Submitted by William Skinner
Peter Wickham political scientist ‘...gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here...’
Peter Wickham ‘…gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here…’

At some point, an individual has to look at life and determine whether it is going the direction he or she would want it to. Countries must do the same. As I survey the political scene and pay rapt attention to the rapidly decaying socio – political environment, I am forced to ask myself if Barbadians are really serious about the direction the country is taking.

It is obvious to all objective citizens that the country is in turmoil as it transitions from the quaint little village to the world stage. A stage for which it failed to prepare. Hal Austin, a regular contributor to this blog, got it right sometime ago, when he opined, that we were perhaps fooled by the praise that we constantly heaped upon ourselves and that which others gave us. We were told by the world’s top diplomat that we were “punching above our weight”. We bestowed the title great economist on former Prime Minister Owen Arthur. We declared Errol Barrow the father of the nation. We have thrown about the word brilliant with great carelessness. For example, Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley has been accused of being brilliant! We are a people who declared we had the best of everything: the best education system; the best roads; the best hospital; the best schools and of course a literacy rate of 97% percent.

The irony of the situation is that all of the above is very true when we look at other Caribbean islands. Anybody visiting our sister islands would have to agree that Barbados does have the best schools in terms of construction; the best roads although ours are in a state of disrepair in many cases; the best hospital of any that is used by the entire public, never mind we cannot get the accident and emergency department to function properly and of course we are rather literate. We have Cave Hill producing graduates on par with any of our neighbours; never mind employers say that some of our graduates cannot understand basic arithmetic and English. So what am I complaining or criticizing? Well, we have all these positives and yet we seem very determined to turn them all into negatives. Almost forgot, we have the best public transportation system although we can never make it profitable and our rolling stock is hitting the road with bumpers and fenders missing. Of course the failure to maintain the buses ensures that about 30 or 40per cent are either parked waiting for parts or have been forced to early vehicle graves by bad driving habits.

I now come to our incredible democracy. Every five or so years, we enjoy three weeks of hectic campaigning. And yes, once again, we can brag that it is probably the most incident free elections anywhere in the world. Nobody gets killed. I think a few decades back, Muhammad Nasser got cut with a bottle throwing thing but I don’t think that it ever made court. No problem. Gone are the days of the half bottle of rum and a few soda/eclipse biscuits with our treasured corn beef. We have transitioned to giving the voters: lap tops, iPods, top end cell phones and Sir Grantley’s image looms large in hands and pockets. According to our dithering, Charlie Chaplin (Silent Movies) Prime Minister, Mr. Freundel Stewart, he actually saw money passing during the last elections. Imagine the Prime Minister witnessing crimes in broad daylight and not one report to the police. Not one arrest. What a crime free democracy!

No more under forties debating the pros and cons of independence; no more exceptional grass roots politicians such as: Lionel Weeks, and Lloyd Smith. Not a Mencea Cox or Ronald Map. No Neville Boxills in site. Oh no, those guys use to throw the occasional jab but talk about policies and were close to their constituents. Even a very well educated fellow like Frederick “sleepy “Smith was down to earth. And according to a young man, whom I have great respect for, Mr.Peter Wickham, that particular breed has no place in his modern Barbados political make up. As far as he is concerned Hamilton Lashley was the last of that ilk. Sad thing, Wickham may be right!

Well, Wickham represents the new breed, armed with a university education and a profession grounded in political science and polling. He is a highly sought after political scientist. He gets almost all his polls right and has only missed one big one here- the very last one when Charlie Chaplin overcame all the fancy sound effects! Maybe if there were more of the above mentioned grassroots politicians, his polls would be more accurate because people back then were a bit more genuine.Oops…

Allow me to close with our esteemed labor movement. In the current debacle regarding the severing of 3000 according to the DLP or soon to be at least 10,000 workers according to the BLP, the unions find themselves out to sea. They are suggesting policies after the so-called Minister of Finance; Mr. Chris Sinkler has enunciated the policy on the floor of the house. I say so –called because Mr. David Estwick is apparently acting as Minister of Finance today (Thursday 12th. Feb 2014) when he presents his own personal views to cabinet to rescue the economy. Just like the unions, he is presenting policies to stop retrenchment of workers AFTER the retrenchment has commenced. Brilliant!

