Submitted by William Skinner
Ralph Boyce, head of MESA
Ralph Boyce, Head of MESA

It is understandable, that Mr. Ralph Boyce, unlike many of his counterparts, who would have opted for a retirement of leisure, has chosen to utilize his vast skills to better the society. He has been attempting with some moderate success to do so via the Men’s Educational support Association (MESA). I compliment Boyce on his efforts because in our class based society, we find retirees of Boyce’s ilk hanging out in church groups; service clubs and other more “acceptable “organizations. Seldom do they engage themselves in organizations that are attempting to rid the society of known prejudices or injustices. Men in our society have huge psychological hurdles to overcome; one major challenge is accepting that the modern woman is not their beloved mothers or grandmothers. Unfortunately, MESA has become the dwelling place for men who need psychologists more than they need MESA.

Within this organization, there are men who honestly believe that they have been wronged by women. Well I have news for them: Within the National Organization of Women (NOW), there are women who believe that they have been wrong by men! The mistake that Boyce has made is that he has allowed himself to be drawn into public squabbling with some females, who find the direction of MESA troubling. I honestly cannot blame them. His followers are therefore of the belief that MESA should be concerned mainly with pointing out how bad women are and how men have suffered at their hands. Such an approach is doomed to absolute failure.

One of the recurring topics at MESA is the unfaithfulness of women to men who have been good to them. In other words: If men give food clothing and lodging, a woman is supposed to prove her gratitude by being faithful.

They need to understand that a woman’s body belongs to her and she uses it at her own discretion. Violating women and physically abusing them is not acceptable under any circumstances. I believe that Mia Mottley, the Leader of the Opposition, put it best when she said that: “men should learn how to take a horn”.

I would have thought that MESA would have been more focused on really educating men about being better role models and availing themselves of the educational opportunities, rather than being outstripped by women, almost or above, two to one, when it comes to graduates of universities and other places of learning. Boyce should have been explaining to men that women are now more independent and are not going to stand for the nonsense that earlier generations endured. I would have thought that Boyce would be informing them that multiple relationships and refusing to look after their children is not the way to go. In other words: bury or forget the village ram mentality. And finally, MESA could have been in the forefront of defending and lobbying for gay men to be treated fairly and the removal of all discrimination against them.

I am therefore totally in agreement with the comments made by Talk Show host Peter Wickham, in a recent broadcast, when he was critical of the direction that MESA is taking. Boyce as a former chief education officer, and as fine a gentleman as any that I have ever met, needs to change direction and mend fences with NOW. My simple suggestion to Boyce and MESA is that they refocus and don’t allow the organization to become another: I say dem say. Time for NOW and MESA to fight common causes, not to have needles and pins with each another. And embarrassing public squabbles. As is often said to doctors: physician heal thyself. Now to Boyce I respectfully say: Educator, educate yourself and followers. Put the real E in MESA: Education. Try to avoid that other E: Emotionalism or misplaced male Egos.

57 responses to “MESA, Stop Squabbling, NOW!”

1. @Ana Hidalgo April 8, 2014 at 1:41 PM islangal246′s advice to women worldwide who are beaten by men. Here we go:..”

Why do you have trouble with islandgal’s advice? The police, the military, cannot be every place at every time. Sometime a woman has to defend herself against those who would hurt her.

In the U.S. Constitution citizens have the right to bear arms to protect themselves against those who would hurt them

Every government every where in the world has armed police and armed armies.

But the police and the armies cannot come into homes unless invited, and sometime they are too far away.

At times like those a woman has both a right and a responsibility to defend herself against those who would hurt her.

There in NOTHING wrong with violence when used in defence of self.

I am constantly amazed that people expect women to disarm, but nobody calls for counties to disarm.

2. I’ll disarm when all people everywhere beat their swords (and nuclear weapons( into ploughshares.

Until then I reserve the right to use any means necessary defend myself, and my children.

3. That’s right Simon……i make absolutely sure i am always locked and loaded, at all times, females are always at risk particularly when they have children.

4. Simple Simon, April 8, 2014 at 10:28 PM

Here’s a highlight from islandgal246’s advice to abused women world-wide:

“Run outta de house and keep running. Start training in long distance running before yuh run outta de house.”

It’s supposed to be funny. It’s all supposed to be funny. That one is supposed to be the funniest.

Did you laugh? Did you find that funny? Are you amused by the image of a beaten woman spending a lot of time “training in long distance running” before she can run from her abuser? Which bit of that is funny? Is the use of Bajan dialect supposed to make it funny? Is it somehow funnier in dialect than in standard English? Could it even hope to be funny if it were written in standard English?

It’s not funny. None of it is funny, even though all of it is written to amuse. Domestic abuse is not funny. It is not a subject for humour, except to an idiot.

Damned right that abused women should defend themselves. Damned right that the abuse of women should not be taken lightly by a half-wit for the amusement of dimwits.

You following me?

5. William Skinner Avatar

This abuse against our women needs to stop and stop now!. Check Singing Francine over 20 years ago: “Runaway”

6. Please note that men are’abused’ too

7. “This abuse against our women needs to stop and stop now!. Check Singing Francine over 20 years ago: “Runaway”

Me are abused too and whatever his motives Mr Boyce needs to be commended for providing a forum for men to air their comments against women as women have a forum to air theirs. The abuse against our men needs to stop too- provocatively, psychologically and physically.

Leave a Reply to Yagga RoweCancel reply