Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
The annual UK Budget Speech is pure political theatre, it can be funny at times, and it gives the chancellor a chance in the limelight. But for the real details, those of us geeks have to wait traditionally for the chancellor to sit down and the civil servants to press the buttons to send a wad of documents. That is the fun. In the old days, pre the Internet, all national newspapers would have teams of messengers and couriers waiting outside the Treasury door to grab hold of their copies of the various documents as soon as the speech ends. This year was slightly different, some of the content – most of the content – was really meaningful and, if only this government could be humble for the time it takes to read the speech, there may be a few lessons they could learn from it.

Lessons:
The part of the speech that appealed to lots of Caribbean people, in particular the press and politicians, was the reduction in the Air Passenger Duty – imposed by Labour and removed by a Tory-led Coalition. After the announcement some Caribbean politicians and tourism industry officials started behaving like wild animals as if their stagnating economies will suddenly burst in to unexpected life by the changes. In fact a saving of an average £60 per person on a flight will hardly convince would-be travellers one way or the other. What really is extortionate about flights from Britain to the Caribbean, and is little discussed, is the cost of airline tickets, with Virgin and BA operating an unofficial duopoly.
But then again if our politicians and business people cannot even get LIAT right, then how can they run commercial, money-making flights from Europe. Remember Air Jamaica and BWIA? In under an hour, Mr Osborne, a Tory chancellor in a right-leaning Coalition government gave a Budget that neither the Blair or Brown governments could even dream about. And it was a masterclass for Chris Sinckler and the other visionless, incompetent finance ministers in the English-speaking Caribbean.

Mr Osborne was on fire with what he boastfully called a ‘Budget for building a resilient economy.’ Sticking to his deficit reduction strategy, even if most macro-economists do not fully agree with him, he has managed to reduce spending by a third, this year it will fall to half and by 2018 the Budget will be in surplus. (According to the last figures, Britain had a debt to GDP ratio of 88.7 per cent). Ignoring the fluff about tax-free childcare, it was the radical policies he introduced on savings and pensions that will secure his place in political history.

On savings, he removed the barrier between cash and stocks and shares individual savings accounts, making them a single savings vehicle, and extended the annual limit to £15000 per person aged over 18. In the 15 years since we have had tax-free ISAs, Britons have accumulated over £400bn in their Isa accounts, the most successful savings vehicle since the end of the Second World War. Mr Osborne, in a radical departure from all post-war chancellors, has liberated pensions allowing savers to control their money, rather than having the nanny state do it for them. He has signalled the death knell for annuities, again something many people have been saying for ages; why should an annuitant who sadly dies shortly after buying an annuity have his savings grabbed by insurance companies. And, in a jurisdiction like Barbados which I honestly believe has some of the most fraudulent and badly supervised and regulated insurance companies, anyone buying an annuity from some of these companies is either putting hope over experience or simply silly. In effect, Mr Osborne has marked the beginning of the end of traditional insurance companies with their opaque actuarial assumptions and poor risk management.

It is a policy that is another masterclass in freeing up huge amounts of cash which can be invested in the real economy by ordinary households. Of course, there is a moral hazard: some people may spend their money too quickly and carelessly, and others may live much longer than they imagined, thereby becoming a burden on the state. But this can be hedged by good financial education, even given the superlative education that Barbadians enjoy in everything, and the introduction of new restrictions on such long-term savings, such as stipulated entry points: births, marriages, university fees, home ownership and deaths.

These, I humbly suggest, are ideas that even Chris Sinckler can steal and some which would do the Barbados economy no end of good. First, it will return savings to households, it will add further liquidity to the economy, providing funding for would-be homeowners and small and medium enterprises in light of the reluctance of the foreign-owned banks to lend. More than that, by introducing legislation making it compulsory for savers to hold their savings exclusively in a state-owned or approved post office bank (or in one modelled on a cooperative or mutual bank), the government would, at a stroke, marginalise those Canadian, Trinidadian and American-owned banks that are simply milking ordinary Barbadians. Chancellor Osborne has also introduced new restrictions on the right of corporate bodies to buy residential homes; again something many of us have been calling for ages in order to control the foreign invasion on the West Coast, buying up greatly over-priced luxury homes through bogus companies, subsidised by Barbadian taxpayers. If a British Tory chancellor, a very rightwing one at that, can introduce such measures, then why cannot a social democratic DLP Barbadian finance minister?

Mr Osborne also introduced new legislation for a new Garden City on the Thames river bank in Kent, setting aside an initial £200m to provide at least 150000 new homes for aspiring young men and women. Mr Osborne is using existing planning legislation to create an Urban Development Corporation to oversee the development. I have been calling for sometime for a rejuvenation of the slum dwellings right in the heart of our City, something that Sir Grantley Adams realised in the 1950 when the Pine Housing area and Grazettes were built to rehouse the drifters who had settled the putrid alleys and gutters of Bridgetown. The only real difference then and now is that the people who now run our nation claim that we are First World while Sir Grantley was more real. Mr Osborne has set aside a further £500m builders’ finance fund for further building and there is no real reason why Mr Sinckler could not do the same, on a much smaller level, which could be used to fund small and medium contractors (bypassing the big boys) in a massive urban renewal scheme. But Mr Osborne went much further than such infrastructural developments, however necessary, to rekindle manufacturing, stimulate the export market and encourage employers to invest in training and modern machinery. The whisky industry was also given a leg up, something that this government could do to the Barbadian/Bajan rum industry, only a lot more. We need a legal definition of Barbadian/Bajan rum, to comply with World Trade Organisation rules; we need to train more young distillers; we need new rum manufacturing  businesses; and, most of all, we new a new hypothecated levy on the sector to spend on global marketing. Of course, it was not the perfect Budget, with Mr Osborne wrongly removing the automatic escalator for alcohol duty. Sin taxes should only go up.

Analysis and Conclusion:
In his radical transformation of the pension landscape, George Osborne has hit on an idea, which if adopted in Barbados, will return a lot of money to the tax authorities. It is comparable in scope, if not more so, as the Singapore’s Central Provident Fund. But his attack on the legalised fraud of millionaires buying residential properties under the umbrella of offshore companies, subsidised, of course, by the poor Barbadian taxpayers, is another lesson for Chris Sinckler. The other radical development is the imposition of higher taxes on homes left empty for most of the year, or are occupied by ‘friend’ of the owners. Again it is an idea we should look at. There is no doubt that Mr Osborne’s Budget was political and meant to appeal to Tory voters – more pensioners vote than young people – and would-be Ukip supporters, but it also appealed to many of those not of a Tory persuasion. Nevertheless, it is dynamic and one that would provide the necessary growth and prosperity that governments are meant to provide for their people. Here is Britain, a nation that suffered more than most from the 2007/8 global banking crisis and spent more on rescuing its banks, six years later it is still positive in outlook and dynamic in execution – and this from a rightwing Tory Chancellor in a right-leaning Coalition government. By being more radical, more adventurous, more open to new ideas, this DLP government is in a position to transform Barbados in a similar way in to the little Switzerland of the Caribbean. That it resembles more little Botswana than Switzerland is because of the short-sightedness of the people who have led us since constitutional independence.

Chris Sinckler, Freundel Stuart and the DLP Government have reached a fork in the road: they can remain stubborn and largely ignorant and inflict further economic punishment on the people of Barbados, or they can learn from other governments and economies and designed a rescue package that is fit for Barbados. The decision is theirs.

48 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: What the UK Chancellor Can Teach Chris Sinckler”

1. There needs to be an essentially indigenized, egalitarianist, participatory, people-centered model of development for Barbados, at this critical juncture in the country’s history, to replace this essentially westernist, oligarchist, dependency, exploitative “model of development”.

2. Sir,
    Is our society now so illiterate that George Lamming, a great writer nevertheless, is now called a Nobel Laureate by one of our leading publications, or have I missed a trick?

3. Hal

What has being misinformed to do with illiteracy?

We might as well consider President Obama an illiterate because he was caught on tape saying that there were fify- eight States?

Should we also consider Republican Party vice – president candidate Sahar Palin, reference to the word Repudiate as refudiate?

4. very informative and educational post Hal but I doubt the administration has the competency within its ranks to see the wisdom of embracing meaningful suggestions unless they can trumpet them as their own. imagine the Prime Minister praising Senator Mcclean and Mr Sealy for their work in facilitating the removal of the APD tax. What work- not even Prime Minister David Thompson on a mission to the UK was able to inveigle the British Government to withdraw the tax. the conservative Chancellor,Mr Osborne withdrew the tax on his own volition not because of any Caribbean lobby; but this administration is so bankrupt of ideas that it would catch at any straw. Note who imposed the tax and note who removed it. As with the SA, note under which party Barbados benefitted from the advent of offshore businesses and the banana industry in the low islands prospered, note under which party, they were systematically destroyed.

5. @ Dombey

Have you ever heard of cultural illiteracy. We should all know, as proud Caribbean people, that in the English-speaking Caribbean we have only two Nobel Laureates – one for economics and one for literature – Naipaul appears to dislike his Caribbean origin so we would not include him.
    I think Kamau deserves one.

6. Whether or not Naipaul dislikes his Caribbean origin, he is a Caribbean man. He is inseparable from his Caribbeanness. If he hates us so much why de hell he always hanging around in Barbados for?

Stupesss!!!!!!!!!!

7. @ Simple Simon

I do not want to take away from a much-needed discussion on managing the economy, but have you read Naipaul recently. Sometimes I doubt that he is still a living person, he is so bitter. Read his biography by French.

8. A certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC shall be part will Abolition this evil wicked fascistic totalitarianistic anti-productive Taxation system in Barbados, and replace it with the right measures, strategies and programs for the government getting fairer access to the money of the people and for its getting greater revenues and settling its own bills.

For, it will do our persons, businesses and other entities here in Barbados very well if we come up – or continue to come up with – our own coherent, well thought out, forward looking effective ideologies, philosophies, psychologies, methodologies, strategies, measures, policies, and programs for application here in Barbados.

Indeed, we must NOT follow carte blanche the British, the Americans, the Latin Americans, the Europeans, the Chinese, the Hindustanis, the Africans in doing those things that they have themselves come up with and that have been done to suit their own purposes, but that which we know or strongly believe – by our copying those things here – they are or are going or have been certain to put Barbados – or sectors or sub-sectors here in it – in very disadvantageous positions socially, politically, materially, financially, etc. locally or internationally, eventually.

Therefore, extremely careful thought, consideration, comparative evaluation, and judgment must be given first to those things that we are going to copy, that we are copying, that we have copied from these different people out side of our Barbadian sphere, to visualize the likely good satisfactory or harmful unsatisfactory effects on us of copying them here, generally or specifically, before we copy them here, before we go about copying them here, or before they were copied here.

In the case of it being found (through good evaluation and judgments of their performances elsewhere or through good and satisfactory testing if they were being experimented with here first) that they are going to be or are having or have been of good or satisfactory effects in whatever ways, in whatever areas, those things British, American, Latin American, European, Chinese, Indian, African, etc should be copied by us, should continue being copied by us, should have been copied by us, until perhaps it is thought that they would become useless or they actually become entirely useless.

In the case of it being found (through good evaluation and judgments of their performances, or through good and satisfactory testing if they were being experimented with here first) that they are going to be or are having or have been of bad or unsatisfactory effects in whatever ways, in whatever areas, those things British, American, Latin American, European, Chinese, Indian, African, etc should not be copied, should not have been copied by us, and in the case of they having been applied here, should be discontinued by us, or should have been eventually discontinued by us.

Therefore, on the basis of the very inimical destructive effects of this TAXATION system upon this country and all sectors and subsectors in it, and on the basis of the fact that the PDC knows that TAXATION has been evilly illogically copied here and that it has been a total anathema to democracy and nation building and development for Barbados, it is absolutely and compellingly clear why we are determined to lead the way in the creating of a post-TAXATION society for Barbados.

9. @PDC

Do you understand your cry to dismantle taxation does not resonate with ths public? Gou need to ask why.

10. David,

The initiatives the measures we are offering the people of Barbados and the world in respect of what will replace TAXATION in this country are far, far better and more advantageous and more favourable in numerous respects than the very profound damage and adversity TAXATION has been doing and putting this nation of people into ideologically, philosophically, psychologically, politically, materially and financially, locally and internationally.

Surely, you are not doing a good thing at being judge and jury on this very fundamental matter of the very harmful destructive social human and inter-human effects of TAXATION on the Barbadian people.

You need to take notice of the multi-dimensional multi-disciplinary (moral, ideological, philosophical, psychological, legal, political, material, financial, international relations, scientific approaches) that the PDC has been taking to analysing or dissecting for and concluding upon the evil motivations designs of a few in Government, or outside of Barbados; has been taking to assimilating and evaluationing for and summating upon the evil motivations designs of a few in these oligarchies at the international levels; that we have been taking to analysing or dissecting for and concluding upon the evil fascistic totalitarianistic structures of the TAXATION system and the very destructive regressive anti-productive anti-developmental effects of its continued antiquated infernal operations on the country and the multifarious sectors and subsectors of it; and that we have been taking to examining and evaluating and summating for whatever international dimensions of it.

Indeed, you ought to all like now. For, this age of times and spirits do and will represent epoch-making earth-shaking paradigmatic shifts in human thinking and consciousness based on what is fundamentally right or wrong, fundamentally good or bad, fundamentally fair or unfair, to or for any body any entity, and based too on the right reconnecting with divinal cosmological fourth dimensional sources.

Do you think marijuana is simply becoming legal again just like that – without considering the immediately aforegoing??

So, at this very critical juncture in human history, the PDC’s very seminal and path breaking intellectual rational and objective theorizations and synthesizations and postulations about the dreadedness and destructiveness of TAXATION and alternatively such intellectual rational and objective theorizations, synthesizations, and postulations for the pleasurableness acceptableness of a post-TAXATION society for Barbados, that we have been coming up with, have indeed gone far beyond the exceedingly narrow electoral dimensions in which you wish – and in vain – to cast our very majestic efforts.

11. @PDC

You need to spruce up your comprehension skills. It does not matter if your message is the most constructive one in the world without a proper communications plan to ensure it resonates you are nowhere.

12. Hal

I’ve never heard of the term cultural illiteracy, but I must still disagree with your statement above. Let me ask you this question though: can you hazard a guess as to how many islands there are in the Caribbean with and without human governments? Without the aid of Google or any of those search engines of course.I hope I’ve proven my point by asking such a question of this nature?

13. @ David
    …you think PDC foolish nuh?
    Those fellows realize by now that this thing is way above their heads and are pushing this no-tax rhetoric to ensure that no one actually votes for them….despite how pissy and hopeless the DLP and BLP jackasses show themselves to be….

Listen to the language…
    “….forward looking effective ideologies, philosophies, psychologies, methodologies, strategies, measures, policies, and programs for application here in Barbados”
    +++++++
    Obviously they plan to bring back Dompey from the USA as AG and minister of verbosity and shiite talk….

14. David,

It is clear that you are extremely biased towards our these particular post-TAXATION efforts, notwithstanding our using this COMMUNICATION network called BU to get some of our messages across to some people in Barbados and beyond.

Whilst you have a right to be so biased, we are not so sure you have such a right to speak on the behalf of those who regard what we post on here and who have regard too for these very tremendous efforts and successes on the part of the PDC to reveal the TRUTH as it relates to this very evil, criminal anti-productive anti-development TAXATION.

As some persons have from time to time come to us and told us about those particular commenters on here, and who have in their impertinence irrelevance tried to – but have clearly failed – to deal with the principles and theories making up many of the ideologies and philosophies and psychologies we are enunciating on here (not just related to taxation but other things like interest rates), we are sure that they too have included you, David.

Any person who come on BU and cannot understand what we have for so long been posting on here, either has not been properly reading what we have been putting out on here, or simply has been wishing it were not the PDC to have been articulating such, as such has been the simplicity of our messages, and for purposes of greater facility of understanding them, the constant repetitiveness of our messages.

So David, let us say that we will not be distracted by such non-existences and impertinences of your and other persons charges, and that we will continue to be focussed on the evil and destructiveness of TAXATION, and the absolute need for a post-TAXATION society of Barbados.

15. @ Hal
    “Have you ever heard of cultural illiteracy. We should all know, as proud Caribbean people, that in the English-speaking Caribbean we have only two Nobel Laureates – one for economics and one for literature – Naipaul appears to dislike his Caribbean origin so we would not include him.
    I think Kamau deserves one.”

Derek Walcott received a noble prize for literature in 1992.

16. @ William Skinner

Derek Walcott for literature and Arthur Lewis for economics. Naipaul also got it for literature.

17. @ Hal,
    Why not include Naipaul. You often speak of how ignorant and incompetent we are. Naipaul has the right to his views as well.

18. @ William Skinner

I have never called ordinary Barbadians ignorant and incompetent. Politicians and policymakers, yes. They have messed the nation up.

19. @ Hal
    The fact remains that there are three. You have joined the bandwagon of those thee who despise Naipaul simply because he has been very critical of the region. Yet, we spend most of our time saying the same things that Naipaul has said. Once again we are scorning brilliance. Naipaul is greatest living writer and some have claimed he is the best since Shakespeare.

20. @ William Skinner

I think you are trying to maker a case. I have said that if Naipaul wants to disown us then we should also disown him. That is not joining a bandwagon.

21. @ Hal
    I never said you called ordinary Barbadians ignorant or incompetent. No need for the red herring. This morning you regale us with one Mr. Osborne. Progressive Caribbean thinkers are moving away from those models and standards. Furthermore you speak of freeing up the banking system and so on. Are you aware that most of the measures you are promoting will not benefit in any large way the poor ordinary black Barbadians still earning less than 400 BDS per week ?Quite frankly in real terms I am not certain that your British economy is any better managed than the Barbadian economy has been managed . Most of the measures you have outlined have a very high foreign exchange component and you need to explain how you can even suggest that we can just run the Barbados economy just like Britain’s by just doing the same thing they are doing on a smaller scale. We are not talking about shoes here Hal !
    Several months ago you were highly critical of my position on the Barbados rum industry , when you implied that it was no industry compared with that of Wales or some place . Now you come saying the same thing I said that the industry needs to be better developed. You obviously had no idea of what the rum industry meant to the Barbados economy in terms of earning foreign exchange and creating sustainable employment. You obviously did not know that the Mount Gay regatta was one of the major sporting events with linkages to tourism . To put it mildly you are now back peddaling.

22. @ Hal,
    Why not include Naipaul. You often speak of how ignorant and incompetent we are. Naipaul has the right to his views as well.

23. @ William Skinner

This is cultural confusion. On the one hand you told an ignorant man that his colonial prescriptions for Barbados were just that. On the other, you suggested Kamau should get a Nobel Laureate. How much less colonial are you than this Friday Nobel Jack Ass, Hal Austin? Seem to us that more than 99.9999% of everything in the dominant cultural narratives everywhere is ignorance.

24. So if we want to have these banking and saving programs that the UK has we need to correct at least one thing. Get rid of FX controls and fixed currency pegs. Of course if we did that we would have to stop printing money. The reason interest rates are high in Barbados is that the Government has to pay high interest rates to attract foreign investment. Why is that? Simply because we got too much debt, shrinking FX reserves, and budget deficits. Our currency has little substance. When money is needed we simply print it. The rub comes when we go to convert the money we have printed into real money. That is when we find out that nobody outside of Barbados wants it cause they can only spend it in Barbados. Have a look at Venezuela. That is the model we are headed to follow.

25. @SITH

Are there countries configured like Barbados with their currency pegged to a basket?

26. Dompey said:

“Should we also consider Republican Party vice – president candidate Sahar Palin, reference to the word Repudiate as refudiate?”

Dompey….Sarah Palin is a totally dumb, illiterate jackass, please don’t call her name in the same sentence of those he actually have intelligence and actually made an honest mistake.

27. David Estwick in Alexandra’s school Hall leading up to elections last year piss paraded on Owen and dismissed him as an economist. Estwick said the best way out of the economic crisis was to get big projects off the ground he cited the sugar cane/energy plant funded by the Japanese as an example. The big projects he said would generate employment ,growth and lead the island out of stagflation.. Its all on You tube. Is Estwick now saying a sinking fund is the way we should go? Estwick make up your mind. Stop the temper tantrums because you are not MOF and show solidarity with your comrades. There’s a lot of work to be done instead of your foolishness of mortgaging Barbados’ future to Al Qaeda. What am I hearing.Long igrunt Stewps.

28. @David.

It is the ability to trade dollars freely that has to be dealt with. It is the FX controls that are the biggest issue. The market establishes everything else. If the peg is correct and dollars can be traded freely there will be no issue but if trades can only be made one way there is a big issue. That is the rub as such. The big question being “if I put my money in, will I be able to get my money out?” Venezuela with large oil reserves tried the “one way trade trick”. Did not work. What we are seeing is the end of a long run of US$ and thus Barbaods dollar currency value growth. Made imports cheaper, but helped kill large investments in new facilities that could have brought enhancement to our main industry, tourism.

29. David,

It would do you well if you read or reread George Orwell’s Animal Farm and find out, among other morals, how brutally deceptive and backward the pig (character) Napoleon was in claiming that the idea to construct a windmill to provide the farm with energy was his.

Well, it was the other leading pig (character), Snowball, his idea to do so).

Snowball had thought that it would have saved many of the animals – including the work horse – Boxer – on the farm, of many unnecessary physical exertions in providing certain activities on the farm.

Napoleon had falsely claimed that the idea to have the windmill was his only after he and the ferocious dogs had driven Snowball out of leadership on the farm and from living on the farm itself, and only after he had come to his senses about the great purpose of having the windmill constructed to save the same animals of much needed energy.

Imagine on a day long before claiming the windmill as his idea, the same Napoleon had – without Snowball’s knowledge – sneaked into the room where Snowball had been at the time designing the plans for the building of the windmill – and had out of a terrible fit and rage of internal jealousy and envy – had himself PISSED on the said plans to build the windmill.

Imagine how a few human animals too realistically behave when these kinds of progressive ideas and solutions to many of our own problems are also fostered by organizations like the PDC.

Who God Bless No Man Curse.

30. @PDC

What?

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

Man you nearly mek me dead heah wid laughter

“Obviously they plan to bring back Dompey from the USA as AG and minister of verbosity and shiite talk…”

Whulossy. ROTHLMAO

Whuloss,… i cyan tek it nuh more… one single word and i heah in dis line at de bank nerly peeing meself!!

De ting is dat i cyan share des jokes wid nubody causing i log in as PieceuhdeRockYeahRight and de next ting you know – whaplax – Jones sen he boys fuh me and i loss way in prison

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hal Austin

Do you remember how the class idiot got a good whupping because in addition to copying the homework off the bright boy’s exercise, the ingrunt swine also copied his name too!!

I dont know if you really realise that it takes common sense to copy eclectically and indigenize a system.

The more complex the system the more f up these monkeys are going to make it.

Let me give you an example of ingrunT copiers.

Mia Mottley did had a plan to build a nex island off Bulbados right befo she and Seethru loss de guvment.

Dis nex set u vagabonds now gine expand de Harbur with 15 acres us buildings and shops a teatre en nuf tings and even doah you cud run 50 rats through bridgetown any evening round 6 pm, dis harbur which gine kill Broad Street right off, and become a ghost town in 3 munts time, is now being hailed as the saviour of de island, doan mind it gine tek 5 to 7 years to build, and gine phvck up all the sand deposits from de Hilton to Folkestone, and dat not a cent gine be coming into de coffers uh de island fuh all dat time!!

Doan mind dat Fumble and he ingrunt band of jesters (ince, sorry dat is Jepter Ince right) gine be outta dey like an outside man does jump out de bedroom window when de husband come home suddenly

But heah you is recommending dat Stinkliar “copy” a page or two from Englant fuh we version of economic improvements en ting.

If a simple decimal point did hive he prblems to transpose correctly whu you tink dat a whole chapter en book gine mek he do?

33. No mention of the late Sir Arthur Lewis who received his for economic in 1979.

34. “Mr Osborne also introduced new legislation for a new Garden City on the Thames river bank in Kent, setting aside an initial £200m to provide at least 150000 new homes for aspiring young men and women. Mr Osborne is using existing planning legislation to create an Urban Development Corporation to oversee the development. I have been calling for sometime for a rejuvenation of the slum dwellings right in the heart of our City, .”

What do you think was the aim of the just abandoned Housing & Neighbourhood Upgrading Programme? What about the BTI urban renewal programme? Stupse!

35. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ PDC
    You say you have explained how Government is going to function after you abolish taxation but I have never caught what the plan is.
    How will the public sector continue to pay its workers if the Government raises no money from taxation?
    Please be concise.

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THESE ARE ISSUES THAT NEED DISCUSSION

New regime to fund health care

The Government of Barbados is considering a special regime to finance health care in the country.
    Speaking during debate on the vote for $337 million for the Ministry of Health in Parliament this afternoon, minister responsible John Boyce identified the need for such a system.

“We need to come up with a unique set of measures, which would allow us to inform the financing of health care in Barbados. There are no secrets. There are only two ways really . . . because the state either pays for health completely and entirely by whatever means, or people buy health privately,” the minister stated.
    “A mixture of the two or a blending of the two . . . half, half to me is not a new method; it is just a hybrid. So we have maybe two distinct ways in which we can tackle health care, and essentially in Barbados, we have sought to take care of our health and the state essentially paid for it.”
    The minister noted that some revenue was derived from charging private patients at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.
    He suggested that the $337 million allocated for health across the island has to be carefully managed.
    The parliamentary representative for Christ Church South also argued that one should not consider the various cuts in spending on the delivery of health care this year, as destructive to the sector.
    “It is not,” asserted the Government MP.
    Boyce also tried to factor in the Government’s proposed expansion of its health care offering into the discussion.
    “Over this next 12 months, and that is with the opening of the St John Polyclinic, we have deliberately taken funds from other institutions like the Glebe, St Philip Polyclinic and the like, to be able to have our start-up financing for the St John Polyclinic,” he told Parliament.
    He said the Government, however, may not be able to roll out all the services from the outset, but the basic services would be provided.
    “The provision in the Estimates of $703,000 for the St John Polyclinic is exactly for that. So there is no argument, therefore, where the money is, in terms of the service of the polyclinic.”
    Boyce pointed out that a well executed primary health care service with regards to the polyclinic system, would result in a reduction of costs of health care, explaining that “when we move a patient from basic illness, treatable illness, to chronic illness that requires bed time in the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, we move into a new regime of spending . . . a new regime of cost.”
    The minister is of the view that if people could be kept away from the QEH and took care of more cases in the primary system, there would be a win-win situation.
    He conceded that while everyone who attended polyclinics was not satisfied, the overall servic was above par.
    He felt, too, that there was need for improvement in the management of polyclinics, including the introduction of a balance to the specialities currently available.
    The health minister also wanted to see more training and retraining of health care professionals, review of the fast track service and after-hours system at the Winston Scott Polyclinic.
    Boyce believed issues such as the appointment system should be tweaked, adding that it was time this country implemented a 24 hour business arrangement.

From BARBADOS TODAY Emmanuel Joseph on March 20, 2014.

37. Is the St. John polyclinic completed, outfitted and ready to open? If the answer is no, then the government’s argument about the reason behind the reallocation of monies from existing polyclinics to St.John does not make sense. I also doubt the expected shift in patients will be realised given the location and poor accessibility by public transportation.

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Enuff | March 21, 2014 at 9:31 PM |
    . I also doubt the expected shift in patients will be realised given the location and poor accessibility by public transportation.

YOU ARE CORRECT. THIS POINT WAS RAISED HERE ON BU SINCE 2008. A POLYCLINIC AT GALL HILL DOES NOT MAKE PUBLIC HEALTH SENSE (ACCORDING TO ACCEPTED PRINCIPLES) BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF INTRA-PAROCHIAL TRANSPORTATION-EXCEPT FOR THE BUS THAT RUNS PASS THE CLINIC.

A POLYCLINIC AT GALL HILL DOES NOT MAKE PUBLIC HEALTH SENSE SENSE ALSO (ACCORDING TO ACCEPTED PRINCIPLES) BECAUSE OF THE FACT THAT THERE IS A CLINIC AT THE GLEBE, ON THE SAME BUS ROUTE.

ESSENTIALLY A CLINIC THAT WILL BEST SERVE ST JOHN AND MORE EASTERN/CENTRAL ST GEORGE, OUT TO BE BELOW THE JUNCTION OF HIGHWAY 4 & HIGHWAY X.

39. JOHN BOYCE -NOT KNOWN FOR HIS BRILLIANCE AT HC OPINES-“Over this next 12 months, and that is with the opening of the St John Polyclinic, we have deliberately taken funds from other institutions like the Glebe, St Philip Polyclinic and the like, to be able to have our start-up financing for the St John Polyclinic,” he told Parliament.

EVEN AC & MARK FENTY CAN SEE THAT THE PLOY NOTED ABOVE WILL CAUSE A DETERIORATION IN THE CARE THAT IS NOW DELIVERED AT THESE CLINICS.

BOYCE POSITS that if people could be kept away from the QEH and took care of more cases in the primary system, there would be a win-win situation.

THIS IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE. THAT IS WHY IT WAS PROPOSED IN 1985 TO RUN NATIONAL HEALTH CARE FROM A SYSTEM OF POLYCLINICS (A SYSTEM COPIED IN OUR CONTIGUOUS COUNTRIES.) IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT PROPOSALS FOR EXPANDING OUR CURRENT SYSTEM THAT WERE PUBLISHED ON BU IN EARLY 2008 ARE BEING IMPLEMENTED IN ST LUCIA.

HEAR THE BONEHEAD BOYCE
    there was need for improvement in the management of polyclinics, including the introduction of a balance to the specialities currently available.

DOES HE KNOW THAT DRS WORKING IN OUR POLYCLINICS ARE NO LONGER PAID ON TIME- UP TO THREE MONTHS LATE?

IF HE IS SUGGESTING THAT THERE BE SPECIALISTS AT THE POLYCLINICS, HOW DOES HE PLAN TO PAY THEM. HOW DOES HE PLAN TO PAY TO TRAIN THEM?

BOYCE SEEMS TO THINK THAT MANAGEMENT REVOLVES AROUND MORONIC MOUTHINGS. MURDAH!

40. […] Caribbean Beaches that RockSPOTTED: Rihanna Goes Shopping In BarbadosCaribbean Jobs Caribbean Jobs Online and Jobs in the CaribbeanRichard Branson Wants Caribbean Islands to Swap Diesel for RenewablesEva Marcille Enjoys A Date Night With Kevin McCallNotes From a Native Son: What the UK Chancellor Can Teach Chris Sinckler […]

41. Hal Austin
    Regarding the revision of the APD and your suggeston that some Caribbean politicians and industry officials are claiming some influence in the outcome,including the worst PM Barbados ever had in today’s sitting of Parliament showering praise on the contribution of his minister of tourism and his minister of foreign affairs,I should like you to cast your memory back a bit and recall the Telegraph had commissioned a study on the affect the APD had on the UK ecocomy and the study found,quoting numbers,that the tax was a retrograde tax and rather than contributing to the privy purse,it was costing the taxpayers millions of pounds in loss of business,that it was devastating in job losses and business opportunities and should be repealed.Hal,you can do the trace on it,I know I read it but cannot recall how long ago it was published.I think the UK government followed that study and revised the APD;it was absolutely nothing to do,not even partially with Sealy nor McClean,both incompetent ministers.

42. Why should Caribbbean leaders be claiming that the reversal of the APD is a victory for the Caribbean lobby? Just be glad and take advantage and shut the hell up.

43. St. George’s Dragon,

In the above blog, you asked: How will the public sector continue to pay its workers if the government raises no money from taxation?

Now, the following piece below provide a very modified response to the one we made to Artaxerxes some weeks ago on here – BU – to a similar question, to give you and many others on BU (again) some insight into some of those strategies and policies that will be actually used by a certain future coalitional government of Barbados, and of which the PDC shall be part, to directly and indirectly support a governmental sector that will exist within a post-TAXATION environment in this country.

So here are the outlines of such strategies and policies:

1) There shall be significant reductions in the size and scope of operations and responsibilities of those persons, businesses and other facets falling within the province of the government of Barbados. Hence there will be the outright elimination of many current government ministries, departments and statutory corporations, etc. For instance, the Ministry of Housing and Lands, the Ministry of Tourism shall be no longer.

Here, there will be NO monies needed to give remunerations to non-existent persons in non-existent areas in government.

2) There will be many areas which would have previously fallen under the scope and responsibilities of government that shall be transferred from the environment of the statuses of those that would have been government workers to the environment of the statuses of those who that be partnership owners of them. Those persons who would have had the experience, skills over the years in running them as so-called government ministries, departments, statutory corporations, companies, etc, would now use such to help run such entities as private sector partnerships.

Let us here now repeat that under such a coalitional regime, all multi-member business entities operating at the time must be partnerships.

Anyhow, the state management entity will not be responsible for getting money from where so ever to represent the remunerations of these people. An example of such a change will be the current Ministry of Public Works and Transport and will they providing much of their own income payment potential.

Before we proceed any further let us state now that any of those areas that are scheduled by the PDC to remain as part of the governmental sector of Barbados shall be run by an entity called State Partnership Incorporated (SPI) that itself shall be owned and managed by the partners of it and which would have vested in it – via the appropriate pieces of legislation – the properties of the people of Barbados for its proper and careful management of them.

Anyhow, with regard to those areas of government which would be identified by us as being suitable for continued greater commercial or industrial development of Barbados – the partners of the different subsidiaries falling within these areas shall be given the necessary autonomies, discretions, powers, wherewithals etc, which will be written into the respective pieces of legislation outlining the establishment of the particular partnership subsidiaries – to help make sure that those particular areas would be restructured reformed, to whatever degrees, going forward in a very dynamic local international private sector environment, and to help facilitate the realization of those objectives forming part of such a strategy of continued greater commercial or industrial development for Barbados, and within the context too of the realization of those enunciated strategies objectives themselves for the greater restructuring and redevelopment of the wider national commercial industrial sectors within which they shall continue operating – for example a reconstituted Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation, within a more developed educational broadcast entertainment driven culture of Barbados; a reconstituted Barbados Transport Board, within a more rationalized revamped mass transit public transportation sector.

With regard to those areas of government which would be identified by the PDC as being suitable for continued greater social, welfare, security, physical infrastructural or foreign affairs development of Barbados, the partners of the different subsidiaries falling within the areas shall be given the necessary autonomies, discretions, powers, wherewithals etc., and which will be written into the relevant pieces of legislation outlining the establishment of the particular partnership subsidiaries – to help make sure that those particular areas would be restructured reformed to make them more effective and efficient – to whatever degrees – going forward in a very competitive social environment in Barbados, and to help facilitate the realization of those objectives making up part of the strategy of continued greater social, welfare, security, physical infra-structural and foreign affairs development for Barbados, and within the context too of the realization of the avowed strategies objectives for the greater restructuring redevelopment of the wider national sectors within which they will continue to operate. For example, the restructuration and redevelopment of the Ministries of Health and Education to not only reflect but also to inspire multifarious changing social lifestyles in a modern Barbadian society.

3) The continued greater seeking of public share capital subscriptions, where ever, when ever possible, for any very proven very viable government commercial ventures. In such cases, the primary thrust of the state management entity will be getting and not using up money.

4) The continued proper and rightful use of accounting techniques to offset, in net terms, what remunerations would be owed by the partnership entities managing the particular people’s affairs, to the relevant individuals, businesses and other entities, against what the latter may owe in remunerations to the same partnership entities ( no third parties will be involved in these types of uses of accounting techniques). In such cases, money will not be required by the state management entity.

5) The outlawing of the issuing of so-called government paper/treasury bills, debentures, savings bonds, etc., by the political directorate of the state management entity, or by any other entity purporting to be or actually acting on the behalf of the same state management entity, with the intention of inviting clear subscriptions to by any financial institutions or entities, persons or any other entities in Barbados. By outlawing such activity, future fictional or actual debt – which normally leads to more money going away from this present government than more money going into government, in the long term – will mean money going towards especially private sector activities.

6) The emergence of well conceptualized, properly coordinated and capably managed voluntaristic civic citizens corporate initiatives for the expressed purposes of the taking over (adoption agreements) and for the providing of the necessary money, tools, resources, human beings, etc, development or the maintenance of certain aspects of the people of Barbados’s buildings, and too lands, highways, parks, that the people have rights over, for the primary purposes of the public of Barbados benefiting or gaining from the end products services or other such results of such initiatives, and not any private individuals or any other entities including businesses. In such circumstances, the managing entity of the state will not have to procure money over such activities.

7) The deriving of financial and other advantages to State Partnership Incorporated as a result of its substantial significant asset controlling positions in the material production and distribution and financial affairs in the country and which themselves would be able to facilitate the getting of substantial remunerations through the growth too in national remunerations resulting from the ABOLITION of Taxation. Such circumstances will naturally lead to increases in the circulation of money and from which the government will benefit from greater remunerations, as that monies that would otherwise have been used in the context of evil wicked anti-productive taxation activities would – under a post-Taxation environment – be greater better quicker used up as either expenditure in the commercial market system of Barbados, or as savings in the financial system of this country.

8) The capitalizing on access by the political directorate of State Management Incorporated to the National Institutional Non-Repayable Productive Loans Scheme and the National Institutional Non-Repayable Non-Productive Loans Scheme for purposes of making sure that this entity will get the desired actual amount of money on presentation of its annual fiscal budgets, upon approval by the legislature of Barbados, to the said schemes, and that therefore out of the actual allocations of money given, its giving of incomes/payments/transfers to the particular partners of the same State Partnership Incorporated and to the particular partners of the partnership businesses, and respectively in the context of business done by the particular partners of State Partnership Incorporated in the public’s interest, and in the context of business done by other partners of partnership businesses in the public interest.

St. George’s Dragon, this last mentioned outline is of great and overwhelming importance to the functioning of a post-TAXATION society for Barbados, from the point of view that instead of the government evilly wickedly stealing and robbing (taxing) on an ongoing basis countless portions of the remunerations of the relevant people, businesses and other entities in this country, and at the same time getting a constancy of countless electronic numbers transferred on credit to it by the relevant financial institutions – here or overseas, and it getting a constancy of countless portions of remunerations of the relevant others – here or overseas – as has been happening under these very gross vulgar inept DLP and BLP governments – and thus increasing the fictional and real debt of the government, respectively, and to these particular persons and entities respectively too, this new state management entity’s fair and tremendous access to these schemes, and the consequent allocation of actual money by them to it, shall not only substantially resolve those two problems of MASS THEFT and MASS DEBT and their associated problems, with one enormous and telling solution, but shall also lead to greater and real national expenditures, greater and real national savings, and greater and real national investments by many, many more persons, households, businesses and others in this country, and in a context where the real actual cost of use of money to the same remunerations of such persons and entities – including the state management entity – shall be substantially lowered and the money turn over rate significantly quickened in the medium to long term in Barbados.

So, there you go, St. George’s Dragon.

44. @PDC

Those employees who are relagated to work at government entities how will they be renumerated to be able to buy food?

45. David,

Under such a coalitional arrangement of which the PDC will be a part of, those statuses would be changed from workers to partners, as part of an entire partnership apparatus charged with running the affairs of the government sector of this country.

Hence, there shall no longer be the statuses of workers – general, casual, clerical, administrative, senior administrative, permanent secretaries, etc.

There shall be all partners.

How and when they will be graded according to higher qualifications, more experience, etc we would not at this stage prejudge.

Secondly, such partners shall be involved in conducting the business of the people of Barbados.

There would be three major ways such partners shall be remunerated in a post-TAXATION environment.

1) Some partners shall be remunerated out of the incomes passed on to them by those customers who – in respect of the same contracts – would have got commodities from the particular subsidiaries of State Partnership Incorporated.

Having arrived at net current income, the subsidiaries would – at an appropriate time – distribute the respective amounts of them on a pre-agreed formula among those particular partners.

2) Some partners shall be remunerated out of payments passed on to them by those clients who – under the same contracts – would have had services provided to them by the same partners of the same subsidiaries.

Having arrived at net current payments, the subsidiaries would – at the appropriate time – distribute the respective amounts of them on a pre-agreed formula among the particular partners.

3) The fact being that a significant number of partners of State Partnership Incorporated would not be getting distributed market income/payments – as a result of the particular contexts in which the government sector would be focussing on catering to those aspects of the social, welfare, security, physical and foreign affairs infrastructures and services that are said by some to be best provided by the government sectors – will therefore mean that such partners shall be remunerated from out of the monies allocated by the two schemes mentioned in the post just above.

Where it is found that a commercial subsidiary is facing financial difficulties and that subsidiary has been providing an absolutely necessary commodity or service – and mostly of a type widely considered to be a component of some national strategic developmental importance to the general public or country – or where it is found that such a subsidiary facing such financial difficulties could ordinarily apply – like any other entity – to either of the schemes within the limits set by the rules of the schemes, only then would it be possible for such a subsidiary facing such financial difficulties to apply for and most likely receive an allocation from either of the two schemes.

Other wise the commercial subsidiary must seek equity capital injections – not amounting to suggestions of ownership – but simply capital injections entitling such persons entities injecting such funds to shares in future net incomes/payments got by the subsidiary – or it must close down or be dissolved on the majority consent of the partnership following proven market failure.

Hence, along with other changes, such an understanding and acceptance by such partners and those functioning in the non-government private sector shall furthermore mean the virtual abolition of work and the work culture in Barbados.

46. @PDC

Thanks and good luck.

On Saturday, 22 March 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

47. @ Gabriel
    The tax was more political than a tool for raising public finance. It reflected political influence and power. Under the original APD a flight to the Caribbean (3000 miles) cot more than a flight to Los Angeles (6000).
    It also exposed the power of the Caribbean vote: MPs such as Kate Hoey, Labour MP for Lambeth (Brixton) assked more questions in Parliament about the Countryside than she has about black youth unemployment in Lambeth and, Heavens forbid, the APD.
    The APD never featured on Miliband’s agenda.

48. Wasn’t the APD implemented as part of managing carbon emissions? In which case a higher APD tax to the Caribbean was poorly designed.

On Saturday, 22 March 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

Leave a Reply to balanceCancel reply