The following was posted by Artaxerses on the blog Notes From a Native Son: Reshuffling Sinckler Out of the Cabinet Needn’t Be Painful
Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

Have we conveniently forgotten:

That the Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Christopher Sinckler said his life had been threatened and as a result, he is currently being ‘detailed’ by member of the local constabulary. He was reported as saying…..“On my way here I received a call from my secretary [telling me to] come back because a Superintendent from the Royal Barbados Police Force Special Services wanted to speak to me on a security matter… He told me that they had credible information that two people were overheard planning to shoot me.” What is the status of this investigation? Has the police Special Branch made any progress in determining the reason behind this alleged “hit” or the identities of the alleged “assassins”?

Sinckler’s comment that school children were being allowed to travel free on Transport Board buses as a measure of security, because they were being taken in and out of Barbados for the purpose of prostitution. Does not his statement contradict those reasons given by David Thompson’s during the 2008 budget presentation?

Sinckler’s revelation that he was reliably informed of a discussion held in a BLP secret meeting, which suggested…… should the BLP be elected to office in 2014, they would retrench 10,000 civil servants?

Will we be correct in viewing these comments as “red herrings”, the sole purpose of which, was to distract all and sundry from important issues, especially at a time when Sinckler was apparently under pressure?

Sinckler the politician = 100%
Sinckler as MoF = Reshuffle

202 responses to “We Want to Know…”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright

easy !
    Please !
    an advisory is in order
    for your writings –
    its me -not you !

2. Who is going to take the brave step and form a new party to rescue the nation?

Something is obviously wrong
    The populace has been lulled into
    a state of -learned helplessness

3. David,

We are not going to legislating away the role of the Union.

They will most likely naturally die as a result of the evolution of the workers into a higher state of existence.

For, there will be legislation enacted that will see the present statuses of workers, supervisors, managers, owners of companies, businesses, etc., in Barbados evolve in the future statuses of partners of partnership enterprises.

Partnership enterprises will be the only multi-member corporate business enterprises possible, beyond sole proprietorships in this country, and will exist through out the government and private sectors.

The very wicked demeaning dehumanizing exploitative work culture and system shall be ABOLISHED in this country.

Artaxerxes,

“Although I understand its intent, your analogies in comparison with
    government’s operations is quite flawed”.

We are NOT sure you understand our intent, really.

For, what we thought we were getting you to understand – via the particular scenarios we drew and which you referred to – is that commerce, health, education, welfare, can be provided by any efficient results-oriented solution-driven business organization that has wider social objectives in mind, and that has respect for the property and remuneration rights of other business organizations within a property owning commercial system within Barbados.

We are not intent on getting you to conclude that government has no money, but that with so many qualified and experienced people and strategic assets and the capacity for delivering the right international commercial connections, etc., under the wings of government today, for a start, the remuneration potential of government itself is exceedingly great, given our vision for a post-TAXATION society for Barbados.

Also, the comparisons are NOT with government’s operations – which disgracefully inexpertly see all employees of government and persons and other entities doing business with government simply whenever getting or accessing remunerations out of the core financial system – but do indeed indicate where government – via the establishment of a new state management entity – will end up in a post-TAXATION society, still being able to provide commercial, health, education, welfare, security, physical and foreign affairs infrastructures and facilities, and not by crudely carte blanche monopolizing and dominating those sectors, principally through forcing private sector interests out of the market by means of TAXATION, through means of crowding out other entities in the core financial sector, red tape, excess and unnecessary regulation, etc., but by, et al, its respecting the property and remuneration rights of other entities in Barbados, by becoming more efficient and efficacious in all of its operations, by setting and achieving its own organizational goals and objectives, by operating at its optimal size, by knowing its own market potential and reach in whatever market spheres, by functioning within its own carrying capacities, and by operating within its own resources and financial means.

Indeed, too, Cave Shepherd does not TAX Da Costa Manning, or vice-a-versa. Bay View Hospital does not stop Sandy Crest from accessing monies in the core financial system, or vice-a-versa.

The above scenario pertaining to references to Cave Shepherd, Da Costa Mannings, Bay View, Sandy Crest, the Salvation Army, the YWCA, the Seventh Day Adventist School and the Muslim school on Passage Road was drawn to also let you take note of the very deterministic role that the real actual cost of use of money (local) has in any of the remunerations that any of those and any other unmentioned entities – other than government per se – will and do get at any given time in this country.

Artaxerxes, it is therefore inappropriate and misleading to assess our very vaunted theoretical approach towards a post-TAXATION society by means of the use of old archaic price misconceptions, old archaic loan misconceptions, very flawed work and production cost theories, etc., in that, you will certainly come to very wrong and erroneous conclusions about such an approach, as is seen in the case in your last response to us under this thread.

4. @PDC
    If people are not understanding you, maybe you are communicating badly.

5. Hal…….yeah, I understand from a friend who lived in England for decades when she receives her check and takes it to the bank in Barbados, they want to keep the funds for 3 months before it’s cleared without caring about her health, well-being and the fact that she has bills to pay and food to buy…..that is unconscionable.

To answer your question Hal, I have it on very good authority that CGI’s Harris and Bayley plans to allow the Transport Board’s insurance liabilities to rise to such unacceptable levels (IT’S PRESENT STATE) that the entity will (HAS) become so unsellable (IT’S CURRENT STATE) that they will be in a position to pressure this weak government and can then purchase the Transport Board for a song, this will then ensure that absolutely no claims will be paid out to Bajans who are injured, disabled or to families of those who lose their lives in accidents on the island……maybe CGI can refute those claims.

Maybe the opposition and current leaders of the DLP who love to open their holes and spout shit to the electorate (to secure votes) about patriotism and being patriotic and yada, yada, yada, but gleefully and greedily align themselves with the above shady and unsavory characters just to appear and project an image of wealth and success by lining their pockets to the detriment of state entities, the island and the long suffering taxpayers……just maybe they can tell us just how the people of Barbados can trust these politicians when they continually sell out their own people so as to appear wealthy and successful, exactly what can anyone admire about that lowlifeism?.

Should this plan of Harris and Bayley be successful (and it’s quite likely to be given current conditions), the Barbados electorate will finally get to recognize that the politicians are just there to make sure they themselves benefit from these schemes and scams.

Maybe the minister Dumbville Inniss can enlighten and tell us just how that type of behavior by politicians can be admired and/or tolerated by the voters when the island’s reputation and the taxpayer’s who are affected by CGI’s NO PAY policies and whose health and well-being are directly affected making them the VICTIMS of the greedy policies of Harris and Bayley……while Inniss is at it he can tell us what his role is in all of this CGI big brain scheme

Maybe PM Stuart can also clarify for us why Harris and Bayley are allowed to get away with all this clogging up of the court system for 10 years 6 years of it under his watch….we know for a fact that David Simmons, former Chief Justice, former Attorney General, was involved with CGI while he was working for the government in the previous years before the DLP got the reins of power the records at corporate registry proves this, no great surprise there cause we all know David Simmons HAS NO MORALS, so why was CGI still allowed to operate and victimize Bajans further, AND, are those two also Stuart’s esteemed ‘gentlemen’ friends just like Leroy Parris.

The opposition’s hands are also very dirty in this CGI matter since the likes of Rommel Marshall and Owen Arther allowed Harris to get the Transport Board contract away from ICBL, it will be interesting to hear the circumstances of that change of insurance companes. and then, Harris and Mia Mottley are best buddies, not forgetting Jerome Walcott a sitting senator collectin taxpayer’s money in salary every month is also business partner to Harris and fellow director at the recently purchased Bayview Hospital, good to know he can no longer deny this………..so Hal, I hope that answers all the questions you have for both political parties.

6. I understand PDC clearly
    If people do not understanding PDC
    It is because they have hardened their hearts
    to the message up front
    PDC ‘s message has merit
    –and I am in full support
    I would vote for a PDC candidate -tomorrow

PDC can count on my vote

PDC can do no worst
    and I humbly believe that PDC can do better
    if allowed to
    because we know the kind of undermining that those in this society who think that their status is threaten , we know how they react
    That is why I would advise PDC to have some ‘Force” whatever form that ‘Force’ takes
    What have the others done and demostrated overtime ?
    Are we happy as a people
    These parties at the behest of the people
    They exist as a result of the people’s support
    They do not possess, in my mind, any greater skills than PDC.
    What they possess is the acquiescence of the people–Simple !!!

————————————

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga —I want PDC to gain a foothold in this Country—Why not !!!!!

7. @ PDC

I surrender.

8. Yagga Rowe,

Your continued support for us on here is entirely inspirational and commendable.

We endorse every word of what you wrote in your last post to us just now.

It shows how indepth and profound your cognitive, comprehensiion, evaluation and reasoning skills and capacities are in relationship to what we have been enunciating on here about a post-TAXATION society for Barbados.

Moreover, in regard of the understanding this theoretical approach to the evolution towards a post-TAXATION society for Barbados, every single person blogging on this network, or visiting it, is capable of becoming just like you and the PDC.

Finally, it is clear we not going to be directly responding to what Hal Austin said in his last comment to us.

Thanks Again, Yagga Rowe.

9. SO TELL ME PDC HOW WILL PDC GOVERNMENT SUPPORT THE COUNTRY WITHOUT TAXATION. HOW WILL YOU BUILD ROADS, SCHOOLS , ETC

10. @ 12 inches
    Shiite man…stop asking the PDC that question nuh!!!
    Just surrender quietly like Artaxerxes did….
    …or stick your tongue into your cheek and lie – like YAGGA……

@’PDC
    In order to keep everyone focused…
    Can you PLEASE get back to ending your post with your trademark motto…..”Down with the blasted BLP and the damn DLP”

Thank you…

@ Jack Donkey Boremann
    🙂 🙂 🙂
    LOL Ha Ha

11. @ Bush Tea

Bushie….. you is something else yuh….. I had to surrender, causen in your words…… I aint know wha de shiite duh talking ’bout.

12. To the individual who wrote in the capitalized letters just above,

In response to what you asked we will restate something that we communicated under the thread – Accessing Tourism Internet Portals To Win Deals – and it is this:”There is absolutely no relationship whatsoever between the amount of remunerations that the government evilly wickedly STEALS ROBS from the relevant people, businesses and other entities on a daily basis, and the actual work that is done by all the government employees, or by all the relevant consultants to government, or the business that is done for government by the relevant business people in this country.

Indeed, it is WICKED and MASSIVE LIE by some people within and without government in Barbados to suggest or tenor statements to the effect that the TAXATION system provides for such activities”.

The fact that there are no relationships between evil wicked TAXATION and those variables ( the building of roads, schools as you posited) does show that there is an illegal dishonest use by the government of wicked evil intellectual psychological devices, whenever it goes and STEALS ROBS the relevant entities of what are countless portions of their remunerations.

Therefore, when the government dishonestly by deception tells a person that it is TAXING human effort, lands, buildings, roads, vehicles, craft, money, goods and services, etc., when it is impossible and inconceivable to do so already, it is in such ways using various wicked evil sleights of hand ruses and hypnoses to help it STEAL and ROB the relevant persons, businesses and other entities of what is theirs – their remuneration properties.

Imagine the government and some other persons in this land having been long going around this country telling themselves that work, land, buildings, vehicles, craft, money, goods and services, have their own psychologized digitized subjective values (prices) (when clearly they do not have such), and therefore on such wholly illusionary bases the government proceeding to STEAL ROB many people, businesses and others of their remuneration properties (but not without some of these people falsely believing deluding themselves that the government has this authority to do so)?

HUH??

For the fact is that there are no relationships between such existences – human efforts, lands, buildings, vehicles, craft, money, goods and services – and TAXATION.

Too, again, there are no relationships between work and business done by the relevant workers and businesses for government, and what the government STEALS and ROBS others of under the rubric of TAXATION.

For, in respect of the latter point, the remunerations that those workers and those business persons and entities get ( and which is represented by money) do come directly from out of the core financial system (money banks, credit unions as such), and NOT from TAXATION.

While it true that individuals, businesses and other entities must be given nominal remunerations (which can only be represented by money), in order for each of them to provide for the use of money in the commercial process, it really does not have to be regurgitated still that it is the process of human beings working and doing business with resources material machines equipment and ideas, that actually transforms various material into roads, schools, hospitals, and other buildings, vehicles, craft, money, goods and services for use by the relevant individuals in the private or public conditions of life, and that furthermore and very specifically critically altogether provides social, welfare, security, physical, foreign affairs ( of this country) for use by the relevant individuals in the private or public conditions of life.

So there you go.

13. To the individual who wrote in the capitalized letters just above,

As well, please go to the relevant BU thread on February 24, 2014, and see what is there for your own enlightenment dissection on the PDC’s theoretical approach towards a post-TAXATION society for Barbados.

Thank You

14. @PDC

You just don’t get, even those withvpost grad training do not understand your position. Does ghos tell you anything at all?

15. @ Artaxerxes
    I had to surrender, causen in your words…… I aint know wha de shiite duh talking ’bout
    ++++++++++
    Ha Ha Ha Ha
    Boss man!
    Where your problem would have started is if you HAD understood….
    LOOKA…don’t mind David with his diplomatic talk hear….those PDC fellows just vex bout the whole money thing cause dem ain’t got none….
    HOWEVER….they do have one VALID point …..and that is…
    Down with the damn DLP and the blasted BLP 🙂

16. David,

The person who goes by the pseudonym – Artaxerxes – is the person who remarked that he has surrendered. But do you believe it that he has really surrendered?

Anyhow, he committed very fundamental errors of judgment and fact yesterday. He also did violate certain cardinal epistemological methodological scientific principles at the time.

He was attempting to dissect our NO-TAXATION model based on old archaic misconceptions myths, like price, loans, production costs, and very flawed theories of work – things like those that the model has totally deliberately excluded from its structures and emphases.

It is certain therefore that he will there come to many wrong and erroneous conclusions about the model itself.

So, instead of realizing that the person became illogical, and seeking to point out that glaring deficiency and problem to him, and letting him know he must get to understand the theory better before attempting to make very false assumptions about it , you are seeking to tell us that even those with post grad training do not understand our position?

Well, we think you ought read, or reread, what the person going by the pseudonym, Yagga Rowe, stated so brilliantly under this same thread yesterday, and ought to read, or reread, what the person going by the pseudonym Code Name wrote so compellingly under another BU thread some weeks ago about our NO TAXATION theory.

17. @PDC

Perhaps you should encourage Dennis Johnson to give you an opportunity to share your ideas (not theory) with a wider audience.

18. David,

Your proposal about getting Mr. Dennis Johnson, of Starcom Network, to give us an opportunity to share our theory (not just ideas) with a greater audience is a good one.

We will see what comes out of your proposal.

In the mean time, we wish you to let you know that what we have evolved is a theory of NO-TAXATION for Barbados, a theory of a post-TAXATION society for Barbados.

A popular website states that “a theory is a set of assumptions, propositions or accepted facts that attempts to provide a plausible or rational explanation of cause-and-effect (causal) relationships among a group of observed phenomenon. The word’s origin (from the Greek thoros, a spectator) stresses the fact that all theories are mental models of the perceived reality”.

You may visit Wikipedia.org and look at the definition of a theory, as well.

Hence, it is clear that our theory fits within their definitional frameworks of what a theory is.

19. @PDC

In the context of applying your ‘theory’ to managing a country where there has been no robist testing elsewhere it must remain an idea.

20. @ David

“In the context of applying your ‘theory’ to managing a country where there has been no robist testing elsewhere it must remain an idea.”

Well stated David, as well as your point about 100% employment in a previous post.

If we take a look at a country close to home, such as the Bahamas. There are no income, corporate, purchases or sales, VAT, capital transfer, capital gains or inheritance taxes in the Bahamas. However, there is a national insurance contribution scheme, to which all employees, the self-employed and non-residents must contribute. Only Bahamian resident are able to benefit.

But we may ask how government raises revenue to manage the island’s affairs; the answer: duties.
    There is a 7% stamp tax levied on businesses; customs duties, which are based on the CIF value of imports and ranging from 0% to as high as 200% are applied to almost all imported goods; stamp duties on mortgage and property transactions and a tax on real property. The income derived from these duties provides approximately 70% of government’s revenue.

In the business environment, firms will pass on these duties to households, thereby significantly increasing the prices of commodities (i.e. goods and services). This would give us an idea of how high the cost of living is in the Bahamas, but salaries and wages are commensurate with their standard of living.

Additionally, David, although the PDC’s definition of a theory is essentially correct, they must bear in mind that all theory is an abstraction from reality. Hence, a good theory abstracts from full reality in a useful way; a bad theory does not.

21. In line with such definitions we will do the following schema –

Therefore, a few assumptions (explicit, implicit, underlying, etc) –

1) that we will – as part of a wider coalitional group win government in Barbados and – thereupon – proceed to ABOLISH TAXATION in the country, and after a Commission has helped to produce major efforts with various people and organizations throughout the country, and has made the appropriate recommendations to us and the country consistent with our national strategic political objectives of the development of a post-TAXATION society.

2) That the process of the Abolition of TAXATION having started, will, as much as possible, fit like clockwork, will dove tail with many other theories, policies and programs that are there to be integrated into it, and to give support to it, before hand, at the same time or in anticipation of it. For example, the ensuring of the removal of Interest Rates from the core financial system; the making sure that all so-called Exchange Rates with the Barbados Dollar are Abolished; the making sure that all remunerations or transfers or financial institutional accounts of all importers of commercial goods and services into Barbados will not be costed, in the context of the importing of such goods and services, until they arrive for transaction at any ports of entry in the country, and that where such costs are done, they will themselves only have to do with the remunerations that are to be given to partners functioning here within those ports or the remunerations of the sole proprietors or partnership businesses doing business here with the said partners of the said ports; the establishment of the National Institutional Productive Transfers of Money Scheme and the National Institutional Non-Productive Transfers of Money Scheme; the establishment of Partnerships as the only multi-member corporate business entities possible in Barbados, etc.

3) That the process of the abolition of TAXATION will greater open up greater opportunities for the greater uses of money in the industrial and commercial realms of this country, and will – along with many of the assumptions – in two (2) above – see less money being used as remunerations/costs than before with regard to many industrial commercial transactions in an especially very competitive industrial commercial market environment in Barbados.

22. David,

A theory is NOT tested.

And this is something that Artaxerxes ought to let you know, or remind you of.

Rather, it is the causal or non-causal hypotheses that are involved in the theory – and depending on the type of theory one is dealing with – scientific or non-scientific – that are confirmed or disconfirmed through a series of tests, surveys, statistical data gathering, etc, for such purposes, etc.

23. Well said PDC !
    What do the naysayers have to say now ?
    I still maintain that you will need -‘Force’
    of whatever kind –maybe -Force of the People
    Whatever the case
    PDC must align itself to an entity of -‘Force’
    ‘Force’ will be needed

24. What is a bad theory ?
    Is it similar to bad art ?
    What is bad art ?
    Artaxerxes ??

25. Re: Brasstacks

not true malcolm taitt
    the people from nassco
    have recalled Yaris and Rv.4s
    I should know

26. Yagga Rowe,

Your abiding and unwavering support is most welcome.

And your leadership on this blog is proving to be exceedingly critical and necessary in respect of many others coming to an understanding of where we and you are coming from.

27. @ YAGGA
    Man stop playing the donkey do…!
    Join PDC and write some poems for them then….
    “Down with the damn DLP and the blasted BLP”

@ Artaxerxes
    There is NO QUESTION that a complete review and re-engineering of Barbados’ tax policies and procedures is vitally needed. The real danger is that by allowing such a serious agenda to be hijacked by nonsense, we will have a situation where persons will see it as a choice between the idiocy that we currently have …and the insanity that PDC proposes….and you know that brass bowls have no problem with idiocy…

If you look at the Bahamas model you will note that their approach puts control of consumer demand COMPLETELY in their own hands….by manipulating levies and import duties accordingly…
    ….of course that is why they don’t even fart on CSME…..

If we had such control, we could simply impose appropriate duties on the lotta shiite foods that the merchants make a killing on (pun intended) – and encourage the success of local products instead.

The other fallacy that we have is that a society should encourage “cheap” products to be available to the people….(a la Islandgal)…

NONSENSE!…cheap thing no good…good thing no cheap…
    There should be GOOD money to be made from farming and such honest work….and people should be prepared to PAY for value.

Only lazy, unproductive morons benefit from cheap, low-quality stuff…and such attitudes should not be OFFICIALLY encouraged.

28. @PDC

To repeat: in the context of what you are proposing it must align with what is possible i.e. its practical application, the appetite of Barbadians and internation financial agencies to buyin etc. BUT you will never get it. Until your idea or as you describe it theory remains a mumbo jumbo posit in the view of 99.99% of those who read it, you are wasting your breath.

29. BT….Ag. food from the developed countries is cheap because of incentives given to farmers by their govts……we have to solve the high cost of Ag. inputs needed for our production.

30. Until your idea or as you describe it theory remains a mumbo jumbo posit in the view of 99.99% of those who read it, you are wasting your breath.

If it had come from a frosty faced
    Caucasian from somewhere in one
    of the North Atlantic Countries,
    it would not be mumbo jumbo though !
    Typical Typical Typical
    Keep on pushing PDC
    Stay Focused
    One of the first task of a new PDC /Coalition Government
    should be a massive re-education programme
    The old mindset and archaic approaches will be “Forced” to crumble

31. @ Vincent
    …so why look for the hard way to address the problem…?
    If we had BALLS, we would simply TAX the subsidized imported junk to the point where it remains UNCOMPETITIVE with our own local produce.
    This way, OUR farmers would make a mint, improve quality, improve technique, gain skills – and likely become exporters themselves eventually…

BUT ALAS…the donkeys who sit in our parliaments went and signed all kinds of shiite treaties that now FORCE us to allow those subsidized farmers to put OURS out of business…..

Think Bahamas signed such nonsense…? …or even waste time considering such idiocy as CSME?

Talk bout brass bout here…..!!!

32. BT…..Chuckle….cannot disagree with the above…

This discussion is purely academic as we know the reason why Ag. will not be allowed to grow in this country.

33. @ Bush Tea

“There is NO QUESTION that a complete review and re-engineering of Barbados’ tax policies and procedures is vitally needed.”

“In the context of applying your ‘theory’ to managing a country where there has been no robist testing elsewhere it must remain an idea.”

@ PDC
    “David, A theory is NOT tested. And this is something that Artaxerxes ought to let you know, or remind you of.”

Bushie…… I have absolutely no problem with the PDC’s “no taxation theory”, I applaud them for bringing an alternative and being consistent in doing so, amidst all the criticism they receive.
    I also agree with your observation about our tax structure. In recent years Barbadians have been burdened with a lot of “willy nilly” taxes, and more so over the past 6 years.

If the PDC could direct me to their source of information so I could read it, without the usual PDC ambiguous and verbose statements, I may be able understand the context in which it was presented. However, if this is an original PDC “theory”, then they should provide us with the test results of this model and the environment/economic conditions [e.g. fixed, opened or mixed economy] in which it was tested for better clarification.

As it relates to theory, PDC is only try to be technical by implying one will have to “test the variables of a theory”, and not the theory itself.
    To know if the abstractions of any particular theory are useful or not, in its construction, we must follow a process of logical deduction to discover what is implied by the assumptions of the theory. To test any theory, its predictions must be confronted with evidence. We must also seek to discover if certain events have the consequences predicted by the theory. If the theory is useful, its predictions will pass empirical test.

Essentially David, in the absence of test results or evidence that such a policy has been successfully undertaken by any country, the PDC’s no taxation policy is just an idea and not a developed theory.

34. Man Bushie wha wrong wid you?

Why should Bajans buy local produce when they can buy de same toxic,genetically modified crap as we Bajans in de diaspora?

You ent see how pretty de packaging is do an tobesides tummuch locally grown food might extend wunna lifean create problems fuh de pension fun.

35. @Artax

In other words PDC’s theory must withstand the rigour of the BU intelligentsia…lol.

@Vincent

The other variable with wg is laboir cost. We will be defeated on this front everytime.

36. @ Artaxerxes
    Cuhdear Art….Wuh even before looking for test results, …should the theory make some kinda SENSE?
    PDC got a point, … but they are lost in emotions and verbosity….
    Yuh can’t just ban something (taxes) because um “evil”?

Boss man in that case David can ban the Jack Donkey Boremann fellow right now! ….he real evil!
    Criminals are “evil” and anti- social ….don’t we have to live with them…?

Our tax system SHOULD be changed….because it is IDIOTIC.
    It does NOT achieve intended aims.
    It is inefficient
    It is wasteful
    It is outdated.
    There is too much focus on EASY collection rather that strategic system control….case in point the last shiite tax they just passed….

A visionary tax system should FORCE desired behaviors – like productivity, social responsibility, lawful conduct, creativity, export….

It should punish anti-social tendencies, inefficiency and laziness.
    Taxpayers should be able to ‘see’ how their taxes are being used in their collective interests…

…but it would require VISIONARY leadership to conceptualize and implement and maintain such a system…

37. LOL @ Hants
    You ent see how pretty de packaging is do an tobesides tummuch locally grown food might extend wunna life an create problems fuh de pension fun.
    LOL… Ha Ha
    Skippa, …you getting like Yagga yuh….go easy on de old gold and soda Hantsie….

…but yuh right though….we can’t have too many old Bajans knocking about….nothing more expensive to maintain than an old beaten-up brass bowl…. Takes too much brasso and elbow greese….

What yam and Eddie what?!!
    Let us keep on eating the expensive, imported, Monsano GM wheat and corn products…

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    wHENEVER I GO HOME I DOES GET MY MUDDA TO BRING ON THE BREADFRUIT AND THE YAMS AND POTATOES AND THE EDDOES HERE?

39. @Hal
    the pensioners (many of them formerly of the UK), whose pensions have been paid by the British government in to their local bank accounts yet they still cannot get them on order of the central bank
    Where did you get the information that British pensioners are unable to access their pensions on orders from the Central Bank? I have a very close relative who receives a British pension and there haven’t been any complaints from that quarter.

Is there anyone who can attest to the veracity of Hal’s statement?

40. @ Sargeant
    That sounds like a local issue where the bank may have had transfer issues with the source bank with that particular transaction.
    That is not a general rule……yet!!,

Your mudda? ….Still feeding you…?
    …give the poor woman a rest Doc…. Yuh mean she is to spoon feed you to her old age…?

Why you don’t go up by Islandgal..?
    Tell she Bushie send you ….and that she could give you what she got fuh the bushman… LOL

….you gotta helmet…?
    LOL Ha Ha

41. @Bushie
    Hal’s words were as follows “pensions have been paid by the British government in to their local bank accounts”. Those are called “Direct Deposits” which should be de rigueur for pensioners as they shouldn’t be waiting for a cheque in the mail or a Postal strike which can wreak havoc with their lives. (You remember the Gov’t making the suggestion that pensioners should open accounts so that their money could be deposited directly and some people canvassing against the idea?)

Direct deposits are considered cleared funds and I don’t believe that we have reached the point where the Central Bank can instruct the Banks to deny you the opportunity to withdraw funds from your account.

42. Countries with NO TAX
    UAE
    Qatar
    Oman
    Kuwait
    Cayman Islands
    Bahrain
    Bermuda
    Bahamas
    Saudi Arabia
    Brunei Darussalam
    see slide show http://www.cnbc.com/id/48054006

43. @Sargeant

Direct deposits is optional for pensioners at the moment in Barbados.

44. The point I was making is that the money arrives in the pensioner’s account but the retail bank claims, under direct instructions from the central bank I am told by a then BNB worker, not to pay within days. I know because it happened to my 95 yr old father in law.
    I also know that I paid a cheque in to a local account and specifically asked when it was going to be cleared. I was told 14 days, two days later I flew in to Gatwick, cleared immigration and customs, went straight to an ATM machine and checked and the money had left my account.
    It is an obsession with foreign reserves.

45. @Hal

Banks in Barbados are part of the clearing houses of the UK or North America foreign checks therefore have to be mailed overseas to collect funds. BU suspects the period local banks hold the funds is a blanket rule.

46. @ Hal
    It is an obsession with taking advantage of helpless morons. ALL the banks here do that shiite….
    You deposit a cheque from another bank and they “hold” the funds for days – while these funds are unavailable to the beneficiary.
    It is not only foreign funds…even local deposits from another bank next door…..
    Bushie would not be surprised if they even held their own cheques for a few days…
    …they got that idea from the thieving lawyers bout here who hold their clients’ deposits until as much interest as possible can be collected….

Man EVERYBODY likes to piss on a brass bowl….

47. @ Bush Tea

Are you telling me that cheques from one local bank to another take days to clear. Tell me it ain’t so. Every time I think I have a measure of Barbadian trickery and inefficiency it gets worse.
    With technology payments c an be cleared in minutes; and in B’dos people can walk from one bank to the other. I wonder how much banks make in interest by holding on to people’s money for days.
    It certainly cuts back on the interbank lending system.
    Where is the regulator, the central bank. They must know what is going on, which means they are complicit, or if they do not know they are incompetent.

48. David,

You need to deal with our NO-TAXATION Theory.

In that sense, start being relevant by critiquing IT.

Your entering impertinence – a la your 12.46 pm, April 10, 2014 – into such an historic and revolutionary debate is not cutting it.

You are not capitalizing on the opportunity that exists for you to contribute something substantial to this debate, that Barbados MUST move to a post-TAXATION society, for the very strong, incontrovertible and irrebutable reasons that we and many others – on here and elsewhere – have been advancing.

What is also very disappointing about you is that this very debate has been given greater structure on a new and essentially progressive media – BU.

Also, we have already told you on here we are NOT about entertaining any narrow electoral considerations as per whether some will or will not vote for us on the basis of our NO-TAXATION theory.

We are NOT EVER, whenever it has to do with the fundamental and conscientious human, political, constitutional rights of the people of Barbados.

We are NOT EVER, whenever it has to do with such a monumental obstruction to the greatest social political material financial development possible of our people and to the commercial productive sectors of this country.

What we are totally interested in is as many citizens cum voters in Barbados as possible being educated, knowing and realizing the UNVARNISHED TRUTH about the colossal social psychological political material financial damage that this evil criminal TAXATION system has been doing and continues to do to the vast majority of people of this country and to all the commercial productive sectors of it.

Indeed, some of this damage is irrestorable on the current dedevelopment ruinous trajectory that Barbados is currently being taken.

What we are also TOTALLY interested in is the vast majority of people upon knowing and realizing the dedevelopment, the decay, the ruin that are coming to their lives and to the material financial existences and potentialities of this country, directly and indirectly as a result of this criminal illegal TAXATION system – they therefore coming up with ways to help a certain future coalitional regime of Barbados to ABOLISH it, and to help the regime replace it with a modern, progressive, humanistic, altrustic, legal set of systems – some new some not new – for the government greater more wisely accessing money to settle its own bills and for the government greater coming by more of its own revenues.

So there you go.

49. @PDC

Your idea has neen critiqued over the years by all and sundry on the blog, the problem is that you are impervious to the feedback.

50. @PDC
    Are you prepared to contest any forthcoming general election as a party?

Leave a Reply to Jack BowmanCancel reply