Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
Barbados is going through one of the messiest political maelstroms in living memory, if not in our post-war experience. It is now on an economic life-support machine. The DLP government is running around like a headless chicken, with its leader Freundel Stuart, arguably the worst premier/prime minister in our history struck dumb and unable to address the nation and incapable of sacking Chris Sinckler, the equally bad minister of finance. And at a time when the BLP Opposition, under its new leader, Mia Mottley, should be mercilessly hammering the government, the party is imploding in one of the most vicious and bitter internecine wars any political party in Barbados has ever seen.

In terms of damage, it is worse than the walk-out by Errol Barrow and his Young Turks to form the DLP, or of Richie Haynes and his supporters from the DLP to form the National Democratic Party. But I believe all these are symptoms of historic change. As most people will understand, history is not linear; it ebbs and flows, is volatile and calm, it can erupt like a volcano and be as reassuring as a moonlit night. The problem with adversarial politics is that it brings out the nasty side of people, the premium is to show the opponent is incapable, rather than to show that one on the contrary is more than capable. It is a feature of our hostile discursive culture, rubbishing opposing ideas, asking the adversary to justify his/her views, rather than putting forward positive alternatives and justifying one’s own recommendations. It is not unknown for opponents to resort to foul-mouthed, vulgar abuse as part of the process.

Ms Mottley’s recent call for an eminent persons committee, was rightly described by Arthur as a ‘gimmick’, what he did not do was to propose a viable alternative. To some people, an eminent group comprising of people of the calibre of ‘Professor’ Frank Alleyne, central bank governor De Lisle Worrell and a few well known names, may simply be kicking the can down the road. What are badly needed are new ideas, new approaches, new policies, a totally and radically transformative new paradigm, a new rescue plan for the nation. These are some of the new ideas, policies and approaches that should be coming from the BLP, its key advisers, its economic spokesman, Clyde Mascoll, and most particularly its senior economic guru and seasoned economic planner, Owen Arthur. This is their time, when they should be pounding the government, ideas and policies should be flooding out of Roebuck Street. Public meetings are in terms of educating the general public, but it must go beyond that to the formation of alternative policies.

The enormous problems facing Barbados are not just short-term cyclical business and economic ones, they are deeply structural, about our collapsing social, governance and decaying institutional frameworks. The rot started decades ago and continued to fester under BLP and DLP governments since constitutional independence without a word of caution from mainstream politicians, academics, the media, public intellectuals or rabble rousers. It was as if Barbadians were comfortable in a mess of their own making, fooling themselves that they were the best in the world: best educated, most competitive, punching above their weight and other self-deluding nonsense, or in the words of Marion Williams, we are a first world nation now. Nothing better illustrates this self-delusion than a regulator who allows some foreign-owned bank to smear the reputation of a local businessman without a word being said. As a nation, we prefer to play the man rather than the ball; we allow the principle to fall by the wayside. This is a classic example of the weakness of prescriptive financial regulations, a big rule book but the banks still drive a coach and horses through it.  Even more scandalous is another foreign-owned bank offering loans to customers to invest in equities – a policy so ridiculous it should be a crime.
In the meantime, all the local commentariat has to talk about is what is allegedly motivating Arthur in his assault on the party leader.

Does the BLP have a president/chairman, others officers, a ruling committee, a rule book? In a party of lawyers why can’t they sort out this mess internally? What about issues of real importance: youth unemployment, the turf war between the police and customs, the collapse of our university, public transport, traffic congestion, the failure of management in our schools, housing, the health service, public servants not being paid on time, pensioners not getting their pensions on time, we can go on. What can the BLP do about these policy issues that it could not have done in 14 years of government?

Analysis:
On closer analysis, there is quite clearly an alignment of voices who are prepared to risk losing any forthcoming general election under an embattled Ms Mottley, than to remove a government that has lost its way. It is true, that there is a perception that Ms Mottley can be her own worst enemy, if true, this is not necessarily for the reasons her most vocal opponents – known and unknown – will have us believe. She is undoubtedly youthful and bright, confident with a very strong sense of  her worth as a politician, which may cause a certain amount of resentment. Of course, Ms Mottley is a big ‘girl’ and if she cannot take the heat she should get out of the kitchen. The fundamental question for those of us on the sideline is: Is this childish bickering good for the nation? Does it provide the answers to our social and economic problems at this juncture in our history?

Although both the BLP and DLP have an over-riding social democratic politics, it is not sophisticated and finessed and the parties’ key strategists have not learned anything from political organisation in other reforming social democracies. Take, for example, the New Democrats, led by Bill Clinton, and New Labour, by Tony Blair, both of which used racist strategies (soft versions of Nixon’s 1970s Southern Strategy) to solicit white, working class and middle class voters, with an implicit message that they understand white working class pain about jobs, and middle class anger about taxation. It mistakingly assumes that Black and Asian voters in the UK, and Black and Hispanic voters in the US, have no real alternative but to vote Democrat or Labour.

In the muddy smear politics in which Barbados is mired, while the flood waters of economic failure are cascading down on us, we are missing the point that Ms Mottley indeed has a rather interesting background story. Not the one, however, that her political enemies want to talk about, but rather the one about how she got where she is in terms of her politics; what are her core beliefs, what kind of Barbados would she like to see, who are her key advisers? Some people believe that she has an open-ness to small, well-organised pressure groups which operate outside the formalities of democratic politics. Groups and businesses that operate like shadows in the night, subsidising preferred candidates here, doing the back office work there, and smiling and being nice when it suits them everywhere.

It is a politics that can only end in tears, on a personal level, or in the betrayal of traditional Barbadians who have invested heavily over the generation in the BLP in the hope that the party will lead them to the promised land of prosperity. If this is indeed the politics that her political enemies object to, and if it is an accurate perception, then it should form part of the public discussion. But character assassination by innuendo, the spreading of smut as a substitute for civilised debate and the crowding out of legitimate issues from public discourse, put us back in a primitive age we have long left.

Time will show that this bout of civil war in the BLP not only came at the worst time in the party’s modern history, but the loud mouths and muscle men and women now claiming the high ground will find themselves on the wrong side of history. The political issues that are central to Barbados are the issues so bitter to taste that people dear not say a word. While the economic mess – which started under the BLP government – will eventually be resolved one way or the other, the medium and long-term battles will be over our Barbadian-ness, who we are, who owns our precious island home, who should make key decisions about our collective futures. While we bicker and fight, the danger is that the New Barbadians are waiting quietly in the wings, master plan at hand, to take control. Somehow, deep in our collective hearts, there is a firm belief that Barbadian optimism will see us through. But is that good enough?

Conclusion:
Sometimes it is necessary for party political bloodletting, it is necessary to clear the air and allow progressive forces to dominate. This internal BLP feud between the Arthurians and Mottleyites is not it, however. It is a humiliating showdown in which the personal has become political, in which personal pride and vengeance have become more important than the national interest. The fundamental problem with the BLP, especially now that it is facing an open goal of DLP government ineptitude, is that its ideological nakedness is exposed, there is no under girding of ideas, beliefs, or vision. In its place there has emerged a flawed intervention by former prime minister Arthur, with what can objectively be seen as juvenile interference, at best to preserve an imagined legacy, at worst for other unethical reasons. The one thing anyone who aspires to leadership should remember is that if they expect people under them to be loyal, then they too must demonstrate loyalty. Equally, if members of any political party or even the general public have even the commonest iota of decency, they should turn their backs on anyone who wants to cause trouble for trouble’s sake.

In every culture we dislike troublemakers, gossips, people who refuse to play by the rules, plotters, conspirators, disorder. In a political culture in which evangelising and character assassination carry a high premium, and facts and careful analysis become boring, it is not surprising that ordinary people think that politics is about personal abuse and shouting to the top of one’s voice. It is a culture that first gained root in the mid-1950s with those late-night platform meetings and has continued ever since, growing by leaps and bounds with every succeeding generation. Almost just as interesting is, in the political demography of this culture war, the inability of the politically astute to form a third party, based on the kinds of principles that they need and want. Until such time, what honest BLP members must ask themselves in the quiet of their own heads is if this undignified spat is worthy of the oldest political party in the nation.

In time, this unappealing fight between two people who ought to know better, will be seen in the light of day for what it is worth, given the socio-economic storm battering the nation. On reflection, we are playing with fire. Out of the Weimar republic and the 1930s recession which followed, came Hitler and Mussolini; out of the Greek economic problems post-2007/8, came the Golden Dawn Party; out of Britain’s incompetent Coalition government came UKIP; the US gave us the Tea Party.

History has a funny way of not delivering what people expect or hope for.

100 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Ask Not for Whom the Bell Tolls, it Tolls for Thee”

1. Every now and again BU will respond to ignoramuses who take pot-shots at BU posters and others when citizens exercise their right to post anonymously. It matters not what commenters say he remains ‘tieup’ about the fact some make the decision to use monikers, a decision which millions take posting to blog/websites on the Internet.

What should concern Carl Moore the dinosaur is to appreciate many of the issues we comment on show the BU family is attuned/aligned to what is happening in our little society.

• The judicial system: note recent editorials and pronouncements emanating from parliament from Attorney Generals, current and former.
    • The indiscipline on our roads: minibus/ZR problem now joined by private vehicles – ask Roy Morris
    • The collapse of our education system and its irrelevance: of course he respects Peter Laurie who uttered same last week.
    • The irrelevance of our system of governance – again he should refer to 20 veteran former PS Peter Laurie
    • The graft and malfeasance which manifest itself on a daily basis in public and private sector: see decades of Auditor General reports. If it is happening in public sector it means the private sector is complicit.

BU can list list list to make the point. Instead we have a jackass who has been blowing a horn about noise pollution since many in this forum wore short pants with little results and he would grudge citizens the right to protest using non traditional means given the type of society we know exist. Mr. Moore you can keep harping on anonymous bloggers but here is the catch, you would be surprised to know who post on BU with monikers, ministers of government, journalist, doctors, policemen, firemen, academics, engineers, athletes, housewives…

Do you get the point yet? Now do us all a favour and continue to send your cryptic notes to the traditional media and forget about BU and social media.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 17, 2014 at 8:04 PM |

Love it! Love it to shreds.

Poor Carl doesn’t even appreciate that some of the greatest unfettered minds contribute to BU. Some in the Diaspora and many in the small-minded island that breeds the likes of Moore and that miniscule band of pseudo intelligentsia mis-educated misfits who would like to dictate its morality and cultural ethos.

Carl, travel broadens the mind but living overseas develops a small-island intellect like yours. We can see right before our very eyes both lost opportunities being sorely missed as you find great solace in the company of the PM.

3. David there are some people who should be told to visit eff u dot com.

BU anonymous bloggers are exercising the FREEDOM afforded us on your blog and we thank you.

There is no compelling reason why your detractors need to participate.

4. aBajan New Yorker Avatar
    aBajan New Yorker

@ Hal Austin on January 17, 2014 at 6:28 AM
    “@ David

Share it with the public. We ought to know who our leaders are. Barrow had an affair with Nina Simone for a long time and the first I knew of it was when rteading her biography.
    When I asked senior politicians and journalists in Barbados they were all aware of it.
    We must trust the people.”

What I do know is that no one seems to want to talk or discuss MAMS LASTNMAME MOTTLEY. My opinion is that’s the problem. OSA and his gang is not prepared to let that name ever takeover Barbados again.

5. Policy
    Make persons use the polyclininics or pay extra at private pharmacies for medication

Problem
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/out-of-drugs/

Carl seeking relevance again? uh tell ya.

I gone fuh now, yuh hear….

Observing

6. In his in the Daily Nation, Thursday, January 16, 2014, Dr. Clyde Mascoll, was reported to have written that “there is nothing wrong with a government employing more people if the economy is growing”, and that “where there is growth there is more revenue for the government”.

Dr. Mascoll seems not to know that government is the most unproductive, unrational and inefficient sector that exists within the political economy and services industry sectors of this country.

This fact is evidenced not only from the constancy of extensity and intensity of mal doings and wrongful omissions with the context of the scope, structure and culture of its apparatuses, but also from its implementation of criminal evil wicked TAXATION, and of nefarious Interest Rates Regimes, sick so-called compulsory Land Acquisition legislation, etc.

As for Taxes, Mascoll must be told in no uncertain terms that Taxes are not any revenues, but are the proceeds of the government of Barbados stealing robbing from the remunerations of the relevant people, businesses and other entities in this country.

Also, the fact is that it is the government sector and the financial sector – the latter the second most dysfunctional commercial sector after the same government sector in the country – that – because of the nature of their operations – are the principal causes of persons and machines on the whole lessening substantially their levels of physical output and services – when contrasted with what was greater provided in, say, 2006, in the country.

So, the logical argument must be that in spite of evil wicked abominations like TAXATION, Interest Rates, so-called Public Debt, there is continuously still -even during this prolonged depression in Barbados – the fuelling of growth trends (and even the propensities to do so) in the material production and distribution services sectors in the country – which altogether points to clear evidence that until the government sector and the financial sector rein in themselves this depression here in Barbados will not end.

Again, Dr Mascoll is truly egregiously wrong on the facts!

7. @ Hal Austin
    If you are the finance wizard that you hold yourself out to be how come it has taken so long for you to offer your services to your adopted country and help prop up its ailing economy ? You can even go one better . I am sure the World Bank Or the IMF or some such organisation can do with your expertise.
    You need to move beyond a mere talker and become a doer. Until then your views will remain very empty .

8. @Unbiased

Rubbish, what is the role of a journalist?

9. @David
    Rubbish !!! He holds himselt out than much more than a journalist . His postings hold him out as a financial expert who uses journalistic skills to put them across . I am sure from the criticisms made of him on BU that he is not seen as a journalist but , in the views of many , as a know-it-all .

10. @Unbiaed

This what happens when people put their views out there, others are free to agree, disagree, challenge. What we know is that there are no journalists in Barbados who have demonstrated the capacity to posit the level of analysis which Hal has brought to the table. To disagree with him is health but to suggest that he can’t make a contribution with his pen is arrant nonsense.

11. @ David
    I am asking him to do more than “make a contribution with his pen”; I am asking for DIECT contribution as the expert he is perceived to be . Do I have to remind you of the adage “HE WHO CAN DOES; HE WHO CANNOT TEACHES” ? Maybe for present we can say …HE WHO CANNOT WRITES .

12. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Unbiased
    I think the Government should make haste and cut the excess public sector jobs. It’s my view. It doesn’t mean I have to do it myself. That’s what we employ politicians for – to represent us and carry out our wishes.

13. @ Unbiased

I have said before, and I will say for the last time. I am a financial journalist. Nothing more. I am not an expert on anything, not even in my own house.
    Anything else must be your own assumption.

14. David

‘To disagree is healthy”

Dr David, I hope you will remember that and treat all your patients equally.

H Austin’s posts are good value and thought provoking irrespective of their originality. He must spend a lot of time on them. But I do think Unbiased has raised a fair issue and particularly when, in previous H Austin posts, some commentators have identified him as some kind of savior. Do we then describe him as a ‘mere journalist’ with no formally credible expertise? And does this mean that H Austin will now stop pontificating on legal matters and professing expertise on legal theory AS IF he IS an expert?

15. @ Hal Austin
    Please enlighten what is a “finanCIAL journalist” .

16. Here comes the nitpickers with one agenda or the other. Carry on smartly…lol.

17. @ Robert Ross

I am not a lawyer, but a member of the public with a view. That is called the democratisation of ideas.
    If it makes you feel better, I could not even spell legal theory to save my right arm.
    Why do we have such strong views about new ideas?
    @ Unbiased.
    I am just someone who writes news and comment about financial matters for a living. But I am no expert.

18. WHAT A GRAND WASTE OF TIME
    After seeing the development, why should the rest of CARICOM join this court ?

A judge with the Trinidad-based Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) has said there is no mechanism to enforce the judgement following the recent ruling in the case involving the Jamaican national Shanique Myrie.

Myrie successfully sued the Barbados government after she was refused entry into the island in 2011. The CCJ awarded pecuniary damages in the sum of approximately J$3.6 million. Speaking at the workshop for regional broadcasters on the regional integration Justice Ralston Nelson said there was no order to implement the court’s ruling.

He said there is also no power in the national laws for a CCJ order to be treated as a national order. Speaking with the Caribbean Media Corporation after his two-and-a-half hour presentation, Justice Nelson said the situation is not one that is unusual.

He noted that the regional economic integration treaty is an aspect of international law and there are many tribunals that do not have coercive powers to enforce their judgements. Justice Nelson said that in international law, the sanction is disapproval of other members and ultimately economic sanctions.

19. @ Curry Soursop
    Along with what you have disclosed , Aie there is no scope for enforcing judgments , add to that the fact there is no scope for appealing a judgment. These two anomalies make the court somewhat of a bogus court , a waste of time and money .

20. @Alarming
    I think they should scrap the dam court and put their tails between their legs and crawl back to the Privy Council. It has reputation. No wonder Adriel Brathewaite, Minister of Home Affairs had said that the judgement (Shanique Myrie) was not earth shattering. David Simmons, Mia Mottley and P.J. Patterson , I hope you all are seeing your handy work unfolding.

21. David

You really don’t like the idea of people crossing you, do you? How are you at home?

H Austin

Then stop pontificating about it as if you are a pompous, fat assed, know all – even if you are.

22. @ Robert Ross

Do you want to waste the principle of free speech? By the way, I am disappointed in your use of language. Are you one of those who become foulmouthed when you are losing an argument?
    What have I been pontificating about that so upsets you?

@

23. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Curry soursop; I might be wrong but didn’t Erskine Sandiford also have a conceptual and early role in the development of the CCJ. I seem to remember him as one of the champions for the court. If so, you should give him some of the credit also.

24. H Austin

The word ‘ass’ is foul-mouthed? What a precious little bimbo you must be. But let me put it this way. If you claim to be an expert and demonstrate you are an idiot then you are simply an idiot. If you claim to be Joe Public with views, then you can show off for all you’re worth with the effortless superiority you try to put over. Then you are merely misguided if you’re shown to be wrong. As we both know, it’s called a ‘cop out’. From now on, it will be known as ‘Austin’s Sinister Sleight’ (ASS).

25. @ Robert Ross
    I think you are now showing the real you. I had you down as one of the better informed voices in this forum.
    If you are typical of the brilliance we have at the local bar, then I shed a tear.
    I think the problem is you have too much time on your hand. In the meantime, we still need a serious debate about issues facing the nation.

26. H Austin

“Too much time”

LOL. Well you’re answering me sunshine.

“The real you” and “we still need a serious debate” – both examples of ASS.

27. @are -we-there-yet?

I will check to see if Erskine Sandiford was a part of the plot too.

28. @Hal

Here is some advise from a blogmaster of years standing. Some balls please let slide outside the off stump, the risk reward is too high a price.

On 18 January 2014 20:04, Barbados Underground

29. @ Robert Ross
    By the way, calling a black person ‘sunshine’ is racist, even though I know you will deny this. You will claim, in your demented mind, is is a term of endearment.
    What people want at a time like this is a free market of ideas so they can make informed choices.
    Abusive language may make you feel good about yourself, but it does not take the Barbadian people any further.
    Let us get back to discussing ideas.

30. This should be the BU anthem

31. “Sunshine is racist though I know you will deny this”

Double LOL. H Austin…your ASS’s get better and better.

But yes, it does occur to me that the exchange between Curry and Are- we might well merit a comment from H Austin masquerading as expert or Joe Public – or from anyone else for that matter – and even a post to itself.

32. The comment of interest from PM Stuart last week went something like this:

The government has to keep its eye on the budget target and not succumb to the draw of humanity (words to this effect). The question is therefore why did this same thinking not apply 2-3 years ago when it was agreed that structural flaws existed in the economy and as they say one should not let a good crisis go to waste.

33. @ Robert Ross
    I do not understand your muttering, but I hope you do not come to Britain and call a young black man ‘sunshine’.
    May I suggest you spend some of the massive spare time you have reading something that improves your grey matter.
    Try some new ideas. Let’s discuss ideas.

34. H Austin

Now I understand your loathing of the ‘Sun’ newspaper. “Grey matter” – now that’s gotta be racist.

35. @ Robert Ross
    You quite clearly have a lot of time on your hand. Two can play this game. I am waiting to see the ten o’clock news, so keep me entertained.

36. Amazing.

37. @David
    “why did this same thinking not apply 2-3 years ago

An election was coming 🙂

38. It was rhetorical Observing to expose where loyalty exist. The interest of the people who politicians are suppose to serve is expendable. Some need to appreciate what is reality.

39. @ David
    The problem was that everybody was getting a bit of the action: the tourist industry, the big construction contractors were getting government contracts; those with connections were getting government jobs; the Cost-U-Less and Sandals of this world were getting tax breaks; individuals were getting knighthoods; ,
    It was not in anybody’s interest to remind the emperor he was naked. But it has come home to roost.
    As I speak, another British tourist has been murdered in St Lucia. We are killing the tourism goose.
    Part of the structural decay is the criminal justice system. Let us talk about improving that.

40. RR I don’t know about sunshine being racist but here are a few other things you should watch when and to who you say it like
    Pull your pants up
    No I don’t want a taxi
    Isnt that my wallet
    do you know where I can score some weed
    Quit grabbing your crotch

41. Lawson

Happy New Year. Yes…and how about “I like my chicken raw”?

42. Now the deep seated racism is coming to the fore in those people who claim to be lovers of Barbados.
    The first principle is to show respect. Trying to make light of racism is not funny. Why not go back to the N word?
    Scratch a liberal and a racist comes out. It follows as night follows day.

43. Oh dear……just trying to keep you “entertained” baby. It also follows as night follows day that if the sexiest woman in the world tickled H Austin’s balls he couldn’t find it in him to giggle. Oh what have I said…is H Austin….err….? Humourless Puritan yes, but not…….err

44. Here we go Hal….. I never mentioned black you are the one taking it that way…. I never mentioned Barbados …..you are taking it that way. You are the racist you have cried wolf so often you do not know what is racism and what is just an expression. Its guys like you that reveled in the hatred and derogatory terms used to describe COW’s wife without a second thought .If you are going to be two faced please use the other for your blog picture.

45. No need to attack Hal though he tried to insult me some weeks back. He means well, but, sadly, at times instead of writing what is, he writes what he feels it is. lol

46. I got it wrong. If the sexiest woman in the world tickled H Austin’s balls he wouldn’t remain silent. He would demonstrate his level of sophistication by moaning and saying “je t’aime” – but only because he’d heard Jane Birkin say it.

H Austin – seven minutes to go. Just time for a pee.

47. Robert …Happy New Year ….If some woman tickling Hal’s balls in bed …she is probably looking for the remote.

48. @Alarming
    Aie there is no scope for enforcing judgments , add to that the fact there is no scope for appealing a judgment

There are some Courts where the judgment is final, perhaps the legal minds on the Blog can provide some input.

49. Lawson

LOL. Nice. But you are right about that nasty episode involving poor, dear whatever her name was. I thought he was just courting cheap popularity.

50. David,

This was written over two years ago and the analysis stands. I won’ change a word.

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply