Henderson Bovell

All during 2013, the country was force to conclude that Donville Inniss might have been assigned a roll by Cabinet and the DLP – as “Mascot and political bully” and given a ‘free-reign’ to pick fights and launch unproved political-attacks, even on the BHTA, as a deliberate distraction tactic. Unfortunately, he and the DLP might have over-played his and their hand, when he purported to have a message for the very persons engaged in the Public Service, who the DLP “tricked” and “betrayed” into thinking that there would be no layoffs from the Public Service and that their jobs and employment would be safe, once they voted for the DLP in the February 2013 general Election.

In a previous article, I made the comment that: “it did not bother the DLP and it sure did not seem to have interest trade unions, the social partnership nor civil society – that it is an offence under section 6 of the Election Offences and Controversies Act to offer or accept employment in exchange for a vote.” It is now shocking that what appear to be general elections employment letters, with a “trademark DLP-shelf-life:” 31st December, expiry date -are beginning to surface. The country must now assume that at that date, there would be no more bush; drainage issues or dengue to be concerned about, in Barbados.

The response from NUPW General Secretary Dennis Clarke was quick and clinical: “If you’re looking for public employees who don’t work, you only have to look at those you brought….he is not fully aware of the content of the unions proposals and when he is talking, I would like him to be aware, because its people like him who have contributed to the mess in the public service….they’re things that I would not reveal, but they feel that they can buy land in secret and work it in secret – that can’t happen in this country!”

Mistrust; lost of confidence; frustration; anger and betrayal aside, the DLP has skillfully succeeded in subjecting the NUPW to public humiliation, with tremendous assistance from that union. This could only mean two factions operating and no ‘unity’ with in the DLP Cabinet. But, given the intimate relationship between the DLP and the NUPW, one is left to wonder if the NUPW was really caught by surprise or if it knew about the commitments the DLP gave to the IMF, in that black Friday ‘Statement of Intent’ even before the announcement was made in Parliament.

With Barbados essentially being run from Washington by the IMF, the country watched in disbelief as DLP deceptively gave a gullible trade union and trusting lover, false-hope that nothing was cast-in-stone; that there was ‘still room for discussion,’ or that what was announced in Parliament could have been changed.  Yet, the speed at which the DLP then brushed-aside proposals put by the same Union for discussion, signalled that all was not well and left the country wondering why was the DLP so “eager” to out-fox the union in public. The NUPW; workers and the electorate are in a key position to confirm that “used and discarded,’ seems to the DLP”s trademark.  The union now alleges that its back is against the wall but nobody really believes that and an alert Barbados does not agree that such an account –  is the true position in which the union finds itself! Seems more like: caught with its two feet on the ground; pants to its ankles but its back horizontal to the roof and no Vaseline on the scene!

This exchange between the DLP’s Cabinet and the NUPW is a disturbing public brawl, which offends the normal public quiet. Some may even say: ‘a lover-quarrel and a relationship gone sour’ because of public embarrassment the Union has been caused by Minister Inniss, apparently, speaking on behalf of the DLP’s Cabinet, since he is still a Minister, even after his unprovoked attack, notwithstanding the DLP’s promise; then betrayal and breach of trust, as regards, backing-away from its sacred commitment of “no layoffs.”

The country cannot be faulted for coming to the conclusion that the union has a lot of secrets holding for this failed-DLP-Government but that it may now have just-cause to feel as disappointed with and betrayed by the DLP, as a mere 200 (out of a possible 10,000 public workers) turning-up for a meeting – suggest how they also feel about the NUPW!

Still, Dennis Clarke’s response is a public rebuke and must be added to the growing list of actions; persons and entities, like: a capital flight; lost of investor and consumer confidence; downgrades by Rating Agencies, and scolding by the IMF and the Opposition – all of which constitute a public vote of “no confidence” in the DLP. The actors are different by the message is crystal clear and the same: the DLP is a-failed-and-useless-Government!  In the absence of sound leadership, even the Social Partnership is now imploding and with the country already adrift; in danger of becoming a failed society and staring a devaluation in the face.

Barbadians are being asked to make even more sacrifices but are left to speculate about what Mr. Clarke means, when he said: “they’re things that I would not reveal, but they feel that they can buy land in secret and work it in secret – that can’t happen in this country.”

The country seems shocked and caught by surprised that the NUPW has hinted that some 6,000 will be sent home by the DLP, perhaps only because Barbadians were ‘distracted’ by the 3,000 figure the media ran with. But,were the country paying attention, it would have noted that as far back as the August 2013 Budget, the Minister of Finance admitted that Government was borrowing some $14 million a month, just to pay 7,000 casual workers.

Alarming, considering that in 2007, the then BLP Government passed the Public Service Act, through which the Government of Barbados declared its intention to change the employment status of everyone working in the Public Service of Barbados, essentially from  ‘permanent contingency’ to  ‘security of tenure’ or from casual/temporary (once satisfying the qualifying conditions under the Act) to permanent. The BLP has always advocates ‘certainty’ so that people can plan their lives, and improve their circumstances.

In contrast, with an economy in decline and with no growth, taxpayers ought to be stunned, and demand to know how could 3,000; 6,000 any other frightening number of people – be employed by the DLP (in the public service  since January 15th 2008) when exactly 100 days after it was elected, the DLP triggered a meltdown of the Barbados economy when it increased the price of diesel by 77% and shortly thereafter, made things much worse with an inflationary budget, resulting in the economy going into recession by October 2008 and remaining in that predicament, ever since!

The economy was shrinking and added to that, it is clear that the DLP ignored the fact that it likes to tell the country that it was dealing with the worse global financial crisis know to mankind! Despite all of the above, the DLP recklessly opened the flood-gates to the public service after the tremendous pressure it received from its members after its 2009 Annual Conference, even though being aware that there was no money to pay them and nothing for them to do, especially since allocations to Ministries and Departments were being slashed and the Government was in retreat and not expanding, as regards the output of services to the people of this country – even welfare and poverty assistance being slashed. It is “Economics 101” that you can only employ in the Public Service if the economy is growing!

This country must therefore ask and based on the DLP’s promises of ‘freedom of information’ – must be told – exactly how many people the DLP employed in the public service since January 15th 2008 – as part of its reckless expansion policy and ‘fatted calf doctrine,’ which now has the country in serious trouble. It is also shocking that in an election year, the DLP would cause Government’s wage bill to rise to 10.3% of GDP, especially in circumstance where a wage freeze was in effect for the six years prior! If there was no increase in pay, then why was the wages and salaries bill, increasing? It is true that the lights have been turned-on and the NUPW has been caught in a compromising position but not with its back against the wall, as it alleges.  The NUPW was shy about anything!!!

Whether the DLP appointed its people ahead of those working legitimately before December 31st 2007, the principle of last-in, first-out, must apply, otherwise the DLP will run the risk of committing the country to more cost, as a result of lawsuits, especially when the amendment to section 112 of the Constitution (which prevents government from reducing the pay or the “STATUS” of a public worker to his disadvantage) is taken with literal intent of the Public Service, Act, 2007.  How can a person who the DLP eased-in during the election, find himself employed but a person working for ten years, before January 15th 2008 – find his name on the list to go home?

Given the absence of sound leadership in Barbados and before the country agrees to make any further sacrifice, it must demand that the public service be put back to its December 31st, 2007 position! The country must at the same time – demand to know – how many people were engaged in the Public Service, after January 15th 2008! It is no longer acceptable to have to wait for a lovers-quarrel and a falling-out between the Union and the DLP, to find-out that the union is holding and even in a perilous fiscal crisis with severe social, economic and political instability – seems prepared to hold even more secrets for this failed-DLP-Government, to the detriment of legitimate Public Servants, Taxpayers and Barbados

25 responses to “Laughing Stock: DLP Subjects Its Lover – The NUPW – To Public Humiliation”

1. Have people like you no shame? You must know that nothing your party has to say or has said or done could be in the interests of anybody but a narrow group of party hacks. You cannot be such an idiot, as your picture seems to suggest, trying to foist this tired political talk on Bajans. Could it be that a snake oil salesman like you was sent here to promote such a jaded party line because people are, in droves, getting ready to sink the establishment party lines. Parties that are more and more widely seen as more feckless than ever? How are the people of Barbados supposed to rid themselves of the relentless purveyors of ignorance and outright lies as come from you? You politicians with these smart man smiles on your faces clearly show intent to defraud the people of Barbados again.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Henderson Bovell @ Where the hell you came from , Now the new DBLP fffing up you now show up to make the people asses,
    We are glad BU put you on this site so we can see you , for what you are paid to be ,
    Hal also need to speak truth to make things happen ,Heading need to be base on truth and nothing vague and slide of mouth ,
    So who the hell is your PIMP master , ?

3. Pachamama:
    Don’t try to shoot the messenger. Just look around and see despondent people trying to come to grips with the eminent hardship that will befell this beautiful country of ours. You should also realise the youth have turn against the failure of this government after the many promises that have never come to fruition. Why don’t you ask yourself why staunch visible supporters like Reudon or Hartley are critical of this government. Ask why an intelligent forward speaking lady like Frances Chandler is critical of the administration. Come on Pachamama and others…. check with the behaviour of your children and grandchildren and you will find out that these kids are smarter than you might think and have come to realise that this country is economically slipping without an audible leader. Look around and see the yutes are following the revitalised party hacks.

4. TALK YUH TALK HENDERSON

ONLY DLP YARDFOWLS OF THE HIGHEST ORDER WOULD BE UNCOMFORTABLE WITH THE TRUTH THAT YOU BRING.

ALL RIGHT THINKING DLP SUPPORTERS KNOW THAT THE PARTY HAS NOT DONE WELL. A LOT OF THEM OPPOSED THEIR PARTY PRIOR TO THAT SECOND POLL BY PETER WICKHAM LAST YEAR BUT RUN AT THE LAST MINUTE AND VOTED IN THE LAST BUY ELECTIONS … ALONG WITH BUYING VOTES , THE DLP LIED TO THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS.—L—–I——-A———R———S

THERE SHOULD BE NO MORE DISCUSSION. BARBADOS MUST GO BACK TO THE POLLS NOW !!!!
    THE PRESENT MINISTER OF FINANCE IS THE MOST HATED PERSON IN BARBADOS. PEOPLE CANT EVEN STAND TO LOOK AT HIS PICTURE. THE PRESS CONFERENCE TOMORROW SHOULD BE THE PLACE WHERE HE ANNOUNCES HIS RESIGNATION.

WHERE IS PETER WICKHAM. ??? THERE IS NEED FOR A POLL
    SOME ENTITY NEEDS TO COMMISSION A POLL

IF ELECTIONS WERE CALLED NOW
    WHO WOULD WIN ?

I THINK I KNOW THE ANSWER.

AS FOR THE NUPW ?
    ELLIOT MY FRIEND FROM PRESCOD BOTTOM HAD THIS TO SAY ABOUT THEM. HE KNOWS BECAUSE HE WORKS IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE AND SAID THAT HE DECIDED EVER SINCE THAT HE WOULD NEVER JOIN NUH UNION
    These are his words
    WICKEDNESS, DECEITFULNESS AND LIES BRING KARMA THAT MANIFESTS IN DIFFERENT WAYS. DENNIS CLARKE GOT A WARNING BUT STILL CONTINUE WITH DECEIVING THE WORKERS

DENNIS CLARKE AINT NUH GOOD !!—-PERIOD !!
    THAT IS WHY JOE GODDARD WAS UNEASY ABOUT CLARKE TAKING THE LEADERSHIP OF THE NUPW, CLARKE NEEDS TO GO AND THE MEMBERS SHOULD CALL FOR CLARKE’S HEAD. JUST LIKE DAVID BOWEN LOST HIS HEAD IN 1991-94 DEBACLE AROUND THE NO-CONFIDENCE VOTE. CLARKE SHOULD BE FIRED —–SENT PACKING DUTY FREE CAR AND ALL.

IN SOME COUNTRIES , CLARKE AND MALONEY WOULD HAVE BEEN ——————————————————–

5. That should be
    N SOME COUNTRIES , CLARKE AND MALONEY WOULD HAVE BEEN

6. Michael Saunders Avatar
    Michael Saunders

Barbados, with those that have bought their way into power, has only one path to follow….and that path is down hill!!!!! With an international reputation of bribery of government officials and politicians and having those in power line their pockets at the expence of the common folk….well it goes without saying that this reputation is well deserved.
    With Tom Haughton being able to bribe his way to freedom through buying off government officials thus having the paperwork against him vanish….well it goes without saying just how low the country has slipped and just what well earned reputation that Barbados has earned for itself!!!!!!!
    Personally I would not trust anyone from this hideous barbaric island and those who are so blind that they allow their government officials to act in the mannerism that they are so well known for.

7. This is my first time on this site and I am saddened by the disconnect of persons so blind by partisan preference that they cannot be objective and rational in their approach to the issues faced by Barbados. The writer of the article reflects a realistic view and interpretation held by many at this point. There is considerable empirical evidence to support the position taken. Forget the partisan emotion and just state the facts.
    The DLP administration has not kept its word on two main pillars of its social contract with the people of Barbados.
    1. No jobs will be loss
    2. Open communication and transparency

I believe that if there was open and honest communication person may have been more receptive to the job cuts. But given the current choices being made it is hard to continue to trust an administration that does not communicate with its people. The results are not matching the talk. Dip said don’t panic. No jobs will be loss, I saw a lady wearing one of the shirts just the other day. Jobs are being lost and people are beginning to panic. Why?
    1. Fridge is empty
    2. Basic utilities are under threat of disconnection
    3. Creditors are calling

I am speaking from personal experience here. I was laid off during the Sandiford times and had to survive on hand outs from friends and family. I never got my unemployment cheques till almost 4 months after being unemployed. Today I am facing a similar situation. Although I have been preparing for this since 2008 when I saw the declines in customers and made all the cuts I could possibly make, I currently have nothing left to cut. There is more going out of my finances than what is coming in due to the increases in the cost of living over the past 3 years. It’s not the increase in light and water that has floored me. I can adjust for those increases by altering my food choices and general energy and water consumption. It is the compounded effects of increased road tax, increased land tax, increased vat, increased insurance, increased bank fees and no increase in salary. Like most other honest persons who will admit it, we are experiencing diminishing returns. Our incomes are not enough to cover the regular monthly commitments and the annual requirements as well. So as our cars get older and require more maintainance we have to choose between paying road tax or the increasing mechanic fees and car parts cost.
    As proud bajans we don’t let others know we suffering but daily I am more of others in the same place as me or worse. So let us put aside our partisan views and recognise that we are all suffering or will soon be there. Let us not continue on the same path of holding up a set of favoured few as Gods. They don’t come to my door and feed me, I don’t pray to them. I don’t want handouts either. I want them to do what they said they were going to do when they were elected. If they cannot do it I believe they should stop lying and pretending that all is well and step aside let someone else lead us out of this mess. If all is well for the Dlp supporters, good for you. But I am not a supporter of any one party, I have voted for both at some time in my short life and right now things ain’t good for me. I too waiting to see if I am going to be laid off again, and this time it is worst that back in the 90’s.

8. NUPW knew all along what was happening and what was going to happen ,do you recall that just before Christmas Dennis Clarke just after meeting with the CPO made a statement that he cannot say but that the workers should have a good Christmas ,he defended the Government on all fronts -yes Dennis,Maloney ,and Murrell knew all along but they were out fox by the government

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Patrick

Your honesty is note worthy but you cannot say the same for some on here. They are die hard supporters of these two crooked, lying parties who both grabbed as much as they could muster from their back hand deals to stem the tidal wave that is about to plunge our beloved island into a Cyprus like Greece Like state. But you know what Barbados will recover from this but it will not be at the hands of the DLP or BLP. It has to be with the formation of an interim government selected by the people but not from the ranks of none of these long standing crooked brutes. They have all taken advantage of Barbados for their own personal gain. That shit makes me mad.

10. Shantal Munro-Knight’s FIRING LINE takes aim at the NUPW today. The chickens are coming,,,chic chic chic

11. Caswell on on VoB today.

12. BU agrees with the view that local media should critique why the Unions were/have been silent when successive governments were padding the public service. It is time for some honesty.

13. So as our cars get older and require more maintenance, we have to choose between paying road tax or the increasing mechanic fees and car parts cost.
    As proud bajans we don’t let others know we suffering but daily I am more of others in the same

Hi Patrick
    I agree with everything that you have said. But you can sell the car and save on insurance , maintenance and Road Tax.
    Although things are hard , you can live and live good. There are things that we can be left out. Grow some food; Forget fast food; the expensive phones. Do like the Indians , wear clothes where you dont know if they have one suit or or six suits.

The DLP has failed us as a government. No reason now to dream . Wake up to the reality and get back to basics. There is nothing wrong with riding bicycles or motor-cycles or walking for that matter. Some of us are shame to catch a bus, ZR or walk. This stupid mentality pervades the society.

14. Caswell is sharing licks left right and centre on VOB this morning,the producer is busy with the blips…lol. the only let down is that he has not use the opportunity to shout out the BU family.

15. Yes BU, Caswell sharing real licks. I hope the relevant persons are listening and more so the WORKERS. Getting ready for the final session after the news

16. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

Oppressive DLP Creates a Fiscal Crisis and Again Punishes the Innocent for its Crime and Recklessness

How the hell could the DLP be allowed to get away with such a vulgar and horrible crime against Barbadians and the region! Where is the social justice and accountability?

Has Barbados become a banana republic and a place where the innocent pays and are punished for the atrocities of the wicked?

Because of the DLP, the whole world now thinks regional leaders and Governments are incompetent at economic leadership and management!

We have to be candid about what has happened and why Barbados now finds itself in this sorry mess and perilous state, where thousands of Barbadians are being subjected to an unknown period of human suffering and a life of poverty, with no light in the DLP’s tunnel.

There has to be a point beyond which, failure to accept sound, well-reasoned advice, from experienced professionals, including those who have “successful-actual on-the-job experience” – constitutes criminal negligence.

This-failed-DLP-Government ignored sound advice and persisted with its ‘fatted calf doctrine’ and political entitlement programme. It then recklessly mismanaged the economy and borrowed like there was no paying back, even borrowing more in four (4) years than the BLP did in fourteen (14) but, unlike the BLP – with nothing to show!

It is now borrowing to pay-back money it already borrowed and to prop-up the foreign reserves it squandered.

This is so not cool! This DLP needs to be reeled-in before it does further damage to Barbados and the region!

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

henderson bovell | 05/01/2014 at 1:01 pm |@ If the DLP told the truth , then you would have to eat all those words, If you say they did this then what is to happen to the BLP where it all started , The DLP gilt is not to put charges on the MIA and OWEN ,The to let the DPP and the AG do there work , The to let the people KNOW what was done and when , The DLP is guilty of cover- up and covering up for the BLP and its Minister lawyers and friends,
    How much is MAI and OWEN paying you , not to think , know or learn and to jump on BU barking more misleading tales,
    We know you have to be smarter than what you are writing ,
    Just for the good of Barbados and Bajans , try to look at FACTS and stop the long talk of lies,

Do you have a deed? find the root title for your deal to the PLANTATION DEED and then ask questions , lets start with your AG MIA .
    We will be here to pick you apart each time you are wrong, If you are married please ask your wife to help you .

18. EVA BODY GROANING BOUT 3000 BEING LAID OFF
    WHEN OTHERS HAVE GOT LAID OFF BEFORE AND HAD TO RAN AWAY FOR SURVIVAL, NO ONE GROANED………NO ONE MISSED THOSE WHO HAD TO RUN FOR COVER

I FIND THIS ALL SO VERY FUNNY
    WUNNA COULD CUSS ME ALL WUNNA LIKE BUT MANY HAVE TO GROAN

19. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

Everybody know that the DLP made bad decisions; exercised poor judgment and introduced flawed policies, on a sustained basis – often achieving the opposite of what was intended.

As an example, it introduced policies to reduce the deficit but it increased. The rate of poverty also increased. Unemployment did not come down, instead more ended-up on the bread-line and thousands and being sent home, all now.

Even “IF” it had the capacity to, (nobody believes it does) it was too busy complaining, making excuses and wasting time, to conceptualise viable, economic policies that would have ensured trade and fiscal sustainability. It therefore caused the country to be downgrade to ‘junk;’ a loss of consumer and investor confidence; a capital flight from Barbados; a number of businesses to close or to simply leave Barbados and set-up elsewhere.

The DLP is therefore, totally responsible for this perilous fiscal crisis, which now grips this country.

20. aBajan New Yorker Avatar
    aBajan New Yorker

For people to learned things like this has to happen, therefore am glad it has come to this. I guess all the partying and alcoholic beverage drinking will come to an end and most people will awake to a sober mind set.

“JUST ASKING on 05/01/2014 at 12:32 pm”
    For once in my life being on BU I agree with your above comment. Can you do me a favor and not type in all caps regardless of how mad or upset you may be. When I see such I just skip over your comments.

21. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

Very few would deny that this-failed-DLP-Government’s expenditure fiasco is caused primarily by its “flawed fatted calf doctrine and political entitlement programme,” which the country is now finding-out – has resulted in the reckless over-employment in the public sector, by stealth, over the past six years.

It did not interest the DLP that its secret was bound to come to light and that it would have a devastating knock-on-effect since it would also drive the deficit, in circumstances where such would neither stimulate nor stabilize the economy. It was long after the damage was done that the Finance Minister was forced to admit that the DLP’s flawed policy (my emphasis) is causing Government to borrow $14m a month, to pay 7,000 casual workers.

It should have been foreseeable that such reckless borrowing (not to build productive capacity) would incur high interest cost and an increase in the National debt, without justification. We then had the vulgar printing of money by the Central Bank of Barbados, which in turn – is putting pressure on the foreign exchange; causing investor and consumers to get glittery and may have even been a factor in the capital flight from Barbados. All along the Opposition was raising the red flag and sounding the alarm but nobody – not even the unions or the electorate, listened or was interested.

22. It’s hard to tell whose opinion this is, but is it Henderson Bovell’s first sentence in the post that starts this thread?

“All during 2013, the country was force [sic: he means “forced”] to conclude that Donville Inniss might have been assigned a roll [sic: now, er, would that be a bread roll or some other baked delicacy?; or should it be a “role”?] by [randomly capitalized, omit definite article] Cabinet and the DLP – as [randomly capitalized] “Mascot and political bully” and given a ‘free-reign’ [sic: you need a couple of minutes to look up the difference between a “free reign” and a “free rein”, neither of which require a hyphen?] to pick fights and launch unproved political-attacks [sic: redundant hyphen], even on the BHTA, as a deliberate distraction tactic.”

My goodness, man, if you’re going to get so hostile right out of the gate, in the very first sentence, and start talking about laughingstocks, you really need a first sentence that surpasses the writing level of an average 12 year-old.

And a tip: if you’re not really sure about the difference between “reign” and “rein”, it’s never a good idea to draw attention to it by sticking inverted commas around it, especially if the inverted commas are laughably redundant.

But all best wishes for 2014.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jack Bowman | 06/01/2014 at 7:21 pm |
    “All during 2013, the country was force [sic: he means “forced”] to conclude that Donville Inniss might have been assigned a roll [sic: now, er, would that be a bread roll or some other baked delicacy?; or should it be a “role”?] by [randomly capitalized, omit definite article] Cabinet and the DLP – as [randomly capitalized] “Mascot and political bully” and given a ‘free-reign’ [sic: you need a couple of minutes to look up the difference between a “free reign” and a “free rein”, neither of which require a hyphen?] to pick fights and launch unproved political-attacks [sic: redundant hyphen], even on the BHTA, as a deliberate distraction tactic.”

Hello, Jacko the sicko.
    Don’t you know that the pot should never call the kettle black or people who live in glass houses should not throw stones?

Why don’t you review your excessively long sentence quoted above and tell us idiots if it meets the high standards of grammar you try to peddle on this blog?
    Is it “neither of which require” or is it “requires”?
    However, we will not focus on such minor trivialities (use of redundancy of course, for good effect) but merely ask you to make a contribution to which people will be compelled to respond.

24. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

HENDERSON BOVELLL…U ARE THEMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! everything u wrote is absolutely correct…

Patrick | 05/01/2014 at 7:50 am |
    I feel ur pain but put down the vehicle if it is possible and prepare for work at least an hour earlier than normal, leave home in time to get an early bus and while u are on the bus enjoy the ride and scenery as u go, it is very therapeutic…plant as much as u can, make ur own bread etc, believe me, there are ways of getting around this problem, u just have to be open to trying something different

25. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

DLP Invites Unions to Play a Game of: “Political Circus, Distraction, False-Hope and Gimmicks.”

A politician in this country once said that he does not know that they taught “treachery” at Foundation School! That may very well be true but the DLP is playing a very dangerous game it will not win and Rating Agencies will not find its loose conduct, amusing! Any moment now, rating Agencies may cause Barbadians to be reminded that this is a time for serious people; serious policies and serious policies.

Everybody around the world know that the DLP cannot be trusted! It spent thousands of dollars in radio, television and newspaper ads, for some three weeks during an election campaign, to make sure the entire country got its message – that if they vote for the DLP, their “employment” in the public service will be safe and that there will be no layoff and no privatization. That turned out to be a hoax; a cold act of betrayal and a horrible lie!

No one can be faulted for coming to the conclusion (having seen the DLP’s approach to governance) that unchecked ambition can be a very dangerous and corrupting force, especially when not balanced by talent or sound economic leadership skills and it would seem that such a deficiency leads to a form of inherent cruelty to betray, trick and mislead.

This country must stay focused and be candid about what has happened and why Barbados now finds itself in this sorry mess and perilous state, where Barbadians are being oppressed and subjected to an unknown period of human suffering and a life of poverty, with no light or hope – in the DLP’s tunnel.’ What went wrong has to be determined so it can be properly corrected and avoided in future. It would be hilarious that people who do not even know or seem willing to admit that they triggered and have now manufactured an economic disaster – could be seriously expected to fix it.

It would be shocking if the unions cannot figure-out that the DLP’s expenditure fiasco is caused primarily by its “flawed fatted calf doctrine and political entitlement programme,” which the country is only now finding-out – has resulted in the reckless over-employment in the public sector, by stealth, over the past six years. It did not interest the DLP that its secret was bound to come to light and that it would have a devastating knock-on-effect since it would also drive the deficit, in circumstances where such would neither stimulate nor stabilize the economy. It was long after the damage was done – that the truth escaped and the Finance Minister was forced to admit that the DLP’s flawed employment policy (my emphasis) is causing this-failed-DLP-Government to borrow $14m a month, to pay 7,000 casual workers.

But it should have been foreseeable that such reckless borrowing (not to build productive capacity but to pay current bills) would incur high interest cost and result in an increase in the National debt, without justification. We then had the vulgar printing of money by the Central Bank of Barbados, which in turn – is putting pressure on the foreign exchange; causing investor and consumers to get glittery and may have even been a factor in the capital flight from Barbados. Our trade unionists are not rookies! That all this would truly escape them, may suggest time for retirement.
    Despite having tricked bajans with it “90-and-100-day-deception-promises” and having tricked them again with its: “no layoff and no privatization” gimmick, the unions seem to have cultivated a false sense of security much like King Duncan felt at the home at Macbeth before he was murdered. It is almost alarming – the unjustified and remarkable degree of blind trust and confidence the union seem to be placing in utterances and gestures from this same DLP which tricked the country several times already. Yet, such blind trust represents a courtesy – which a downgrade-after-downgrade and a capital flight – implies that neither Rating Agencies; investors nor those who know why a $1.7b Foreign Currency Account, recently had a mere $300 – seem prepared to extend to this DLP.

It is nothing to laugh at! The country is already aware but at some point, the union has to figure-out for itself, that it is being played and that there is no prize for being gullible or a willing participant in a national distraction gimmick or a circus of false hope. Still, it is curious why seasoned trade unions, who have times more experience than the rookies within the DLP – could find themselves in such a gullible position, to feel that the DLP and not the IMF, is the one currently running Barbados.

People were suppose to go home by January 15th but in circumstance where there would not have been given sufficient notice, contrary to the Employees Rights Act. To now adjust the date to the end of April, may simply be a ploy by the DLP to ensure that there is no additional cost for failing to give adequate notice. In the meanwhile, the debt will increase because borrowing $14m a month to pay 7,000 casual workers – as the Finance Minister has already admitted – is no laughing matter.

The DLP gave the IMF a firm commitment in a ‘Statement of Intent” on black Friday that it will trim expenditure within expressed time-lines, but now fearing the unions will march, as happened in 1991, it seems to be inviting them to attend meetings – creating the false impression that there is hope for the workers it plans to fire, even though having already determined that it will slash expenditure by some $143 to $168, in a full financial year, (April to March) essentially – unbloating the Public Service with the people it bloated it with, since January 15th 2008 and even during the recent general election. The DLP has nothing to lose once they qualify for pension. And if the DLP can trick the union long enough to be allowed to loiter around to qualify, then they win! The only loser here will be workers and Barbados.

Treachery and ambition is a dangerous brew! The unions do not seem to be learning from history! There was only one reason why Macbeth and his wife invited the King Duncan to their Castle. Sending home the people the DLP bloated the public service with – has already been determined. Unions are only being invited to a meeting as a show to the world, the IMF and Rating Agencies – that dialogue is taking place and that a so-called Social Partnership is still in place. It is a circus but the DLP has to get the union to play the game of “circus, false hope and gimmicks” and the union does not seem to mind one bit!

And naturally, the DLP also has to have somebody to blame for the downgrade, which is coming and that’s where the union comes in.

Leave a Reply to PatrickCancel reply