72 responses to “Pope Francis: One Giant Leap for Humility”

1. Regarding Roman Catholicism and Popes, Sir. George Sinclair could not have put it more succinctly, when he said:

“Romanism IS a REFINED system of Christianised Heathenism, and chiefly differs from its prototype in being more TREACHEROUS, more CRUEL, more DANGEROUS, more INTOLERANT.”

Its the GREAT WHORE, the Mother of Harlots. ( Rev. 17)

Never was, currently IS NOT, and NEVER will be part of the True Church of The Lord Jesus Christ!

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Zoe

THe Madam is closeby so, being trained homo domesticus I cannot comment about “the women is bitches” remark let i have to come to your house for a lodging.

I did not have on my bifocal glasses but i thought I saw you say that Chris (tianized) Sinc(k)liar had been knighted and was now a Sir (from) George (Street)

Did you then go on to say that he was a “Heathen(ism) given his tiefing ways and (that the) chief(ly Fumble) was no differ(ent)s from his (its) protot ege (ype) sincd Chris was (in being) more TREACHEROUS, more CRUEL, more DANGEROUS?

De ole man gots to find his glasses doah!!

3. Zoe

I wonder if you might articulate what you think are the characteristics and antecedents of this “true church of Christ”.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE TRUE CHURCH OF CHRIST IS DESCRIBED IN ACTS
    IT IS WELL KNOWN THAT THE ROMANS UNDER CONSTANTINE INFILTRATED THE CHURCH.

IT IS WELL KNOW THAT THERE WAS A SECTION OF THE CHURCH THAT REMAINED PURE ANS SEPARATE FROM THE ROMAN CHURCH

JUST READ A GOOD TEXT ON CHURCH HISTORY

5. there is no such thing as a “True church” just a bunch of carbon copies outdated replicas of traditions hoisting the faith of flag,,,

6. Again you confirm that you really don’t know SQUAT ac…..

7. there is no such thing as a “True church” just a bunch of carbon copies outdated replicas of traditions hoisting the the FLAG of FAITH,,,

8. Oh dear Georgie P – that is not an answer. You are begging ALL the questions. Oh and please don’t condescend with the reference to Church History. You assume far, far too much.

9. One of the things that saddens me about this post is the readiness so many seem to have to dismiss the Church which, in one way or another and for good (at times) and ill (at times) has sustained believers down 20 centuries. It’s a wonderful record whether you buy into it all or not.

The post sadly got bogged down in old scents about domestic violence and the usual knockabout stuff involving personalities and in which I play my part too. What, arguably, it should have been doing is to scrutinize what it means to be holy, a holiness which really doesn’t depend on the conventions of religion faiths. I say ‘religion’ rather than ‘religious’ quite deliberately – for what matters is not this or that particular faith but the sense of religiousness in which we are all able to share, that’s to say our sense of oneness with everything that is, with all that is creative, our sense of wonder and joy at what life is and holds.

In every ‘faith tradition’ there have been men and women whose sense of holiness ‘in the world’ – which is where it all happens – has been demonstrated in such a way as to point to what it all really means to be you and me. In this post we have focused on Pope Francis, bless him, but it could equally have been about people like Oscar Romero or Maximilian Kolbe or anyone else who gave their lives for a cause in which they truly believed and in which the good and true and beautiful ring out to all of us – and do so because it can all be found in each and every one of us anyway. This is something which transcends petty little squabbles about the Roman Church and its Curia and all the allegedly essential precepts of the faith which have conditioned us to think in a certain way and not from the natural outpouring of our hearts,

For me, Pope Francis, as also his predecessor John Paul 1 for a glorious moment, rings out to all of us and tells us what personal holiness really means. In his case, as with Jesus, it means reaching out to the vulnerable and saying ‘NO’ to stuffy conventions, to lying to ourselves and the world, and saying most simply and humbly ‘YES’ to what in our hearts we know is best about ourselves, not so much from greed or fear but because it is the only true way we have to express who we truly are and what we are truly meant to be.

10. Ross, quick question: where in the Hebrew Scriptures does it make mention of a Pope. And didn’t the Scriptures forbid believers from taking away or adding to the same Scriptures/ Word? Now, if we are instructed to use the Hebrew Scriptures as our guide towards a better understanding of who God is and those office which are designated to enlighten us to His promises. Why am I not understanding this concept of the Pope. Now of course, I have studied the KJV as most in Christendom do today and I haven’t seen any mention made of this distinctive figure who influences the world affairs.

11. Now is the Pope symbolic of the patriarchal structure comprising Abraham, Moses and Joshua, during patriarchal dispensation?

12. Now, it is impossible for the Pope to speak for the collective body of Christendom, especially when it is so fragmented and fractionalized? Yes, we may share the same basis tenets but our authority certainly, do not come from Rome.

13. ac | April 3, 2014 at 12:40 AM |

there is no such thing as a “True church” just a bunch of carbon copies outdated replicas of traditions hoisting the the FLAG of FAITH,,,

Well said AC…..do not mind BT and his BBE with wacker.

RR….may I suggest a oneness with mother earth,as all that is required as opposed to nebulous faith based on mans flawed thinking.

14. Wunna see Bushie!?!
    …the bushman dun wid dis hear? …and for multiple reasons..

1- no point in arguing with a man (Vincent) who, by the very fact of agreeing with ac, betrays his complete loss of any sense of reality…

2- Dompey in here……and..

3- Bushie is tempted to agree with Ross…..

So the bushman signing out….

15. BT…..Chuckle…..even a broken clock is correct once in 24 hours.

16. Dompey

Quick answer. Nowhere and who cares….but as RC’s will say – quick question – who was the first Bishop of Rome?

Vincent

Quick answer to you too – read what I wrote. I moved way beyond religion.

17. Vincent

A oneness with mother earth….oh really?

When will our ignorance cease to exist? You know, quite a few of the Native American tribes used to worshipped the Sun God. And certain sects in India worships the human penis, called the God of Phallus.

18. For Dompey…

Who is alleged to have said “on this rock I will build my church” and of whom?

(But of course you have a point about the male and dominant figure. Thank God then for Mother Mary. Yet oh dear – who did the serpent chat up, with what consequence and what colour was the apple? Red or green? – back to domestic violence)

19. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

20. but really……..of late the pope has become the PR spoke person for the church..in his daily visitations and salutations asking and seeking forgiveness from a world and people .that was all but shut out from the catholic church because of antiquated doctrine and misguided teachings…..

21. For Dompey and the sun god

Anyone interested in the sun’s outpouring might like Don Cupitt’s ‘Solar Ethics’.

When I’m done
    let me burn up and burn out
    and shoot full throttle
    skywards to the sun.

22. Well, here on BU, Arrogance and Ignorance are alive, but NOT well at all!

Because, as Martin Luther King Jr, so rightly said:

“The most dangerous thing in the world, IS* sincere IGNORANCE and conscientious STUPIDITY.”

And, T. S. Eliot also emphasized:

“ARROGANCE without foundation is manifestation of profound and chronic IGNORANCE.”

Leave a Reply to robert rossCancel reply