So the workers are left to another regular contributor of this blog, Caswell Franklyn, to defend them while their president runs up cell phone bills in the thousands. Now I don’t know much about wages in our public sector but I seriously believe that $6000 could have kept one of those workers on the pay roll for quite a few weeks or even six months. But the NUPW does not have that kind of strike fund. Modern unions have: Excessive Use of Cell Phones by Presidents Funds! I digress. The workers voice is now Caswell. Now I have quoted, to support my little contribution, two regular contributors to this blog: Caswell Franklyn and Hal Austin. Note I have not attempted to big up anybody from the mainstream press because the problem we have, is that mainstream Barbados, has crashed like mainstream Wall Street and that caused all the confusion.

Stay way from mainstream Barbados thinking and we may just survive this crisis. And a great shout out to Pachamama. Thanks for BU. Sometimes a nation (newspaper) has to take a look at itself.

247 responses to “Barbados at the Crossroads”

1. @Artaxerxes

Yours is a point which BU has been making all along. A good example when when Obama had to clawback on some promises he made on the campaign trail when he got into the White House.

On Wednesday, 19 February 2014, Barbados Underground < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:

2. @ac 2.02p
    Are you Denis Kellman?Only such a creature would continually buck the odds and write in the clouds like you do.

3. I luv to buck the odds .i luv to talk abovethe clouds and under the clouds..i luv to match my shite wid wunna shite….O.K. now go find something productive to do with uh timeand stop reading my comments

4. When will PM Stuart fire Estwick?? AC, being an insider and all, can you tell us??

5. Dear Ac,
    First of all, let me say I admire your courage in coming to the Blog and defending the DLP no matter how strong or how weak the facts you have to work with are in the issues under discussion. I view your support of the DLP similar to how I view Fox News’ and MSNBC’s unstinting support for the GOP and Democrats respectively in the USA. My observation over the years is that you state your views very strongly, you are generally respectfully
    to your foes on the blog, but you reserve and use the right to hit back if attacked. My advice, defend your DLP if you must, ignore the barbs and the invectives of your foes, and be the lady I believe you are.
    In recent years you have been showering praises on the DLP administration for being humanitarian in running current account deficits to keep civil servant on the payroll. You are however very critical of the Owen Arthur administration for not sending home civil servants on the advice of Sir. Courtney Blackman at a time the government’s revenue was meeting payroll. Do you believe the unions and the opposition DLP would have sat back and allowed civil servant to be sent home under those circumstances?

6. So was there a law or was there not a law excluding all wages and slaries cuts for civil service…..arterexes plain and simple YeS or NOT….as usual with the BLP yardfowls jargon….NO! NO! don.t talk about dat …that is off the table .steer clear keep the public in the dark……

7. Estwick was reported in the news today that he will give the PM and Cabinet some time to ruminate on his UAE proposal before he decides next steps.

8. Priests like Union Leaders, particularly this set in Barbados, are like parasites, living on the tithes of their congregation and the monthly contributions of their members.

For the most part “the pretend care” that these people, (spiritual shepherds and credit union leaders, or whatever names of reverence that they are accorded by the common rank and file) display for their respective church members and the union members is predicated on the posturers desire to ingratiate themselves with their audience and make sure the offertory bag or the Union’s monthly intake is not impaired.

Do not believe that they have an iota of care for their respective neophants it is a matter of self preservation, should the ingrunt swine and followers wake up and determine that they are there only as lambs to the slaughter then it will come to a crashing end.

As i constantly have observed in these many years here, you NEVER see any of the so called Shepherds of these so called Churches ministering to the needy in Marl Hole or Nelson Street, in the highways and hedges, no sireeee these Apostles are usually found in the big up pulpit at the RC church or in the front of the camera intoning that David “the keepr of the fatted calf” Thompson WILL NOT DIE under his watch

9. what i don,t like is the BLP hypocisy on one hand saying over the past six years that the civil service was bloated and need to be cut.(nevertheless govt held strain ) now that govt takes action and implements the same policies that the BLP advocated for six years there are critcising govt for implementing. dat kind a crap i don.T tolerate…

10. Prayerful

Do you want to put some contextual substance into that?

BT

“Backed into a corner”…..LOL do give over. But I’ll respond to you in a minute.

