Barbadians love sugar and this is no secret. We are known also as the amputation capital of the world and the high incidence of non communicable diseases is also no secret. There is evidence more Barbadians are buying into good diet and exercise albeit at too sluggish a rate.

Related link: Rational Approach To Diet, Exercise

Thanks to Bentley.

198 responses to “Metabolic Syndrome: Fatty Bum Bum”

1. MoneyBrain

There are real benefits to be gained from using Garlic but of course, the therapeutic effects varies from person to person. A few years ago my cholesterol was sightly elevated and knowing the dangerous side -effects associated with conventional cholesterol medications. Someone suggested that I try garlic before opting for the conventional medical alternative and I have found results. The problem with conventional medicine is that it doesn’t address the etiology of the problem in its totality. It fixes one problem and causes the next.

2. @GP

Doc, no need to let the BU ”experts” like dopey donkey et al irritate your spirit. Have you forgotten that all the BU posters are founts of knowledge on every topic,Including medicine for which you had to spend years of effort and study to acquire?
    We who are willing to will learn from your postings here. Keep up the good work, Doc.

3. @de hood
    I bin spending countless hours over 40yrs+ at the Strip joints studying my OB GY courses to say nothing about my vast practical experience with my lady!! The only reason I did not become a specialist OB GY is dat I dont want to take my work home! LOL

4. I do not have anything negative to say about the healthcare system in Barbados. Because it is what it is. But I would think very conscientuously about taking any medical advice from a doctor in Barbados, knowing that that healthcare system lacks the necessary medical technology which would give a patient a fighting chance. Especially, those patients with cancer but of course, I am saying this because I now live in the US.
    But the reality is if you have cancer and lives in the US, you stand a fighting chance because of the worldwide success rate the US has enjoyed for the treatment of many different types of cancers. Listen! My father’s best friend there in Barbados, has a heart condition: where his hypertension has destroyed his heart valves. (congestive heart failure) And apparently, he has to go to Venezuela to get the operation but he hasn’t any money to do so. Sad isn’t it?

5. @MB

Keep up with the ”intensive” studies. LOL

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David | April 23, 2014 at 2:32 PM |
    Out of curiosity, does the bible point to whether Jesus suffered from any ailments and whether he availed himself of ‘medicine’?

NO DAVID

@ DE HOOD
    THANKS FOR YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT SIR

7. De hood

You’re willing to learn from the bullshit, this imposter for a doctor plasters on the BU wall everyday. Don’t fooled by his esoteric terminology, that is obviously beyond your intellectual capacity, ignorant.

8. Dr. GEORGIE PORGIE, MONEYBRAIN AND DE HOOD……..CAN WE ALL AGREE THAT DOMPEY IS “SPECIAL”? HE HAS NO EQUAL ON BU.

9. @ Hants

Dompey?? Oh, you meant to write “dopey”, right?

10. De hood

There isn’t anything that GP teaches here that is worth listening to. It is common knowledge and I am not impress one iota. Let me say this much: the people that impresses me the most are Jesus, Bob Marley, Nelson Mandela, Bill Gates and Steve Jobs etc, these people have shaped the course of human existence in immeasurable ways.

11. @ dopey

Yes, sir! Definitely beyond my “intellectual” capacity to follow the reasoning and poor writing skills as dopes like you.

12. @ dopey

You also seem to be a “stranger to the truth”. Can you honestly tell us when last you studied anything pertaining to our Lord Jesus? N.B. I did say honestly!

13. @ dompey

You said ” There isn’t anything that GP teaches here that is worth listening to”. Agree

14. Hants

You have hit the nail on the head so to speak. I am special alright …. I am a nonconformist in my worldview. Because if I think as you do, I’ll run the risk of being a sucker like de hood.

15. @ dopey

It’s because of comedians like you that I enjoy BU! Keep up with the entertainment. I really do enjoy it when I come here.

16. De hood

You have to be on the wrong kind of crack, to even suggested that this man informs our thinking.

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

LOOK | April 23, 2014 at 4:45 PM |
    THANKS FOR YOUR VERY KIND REMARKS

18. @ GP

Isn’t it rather entertaining when the clowns perform for us here on BU? LOL

19. @ Georgie Porgie

You are very welcome. The same is for BAFBAFP and that circus clown de hood.

20. De hood

I love the way in which you licks GP soft under- belly. lol

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Actually, no de Hood. There is a limit because my greatest sin is that I DO NOT SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY.

I GREW UP IN BARBADOS AROUND FOLK WHO ENCOURAGED ME TO EXCEL. I DIDNT KNOW ANY BETTER AT THE TIME. OR I WOULD BE BETTER OFF TODAY.

WE NOW LIVE IN A WORLD WHERE THE DUMMIES LEAD AND CONTROL EVERYTHING.

THE CONSOLATION IS THAT JESUS IS COMING SOON.

22. David | April 23, 2014 at 2:32 PM

@GP|
    Out of curiosity, does the bible point to whether Jesus suffered from any ailments and whether he availed himself of ‘medicIne

i think he was a physician……..no need to reveal his ailments,,,,,,,,

23. @GP

IF YOU HAD ANSWERED MY DUMB QUESTION ABOUT DIABETES in BABIES YOU WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ATTACKED BY THE CREEPY CRAWLERS MYSELF INCLUDED ON BU.ANYHOW I AM STILL AWAITING THE ANSWER AS TO IF ANY ROLE SUGAR PLAYS IN BABIES WITH DIABETES,,,,,,,,

24. @ dopey

Seems to me like you very familiar with all this licking and sucking business.

25. Georgie Porgie

You’re one of the most arrogant dicks that I’ve every discourse with. It’s no wonder you occupy a permanent position here on BU. You had been encouraged to achieve academic excellence, big deal. Who cares? I hope you haven’t forgotten those dark days, when you traversed to the shite- house under cover of darkness?

26. @ GP

Care to take a guess as to how much time left before that day, Doc?

27. Georgie Porgie

Listen! I came from the lower echelon of the Barbados society. But I haven’t allow the fact that I live in America, to influence who I am as a person. I am the same down to earth young lad who was born and bred in an old shack in Bush Hall, back in 1960’s. 

28. GP I CAN’T UNDERSTAND HOW YOU DISMISS DAVID PERTINENT QUESTION ABOUT JESUS WITHOUT A CLARIFICATION………….UNBELIEVABLE……. THE QUESTION DAVID ASKED WAS EASY ,DID NOT NEED EXEGESIS OR GREEK TRANSLATION………WUH HAPPEN TO YOU MAN OF GOD……….BTW JUST IN CASE A QUESTION AS TO WHETHER HE BUILD HOUSES,, REMEMBER HE WAS A JEWISH CARPENTER…. AND THERE MIGHT BE A POSSIBLTY………HE WAS ALSO A FISHERMAN ,,,OF MEN…………WELL MAYBE A CATCH OR TWO FISH…..AND A MIRACLE WORKERS ALIAS MAGICIAN……..OOPS BEFORE YOU CHUPSE ….A GOOD LIVING,,,,,NOTHING IMMORAL ,,,,,,,AND THE LIST OF HIS ACHIEVEMENTS AND CREDENTIALS ARE IN THE BIBLE,,,,,,,,,,,OOPS A MORTICIAN……WHAT MORTICIAN……WELL I MIGHT BE GOING OVERBOARD….ON THE MORTICIAN…….BUT FUH SURE MAGICIAN….HAPPY EASTER…….

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

de hood | April 23, 2014 at 5:50 PM |

Care to take a guess as to how much time left before that day, Doc?

IN THE oLIVET DISCOURSE IN MATT 24:24 WE GET THIS STATEMENT
    Verily I say unto you, This generation shall not pass, till all these things be fulfilled.

As you know in the Olivet Discourse Jesus answers inter alia questions about the onset of the Great Tribulation. WE know that the rapture comes before the Great Tribulation.

The fig tree blossomed in 1948, some 64 years ago. Question is, IS A GENERATION 65 YEARS? 70 YEARS? 100 YEARS?

WE KNOW THAT THERE IS SIMULTANEOUSLY IN EVERY COUNTRY TODAY GREAT CHAOS, AS NEVER SEEN BEFORE

WE KNOW ALSO THAT MANY OF THE PRECURSORS TO THE TRIBULATION THAT JESUS SET OUT IN THE OLIVET DISCOURSE ARE BEING FULFILLED SIMULTANEOUSLY, AND MUCH MORE SO THAN AT ANY TIME PREVIOUSLY.

WE KNOW THAT SOMETHING HAS TO GIVE

WHEREAS WE CAN NOT KNOW THE DAY OR THE HOUR, IT WOULD SEEM FROM THE OLIVET DISCOURSE THAT WE WERE THERE WARNED ABOUT THE GENERAL TIME

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SOMETHING IS REALLY WRONG WITH THIS MACHINE
    SORRY ABOUT THAT BIGGIE

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

dompey | April 23, 2014 at 6:14 PM |

Listen! I came from the lower echelon of the Barbados society.

THAT IS VERY VERY EVIDENT SIR!

32. GP THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO OCCUR WHEN YOU COPY AND PASTE.

I DON’T HAVE A SOLUTION BUT THERE ARE TWO OPTIONS TO “PASTE”.

PASTE Care to take a guess as to how much time left before that day, Doc?

PASTE AS PLAIN TEXT Care to take a guess as to how much time left before that day, Doc?

DAVID CAN YOU HELP?

33. @Hants

It is not a big deal, the quoted text for some reason is posting using a bigger pitch. Not sure what GP is doing at his end, hope the CPU not possessed!

34. Georgie Porgie

I maybe from the lower echelon of the Barbadian society, but thank God I attended secondary school with shoes on my feet. Unlike your generation, who walked to school with all ten firmly planted on the pavement. And who substituted cooking oil for body lotion. My madda told me about your generation Porgie, couldn’t stop laughing.

35. Dompey

You need to pass back by Bushie and get some more of what Bush Man smoking.

36. @Hants
    Agreed!
    I have tried to beg GP to go easy pun him, Dompey, “for he know not what he does”.
    Dompey admits his frailties and seems to try hard, appears to have studied some,and improved himself. His vocab has probably gone exponential in adulthood. Give he a break nuh.

Personally, I derive more pleasure from adversarial fun with the supposed intellects pun here who try to advance ridiculous positions.

37. Lemuel

You seem to have firsthand information? How was it? It would save me the trip brother!

38. Thanks MoneyBrain. But apart from your condescending analysis, you’re right on the money.

39. @Dompey
    Really just dont want you and GP to quarrel needlessly BUT trying not to take sides.

40. Dompey

Please, my mudda could afford at least a pair of shoes a year; don’t jump on me. Just go and get the same smoke from the Bush Man as before and everything shall be alright.

41. David
    Now that you have wisely closed the comments section on the Chris McHale vs Gordon Seale blog, you may wish to consider removing the blog altogether given that the issue sub judice. It’s the right thing to do.

42. This is a SOS on saving private Dompey.

43. MoneyBrain

I hear ya brother…..You’re the wisest man on the blog after Mr Ross. But I just can’t bring myself to like GP. Because it seems as though he and the Devil were beer buddies, way before he met Christ?

44. LOL
    Oh hell!! Dompey can’t bring himself to like GP……one supposes that means that GP will now lose hours of sleep worrying and fretting about that loss…
    Steupsss….never thought Bushie would miss Old Onions so much…

45. Bush Tea

You’re in a category all by yourself Bush Tea because you’re a special kind of retard. And it is sad to see how De Hood, as well as you yourself continues stroke GP underbelly after you Dis the man.

46. Georgie Porgie

You’re quite right in your analysis of the coming of the Lord Jesus Christ. But you have failed misersbly in your analysis, to give voice to the real and empirical signs the Bible gives us when the Lord God returns to gather His sheep. Act 2:20 in the KJV tells us that: ” The “sun” shall be turned into darkness, and the “moon” into blood, before the great and notable day of the Lord coming.”

47. GP CAN YOU EXPLAINED HOW THE DISCIPLES DID NOT RECOGNIZE THEIR FRIEND JESUS AFTER THREE DAYS

48. dompey | April 23, 2014 at 7:05 PM |

I maybe from the lower echelon of the Barbadian society, but thank God I attended secondary school with shoes on my feet. Unlike your generation, who walked to school with all ten firmly planted on the pavement. And who substituted cooking oil for body lotion. My madda told me about your generation Porgie, couldn’t stop laughing.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

CHEEZE ON BREAD………