Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
All financial firms should by law be compelled to submit an annual business model to the regulator and supervisor for assessment if they are to continue to trade. This should be a basic condition to provide adequate consumer protection and the integrity of the financial supervisory and regulatory systems.
As has been stated before, the business models of insurance companies and banks, the two major financial sectors, are totally different. While banks borrow short and lend long, a flawed business model if ever there was one, insurance companies are often compelled to have a capital adequacy of at least 110 per cent of its likely liabilities. And, of the various branches of insurance – unemployment, health, home, motoring, disaster, etc. – the greatest moral hazard is motor insurance; it is the low hanging fruit, in that it is the easiest for insurance companies to make lots of money while paying out a relatively low percentage of claims.

First, unlike life and health insurance, or even unlike home and contents insurance, motorists are compelled by law to have insurance. Unlike life and pensions insurance, for example, there is no need to base actuarial assumptions on a continuous mortality investigation report and the one in two hundred event assumption is in many ways only theoretical since there is no longevity risk. Generally, there are two broad kinds of insurance regulation: firm-specific and industry-wide. Firm-specific regulation and supervision is when the authorities are focusing on a single firm, going through its books, interrogating its staff, and talking to a sample of its customers. This may arise out of a formal complaint, market rumour, suspicion or a randomised stress test.

Conduct  Risk:
It is fair and legitimate that the financial regulator should expect that all legally registered financial firms should operate within the spirit and letter of the law. Market integrity is at the root of sound consumer protection and a transparent and fair financial system and firms with opaque policies or operational shortcomings cloaking their flawed management and actuarial risks. The first and most important of these risks are the design and distribution of financial products; their suitability for customers’ needs, affordability, and that they are not complex, opaque and over-priced. Marketing literature must be accurate, limited with no restrictions on exit; terms and conditions must not be over-burdensome, complex and must be written in simple English, and not legalese. There should also be a cooling off period. In other words, consumers must fully understand what products they are buying, their purpose and their features. What they are told they are getting is what they should get. Providers cannot hide behind the myth of caveat emptor – let the buyer beware. The second most important regulatory requirement is customer relations: are they treated fairly with transparent and object underwriting.

Understanding Insurance Companies:
To understand the viability of insurance companies, apply some of the analytical tools used by financial journalists and financial analysts. Look at the company’s annual report, especially the auditor’s assessment of whether it is a ‘going concern’ and the chairman’s report for a view on how s/he sees the immediate future of the company. Look at its re-insurance provisions, if any, in particular its reasons for reinsurance, types of reinsurance, its reinsurance assets and liabilities. You also need to look at its operating cycle, its accounting methods (statutory versus GAAP), asset valuation, liability valuation, capital and surplus, including its risk-based capital. Look also at its capital adequacy analysis, risk management and hedging, its financial forecasting and, most important its credit rating agency’s rating. Crucially, look at the members of the board, the senior executives, the key decision-makers and make an assessment of them, professionally and morally. Are they people you would trust? Look also at its legacy book and how it is managed. This will give a good clue to the firm’s culture and controls: i.e. internal systems and controls, making sure all employees know what is expected of them and how customers should be treated.
There is also a need for risk management to be transparent to all staff, from the very top to the bottom.

Suitability of advice and procedures for managing any potential money laundering attempts are also important. Customer outcomes are very important.
The capital reserves an insurance company holds – or its re-insurance provisions – tells us a lot about its viability. What makes the financial health of an insurance company so central to macroeconomic policy is that the central bank, i.e. the taxpayer, is the lender of last resort. If any insurance company cannot meet its liabilities government cannot stand idly by and tell the insured that that is bad luck; those insurance obligations must be met, although the post-crisis history of the regulatory failure surrounding Clico sends a totally different message. I believe, and I may be wrong, that this is the mistake made when the Mutual was being demutualised. Most of the arguments were political, including the makeup of the board, and to my mind the concentration should have been actuarial. I believe carefully analysis would show that members of the Mutual in reality paid to get rid of the society.

Conclusion:
What makes insurance companies, compared to banks, so central to long-term planning and family protection is that most people take out cover – from motor insurance to life to an annuity – and tend not to read t he fine print until they reach retirement, there is a disaster or a motor accident and they want to claim on the policy. That is why it is so important that all insurance companies should, as a regulatory requirement, be compelled to publish on its website its claims records: how many claims it has had over the past year, what were these claims for, how many were met without further query, how many were rejected and the reasons for the rejection. With motor insurers, one fairness measure is to abandon the smoothing mechanism, in which good drivers pay for the accidents of the bad, and underwrite the insured individually. In this way, the claims record of the individual motorist will be the deciding factor in deciding the amount of a premium, plus inflation. So, if over the duration of the cover the motorist has a no-claims record, then the premium should increase only by the rate of inflation.

Another way of individualising motor insurance is by mileage, by attaching a black box to the vehicle the insurer would know the number of miles and times travelled by the motorist and can charge as relevant. Again, in that way, the motorist who only makes essential journeys will not be penalised for the high-risk journeys made by the leisure motorist. There are other important questions that Barbadian consumers should ask: what are the minimum capital requirements for banks and insurance companies in Barbados? What are the financial assets and financial liabilities of the firm? And, how are these managed?

There is nothing to convince ordinary people that the banking and insurance regulators and supervisors are fully aware of the state of the global financial sector in which they operate. They seem to operate in their own little world. Nothing apparently has been said, or done, at least publicly, about the statutory solvency requirements for insurance companies, nor has there been anything about the regulatory conditions surrounding how these companies can use debt.
By definition, insurance companies are pre-funded, by that I mean that premiums are paid before claims are made. So, any founding capital an insurance company has serves more as a buffer than for risk-bearing. I believe there are only two acceptable business models for a bancassurers – a mutual or listed company. No bank or insurance company should be privately owned. This is a risk too far.

In the final analysis, there is an urgent need for a more serious debate about insurance generally, and motor insurance in particular, including its impact on public health. In the United States, the biggest motoring insurance market in the world, over 40,000 people are killed each year in road traffic accidents. In total, uninsured drivers cost the US insurance industry about US$250bn a year. Although the ratio in Barbados may be lower, road traffic incidents have a huge impact on public health and policing costs. Every victim of a road traffic accident in Barbados who has to go to hospital cost the public purse a large sum of money, which should be reclaimed from motor insurers; it is a scandalous abuse of public funds by these companies.

Apart from passing the costs on to the motor insurance companies, a no-fault liability clause in insurance legislation will remove the need for police to be called out to every motor accident, no matter how small. The other insurance scam, of course, is in the life and pensions sector with lapsed policies, what the industry calls lapsation. People who take out life insurance policies and allow them to lapse simply hand their money over to the insurance companies. To give an example, between 1991 and 2010, US$29.7trn of new life policies were issued in the US, during that time, $24trn policies became lapsed (many were taken out before 1991, which accounts for the discrepancy). In other words, American citizens simply handed over $24trn to insurance companies in return for nothing. (see: Narrow Framing and Life Insurance, Daniel Gottlieb and Kent Smetters, National Bureau of Economic Research, working paper 18601). Good regulation should force insurance company to handover all lapsed funds, with the exception of modest administration costs, to a national wealth fund to be invested on behalf of the entire nation. The equivalent of lapsation in motor insurance is to refuse claims or continually raising the premium.

Finally, the regulator should be able to impose unlimited fines on financial services firms as a penalty for breach of the rules. If such penalties have not been written in to the primary or secondary legislation, then it ought to be since this is one tool that the regulator needs in order to control bad behaviour by firms and to reimburse customers for lost investments, and compensate them for hurt feelings and general damages.

• For further reading, see: Risky Business: Insurance Markets and Regulations, by Lawrence S. Powell
  • The Economic Theory of Insurance, by Karl Borch

79 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Insurance Companies Are a Licence to Print Money: Who Insures the Insurers?”

1. David….What does having a Doctorate mean in this day of economic turbulance?

2. @Vincent

In the matter under discussion it means Governor Worrell should be able to apply high level concepts to the construct of exchange rate and currency parity.

3. @ David
    …this is the honest truth….
    Most of the REAL idiots that Bushie know – have doctorates……shiite man! some have more than one…..

What would you do if, from young, you realized that you were as dumb as ac, and enjoyed even less respect than Dompey?
    …would you not do ALL in your power to get something that gets you some respect from brass bowls…? PhD skippa….and they were FREE in Barbados for all and sundry…

You know how many people have PhDs is total shiite….like

“The esoteric perambulations of the Barbados green monkey and its relation to the conceptualization of illusionary monetary policies in St James ”

…. and know Diddly SQUAT about anything else….? …and you done KNOW Bushie’s position on economics …..and on Dr Mascoll…LOL

….wait what happen to Dr George Braffit PhD(soon)?

…still can’t believe that the Governor could write so much shiite….. 🙂

4. @Bush Tea and Vincent note Worrell’s speech/paper is posted on Bis.org website. Serious business.

5. BT..
    CHUCKLE……Take my hat off to you…

Notice you run from AG. and SSS…..lol

6. Vincent
    You was a gallows bait from school….
    Run from Ag.? ….if you only knew…. 🙂

As to SSS, …from the time she asserted that a bulldozer is needed to cut some bush …Bushie done wid dat hear…? None of the bush where the bushman comes from don’t need no damn bulldozer….

…sounds like um is Bushie she looking to whack…which is a dangerous thing – cause it ain’t safe to mess with BBE’s boys…. 🙂

…so for peace’s sake……..

7. Bush Tea
    It appears as though you’re a sucker for verbal molestation brother? Because yet again, you have continue to exhibit a level of ignorance, that isn’t beyond the periphery of your intellectual capacity. Now, who in their right mind, cares about respect on a blog which obviously favours a certain viewpoint? listen retard, my objective here is to get my point across, irrespective of who likes or dislikes it. And by the way, it’s best that I inform you: that there are those here who cares little for your mundane opinion. But you obviously would not understand this because your over -extending- Ego, has impeded your ability to know the differences. And to sum this up in a few words: you need not concern yourself with who does or doesn’t value my opinion. You have bigger things to worry about brother, such as: to fuel your overreaching ego which aggrandize your sense of importance.

8. LOL @ Dompey
    “…..yet again, you have continue to exhibit a level of ignorance, that isn’t beyond the periphery of your intellectual capacity. ”
    Yuh idiot….you got problems with Bushie’s ego..? Ha Ha

Anyone who would say the above meets all the characteristics of a PhD candidate….that is. Low self esteem and in need of some kind of social acceptance…. What is your thesis on…?

Why you couldn’t just say ” Bush Tea you brass bowl idiot…” ? 🙂
    Wait though…were you not supposed to ignore Bushie…? LOL Ha Ha

9. BushTea

Just curious: did your madda every ask you to run away from home when were a child? because if she didn’t, she would have had to had the unwavering resolve, to have dealt with a sucker for punishment like you yourself. Now is there any conceivable limits to your obvious stupidity sir?

10. The Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados in 2008 said on national tv that there were no economists in the world including himself, that were competent enough to give advice in the current situation … I wondered then, as I do now, why is he still employed ….?

11. Bush Tea

It takes a lot from this man to ignore your belittling sense of humour. And I only hope that you’re aware of the fact that the pendulum swings in both directions? Perhaps, Ross should teach you a thing or two about the appropriate kind of humour. Ross, help this brother because he hasn’t a clue?

12. @ Baffy
    …always wondered how it was even possible for someone is such a position to say such a thing…and to continue to draw a salary…

Presumably he wrote that article BEFORE coming to that realization, however it is clear that he is correct – at least with respect to himself.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | April 19, 2014 at 8:53 PM |
    “A country that grows increasingly UNPRODUCTIVE (like Barbados) WHILE INCREASING IMPORTS …will experience a weakening of its parity rates. We addressed this by BORROWING money to maintain our spending patterns. This is NOT a sustainable arrangement.”

What a most insightful comment!

For that statement alone, Bush Tea, you deserve the honorific title of “PhD” behind your name.
    Not meaning to massage your ego but I am really impressed with the rational thought process undergirding your commonsense observation of what is irrational with the Governor’s obviously misplaced academic approach to a futile continuation of trying to protect a currency that in reality has no value internationally.

Barbados has a problem of productivity and marketing its goods and services to foreign buyers; not a currency problem to cover up and protect from the big bad world of financial wolves.

When Barbados produces at the level where people are prepared to buy its goods and services at a price (denominated in foreign currency) determined by the market then it could become adamant about protecting some ‘illusory’ peg. Further borrowing to protect the peg will not be the answer but can only be the final solution to its shaky house of financial cards.

We shall soon see who will win the battle between the academic Dr. Worrell Magoo and the visionary practitioner Sith with his wavering sidekick Hal Austin and with Miller in his corner.

The Guv knows ‘fully’ well the horse has bolted from the devaluation stable and he is simply putting academic manure to his already ripened intellectually burnt canes.
    The Governor is just preparing the wicket of debate for the only outcome on the present economic trajectory. He is compiling his dissertation to be delivered to the IMF panel of examiners with the title “Well Well, I did my utmost academic best to protect the useless Barbados Dollar”.

14. Busht Tea you heard the comment too .. Good, I could not have been dreaming… Unconscionable

Miller you must know that when people find creative reasons to defend an inevitable it is only to give sufficient time for those in the know to prepare.

15. […] David Introduction: All financial firms should by law be compelled to submit an annual business model to […]

16. If you have a system which is peopled by hand to mout politicians, as in the case of BIM, how do you expect any push back or real regulation of the insurance industry. Lionel Craig was an insurance man and many of the politicians between the two parties in Bim; how do expect these fellows to bite the hand that feeding them.

17. Lenuel…..they should take heed and pay attention to the Leroy Parris scenario, he can’t feed them anymore, that is what ultimately happens…lol.. in this case it would be prudent to jail the culprits and those current and former public officials who have been helping them since the mid 90’s

18. Well Well

Given the Barbados in which we live both of us would be wishing and hoping for a longtime. i still see Leroy Parris jogging or walking or stumbling along the highway early in the morning as if nothing is wrong.

19. Your are right Lem…that is because he and those like him do not live in places like Jamaica and Trinidad so they are made to feel by their politician friends that they are untouchable, not for long though, some of them are over doing it, so they themselves are taking it to another level and so will the people being affected by their greed and lack of empathy….I am told one of them is still trying to figure out what happened outside his gate not so long ago and that is just the beginning.

20. @millertheanunnaki

Thank you but I am not a visionary practitioner. I am CPA, CMA and a past professor of various business subjects. In analyzing the facts it is not that difficult to conclude that when you are spending more than you are taking in you eventually run out of money. Our monetary system is doing exactly the ropposite of what we now need to get moving ahead. Imports should be more expensive so as to promote local production and exports (tourism) less expensive to promote more business. IBC’s are on the wain because of increased tax authority scrutiny and tourism is down. It simply is not like it used to be. The IMF will come up with the plan to begin to save us if we cant. Laying off 3000 people is a start but a very small one.

21. Miller

I love the way in which you’re throwing around your academic credentials. I am impressed….lol… brother, you’re all that I would have sought, all I seek to emulate. lol….

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

BARBADOS HAVE PROBLEMS THAT WILL LEAD BACK TO FRAUD
    THE WORD BARBADOS IS THE ISLAND IN THE SUN , THE KINGS OF FRAUD ,SO MUCH FRAUD IN ALL THEY DO AND DOING.
    THIS WILL BE LAST TIME ANY OF THEM , THOSE CROOK WILL BE IN OFFICE , FACE THE TRUTH AND THEN FIX IT,
    WE DONT WANT TO HEAR SEE NOR TALK TO PIMP CROOKS LIAR AND SCUMBAG,
    HAPPY EASTER TO ALL , THIS IS NO TIME FOR LIES

23. Business Monday: Fixed exchange rate serves small open economy well

4/21/2014

– satisfactory foreign reserves key

THE key to successful economic policy in small very open economies (SVOEs) like Barbados, is to secure the exchange rate anchor by ensuring the country’s reserves of foreign exchange remain at an adequate level.

This is the view of Dr. Delisle Worrell, the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados in an address to a function sponsored by the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) in Washington D.C.

“SVOEs are price takers in international markets: they cannot increase their earnings by lowering their prices. To stay in the market they must achieve profitable production at the ruling international price,” the Governor told the 39th meeting of Networks of Central Banks and Ministers of Finance from Latin America and the Caribbean.

He said that a second reality for SVOEs is that they do not produce the consumption or intermediate goods they use; these are all imported, as are most items of machinery. The reason is that SVOEs have limited human and physical resources, and they can achieve internationally competitive scale in only a handful of activities.

“A depreciation of the exchange rate therefore serves no good purpose, and it has the adverse consequences of high inflation and undermining investor confidence. Fear of devaluation therefore provokes capital flight, because no-one wants to be caught out by the devaluation,” according to him.

He also dealt with the issue of how should the SVOE stabilise the external accounts to sustain adequate foreign reserves and to restore adequacy when reserves have been depleted.

According to him, The answer: by containing aggregate demand, and thereby limiting the demand for imports, to fall within the supply of foreign exchange. The tools for aggregate demand management are government revenue, expenditure and the strategy for financing government’s deficit.

Dr. Worrell stated that these are the principles underlying the Barbados economic strategy.

The global recession has been a challenge for Barbados. Both our principal foreign exchange sectors (tourism and international business) were hit. And growth stalled in all three of our main markets: the UK, the US and Canada. The Governor explained that the strategy for Barbados to persist with the programme of adjustment and growth that has served us very well in the past.

“In the short run aggregate demand has to be cut, in line with the reduced availability of foreign exchange to buy imports,” the Governor said. “However, our economy has become more resilient in the face of shocks than we used to be. The cumulative real income contraction since 2008 is no more than 3 percent, compared to a 14 percent drop in the early 1990s,” he added.(JB) Email us your comments. | Top

24. @David

““In the short run aggregate demand has to be cut, in line with the reduced availability of foreign exchange to buy imports,” the Governor said”

Therein is the issue. To me this is like running a business. The first rule of business is you have to understand is the name of the game is buy for one and sell for two. If you don’t get that concept the rest of it does not matter. Likewise with FX, you must have as much coming in as you have going out. If the only answer being put forth is that demand or outflows have to be reduced, that is telling us there is no solution to increasing the inflows. That certainly does not sound like a bright future for us.

25. @SITH

But the Governor admits Barbados must generate forex to pay its bills, he agrees with you, partly anyway.

26. Halle Berry Austin Avatar
    Halle Berry Austin

Hal Austin, December 29, 2013 at 6:23 PM:

“This is a typical case of disrespect and contempt by working class, council house people from Europe and North America who would normally be working in MacDonald’s”

27. Still relevant

28. Can this be part of BERT?

29. Clico?