Submitted by William Skinner
...Barbados Labour Party has been in the main supported by the traditional corporate sector ...
…Barbados Labour Party has been in the main supported by the traditional corporate sector …

In our midst, there are some very skilful manipulators of public opinion, who would like to give the impression that the trade union movement has only been in bed with the Democratic Labour Party. This is a great lie. The truth is that both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party have enjoyed incestuous relationships with the trade unions. I say unions because a very close and objective observation would reveal that none of the major unions has avoided being hijacked, at some point or the other, by members of the two ruling parties.

Ever since the fall of Grantley Adams, the Barbados Labour Party has been in the main supported by the traditional corporate sector and really had no need for the financing of its politics either in money or kind from the BWU. This left the field wide open for Errol Barrow to inflame the traditional white corporate sector and skilfully create a black rising business/professional class that has supported the Democratic Labour Party. Barrow established a very clever bond of capital and Labour and with great cunning, convinced the masses that the Dems were for them and the Bees for the whites. The Bees equally cunning deliberately started to paint the Dems as anti-employer and the ploy of these two behemoths parties has continued. And it has worked amazingly well.

I first encountered the ruthlessness of the BLP/DLP and their unionists henchmen back in the mid 70’s, when under the distinguished leadership of Comrade John Cumberbatch, the Barbados Union of Teachers locked horns with the Dems over the legislating of salaries. Tom Adams as Leader of the Opposition BLP made a great speech from Parliament and said that he would NEVER legislate salaries. He became Prime Minister and proceeded to do exactly that! Then, Obrien Trotman, who was the General Secretary of the NUPW and in the forefront of the struggle against Barrow legislating salaries, became a member of Tom Adams’ cabinet. So, Sir Roy Trotman being a member of the Dems and general secretary of the BWU is nothing new.

What we see today are the fruits of destruction and anti-labour sentiment that both parties have skilfully planted via opportunistic trade unionists and some of the most ruthless operatives of both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party. Within the Barbados Union of Teachers, there were some very politically driven party loyalists, who only supported the union when their party was in opposition. It is more than just a twist of fate, that there are at least three sitting Members of Parliament, who were active in the BUT back in the day. It is no twist of fate either that some of the high profile appointments in the Ministry of Education, have always landed in the laps of former active union members, who are either supporters of the BLP or DLP. The Ministry of Education is the bedlam of high end political patronage.

The Barbados that is now tottering on the brink of economic collapse was hatched in the 70’s when the evolving upper middle class began to believe that they were at Massa’s table. They went after the teachers; the police; the nurses and the civil servants with a determined vengeance. They were supported by the political management class (BLP/DLP). Those who warned of this dangerous trend were branded as failures and misfits.

In other words within the current scenario there is a vicious battle of the classes. It is the middle class being pounded by the very powerful and now entrenched upper class. Watching and pulling the strings are the wealthy, both black and white, who think that victory is certain. They are collectively enjoying the assault on the working class and the weakening of the trade union movement. But they are making one simple and perhaps silly mistake. This is not the Barbados of 1937 and nobody will be pushing over bread carts (Peter Wickham). This class warfare now grounded in economic uncertainty could lead us to a place from whence we may never return. The divide and rule approach may very well backfire on those who maybe counting their chickens before they hatch. The manipulation of our people and island state must cease or we all will feel it! Should blood flow, it will be on the hands of those manipulators, who frequent Roebuck and George Streets.

There are many now crying crocodile tears for Barbados. The same ones who sought to destroy it.

111 responses to “Trade Unions and the Great Conspiracy”

1. Georgie Porgie
    Sorry, slight grammatical error doc, don’t hold it against me though.

2. David:

I shall try to get something on the medical school for a post.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Lemuel | April 21, 2014 at 10:27 PM |
    RE The setting up of the school was not over night.
    TRUE FRASER WROTE ABOUT IT IN HIS COLUMN IN THE NATION IN LATE 2004 OR 2005. I REMEMBER BEING IN CURACAO TEACHING AT ST MARTINUS MED SCHOOL, AND EMAILING SOME ONE TO ASK MORE ABOUT IT

4. Thanks Lemuel.

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Conspiracy? Its only a Conspiracy if you dont know what is going on, By now We all know what is going on , Therefore the Conspiracy is over , Now its time to Act, Do some thing different , stop getting the results all the time .As you can see it dont work , you not happy , and you all still going home, Just all stay and when the Bills come to your House , send them to the Union and the DBLP =same Crooks, liars and Scumbags

6. “He came back to Barbados about ten years ago to give a lecture at Cave Hill that assessed the true merit of the National Heroes of Barbados. The man mek Adams shite … he apologized of course, but the message was blatant …!”

Try as much as you might Baff, but the contribution of Mr Grantley Adams to the social landscape of this two by three nation of ours is indelibly written on history’s page- as is Mr Barrow’s- irrespective of their motives or imperfections and nothing you or I say or do can ever erase it.
    ‘Weep not but learn to follow’ was the admonishment by Canon Frank Pemberton to the mourners in eulogising Sir Grantley.

7. The comedy of trade union errors and parody of representation continued unabated yesterday at Browne’s Beach with the Trade Union Leadership crying crocodile tears over the layoffs by again trumpeting the innocuous opposition – not about the LAYOFFS- but of ‘ not holding the meeting to discuss the retrenchment of the close to 200 workers which took effect on Wednesday.’ What a load of unacceptable gibberish from a Trade Union Leadership which appears to be seeking in every pronouncement to exonerate the political directorate from the brutish LAY OFF DECISON – which according to their own Dr Estwick could have been avoided – and lay the blame at the doorstep of all else especially those much maligned public officers charged with the responsibility by DUTY of carrying out in difficult circumstances the brutal and confusing policy decisions of an incompetent administration.
    In my view,Decency demands it. It is right in the sight of God. It is right in the sight of man, that the Trade Union Leadership stop playing games with the livelihoods of their membership affected by these draconian measures.

8. Perhaps even the trade unions have now come to realize that it is idiotic to continue to BORROW forex in order to pay people to pretend to work…..

LOOK balance, it is time that Bajans understand that they need to utilize the NATURAL talents that they are born with, along with the free education and social stability that we have enjoyed for the last 70 years – to make a decent living for themselves in DIRECT proportion to the effort and success they are able to achieve….

Trade unions shiite….
    The days of freeness and mendicancy cannot be expected to continue in times of austerity….
    …and that “proposal” from Dr. Estwick was just high level idiocy….. …mortgage the whole country to complete strangers – so that we can continue to pay brass bowls to pretend to work…?
    Steupsss….drop the emotionalism balance….leave that for ac and them…

9. @Bush Tea

You know politicians will not lead any initiatives which will seek to align a sustainable lifestyle and what we can afford produce. Instead what we have is government surrogates pushing out info just released that Barbados bond yields have increased. Our leaders – including our unions – have colluded to mortgage the future of the next generation.

10. Thanks for your response Bushie but the substance of my commentary was an attempt to draw attention to the very eloquently put Davidism of ‘ the unions and political directorate to mortgage the future of the next generation by foul means; but it seems that i have failed in my effort.

11. The union lay down in bed with the politicians and call it ‘Social Partnership’ another term for ‘sell out’. Let’s face it. We have no Unions. Yes, government had to downsize. But are they not the same people who said that noone was going home and that everything was good and dont listen to oppositional propaganda, or did i just imagine that.

Leave a Reply to The People’s Democratic CongressCancel reply