Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
The announcement by the government of mass redundancies has created a scenario in which the trade union goliaths have abandoned ship. First to go is Sir Roy Trotman, a man who no doubt has overstayed his welcome and whose members should have shipped him out ages ago; now Dennis Clarke, of the National Union of Public Workers, has announced his retirement.

The announcement of a possible replace by Sir Roy Trotman, general secretary of the Barbados Workers’ Union, could not come at a more opportune moment.
Unfortunately for him, it will mean that after a lifetime of dedicated service to his members, the historical moment he has chosen will leave him with a distasteful legacy of failure. He goes at a time when many of his members face terrible hardship as they are in line to lose their jobs, both in the public and private sectors. And he has been forced to admit that the union has not got the funds to provide for his members if they fall on hard times, or if he called a strike in reaction to the government’s austerity jobs cut.

In many ways, this is his own fault and should be a wake-up call to the entire nation. For decades he has headed a union that had as its only weapon an adversarial confrontation with employers, the outdated idea of the two sides of industry, capital and labour. What Sir Roy and his key advisers have failed to understand is that industrial relations have moved on from the confrontational post-war years, which ran up to the end of the 1970s. Workplace relations have moved on with employers now offering employees a menu of benefits that have in the main to marginalise trade unionism. At some point Sir Roy and his team must explain to members why they have been paying their union dues for years, sometimes decades, and now that they need to draw on that dedication the general secretary is warning there is nothing in the pot. They will need to explain to members what kind of hedging they have been making of the unions funds, including preparation for an exceptional occurrence. They will have to explain to distressed members why the union is about to fail them when they call on the one service which drove them to join up – collective bargaining.

In Britain, arguably the most militant of countries, militant trade unionists were a bit late waking up to smell the coffee, but in the main they have. Employers now routinely offer occupational pensions; in the good old days these were defined benefit pensions with a 40/60 benefit (still prevalent in the public sector); now most people get defined contribution (money purchase) pensions, in which the burden passes from the employer to the employee. But they are better than nothing.

Analysis:
Had Barbadian trade unionism moved with the times they would have been in the vanguard of social and economic change in Barbados. In the main they had an open goal, since the lawyer/politicians are not generally as bright as they think they are, and the business community is cash greedy, they do not care as much as they should for their workers. The BWU has given its members a credit union, but this is only part of the deal that any innovative and forward-looking trade union should be offering its current and retired members and their families. A programme of training, from simple literacy and numeracy to information technology and other cutting edge skills should be offered to members and their children. They should be offered reasonably priced medical and dental schemes, protection cover, a wills and estate planning service, legal advice, basic insurance cover such as motor insurance, travel and home cover. They did not because they were caught in a time warp, just offering members more of the same.

By any reckoning, the BWU Labour College at Mangrove in St Philip should be the leading regional institution of its type, challenging the best in the US and Europe; as it is it is a poor relation. Part of the problem is that Trotman, along with the entire government and civil service, were raised in a post-independence age in which it was thought normal to be working for the state. Entrepreneurialism, a spirit of inventiveness, is outside their mindset; they feel as if the state has an obligation to provide for all their needs. So those who are not hooked on statism, who believe that there is nothing socially wrong with people providing for themselves, those who believe that welfare is a social safety net and not a pay cheque for easy living, find they are in the firing line for personal abuse. And, to make matters worse, there are a number of academics who provide the intellectual cover for this lazy thinking which encourages people in their mental inertia. We are all familiar with the familiar arguments: foreign reserves, loan guarantees, government contracts, fraudulent use of VAT and national insurance contributions, free university education – it is a chorus of excuses that run right through the very heart of the Barbadian story.

Long-term Savings:
I am sure, whichever government we had in power, had the BWU gone to it with credible proposals for compulsory long-term savings they would have been treated with the courtesy and seriousness that they deserve. With transparent annual statements, such a development would have proved, over the first five to ten years, an enormously popular vehicle for wealth creation. It would have also created a vitally important non-bank stream of funding government, small and medium enterprises and for households. But the idea never crossed their bureaucratic radar. With a well organised investment strategy, such a scheme would offer a multi-asset approach from the savings accumulation stage, comprising equities, bonds, cash, with a default fund, through the asset build-up to the at-retirement and retirement stages. With an automatic five-year review in the accumulation stage, with a biennial review if requested in the pre-retirement stage, and annual reviews in the five years leading up to retirement. The unions should also be leading the debate about the ownership of annuities and the almost dishonest way in which insurance companies abuse annuitants (Clico comes to mind). For that the unions will have to hire actuarial expertise so that they can independently analyse the assumptions on which the firm’s actuarial pooling decisions are made.

The BWU will also need expertise on the re-insurance fees paid by local insurance companies and what they charge the annuitants. How about medical underwriting and the enhance annuity market? There is also the question of mortgages, again one in which the union should be leading the debate. Why should the lenders dictate rates and the length of mortgages? How about 40 year, intergenerational, offset mortgages? How an investment arm of the union, competing on a level playing field with some of the foreign-owned banks and insurance companies? The only barrier to stop them is the lack of vision. No one is saying that Sir Roy should have all the ideas,, but that he should have surrounded himself with bright young men and women to provide the ideas, an in-house think-tank. That was what I thought the St Philip college under Greaves was intended to be. Most of these services could have been jointly provided by the trade unions, either through the confederation or separately, and will go a long way toward empowering ordinary Barbadians, something the loudmouths and politicians do not contribute to. There is a very high price to pay for ignorance.

In a world that has moved on, in which labour reforms is a key part of the new working environment, Sir Roy sat on his pile like the grand old Duke of York. He marched them out for sick building syndrome, he marched them back in again; he marched them out when their colleagues got sacked, then he marched them back again; then when he had his fill of aggressive trade union militancy, he went begging the owner of the family-owned Chefette to sell shares to the public.

As someone who should have been the statesman of Barbadian trade unionism, Sir Roy should have been the great conductor, directing his juniors and making sure the noise coming from organised labour is in harmony. What the nation needs is a new form of dialogue, right across the range of social policy initiatives, and Sir Roy should have been one of the principal architects of that conversation.

For reasons best known to himself, Sir Roy has failed to fully understand that unit labour costs in Barbados are too high, this is impacting on the nation’s competitiveness and, therefore, its economic growth. In simple terms, as a nation we must take an urgent step back (a lower standard of living) in order to make two or more forward (economic growth and prosperity). Even in his simplicity, Sir Roy in his heart of hearts must realise this; so, if nothing else, he is guilty of leading his members astray by encouraging them to think that they could get annual pay rises for no extra work. Only under-investment, due in large part to the withdrawal of funding from the foreign-owned banks, outstrips the impediments to growth in Barbados. Even here Sir Roy could have made a contribution by pressuring the government to establish a credit union/trade union/ post office/mutual retail balance sheet bank to outmanoeuvre the foreign-owned financial behemoths.

Conclusion:
This is not a personal attack on Sir Roy; however, the person at the helm must take the blame if the ship runs aground. Whatever Sir Roy’s professional and operational shortcomings, his real dis-service to the Barbadian people is in his obstruction to proper labour reform in order to mend the deep structural problems such as improving competitiveness which are inhibiting the nation’s economic growth. His juvenile tantrums, such as throwing his toys out of the pram when he was not selected for an International Labour Organisation soiree, can be put down to the over-sized ego of someone who believes his own publicity.

The reality is that the Barbadian labour market is not functioning well, some may say not functioning at all, and this is largely to do with the lack of proper national debate and of the over-dependence on weak politicians. Public sector labour/management relations have long been in need of reform in order to improve productivity and grow the economy and just for good administrative governance. But aggressive and confrontational industrial relations – remember the Alexandra School debacle in which Ms Redman, the union leader came over like a possessed Amazon? – can often get in the way of progressive decentralising decision-making.

Why should some jobsworth in Bay Street tell experienced head teachers how to run their schools? Why is it that a head, acting as in loco parentis, should speak out on the safety of the children in his care only to be told by some semi-robotic civil servant not to speak to the press?

It is this old paradigm that is badly in need of restructuring, removing some of the luddites, such as Sir Roy, and bringing in new faces with fresh ideas and a new form of dynamism. The other stumbling block is the corporatist nonsense of the Social Partnership, which many people who ought to know better believe is a positive step for Barbados, it has even been called the key to the Barbados model. This excuse for poor government should have been removed long time ago and the elected governments should have forced to get on with the job of governing. They did not because they did not know how. In the end, after years of service, Sir Roy’s lasting legacy will be one of failure, of sitting on top of a simmering volcano when it was about to erupt. He was a poor replacement for men of the calibre of Walcott and Blunt, his boisterous, confrontational, almost juvenile management style was out of place in contemporary trade unionism.

124 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: The End of the Journey for the Obstructionists Who have Stood in the Way of Progress”

1. Anon…….these parasites Bizzy, Cow, et al only do what they do on the island because they are allowed to by sleazy politicians who like to slither into the pockets of bajan whites, foreign whites, indians and syrian business people……….there are not enough of these groups on the island to vote them in or out of parliament , therefore they need the majority on the island, but yet these are the groups they turn to for campaign funds and extortion scams and bribes and in turn allow them free rein, all the multi-million dollar contracts except what they keep for themselves, it is plain to see why the island is in such a sorry state, decades of this type of practice has reduced the place to a laughing stock….they are all a blight on the island.

2. TOTAL MESS

THE DLP CANNOT MANAGED
    1986-91–FAILED
    1991-94-FAILED
    2008-2013-FAILED
    2013- present-FAILED

JUNK BOND STATUS
    DLP IS JUNK
    CALL ELECTIONS NOW !!!!

3. Talk your talk, miller. excellent post, only you can fix a fractured Dem.

I heard the 12.30 news and just sucked my teeth. I dont know how much overtime goes on at the BWA right now because in any case the Board has been outsourcing a lot of the work to one of the white men now ruling these inept jackasses. Was this not the source of the BWA strike last year?

These unions are only prolonging the workers’ agony. It is devastating for these workers (and also the other thousands to go) to wake up each day not knowing which day is their last. These unions are corrupt and are playing the workers. Talk in my circles is that the unions are hoping for a decrease of 500 in the numbers and they will claim victory and say that they were able to fight government for the workers! Look I am so sick of this government and these unions.

They have concluded that the layoffs are inevitable, why are they prolonging the people’s agony? Right now, it is no longer about the DLP, Freundel Stuart, the Stinkliar, the ‘moutha” Inniss or the Bizzy’s, this is about the life and soul of our country, Barbados………that is what is at stake here.

Look, I am so sick of these people. The longer this inept government procrastinates, the worst the situation is getting. But wait, did not Stinkliar say on December 13, 2013 that he HAD to do what he read out in Parliament? I am tired!

By the way, miller, I saw the bus ad lady at the busstop this week. I said to myself, the Dems are claiming that she won the election for them and I said………look where you are!

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 24, 2014 at 4:52 PM |

Bring it on Fractured Fool, we all know when you are beginning to ‘crack’. You drop your trousers and ‘moon ‘with ad hominems to invite penetration. Come on Fractured we know you can do better than just exposing yourself like that!

You mean you, like the Fumbler, don’t trust your own MoF?
    The evidence ‘lies’ in his Ministerial Statement of December 13th; the real black Friday for many public sector workers soon to be on skid row instead of Elm St. with both nightmares and headaches of horrendous proportions.

Here is what the MoF said in a euphemistic way of telling idiots like you the IMF is in charge and running things in Bim from now on:

“Additionally Mr. Speaker, earlier this year, the Ministry of Finance formally requested technical assistance from the IMF’s Fiscal Affairs Department in two critical areas of government’s operations: Tax administration, and fiscal/operational reform in the key statutory entities which rely on central government for large transfers for their operations.
    For some time now most internal and external examiners have expressed deep concerns about both of these areas as key examples of parts of government’s operations which exhibit unacceptable levels of inefficiency and dis-functionality resulting increasing financial burdens to the state.
    I am happy to announce that the Fund has accepted the requests and starting next month, the first team will begin its examination of the fiscal and operational challenges of some of our key statutory entities.
    In anticipation of that and in an effort to advance and concretize this work, the Ministry of Finance will assemble a high level task force of senior finance, business and accounting experts to work along with the Fund’s team to finalize a reform agenda for the selected entities to be presented to the Minister before mid-year.
    I also anticipate that very shortly the Fund will identify a team of experts to conduct the long overdue comprehensive assessment of the direct and indirect tax systems in Barbados with a view to advising government on major reforms necessary in both tax policy and administration.”

5. JUST ASKING

And if the elections are called….then what ?
    Owen has no confidemnce in Mia as a PM !

Edmund Hinkson declares that George Payne is a scamp and not fit to be in Parliament !

Seven of the current sitting BLP MP’s in the Lower House are ready to throw Mia Mottley overboard again in favour of Owen Arthur !

So who you think you fooling !!!!!

So it seems that the Barbadian electorate will have little choice but to declare… Dems AGAIN !

6. Oh my goodness……more confusion! 5.30 news. The Stinkliar says 3000 still will go despite what the Labour minister said. We knew she was lying!

7. @miller
    “Additionally Mr. Speaker, earlier this year, the Ministry of Finance formally requested technical assistance from the IMF’s Fiscal Affairs Department in two critical areas of government’s operations: Tax administration, and fiscal/operational reform in the key statutory entities which rely on central government for large transfers for their operations.”……………………..

And this is after telling Barbados from Parliament in June that we dont need the IMF now, nor not in the forseeable future. I wonder what is his definition of forseeable. Damn liar!

The DLP chickens have come home to roost! all their lies are laid bare and exposed!

8. @ Miller so the long prose you recited above is an indication that the IMF is running things in Bim ?

Well you are sharper than molasses running up a hill ?

With you as a technical adviser I am not surprised that your beloved BLP remains in opposition !

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 24, 2014 at 5:37 PM |
    “Miller so the long prose you recited above is an indication that the IMF is running things in Bim?”

Yes. And you can’t prove to the contrary or deny it.
    Not even the PM or his “blind” posing as a MoL can change what has been mandated by the IMF.

If you are a real man, and not a soucouyant, then tell Fumble to fire the MoF and rescind the IMF’s instructions to either reduce the public sector workforce (3,000 being the first major wave) or else the dreaded “D” word would be the talk of the town by April 2014.

Casse-toi, idiot(e)!

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 24, 2014 at 5:29 PM |
    “Seven of the current sitting BLP MP’s in the Lower House are ready to throw Mia Mottley overboard again in favour of Owen Arthur ! “

To achieve what? To sit on the Opposition benches again? The inglorious seven might be “scunts” but can’t be so foolish not to have learned from the Eager 11.
    Those idiots of Fractured persuasion have been told in no uncertain terms the electorate will reject them under the leadership of OSA.
    And like the Eager 11 will soon to come around to the stark reality the BLP is currently unelectable to the reins of government unless MAM is at the head. This is non-negotiable, similar to the job cuts or the coming IMF programme.

Take it from the same BLP technical adviser who learned the craft under the tutorship of David Thompson during 14 years on Opposition bench.

11. The BLP is becoming more irrelevant by the minute contrary to the pronouncements by their chief pimp and ass licker Henderson scumbag Bovell. The assembly meetings attendances are down to 25 sleepy people listening to tired, confused Mottley talking foolishness. Owen Seymour already destroyed the assemblies before they got off the ground. He politically assassinated to main speaker and messenger.

The unions and the government are doing what responsible leadership does which is work together to the benefit of their constituents. The way the unions and government are putting their heads together to reassure and protect workers and keep Barbados strong is a joy to watch. May it continue for a long time to come. Cooperation on such an all inclusive scale augurs well for good industrial relations and productivity. The BLP on the contrary are trying to incite workers to take to the streets hoping civil unrest would follow. The BLP will end up the biggest losers at this momentous point in Barbados economic history.

Examples of the BLP’s tragic stance Prodigal is vex about the BWA and BWU creative ideas to save workers jobs. Prodigal is deliriously happy that Suckoo’s comment of less workers going home might be erroneous. He wants more workers fired. Sad collection of misfits the BLP.

12. You idiot, who put the country in the mess it is in?

It certainly was not Prodigal or miller. So dont come on BU with your nonsense. If you stupid people had listen to even one iota of the advice we gave you on BU, you would not be in the position you are in right now with the ministers all over the place tripping up each other to see who could make the most stupid statement. In the morning Dr Suckoo says one thing, in the same newscast, the President of the NUPW contradicts what she says, in the 12.30 news, the head of the BWU says another and then come 5.30 the Stinkliar says …..no changes…3000 must go…cant be change except by the cabinet.

You are such a yardfowl, you really think that anyone would be happy that their fellow citizens are losing their work? You Dems brought this on yourselves only to win an election and the worst thing is you do not have a clue as to how to get out of the black hole you have dug for yourselves. Stay lost in your black hole!

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The fan | January 24, 2014 at 7:51 PM |
    “Prodigal is deliriously happy that Suckoo’s comment of less workers going home might be erroneous.”

We think you are the fanatical one who is not only delirious but also delusional.

Suckoo is just an irritating gadfly of a nuisance to the whole layoff situation as she was with the Lime retrenchment case.

There is nothing “erroneous” about the 3,000 workers going home. The Stinkliar has confirmed his ministerial announcement is the policy and decision of the Cabinet and not up for further negotiation or adjustment in terms of numbers.
    Or are you prepared to call the MoF a damn lying puppet (dlp)?

Who would you believe? The lying MoF or the political bimbo MoL with her sponsor behaving like piggy in the middle?

14. Another thing, you Dems are so cold and heartless. Imagine dragging all those gullible workers to Sherbourne, exposing the people all over the media trying to show that you are giving them green slips to get unemployment when you very well know that the people were not entitled to collect unemployment. That was cruel and unusual punishment on the poorest of our society. And you, fan, got talk for the BLP?

15. It is exactly one year to the day that stinking rae mouth dog Miller was confidently ranting on this BU site 29 seats for the Bees and 1 for the independent candidate.

So much for convulated predictions !

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 24, 2014 at 8:58 PM |

You can’t even get your ‘facts’ straight. It was “JUST ASKING” who made that prediction, not the miller. Why don’t you check with
    your fellow fool CCC for confirmation?
    But what can we expect from a dumb ass who, like his just as stupid MoF, can’t tell the difference between 0.7% and 0.07%. Or is it between 0.3% and 0.03% or site value and improved value?
    You are just a bunch of educated jackasses and certified incompetents totally deprived of the intellectual breast milk called commonsense.

BTW, the miller wanted you guys to win just to savour every moment that is being played out right before our very eyes. Remember the miller’s refrain? Let them stew in their own No Layoffs, No Privatization juices. And that is exactly what you guys are doing. How about that for a false prediction?

Casse-toi pauvre con!

17. Thr PM really needs to make an appeal to the public to settle down if he can. We cant go like this.

18. Ha Ha Ha
    Miller now pins the prediction on JUST ASKING !
    When we all on BU know it was that dam n Miller who in his moment drunkenness is who made that prediction.

Just like he continues to rant about the IMF and devaluation.

19. Excellent, miller. They are not only stewing in their own juices, they are drowning in the brown stuff down in a black hole.

20. David,
    The PM has no latitude with the Barbadian public to inspire any confidence. They have destroyed the fabric of the Barbadian heart and soul. No one believes a word that comes out of their mouths.

It is very telling that the talking point for the government ministers and the unions has been …………no marches, they will serve no purpose. It is so strange that the labour minister would say something about burning tyres……..tells me they are scared…….why say that, burning tyres is not Barbadian. They are desperate.

21. Dems are such liars…..they cannot help themselves. Everyone on BU knows that it was Just Asking who made the 29-1 prediction.

You Dems keep doing the nonsense you are doing to Barbados……the prediction may very well come true.

22. Indeed Bajans don’t burn tyres. We put soil/dirt in our tyres and create tyre gardens where we grow food even if we have no land.

23. David | January 24, 2014 at 9:31 PM |
    Thr PM really needs to make an appeal to the public to settle down if he can. We cant go like this.

Go on like what half the island is out partying .Thank God Its Friday . The other half preparing to wuk up in Trinidad carnival. If you doubt me hit the after work liming spots, start with the Hilton followed by Lime Grove, Second Street, Oistins and last but not least Moontown. Tomorrow its Lemon Arbor and the beach limes. Life goes on Bajans are happy people no matter what. Think of places with loads of money where people live in cages for safety and dare not go on the street for fear of being gunned down. Bajans are saying this too shall pass.

24. The fan,
    Then Bajans are “damm” fools. It is about time they wake up and start being realistic. Stop with this stupid mentality of “the storm will bypass ” although it it on a head-on collision.

25. Sometimes predictions are off with regards to timing because we might read the vibes off time -or off beat but same predictions might come true eventually only at a later date.

I altered my prediction coming close to polling day after I picked a vibe which turned out to be -the buying of votes–
    Buying votes was a wicked act and we are seeing the fruits of this wickedness.

Now what we have is Torture going on
    The 3000 plus to be laid off are being tortured by the Prime Minister and his gang of wild boys and–THUGS !!–

IT IS TORTURE.

FREUN-DUL seems to have no feelings for anybody, maybe that is why he aint married

Is he the cold and heartless dont carish aloof person he appears to be ? Not good for a Prime Minister in these parts . Not good at all.

Suckoo was right although confused.
    2000 going home–less than 3000
    then a 1000 –less than 3000
    so that is less
    Wait she is an Island Scholar fuh trute though ?
    Suckoo is just a Cunt, plain and simple that is wha she is -pure cunt.
    Cannot even add nor subtract

26. JUST ASKING on January 25, 2014 at 2:07 AM

I altered my prediction coming close to polling day after I picked a vibe which turned out to be -the buying of votes–
    Buying votes was a wicked act and we are seeing the fruits of this wickedness.

Hi JUST ASKING,

I must admit on this occasion that the vote buying last time was a wicked act.

According to George Payne, Mia Mottley used all the money she stole from the BLP coffers to campaign against him in St. Andrew ! She used several hired cars and offered plenty cash to voters in her bid to unseat George Payne.

This is one time I agree with George Payne and you….that was a WICKED act !

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 25, 2014 at 6:43 AM |

You are really cracking up. Why don’t you accomplices in lies and deceit and drinking from the cesspit in George St. tell you the truth about your current mental state?
    Your double vision is playing tricks on your lying mouth.

Now who is making predictions of 29:1? The miller or JUST ASKING at whom you have just shifted your blind focus full venom and spleen?
    Next time you will mix up the miller with Estwick ready to upset the DLP applecart or would it be the crack head man whom Interpol could soon have in its sights?

We offer our commiserations. Sincerely, we do!

28. Does anyone on the blog have non-partisan data that can give an idea of the current occupancy rate and length of stay for visitors on the island thus far this winter? If so is there an improvement over last winter?

We really need these numbers to make an upward trend to solve some of the issues headed our way in the short term (April thru June).

29. Looks like Adrian has called out Minister Inniss who loves to talk.

Numbers down

Added by George Alleyne on January 24, 2014.
    Saved under Tourism

Firing back at reported claims of a good tourist season for

Barbados last year by Minister of Commerce Donville Inniss,

hotelier Adrian Loveridge said it was the opposite.

The Trinidad Express’ January 22 edition reported Inniss

saying the island was beginning to rebound and enjoyed a good

winter tourist season last year, but Loveridge told a People’s

Assembly rally last night that Barbados’ visitor arrival

numbers actually fell some 19,000 last season.

“The winter period runs from the 15th of December to

the 15th of April, but if you look at all of December, January,

February, March and April, we actually fell that period,” he told

Barbados TODAY, following the rally at St Christopher

School, and added: “Over that period, we’re actually down

18,889 long-stay visitors.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/01/24/numbers-down/

30. If the BWA can “save” 300 jobs through the removal of overtime etc, they should be hired to manage the Civil Service. #fantasy300

31. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Miller
    The apple cart done upset. The man done resign from the chair of infrastructure committee and from the cabinet and advised he will be an independent when the parliament meets next.

32. In your continuous and relentless efforts to discredit the Ministers and Government of Barbados you are only succeeding in hurting Barbados.

Tourism is the life blood of the Barbados economy. Do you want the ministers to continuously and relentlessly preach doom and gloom?
    Showing a decline in visitors can equate to a decline in the quality of the product.

Do you think I agree with my Canadian friends and co workers that Barbados is too expensive for a vacation? Hell no.

I detail the low cost options. Like do not go all inclusive. Stay in a cheaper hotel and eat in the super market deli, Oistins friday night etc.Chefette and I always point out that a bottle of rum that cost $28 canadian dollars at the LCBO in Toronto cost $8 canadian inJordan;s supermarket in Barbados.

The big sell. $2 Barbados dollars is $1 US.

I even tell them about the great fish cutter I had at a Kentucky fried chicken. also tell them that ALL Barbados beaches are public up to 30 feet above the high water mark.

I gine work fuh a few hours before BU raise muh blood pressha.

33. “Do you want the ministers to continuously and relentlessly preach doom and gloom?”

So is it better to mislead? That would surely build investors’ confidence. #quack

34. Investors do their own due diligence and they also understand politics and spin. At least Canadians do.

Investors want to know. How much to buy in and can we get our money and profits out.

I will continue to spin Barbados as a great vacation destination and back it up with a little help from my friends who still live there.

David you might offend Adrian L but how about a blog show the cost of rum and Banks beer and food at Oistins an Chefette an de supermarket deli?

It can be called Barbados on a tight budget.

de rest ah wunna can start cussin me an continue until Enuff an de BLP win de nex election.

I done wid wunna ……..fuh now.

35. Hants it makes you wonder what crime Barbados committed to deserve an Adrian Loveridge. The Central Bank governor reports cruise passenger arrivals are up by over a staggering 11%. The Loveridge person never mentions that, its not doom and gloom you see. What bothers is his multitude of followers on the blog. He spends his waking hours writing in every publication on the internet degrading and lambasting our beautiful island.The man goes out of his way to encourage tourists to skip Barbados and go elsewhere particularly St. Lucia and is applauded by Bajans on BU for his shocking treachery. Go figure.

The irony is Adrian Loveridge wont leave the island he so despises. He told us his hotel was closed and up for sale. Then he reported guests are staying at his hotel and he gets rave reviews. Then he led us to believe he was forced to shut because government wont pay back his vat entitlements. So is his hotel open, is it closed, is he bankrupt? What? How can any sane person believe anything this man says.

A friend of mine recommends Adrian Loveridge consider taking a break by sailing his yacht down to his love child St. Lucia and moor it off Vieux Fort overnight. God speed.

36. ERROL BARROW’S HOUSE IN RUINS

THE DLP SHOULD BE SHAME

BUT WAIT
    THE DLP’S HOUSE IS IN RUINS TOO
    AAAAHHHH !!!

THE DLP IS THE WORST THING SINCE SLAVERY

37. The people are sick and tired of THE DOOM aND GLOOMERS…the people understands the mischief that is being presentd……it is dumbfounding how people can hate a country so much to the point of destrying it.the people understands the undertow and the control for power. come 2018 these idiots would once again learn the hard way.

38. Just asking! have u taken a look at the BLP house recently? …..jacass.ing……….JUST ASKING..

39. People dislike that a party could lie to its people so blatantly just to win an election and now that the shit has hit the fan they are now accusing everyone who point out the nasty lies as preaching doom and gloom.

People do not like liars, tell the truth and people would understand. And that is the huge boulder blocking any progress…..people do not trust the DLP…….they say if they could lie so blatantly to win an election who know what they would do henceforth.

You Dems have have destroyed the trust people put in you and it cannot be retrieved. No one trust the Dems. How do you think the 3000 plus 392 plus those who have been going home since September 2013 feel? Do you think they have faith in the DLP who promised that their jobs were safe and only OSA would take away their jobs?

Bloody liars!

40. An increase in Cruise Ship passengers means what in terms of long stay visitors ?

41. a c –you know no objectivity. You are as biased as an old bicycle tyre. Fanatics like you are a dangerous threat to Society and would be the first be targeted in a purging.

42. Why does the Stinkliar have to lie all the time. Would you believe he let go another stick bomb a few days ago when saying that the marina will start in a few months. Another blatant lie!

43. @ Enuff
    So is it better to mislead? That would surely build investors’ confidence. #quack

Why would you expect government ministers to be any different in presenting the countries difficulties to the public than you are in discussing the BLP’s internal difficulties between the multiple fractions?
    It is called PR…and while one would expect those who dislike BIM to ridicule the attempts to be positive, the same is not to be expected of true patriots….

Be careful that you are not betraying your true patriotic status…

BU is about truth, justice, transparency and integrity…NOT ABOUT DESTROYING BARBADOS.

In the above regard, Adrian makes for interesting reading…..compare for example to LOWDOWN…..

When Caswell get off his ass and start BUPPING,….. Bushie will be taking a STRONG stance for significant local cooperative shareholder ownership of all national assets…..

44. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Hants;

I agree with your approach of Bajans overseas individually casting their figurative widow’s mite into advertising the Country’s tourism product and letting their friends know of ways that can reduce the high costs of their vacations here. Presumably the effort of your friends taking the actions you suggest will outweigh for them the attractions of lower pricing and lesser effort required for achieving their holiday objectives offered by competing destinations.

But it also seems to me that you are denying, even to yourself, that our current problems can be partially traced to the actions or inactions or individual venality of this Government and previous ones. IMHO, Barbados cannot come out of this situation by pretending that we are only the casualties of being dealt a bad global economic hand even though there is some truth in that as well.

On the other hand I can appreciate what the realistic, on-the-ground posters on BU are trying to do by telling the truth as we know or divine it. They (We) don’t have the unrealistic psychological distance that you have in analyzing everything from a Canadian perspective. They are living and feeling the “hold-your-head-and-bawl” incompetence in governing that shows through from day to day. It is that incompetence that imho has us here along with an accelerating breakdown in almost every one of our Institutions and systems. It is also clear that much of the incompetence can be traced to one individual. Few in positions of power, seem willing to bell that cat. It is not the scape-cat Sinckler, IMHO, for as I’ve stated on BU several times, he has consistently borne the brunt of the effects of the economic pusillanimity and hubris of the topmost one and should not be entirely blamed for our situation.

They (We) are trying to be truthful in letting bajans see and understand that this Government is a bunch of inept, hapless, bad lucky, incompetent people who have shown, time and time again, that it is extremely unlikely that they can lead a successful recovery effort. Their best efforts seem likely to lead Barbados even further into the ground of likely failed statehood.

Forget your deep seated romantic and dated allegiance to the DLP and really put Barbados first. Can you see this group leading us out of this doo-doo in 19 months?

The question most might ask is where can we go from here?

My partial answer is further down for a long time if we retain the current leader of this government in that role. However, If he can be persuaded, somehow, by whatever means, to vacate that leadership I think we will have a chance of righting ourselves over a shorter period of time than if he stayed. That is the first and most important thing that has to be done for us to move forward.

Even though the current DLP government presided over the removal and early retirement of several knowledgeable and experienced Public servants, especially in the MoF, and replaced some of them with academic neophytes and some exceedingly lazy individuals, it seems that a nucleus of people might yet remain to help Sinckler right that ship and press on to do what he has said he will do.

45. The BLP erected a statute of the Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow in Independence Square.
    The DLP has sullied his excellency’s image and memory and damaged the legacy of EWB by its repudiation of the free education philosophy on which the DLP thrived for many a year.

EWB would have never sanctioned the illegal erection of election Billboards across the country. EWB would have never sanctioned the implementation of the fees at UWI because he fully understood the importance of education to a people who were wrenched from the bowels of mother Africa and given no hope of surviving as independent persons. People who were forever cast as hewers of wood and carriers of water and who were seen as savages and every thing else but human. The DLP has been ripped from its philosophical moorings and the planks on which its foundation was built have been rotted by a gang of goons who has no respect for EWB, his memory, his legacy nor philosophy .

EWB ‘s house in ruins is aptly symbolic of the DLP’s house. The DLP house is in Ruins.

The DLP in its present form should be jettisoned from the political landscape of Barbados by the people of Barbados. Blind loyalists like ac will never be able to see the truth if it hit them like thunder.

46. U prodigal can scream all U like but come 2018 it would be the DEMS again..cause all the BLP has done with their poor excuse for a leader is help to inflamed a bad economic situations advocating violence as a means to an end..don,t be foolish “wayward child”(prodigal) in beliving that the people does not understand the evil and wicked power hunger elements who a had a hand in the selfish game of “DIVIDEand CONQUER..trust me come 2018 the BLP woud be consider traitor and once again be cast in the wilderness

47. What is hitting the people like thunder is the ALL OUT WAR being waged ON this COUNTRY by MIA MOTTLEY with her loud and obnoxious meanderings which would eventually lead to the destruction of NOT ONLY the country but the HOUSE THAT SIR GRANTLEY ADAMS BUILT .he too must be turning in his grave….NOW u “just asking” go get a broom and sweep away the filth that have infiltrated the once prestigious BLP house ..a house that now finds its self in political decay and ruination set in motion by OSA

48. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

ANON | January 24, 2014 at 3:05 PM |
    Do not for get the BANKERS, BARCLAYS BANK , DONT FOR GET THEM AND WHERE ARE THEY NOW ? FIRST CARIBBEAN WITH COW AND SIR HAM?

49. @Hants

A decline on the previous years’ arrivals which was a decline on the year before that is NOT a rebounding industry!!!

@ Bushtea
    Stupse–a load of excrement.

50. EWB even warned us about people like ac , blind loyalists who are cannibalistic and practise tribalism

I remember EWB referring to some of his party supporters as cannibalistic and tribalistic. He accused them of practicing tribalism . this was at a party conference . Yuh remember when the DLP nearly ate itself , when Brandford challenged EWB at all that crap. Of course I wouldn’t want to talk about Richie Haynes ripping away from Sandy and the DLP, Cammie running to the GG and having Sandy installed and Stuart attacking Thompson and Thompson eating Mascoll.

A description of blind loyalists fits people like ac and her female accomplice -Suckoo. Cant believe Suckoo is an Island Scholar. GP like to gloat about Island Scholars.

Imagine Suckoo buying into the idea of blaming the BLP for the the 3000 people going home because they passed the Law to prevent the cutting of salaries IN THE 1990s. Why did Suckoo not encouraged her DLP party/government/cabinet to guard against the eventuality of going back to the point where the proposal to cut salaries would ever arise. Like Sir Lloyd queried , how did we get back here ? Answer the incpmpetent DLP.

The DLP in its present formation with the present Prime Minsiter et al is not a team for the times , simply not. The West Indies Team now is not the same West Indies Team as 1980- 95 and we have paid the price. We are paying the price for a poor DLP team and we need to get rid of the DLP team .

This is what people like ac , blind loyalists cannot see . They are shouting DLP not realising that the present group are traitors to the cause and impostors.

Yuh dont know I feel that a c is that fellow from the NUPW

Leave a Reply to Mark FentyCancel reply