Leader of the BLP Mia Mottley (l) Former Leader of the BLP Owen Arthur (r)

The Mighty Sparrow tells a story about a lion which was mastered by a donkey. In this epic, the lion (MAM), despite his loud growl, role as dominate polygamist, sharp teeth, body built for combat and a propensity to instil fear was made to submit and be the mate of a mere donkey (OSA). Well, unlike OSA, the donkey is well known to be mild mannered, a carrier of huge burdens and in possession of a certain physical attribute that some fear. Fear of the expectation of a certain amount of joy and or pain that donkeys by their very nature are said to be able to inflict.

The recent broadside which Owen Seymour Arthur (OSA) inflicted on the prime ministerial ambitions of MAM continues to complicate political calculations in Barbados. Certainly, OSA seems intent on keeping his promise to his friends that he will never leave the BLP to MAM. In stating that the proposed divestment of state assets was the right policy for a beleaguered DLP administration. An administration beset by mounting internal disquiet and clueless about a direction for the country. Still, it was OSA who was to again deliver a life jacket to a feckless Fruendel Stuart regime.

These repeated and public ‘strokings’ from Sparrow’s donkey may eventually make the anatomy of the lion more receptive but no lion worth its salt would ever want to be in such a submissive position, not even once. But MAM seems to be unable to get this big doggy donkey from the dominate position it has assumed in Sparrow’s pantomime of the political animals. For MAM the reverse may be more advantageous. These repeated public humiliations will eventually break the lion’s back. For the back of a lion is unaccustomed to these kinds of pressures.

In Sparrow’s tale, the spectators, FJS and his DLP political animals, were in the audience encouraging the donkey to continue delivering these big licks to the king of the BLP beasts. We could hear FJS singing the chorus better than Sparrow himself. And he singing, ‘’hold him down, donkey hold him downnn’’. The problem is that not even the BLP party fathers, a compliant BLP mainstream media nor political concessions from MAM could get this donkey to relinquish its dominate position, far less discontinue the ruthless, rhythmic, public ‘movementations’ that lets all the other animals know, for sure, who is really the boss in this Bajan, BLP, kingdom of animals.

The donkey was content to watch the lion run out of steam by anticipating an election too soon. Once the lion ‘cum’ too soon, then is when donkey started to do bad. The lion, with an expectation of such an early election, had been gearing up the party machinery for a change of government, under the very nose of the donkey. But you know a lion is not well known for successful hunts and that parties, in opposition, seem to have limited resources. And the donkey which is known for running longer distances was merely waiting for the lion to exhaust himself. It is then, we started to hear the Mighty Sparrow’s song ringing around the savannah, again. And Freundel was up front signing the chorus loud and clear, ‘’hold him down, donkey hold him down’’. Leave the ‘young’ lion exposed!
Of all the animals is this here political kingdom FJS may not be seen as having the characteristics of some past leaders, but he must be the luckiness politician, in some ways, Barbados has ever had. He must be luckier than our friend Goodluck Jonathan of Nigeria.

Stuart could never be accused of having the courage of the lion (MAM). Barrow himself said this. But all animals know that it is better to be born lucky than courageous. Look how the courageous lion is being humiliated, time after time, after time. And there is nobody who can stop these public humiliations anytime soon. Maybe the lion (MAM) is hoping that the Underground leadership will call up OSA to strengthen the BLP middle order soon in order to stymie the rampant and marauding pace bowling of Thompson down under. This maybe the only way this lion could get this donkey off its back!

71 responses to “Risqué: Owen Hits Mia, Again!”

1. “The Constitution of Barbados recognizes the Oposition. Our democratic system is safeguarded by a strong ( or the appearence of ) Opposition”

Good try. The opposition boycotted the shebang put on to celebrate the yoke upon the backs of poor by the rich for over 312 years and from all reports was successfully staged. Yes, the Constitution recognizes an opposition but the opposition has no power in our system of Governance.

2. Frankley balance, it appears that even the incumbent has ho power in our system of Governance … Something as simple as voting at the UN in favour of our neighbor Venezuela evoked an abstention, with the most flimsy of excuses coming from the Ambassador …(which begs the question, exactly in whose interest is this Ambassador Beal serving ..?)

3. The opposition leader in America is third in line for the presidency, if president and/or the vice – president are killed or died’s of natural causes. The Speaker of the House is third in line for the presidency but in the original constitution is was the Secretary of State. But in the 1800′ s this all changed because it was best thought of that someone outside of the president’s cabinet would best served the interest of the country.

4. Its funny how the Speaker of the House has more constitutional power than the Vice – president. The president delegates to the Vice-president!

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dompey aka Mark Fenty

We do not need any lessons in the US Constitution.

6. Donkey why don’t you try kissing yuh backside for a change instead of licking the Americans backside?

7. Duncy Donkey,the past tense of put is put.One hears the word ‘putted’ in the game of golf.
    All you donkeys braying for OSA to leave public life,all ya better haul!Not one of you low life,bag blind,insipid,imbecilic,gimme,gimme DLP hacks and hoes,can hold a light to OSA,an outstanding Bajan who outshone the best the BLP had in its lineup and shocked most people at his outstanding success as a very capable PM of Barbados.Ef you en like it,get the hell out a hay!
    Freundel Stuart has brought Barbados to its knees.Tough days ahead for all.Let them stew in the mess they have created.

8. I have to jump in here, ‘‘Dompey’s” lessons on the US Constitution would merit an “F”. First , there is no Leader of the Opposition under the US Constitution. There is a “minority” leader who is leader of the Party with the fewest seats in the House. The Speaker of the House is third in line of succession to the President BUT he/she will only become President if both the President and Vice President died before a successor could be sworn in to take either of their positions e.g. if the President died then the VP will assume Office and he will select a VP who will be next in line. If the VP died the President will select another VP who would succeed the President if he is unable to fulfill his duties. The Speaker of the House will only become President if both the President & VP died before a successor could be sworn in e.g. if they died in an accident together.

Nixon’s first VP was Spiro Agnew who resigned after he was indicted for corruption in his previous job as Gov. of Maryland, Nixon then selected House minority Leader (Gerald Ford) as VP. Ford took over as President when Nixon resigned after Watergate. Nixon then selected Nelson Rockefeller as VP, notice there isn’t a Speaker in the Group.

The present Speaker in Congress is John Boehner who is the leader of the Republican Party in the House and the President is Barack Obama a Democrat that’s probably why “Dompey” writes about Leader of the Opposition however Nancy Pelosi (Democrat) was Speaker when Obama assumed the Presidency, certainly she couldn’t be termed “Leader of the Opposition”.

Finally the line of succession in the US runs through the Cabinet after the President,VP and Speaker that is why during State of the Union addresses one Cabinet member is usually stashed elsewhere so in the event of a catastrophic incident someone would be around to assume the duties of the President.

Now back to Owen & Mia

9. What the HELL!
    Wunna REALLY arguing with Donkey in truth..? …bout US government? …..on BU?
    …Lord …come fuh yuh world do!…..soon!

10. It is sad and frankly pathetic that this man’s hatred will allow him to sacrifice his own party and the country.

Bajan have clearly shown in 2008 and again in 2013 that they no longer want Owen Arthur to be Prime Minister. Will he be the first three time winner to be a three time loser?

11. Gabriel , oh please, its time for your prostate medication.

Sergeant , Republican is the Speaker of the House as we speak and his opposes President Obama’ s agenda right? How would you defined him?

Sergeant, even if the Republicans are the minority in the House or the Senate, they still the opposition fool. And vice verse!

Islandgal, you do not know what it means to have an international mindset as I do. And I am afraid to say that you would never eradicate that small island mindset, until you understand what it means to interact with world, as I do here in the United States of America.

Islandgal

Islandgal, without the American dollars flowing from here to there, Barbados would have been the psychological equivalent of one of the poorest state in Africa. So you should thank God for myself and the countless number of Bajans abroad, who pour the American green into Barbados everyday.

12. Gabriel

In general Gabriel, it is useful to remember that people make mistakes in every language, including English but thanks for your advice, yaa stiff prick.

13. Donkey you are a pompous jackass clogging up this blog with nonsense. Don’t you have work to do? You have been on this blog nonstop littering it with garbage.

Folks ignore this fool and scroll down when he posts.

Man David Donkey really needs to be sent to Coventry.

14. @Bajanfuhlife

Belize govt won a 2nd term

15. “Nixon then selected Nelson Rockefeller as VP, notice there isn’t a Speaker in the Group.”
    I believe you intended to say Ford selected Nelson Rockefeller as VP”

16. i have already posited on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness and to regain trust in our system of governance,the perception of accountibility, and transparency must be improved. To do this we have to take back Parliament from the politicians by having officials elected to parliament from the bowels of the constituencies to look after the interest of the constituents and not the party. Parliamentarians can be assigned certain responsibilties as members of various oversight commiitees or ministries selected from among the members of parliament. These oversight bodies suitably staffed by persons of varying disciplines would decide policy and forward to the technocrats in the relevant administrative departments for execution. In this way, it is hoped that the chances of parliamentarians getting involved in corruption would be limited if not fully eliminated and the characters of parliamentarians would not be open to abuse based on rumor and speculation.. The various independent public service selection bodies would be restored to select persons for employment and to head the various government agencies.Appointments to such critical and important posts like the Chief Justice will be free of bias and gossip.There will be no need for a primus interpares. The role of meeting dignataries and shaking hands can be assigned to the speaker of the parliament or rotated on an annual basis among the parliamentarians. In this system, the role of the governor general and term limits for parliamentarians would eventually come under scrutiny.

While I would admit that broadly speaking strong leadership is essential to the effective management of any organization; it depends on the particular circumstances and the outcomes. For instance, irrespective of whether it is as a result of the threat of loss of pensions hanging over their heads or not no one can deny the fact that for marshalling his forces well and keeping even his most vocal party critics in line, Mr Stuart can be considered a good leader of his party. On the other hand, the claim by others that he is the worst Prime minister because of his inability to effectively articulate and communicate the issues confronting the country is equally true. while also our former leaders seemed to have a grasp of the all the issues relating to the effective governance and generally to the management of the country; charisma has to a great extent played a defining part in how we perceive leaders should be. I firmly believe that what these small island economies need at this point to effectively deal with the intricacies of economic impositions threatening our survival is effective management. It is my view that this can only be achieved through an overhaul of the anachronistic systems of governance under which we operate and we must first begin with Parliament, now relegated to a poor rakey talk shop comprised of political underlings and fast losing its relevance. Parliament cannot be overhauled with scrutinising the role of the political parties. That is why I have already posited on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness and to regain trust in our system of governance, the perception of accountability, and transparency must be improved. To do this we have to take back Parliament from the politicians by having officials elected to parliament from the bowels of the constituencies to look after the interest of the constituents and not the party. Parliamentarians can be assigned certain responsibilities as members of various oversight committees or ministries selected from among the members of parliament. These oversight bodies suitably staffed by persons of varying disciplines would decide policy and forward to the technocrats in the relevant administrative departments for execution. In this way, it is hoped that the chances of parliamentarians getting involved in corruption would be limited if not fully eliminated and the characters of parliamentarians would not be open to abuse based on rumor and speculation.. The various independent public service selection bodies would be restored to select persons for employment and to head the various government agencies. Appointments to such critical and important posts like the Chief Justice will be free of bias and gossip. There will be no need for a primus inter pares. The role of meeting dignitaries and shaking hands can be assigned to an independent Presiding Officer of the Chamber or rotated on an annual basis among the parliamentarians. In this system, the role of the governor general and term limits for parliamentarians would eventually come under scrutiny.

17. @Gabriel March 25, 2014 at 10:01 PM “All you donkeys braying for OSA to leave public life,all ya better haul!Not one of you low life,bag blind[bastards],insipid,imbecilic,gimme,gimme DLP hacks and hoes,”

David wha’ u doan mek Gabriel behave heself? He ain’t gettin’ on on like an angel at all.

David I dona know the las’ day I hear somebody call somebody else a *bag blind bastard.

bag blind bastard=a person begotten in poverty and outside of the bonds of matrimony and behind a fragile curtain made of crocus[sugar bags]

We haven’t packed sugar in crocus bags for more than 50 years so I doubt that there are any active bag blind bastards left.

18. @Simple Simon

Thanks for the elucidation.

19. Dompey is not Mark Fenty ,,, Sorry, Leave the man be, do

20. “These comedians could only be taken seriously by people like you who follow them like a religion. ”
    No offence taken Pacha if you erroneously see me in that light

21. @ Balance
    If our was a misjudgment, we apologize!

Leave a Reply to robert rossCancel reply