Lawson

Some years ago I heard a sermon from an Anglican priest who, from his position of middle class respectability, told the congregation how to bring up children. The fellow was roughly 25, without children and unmarried. I suggested that he might tell his middle class pie-in-the-sky to a single mother with two teenage boys who lived in the Ivy. No prizes for guessing.

What amazes me about you lot is the deference you are giving to a know-all priest who was rendering both God and Caesar to Caesar. PHARISEES all of you.

11. But lets face it, now with the QEH about to cut staff and the periodic shortage of vital drugs at that institution, we may need these miracle working men,and women, of the cloth more than ever. Just at the touch of the radio set, presentation of a can of olive oil and a towel, will see people healed almost instantly.
    Heard the one about the Catholic Priest , on fishing trip who got off the boat just off the beach on the west coast and appeared to walk on the water towards the beach ? Not to be outdone the Anglican priest on board stepped off into the water and, bruggadung, he fell to the bottom. After a couple more failed attempts, the Catholic priest turned to him and shouted, ” Brother ! use the under water sand bank on the left of the boat!”

12. @ ac

“So was there a law or was there not a law excluding all wages and salaries cuts for civil service…..arterexes plain and simple YeS or NOT”

Yes, a law was introduced preventing the cutting of public sector salaries. So exactly what is your point?

13. Colonel…………….that’s what has people with actual intelligence stumped…”the periodic shortages of vital drugs at QEH”, yet they or someone in government or their esteemed friends has millions to spend importing the HPV Vaccine to hurriedly vaccinate minor little girls or whomever they could stick their needles into with a drug under FDA investigation….no one from government is saying a word about this, but according to one parent who received the letter trying to convince the mother to have the child injected, the tone of the letter alone left her cold and very angry, I am happy to say she is an attorney, so they can go fcuking around with her and they will surely get their comeuppance.

14. Now Bush Tea

First, we are NOT talking about lawyers. We are talking about priests. The ‘my Dad is bigger than your Dad’ argument is a fallacy because it is completely irrelevant. And you know the ‘I’m knocking a lawyer’ thing is rather stale now. Time to find a different “epistemological” reference. Or are you REALLY worried about your soul? Or again, do you have a special interest here?

You seem to feel that priests, or one priest in particular, are not subject to scrutiny and on the way manage to misrepresent what was being said. I don’t share that view. But, as I say, I am quite prepared to debate it through the Nation’s columns.

The ‘productivity” aspect amounts to this. How do you assess it? EG, is a ‘productive’ lawyer’ one who wins more cases than he loses, or who sees 30 clients in an afternoon rather than three, or who spends less than an hour a day on BU, or who charges clients less than the market rate, or who sells eggs on the highway etc etc etc. Apply this to doctors seeing patients or motor mechanics mending buses. It really all depends on the goal to be achieved or the target to be reached doesn’t it? So to say in general terms that people are not productive is a gross oversimplification.

Now of course you may want to talk about attitudes. You may want to say that as a people we are narrow, or bigoted, or money-grabbing, or mean spirited or, simply, to use a Veronicaism, shits. I have no problem with that level of discourse because it applies to all and not merely to a general class like ‘government workers’, and is rooted in the experience of all. Equally, we may want to talk in the general about a iimited class – like Registry people, or Immigration people or even one person, like the CJ. Judgements of that kind are obviously rooted in either experience or prejudice – and you take your choice as a third party what weight you give to the judgement. Thus in your case, as I have noted, you have very iittle to say about lawyers in the particular but merely for the most part from prejudice and in the general. For me, therefore, I don’t buy into the prejudice though I may well agree with, say, Amused, when he (now) says in effect that the CJ is an ‘unproductive’ waste of space. But it follows from what I’ve said that I cannot give credence to what someone who is NOT part of the class – in this case ‘worker’ or ‘government worker’ – has to say about their ‘productivity’, a concept which is not explored and for which there is no direct evidence known to him. But IF he says he IS a worker then he and his fellows must also be subject to scrutiny, and the question ‘are priests productive and if so how?’ is entirely fair. Or are they too close to God for that?

When those judgements are conveniently expressed in the way they were, in the forum they were, and before whom they were SORRY I say ‘no this won’t do’ for the reasons I gave. And when they come from a middle-class fellow whose job is not at risk, whose home is in no danger of repossession, and who demonstrates a level of hypocrisy which would have made Jesus cringe then, forgive me, I remain entirely unrepentant.

Mind someone said to me yesterday that Rogers is going to be the next bishop. Good luck.

15. Ross
    I heard no les than one hour ago,that the Dean is retiring next year and that the Rev John Rogers is tipped to be next in line.Your take would mean that his management and leadership at the Cathedral Church,might stand him in good stead as there are those who think that a Bishop should cut his teeth as a parish priest and if he becomes a Rector of St Michael and Dean of the Chapter Canons,he might be better qualified to discharge the duties of office.

16. RR I drank with one of the most charismatic and down to earth priests in Ottawa, he turned a once failing church into a packed house every sunday. About two years ago he was followed by a reporter to a casino where it turns out he was gambling the churches money. He blew a few hundred thousand on cards and booze and may get 18 months when he is sentenced in march. The odd thing is I like him much more than those holier than thou people telling you how to live your life, or how it should be .

17. Gabriel

As the Bishop’s nephew he would obviously be in a good position – which may explain why he gave the sermon on Sunday. But really – ordained just 13 years ago or thereabouts. The long knives would be out and sharp as needles.

18. Lawson

I have another story for you along the same lines. But SWMBO is badgering me for wasting time and I’m afraid of her. So later.

19. Ross
    MYFA

20. @ ac

I think you need a lesson in hypocrisy, here begineth the miller his tale with a few:

• Dr. Estwick publically stating that the economic policies pursued by the government from 2008 were wrong, after vehemently endorsing such, especially in light that he was instrumental in drafting the medium term fiscal strategy.

• CBC ceased broadcasting “Best and Mason” cricket program after the hosts Carlisle Best and Andrew Mason invited Noel Lynch to be a guest on Tues Aug 17, 2010 edition. Lynch was subsequently asked to leave by security after “management made a decision not to allow him on the program” [Daily Nation, Aug 19, 2010; pp 1, 4]
    Subsequently, the public was informed by CBC general manager, Lars Soderstrom, that the program was unprofitable. However, the next few weeks“Mid Wicket” hosted by Keith Holder introduced, with a similar format and sponsorship structure.

• As it relates to lay-offs in the public sector, Stuart maintained that such would not be done. He said “at least one minister had already reported to him that even if he gave up ½ million, he would still have enough to pay employees” [Sunday Sun, Sep 8, 2013; pp 1A, 4A]
    Then Sinckler’s December 13 ministerial statement said otherwise.

• During the 2008 general elections, Thompson was out and about, slide projector and all, showing the returned cheque in the amount of $75,000 Arthur received from CLICO. We were however surprised that the CLICO audit revealed the law firm of Thompson & Associates received a payment of $3.33M for fees and retainer which came from “four different legal matters. But according to the document, the payment “actually to the benefit of Leroy Parris relating to partial payment of a gratuity”.” [Sunday Sun, Feb 26, 2012; p10A]

21. Bush Tea has a point to make on February 19, 2014 at 1:26 PM:
    “NORWAY?
    SWEDEN?
    Denmark.
    “Boss, those are PRODUCTIVE countries where people believe in hard work – and where everyone is expected to pull their own weight… Read meritocracy….the very antithesis of brass bowlery.”

Astonishingly, and very depressingly, I find myself in complete agreement here with the usually idiotic Bush Tea. Indeed, I concede that I smiled and clapped when I read what Bush Tea wrote. This is disheartening, but I take comfort in the knowledge that it is very unlikely ever to happen again.

To add to Bush Tea’s irrefutably correct observations (with your permission, Bushman) … The ugly little secret of what dullards call “North-South relations” and “development work” in what it’s fashionable to call the “developing world” is a secret that many people in the field know but that nobody ever says out loud.

It’s this: if you want to be something like Canada, it’s better to act like a Canadian. That’s basically it, but we can expand. If you want to be something like Sweden, it’s better to act like a Swede. If you DON’T want to be something like Canada or Sweden or Norway, that’s cool. We are culturally sensitive. If you want Nicaragua always to be in the current state of Nicaragua, then act like a Nicaraguan for ever. Chart your own path and all good wishes to you. Not a problem (apart from the constant drain on the tax resources of people in Canada and Sweden and Norway and the other grown-up countries).

If you want to be a grown-up country, don’t prevent 50 percent of your population (for example, the ones with vaginas) from having an education. If you do that, you will be a basket case. This is guaranteed and empirically demonstrable in the world today. You will be a basket case. And the fact that you are going to be a basket case for ever is going to cost the taxpayers in Norway a lot of money. But we are culturally sensitive, so if you just absolutely HAVE to keep the vagina-owners away from education, then all good wishes to you.

If your system of government allows an outgoing president to take half the national treasury with him into retirement, that’s cool. We are culturally sensitive. If a third of your GDP is in secret accounts in Switzerland or you just hired your wife’s niece to run the local telephone monopoly, even though she has the brain of a cactus, no problem at all. We are culturally sensitive. Don’t want to be imposing some myopic western-oriented, Eurocentric view on you. Heaven forbid. Go your own way.

I can’t begin to explain the anguish you feel when you watch yet another child die, and another child die, and another, mountains of dead children, when it’s all because of the local “culture”. It is NOT because of some imagined geopolitical game. The fact that these children die is ENTIRELY because of the local “political culture”. But we are culturally sensitive.

I know it’s a sensitive subject. I suspect I know that better than any other contributor to this blog. People take pride in their nation. And they should. Pride in a nation is part of the glue that somehow holds a nation together, and nations should be held together. Because if enough good people do this well enough, at some point we’ll have an actual civilization with values that are worth something, no matter what our differences of colour and faith.

An unashamed atheist, long inured against any kind of organized religion, I know that I am my brother’s keeper. But respect for local culture only gets us so far. If it is an intrinsic part of the local culture (say, Mexico in living memory) that corruption at all levels of government is simply an accepted fact of life, a fact accepted by everyone, then Mexico will always be 1980s Mexico. It has no hope of being anything like Sweden. And perhaps Mexicans don’t want to be Swedes. They don’t like herring, prefer tortillas, whatever. But that’s not the point. The point is that if we citizens of the “developing world” want to be like the “developed world”, then it’s better to have, say, zero corruption in the customs administration. That’s to say, at least in those areas, that it’s better to act like Canadians and Swedes and Danes and Norwegians.

But those in the development business are culturally sensitive. So if you really want to keep all your girls out of school, or set up an entire constitutional system based on a division of authority between people who believe in different guys in the sky (the ever-exploding Lebanon), that’s totally cool. We are culturally sensitive. And we’ll keep getting the taxpayers in Oslo and Copenhagen to pay for the results of your eternal fuck-ups. And they will be eternal.

And if you want, for electoral purposes, to keep borrowing sickening amounts of money to spend on non-jobs that inevitably will have to disappear, that’s cool. We’ll just call Oslo and Copenhagen and London and Ottawa and Brussels and Stockholm and everywhere else, so that their taxpayers can send you some money. We’ll call the IMF, which gets all of its money from taxpayers in Oslo and Copenhagen and London and Ottawa and Brussels and Stockholm. It doesn’t print it, and it certainly doesn’t get it from countries who prefer to keep the vagina-owners away from education.

We are, above all, culturally sensitive.

22. @ ac

Uh got one more fuh ya:

The Barbados Investors & Policyholders Alliance {BIPA} seeing hell to get insurance dividends from CLICO on behalf of members. Yet, “Lawyers representing former CLICO boss Leroy Parris have filed for judgment against the insurance company, for a $10M claim in “contractual and other payments”.” [Sunday Sun, Jun 26, 2011; p 1]

Both parties seeking the help of the court to get what, in their opinion, is rightfully theirs. Sinckler called the BIPA president, June Fowler, a “bald pooched cat”; what did he called Parris?

Hypocritical, is it not???

23. @Sergeant

“Nigeria and the other developing countries are always the whipping boys when the subject of corruption is discussed”

Name another country in or world today that is more corrupted than Nigeria? Nigeria is the most corrupted country on the face of the earth. Sergeant, I am not quite sure if you’re cognizant of the fact that West Union was removed from Nigeria because of the incessant amount of corrupted scams perpetrated by Nigeria nationals? So it essence Sergeant, corruption is synonymous with the name Nigeria. And furthermore, I know of people who have been victims or who have been victimized by these unconscionable Devils.

24. Sergeant, I shouldn’t have used the colloquial term for Western Union because I am not quite if you’re familiar its usage. In my locality it is called West Union.

25. Name another country in or world today that is more corrupted than Nigeria?

US of A.

26. @Sergeant,

And I do not mean to moralize on Nigeria, but I have to go by the facts brother.

27. @ Miller
    When you can formulate a coherent argument in support of your misplaced criticism of the Reverend, Bushie will seek to respond…above, you just typed a long set of shiite….after the mode of Zoe, in an unsuccessful attempt to distract the bushman with verbosity….. FAIL!

28. Trying Bushie to steer clear of the sparring match between you and Ross but in my view the nonsense preached by Reverend Rogers at the service to commemorate Errol Barrow’s day had to be designed to pander to his political audience because Rev Rogers is known for thought provoking sermons and is hailed as a Bishop in waiting. DLPite that he is, on sober reflection, I am sure he would have by now regretted his attack on those public servants who have served diligently and faithfully in their careers to make Barbados with little resources the envy of sister countries in the Caribbean have much more..

29. @Bush Tea
    You’re probably correct. But that does not in any meaningful way prevent the hundreds of millions who flocks to America annually. Yes, there is corruption in America but the GOOD obviously outweighs the BAD.

30. “Do you believe the unions and the opposition DLP would have sat back and allowed civil servant to be sent home under those circumstances”

“So was there a law or was there not a law excluding all wages and slaries cuts for civil service…..arterexes plain and simple YeS or NOT….as usual with the BLP yardfowls jargon….NO! NO! don.t talk about dat …that is off the table .steer clear keep the public in the dark”

AC, no disrespect intended but answer the question or shut up. The extent of your feeble attempts to defend the policies of the administration borders on the ridiculous given Dr Estwicks’s announcement to the world at large ;
    ESTWICK: GOVT’S ERRORS RESPONSIBLE FOR PRESENT ECONOMIC CRISIS. Why don’t you and the other DLP apologists attack and deal with Mr Estwick?

31. @Bush Tea
    Name any other country is our world today, where the CIVIL- LIBERTIES as does the CIVIL- RIGHTS are so well protected? There are CHECKS and BALANCES through every system in America today, which guarantees the DUE- PROCESS of every citizen.

32. the CIVIL- LIBERTIES as does the CIVIL- RIGHTS are so well protected YEAH
    WHITE MEN CAN KILL BLACK BOYS WILLY NILLY AND GET AWAY WITH IT

33. Wuh arterxes none of what u say i more damming that a BLP govt that had a bloated civil service from 2001 and was told that it was unsustainable and did absolutely nothing about it..as for the CLICO mess the BLP also had control and let that too festered and got out of control anotherone of the messes started under BLP exploded by the time DLP took over…. ………….balance what question u want me to answer seems like straughan is an apologist for the IMF .they job is to collect

34. @ Bush Tea,
    Just like are friend “Jack Bowman” – I too chuckled at your reply to an earlier comment that I had made whilst making reference to Norway, Sweden and Denmark. I must also confess that this has been the first time, ever, that I have been able to appreciate and chuckle at “Jack Bowman’s” words (6.39 pm). Perhaps it will be the last time.
    I was making a serious point about Barbados looking at aligning or working more closely with the above countries, let’s not forget Finland. I believe that Barbados could learn and grow from these countries. These countries have a higher morality than the UK, Canada, America and those other rag bag countries (Nigeria, UAE, Colombia, etc.) that Barbados has been reaching out to of late.
    I believe that the partnership could possibly be more equal and would benefit Barbados. The vast majority of countries have embraced capitalism believing that it is the best model to follow. However it is a model that is increasingly failing the majority of its citizens. I believe that the Scandinavian model could be a perfect fit for the Caribbean region.
    Yes we are not a productive people but before we run to others, as we appear willing to do, let us consult those Scandinavian countries first, before we jump into the bed of those friendly and benign Colombians and Nigerians.

35. @ balance
    Man you should have steered clear…this is no sparring match…it is a straight case of bullying being inflicted by Bushie against RR.

He has NO case …and your Commissiong-styled intervention on his behalf will not help him…. 🙂

First Ross is a traitor – for running to the Nation rather than risk the licks he KNOWS would be coming – had he published it on BU

Second, the fundamental point of the sermon is beyond dispute…. Workers SHOULD do an honest days work for an honest day’s pay.

Third, there is NOTHING wrong with having two jobs which DO NOT conflict, while criticizing other who seek to hold two jobs AT THE SAME. TIME….

Lastly, neither Ross NOR you, can ascribe motives to the gentleman. Wunna CANNOT know that he was not sending a message (in Dr Estwick’s style) to Fumble and Sinckler that they need to do an honest and effective day’s work or go home…!!!
    Wunna just BIASED…. 🙂

In conclusion, the sermon was sound…Ross just don’t like Priests, or doctors, or bushmen ….who don’t fall into line with his legal sweet talk…

36. @ Mark Fenty
    …steupssss why don’t you adopt the advice we have all been trying to give to ac nuh……?
    HUSH.

Which country routinely murders people all over the world practically on a daily basis – by remote control ….once such persons have been categorized as “terrorist”?

In which country are the biggest con artist and crooks to be found in it’s capital city and in it financial center?

In which country has the president emerged – almost unknown- from probably the most notoriously CROOKED city of all time? A city known for and controlled by organized crime…to the extent that the criminals ARE the law…..!!!

Why do you think that in the USA…..GUNS rule…?

In comparison, Nigeria is just a school bully….

37. u bush tea u tell me to hush,,wuh dam did u not hear yuhself called yuh self -nominated leader Caswell a bull shiter catching at flies,,, wuh after that blistering indictment hope yuh ain;t go the nerve to set he loose on barbados, wuh dat would be first class wuftlesness,

38. LOL BT

Is that the best you can do? But BTW – isn’t there a world outside BU? I suppose from your bath chair the answer is ‘no’. But COME – join me in an exchange of letters. That shouldn’t tax your failing body too much.

Lawson

I entirely empathize with your remarks about the ‘very human’ priest. One of the most famous theologians of the 20c was a fella called Paul Tillich. It was he who enjoined us to see God as the ‘ground of our being’. as our ‘ultimate concern’.

Now in his book ‘The Misfits’ Colin Wilson recounts Mrs Tillich’s autobiography where she discloses that Tillich was addicted to porn, visited seamy nightclubs and bonked his research students. (It must be said that Mrs Tillich herself was no Blessed Virgin.). Wilson attacks Tillich and asks, in essence, how you can possibly treat him seriously as a ‘man of God’. I suppose that would be the standard response. But for me, at least, it is Tillich’s very human qualities which make him relevant as a gifted and meaningful theologian writing from the boundary. He could write the things he did precisely because of the type of man he was with all his failings and weaknesses which, in one way or another, we all share. I realize that BT will probably find my response shocking and dear Rogers would say that neither Tillich nor I would be good citizens. To which I would respond that purity of heart has nothing to do with the activity of the loins and, as I said in another post, the issue is whether we really do have courage, as Tillich would say, the courage to be, and whether the heart’s love, which is God in ourselves, is what fills our very being.

If it does, Rogers’ simplistic distinction at the Great Feast between ‘individuals’ and ‘citizens’ dissolves into mere Pharisaical froth. Was Jesus an ‘individual’ or a ‘citizen’ and, in practice, what does it mean to be a (good) ‘citizen’? Does it mean I can’t march? Or expose hypocrisy? Or say what I think or believe? Does it mean I must vote for this or that Party but cannot propose a third? Does it mean I can’t, though loving my country, identify its absurdities? Does it mean I must pretend to respect A or B or this class or that when I don’t? Does it mean I can’t write on BU?

Jack Bowman

I found your remark about your being an atheist very moving and, in a sense, it reflects what I was just saying to Lawson. The God you don’t believe in is the God I also reject for he is a mere idol whose nature and purpose is rooted in command and obedience and fear. Your concern for your neighbour, at least for me, is your sense of religiousness rather than religion and it springs from a loving heart. It is the fragrance which moves and is moved by all that is good and true and beautiful. So thankyou.

39. @ ac
    The difference between you and Caswell is simple…..

You can improve BU – and do us all a favor if you would just HUSH.
    …on the other hand….
    Caswell has the potential to do us all a big favor – if he can only appreciate his true TALENTS and his true worth to Barbados at this time….(instead of whatever Bushie said before. .. 🙂 )

This place NEEDS a spotlight on wickedness….and it will take a Caswell type….primed with Lowdown’s goat milk, in order to execute.

David (BU) has completed phase 1.
    …we now need phase two with real boots on the ground…. 🙂

BUP!

40. @ Bush Tea
    While you’re enjoying the comforts of your good night’s rest in the infinitesimal island of Barbados. A country that can hardly defend itself from an outside foe :the United States of America is ensuring your good night’s rest Bush Tea. If Cuba decides to invade Barbados today Bush Tea, who would the tiny island of Barbados with a Defense- Force the size of an Army Battalion turn to?

41. @Fenty
    Name another country in or world today that is more corrupted than Nigeria?
    I did not say that there is no corruption in Nigeria, I wrote that there is a tendency to use Nigeria as an example of corruption when there is corruption all over the world, you should read the Report on corruption in Europe which is on the link attached to my comment.

BTW if lobbyists in Washington wine and dine politicians in urging them to pass legislation beneficial to the companies that employ them and the executives of those companies donate money to the re-election campaign of these politicians. If the legislation leads to the companies earning billions of dollars what should that be called?

Don’t answer, good business.

42. Bush Tea, the Monroe – Doctrine is still fresh in the minds of those totalitarian regimes that threatens the existence of democracy in the region.

43. Robert Ross your constant rant about the church and its priests clearly manifests you as a deeply bitter and wretched human being.

It is clear Rev. Rogers is stuck across your craw like a fish bone.

Keep it up and see where and how you end up.

The choice is yours !!

44. @ ac

“Wuh arterxes none of what u say I more damming that a BLP govt that had a bloated civil service from 2001 and was told that it was unsustainable and did absolutely nothing about it..”

Point taken, and I must agree with you that the BLP “did absolutely nothing about it.” However, as the government in waiting the DLP would have been aware of the unsustainability of “a bloated civil service”, and on becoming the government, they should have done something about it. Instead, they shared the fatted calf in the form of government contract and consultancies with the “big-ups”, and for the lower class with jobs at entities such as the National Assistance Board, Transport Board, NCC, NHC and the Drainage Unit.
    Ironically, the DLP did nothing about the situation either, instead they ignored the “unsustainable” you mentioned and added to the “bloated civil service” by creating “election jobs” at NHC, Drainage Unit [which saw over 200 persons being employed prior to the Feb 2013 elections] and NCC just to name a few. The situation became so “unsustainable” that the DLP had to borrow money on a monthly basis to pay public sector salaries.
    AC, in light of your above revelation, would you concede that the DLP made a fundamental mistake? Is borrowing from the NIS to pay salaries and wages “sustainable”, is the NIS fund “sustainable” enough to pay relevant benefits to over 3000 retrenched workers at “one toss”
    Not only have they erred by significantly INCREASING the civil service in a recession where government expenses exceed income, their actions has had a reverberant effect on the economy, society and the NIS fund
    Knowing you ac, if you reply, your answer would be consistent with the event; i.e. an increase in employment before election was done to help the SOCIETY, whereas, the lay-offs are good for the ECONOMY.

45. Artaxerxes, excellent post and summation.

46. I thought the Nation rejected letters written under false names . How come the editor continues to publish Robert Ross letters? I searched the list of lawyers in Barbados and there is no ROBERT ROSS on that list . Robert Ross like he is a fraud .

47. @Surprised

Tell Carl Moore.

48. LOL @ Surprised
    Bushie was wondering about that too…
    …and do you know they would not publish one shiite from
    Mr. Bush Tea Esq…..talk about bias 🙂

49. @ Robert Ross
    I’ve always respected your point of view and I am not prepared to engage you in a philosophical debate involving religion. But this question I ought to ask you brother: without a concept of God, where does our concepts of Right and Wrong derives they essence? I would have thought (with my limited knowledge of course) that if the concept of God ceases to exist as we know it to be, than our concepts of Right and Wrong would obviously follow such course.

50. Artaxerxes | February 20, 2014 at 4:57 AM |
    @ ac

Knowing you ac, if you reply, your answer would be consistent with the event; i.e. an increase in employment before election was done to help the SOCIETY, whereas, the lay-offs are good for the ECONOMY.
    //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

no i would not say that however i would say that if measures were put in place to tackle that problem going back to2001 govt would not have been at a crossroad having to decide between society and economy……. however be it as it may govt has arrived at the inevitable and must do whatever necessary to strengthen the economic foundation before it comes tumbling down,

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply