Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister (r)
Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance (l) Freundel Stuart, Prime Minister (r)

The Mahogany Coconut Group has steered clear of the shameless political posturing regarding the economic slaughtering of over 3000 workers, in the name of a failed economic policy and a blundering administration led by Prime Minister   Freundel Stuart of Barbados. We have already called for fresh elections but we remain certain that even with fresh elections, and a possible victory by the Opposition Barbados Labour Party, nothing will change. Why an elections? We believe that the government has betrayed the country and the only legitimate stamp of approval will be that of the same people it has betrayed. In other words, if elections were called and the Democratic Labour Party is victorious, it would mean that the people have endorsed its current insane approach to economic management of Barbados’ affairs.

We urge right thinking Barbadians to take a look at the colour of those who are weeping and angry in the newspapers because they can no longer look after their families. They are Black. Not one white; not one Indo Barbadian. It is a reminder that the society is still in denial about wealth distribution and avoiding serious and objective debate about the ills of the country. We also ask right thinking Barbadians to take a look at those thirty political miscreants who are in parliament: Not one white! This harrowing experience of 3000 workers is therefore a black on black social and economic crime and the penalty should be the political gallows.

We are not saying that white and Indo Barbadians will be any better. What we are saying is that the white and Indo Barbadian business elites are raping the country and not facing the penalties. They can execute economic crimes and then leave the black political managerial class to fight amongst themselves. In the meantime the poor defenseless black working class, whose forefathers built the nation from scratch, are to be paraded on front pages of newspapers. The same newspapers that cannot find any writers, outside of mercenary party hacks, to pollute their pages on a daily basis.

The MCG will no doubt be accused of inflammatory rhetoric but we are not going to be muzzled in order to make the decadent BLP/DLP feel comfortable. We have reached the stage where there must be some voice to speak the truth to power. Having followed the political career of Freundel Stuart, we are shocked that he is nothing more than a shadow of the young idealist who was once identified as a progressive voice within the now infertile Democratic Labour Party. Unfortunately, on the Barbados Labour Party side, we note a progressive voice such as Trevor Prescod, being reduced to spouting “big words”, while the poor masses/workers he should be defending are being slaughtered in the collective abattoir of the BLP/DLP.

We are therefore calling for the immediate reinstatement of all workers whose labour of blood is running over the beautiful island of Barbados. We say to the government and the opposition to swallow their pride and form a government of National Reconciliation and Reconstruction without delay. The thirty elected political miscreants are collectively responsible for the chaos now prevalent. Anybody who feels that the Barbados economy crushed because of Stuart and the Democratic Labour Party or Arthur and the Barbados Labour Party is sadly mistaken. The white corporate and Indo Barbadian corporate elite must also share blame because they essentially control the economy of Barbados and like Dr. Don Blackman said a few decades ago these “shadows” stay in the background and create economic chaos because the political managerial class is mortally afraid to confront their exceptional brand of corporate deviancy. In order to rescue Barbados, it is necessary to expose not only the elected officials but the corporate leaders who have used the threat of widespread job losses as a tool of economic blackmail. It is time for the real debate about the distribution of wealth and land reform to begin. It is time for the thirty elected politicians to look in the mirror and ask themselves how they feel about three thousand black people, who look like them, being condemned to persistent poverty because they are only interested in joining with the white and Indo Barbadians ,in the collective and brutal rape of the country which their forefathers built.

Barbadians must use this time for serious reflection, otherwise they will wake up one morning and find that the country no longer belongs to them. These were the prophetic words of Errol Barrow. We now call on corporate Barbados to put the country before profit and we call on all citizens to express themselves about the future of their country. Do not be intimidated by the threat of the nefarious public Order Act! This may very well be the last opportunity because already the vultures are circling and preparing to blame poor Black working class citizens as the real demons when in fact those who are now paying the price have benefitted the least in the times of bounty.

99 responses to “Freundel Stuart Government Accused of the Economic Slaughter of Over 3000 Workers”

1. @ Mahogany
    There is one thing seriuously wrong with this submission: it should have been written on November 30, 1966.
    But better late then never.
    It is a debate we must have as a nation. How about those people freewheeling on the West Coast in their multi-million pound homes?

2. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

BLP supporter Ricky Singh has never really hidden his party preference. When Owen Arthur declared that he ad no confidence in Mia Mottley, Ricky Singh ran from that topic.
    He concentrated on his constant harping about freedom of movement but now he can devote his entire Friday article to David Estwick.
    I must admit – Barbados could benefit if such a space was given to Corey Layne or Roger Husbands or some other young community activist whose voice should be heard.
    Ricky Singh says virtually the same thing every week.

3. Why do we pretend that Ricky Singh is some senior journalist? What original ideas does he have? What great contribution has he made to Caribbean journalism?

4. Rickey Singh is our great regional journalist. How dare you Hal!

5. I am sorry, but since I read him, in Barbadian and other publications, it is not a view I support. May be it is my bias.

6. David

After Hal’s comment on Ricky Singh, I hope you no longer admonish commentators who find Hal to be an incompetent just as he is inferring about Ricky Singh.
    The more Hal speaks the more he sounds like a know-it-all….but then again he went to 5 tertiary education institutions in the UK, works for FT and is tall enough to pass under a subway turnstile without bending thetefore must be an expert.

7. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Take your tongue out of your cheek with that remark.

Great Journalist my .big………… HE SHOULD BE OUT OF HERE LIKE YESTERDAY.He and his family enjoyed all Barbados has to offer and yet never has anything good to say baout Barbados.

I don’t think many people read him anyway.I certainly have stopped long,long,long time ago.

8. @ Enuff

You have made two errors. First, I did not go to school (I though Barbadians loved education?) it is all a pretence and I am shorter than that. I am a natural limbo dancer. Keep tourists happy.

9. why is it that here in Barbados the average person seems unable to contribute anything meaningful to some intelligent conversation,
    but yet seem to be experts on determining who are ‘know it all.’
    I’ve noticed this more so when persons are responding to black individuals
    who lived or are living outside of Barbados.
    maybe its because those of us who have lived abroad had to adopt this know-it-all attitude to demonstrate to others that we’re are not dumb ass schmucks from some little island. Even so, it wasn’t just an attitude, it was letting those who would assume shit about us know that we have half a brain.
    Now, talking about who has a bigger dick and a woman’s big ass is not what I’m talking about!
    The powers that be knows this about you, thus you’re continually fhuck with their big dicks, then rub big ass shit in yuh face.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NationBLPnewspaper | February 7, 2014 at 6:21 AM |
    “Ricky Singh says virtually the same thing every week.”

Isn’t this a classic case of the pot calling the kettle black?
    Why don’t you look into the mirror and see a true blue Bajan Ricky Singh?

In which newspaper does Singh write his articles? Is it the same newspaper your are addicted to?
    You poor sucker, you just can’t wean yourself off the Nation’s shit of crack cocaine.

11. The Nation is (and has been for years now) the propaganda arm of the movement to destroy Barbados going under the name of ONE CARIBBEAN / CSME. Harold Hoyte accepted plenty pieces of silver to facilitate that strategy.

Ricky Singh is a mediocre joker – of the same ilk as the other Indian joker calling himself a professor, who milked 4 Seasons for YEARS before being kicked off the bones.

Enuff you could really hush. Hal is right.

On the other hand, since the Nation and the likes of Singh and Persuad seem to be accomplishing their mission to destroy Barbados, perhaps jokers who support the CSME style destruction of the Barbadian way of life (like Enuff) will go down in history as the brilliant ones among us……when the new Barbados rises from the ashes ….at the lowest common Caribbean denominator – where we are headed…

12. Bushie. I bet when you in your bushy habitat, you will prefer to get the full news from the said Nation which you hypocritically trying to cry down. Probably you prefer to read the paper of press releases filled with cut and paste from the internet. Where is the journalistic touch dealing with the issues affecting Barbadians. It looks as though CBC and The Advocate are in bed with this administration filled with the blessing from you Bushie, Fractured and those who criticise the Nation.

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Grenada was the first English-speaking Caribbean Community (CARICOM) country to have a change of government by the bullet rather than the ballot.
    How long before Barbados is next?

Barbados have Political Independence and not Freedom ,and with this they Chuse to Crook the Nations in the name of the Queen , But the Queen of What?

14. Common sense is not common Avatar

The Blp jokers are so full of …….. Where were these same persons now saying the Advocate is in bed with the Dems when prior to 2008 ALL the Editorials,ALL the news slant with Denzil Agard (the late) who was rewarded with 2 consultancies from Owen and the BLP under the then BLP advocate had nothing good to say about the dems and only carried BLP news.

This is why the people of Barbados cannot trust the blp they will spit in your face and tell you it is milk,

Steupes.

15. @Commonsense is not common

Are you suggesting because same occured under Owen that the Advocates’ policy today is ok?

16. David,
    This joker above knows that the Advocate only switched sides when the owner could not get what he wanted. The dead king then promised him whatever he wanted but died before he could deliver. The Advocate is still singing for its supper.

I have noticed that there is not much mention of the layoffs in the Advocate…………I guess like Fumble, they are not concerned with the numbers who are suffering as a result of the boneheaded policies of the DLP but with achieving targets……………so much for the notion that Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. Well right now the economy is gone and so is the society.

Does the DLP care? Why, most of these are the suckers who fell for their lies………….hook, line and sinker.

17. Common sense is not common. However with you, common sense seems to be uncommon. Yes, prior to the the 2008 elections, the tabloid local owner was endorsing the Bees due to past friendship. As soon as David won the Government handbrakes were pulled with a 180 degree turn towards the Dees. Remember, newspapers profits come from the party in power through advertising. Get the picture my friend. It’s all about business.

18. As someone stated on the radio this week, a read of the Advocate makes one conjure up the belief that we (bajans) are in a different place. Bryan is obviously manufacturing a message in the same way many of our socalled political analysts are doing, Maureen Holder leads the pack.

19. Agree David

20. @Bushie
    Um is your party that destroying Barbados!! As for Ricky Singh I never commented on whether he was good or bad, I left that to you and Hal.

@whitehill
    Wunna waan beat me fuh being critical of Hal for being critical of Ricky Singh…..same shite I was saying. What is with the ranting about living overseas and black etc? Complex much? The UK is sometimes referred to as a little island too by the way and highlighting cut and paste artistry, foolishness and hypocrisy is contributing. Some of Hal’s ideas I like and some I don’t. Sue me!!

21. Common sense is not common Avatar

All I am saying is why didn’t the same ones hollering for bias now,call out the BLP when the advocate was even worse with its bias then.

I think the paper has lost all credibilty and I feel really sorry for the few good journalists still left there.

The BLP apologists are never able to call out their side on anything wrong it is as if they are whiter than the snow.

Just think if The advocate and the Nation media houses were all pushing the BLP spin,what a sad state this country would be in.

I believe media houses should report the facts and let they people do their own analysis.If you have columnists sympathetic to one side then do some balance and have the opposite side;s view as well
    Simple.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Common sense is not common | February 7, 2014 at 6:34 PM |
    “I believe media houses should report the facts and let they people do their own analysis.If you have columnists sympathetic to one side then do some balance and have the opposite side;s view as well”

Simply put, we couldn’t agree with you more.

Only if your call was also directed at the sole TV station and also at the so-called political analysts aka spin doctors like Maureen Holder the supreme intellectual prostitute.

But it so happens prostitutes in any form or dress have a very short “useful” life. She is becoming a bloody bore in the DLP propaganda bed with constant orgasmic failure.
    Don’t be surprised if she is ditched for a younger more refreshingly convincing model.

23. @ Enuff
    Boss man.
    When Bushie’s party REALLY start mashing up Barbados um going be fire and brimstone in wunna tails….that is how we do it…. 🙂

Look…..
    BOTH the Advocate and Nation are a bunch of gutless brass bowls who aided and abetted all the shit in Barbados FOR YEARS until Barbados Free Press and then the real McCoy David (BU) came on the scene.
    Not a word about the thieving
    Nothing on the courts and their nastiness
    Dumb about the bribery of politicians by businessmen
    Bigging up incompetents…
    ….
    But the NATION has also been noticeably ANTI everything Bajan….leading the charge towards the lowest denominator….

Wuh who own um?….
    …a spade is a spade.

24. Bush Tea so tense….you are taking the laughter out of slaughter

25. Maureen Holder is a political hore who seems to be on PMS 24/7. What she needs to study is when history is written on this time what will it say about Maureen Holder?

i’m sure her time will come and when it does i personally will take pride in seeing it.

let the stupid bitch go rant and rave about that.

26. man Lawson
    If you only knew how serious a situation we are facing you would be tense too…
    Um is no longer a laughing matter yuh….

27. @David (Not BU)
    You think that Star Com will find a place for her , the next time around?

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad | February 7, 2014 at 12:00 PM |

Grenada was the first English-speaking Caribbean Community (CARICOM) country to have a change of government by the bullet rather than the ballot.
    How long before Barbados is next?

You seem very close to getting a Yellow Card from BU

29. @Boy Blue,

Not even David Ellis would take her back. She hurt him badly……….in the way she treated him after he got her started on the call in programme. Then as soon as the fumbler got rid of PW, she ups and left David hot and dry! Not even a liberal like David would tolerate her again plus she has taken politics to a whole new low over there at CBC. She has now become a political whore!

30. What in interesting about Maureen is that whenever some-one calls about a criticism of the DLP she cuts them off abruptly. She is really showing that the CBC is NOT a government station but a DLP station, she must be worried tonight awaiting the Estwick decision, if we go back to the polls and the DLP loses, she will join the jobless list.

31. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The BLP supporters are complaining about Maureen Holder but never say a word when for 6 years and in some cases continuing as I write:
    Pat Hoyos was given a column on Sunday and a moderator’s chair to campaign for the BLP in a most unprecedented and partisan manner and also in the Nation business paper.

Clyde Mascoll , the official BLP spokesman is still being given a column every week to curse the government.

Sanka Price was consistently pro BLP in every column he wrote and openly so.

Albert Brandford is as predictably anti DLP as a you can imagine.

Ezra Alleyne – former BLP MP was used to give “independent” analysis.

Tennyson Joseph who has now come out on the BLP platform speaking at political rallies and calling the government fascist.

Are you getting the picture?

Harry Russell openly called for a change of government and used his Monday column to push this relentlessly even recently speaking at BLP political meetings.

Peter Wickham who never hides his dislike for the DLP leader and is now being paid by Mottley to moderate “BLP discussions” at certain events.

Caswell Franklyn ,long time BLP supporter who told this blog that his articles were not to be about politics but everytime he writes he is calling for the BLP to be in power.

Of course we cannot forget the lady editor from St. Peter who is yet to produce the SIGNED letter which she eagerly told the world was delivered.

In the last election we saw the scenario where the BLP was able to run 5 – FIVE different WHOLE PAGE ads with just headlines from the Nation newspaper over the last 5 years.

Yet because of political blinkers, some supporters of the BLP would ignore the political prostitution at the Nation BLP newspaper and focus on Maureen Holder.
    Those who admire the Nation BLP glass house should not throw stones. The partisan behavior of the Nation BLP newspaper is there for all to see.
    The Nation newspaper is the BLP’s journalistic prostitute.

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Idiot, point out anytime when any of my articles call for the BLP to be in power. You don’t want criticism. That is why all the riot gear that the AG don’t know about is stored at District A Police Station to quell legitimate dissent.

33. @

NationBLPnewspaper

Don’t worry because it was compensated for my Maxine, Harry, Tony, Maureen et al on Brasstacks.

34. TO THE IRREPRESSIBLE AC AND OTHER DLP APOLOGISTS; LIKE YOU I AM HOPING FOR THE BEST FROM AND FOR THE GOVERNMENT BUT UNILKE YOU I LOVE MY COUNTRY AND WISH THEREFORE FOR THE BEST FOR MY COUNTRY AND PEOPLE SO THE CONFUSION THAT PRESENTLY EXISTS IN THE GOVERNANCE OF OUR COUNTRY FRIGHTENS ME IF NOT YOU.
    I COMMEND THIS SIMPLE BUT TRUTHFULLY UNBRIDLED POST BY MR CARL HARPER TO YOU .

Posted by Carl Harper 2 days agoThe DLP promoted its mantra, “Barbados is more than an economy; it’s a society” to the extent it became their anthem.

The society featured so prominently during and after the 2008 Elections, the economy was given little or no attention, even with the difficulties already being experienced by our main trading partners.

During the first year of coming to Office, the DLP was obsessively preoccupied with renaming schools and other public places, and rewarding Party stalwarts with titles for their loyal support over the years.

The middle-class was subject to a barrage of increased taxation, rates and fees during the first 2008 Budget that resulted in contracting economic activity and hurting business.

Now today, thousands of workers are being sent on the breadline to endure untold “hardships” that were not part of PM Stuart’s plan. According to him, that fell under the BLP agenda.

Suddenly, it is the economy that the Prime Minister wants to make “sound”, only after learning recently that 54 cents of each dollar of government’s earnings go to paying wages and salaries.

Stuart not only has to grapple with a collapsing economy, but with a dissenting Minister who is at variance with his own government’s fiscal and economic policies.
    I

35. “She has now become a political whore!”
    PRODIGAL TAKE HOLD OF YOURSELF MAN

36. In a way it is tragic that Dr. Estwick finds himself in such a quandary !

He cannot leave the Dems….because they all have the facts on him !

He cannot go to the Bees…. because they do not trust him since his GUN expose !

He cannot convince the Arabs that he will get his DLP colleagues to accept their money !

And most FATALLY of all….it is alleged that he is driving around a lavish sports car paid for with Arab money…..but to which a price has to be paid by him !

Think on these Barbadians….such predicaments often sends one in to a RANT and PANIC mode !!!!!

Estwick – your WICK is alight !

It is only a matter of time………

37. @ Fractured BLP
    And who Estwick got files on?

38. I hope BU readers see how the Dems are willing to threaten/demonise even their own to hold on to power. Telling indeed.

39. @Enuff
    I hope BU readers see how the Dems are willing to threaten/demonise even their own to hold on to power. Telling indeed
    ++++++++++
    That approach is emblematic of politics in Little England, it happens when the BLP is under pressure too as recent events have shown.

Same play different cast.

40. I don’t recall seeing a threat broadcast on BU though; but letters and court docs ended up in the public domain.lol

41. It seems we are always willing to explain uncalled for political events by referencing similar on the other side. So around and around we go…

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | February 8, 2014 at 7:26 AM

Fractured, the cannibalism (or is it more ‘caninebalism’) in the blood sports arena in George Street has started. A sure sign of pending collapse of a shaky useless government.

Cannibal Fractured, do you realise when you have Estwick for breakfast you cannot have him for lunch or dinner?
    Eat him for breakfast and see which side your bread is buttered for lunch.
    Remember your subtraction tables: 16-1 = 15 chickens being chased by 14+1 foxes (in your case mongooses).
    You know what the zero sum outcome will be, for sure!

43. It is clear here that in the interest of Barbados, a fresh election should be called. An election of real issues and not an extended crop over, like what transpired during the recent elections,will be in everybody’s best interest. The MCG identifies with those who really put Barbados first. While we welcome, understand and essentially agree with the postings of the PDC, we are equally aware , that the acceptance and or rejection of a third party is in the hands of the electorate. While we remain vehement that both the BLP and DLP have outlived their usefullness, we are equally aware , that these two parties are now institutions and their collective shadow is very long. In other words, to rid Barbados of the BLP/DLP will in all reality be a herculean task that will call for men and women of vision and who are prepared to suffer : economically, socially,professionally and indeed politically before such an effort bears the desired fruit. The MCG , therefore, strongly believes , that citizens must be forever vigilant in defending their democracy and the path to do is clear via organs such as call in programs and BU. We must make it clear , that the long term goal of the MCG is to have a Caribbean Nation Government. We are therefore aware that our struggle will have to continue and we are happy to report ,that we have members as young as nine years old, who are being prepared to carry on and eventually execute this mission and vision.

44. Fractured BLP | February 8, 2014 at 7:26 AM |

In a way it is tragic that Dr. Estwick finds himself in such a quandary !
    He cannot leave the Dems….because they all have the facts on him !
    He cannot go to the Bees…. because they do not trust him since his GUN expose !
    He cannot convince the Arabs that he will get his DLP colleagues to accept their money !
    And most FATALLY of all….it is alleged that he is driving around a lavish sports car paid for with Arab money…..but to which a price has to be paid by him !………………………………………………………..

I just knew that it would not take very long before the Dems brought out their knives and guns to go after one of their own.

Remember what they did to Marilyn Rice Bowen when she dared to disagree with the one from St Philip North? They exposed her, saying that her son was getting contracts from the NHC.

So wait, are you, Brek up Dem, accusing the doctor of corruption, taking bribes? Oh no, I wonder never believe that a Dem is on the take! I though only the Bees are corrupt according to you Dems……….. only Dems are squeaky clean. Well, well, well. Talk your talk, Dr Estwick, let the guns and knives come out so that we can see what is in these files the Dems have.

But wait, Brek up Dem, just like you have files on David Estwick, has it entered into your fractured thick head that Estwick who is no fool must have loads of files on all you wild boys? Just think about that.

Whither the much touted integrity legislation? Was this not the platform on which the Dems were elected in 2008? And to think Bajans believed you , not knowing that the chief architect of the lie was in fact the biggest liar, cheater and thief! My gardener, a poor soul told me today, the government lied and fooled Barbadians, even he knows that!

45. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I have seen coverage of the BLP rallies on CBC, I have seen coverage in The Advocate.
    Unfortunately, because the Nation newspaper has a strategy of using BLP columnists to attack one political party seven days a week , they want to condemn anyone who does not follow that line.
    The fact is that the opinion writers in the Nation newspaper are 99.9% known BLP supporters. I have consistently shown the names and have been vindicated by some of these people eventually declaring their hand openly like Harry Russell.

We cannot hide from the truth , no writer at The Advocate is as one sided in their analysis as Albert Brandford, Harry Russell, Clyde Mascoll, Pat Hoyos, Tennyson Joseph and the list of other BLP supporters.

The Nation newspaper is clearly a BLP spin doctor. Deal with the facts annunaki .

46. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

“NationBLPnewspaper

Don’t worry because it was compensated for my Maxine, Harry, Tony, Maureen et al on Brasstacks.”

Please show me where any of the above moderators also had a weekly column in the biggest circulated newspaper on Sundays calling for the defeat of the then BLP government as Pat Hoyos did and more recently Peter Wickham.
    I am waiting……..

47. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Caswell
    “Idiot, point out anytime when any of my articles call for the BLP to be in power.”

FRANKLY SPEAKING Column, Sunday, December 13, 2014 by Caswell Franklyn:
    “In Government the DLP are horrible leaders; in Opposition they were not good followers; and the only thing left is get out of the way for the sake of this country.”

When last I checked, there are two parties that will form the government of Barbados- the DLP or the BLP. Therefore, Mr. Franklyn, one does not need to read a truckload of law books to know that a call for the DLP to leave office will result in the BLP taking their place.
    Even an idiot could figure that out.

48. When will they pay the Drainage Workers their severance?????
    The minister needs to make a statement. They are breaking the law!

49. What a sight …..
    DEM plates are full
    And all is well
    Whilst de Drainage Workers
    Smelling hell.
    Begging and borrowing
    to make ends meet
    Some already get put pon de street
    DEM chase them off
    with one phone call
    Had a meeting at Sherbun
    and that was all
    after giving them speeches like honey
    De poor people still want dey severance money.

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply