Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler held his much publicised news conference today and here is the question which BU hoped would have been answered – are we confident he and the government of Barbados are rolling out turnaround polices?  BU’s answer is a resounding NO!

Sinckler’s rumshop delivery when addressing serious matters  gripping the country did not impress. Delivered in a style more suitable to a political platform in Deacons his constant harping about how the media (VOB) treats with issues related to government’s handling of the economy and frivolous references about callers to the VoB talk show who in his view mashed the crease has reached a tiresome level.  Sinckler’s delivery was unflattering to those who have perfected the art of style over substance. His news conference was infected with a political undertone which derailed his weak attempt to raise the confidence of a rudderless nation. He gave the appearance of a garrulous old soul.

For the umpteenth time we heard there is a CLICO solution in the offing, the Barrack deal is still on the ropes despite repeated promises over the years by several ministers, and whither Four Seasons? We know these to be difficult times but Sinckler and the government’s willingness to overpromise and under deliver has now become an embarrassment.

The biggest disappointment is the off again on again approach to government’s decision to retrench 3,000 public sector workers . Sinckler confirmed that there is a meeting with the NUPW to discuss the matter on Thursday, really? What is the role of CTUSAB and the Social Partnership? If the government has to fill a 143 million dollar hole which must obviously include sending home public workers, why not appreciate that the Social Partnership should have been apprised at an early stage to co-opt its support? Perhaps if the consultative process was done less clandestinely the Opposition might have been persuaded to vote to amend the law to reduce salaries to prevent a DLP government  having to walk the same path as 1991. In the process saving a jobs.

Incoming head of the private sector agency Alex McDonald after a meeting with Governor Delisle Worrell today indicated the international reserves to be 13.5 weeks. We find this interesting when juxtaposed with Sinckler’s revelation that there was forex outflow immediately after the last general election. The question which the Governor needs to clarify in his upcoming economic review is to identify strategies used to stabilize the reserves. Is it as a result of loans or have the policies which the Central Bank put in place for quarter three done the trick? Frankly BU is a confused about our forex management.

BU agrees with the Minister of Finance that managing the economy in the prevailing climate is challenging, we believe the government has added to the problem because of poor execution. For our children’s sake we hope implementation improves in 2014. Especially with some new projects like the cement and WTE projects and a few others.

99 responses to “Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler’s News Conference”

1. Now that MOF has taken some of the “sting” out of the political rheoteric of the opposition one waits with baited breathe and anticipationas to what issus are left for them to wrap themselves in and unleashed another round of Verbal assulats on the economy.one can only hoope and pray that they would put country ahead of all else

2. Triangle Bangle Avatar

It wont take long, have you heard about the IMP/IDB proposal to the GOB which mandates the devaluing of the Barbados dollar by 50%? That only came out today.

3. Triangle Bangle Avatar

after politics Sinckler should open a rent-a-fool/rent-a-clown business………….that would be a major success and he aint even got to hire anyone else, just himself.

4. The Voters in 2008 and 2013 included a lot of people born in 1990

IGNORANT –UNINFORMED -UNAWARE
    1991 means nothing to them
    Richie Haynes called the 1988 DLP Budget , a backstreet abortion
    These things , they dont know. Somebody needs to write the stories, write the Histories

5. @ Gabriel, you are spot on – it was a pathetic display by “poor rakey” so called Journalists they are not worth a pint of …. where was Patrick Hoyos ? wonder if he was invited most likely not as his questions would have put the MOF under pressure.
    Competent journalists would have done their research and when the MOF make his statement they would have been in a position to pose the type of questions which would have put the MOF under pressure. Instead they served up a diet of full tosses & long hops to the MOF which allowed to hit them all over & out of the ground.

Even the great David Ellis was lukewarm in his performance
    , then again not surprising considering where his political affiliations are.

6. There is a meeting between the MoF and the NUPW today. BU advised Sinckler and the government to come clean about the 19 statutory entities being evaluated. When consolidation occurs more public officers will be sent home. They need to make sure the country does not have to go through this nonsense again.

7. Triangle Bangle Avatar

I have a question or two for Sinckler:-

reasons behind the recent sharp decline in foreign direct investment (USD 326m in 2012 to USD 74m in Jan-Sep 2013)?
    plans and measures to improve foreign direct investment?

8. Triangle Bangle Avatar

i) reasons behind the recent sharp decline in foreign exchange reserves (USD 729 mln at the end of 2012→USD 505 mln at the end of June, 2013 (import coverage ratio (foreign exchange reserves/monthly import volume): 3.1months))
    ii) any plans/solutions to improve situation of foreign exchange reserves (reducing fuel import seems the key element for the foreign reserve with diversification in fuel / sources of power supply)
    iii) Government policy for the appropriate level of the foreign reserve under the fixed exchange rate system

i) reason behind not to issue the USD500m euro bond recently
    ii) next bond issuance plan and schedule including use of funds and how to secure these repayment sources
    iii) any negative impacts in case of not issuing these bonds

the details of each existing loan extended by bilateral and multilateral organizations
    criteria and procedure to prioritize on each project for issuing Sovereign Guarantee within the Government

World Economic Environment and Barbados
     Euro/US economy situation and Barbados
    – impacts on followings by slowing down of Euro/US economic recovery due to US debt ceiling issue and forthcoming QE3 by FRB while Barbados’ deep linkage to these economies
    i) economy in Barbados especially on tourism sector
    ii) financial sector (bond issuance, financing and capital flow)

– detailed results from FY2009 to FY 2012
    – estimation for FY 2013 and the prospect for FY2014
    – factors of increasing of the current account deficits
    – plans / measures to reduce the current account deficits and its specific financing plans to fill the gap

9. Did any of our media practicioners asked about government’s plan liquidate UWI debt?

10. DAVID ELLIS IS A DLP SYMPATHIZER, SUPPORTER, SYCOPHANT, APOLOGIST AND OPERATIVE.
    ASK WHY HE HAD SO MANY DLP MODERATORS ON VOB IN THE PAST YEARS !

DAVID ELLIS ?
    CANT FOOL ME NOR PEOPLE WITH THEIR EARS OPEN
    TELL DENNIS JOHNSON TO DELIVER THAT MESSAGE TO HIM

11. people ,please take a look at the DLP ministers, one has deflated the rest will,,,,,,,,,,,,,,GOD is GOOD

12. From the speech

“We have acquired that Almond property …………Cabinet has signed off on the proposed financing arrangement for the build out of the new Sandals Beaches at Almond, with the Chinese Government”

When will Barbados taxpayers (owners of the property) be told the terms of the financing they will be saddled with?

Also from the speech

“We also know that a major new entrant into the construction sector will start operations during the first half of 2014 with the erection of the first Alternative Cement Factory in Barbados. This will not only bring foreign direct investment into the country; but also new technology that will drive down the price of cement”

Sounds like Government is out to whack Arawak

DD guesses the major new entrant into the construction sector will be The China State Construction Engineering Corp., which is100% owned by the Chinese government.

The press release will include “Several hundred Chinese workers will work alongside several hundred Barbadian workers over the life of the construction period.” ……….. The Export-Import Bank of China, which is owned by the Chinese government, is financing the factory.”

13. Yeah yeah ac haveheard it all …..ac even heard that pigs fly….

14. Some of us are wondering what the BIG BOYS at the FREEMASON GOTHIC TEMPLE in St. George are planning for the FUTURE of Barbados?

Both sides of the political aisle ALL have members at this HOUSE OF WORSHIP!

What hovers below the RADAR of mainstream political intrigue are the PLOTS, SCHEMES & SHENANIGANS of those who believe they PULL the LEVERS of social control in our country.

Maybe time for a discussion on who REALLY controls and RUN BARBADOS!

15. @ Just Asking, re David Ellis – check and see how many of the moderators Ellis had on VOB before the 2008 elections and who were rewarded by the DLP after the elections,, begin with Maxine McClean….

16. Satanic Temple unveils 7-foot goat-headed Baphomet statue for Oklahoma Capitol…

A satanic group unveiled designs Monday for a 7-foot-tall statue of Satan it wants to put at the Oklahoma state Capitol, where a Ten Commandments monument was placed in 2012.

The New York-based Satanic Temple formally submitted its application to a panel that oversees the Capitol grounds, including an artist’s rendering that depicts Satan as Baphomet, a goat-headed figure with horns, wings and a long beard that’s often used as a symbol of the occult. In the rendering, Satan is sitting in a pentagram-adorned throne with smiling children next to him.

“The monument has been designed to reflect the views of Satanists in Oklahoma City and beyond,” temple spokesman Lucien Greaves said in a statement. “The statue will also have a functional purpose as a chair where people of all ages may sit on the lap of Satan for inspiration and contemplation.”

The Satanic Temple maintains that the Oklahoma Legislature’s decision to authorize a privately funded Ten Commandments monument at the Capitol opened the door for its statue. The Ten Commandments monument was placed on the north steps of the building in 2012, and the Oklahoma chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union has sued to have it removed.

SEE MORE: http://www.cbsnews.com/news/group-unveils-plans-for-satan-statue-at-okla-capitol/

http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2014/01/06/satanic-temple-unveils-7-foot-goat-headed-baphomet-statue-for-oklahoma-capitol/

17. Some Barbadians especially the members and supporters of the Barbados Labour Party are a special breed. Time and time again calls were made for government to reign in its expenditure and to make adjustments. It is doing that now and at appears all hell has broken loose.
    If the government has not done anything it would have been criticized and now it is doing something it is still been criticized.
    Hon.Christopher Sinckler and Hon.Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and the rest of the great DLP team please continue the programme to restructure the Barbados economy and in the process safe Barbados from the horrors of a devaluation in our currency and hence a devaluation in our standard of living.
    It is noteworthy that not one commenter on this blog has put forward alternative suggestions to help rescue our economy.
    To all the BLP yardfowls and lackeys get with it the Barbados Labour Party is in opposition and will continue to be in opposition for a very long time. Barbadians do not want Mia Mottley,Owen Arthur and the political nincompoops of the Barbados Labour Party as a government of Barbados. We will swim or sink with the great Democratic Labour Party

18. You are a DLP stooge Negroman so what do we expect but the drivel that you write here.
    Your party forms the WORST GOVERNMENT IN THE HISTORY OF BARBADOS
    WITH THE WORST FINANCE MINISTER(name somebody worst) IN THE HISTORY OF BARBADOS
    WITH THE WORST PRIME MINISTER EVER-name anybody worst

FREUN-DUL STUART DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE

A GROUP OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE LIED AND LIED AND LIED –
    -L—I—A—R—S
    WHO SAID THAT THEY WOULD NOT LAY OFF WORKERS/ THAT IT IS THE OTHER SIDE (BLP) WHO WERE GOING TO SEND HOME WORKERS .
    THEY KNEW WHAT THE SITUATION WAS AND STILL INCREASE GOVERNMENT WORKERS BEFORE THE LAST BUY ELECTIONS
    AND LIED TO THE PEOPLE AND YOU NEGROMAN COME IN HERE TALKING CRAP

MAN CRAWL BACK UP IN YUH HOLE
    AND STAY THERE

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ANON | 07/01/2014 at 3:54 pm |

ANON, I am putting it to you that 99% of the black idiots who are financial contributors and misguided worshipers at that “FREEMASON GOTHIC TEMPLE in St. George” are woefully ignorant of what Freemasonry is all about; just like the millions of people who attend the so-called Christian Church without even understanding who or what they are worshiping or adoring.

There is no difference between the symbolic representation of Baphomet as a goat-head figure (Aries) and the Pope as a fish (Pisces) in the Earthly representation of Jesus Christ Lord & Saviour of mankind.

The psychologically important act of portraying the former ruling House as oppositely demonic is absolutely necessary in the process to control the thinking of man.
    Why do you think Moses the Saviour and Christ of his age is mythological portrayed as a destroyer of ideologies that existed under the Bull (Taurus) to make way for the domination of the ram or goat as ordained by Father Abraham depicted in the symbolic sacrifice of the lamb caught in the thicket instead of his son (like Jesus) representing the eternal Sun of Righteousness rising in the constellation of the Ram.

Same thing is happening to those under the loosening influence of the god Pisces, a fisher of mankind.

As you witness the dismantling of the aging House of Pisces it would be interesting to hear from you which watery and enlightening ascending House will rule mankind represented by the modern Satan in the form of the Internet.

In my Father’s abode. there are many mansions (houses).

Here is a hint for you, my most intriguingly intelligent friend:
    “On the first day of the Festival of Unleavened Bread, when it was customary to sacrifice the Passover lamb, Jesus’ disciples asked him, “Where do you want us to go and make preparations for you to eat the Passover?”
    So he sent two of his disciples, telling them, “Go into the city, and a man carrying a jar of water will meet you. Follow him.”
    Mark 14:12-13.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Negroman | 07/01/2014 at 4:51 pm |

Hi Negroman, what’s up with you?
    Why are you such a two-faced hypocrite?
    How come a “herbalist”- who likes to propagate the fields of St. John with indigenous seedlings only to be cut down in their infancy by backward guardsmen- is so ardently backing a man who yesterday made it clear the local mary jane will never rule Barbados to drive down the price of the imported version.

Are you forgetting your man Thompy, the Baron of St. John, promised you a free market if elected to high office?
    Why are you backing men who are not serving your interest, Negroman?

21. The IMF will revise UPWARD its global growth forecast in about 3 weeks says the Telegraph today.Year on year growth in 2013 quoted in October as 2.9% and 2014 of 3.6% will be revised UPWARD and will no doubt be a shock to the GoCB and the MoF. They cannot blame the world recession anymore.Fools! Everybody growing except BARBADOS,NORTH KOREA,HAITI, and SOMALILAND.You rotten DLP yardfowls see how wunna hoomiliate a once proud country and wunna manage to bring it to its knees.The DLP died with Errol Barrow.and foolish bajans still think the DLP is Errol Barrow like if he gine rise again.Fools!

22. IT IS TIME THAT FOOLISH BAJANS REALIZE THAT THE DLP OF TODAY IS NOT THE BARROW DLP
    HOW COULD PEOPLE BE SO STUPID
    ESPECIALLY THE BACKWARD JOHNNIES IN ST JOHN OF COURSE

AGREE WITH YOU GABRIEL

23. Cuba is way down the line too but is gradually making its way out of the Castro outdated philosophy and politics.Even as it is Cuba is attracting visitors in the millions.In another 5 to 10 years,the Yanks will be back there in full force and it will be curtains for tourism in Barbados unless we upgrade our 50’s, 60’s era plant and permit casino gambling on a controlled basis.

24. The rise in the value of the Barbados dollar in the last two years compared to such currencies as Canada, Japan, Great Britain and Brazil which in some cases has exceeded 25% should cause concern for us. Consider our tourism product to be an export and you will see that we have made tourism more expensive than other competing destinations who do not have a fixed currency regime.

But a more fascinating question that perhaps the Minister could explain is why have food prices risen so much when their landed costs, including a significant part of local input costs for things such as feed has gone down as a result of the increased value of the Barbados dollar.

25. Still waiting to hear a credible and sizeable spending cut proposal from the 14 BLP members in our Parliament.
    Sorry, that would be constructive politics and not the political opportunism which is the philosophy of this piss poor opposition.

26. A very good and informative news conference by Hon. Chris Sinckler. He speaks in a way that the average man can relate to. Let us all unite for the good of Barbados as we work hard to increase our productivity and boost our economic fortunes.
    This expenditure cut has to happen and it is sad that when the world economy was booming that the economic restructuring and diversification was not undertaken by the former administration.
    However, that time has passed and I have FULL CONFIDENCE that this Minister of Finance will take the bold decisions that need to be made for the long term health of our economy and society.

27. SithI am not sure if this will help but for poultry the price of corn went up because of a drought in the US by near 20% even though your dollar rose against other currencies the feed from US would have been more expensive.
    I am sick of this DLP /BLP , he is a crook, he is incompetent etc etc this is going to solve nothing. All these men are trying their best but they are in a bad situation. Thirty years ago I told my father inlaw Barbados was screwed, it was over priced then, I kept telling him once castro dies americans wont be coming here.(Not thinking he would last this long) Everyone can play the blame game hindsight is always 20/20 but everyone better get on board before it all ends. You have to cut costs plain and simple

28. BAJANFUHLIFE

YOU ARE BIAS !!!!

YOU NEED TO BE MORE OBJECTIVE–YES !

29. @Lawson
    I was at a Walmart recently and saw BBQ whole chicken for $4.58 each. I see them in Barbados as well but there they are about $15.00 US. Are US chicken eating different corn? Don’t think so. How the hell can chicken be 3 times the price in Barbados. Then I checked the price of rum at the same Walmart. A 1.75 litre of 5 yr old rum can be purchased for $13.48 us$. The cheapest 1.75 litre in Barbados is $20 US. And why did cars from Japan not go down 20% last year.. The Japanese yen did. I telling you there is a lot of money being made by some people. Cost of living was up about 12% last year in Barbados. Does that mean if we did not have this artificial increase in the value of our junk bond rated currency , cost of living would be up 25% in the year. Something very very wrong and the scary thing the FX reserve drop by $400 million and nobody know why?

30. Sith I am no economist, but we do have the same problem in Canada compared to US. The only answer I ever got was economy of scale, I guess more people buying keeps price down . Cost of shipping ,hydro ,wate r etc maybe more labor intensive, not as much automation, cost of insurance, different taxes etc I honestly do not know. No doubt certain people know how to make money, why does the price of gas jump every long weekend? In Ottawa the radio station tells where the cheapest gas is in the city every day maybe there can be a Barbados watchdog letting people know what is the best deal around on basics, in the end if people avoid places that gouge the price will come down. Years ago I thought I heard there was just one main importer of food for the island that kind of makes a captive audience
    Explain to me if you string 10000 concrete blocks together how that equals 500,000 US housing is way overpriced. It is much cheaper for me to rent than buyI wouldn’t want to be holding any realestate bought in the last 20 years in Barbados you may be getting a haircut sometime soon.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife | 07/01/2014 at 11:52 pm |
    “…. I have FULL CONFIDENCE that this Minister of Finance will take the bold decisions that need to be made for the long term health of our economy and society.”

Baje, we are prepared to express similar sentiments if only the same MoF would stop filling his “bottomless” goodie bag of projects ever time he speaks.
    What has become of the Sugar Cane Industry Revitalization project described in the DLP manifesto, confirmed in the Throne Speech, listed as a viable project in the 2013-14 Estimates as a way of returning growth to the economy as a major plant of the government’s alternative energy programme and confirmed in the August 13, 2013 budget a firmed-up project scheduled to start in December 2013?
    If this project has indeed fallen out of Santa Chris’s sack, Minister Estwick will certainly be hopping mad his sweet sounding gift has not been delivered he might just, once again, consider crossing over; with 16-1 = 15 = 14+1= DLP loss.

You mean to say things of so obviously corrupt in the DLP’s last term in office for the century that “preconco” known for its house building has followed Michael Lashes to the Pine and is now not only an Alternative Cement producer but a well-established and experienced road construction mogul to share in that $50 million (plus $10 million in overruns aka kickbacks). What’s the next move; construction of roads with Alternative cement?

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:

We notice your query regarding the journalists’ refusal to raise the issue of the UWI funding (now at crisis proportions and the MoF’s politically convenient omission to avoid that ever increasing crisis)- has not been taken up by some of your more enlightened bloggers.
    It would be interesting to hear Bushie’s views on this “oversight” by the MoF.

33. @Miller

Another issue is why the MoF would feel constrained to apologize to the unions given our touted social partnership. If does not make sense does it?

34. Triangle Bangle Avatar

Miller & David

Despite the recent polished political posturing of the MOF the truth is he will be overtaken by events shortly. One only needs to use OSA as the barometer to know that some very inclement weather is facing CS and the DLP.
    How the hell can he (of limited, very limited intelligent) prescribe the solution(s) when he is intellectually incapable of diagnosing the problem? Tell me, I am all ears folks.

35. Triangle Bangle Avatar

Sinckler did not create Barbados problems…………………he just made/ is making them worse, a lot worse.

We facing a lost generation folks.

36. @Triangle Bangle

Are you suggesting the solution to our economic woes rest only with the MoF?

37. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

No I think what he is saying is the MoF is incapable of helping with Barbados’ worsening financial situation. A resignation to IMF help bu the MoF is hard to stomach since it could have been avoided. However with that said, do you have confidence that the MoF has the mental capacity to negotiate the turbulent IMF white water river thereby helping Barbados to make it thru their rapids?

38. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

The time for political camouflage is over, we talk about losing a country and all its gains buddy.

39. Not sure how we measure capacity to confront a situation which all agree is unprecedented.

40. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

But David the Minister himself said Barbados has been thru this before came out of it. By his own account he does not see it as unprecedented, you understand the challenge?

41. What the minister can be interpreted to mean is that Barbados has had to confront economic challenges and we came through it. The challenge rather than the nature of it.

42. David
    The solution to our economic and social state of affairs rest with the selection of Owen Arthur at the helm of a united BLP administration.The unity is secondary as a lot of it is perceived gobbledygook fed by a disruptive group of the Fatted Calf Brigade.Arthur is the tour de force of a confident solution to our disgusting slide to ignominy led by wannabees never before seen in our short history of self governance Imagine a Barbados that has been governed relatively successfully from 1639 to 1945 by a Barbadian elite so called but which gave us the giant head start we have,and who reluctantly bowed to societal changes and external pressures and handed over the reins to a neo elite group from 1945 to 2007,who in turn handed over to an as-yet-undefined-lost-their way group in a maze in a daze and can’t find an exit.History will name them.
    Ross please say a prayer for Barbados,that we be rid of these idyuts dat leading we up a hill and down again and up again and down again,gine round in circles led by the pied piper of marchfield,your fellow pastor.

43. @Gabriel

Are you saying the Arthur is still in the frame from where you sit?

On 9 January 2014 21:43, Barbados Underground

44. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Stop man excuses for him David. You declare your indentity every you make excuses for him while not losing an opportunity to put a lash in FS or DE or DI.

45. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

He’s certainly sufficiciently in the frame to be able to reach out and clobber Mia.

46. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Mia knows this play book already the tragedy is she can’t do anything to stop the events. She must be able to salvage one from the other side to be able to remain at the helm of the BLP.

47. David
    Definitely so.The man was in fine fettle in his interview with Ricky.Ihave an opinion that is unshakeable.Owen Arthur is the one person that will sort out our problems and it is because of the confidence factor and the expertise he has shown in matters of Public Finance.The man is a scholar of repute and a politically savvy leader par excellance.I am in the business of seeing a prosperous Barbados and prosperous Barbadians.The DLP is bad for Barbados and Barbadians.Stuart and his substandard cabinet instill no pride in Barbadians.They are an embarrassment to us.

48. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Owen & ?

49. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Owen, Clyde and David?

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply