Submitted by Mathew Storey
..."a country which has taught me tolerance, understanding and pride"
…”a country which has taught me tolerance, understanding and pride”

I write regarding a recent article in the Nation entitled Dear John: Do not like gay advances published on the 7th of March 2014 and further regarding a larger national debate which I believe is an important point for discussion.

In summary, a reader has requested advice from the Dear John writer on confronting his boss without jeopardizing his professional relationship. The writer, a young professional man, is uncomfortable with his bosses advances and an unwanted ‘special attraction’. His boss is a senior and as a leading professional, he can offer opportunities to internships and other pathways to success. The boss prefers homosexual relationships whereas the writer prefers heterosexual relationships.

This is an understandably concerning dilemma and an unfortunately common situation which both men and women are confronted with. To clarify, there two points to discuss in this scenario. The first, sexual harassment in the workplace. This term takes on several negative connotations but what I specifically mean is unwanted attention of a sexual nature in the workplace. Harassment is in no way related to sexual orientation and given the balance of probabilities and common assumption is more often heterosexual in nature.

The second point is confronting interpersonal differences in sexual orientation. This specifically refers to the relationships and interactions between heterosexual and homosexual individuals. This is an increasingly common scenario however is still very foreign in the Caribbean which generally identifies as a majority heterosexual community however it acknowledges that individuals preferring a homosexual orientation exist as a variable minority with limited disclosure. This is commonly known as being ‘in the closet’.

My points of objection focus on the response given by the writer of the Dear John article.

Our writer gives several points of advice encouraging a civil, diplomatic solution to the dilemma, involving a meeting over lunch, an explanation, a return of gifts and praise regarding professional practice.

However, after resolving this miscommunication, our writer then suggest condemnation of homosexuality as a sin, socially unacceptable and refers to a trend of internationally misguided legislation and justifies this recommendation as being in line with Christian principle.

I say with honesty and request you forgive my change of tone. This last statement quite literally ‘boils the blood in my veins’.

We as Barbadians have benefited tremendously from a lifestyle which promotes our core values of family, community, culture in music and art and a welcoming, friendly, approachable personality. If you ask any visitor our island, it is our people who set us apart from other destinations offering similar beaches and sunspots. A Barbadian is a typically agreeable, honest, non-judgmental and fun-loving person who enjoys nothing more than putting a genuine smile on another bajan’s face. We enjoy a less timed pace of life and therefore punctuality is an optional extra however manners are not. We are not a confrontational people, we do not fight wars or start revolutions. We have arguably the most stable government in the Americas and this is a huge contributor to our national identity of which we are so proud and has proven so attractive to investors and tourists alike.

I believe this identity then explains my abhorrent objection to the soapbox sermon to condemn any person for the way they live their life. It is reasonable for a body or community which our writer may represent to choose not to endorse the lifestyle of an individual. However, the writer or his community have no authority to condemn any practice or to preach the conversion or inquisition of identified sinners. This goes directly against our traditional values as Barbadians. To reiterate, my traditions as a Barbadian are separate and independent of my traditions from a Christian background. In circumstances which these traditions conflict I am far more proud to be a Bajan than to be a Christian.

I do not look overseas for guidance, I look right here in the land I was born and raised, a country which has taught me tolerance, understanding and pride from a very young age.

97 responses to “Objections to Dear John”

1. Just want to know

Belief has to be based on empirical fact from the secular perspective, in order for non – religious mind to accept it. There is no other way to prove the existence of God but by Faith because the entire idea of God is a metaphysical concept predicated upon believe. So to convinced Well Well of God’s existence, you have to give examples such: where is the human mind located and can we touch it or see with or human lens ? What is the nature of reality? And is there such a concept such as objective morality? And without a concept of God is there a moral standard upon which to stand etc…. There are certain questions that a scientific method just cannot answer such as is there life after death?

2. LOL
    So you have “thought for yourself” then Islandgal? ….and presumably know that these people’s beliefs are ill founded?

How the hell do you know that JUST WANT TO KNOW (JWTK) is off track? What exactly gives you the right to judge someone’s beliefs?
    Who died and left your donkey in charge of judging beliefs bozie?
    …Wuh you is Bushie now…? ..you got a whacker too…? 🙂

Wuh you don’t know squat about the purpose of life, …bout Jesus, …bout JWTK, …..and yet you are brave enough to off-handedly dismiss the blogger’s assertion….

Wuh you brave Enuff!! …..no wonder Bushie likes yuh…. Ha Ha

3. Just want to know

You have to use logic and reason to persuade the secular mind of God’s existence because using the Bible as the only source authority to validate God’s existence, would get you no way brother.

4. Just want to know

You have to use the Socratic Method to convince the non – believer of God’s existence. Pushing the Bible in the secularist face would prove counterproductive.

5. Here is a question for Well Well: without a concept of God the ultimate moral authority becomes that of the individual right ? So from this premise, how do we create a universal understanding of Right and Wrong, or what Emanuel Kant refers to as the Moral Imperative?

6. Here is another question for Well Well: now if I take a young child and decide to cut it up into small pieces in front of you, would you say I did anything wrong? Assuming of course that the concept of God does not exist and that there is no such thing as divine morality.

7. Here is another question for Well Well: without a concept of God, I have my moral belief; you have your moral belief – who is to say which beliefs are better? Just want to know: these are the kind of questions you need to put before Well Well.

8. Final point: a world without God is a recipe for moral anarchy because it is a world in which everyone does whatever he or she wants- even if this means threatening or harming others.

9. Obzonky

You know very well there is nothing new under the sun…besides Well Well is now flat on her back and out of action drowned in holy water.

10. Much respect Robert!

11. Well Well, if you do not believe in creationism, then obviously you must believing in evolutionism? So it would interesting to hear your take on how evolutionary ethics first came to be? Now, I am hoping you would say through the Pain and Pleasure Principles as the forerunner to Darwin first proposed?

12. 28 out of 61 comments are from Obzocky aka Mark Fenty. Man you are breaking Well Well’s record.

Bushie…… I was just waiting for you to surface when I threw out your bait. I gine soon haul yuh backside outta de water wid bigger bait! ROFL!

13. This Mark Fenty yall guys speak so incessant about must be some interesting character? Where is this guy and how often does he visits the BU blog because I haven’t seen anything from him since I have been on the BU blog? It would be interesting to chat with him because from the way yall guys have characterized him, it seems as though he is a storehouse/ treasurechess and reservoir of wisdom, knowlegde and a good dose of the common- sense?

14. Obzocky 29 out of 64

15. @ David
    …as man Boss. You GOTTA ban this Obzonky pest that keep MARKing up the damn blog now man…Enuff is Enuff….
    Who the hell he think he is ?? ….Onions?
    If a man say he gone – he should GO LONG…. Like a damn vampire …keep coming back – as one Obzoky pest….with the same irritating shiite … 🙂

@ Islandgal
    Still waiting to hear what qualifies you to judge “just want to know”s belief in Jesus and the bible? Do you have a big whacker like bush tea?
    Girl….You will be in for one massive shock when (not IF) you learn the real truth…

16. Bush tea …..BUGGER OFF!

17. LOL
    Bugger off…?
    Were you not throwing out bait to “flush out Bushie” and waiting wid a 2X4 to reformat the Bushman’s skull?
    Bushie barely put you across he knees – and you hollering already…before any licks start…

18. Island gal
    If I’ve written 61 comments as you so proudly proclaimed; perhaps I’ve fed someone something of value I hope? It doesn’t do me any good to sit at home as Georgie Porgie does and count the days before he sheds his earthly tabernacle.Thank God for social media because it has revolutionized the way in which we communicate in new and fundamental ways.The social media outlet is particularly useful for folks like yourself and Georgie Porgie, who apparently was taught only what to think and not how to think. The critical thinking skills baby is the ability to vivisect the literalism that is commonly found in everyday written.

19. Islandgal, I meant to say writing at the end of my last sentence.

20. Gute nacht!

21. talk about thinking ‘ outside the box.”………i was shocked and amazed when i saw this article revisited on the pages of BU……..to say sleazy would be the understatement……….

22. Bushie What real truth what. The real truth is already in front of us. Wunna Christians like to believe in the supernatural and hocus pocus things that is so far from reality. Taking everything from a book written by men as the “truth” used to condemn and enslave men and women. The truth? That book has been and is still used to murder men and women because the egotistical men who wrote it said that their God told them to say so. Spouting certain passages from it will not save your souls nor those rattling them. Many Christians believe that other religions are inferior and are “barbaric”. You all have this superior know it all attitude and the promise for salvation for those who join you and hellfire for those who do not. Many who are among you all just follow because of fear. Many follow because that is all they have been exposed to and are to lazy to look elsewhere.

The truth???

Yes some of mankind want to know their purpose here on this planet and seeks to find out. Yet a bunch of men who have studied the human mind with their ultimate goal to control. They tried physically with slavery and yet man was rebellious and fought for his freedom. They created religion, this control was beyond their expectations. Like politics, religion needs a large following to exert control. Control of the slaves and the New World. It has destroyed civilizations, cultures that we can only read about. It destroyed the first peoples of the Caribbean and many in South America. Did it bring salvation to those who accepted?

Christianity is not the only religion that seeks dominance of the human mind.

23. @ Islandgal
    Read back your post slowly. It is very instructive…
    The FACT that idiots have taken hold of something and branded it to suit their own purposes does not in and of itself mean that the substantive matter is flawed.
    Nuclear energy is a potent force that COULD be used for massive good….but of course the white people prefer to make intercontinental ballistic missiles…
    Money is a useful and convenient medium for exchange, but greedy fools have raped, killed, maimed, and prostituted themselves in its name.
    Politics COULD be a great means of arranging leadership for society, (if Caswell would start the BUP 🙂 )but you can see what brass bowls have been able to do there….

So why are you so quick to condemn the bible? – because a string of jokers have sought to use it for all kinds of nasty ends?

Take care you don’t discover that you have thrown out the baby with the brass bowls…

24. Could not agree with you more….IG246….re the Bible and religion(s) in general .
    It is however a waste of time trying to point this out to BT,he is comfortable in his chauvanistic,xenophobic and homophobic world

25. @Vincent

Give it up, you have a belief system which is based on what you can feel and touch. Respect those who have a philosophy supported by their religion and demand respect for yours. Do you like hitting your head to a wall? It hurts after a while dunnit?

26. David….Chuckle…..you are so right.

27. Obzonky………..I don’t believe i ever said what my beliefs are but suffice it to say that I believe in the divine, I like life simple thank you very much, all the rest is too much mix up and confusion.

Ross………you only wish i was flat on my back, what holy water what, where did you get if?

28. “The FACT that idiots have taken hold of something and branded it to suit their own purposes does not in and of itself mean that the substantive matter is flawed.”

Bushie…….. idiots like you and some others?????

29. Well Well

I call it holy water….believe it’s holy water….it looks like holy water….it tastes like holy water……it behaves like holy water…….it came from the tap like holy water……

David and Vincent

Yes – these debates I agree are futile. I sometimes wonder why we have them so often.

If, as some say, we are so tolerant of gay people why don’t they begin to assert themselves as a cohort? Why aren’t there more Didi’s? I know only of the website ‘gaychristianbajan’.

30. Michael Paine Avatar

The common claim that FAITH is enough does not sit well with me, even though I am Christian.

That common claim has to be supported by the necessary evidence, to at least make it sound plausible even though it is a metaphysical concept.

31. @Paine

Check your earlier comment under your other moniker, one of three so far. Take this as your last warning.

32. Michael Paine Avatar

Aristotle has taught us through his concept of metaphysics that we can advance a very convincing argument in the absence of empirical evidence. And this we can apply to the religious theory to sustain a reasonable defense when we’re told by the secular humanist that the Bible is fairytale.

33. Michael Paine Avatar

I am sorry sir. I do not quite understand the nature of your warning; can you elaborate?

34. ROFLMAO…..Paine in the arse aka Obzocky aka Mark Fenty you have been warned! Yuh think David stupid? You think we stupid like you? LOLL

35. Michael Paine Avatar

Islandgal

I do not know this Mark Fenty because I have seen anything he has written thus far but it appears like he is the number one punching bag around this blog? What has he done to become the recipient of the venation of some and the blatant animosity of others?

36. Obzocky Paine in de arse…….go figure!

37. David

As a matter of interest, how many others on this blog use multiple “monikers”?

38. ross…unlike ac she has multiple personalities seems to be able to use them advantageously enough to confuse the most learned and intelligent on the bu bogshphere ,,,,, why bother with so many different monikers ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

39. ac

Yes, I do see.

40. Ross…it would help a lot of people if you took that holy water and throw it on the assess of those child pedophiles , money launderers thieves, liars, fornicators etc, etc in the vatican and all the priests, reverends etc in the churches around the world and see what happens.

While your’re at it throw some on the coffin of the slug Lionel Craig, see if it helps.

41. Well Well

Do you see now why – with all this hate and venom – I am exorcising you….”In the name of the God who created you and of the Son who died for you….COME OUT”….sprinkle, sprinkle, sprinkle (with apologies to Scott Peck and Malachi Martin)?

42. Ross…..what hate what, it’s all love and truth, i told you already this is not a courtroom where the truth does not count and only facts are admissible, this is real life shit here…….lol

43. Well Well

Love and kisses anyway – but if you don’t mind I’ll keep the bottle handy.

44. Robert I was wondering where that specter that had been moving the Chase family coffins had gone, sprinkle that holy water quick before it morphs into a politician. Don’t give Well Well false hope, she has been telling everyone Robert has been exercising me.

45. Ross……….it’s ok, you can drink it

Lawson……….where you been, last you said you were self-medicating and headed to the pub, have you only just returned…lol

46. Well Well the pub like a siren beckons me to visit, and like the typical male I tend to overstay my welcome.

47. Lawson…..lol

Leave a Reply to obzonkyCancel reply