Cabinet of Barbados

In the last six years Barbados has been consumed by an unprecedented type of polarising politics. It is a politics which has reordered national priorities. No longer are decisions made on the basis of what is important on the national front but more to do with what is politically expedient. Political pundits had warned that the 2-seat majority government which resulted from the last general election would have landed us here. A classic illustration is the government’s commitment to send home 3,000 public sector workers but because of political imperatives the national exigency has had to be sacrificed, the result; a bloated Cabinet.

Perhaps the best example of politics trumping commonsense and national interest is the 9-day topical issue –  the Estwick Affair. One member of parliament holds the trump card (theoretically) which potentially affects the balance of government in Barbados. Whereas Arthur would have fired Estwick from Cabinet a long time ago – he had bench strength in the House – Prime Minister Stuart is forced to tolerate a minister who has made it known publicly he disagrees with Cabinet; a severe break from convention.  BU referred to Estwick’s trump card as theoretical because he has developed the reputation as a bluffer.

If the country was focussed on the national priority we should be grilling Estwick about what the Ministry of Agriculture (MoA) has achieved under his stewardship since 2010. Insiders are aware it took several days of suasion to get him to accept the agriculture ministry.

In fact he was on the verge of resigning we understand. In 2010 when Estwick finally accepted the transfer to the MoA he saw reason to list his achievements as Minister of Economic Affairs. We are asking Estwick to again list his achievements as Minister of Agriculture. If we want to promote a system of meritocracy in the country then the value of our leaders must be evaluated by their achievements. Estwick has been instrumental in starting the construction of the Barbados Water Authority building and installation three tanks to store molasses at the Bridgetown port. But what is his report card? More importantly what have you done to further Dr. Estwick to further the cause of food security for Barbados? What initiatives have you implemented or have in the pipeline to reduce our humongous food import bill? Earning foreign exchange is our lifeblood and it is scary to read reports that forex has declined by 100 million in the month of January 2014.

Time to stop the silly games and accept the responsibility of managing the country. A listen to the debate in parliament yesterday should be sufficient to indicate we have an intellectual deficit affecting that august chamber.

<

p align=”justify”>Poorakey indeed!

162 responses to “To David Estwick and Cabinet, it must be about Barbados”

1. @ Artaxerxes

You are so right!

We forgot to add Patrick Gollop.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Waiting | February 12, 2014 at 8:26 PM |

Even in the face of a mountain of evidence provided by the IMF you fools still refuse to listen to commonsense.
    Do you really fathom the serious quagmire of economic challenges Bim is in? Let us suppose the Opposition were to agree to your call for an amendment to the Constitution to cut public sector pay across the board, do you really feel the IMF would allow you guys to take back on the payroll (even with the cut) 3,500 earmarked for immediate dismissal or the pending wave of redundancies to stem from the merging, privatization and closure of Public Sector enterprises (PEs).

Whom do you guys thing you are dealing with? Clyde Mascoll, Mottley or Estwick?

Do you, johnny, understand the gravamen of the following statement(s):

“Outlook and risks. Recent fiscal measures, if fully implemented, should stabilize debt levels by 2016. However, downside risks are considerable and failure to implement corrective policies could result in a disorderly adjustment process. Even with full implementation, fiscal financing pressures and external sector sustainability would remain challenging.”

“Delays or failure to implement planned fiscal measures. These risks are not negligible (e.g.
    there is ongoing pressure from labor unions to unwind layoff decisions). A continuation of
    policy trends could lead to further monetization of the deficit, drop in investor confidence,
    further reserves losses, and pressure on the currency peg.”

The IMF have given you guys a “temporary” (like the workers used for electoral purposes and now abused and refused) stay of execution.
    Make use of the limited time to prepare and present a case for a commutation from financial death (significant adjustment in your currency, like 50 % forthwith, with inevitable downward spiralling) to a long stay in fiscal prison.

3. Does anyone believe that Dr Estwick will be allowed to deliver his power point presentation tomorrow in light of the IMF release today?

4. @Bajan in NY
    We need not engage such a debate at this time because I can assure you, that when Clinton relinquished power to Bush Jr between 2000 or was it 2001? The definition of the middle class was still on the lips of the average American. You’re quite right though; after 8 years of mismanagement by the Bush Administration, the gap between the rich and poor has gotten wider. And finally, those two illegal wars which actually cost the American taxpayers a $100 million dollars a week, did a blow job on the middle class in America friend.

5. @ bajan in ny
    I hope you know the reason why America is so indebted to China today?

6. @balance

Agree that your suggestion is a good one however if implemented several prominent people in Barbados would have to remain on the rock.

7. Finally point, Clinton who happens to be a Democrat left a surplus at the end of his tenure. The first president in our modern times, who was able to wiped out the national debt.

8. Artaxerxes

Don’t bother about “waiting”, he was a BLP stalwart but his thieving ways have forced him into the arms of the DLP in order to get contracts to earn enough money to compensate the clients that he stole from.

You also asked if he is for real, or just plain stupid. The answer is clearly yes or he wouldn’t have overdosed on Viagra to keep up with a young thing damaging his heart in the process.

Oh, by the way “Waiting” sending your emissaries to complain to my friends about what I write on BU would not help you, I dance to the beat of my own drum: I am not controlled by anyone, so you need not bother. Leave me alone.

9. “To suggest the BLP should propose a resolution to ask government to cut salaries after the fact is somewhat ludicrous”

And what makes it all the more ludicrous is that the minister of Finance should be aware that cutting the salaries of the entire public service et al Statutory Boards would not even make the slightest dent in a fiscal deficit bucket in excess of $300 million dollars and climbing because of the dithering by the current administration

10. Please , understand the DLP supporters on
    BU are software programs that come from
    Underground the Tomb in St.John , so take
    The mindless writing as you know it is DEAD

11. @Artax
    is it politically ill- advisable to cut salaries at a time when the island is face with an economic crisis of this magnitude? We have seen this done in places such as Unites States, Canada and throughout Europe just to name a few and it has been proven to produced measurable results. The numbers however, that the government is talking about seen rather astronomical and would obviously affect operation within each department one would think. But who am I to comment on what government ought or ought not do; obviously these people are in a better position than you or I and knows precisely what is needed to get the island running again.

12. Every time one looks at the above picture of the cabinet of Barbados one can’t help but feel cheated at the fact that for all that has been said in just about every quarter, this bunch of fat cats pretend to be oblivious to the suffering of poor bajans.Symbolic or not a there is where the very first cut should have been made.

13. The blp yardfowls can cackle bray and bellyache all wunna want.. the measures gonna stay in place .waiting tohear from DE not gonna change nothing as the PM correctly stated that vacillating and flip flopping would only take us backward. if the BLP had better and more alternatives plans than layoffs (ones that they a called for previously they should have stated them ) and stop pretending differently.we all heard about the sale of Barbados and bajans said NO…

14. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

the DLP knew full well in 2013 that the persons they bought on to help win an election was reckless and would have done further damage to the economy, the ppl they bought on in 2008 they could not even get pay and was borrowing to pay them, and still bring on more in 2013 ,all of this happen under that fool for ah PM , they made the crisis much worse that it ought to be ,they have proven they cannot govern and should be remove from office

15. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

@ac u does really listen to ur self doh ? i know how it is when ya got to tow de party line but cheese on man review de evidence mannnn, and face the fact that the DLP further destroyed the economy with their inept polices and poor governance

16. right now the govt is fighting tooth and nail outside and inside interest WHO belives that bado,s is for sale to any and every body DE has been suckered in unwittingly by such people some of these snakes vivid reminders of the EDEN story but all must understand that when when something is SOLD the chances of the rightful owners every regaining is between slim and none..Bajans must wake up and realise that something must be amidst when silent voices are heard but never seen asking for permanant entry

17. So whAt do “we” have here a bunch of belly achers call in themselves “patriots” unwilling to even lift a finger or make any sacrifice to help their country. but have no qualms about looking and asking others to make

18. @ac

Address the IMF Article IV report which validates many of the positions taken on BU, if you have the capacity to do so. Note Estwick disagrees with IMF recommended retrenchment.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ac | February 13, 2014 at 11:32 AM |

Ac, what has become of your soul mate Carson Cadogan the erstwhile resident comedian on BU? Is he still the No. 1 patriot of George Street?

Is he still prepared to vilify the miller for calling the garden spade Worrell a lying incompetent joker of a spade?
    Lagarde intends to ensure the wobbling Worrell gets his comeuppance for being uppity with his lying deceitful self.

We would have supported his brazenness only if he was indeed a genuine intellectual instead of being a lying jumped-up puppet bent on manipulating financial data to suit his sycophantic desires to kiss the MoF’s backside.

Why wasn’t he man enough (like the latter day saint Estwick) to stand up to Sinckliar demanding that he euphemistically prints money to save the boss liar’s backside and help him win an elections in February 2013?

Here is what the IMF (with direct but unwritten instructions from Christine) has told the ‘authorities’:
    You either get rid of the little deceitful untrustworthy devil, the printer of fake money, or we turn your currency into monopoly money, useful only to children of yesteryear as cut-plate in their play-play shops.

20. ‘ac | February 13, 2014 at 10:11 AM |

The blp yardfowls can cackle bray and bellyache all wunna want.. the measures gonna stay in place .waiting tohear from DE not gonna change nothing as the PM correctly stated that vacillating and flip flopping would only take us backward’
    NOBODY HAS VACILLATED OR FLIP FLOPPED MORE THAN OUR DITHERING PHASE CONSCIOUS PRIME MINISTER; NONETHELESS, BETTER LATE THAN NEVER.

21. AC…………….you are becoming more and more irrelevant as things heat up for the government, you think it’s hot now, wait until all that gasoline is poured on the backsides of their esteemed friends and business partners. HA!!! By the way, no one put them in their current positions, they did it all by themselves without any help except from their friends.

22. Barbadians familiar with the early 90’s will recall what happened when the private sector withdrew its support, flight of capital resulted. This is the time for a leader to get all sectors all barbadians onboard. The simplistic position of ac will not work. The 2-seat majority, which was predicted, will continue to create incohesion.

23. @ Mark Fenty

“Is it politically ill- advisable to cut salaries at a time when the island is face with an economic crisis of this magnitude? We have seen this done in places such as Unites States, Canada and throughout Europe just to name a few and it has been proven to produced measurable results.”

The above point is taken.

“But who am I to comment on what government ought or ought not do; obviously these people are in a better position than you or I and knows precisely what is needed to get the island running again.”

Your point is a bit naïve; if the government were indeed aware of the economic situation confronting this island, surely they would not have employed hundreds of people at the various statutory/quasi organisations or undertake a number of non-productive activities prior to the 2013 elections. Additionally, if pay-cuts were on their list of priorities, certainly they would have discussed such actions with the various unions, while involving the Opposition so as to ensure collective support if they had intended to table a pay cut resolution in parliament.

To make a ministerial statement of their intended actions of lay-offs by January 15, 2014 and subsequently commence terminations on December 31, 2013; then challenge the opposition to bring a pay cut resolution AFTER THE FACT, is absolutely a ploy to put the BLP on the back foot in an effort to gain political points.

I must say that you cannot fault the DLP for their political maneuvers; however, if they channeled these efforts into administering the country, we will all be better off.

24. Wow !

I just witnessed Dr. Estwick’s presentation in Cabinet and it was UAE.

Uncomplicated
    Awesome
    Enterperising

Good work colleague.

25. My suggestion of asking people to put country first is not one of simplistcy.that i am well aware of..it like turning water into wine.. one can assumed that as a given bythe many differing opinions here on BU ..therefore on your comment David i will agree that simplicity is not gonna work .. however one would be hard pressed and ignore that a nation in times of trouble should expect its people to be vigorous and dedicated in call to duty and not be influenced by selfish talk and political tripe

26. @ Fractured

Glad you enjoyed the presentation. if it is accepted, does this not erase the level of confidence the Prime Minister had in the Minister and Ministry of Finance, the Council of Economic Advisors and its chairman Dr. Frank Alleyne, Darcy Boyce, Jepter Ince, the Medium Term Fiscal Strategy, the Central Bank and Dr. Delisle Worrell, et al. [including Dr. Estwick as well].

Mr. Fractured it is very enlightening to know that during the past 6 years of some people on this blog, IMF, Standards & Poors, Moody’s and elsewhere, highlighting the errors of the economic strategies undertaken by this current administration, and you stoutly defending these policies over this time; miraculously, it has taken a 6 minute presentation by Dr. Estwick to convince you that the DLP’s policies were actually wrong.

Bearing in mind that Estwick was also critical of the goverment’s policies; you, by stating that his presentation was “awesome”, is indicative of the fact you agree with him, then you have conceded that everyone else was right, and you and the DLP were wrong.

You musee feel like a real idiot now, yuh. My friend, you have demonstrated that you are the epitome of stupidity. I hope you reflect on the stance you have consistently taken on this blog and contemplate your humiliation.

27. @ ac

Dr. Estwick has criticised the government’s economic policies, and in answer to your suggestion, brought forth alternative policies. You are now, in innuendo, accusing him of being selfish and unpatriotic.

I guess ya can’t please wunnah at all.

The DLP has introduced a new definition of patriotism: blind and unswerving loyalty to an organisation; that is, at if you are not with DEM, then you do not have the country’s best interest at heart.

Supporters brag that the DLP developed this island intellectually by introducing free secondary education. If an individual capitalises on this initiative and uses his intellect to analytical to bring an alternative perspective, instead of being commended for being independent of thought, he is vilified and accused of being influenced by the Opposition BLP. This message is aggressively relayed by Stuart, Sinckler, Donville Inniss, Blackett, Adriel Brathwaite and Michael Lashley.

AC, and as indicated by Fractured BLP’s latest post, indicates that both these individuals lack the propensity to think rationally, while seeking to endorse and ratify the diatribe pronounced by the DLP politicians.

Although many of the contributors to this blog may seem to support the BLP, their thought process, analysis and overall presentation of their contributions[though one may not always agree with some of the content] are logical and consistent.

28. Artifax !

This is one time I agree with you that every thing BLPites does and say is well thought out clear and analytical .

Here are some examples that spring to mind :
    $ 100 million spent on GREENLAND ….still waiting to receive its first sardine tot !

$ 70 million spent on Eastry House ….both Clyde Mascoll and the Barbados Audit Office still trying to find the location of this building !

Edmund Hinkson still believes George Payne is a THIEF !

This is 2014 and after being PM and party colleague of Mia Mottley for over 20 years ….Owen Arthur still tells all of Barbados he has no CONFIDENCE in her !

And you still wondering why the BLP tieffing , rancid backside still in OPPOSTION ???

Get loss…..yuh IMBECILE .

29. @David
    Barbadians familiar with the early 90′s will recall what happened when the private sector withdrew its support, flight of capital resulted. This is the time for a leader to get all sectors all barbadians onboard……………………

All Barbadians would, I am sure (despite what ac writes) would like to see a change so that confidence can be restored to get this economy going again. But how do we move forward when we have the jackass comment coming from the ‘leader” last Sunday…………..he aint lost no confidence in anybody……wha..wha…if a woman loses confidence in her husband, it is for her to get back the confidence, not the husband…..

So where do we go forward to rebuild with such a leader with a mindset like this?

30. It is said the ignorant should have a say, so we the people that have a mind and know the different of right and wrong,on this BU will always have difficulty with the software programs that come from a manufacturing shop in George Street , it is package as Mindboggling software
    That is full of malware that appears with
    Names like AC, Mark Fenty and some other names but it is an aggressive virus
    We know it’s the mindless DLP supporter

The malware get so aggressive it is has started to write now too

31. The gospel accordig to Areterexes that only blind men would agree …..what ever the alternatives too littletoo late.DE has biten twice at the apple ..the first time he agreed and there is no turning back .his other two alternatives would be to his emotion and efforts in helping his party to disseminate the policies to the country showing them that in the long run all would benefit. or he can become the third party people are asking for

32. When all is said and done there is one word to describe P.M. Stuart. Coward! The man doesn’t have the courage to call a press conference and face questions from a pool of individuals. He prefers to occasionally get up in front of party supporters at branch meetings, and have stupid press persons in Barbados run behind him and return to their studios and news rooms with poor quality audio recordings to broadcast to the masses. How often must I hear David Ellis apologise for the quality of the recording from one of those meetings? Why can’t the association of journalist refuse to cover the P.M. and his ministers until they decide to hold official press conferences? To be fair, P.M. Arthur started the trend of not holding press conferences in the later years of his third term, and the spineless press in Barbados has allow the practice to become the norm. The late P.M. David Thompson’s and M.P. Mia Mottley were the two exceptions in the last decade.

33. So Fractured, DE has made his presentation and you leave it there? What happens now?

34. @ Fractured Brain Languid Person

Okay, same old, same old… Greenland, Eastry House…. However, do you not think it is time that you get over those things. And you talk about theifing.

We have a scenario where Thompson & Associates billed CLICO $3.33M for legal services rendered which turned out to be a partial payment of gratuity to Parris. Millions of dollars transferred from the Ministry of Finance to NHC without parliamentary approval, yet Kellman cannot get CLICO to finish houses and will opt to sell houses “as is”, other housing projects not nearly completed. Where has all this money gone to? Additionally, then minister Michael Lashley fired chair-person Marilyn Rice-Bowen after she questioned the legitimacy of contracts issued to build houses; now Stuart wants to repeal the PAC after it revealed the transfer of funds from Ministry of Finance detouring parliament.
    Are you aware that employing hundreds of people to win an election, knowing full well that the economical climate was not conducive for such, was not only counter-productive and violated election campaign laws, but can be legitimately categorized as “teifing”?

As it relates to loss of confidence, Arthur has publically stated, being 1 out of the 14, he has no confidence in Mottley. Conversely, Estwick, being one of 16 {experiencing camaraderie with most of them for over 20 years as well}, publically stated he has no confidence in Stuart, Sinckler, and the other 13. In other words, Arthur against Mottley; whereas Estwick against all the rest.

35. Fractured BLP | February 13, 2014 at 1:09 PM |
    Wow !

I just witnessed Dr. Estwick’s presentation in Cabinet and it was UAE
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    At least you admit you are a Parliamentarian since you were present at the Cabinet meeting. I now have to ask why we the taxpayers are giving you a salary to spend time on the blogs and Brass Tacks. On Tuesday during the meeting of the house, Parliamentary secretary in the Ministry of Tourism and the St. Andrew mouth piece had the audacity to tell us that she took a break to comment on CBC morning talk show with the so-called political analyst. We also have the moon town spokesperson who loves a microphone. Why are we paying these non performers every month. The same way government can get rid of temporary public servants, why don’t we get rid of 3 to 4 temporary ministers.

36. Hi Peltdownman

Thanks for your questions. Well as you asked now that the DE presentation is over what next ?

Well the UAE envoy has now stated that once Barbados finish repaying the loans the BLP administration borrowed to finance GREENLAND and DODDS PRISON then we will be able to secure the US $ 5 billion.

So you see …..Arthurnomics still have Barbados in a vice grip !

37. @ Fractured Brain Languid Person [BLP]

Additionally, I must expand on this “teifing” issue. Prior to the 2008 election campaign, the DLP went the length and breadth of Barbados informing Barbadians they had proof that the then BLP administration were “teifing”, and once elected to office, they will conduct a number of forensic audits to uncover all financial infelicities, bring those persons at the helm of such to justice, while promising to bring transparency and freedom of information legislation.

After 8 years, we have seen no such legislation, no one has been held accountable and sent to jail for the wastage and the “empty treasury” Thompson said he found, and the money in overseas bank accounts as revealed by Thompson are yet to be found.

If you lot were serious about transparency, you would not try to muzzle the PAC, despite the methods, within reason, it may employ to find information. The financials at the NIS and other statutory agencies would be current and people would not be dismissed if they questioned certain matters undertaken by this administration.

Also, it was good to highlight Arthur driving a BMW jeep, yet no one has found it interesting that against the background of a severe economic crisis, lay-offs in the public and private sector, citizens asked to “wrap themselves in the flag” to help the country, work hours reduced; yet when asked about the reduction of minister’s pay, Donville Inniss informs all and sundry he has bills to pay and children to send school, and Steve Blackett has a new, white, over $200G Audi.

Ironically, Owen has lost confidence in Mia, so what!!! The regional and international financial regulators [check the consistent downgrades given to Barbados], investors, David Estwick and the majority of rationally thinking Barbadians have LOST ALL CONFIDENCE in this current DLP administration.

38. Tell me Why

DLPites are Dear Loving People. We are not afraid to visit the airwaves to interact with our people.

So you just get used to it… Because it will be no RETREAT no SURRENDER !

Dems now….Dems ALWAYS !!!!

39. @ Fractured BLP, you have me cracking up here in cold New York (lol).
    What is the verdict after Dr. Estwick’s PowerPoint presentation? How many viewers were present?

40. Fractured BLP stated:
    “Well the UAE envoy has now stated that once Barbados finish repaying the loans”
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    This is the first part of a series of excuses in getting this loan.

Next excuse will be the payment of Barrack, Then the repayment of NIS monies, then, then, then we still will not get a cent.

41. Fractured BLP | February 13, 2014 at 4:26 PM |
    Tell me Why

DLPites are Dear Loving People. We are not afraid to visit the airwaves to interact with our people
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    You admit. Now start interacting with the people and start telling the truth, Dear Lied People.

42. Bajan in NY

You know in a room lit by projector lights only it is not easy to verify all who were present.
    The Cabinet Secretary will definitel have that information.
    Just in case you were going to ask….the UAE envoy was present through video conferencing facilities.

And yes….the US $ 5 billion proposal is genuine.

And Dr. Estwick now has the ok to seneitise Barbadians further about this proposal.

43. Fractured BLP. You certain Bizzy didn’t rent you all two of those heavy duty mechanical portable lights used at night.

44. Fractured……so why are the taxpayers not seeing a copy of the UAE proposal, or do they have to wait for the IMF and credit rating agencies to send the information to the press for bajans to be informed, as usual??

45. @ Fractured BLP | February 13, 2014 at 4:45 PM |
    Keep us updated. Ok? (lol)

46. @Fractured BLP
    Are you one of the mindless software programs that come from George Street
    Your producers are recalling the production batch you were made with
    Please note the manufacturing plant has move to St. John Church Yard , you can’t miss it the Boss Wife put up a marble sign

47. @ Fractured BLP
    You are not leveling with us man!
    I just listened to a news brief in which the IMF chief in Barbados stated that the debt restructuring route favored by Dr. Estwick is not up for consideration.
    Your PowerPoint presentation was apparently a good ole fashion Thursday 1:30 show like the ones I used to attend at the Barbarees Plaza back in the day (lol).

48. @ Watchman
    It is said that EDUCATION is the progressive discovery of our own IGNORANCE. So therefore, the vocal minority (DLP -Proponents) ought and must act as the counterpoise which exposes the self- righteousness as well as the partiality, that is intricately interlaced in its own conceit.

49. @ Waiting, cut back on the Kool aid!!! even Reudon Eversly -aka as CCC- Political Strategist for the DLP dismissed the MOF’s call to the Opposition as “Political posturing”.

50. GOOD NEWS – Time to Bay Real Estate

See New York Times article “Global Slump Helps Buyers in Barbados” at
    http://www.nytimes.com/2014/01/24/greathomesanddestinations/global-slump-helps-buyers-in-barbados.html?ref=barbados&_r=0

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply