Submitted by M.R.Thompson
Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister and Head of the Civil Service (r)

With great fanfare/reluctance the Government announced, that in order to get it’s public employee spending inline with it’s revenues, it found it necessary to reduce the civil service employees by some 3000 by March 31st, 2014. This was to be phased in, 2000 by Jan. 15th, 2014 and an additional 1000 by March 31st, 2014. In addition, numerous other cost savings were also announced, how many if any have been implemented. The government (past & present) finds itself in an untenable fiscal position, most of it, if not all of it, it’s own making. External forces (IMF) are now dictating what, when, where and how the government needs to react to hopefully correct this serious economic/fiscal situation to get the country back to stability if the IMF is called on for HELP.

The IMF Article report of Feb. 14, 2014 implied that they (IMF) were taking what Barbados Government was saying with a “grain of salt”, as they have been statistically and verbally lied to previously. It was also stated by the IMF that they had been advised by Barbados Government officials that 1800 civil servants had already been laid off as of Feb. 14, 2014.

Those of us who follow press releases, local news outlets etc. are having trouble getting to who/where these 1800 civil servants are as of Feb. 14, 2014. There was much press about 350 at NHC and 80 or so at the works department, however not much press about layoffs since. Even the unions are being suspiciously quiet. My suspicions is that the government has to date, Feb. 23, 2014 laid off no more than 500 government employees.

The government has refused to release a list of those positions begin made redundant or provide lists to the appropriate unions, WHY. My guess it’s a ploy to try and hoodwink the IMF. The unions are begin quiet on the threat that if they make too much noise then there will be more layoffs. The government would like to think that the IMF has had the wool pulled over their eyes. My guess is that the IMF is just tallying, observing and when Barbados appears on their doorstep for financial help, ie: a loan, then the shoe will drop and the consequences will become apparent to the poor Bajan political beggars.

Barbados after only 47 years of Independence is heading into a full WELFARE State status. Surprising they made it to 47 years with all the incompetent management, leadership and lack of transparency. Well the Wolf is at the door and he’s not even huffing hard and the house is falling down.

64 responses to “Barbados – Government Layoffs”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You said: At the mention of Sandiford he could not have resurfaced in the new at the worse possible time. Talk about a bad dream!

Saw what you like about David Thompson, you must admit that he knew his people. Shortly after his 2008 victory, he and I were discussing his strategy in forming his administration. Some of the things he said were quite revealing. He said that he has to find a job for Sandi outside of Barbados or he would remain here and make a nuisance of himself because he was still angry about the way some of his people betrayed him to bring down his Government and he would be looking for revenge. I was therefore not surprised when Thompson created an embassy in China and relegated Sandi there. He was never meant to do anything, just to be out of the way.

So you see Thompson was right, Sandi is back and in fine form.

By the way, when I said to him that I did not understand the appointment of Freundel as AG, Thompson leaned back and with his characteristic smile said, “Caswell, he can’t cuss me now”.

2. @David
    Both political parties (and business sector) seek to manipulate the news. It was the same when the BLP ruled for 14 years. Calls by OSA to Fontabelle are now entwined in folklore
    It is one thing when politicians try to drive the news cycle, it is another when the Nation or any newspaper becomes a cheerleader for political parties.

3. The standard of journalism at the Nation newspaper continues to sink to the lowest depths with profit and sensational headlines being more important than being accurate and truthful.

REALLY !
    A long time now this happening at the Nation
    Reporters there thrive on sensation
    Janice Griffith – sex movies @ St George secondary
    As a newspaper the Nation is ordinary
    Nothing more than a trashy tabloid
    with morals and principles totally devoid
    Any tweaking and twerking to mek money
    Any twist to any story – specializing in twistory
    The Nation ? bad badder badder bad
    Not in a good way -sad !
    Journalistic standards gone through the eddoes
    Is the Governor of the CB mad -who knows ?
    Honesty at the Nation newspaper ?
    Better Bring Back de Investigator –

huh !!

– at least Yaaaagga would feast on eye candy

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga—Pon Top
    Sipping Champagne
    eyeing and eating Candy — and She likes it too
    Yuh vex ?
    Yuh should be
    None. 4. U-
    Ha !

4. Yagga Rowe,

The reported position (Sunday Sun of 23, February, 2013) of the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados in relationship to the dumping the VAT would have been acceptable to the PDC were he to have reportedly based such on the fact that TAXATION is evil, wicked, immoral, thieving, criminal, anti-people, anti-development, anti-productive, anti-industry, parasitic, anachronistic, fascistic, totalitarianistic, extremely divisive, etc.

Therefore, his reportedly, in the same Sunday Sun, describing VAT as “very complicated, problematic, regressive” and “horribly complicated”, it being in a “mess”, and its anti-tourism effects, is totally insufficient to give him any credit for his position relative to scrapping the VAT.

As long as Dr Williams retains support for evil wicked TAXATION – as deduced from his reported comment in support of a sales tax to replace the VAT – there will be no reason for us to give him any credit for any suggestion to scrap VAT when it is clear that the same evil thievery and fascism related to TAXATION gave birth to the same evil wicked VAT that we predicted long time ago ( when there was SMFD) will help bring much of industry, commerce and development in this country to their knees.

5. PDC

10 OUT OF 10 for your post -(comment)
    Not Dr. Williams though
    She left
    Dr. Worrell is dah man !
    She is more pleasant -to the eyes-ears -nose
    Eye Candy !
    Ah tell yuh !

6. Yagga Rowe,

Many thanks for putting it right. How it happened we just do not know.

7. I can’t help but to feel a sense of sadness for the young people in Barbados today. I remembered quite vividly leaving secondary school in the early 1980’s and attending the Skills Training Program sponsored by the government in those days. And after competing the skill of Electrical- installation, I gained employment shortly there after in the many hotels that were being constructed throughout the island.

8. Manipulating the news and the media house throwing their support behind a political party is dishonesty. on both sides.

On 25 February 2014 18:38, Barbados Underground wrote:

9. Caswell Franklyn | February 25, 2014 at 8:59 AM |
    RE
    By the way, when I said to him that I did not understand the appointment of Freundel as AG, Thompson leaned back and with his characteristic smile said, “Caswell, he can’t cuss me now”.
    HE PROBABLY KNEW TOO THAT FUMBLE HAD NEVER ACHIEVED MUCH IN LIFE AND WAS DOOMED TO DEMONSTRATE THAT HE WAS DUMB……….HENCE LEAVING HIM TO TAKE OVER, KNOWING THAT HE WOULD FAIL……….JUST AS HE HAS DONE.

10. Amazing how supporters justify the actions of their political parties
    Truly Amazing
    Slaves
    I think so
    Unable to think for themselves
    I think so
    Stupified and backward
    I think so
    ‘edicated ‘ ??
    Sucking up to a party
    I think so
    Devoid of a knowledge of their past
    I think so
    Ignorant of where they are going in the future
    I think so
    No vision;
    I think so
    no passion
    I think so
    no direction
    I think so
    Sorry asses !!

11. The moderator on VOB now
    –a female —
    –Her comments indicate the reason why Bajans
    are in deep do do
    –Thinks that she knows
    –Thinks that her demands make sense
    –Thinks that her views are making sense
    When she looks at students at UWI
    She determines that they can pay
    based on hairstyles/cars they drive
    Is this comment asinine
    Is this statement clownish ?
    She might be clowning around yeah !

Disappointed in these comments

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga –again !
    cricket lovely cricket
    at Kensington where I saw it
    Kirk Edwards facing Joel Garner

12. Back to the topic of Layoffs.
    A section of workers,for all intents and purposes , were the earliest casualties in this round of Government and Private sector layoffs, and today, neither their union nor their employer are able to give them any hope that they will be reemployed or severed. They are just in limbo, and without pay.
    These are the employees of Andrews Sugar Factory,who were told that Andrews will be taken out of service and refitted as a new super factory, whatever that is. The 2004 sugar harvest is due any time now, yet these ‘suspended’ workers of Andrew Factory are not any wiser as to their future, and are reporting once every week a signing a book.
    Recently we heard that the Andrews project may have to be scrapped due to a lack of funding. Looks like the intention in the first place ,was to closed down Andrews factory, in an underhand way.
    So meanwhile while these factory workers are on the breadline, their union boss we heard is going home with a half million dollar handshake, a pension of $25000 per month, and a diplomatic job in Washington,and the head of the Sugar Industry,which employs them will soon be off to China to take up a diplomatic post.
    We now have a new national motto. ” I am alright Jack,screw you!”

13. Word on the street is now that Jackie the Union man , from the Transport Board, has been laid to rest, the chopping block will be put into action within the next few days.

Leave a Reply to robert rossCancel reply