the “essence of life” – a type of vampiricism that youth brings to us ole farts coupled with
    (ii) the “no baggage” syndrome, for at her age while one accepts that she will hot have allot of the life experiences of a woman that is his “counterpart in years” would have, she also does not have the other baggage that they do, the menopause, the hot flashed, the irrational moments
    (iii) unlike the older women she is very capable of the “movementations” that we ole men oft times have stuck in our minds, stasis in what we used to be in our glory days
    (iii) we are rich enough to afford our desires

He is not alone, it is the nature of “things male” that thorn in the flesh that Peter the Apostle seems to allude to and the Berscoloni’s and the Sir COW’s of this world fall victim to.

It is the nature of man, Just calling it like it is young one

44. Piece

I do not know why you and the rest of them here cussing Sterling. The man does not like too many blacks around his girl; what is bad about that. Most of you here behave as if the black american is some angel. The man has the right to prefer who he sees around his girl. Sterling and the white establishment in the US also know that Blacks shall fall in line in a month or two. We Black people cuss Chinese, Indians, white , Jews, Coolies, Trip on this blog, but get vex because a man is bold enough to cuss we in public. Sterling has a right to his opinion.

45. @Lemuel

Not all only a few transplanted Americans who frequent BU.

46. I denounce racism and segregation in all forms, especially when it is done within our society by Black people against other Black people. We see racism and segregation playing out in every aspect of our daily lives. For example, how about those individuals who take comfort in being insulting and abusive because their complexion may be lighter or hair curlier than that of their friends, and it is those persons who refer to their darker, “knotty haired” friends (or strangers) as “golliwogs” or “navy blue boys”. In my opinion this is worse than coming from a white man.
    In this society we have individuals, who because they are what we call “clear skin”, see themselves as being superior to persons of darker complexion and always try to associate with white people.

When you go into a store, more often than not you have to go looking for a clerk for help, and when you approach them, you get that “why you humbugging for now” reaction, as opposed to their running to the white man with “Good morning sir, may I help you”.

What about the secretary who snubs the maid although they were best of friends growing up in the same district or at school. Or the Harrison’s College student being skeptical of associating with a colleague on finding out he went to Ellerslie Secondary.

Do any of you ever notice how Black people tend to change their accents when talking to, or suddenly developing a subservient demeanor when interacting with white people?

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lemuel

I think you have accused me of an act that I did not do.

No where in my text did I cuss Sterling.

In fact one ole fart spoke of the nature of our attraction to young flesh, being the lecherous ole fogey that i expect to be called for my post of | April 28, 2014 at 8:04 AM |

I am trying to find the exact conversations to form my own opinion but like you tend to err on the side of the alpha male marking out his territory for his beauteous companion

You gots to be old to understand the pressure that he is under, if you dont live it, it is an alien concept to understand that when the old rich buck, see the younger rick buck close to his “territory” if his affection is only one that is returned because of his gifting, he becomes threatened and will sometimes speak out and say some stupid things, that can be misinterpreted. (notwithstanding any racists remarks)

Alot of us forget when Mel Gibson of Die Hard(er) fame was inflamed with his (much younger?? by 15 years) escort Oksana Grigorieva.

Some of us mark territory in the most stupid of ways Lemuel.

Some of us rant and rave, say stupid things, kill or have our significant others killed, and just don’t walk away

48. @Lemuel April 28, 2014 at 8:23 AM “I do not know why you and the rest of them here cussing Sterling. The man does not like too many blacks around his girl”

But the young woman is herself black.

And why did Sterling believe that he could bad talk black people with a black person and have his dirty confidences kept?

Is the man a fool as well as a racist?

49. @ Artaxerxes April 28, 2014 at 9:24 AM In this society we have individuals, who because they are what we call “clear skin”, see themselves as being superior to persons of darker complexion”

Then these people are clearly idiots, and you have nothing to lose by not being their friend.

Anybody who believes that white/light skin colour signifies anything except the body’s attempt to get enough sunlight (Vitamin D) for survival is so stupid that they are unworthy/incapable of serious conversation.

All white means is that at some point in recent human history (50,000 years or less) your ancestors lived in a place of scare sunshine.

50. Would be interesting to find out from when his Latino girlfriend knew about his bigoted inclination.

On Monday, 28 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote: