Submitted by Douglas
'she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary'
‘she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary’

A few weeks ago in the article titled ‘Its Friday Mia!’, her bluff was called regarding the change of strategy from attacking The Minister of Finance to the Prime Minister. As usual, nothing happened.

In that article as well it was predicted that there will eventually be a political obituary entitled ‘The Self Destruction of Mia Mottley’. The Freundel Stuart administration in protecting Barbadians from the self aggrandizing megalomaniac BLP members have created many a political duppy and Ms. Mottley seems adamant that she wants to join this group. The irony is that like Ceaser, she has to fear that by the Ides of March she too might become politically irrelevant.

Regarding leadership, Mia has failed dramatically. As the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition, she, after being part of the planning committee, has decided to ‘boycott’ the 375th anniversary of the Parliament of Barbados, which is one of the oldest Parliaments in the entire Commonwealth. Imagine the embarrassing implications this has for the Barbados Labour Party, that their leader would boycott a grand international occasion that involves the Royal Commonwealth Society and the Prince Edward that helps the image of the country just to try to divert attention unto herself and claim she is doing it for Barbadians. So the question is, does anyone care if she goes?

Persons have seen the value of recognizing the 375th anniversary and have even encouraged Bridgetown to have attractions and good store prices as well as encourage cruise ship passengers to come and see a momentous occasion as we highlight heritage tourism, but of course it would shed a positive light on the Government instead of herself, so she puts her foot in her mouth, once again. We imagine that Leader of Opposition Business Kerrie Symmonds and former Prime Minister Owen Arthur would be there though, showing their face for imminent appointment of a new opposition leader. Of course, she could always be two faced as usual and show up after reading the article.

The situation is so dire that the rank and file of the Barbados Labour Party have started to show dissent in many ways, far from a united front, far from having a leader at all.

Information has been going around from credible sources that after claiming that the unions are not doing enough to represent the workers of Barbados, she is going around behind the scenes trying to get their support to talk at her ‘People’s Assemblies’ which the nation and the BLP supporters are growing tired of. Her advisors are sitting back and laughing with glee as she sharpens her own knife to be plunged in the back of her political career. Her desperation is apparent. Will she ever learn?

It is clear that due to the recession the BLP see and opportunity and everyone is trying to break for themselves. Their representatives have praised our policies, including the soon to be established Revenue Authority. Seeing the eventuality of the vacancy, they have once again began to pick sides.

It is reported that when she goes to meetings she can only get her minions to follow her, in particular a political neophyte, a political duppy from the south and one referred to as a ‘dilapidated chattel house’ by her predecessor, who might be auditioning for the role once again.

Indeed she, it is reported, has been asking persons to speak on information that they should not have as it has yet to be laid before Parliament. Imagine the dangerous implications this could have on persons.

The time is running out. Her situation is dire. It has been her last chance to prove herself and she has been failing miserably and like crabs in a bucket, it will not be long before the crabs in the bucket begin to claw and pull her down as they rise.

We wonder if she was ever exorcised of the demons Owen had referred to. He certainly doesn’t seem to think so with his recent ‘Not me and Mia’ comment. Gilded and arrogant he is perhaps sticking around to have a second coming as he desperately wants to be Errol Barrow, a man whose stature he cannot even begin to compare to, much less copy.

In light of the imminent end, we urge Barbadians to wrap themselves in the flag in these difficult times. We are Barbadian first and foremost. The constant attempts to create tension and agitation to force a result will not work as at the end of the day the power belongs to God, not man. It is not the will of the people, whether DLP, BLP or neutral to have an election at this time. Only that of the power hungry Mia, who will be looking for a new role in her political life as there is an imminent opening for the Vacancy of Leader of the Opposition approaching.

130 responses to “VACANCY for Leader of the OPPOSITION”

1. @balance

“absolutely nothing as thousands of bajans both blp and dlp lined the streets to enjoy or participate in the celebration”
    PEOPLE FIND COMFORT AND SOLACE IN SPREEING ESPECIALLY FOR FREE WHEN THINGS ARE ROCKBOTTOM ON THEIR COUNTRY. IF YOU DOUBT ME ASK THE GUYANESE OR CUBANS.”

Long ago the Roman poet Juvenal decried the use of bread and circuses to appease the masses and hold on to power. Marie Antoinette offered cake, instead of bread, but lost her head for providing neither.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ alvin cummins | March 1, 2014 at 10:09 AM |
    “…we have not had to obtain any FUNDING from the IMF, foreign reserves are still healthy..”

How do you know the foreign reserves are healthy?
    Were you told that by the Guv of the CB, a well established liar? You were also told last year the same foreign reserves were healthy and the economy was stable with no intention of laying off public sector workers. So what happened when $300 million of the same forex went “missing” some weeks later? Imagine an institution full of economists and accountants and such a large amount in terms of the Bajan economy cannot be accounted for or explained?

If things are so good in Bim why persist in laying off workers with 2,000 expected to be cut by end of the month?
    You might not be borrowing from the IMF but you are certainly carrying out their instructions and demands.
    If you think borrowing from the loan sharks and bankers to tax dodgers will save your sorry asses we can only conclude you will be the only jackass in the Sandy Lane Gold Cup race on today.
    David Estwick certainly be there to cheer you on in the one ass race.

3. Miller…….Let Alvin heal, we want him good and healthy so we can pound him verbally later, would not want to cause any relapse..lol

4. How does one define healthy when we refer to our foreign reserves? Bear in mind we have had to borrow to ensure the reserves remain at a comfortable level. Until we are able to earn forex to be comfortable we have reason to be concerned. Especially given our junk status which dictate the high interest rate we have to accept when we borrow.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | March 1, 2014 at 10:50 AM |
    ” Let Alvin heal, we want him good and healthy so we can pound him verbally later, would not want to cause any relapse..”

Then he needs to take a dose of the Truth as serum to help the healing process. His lies and propaganda can only retard the process of both physical and spiritual recovery.

The man just cannot be equally supportive of both the Stinkliar plan and the Estwick plan when both are opposed to each other.
    Alvin is a hypocrite and appears psychologically to be under the care of a quack who has not taken the Hippocratic oath.

6. Unfortunately, despite what Alvin is advertising we all know at the end of the day the voters will have to wait for information from the same IMF on the true state of the Barbados economy, don’t expect to hear it from any of the local ministers on the island, remember, they are none of them head of state on the island.

7. The government seems to be reaping good success as far hosting the water events.

http://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/2016gp14.png

8. Where were the 10,000 visitors yesterday? In Bridgetown? I did not see them if they were there.

This destructive Lying Party cannot help telling lies and we have a man in the cold believing every word they say from so far away without any evidence to back up the idle boast!

How pathetic!

9. The self absorbed opposition leader has egg all over her face today.
    Her stance had nothing to do with principle, it was all politics like everything she says and does with one aim in mind – how can I benefit politically?
    Her calculated move was to try to win votes and hoped to cast the government in a negative light by suggesting that she was caring while other are not – A JOKE.

As usual like her no confidence motions and ultimatums, she picked the wrong fight at the wrong time.
    Even some ardent BLP supporters are saying what the hell is going on with this woman?
    Did she not see that some things are above politics?

This was opportunistic politics gone haywire like her supposed “Rubbing Shoulders” campaign which should really be renamed “Canvassing in the presence of the media”.

In all this, she has not even put forward a credible economic plan but keeps calling for everybody’s head when in reality her political neck is the one on the chopping block. Deja vu Mottley.

10. When the BLP wasted millions of our tax moneys(much more than $100 000) on an empty cruise ship while Al Barrack was working and not being paid and thousands could not get houses at the NHC, Mottley knew nothing about standing on principle then or calling for someone’s head.

She is a desperate political animal running up and down Barbados telling people to strike and march, telling investors to hold off until she gets in, cussing the unions for not being a part of her circus and if anyone in the BLP speaks out, the Mottley crew is all over them like the one here on BU that called Owen Arthur’s wife a Jezebel because Owen spoke his mind.

Mia Mottley is a national embarrassment and I hope that no one in the British tabloid reported how the supposed leader of one of the oldest political parties in the Commonwealth dissed the head of state in our largest tourism market to try to gain cheap political points.

She has lost the respect of even some BLP supporters.

11. @Bajanfuhlife

Who could have predicted the demise of India and Pakistan from CWC2007? Suppose they had reached semis and final how would we have dealt with the flow?

12. He/she is just spouting the lies out of the destructive lying party.

We are focused on the lies told during 2013 and the serious consequences in the aftermath. It is inhumane that a government who has always fooled the masses that they are for them could send home workers since December and without a cent up until Friday while they spent $100,000 catering to people who can afford what was being served.

How are these poor people surviving? Have the Dems no heart or soul? I conclude they do not care about anybody but themselves and that they have power.

The people will not forget.

13. @Prodigal Son

True and the flipside is that all of British media has picked up the visit featuring the activities of the royal couple, media worth more than 100 grand.

14. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Hants; Re. your 10.43 am post.
    What’s your point? Did the longer version of the story indicate that several members of the BLP parliamentary group were there?

15. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; I agree with you. Both political parties can be justified on the political spin they have taken re. the reception. Its all political spin.

The Government saw an opportunity to capitalize on the visit of the royals and the cost of the function was expected to outweigh any negative feedback while Mia did her political duty by emphasizing the negative aspects of spending over 100K on a “do” for royals while being in a position of not being able to pay the arrears to several of the workers that they sent home months ago.

The political spin is par for the course.

16. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Oops; I meant to say above “the touristic and other returns from” instead of “the cost of” the function.

17. If only in the middle of all the political spin, just one person, one MP, on either side of the divide, female rabbits that they are, could do just one thing to show that they are indeed wukking for the 15K plus per month, just one thing to show that they have the slightest iota about what to do, whether you are a DLP or a BLP supporter, you would at least have one glimmer of hope, a proverbial oasis, in this desert and abyss.

Tell me one thing that any one of these phuckups have done or continue to do that steadfastly generated/generates FOREX or jobs and I would take our a mortgage on the ole house and send Mad Fenty to school!!

None of them is doing anything and, to add insult to injury, not even the so called intelligentsia in the private sector is using this opportunity to show what they are capable of.

It is said that necessity is the mother of invention but even now in the hour of our greatest national need there is a dearth of innovation from within and without

Here is my challenge to Mia Mottley and to the others seeking to be Mia Mottley or to oust Mia Mottley, bajans, the ones who are circulating today, not we ole ones dat deading at 50 per day, once they see that you have the balls to deliver, even while you are in opposition, they will follow you.

Put aside all the fermenting of social uprisings under the guise of rubbing shoulders with the common man, put aside all the crap and the assemblies and streaming media, We Bajans tired uh all uh dat.

Get the phvch up and do something which shows that even now you have what it takes to pull this cuntry back from the 7th ring of hell.

Do something and be we avowed DLP or BLP the majority of us gine follow whoever has the pith that can turn around this sinking ship.

The democratic labour party will NEVER GET BACK IN POWER for the next 25 years, we empty guts and flailing savings accounts will see to that but what we fear is putting another set of phvckers in the HoA who will mek it wusser!!

THis is the time to show your mettle whomever you are!! and stop all the drama and the empty PittBull gesticulations.

18. @bajanfuhlife aka Peter Yardfowls Gilkes the government needs to fire your ass with immediate effect.

19. @ Piece

” … Female rabbits that they are, could…”

You ought to know that it is grammatically incorrect to place a comma in front of a verb? Don’t worry because by the time I am finish with my tutoring session, you’re going to master English 101.

20. @ Piece
    I’ve also noticed that you’re having some difficulty with your Comma -splice but don’t worry that’s what I am here for.

21. @ Piece
    Man why don’t you take a class in creative writing? And in that way you could possibly improve your grammar skills in the process.

22. @Fenty

You just don’t know when to quit do you.

23. @David
    “True and the flipside is that all of British media has picked up the visit featuring the activities of the royal couple, media worth more than 100 grand.”

Well said , by all accounts Barbados benefits from this publicity surrounding having one of the oldest parliaments in the world. You have to leverage your strengths and the potential of our heritage to be an added attraction for our visitors is evident. We must follow up on the good work done to attain our World Heritage Status led by the energetic and hardworking minister, Hon. Stephen Lashley.
    My point is Mia Mottley is not about what benefits Barbados, right now she is about what benefits Mia Mottley politically.

24. @Bajanfuhlife

How easily you agree with one point but forget those who have been sent home and still waiting for payment. The is a lose lose debate.

25. @ David
    You have a valid point but it is a part of my personality that I cannot seem to fix. Perhaps, you have some suggests to address this dark side of my nature??

26. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

PUDRYR;
    I fear that you and several others are jumping on a bandwagon that calls for the Leader of the Opposition to do something now or for the Government to do something now to alleviate the situation. Wunt work!

The horses, perhaps except for the one carrying David Estwick’s input which now seems to be gathering dust on Freundal’s desk, appears to have already bolted.

However, DE can indeed still do something that can turn the situation around If he can get a majority from both parties to support him in first, ending the Freundal Stuart government and then pushing through his UAE initiative. The Barbados economy might then stand a chance of being put on an upward trajectory. Indeed, Barbados Today has what I consider to be an excellent article that is the first one I’ve seen to comprehensively evaluate the DE proposal and the prognosis looks quite promising. If DE could get maximum publicity for that article which explains his position in economic terms as well as political ones, he might arguably be able to sway some of his parliamentary colleagues to join him in charting a different path for Barbados.

That is the only thing I see on the government side that could make a difference to the economic situation.

Re. Mia Mottley’s initiatives, there is very little that she can do to let the public know that the Opposition exists outside of what she is now doing. She has no control whatsoever on what the Government Ministers might or might not be doing to feather their nests in the face of the calamity that has already started. She can’t do anything to get or shame Freundal to do anything prime ministerial in the situation we are in. You know as well as I do that she has absolutely no power to do anything substantive to change the situation that now exists primarily because of the intransigence of FS and you know as well as I do that her apparent “gimmicks” can only become damaging to the country if the Government that has the power to do so, seeks to actively distort and knowingly escalate any situation arising from them into an economy threatening mass event. The “rubbing shoulders”, and other educational programmes cannot of themselves threaten our security unless Government actively seeks to use them to create a situation of chaos.

In fact, don’t you understand that we are staring down the barrel of a possible 5 to 1 devaluation and that on the current trajectory we cannot avoid it. In such a situation the most sensible thing for the Government to do is to concoct a situation where they are not the ones to be in power when the devaluation has to be implemented, i.e find a reason for calling an election. Mia has to avoid any possibility of taking over a Barbados government that will have to devalue. If that happens it will be the BLP that will be in exile for the next 20 years.

Actually, David Estwick’s proposal seems like the only sensible option now available (if it is still available). But of course the Government, saddled with its current inept leader and cabinet is unlikely to act with the necessary dispatch to make that happen.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@are we there yet

The only band wagon that I am jumping on is that where politicians and wanna be prime ministers, Mia included, start of do something for the country other than talk faeces.

Contrary to popular opinion I happen to know a few people who would be willing to invest in meaningful projects that would turn Barbados around IF and that is a big IF there was a group of conscientious ministers and public servants willing to work and pass the damn regulatory enablement a to make things worg during this incarnation

28. @ Piece

It haven’t escaped my noticed that you have applied those grammatical principles that I’ve taught you. And for your efforts sir, I must commend you.

29. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

PUDRYR;

The first point is what do you want Mia to do in her capacity as LOTO and within the constraints that ensure that the opposition can do little in an interregnum to influence the Government’s policy? Give some examples of what you think she could meaningfully do and don’t leave it in the air.

What do you want the PM to do, given the situation we are now in, largely, IMHO, because of his intransigence? Flip flop on the Estwick situation and support that proposal or stand firm in his indications that he is firmly behind the current CS prescriptions? Take over the Ministry of Finance and really earn his salary or is that likely to plunge us more firmly into the abyss? Make a decision quickly and decisively on something (anything) important to the future of the country? Show traditional leadership?

At least the PM has many options to do something that could marginally impel us forwards instead of what he appears to be doing, nothing substantive.

Re. the Ministers, it seems to me that there are a number of them that, against the odds, appear to be earning their salaries, including CS, DI and a few others. The others appear to be just marking time.

In my view, it is the current “in thing” to declare that e.g. Mia is doing nothing reasonable at this time. Such sentiments and analyses should be left to non-thinkers like Mark Fenty and Bajanfyhlife. You know the nature of opposition politics and should not be joining the bandwagon of such “opinion followers” who were silent when the late great DT performed similar gimmicks while in opposition. You must recognize political spin on both sides.

And what is wrong about MP’s wanting to be Prime Ministers? Isn’t that the nature of the system we now operate under? It is for the electorate to get it right in OUR choice of a PM and at which we failed miserably the last 2 times around.

Re. the number of possible projects that persons can invest in now, I can only ask is this murky climate which is stopping such investment largely because of opposition politics or because of lack of confidence of the potential investors in the ability of the current government to lead the timely and successful implementation of almost anything? If the latter seems more reasonable why try to suggest that the opposition, with no resources to do anything in that area, should do something.

Whuh yuh want mia tuh do. Take Freundal to Government house and have him resign and destroy his government? or get more militant and have Jones and company crack some heads and shoot some people?

30. Excellent posts, are-we-there-yet!

31. @ Are we there yet

Let me name a topic, any topic and see if you and Mia can get my drift.

Renewable energy. 95% of the year Bulbados gets sun.

THe LOTO can, without the support of Fumble find some viable solar powered energy alternative and, with the support of the BLP-ite community place a series of PhotoVoltaicCells on the houses of the poor residents of St Michael North East to offset their Energy bills.

That is what real politicians, even those in the opposition, do.

Not all the lot of talk AWTY.

You see sir I am not one too impressed by the theatrics that is man, all of us put on our pants one leg at a time, we all hold de doggie wid one hand to pee and all of us remember that shaking it too many times after peeing is called masturbation.

No I am not a respecter of persons who, like the Pittbull, just sound off because it is the fashionable thing to do. No siree that day of genuflection is gone and we need to demand more of these posturers.

If they cannot show their ingenuity while they are in opposition, then they will not acquire those skills when they become the Party in Power.

This is not rocket science AWTY this is simple “by their works ye shall know them”

If Mia or any one of them is an expert and knows how to bring down our food import bill from $500 M tell me how you going do it now.

Here is a nex idea for the phvckers. Get the Chinese that seeking footholds all over CARICOM, to provide affordable (euphemism for cheap) aquaponics stations that can be installed in the back yards of all the poor people in Haynesvill, Deacons, the Pine and other low income communities so that my poor ass bretheren that she rubbing she shoulders wid can grow some food in dem shoebox back yard spaces and get way from de pernicious prices of JBs and Cost U Phvcking More.

Are we there yet, are you getting my drift? THis is what Joseph and prophets of old had pun we technologically advanced moojins, common sense, use the space and resources that you have to get waht you want

At my old age i am not nuh braniac, certainly now that Mad Fenty stalking me across every blog thread that I comment on I am not certain that if he find out who I am, i gine be allowed to live.

I imagine him strapping me to a chair in a room and reading his blogs to me over and over again, Chinese torture.

But you know AWTH dis is David[BU] fault cause effin he hadda mek it mandatory fuh a man (and a specific woman) tuh tek a TOEFL/Common Sense test dis wunta happen!!

I recommend someting like “in three seconds answer dis question, if a man is running in a race and he overtakes the person who is in second place, what position is he now in? or a runner overtakes the person who is last in the race, what position is he in?

Be assured AWTY that my nemesis and stalker will not get either question right and will proceed to curse me

32. David,
    Any links to the UK papers converting the royal visit? I was scoping the main ones and haven’t seen any coverage.

33. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

PUDRYR;
    Thanks for responding quickly and to the point (I wonder where he is these days?).

Some good suggestions, but lets just examine the first one more closely.
    Do you know that even though Barbados gets sun 95% of the year the usable peak hours of our sunshine, because of the effects of cloud cover, wrong roof angles for placement of PV panels to optimally harvest sunlight and wrong orientation of many usable roofs away from the south as well as shadows cast by nearby trees, buildings, etc., ensures that the availability of that sunshine for Photovoltaics (peak sun hours) is only around 5 hours per day on average thereby making RE, in that regard, only marginally more attractive than say Germany and generally very costly comparatively speaking.

Our Sunlight resource is to some extent another myth like our vaunted education as Hal would tell us.

A project such as the one you suggest is very laudable and is the way of the future. But let’s say a 1kw PV system was deemed to be adequate for the beneficiaries for such a project it would cost near $10,000 for one grid tied system for one family or perhaps around $13,000 for a battery type, grid-free system. I don’t know what resources the Opposition leader and her BLP friends would have to bankroll such a project but to go further than setting up a pilot project of one system in a very few constituencies, they would have to have access to a lot-o-cash. The idea is an excellent one but really requires the inputs of a traditional funding agency to be really meaningful. But again, it is not a new idea, such an approach (even if not broached in terms of a political party developing the project) is central to the IDB renewable energy project that was first developed in the very early 2000’s.

So yes, the idea is a good one and Mia should look favourably at modifying it into a workable project.

Bringing down the food import bill is another laudable project. But yuh noah dat every govmint fuh de las 4 decades or so has been trying to do dat? Yuh noah dat dere are several entities dat actively work against such a policy being successful. Again the opposition politician can only set up a few youts to get into de business of growing our food. Again, de Gubmint must set de policy framework to ensure success of such a policy with the full support of the Opposition (and I can’t see any opposition opposing such a policy). But perhaps you are suggesting that the Opposition should do like the US congress and, independently of the Government, bring their own food production bill to the floor of the house. Sounds like an idea that Mia could work on, but migh’nt that be seen as a gimmick?

The Chinese aquaponics initiative sounds good but again seems to be something squarely in the ambit of the Government through their new very talented, hard working and results oriented Ambassador. It is even possible that the Old Ambassador might have suggested the aquaponics thing as one of the projects that he complained had not yet seen the light of day.

Re. Mark Fenty; I am very thankful that he hasn’t started stalking me yet. But perhaps it is because I do not post much these days. Treat him like a Troll. Just ignore him.

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Notwithstanding that I did not get an invitation, I would not have been seen dead at the 375th anniversary celebration of Parliament.

Tell the people who have been sent home without severance pay that $100,000 was nothing. Tell it to the man who sat at my table with tears in his eyes telling me that he was the only person in his house, out of six mouths to feed, that was working, and who is yet to see a cent in termination pay.

35. david you ought to be a spectator standing by watching the parade as it pass by instead of being a band leader .because one believes that pigs fly does n;t make it so,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

36. Now doan leh we go there with that myth about being too costly.

The United Nations Development Programme funded a few villages in Costa Rica in the 1990’s where all of the lighting for a small village of about 30 people was provided for a cost of US $5K so I am not sure where you got the newer numbers from but it would be very easy to contact the Resident Representative and get their sources for that equipment.

In fact UNIDO and the UN Volunteer Agency could easily be solicited to give two RE experts to our dear country Bulbados, irrespective of whether it is the Government in Power or the Leader of the Opposition.

They will work with an accredited UN CSO or NGO in Barbados and Ras Bongo Spears entity in Arthur Seat St Thomas is the only UN accredited NGO in the island.

I dont think that you are getting the jist of my submission Are We There Yet.

I really am NOT putting making any plea to any government entity to support this or any thrust. They just dont have the DNA !!

I am speaking to the more pivotal thing called self-actuation and to that group of dedicated Bajans who want to do something to impact positively on the landscape not that set that pretend to be representatives of the people, doing nothing, under the guise of “rubbing shoulders with the common man”

The obvious dearth of innovative ideas to bring us back from this disaster is self evident.

So I am speaking to impotent politicians nor a laid back private sector that seems to have lost its way because they are looking up the pooches of two inept politicians Fumble and Sinckliar.

I am speaking of how, since 2003 we have just let everything go and put our hands in the air and blame politicians who we knew to be waste foops, for everything that afflicts us.

I am saying that, if the incumbents are inept, this is no reasong that the party in waiting, should also be inept?

I wonder if you realise the mechanism through which sovereign governments like the US and the UK operate? They create allegiances with parties in waiting by funding programmes, directly and indirectly, that promote the LOTOs and consolidate their power.

Not that Mia would understand that publicly stating that she would boycott the UK representative was infinitely unwise but then again she and Sinckliar are two peas in a pod, insensitive as to the international ramifications of their uniformed, backwoods shennanigans.

AWTY, what stops young bright people like you going to fellows like, let me see now, Bizzy Williams, CO Williams, Bjerkhamn, Yhap, Haloutes, Adam, Cave Shepherd, Shorey, Gibbs, the Indians, the Syrians and the whole list of dedicated Bajans with something where we look at a niche manufacturing industry in the same PVC sector?

If the said hairbrained idea costs $25M and it created 500 jobs, reduced our import bill for fuel by $30M and made sure that when ole men like me heah blogging dat dem ent using dead bolt devices to get in me and udder people house wouldnt that be a worthwhile investment?

And what if you got the same inept phvckers called government to give a tax credit of 125% for every dollar invested in said renewable energy initiative once validated by a KWH grid reader? People with money who are crying out for workable alternatives to support would flock to tax credits.

Yes Sir COW might be an arrogant Bajan but the fact is that he is a Bajan who, if only he were protecting his assets, would be disposed to invest in making sure his $$ does not devalue.

Finally AWTY, there is one thing that i would say to you

You said a series of bad words earlier, oxymorons really when you said and I quote “seems to be something squarely in the ambit of the Government through their new very talented, hard working and results oriented Ambassador….”

You are a bright man? DO NOT SAY THOSE BAD WORDS AGAIN.

Government is to facilitate processes they do not EVER innovate and until every single Bajan assigns them to their correct role, successive governments will screw the electorate every five years while telling us that they are in fact fixing a seam in the back of your pants

37. Fractured BLP Avatar

I am not surprised that the ‘ two mouthed ‘ General that leads the BWU would seek to hold the NCC and TRANSPORT BOARD management to ransom.

This ‘ two mouthed ‘ General is claiming that both the PM and Minister of Finance allegedly promised both him and Dennis Clarke during a meeting in January 2014, that all retrenched workers at the above mentioned organisations would receive enhanced separation packages.

But herein LIES the rub :

Dennis Clarke knows nothing of this alleged promise and cannot recall such being ever made !

The TB management as early as the ‘ two mouthed ‘ General raised this issue in the public domain…..provided the finacial data to the BWU officials clearly showing there is no funds to ehance the separation packages .

The Permanent Secretary of Transport and Works contacted the Permanent Secretary of Finance with the latter revealing that such an alleged promise was NEVER made and indeed there is no funds for such a programme of retrenchment .

The Minster of Finance has indicated that there is no such alleged promise or funds in contempllation at this or no other time.

So here we have this short ‘ two mouthed ‘ rascal in his last ‘ General Gusto ‘ moment before he demits office trying bully his way through the already precarious financial position of the two mentioned enetities above .

A real waste of a KNIGHTHOOD that has bestowed upon this minature imp…..of ROY !

38. @ Piece

I am quite certain you had made mention of the fact that you have had the opopportunity to go beyond secondary school in Barbados? And judging from what you have written thus far there isn’t any doubt in my mind that you’re limited in scope and cannot articulate beyond the ordinary. A college education prepares one for employment but beyond that it teaches one the critical thinking skills necessary to do the job. Any critical thinking person such as myself, known you have to judge a man by his life rather than by his intellectual artefacts because a man thinks much more differently than he writes Piece. And a non – thinker like you yourself have made the fatal mistake of judging me by what I have written thus far. Finally, you cannot reason with an ignorant person because his or her inability to reason stems an uncultivated intellectual resources.

39. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The Public Relations department of the BLP commonly referred to as The Nation newspaper is at it again.
    After the disastrous and disrespectful decision to boycott the 375th anniversary celebration of our parliament, Mia Mottley immediately called the Nation management to get a whole page interview the Sunday Sun to do some damage control.

The Nation newspaper is living up to its reputation as the BLP’s prostitute available when needed.

40. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I have been proven right again in my statement that the Nation newspaper is using the Fox news strategy of using partisan commentators in an attempt to drive public opinion.
    Caswell Franklyn , former personal assistant to a BLP MP did not have a column this week so you would think that the Nation newspaper might give an independent or an alternative view a chance. After all, two of the biggest government critics in Peter Wickham and Albert Brandford already have columns on Sunday. Fair point right?
    No, The Nation BLP newspaper chooses former BLP cabinet minister Glyne Murray to fill the space.
    Is there any doubt that the Nation newspaper has a policy of choosing writers who are pro BLP?
    The evidence is there for all to see.

41. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

MIA is a dam crook , she took my lands acting as AG and put my lands in NHC and call it CROWN land , for her and her friends, She did not pay me for My Lands, They made up new maps for Barbados and took what they wanted , Now you can not find Maps printed to show what it look like from before1985. Changed the deeds at the land registry and Archives to suit what they took ,NHC lands now for them and friends and lawyer to make money, Then they open UDC in 1997 to launder more of My Plantation Lands to the lawyer and made up more deeds to people who never bought nothing , They also added VAT 15% to help pay for the land laundering ,to move you from land rent to LAND TAX ,that seem to go up every year or when they need money . The PONZI done by BLP and now out of control under the DLP have to stop, No one trust Barbados Land deeds for they have no clear title , All Land have an owner and all must run Back to the Plantation Deeds My Aunt Beatrice Henry bought these Plantations in the years of 1926 to 1980.And she leave all her things for Me in her Will.

https://www.facebook.com/violet.beckles

42. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

PUDRYR
    I am getting your idea and it is a good one. Forgive me if my brain, which has on nearly as much mileage as yours, is a bit slow these days. My argument was about the myth that Barbados has much more sunshine resources than most other countries and thereby RE projects should be significantly cheaper here. I had also bought into that myth but the figures give the lie to it. Just check out peak sunlight hours over several countries, including some European ones, to see that we are not significantly better off than many countries re. access to sunlight resources of relevance to RE power. Use google.

Your post above is an excellent one and deserves a full reply which I do not have the time to do now. I will return later today hopefully.

But just let me agree here that there is some scope in the projects you tossed up for some progress especially if the politicians would adopt the kind of approach you suggest and get in the trenches to promote them and not leave them to the central Government to do. That has been and is our model where everything awaits funding from external agencies and there is little evidence of home grown village like projects promoted by government or opposition politicians and the NGO’s themselves spend more time on vying for UN projects at the various conferences than grounding with their brothers.

I hope you recognize that the cap in hand approach is a negative feature of our vaunted economic progress which we have been adopting for a few decades now and that the politicians have eschewed the alternative approaches in large measure because they didn’t fit our UN economic rating. But have no fear, as we plummet towards failed statehood, the various bootstrap projects like the Nicaraguan one will again become important and relevant and come into vogue here once more and we will again have no choice but to join our Caribbean neighbours in pushing for and implementing the kinds of projects which you espouse.

Meanwhile some things to consider; Ask yuh son if $50K BBD would suffice for a project to provide the electricity needs of 30 people in a typical neighborhood in present day Barbados? Check out what were the energy conditions under which that project was implemented and the remoteness of the village hence need to use batteries.

43. @ piece

Now, let’s deal with the Barbados Labor Party that has and continues to favor the well to in Barbados. And as long as the Good God pump breath into this mortal body of mine. I would never vote for party that have never cared about the real issues and concerns of the downtrodden in Barbados. Now F off because you have pissed me off with your f..king parroting around this blog. I am sorry if I have offended with my choice of words because I don’t usual engage in gutter language to get my point across but for you, I have made an exception.

44. @ Mark Fenty

We have danced for a while and I concede that you have won my fine elocutionist.

You are the better duellist and I, ole fart that I am, concede to a superior mind trained at finer institutions than I have ever and given my age, will ever attend.

Remember Departure Lounge, next stop ?? I know not where and while i do hope that I would be “make a pillar in the temple of my God, and (he) shall go no more out” time and the Creator will tell.

You and I have hijacked this topic of national import for too long and I now withdraw from this engagement with you

45. @ Islandgal

You haven’t as yet written beyond a paragraph, since you have been of the BU blog. And I know that myself as well as others are patiently anticipating your valuable contribution to the enhancement of the social discourse here. Furthermore I think I can say without the fear of repudiation that we have gotten accustomed to your occasional vitriolic attacks. But your ability to construct a sound response to any given argument, we haven’t seen.

46. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/off-season/
    By Roy R. Morris | Sun, March 02, 2014 – 12:08 AM

arbadians hoping to find work at the on-again, off-again Four Seasons Resort at Black Rock will have to wait for another “soon start” announcement from Government.

Sources close to the project told the SUNDAY SUN yesterday that two weeks ago the United States company that was gearing up to purchase and restart construction after getting the nod from the Freundel Stuart Administration and shareholders, officially informed authorities it was pulling out in frustration.

The California-based Colony Capital, which had put in a bid that would have injected US$462 million into the project, including an immediate

US$71 million to pay off all the project’s debts, that would also have covered $5 million to the National Insurance Scheme and a long list of creditors, communicated its position to Government two Fridays ago.

A highly-placed construction source explained that while an earlier push to get the long-stalled luxury hotel and villas project at the site of the former Paradise Beach Hotel back on track had seen Colony team up with local firm C.O. Williams Construction to face off against a competing bid of another Bajan operation, Jada Construction, and a hotel group from Singapore, the latest failed attempt brought the local parties together.

US of A and other Nations do and will not invest ,after a real title search for a CLEAR TITLE OF LAND , The real owner can recover after all the work is done, International Fraud, Some People do their Home work,It appears they have REAL lawyers looking out for their Investors ,,,,Get a Clue Barbados DBLP PONZI MONSTERS

47. Plantation….I answered you on the above thread, before i saw this thread…check it out……lol

48. @ Piece

I am glad you have chosen common – sense and reason over shortsightedness and willful- ignorance. Let’s face though: you and I are at an age where we should be more concern about our enlarged prostates, which presses against our urethras and restricts our flow. Than some senseless testosterone measuring contest!

49. @ Plantations
    The Estate of Violet Beckles owns the land at Paradise too?

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply