PRESS RELEASE – CLEMENT PAYNE MOVEMENT
Vivian Anne Gittens: Publisher of the Nation Newspaper

Dear Ms Gittens,

Approximately one week ago, you and your Nation Newspaper facilitated the staging of a Conference at the Hilton Hotel in Barbados by the Inter-American Press Association (IAPA) — a United States of America dominated association of media corporations and media owners. And as was to be expected, the IAPA utilized its Barbados-based conference to unleash a negative propaganda attack against the democratically elected socialist Government of Venezuela — the administration of President Nicholas Maduro.

Furthermore, in the aftermath of the said Conference, the Nation Newspaper has published a number of articles and at least one editorial that have promoted the views and opinions of a group of right-wing Barbados-based critics of the Venezuelan government, and that have also attacked the efforts made by the Friends of Venezuela Solidarity Committee of Barbados to give principled solidarity and support to the Government and people of Venezuela.

As you are well aware, the Friends of Venezuela Solidarity Committee staged an alternative international Panel Discussion at the nearby Radisson Aquatica hotel (the former Grand Barbados) as a counter to the IAPA Conference. This Friends of Venezuela Panel did not only include local speakers such as Anthony “Gabby” Carter, Dr. Tennyson Joseph, Mr. Trevor Prescod MP, and myself, but also such eminent Venezuelans as Luis Britto Garcia (widely regarded as Venezuela’s most important writer and intellectual), Roberto Montoya (President of the Romulo Gallegos Foundation’s Centre for Latin American Studies), Roberto Malaver (Professor of the Central University of Venezuela’s School of Journalism), and Erica Ortega Sanoja (anchor of the state-owned television network known as Venezolana de Television).

But I am sure that readers of the Nation Newspaper know absolutely nothing about the views expressed at the Friends of Venezuela Panel Discussion by this formidable quartet of Venezuelan academics and journalists, for the simple reason that the Nation Newspaper refused or neglected to publish anything whatsoever that these four eminent Venezuelans had to say!

Instead, the Nation Newspaper contented itself with publishing the anti-government views of a small group of Venezuelans who live in Barbados, and who claim that they get their news about what is going on in Venezuela from “social media”. Apparently, as far as the Nation Newspaper is concerned, the views of this substantially anonymous group who DO NOT live in Venezuela, and whose source of information is the most untrustworthy imaginable, carries more weight than the views of highly respected public citizens of Venezuela who actually live in Venezuela! (And incidentally, the Wikileaks organization has released copies of confidential cables that emanated from the US embassy in Venezuela which establish that a number of Venezuelan Opposition activists have received special training in the US in the techniques to be applied in using social media to destabilize and bring down the Government of Venezuela!)

I must say, however, that the behaviour of the Nation Newspaper does not surprise me! The Nation Publishing Company, after all, is a member of the IAPA; you, Ms. Gittens, are a member of the Executive Committee of the IAPA; and the IAPA is a US dominated, Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and National Endowment for Democracy (NED) linked organization that has always promoted the views and agenda of the Capitalist establishment of the USA.

Indeed, the IAPA and its “army” of some 1,400 media corporations and owners, has a long history of attacking socialist or left of centre governments that are not considered to be “friendly” to the USA. Some of its previous victims have been the administrations of President Salvador Allende of Chile, Prime Minister Michael Manley of Jamaica, President Fidel Castro of Cuba, President Evo Morales of Bolivia, and President Hugo Chavez of Venezuela, among many others.

Surely, you must be aware, Ms Gittens, that when, in April 2002, the capitalist elite of Venezuela and their hand-picked traitors in the Venezuelan military, staged a coup and removed the democratically elected President Hugo Chavez from power (and ordered his execution), that the then President of the IAPA— Mr Robert Cox— issued a Press Release endorsing the coup! Just imagine — the President of the IAPA endorsed coup leaders whose very first actions upon taking power were to abolish the National Parliament, the Supreme Court, and all other major democratic institutions!

So, we don’t really expect anything different from the IAPA in its dealings with the equally socialist administration of President Nicholas Maduro. Indeed, as you must be aware, for some months now the IAPA’s member newspapers have been waging a campaign of Psychological Warfare against the Government of Venezuela. Surely you must know that three Latin American newspaper conglomerates — all members of the IAPA— have made a pact to publish at least one full page of generally negative news about Venezuela every day in each one of their 82 affiliated newspapers. These media conglomerates are Groupo de Diarios de Las Americas (GDA), Associasion de Editres de Diarios y Medios Informativos (ANDIARIOS), andGrupo Periodicos Asociados Latinoamericanos (PAL).

The small,but wealthy, extreme right wing Opposition forces in Venezuela have decided upon a strategy of violent street protest actions as a methodology for subverting the democratically elected Government of President Maduro, and are depending upon the right-wing mass media to give the people of the Caribbean, Latin America and indeed the World the impression that these isolated violent protests are a mass phenomenon that is sweeping through the entire nation. The only name for this strategy is “Psychological Warfare”, and it thrives on ignorance or lack of accurate information.

The truth is that of the 335 townships or municipalities that exist in Venezuela, these protests have only manifested themselves in 19 of these townships or municipalities — all of them being Opposition strongholds, governed by Opposition mayors who control the municipal police force, and who accommodate the violent protests.

Surely Ms Gittens, you will agree that 19 out of 335 hardly constitutes a mass phenomenon. But even that figure of 19 is misleading, for that was when the protests were at their peak — they subsequently dwindled to 9 municipalities, then to 6, and finally to 2.

This is the truth about Venezuela. Our Barbadian Cultural Ambassador, Anthony “Gabby” Carter, recently returned to Barbados from a visit to Venezuela, and this is the on-the-ground reality that he described at the Friends of Venezuela Panel Discussion. Why doesn’t the Nation Newspaper do an in-depth interview with Gabby about his experiences in Venezuela?

But the media in Barbados should not really have to depend on the reporting of the Mighty Gabby, nor indeed on the reporting of CNN, BBC, Fox News or any other biased Western media conglomerate! Venezuela, after all, is a sister Caribbean territory and is only a one hour airline flight from Barbados!

I therefore want to end this Open Letter by challenging you, Ms Gittens, to send a senior and respected Nation Newspaper reporter and a camera man or woman to Venezuela, to observe for themselves the reality on the ground in Venezuela , and to come back to Barbados and give an honest and objective report to the Barbadian people!

If you accept and respond positively to this challenge you will demonstrate that even though the Nation Newspaper is a member of the IAPA, it still has a commitment to truth and objectivity.

On the other hand , should you fail to accept this challenge, you will be confirming that the Nation Newspaper is no different from the other pathetic propaganda outfits that comprise the membership of the IAPA.

I now look forward to hearing from you as a matter of urgency.

Yours faithfully

DAVID COMISSIONG

President

Clement Payne Movement

123 responses to “Open Letter to Vivian-Anne Gittens and the Nation Newspaper ABOUT Venezuela”

1. @ David
    You are misreading this issue, my brother. These people have no money and are reduced to begging others to let them remain in charge of the world. They maybe mad but they are not foolish. Any wrong move and it will be all out nuclear war. Total destruction of all of us. Vladimir Putin is not afraid and Obama knows it. You may call it Armageddon, if you wish.

At best, for the West, they will climb down like they did before, in Syria, Afghanistan, Iraq, Iran and elsewhere. Not to speak of their economies, which are done. Sanctions against Russia will send Europe into another Great Depression for decades. Their real and immediate fear is the collapse of the US dollar as the international reserve currency. This is what all of this is really about. And they think that by threatening Russia, China, Iran they could continue to impose a currency colonialism on the world. Their time has come, and gone. Poor Barbados will never ‘recover’ because people don’t even seem to understand the genesis of the problem.

2. So…the fourth Reich is on the march….what has that got to do with the price of rice in China or Bim….bring the relevance home.

3. Listen! The Pearl Harbour attacks were no more different than the 9/11 attacks. Because out of those two historical events, came the an extention of the Espionage Act of the 1940’s and the Patriot Act of 2001 and both of these acts curtailed the civil-rights as well as civil-liberities in fundamental ways.

4. Pachamama

Have you heard of Fort Knox Kentucky?
    Do you know what is kept there?

5. Take an educated guess brother?

6. @Domkey

Do you have the capacity NOT to locate every discussion about global issues in the USA? This is a USA whose Senate has refused to work with a President and Attorney General because they are Black. This is a matter of public record.

7. David

I thought the senate refused to work with President Obama because he is a leftist liberal with socialist tendencies?

8. @Domkey

You can have the last word.

Nancy Pelosi: Republicans won’t push immigration because of raceHouse Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi is pictured. | AP Photo

Pelosi said that she’d ‘rather pass immigration reform than win in November.’ | AP Photo

By LAUREN FRENCH | 4/10/14 1:13 PM EDT Updated: 4/10/14 5:36 PM EDT

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi suggested on Thursday that Republicans were avoiding a vote on immigration reform because of racial issues.

“I think race has something to do with the fact that they are not bringing up an immigration bill,” the California Democrat said at a news conference. “I’ve heard them say to the Irish, ‘If it was you, it would be easy.’”

Read more: http://www.politico.com/story/2014/04/nancy-pelosi-republicans-immigration-race-105581.html#ixzz2yoyyE200

9. David

This was the fear a lot of the conservative republicans had prior to Mr. Obama’s election in 2008.

10. David

The Hispanic vote caused that Republican Party the presidential election in 2008 because of it inflexible position on legal as well as illegal immigration.

Race is not the issue as far as immigration is concern but the issue of illegal immigration seems to the Achilles heel for both democrats as well as republicans. Several years ago the Congress killed the Dream Act, that would have allowed young illegal immigrants a free path to citizenship. The bottom line is the majority of Americans aren’t in support of illegal immigrants obtaining citizenship in this manner. So as you well know: politicians obey the collective will of their constituents, if their want to get reelected.

11. @ Donkey
    Fort Knox is empty. This is another problem for you as all the sensible countries in the world are seeking to repatriate what was at Fort Knox.

12. @BAFBFP
    I think that you should follow the advice that you gave to ‘Dompey” earlier i.e. “steer clear of International politics”. Here is another bit of advice from one of those whom you love to hate (American):

It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.

13. David

Where did you received your information from? CNN, FOX or NBC? There is also a political divide here to David and you ought not believe everything you read on the Internet.

14. @dompey April 13, 2014 at 12:42 AM “Even though I supported Fidel Castro in his efforts to liberated the Cuban populace from under vice griped of European economic colonialism”

Dear Dompey: If as you say you went to St. Leonard’s Boy’s in the 1980’s you could not have supported “Fidel Castro in his efforts to liberated the Cuban populace from under vice griped of European economic colonialism”

The truth is that when the Cuban revolution was fought you were not born yet or you were at most still a little boy peeing your mother’s bed.

15. @Pachamama “But a narrow mindedness that blocks the truism that mankind is essentially wicked”

Sadly, this is true.

16. Sarge

Cah dear, I have never doubted my idiocy … that is why I am always surprised to find so many other more obvious candidates, like yourself. No, I like talking, and I have nothing to hide, but I know better than to engage you on US foreign policy, on which so much is written that you and others chose to ignore, and Western Propaganda which is always attractive to the likes of you and the others. Similarly I avoid arguments on religion, or did you not notice …

17. Vincent my friend the US Embassy for the OECS sits right here in good ol’ Bim. Wildey represents the seat of the Fourth Riche in the region. Good enough for you bro …?

18. @ PEP LEADER

I am amused that PEP leader could see how biased the media is to issues as far as Venezuela but cant see it here in his back yard . Look at how BLP columnist write for the Nation newspaper daily . daily anti government sensational headlines without journalist checking the facts. The Capatalist organisations like MOODIES IMF STANDARD AND POORS(good name) reports and organizations that destabilizes governments . where does the PEP leader sits when he read these articles. He is afforded a column in the same paper. He is here in Barbados and he cant see the treat from people writings and mouthing s (George Belle his friend) who want to destabilize and bring a democratic elected government down by agitating for marches and protest and the use of the media to bring down an elected government down but be can pontificate on what is happening in Venezuela .

19. those who are crying crocodile tears for venezuela…are also riding the coat tails of chaos gleefully and looking for strength through the media as an agent for propaganda( with venezuela as an example for change) to sway public opinion toward a cause a cause to infiltrate and weaken public support against this govt while furthering strengthening their hands willfully and purposefully to cause public chaos and mayhem in this land……..

20. Georgie Porgie

Must I insult your intelligence or what’s left of it? And do I have to be alive to support what Castro has done in Cuba? Now, do I have be alive to reverence the way in which Dr. Martin Luther king Jr, aroused the collective conscience of the downtrodden black masses in America? Man, I feel sorry for you if you cannot think beyond the obvious. As a young lad in Barbados, I read what Castro and Che did in Cuba and throughout South America and I supported their aims. But that is for as my support goes for Castro because of his questionable human rights record. Trust me, I understand quite well what has taken placed in Cuba with respect to the: revolution, the Bay of pigs failed invasion as well as the Cuban Missile Crisis etc. So I would ask of you to stop insulting my intelligence.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dompey

Some time back I recall that you were concerned that BU was not doing its national duty by bringing young Bajans on the site to dialogue and submit their opinons.

One IMF the grandchildren who I encouraged to start reading the site,dem love dem eccentric grand father, has been asking me if the site is about Barbados.

I too am starting to wonder about that given your constant and prolific harpings about America miss pelosi President Obama federal government the American education system and the entire drivel of a country that its claim to fame is lynching and assassinating black people Malcolm x and Martin Luther King, underwriting coups starting wars that it never wins incarcerating blacks disproportionately and every two weeks having some half crack student or citizen kill a moba-ton of students or passers By in a fit of passion, cretinism or just because they feel like it.

You spoke reverently about St Leonard’s and that is allowable because you went there a man speaks about Harrison College and you talk about his arrogance etc.

We bloggers here, while respectful of and cognizant of systems that work do not, having experienced the British flag of plantocracy, feel that we would bide well with the stars and the stripes over our heads being that it is a country of warmongers and purveyors of souls

Five minutes to this insulin shot, ole man rambling……

22. Georgie Porgie

Let me put it this way: I am well read and I do not mean to boast.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The President of the Clement Payne Movement

Where were you when the flight from Africa with the passengers who were misled into paying thousand of dollars to come to Bulbados got incarcerated in BIM by our illiterate Immigration Department, their only sin being niggers from the Dark Continent?

But I forget you were there for the clearer skinned Cuban Raoul weren’t you?

How much money does the Clement Payne Movement receive from Cuba and Venezuela?

Your slip regarding representTion of the rights of the underdog irrespective of the occasion, is showing

24. @Baffy

The US has accused Russia of stoking unrest in the Ukraine, interesting when others accuse the US of doing the same in other countries like Venezuela our biases and indoctrination come to the fore. As regular citizens what do we know?

25. Piece
    I am doing Uncle Sam bidding; can’t chat now sir.

26. But David

The Ukraine is a neighbor … On the other hand, where is Venezuela located wrt the USA …? I still remember Aristide and Haiti as if it were yesterday. As for that earth quake and the suspicious military actions that followed …

I saw a picture recently about Gen Custer. The members of the Sioux still believe to this day that their treatment by the US government is ongoing payback. Poor Haiti… poor Venezuela … poor Ukraine …

27. The Fourth Reich is on the march …

28. BAFF….
    How can we in Bim escape the fall out from the incoming Fourth Reich or should we embrace it?

29. Pobre BAFBFP …”The Ukraine is a neighbour” is his answer to David’s gentle rejoinder; you should really keep out of these discussions or better yet, please give us your impression of the upcoming Crop Over season a subject that you are eminently qualified to discuss. Here are a few questions

a) Do you think the economic situation will have an impact on the availability of bumpers for you to “wuk up” on
    b) What will come first you getting drunk or the rum supply running out?
    c) Will Rihanna turn up and if she does will her presence generate enough FX (another of your pet peeves) to eliminate the deficit?
    d) How many party invitations will you get?
    e) Are you still seeing the white “go to formal” parties chick or was she a figment of that overworked imagination?
    f) Do you actually work and how much FX do you generate?

Please copy Mr. Hindsight himself (or it takes one to know one brass bowl “BT” with your response.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

dompey | April 14, 2014 at 6:08 AM |

Let me put it this way: I am well read and I do not mean to boast.

MAYBE– JUST MAYBE I AM WELL ALSO, BUT I DONT DRIVEL DUNG ON BU DAILY.
    MANY OTHERS ON BU ARE EVEN BETTER READ THAN ME OR YOU BUT THEY DONT GRACE THE PAGES OF BU CONSISTENTLY WITH GREEN VERBS AND OBVIOUS MALAPROPISMS, NOR DO THEY POST IRRELEVANT NONSENSE ABOUT THE DYING USA- THE BIGGEST LIE AND FACADE ON EARTH.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David | April 13, 2014 at 9:35 PM |
    RE This is a USA whose Senate has refused to work with a President and Attorney General because they are Black. This is a matter of public record.
    THIS IS CLEARLY NOT TRUE DAVID
    THE SENATE SUPPORTS THE GOVERNMENT
    THE SENATE LED BY THE CRAZY MAN HARRY REID IS DEMOCRAT LIKE THE President and Attorney General

WITH ALL DUE RESPECT DAVID- YOU HAVE HERE EXHIBITED A DONKEY MOMENT MAN

32. Sarge
    Give it a rest man. Sleep it off and come back later today. Wah you say ..?

Vince
    I agree … We do have a problem …! 🙁

33. @ Baffy
    …as Churchill once explained to an unfortunate lady, unlike drunkenness, what Sarge has will not go away with a night’s sleep….

…..not only is Ukraine a neighbor, but it has historically been a family member – and there continues to be multiple ongoing social, cultural, and economic ties….

Can you imagine the Soviet bloc trying to entice Puerto Rico to join with Cuba in an economic and military partnership with Russia using offers of easy loans, grants etc….?

Sargeant don’t need sleep…he needs reprogramming to think independently…….unfortunate that would require a complete hardware changeout……LOL. He needs Jesus….

34. Comic song, why should Ms. Gittens reply to you?

35. Bush Tea
    “Can you imagine the Soviet bloc trying to entice Puerto Rico to join with Cuba in an economic and military partnership with Russia using offers of easy loans, grants etc….?”

… Well done. Now if this does not make sense to the NCO and the others, reprogramming will be wasted on them

36. Georgie Porgie

I think it’s only fitting that I draw from the words of the well respected Black- Pather and West Indian Stokely Carmichael, ” I haven’t the time to engage you in your intellectual – masturbation.”

37. @GP

Replace Senate with Congress, the substantive point remains.

38. re Replace Senate with Congress, the substantive point remains.

As you would say,David ” you can have the last word.” But from where I sit, I think you have it wrong.

What about the IRS scandal, Benzahi, Fast and furious. Lois Learner taking the 5th and not telling the truth etc?

But you know David we live in a world where right is wrong, and wrong is right. All depends on who doing it. And you know David, the same junk that we debate on BU every day about what is happening in Barbados- that we cant do anything about- happens elsewhere. Funny thing David ma boy, BLACKS SUPPOSED TO BE IN CHARGE BOTH PLACES. Ah lie David? .

39. @GP

Define incharge, political and economic control are miles apart.

40. Georgie Porgie

Porgie, you’re like the bovine quadruped that disturbs the peaceful solemnity of the ecclesiastical atmosphere on God day. A real pain in where the sun do not shine and an egotistical nincompoop in a class all by yourself brother. David, I respect your resolve, but you ought to know by now that it is time to pull the plug on this wretched specimen of humanity? This self- centered megalomaniac who wears his substandard education like an emblem validation. His arrogance is like an acid that eats away at the human stomach. And it would therefore serve BU better, if this individual ceases to traverse this blog.

41. David | April 14, 2014 at 12:11 PM |

David…Either one can upset the apple cart….what we need is for the political one to have the will to do what is right for their fellow Bajans,which would by necessity mean pain for bussinesses here..

42. @Vincent

What we need is leadership from all facets of society.

43. David.

“Replace the Senate with the Congress”. The Senate and the House of Representatives constitutes the Congress.

Georgie Porgies
    “We live in a world where right is wrong and wrong is right”.

Brother man, right and wrong is relative to here and now. Fifty year ago women were relegated to the kitchen and this was viewed as right in the eyes of society. David, Porgie is a moral absolutist and very limited in his view of reality.

44. David.

David, not just leaders from all tapestries of society but we need leaders who are qualified on the moral and intellectual level for public office.

45. What criteria are you using to determining right and wrong?
    1) The Hebrew Scriptures
    2) The Laws of nature
    3) The Theory of Evolution
    4) The Theory of Existentialism
    5) The Theory of Humanism

46. Simple Dompey. Looka what is right or wrong. This Government is doing everything WRONG and the electorate during the last elections was expecting everything Financially RIGHT. All of them allergic to Scriptures, Laws and Theoretical reasoning but adores Theatrical bullshittery.

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@David | April 14, 2014 at 12:11 PM |

wHEN YOU ARE IN CHARGE POLITICALLY YOU USE YOUR PEN AND PHONE TO CIRCUMVENT YOUR NATION’S CONSTITUTION
    wHEN YOU ARE IN CHARGE ECONOMICALLY YOU PASS LAWS THAT MAKE LIKE HARDER FOR THE POOR AND BLACKS-LIKE YOUR SELF. LAWS THAT FORCE EMPLOYERS TO CUT BACK ON THE NUMBER OF THEIR EMPLOYES

ah lie?

48. @GP

Maybe, maybe, it is a pity we have become so cynical. Where have all the good humans gone?

What is your view of George Bush who was able to command greater bipartisan support if compared to Obama.

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

As you know I don’t comment very much, or very often on political issues on BU

i HAVE JUST MADE A FEW OBSERVATIONS THAT ARE COMPARISONS TO WHAT IS HAPPENING IN BIM AND ELSEWHERE.
    That is all I am prepared to say here.

50. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ david
    Where have all the good humans gone?
    THIS IS A GOOD QUESTION.
    IT IS NO LONGER SMART TO BE GOOD OR DO GOOD.
    WE LIVE IN AN AGE WHERE THE THINGS THAT WE LEARNED AS CHILDREN NO LONGER HOLDS TRUE

I STILL BELIEVE THAT IF YOU OBEY THE TENETS OF PHILIPPIANS 4:8 WHICH WE ALL LEARNED AT PRIMARY SCHOOL OUGHT STILL TO BE FOLLOWED

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply