Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
As we recover from the exuberance of the seasonal celebrations, we still have to face the reality of tough decisions as a nation. There is no hiding place, it is as Frank Sinatra said, the end is near and we are facing the final curtain. So far, predictably, neither our political leaders nor policymakers have indicated that the urgency of the situation has struck home. They are behaving as if time waits on the slothful, Barbadian workers and their arrogant and obstinate representatives before moving on. We only have to read the nonsense talked by the general secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (didn’t they get a Bds$6m loan from government? If so, why?)

Of the workers sent home from the drainage department, he is reported as saying: “They would have been given fixed term contracts and in a lot of cases with the people from Drainage, their fixed term contracts would have come to an end on the 31st day of December. “Nobody is looking at the fact that these are persons who would have been on four, sometimes five years, in a temporary situation, who, in my view, should have been appointed to the post that they were in.” What an admission of incompetence, of poor leadership, of betrayal of his own members. When did he realise that these temporary workers were in such contracts? Why, as union leader, did he not resolve this matter, and forcefully?

Of course the workers should not be on such long-term contracts. More than six months in an acting position should be confirmed as a permanent job. We now have a society in which even those in good, secure public sector jobs, with ‘guaranteed’ salaries live in fear of the sack, traumatised by the reality that they are only two or three pay packets away from destitution. A society in which envy, greed, bitterness have replaced dynamism and talent; one in which more energy is expended on being resentful of one’s neighbours’ material possession than in trying to improve one’s own intellectual and career prospects.

Leadership:
We now have a government, a nation, without any real leadership. The prime minister, by far the worst we have had since constitutional independence, and indeed of all out post-wear premiers and prime ministers, remains silent, while Donville Inniss takes the platform. His recent call for a reduction in the size of the state was, apart from other things, an invitation for a national debate. But, in typical Barbadian debating tradition, most commentators preferred to concentrate on Mr Inniss as a personality than of what he actually said. Quite often Mr Inniss shoots from the lip, but his regular intervention in public discussion – ignoring the traditional Cabinet portfolio responsibilities – showed that there is a vacuum at the very top of government and nature abhors a vacuum, and at least he is thinking about his role as an elected representative.

In the absence of much-needed dynamic there is therefore no programme for restructuring the public sector, nor indeed for rebalancing the economy. But the bandits are coming out of the woodwork, with some of the more unscrupulous employers threatening that if they do not get new (and obviously bigger) state contracts they too will have to offload some of their workers. In simple terms, these bandits are prepared to blackmail the government when it is at its weakness. Some of may like to think that consecutive BLP and DLP governments have brought this industrial relations thuggery on themselves, but it is ordinary people who suffer and that is of concern.What is needed in the early part of Q1 is a proper grown-up analysis if the local, regional and global economies and our place in this new picture.

Despite what party-supporting fanatics may think (my wife is an Arsenal supporter I know about fanaticism), the brutal truth is that we need an intelligent, secular analysis out of which policies must be drawn. Instead of rhetoric about a ‘green economy’ a competent and dynamic leader would have introduced the broad outlines for a green economy within 100 days with a broader and more detailed programme for this session of parliament. It does not take a genius to work out our environmental needs: waste recycling, coastal fish stock, energy needs, and so on.

Self-Help:
In the absence of progressive monetary and fiscal policies from the authorities ordinary Barbadians have stayed rooted in the middle of the road as this uncontrollable financial crisis descends on them like an avalanche. There have been no attempts to form social enterprises, no entrepreneurial individuals have seen it necessary to small businesses to replace some of the imported goods and services, consumers are still addicted to buying expensive, imported produce rather than form local farmers’ markets. Those of us who prefer to go shopping in the markets rather than in the supermarkets get the impression that local consumers perceive market shopping – other than for fish – as second rate, inferior, to the supermarkets. Are you suggesting to me that a security firm formed of former police and Defence Force staff cannot be given the contract for the Grantley Adams International Airport instead of G4S, a British companies with a sticky record against black deportees?

Analysis and Conclusion:
We have failed even to develop our only world-class product, rum; concentrating on so-called tourism, which is the addiction of policy-free politicians and senior civil servants. It is an intellectually easy option. Typically, there has been much rhetoric, loads of promises, but in the end nothing has been done. One course of action the ministry of finance should urgently consider is imposing a windfall tax on all foreign-owned banks based in Barbados, with the size of the tax based on annual turnover, rather than declared profits. If these banks are prepared to extract maximum profits from Barbadian savers without making any real contribution to the financing of small and medium enterprises, then government has a moral duty to compel them to pay a one-off levy. This should be followed with the imposition of tough new restrictions on what these institutions could claim as exemptions in future. This tax can then be used to fund a retail balance sheet bank, which would provide the financialisation that is so badly needed.

Of course, our academic economists, who act as advisers and party apparatchiks, still have a resistance to specialising, especially in areas such as housing and tourism, which are central to social and economic development. So, once more, the urgent need for widespread urban development is not even on the agenda – or either party. There is no discussion of inflationary expectations or of inflation targeting, so very little evidence of the assumptions underlying our economic forecasting. So far the DLP government, the BLP opposition and the Social Partnership have failed to come up with positive ideas. The crisis facing the nation is not the result of any global economic problems, but the flaws in our parliamentary democracy which are some of the biggest hindrances, not only to the quality of public debate, but to the overall development of our democracy. Every week members of parliament meet and what passes for debate is the usual ping-pong of personal abuse and yaboo shouting. And, they get away with it because the nation is anaethetised to the poor quality discussions in what should be the nation’s premier debating chamber.

Let me end by quoting David Cameron, the British prime minister, who said in his parliamentary tribute to Nelson Mandela: “Progress is not just handed down as a gift; it is won through struggle of men and women who refuse to accept the world as it is, but dream of what it can be.” For prudent and responsible families, this is a time to batten down the hatches and prepare for rough seas, no matter how much money you have in your safe. There are stormy seas ahead. In the final analysis, ordinary voters must make their feelings felt, they must demand more from their elected officials and public servants. If they do not, then the bell will toll for all of us as a nation.

In the meantime, have a happy and wonderful new year.

144 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Barbados is Facing the Hour of Decision”

1. @ David
    Everything this man says fails to properly measure the broader effects. He just throws out singular, tried and worn out policies, that in the main do more harm than good. Any significant reduction in excise duties framework across the board, all things remaining equal, will really sink things even faster. This linear, one-dimensional thinking is largely unhelpful and changes nothings.

2. @ David

That is true about the import cost of cars regarding duty but how about having these cars at no duty whatsoever http://money.cnn.com/2014/01/02/autos/ford-solar-car/.

There would be a massive amount of FX that would be saved by having “zero” energy costs. Iceland is 80% of the way to their energy goal. The government would simply have to get along without the duty from importing vehicles which in turn would force them to be more efficient and reduce spending on non important things. We need some powerful and dynamic thinkers and leaders in the government. Sadly we don’t have any, or at least none of come to the forefront. The Financial Times interview with the PM is very telling. A little scary to think that this is the individual who will be negotiating our future with the IMF

3. Should have said, debt to GDP ratio (1000%)

4. @Hal

The point is that the high duties final cost of vehicles taken into consideration Barbados is fully served by traffic congestion? Where is the logic reducing the cost fossil driven vehicles?

5. Realities
    This is a list of measures taken by other countries who have taken the IMF route.

Cut Government (public service budget) by at least 20% with IMF bosses sitting in Ministries to ensure compliance.
    ‘Haircuts’ ie the seizing of bank deposits in excess of $x (in Barbados probably $80,000- 100,000.) You will get it back when and if the economy turns round.
    Layoffs (15% of public workers about 5,000)
    Cut social services like free bus fares and grants
    Possible reduction in pensions for high earners
    Increase VAT and jail non-payers
    Tighten tax loop holes Jail non-payers
    Restrict foreign exchange per person ($1,000 US per annum)
    No hiring of new staff in public service
    Charges for certain hospital treatment

6. Inthe end bubbados only saving grace might be China. bills have to be paid…an economy built on quick sand and tilted on one side needs to be diversified. IMF solutions on the other hand are bitter and short termed…. only gonna help the captalist more pain and no gain for the economy……..wunna could baulked all wunna want .money is the only solution and china got plenty to spare……..Sooner or later wunna gonncome round to that reality…..in the meantime keep spinning wunna wheels.

7. “Inthe end bubbados only saving grace might be China. money is the only solution and china got plenty to spare……”

Spoken by a true 2 cents street walker ! Wunna vex with the Trinis BUT you prefer to tek on a Chinese John !

8. Sith said

The Financial Times interview with the PM is very telling. A little scary to think that this is the individual who will be negotiating our future with the IMF.

Actually a lot scary.

And the same individual, who would have been heading Stuart, Sealy, Sinkler team that negotiated the great giveaway to Butch.

9. Well america have no qulams working wid china………they understand the process of having to fed the family when the pantry is empty. look at the alternative. DO or DIE……

10. In the Financial Times interview the PM said

“We do not feel threatened by China”

He had better rethink dealing with that loan shark.

11. “We do not feel threatened by China”
    “Leroy Parris is no leper he is my friend”
    ” I haven’t seen the report”
    ” There will be no UWI fees”
    ” There will be no lay offs”

Can this BOLD FACE LIAR be trusted ? NOOOOOO!

12. Shiite Islandgal, that 2X4 of yours smoking today….. 🙂

13. The issue is not only about paying bills as some are saying, it is also about behavioral, governance, economy restructure changes and other issues which have to be managed. Getting China to provide funding does not address the fiscal and social indiscipline which we have been unable to manage. Both parties.

14. Indeed. David, giving money to a fool only gets him into deeper trouble….
    Bet you ain’t know that it was the lotta money from VAT that got the BLP’s donkey in trouble….

The solution is not about money, but to GET the FOOLS out of office and install a SENSIBLE system that identifies and promotes wisdom and competence……
    Steupssss
    …but where ignorance is bliss Bushie is only a shiite trying to be otherwise 🙂

15. @dercris

Seize deposits? You have to be crazy!

16. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; Do you have access to Mary Redman’s statement on behalf of the BSTU re. the possibility of temporary teachers being caught in the net of this first round of layoffs despite promises to the contrary by various Ministers.

I heard some of it on VOB and it was very well crafted and powerful. The first statement on this matter by a Union leader that makes sense and pulls no punches (outside of Dennis Clarke’s heartfelt response to Minister Donville Inniss’ utterings, that is)

17. @Islandgal246
    I know come back from the streets of Bridgetown to see your SOS. The Fan needs some good stew peas and pigtail to keep his ass quiet.

18. I agree. Wish she was the head of NUPW. At least she has some fortitude.

19. AC your government ent tired whoring? De cat/dog dun get pong flat it ent got nuh more life. No one wants an ole swibbly whorianna or giggaloo.

20. Dem want FRESH MEAT !

21. @Are-we-there-yet

Do a check of their website, don’t have it, yet.

22. If we were in a perilous state in 2008,given the conditions, one could argue we have always been in such a state; and undoubtedly in an even more perilous situation. The truth is that the foolish policy prescriptions MCG promotes are pie in the sky ideas that would not improve our “perilous” situation.

23. aaaam how are the electric cars recharged?

24. @pachama
    Amen. I have said it numerous times before.

25. You forgot TALENT.

26. @are-we-there-yet

Check vob929.com brasstacks is posted there for download Her call was just after 11:30 [if I remember correctly]

27. @enuff

Concessions on electric cars would have to be complemented with similar home RE system.

28. Don,t worry the hotter the pain.the more China gonna look Real good..

29. Wuhloss………Sir Roy and Dennis teaming up to prevent public scetor job loss? Dawg Fight ’bout here. It brutal. I hope Shanique Myrie know that Barbados ‘brekk’. People getting layoff so she cant get no money.

30. After twenty – six years of being in the Union. I’ve learned not to trust the Union, because of its duplicitous dealing with management. More than often the Union is in bed with management, especially when it comes to drafting Union policy. Remember, the Union is there to make profit and as long as it have gotten you business it is business as unusual.

31. What “givebacks” can the Union possibly negotiate with government to prevent public sector job loss? The Furlough option doesn’t possibly go far enough, so this leads me to concluded that job retention is going to be an impossibility.

32. The NUPW seems to be attacking workers rather than defending workers. Dennis Clarke attacked the Permanent Secretary -Drainage
    The Permanent Secretary is an employee of Government too
    or is it that the PS is Management. I am confused.

Then the NUPW through Dennis Clarke attacked the workers at the Hospital saying that Donville Inniss brought them and something about workers clocking in and going back home. Does he represent some of these workers ? The trouble with people like Dennis Clarke is that they play so many games that they do not know which game to play now so they are fooling around with words and talking baloney . Dennis Clarke’s statements are bewildering . He seems to have lost it. Not sure if he ever had it.

I went to the Bridgetown Port collecting a barrel and heard some of the Customs Officers denouncing Clarke and the NUPW. They were saying something to the effect that the Comptroller mash up Vat and they bring she to totally destroy Customs. They were saying that she does not know what she is doing and should be moved and moved fast before everything collapse and that Dennis Clarke should talk about that and stop attacking the Officers.

The Unions get lambast by George Belle. What is really happening to Barbados ?

33. PIMP TITLES OUT OF ENGLAND

Sick Sick people holding onto these titles . Craving them and parading on other people. When you have people of this Ilk running a country or influencing those who run the country, yuh know that we have problems.These people have not accepted themselves and crave validation from Europe. What a sorry bunch.

When you hear Sleepy Smith , for example speak and the tone he uses , the words he uses to refer to others in a derogatory manner , you get a good example of how nasty Barbados used to be as far as Discrimination is concerned. I hate to hear Sleepy Smith speaking about people in derogatory terms. Sleepy Smith sounds very snobbish, discriminatory and someone who likes to talk about low-class and upper class and a lot of nonsense. And he loves his title—SIR-

34. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Jason Price | 03/01/2014 at 7:19 pm | Reply @@We know Sleepy Smith Well ,and is at the roots of this massive land fraud , Family to Beatrice Henry and had to call her Aunt, He wrote the Will for her and charged her 4000 for an Estate Will,he was mad for he did not get when she died as he wanted and grudge her and Violet Beckels , His Brother warned his to what he was doing was wrong , The Same man that wanted to be GG and acted like he was not friend to David Simmons EX CJ who is also part of this crime that is part of the CLICO and massive land Fraud going on,
    This is Big part of the pain that Barbados is dealing with NOW. Lay off , get off , and go home , Unions dealing with today 2014/
    Have a TOP EYE open for those with TITLES OF THE CROWN BOUGHT AND PAID FOR ,WITH NO VAT, TAXES , SHAKE OF HANDS DEALS ,
    ALL THE CROOKS with title sold out the people like Sir Allen Standford and a jail bird , title bought as the rest of them are , trust none of them even in the Union ,
    1199 Union in New York as the New York Blood Center also crooks , sold out the workers for back deals , I know them well , first hand information,

PIMP TITLES OUT OF ENGLAND@ these same PIMPs now want control of the slavery funds to be paid out to 120,000 persons at about 1.5 billion dont know if that is pounds and bds or ec , it need to be in pounds.
    2013 to 2023 is given to be paid as they fly to different CC island counties looking for ways yo get a hold of the funds to put in there own pockets,
    More long talk by crooks,,
    Just pay who on this list and be done , then take your crown off this island , for no one is to benefit from CRIMES, OF FRAUD AND SLAVERY,
    As you can see the crown is not policing their crooks , lawyers, GG, PM , Minister and Senators ,

35. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David et al;
    Looks like the battle royal with the Union is beginning to take shape. Mary Redman’s statement on Brasstacks today was the opening salvo and the news tonight that Sir Roy and Dennis Clarke were joining forces to defend the workers was another. Government has unwittingly created a Union partnership that can work against a smooth implementation of the layoff and other policies since it appears to have been, as usual, totally inept in handling the situation. Look for it to get worse since they seem unwilling to disclose to the Social Partnership the full reasons for their having totally departed from DLP basic social precepts and sacred cows on and following Black Friday.

The situation has to be much worse than we think.

Dennis Johnson;
    Thanks for identifying where I can get Mary Redman’s BSTU statement which I thought was the most beautifully put together statement of its type that I’ve seen over the years. With her leadership qualities and resolve she should be asked to take over BWU when the Duke of York demits office.

You gave us an excellent Brasstacks today. Keep up the good work of educating the populace.

Pachamama and Balance and Bushtea; The Union situation could provide an intro for the changes you talk about unless the Government takes appropriate steps to propitiate the Unions. But is there any hope that they can manage this given that the Government’s PR re. the layoffs and dealing with the unions has been totally and unbelievably out of whack with the situation (as far as the facts available to the general public suggests) and seems to have been designed to antagonize the Union rather than to get them on Board. The situation also suggests that the Cabinet is sorely divided re. strategies for implementing their layoff policy with the PM pulling one way and DI and CS pulling another way. In such a situation I wonder when the Government will collapse and how.

36. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

37. ac…..why not North Korea??? guy just had his uncle executed, how? fed to 120 starving dogs…..you may want to try telling your DLP masters to use their damn brains for a change instead of trying to borrow from every country, immersing themselves in more debt to pay present debt, don’t give me any excuse cause i did not put them in this situation…

38. About 1,000,000 results (0.35 seconds)
    Search Results
    Cyprus bailout deal with EU closes bank and seizes large deposits …
    http://www.theguardian.com › Business › Eurozone crisis‎
    25 Mar 2013 – Draconian terms aimed at keeping Cyprus in eurozone include closure of second-largest bank and big losses for wealthy savers.
    Cyprus bailout: Large deposits will be seized and second-largest …
    http://www.independent.co.uk › News › World › Europe‎
    25 Mar 2013 – An 11th-hour deal with the EU, which has saved the Cypriot economy from the brink, will see investors with more than €100000 in the nation’s …
    Spanish Bank Deposits Seized, Cyprus-Style – LaRouchePAC
    larouchepac.com/node/26017‎
    Spanish Bank Deposits Seized, Cyprus-Style. March 28, 2013 • 12:50PM. Eurogroup President Joeron Dijsselbloem caused both a political furor and rumblings …
    Could the U.S. Do Like Cyprus and Seize Bank Deposits …

http://www.dailyfinance.com/on/cyprus-crisis-bank-deposits/‎
    by John Grgurich – in 30 Google+ circles
    3 Apr 2013 – Cyprus’ attempt to raid insured bank accounts has left a bad taste in the mouths of people around the world, and led some to ask: Could it ever …
    IT’S OFFICIAL: Banks In Europe May Now Seize Deposits To Cover …
    http://www.businessinsider.com/implications-of-the-cyprus-bailout-2013-3‎
    25 Mar 2013 – As expected, Cyprus and the EU reached a new late-night bailout deal last night that will reduce the chance that Cyprus’s financial system and …

39. http://www.forbes.com/sites/jameshenry/2013/12/18/postcard-from-barbados-a-k-a-cyprus-west-part-i-the-cure/

Forbes (12/18/2013) displays photo of Chris Sinckler, says Barbados is on its knees. Surely Alvin Cummings could do something about this “let’s get this island going”. Owen Arthur said to the Nation News in June 2012 “it [the economy] is a mess right now, we will fix it” . Too bad Arthur and the BLP didn’t fix that Al Barack mess; Bajans must now pay. It’s sad that Barbados in such poor condition but certainly should not get back in bed with those BLP CROOKS.

The Barbados people may have accepted FACT that the BLP are crooks, likely will just look over it.The United States accepted FACT that Bill Clinton engaged in infidelity and in the white house but literally looked it. People in Toronto Ontario, Canada accepted FACT that Mayor Rob Ford is a crack cocaine addict and literally looking the other way. Ford is even running for re-election. Might have been encouraged by Washington, D.C. ex-mayor, Marion Berry.

40. @ look

Mr Barack is just the most humiliating of the people this incompetent government owes money to and refuse to pay. I have it on good authority that COW Williams has not yet been fully paid for work carried out on the ABC highway.
    Now this government is offering gilts to retail investors. They would be made to invest their money with this lot. They will default on local investor, something they will not dream of doing with foreign investors.
    The government is discredited.

41. @ Hal

The BLP government was dead wrong to even construct that damn thing, ABC Highway. Property belonged to Violet Beckles NOT government.

42. @ Look
    Even the planning was faulty. A straight line from the airport to the west coast so that tourists could get to their hotels without any real delay, cutting across valuable agricultural land.
    But these are small measure in bad policymaking.

43. http://barpublish.bits.baseview.com/story/359735895211770.php

The DLP may not know what in the hell they are doing. The BLP also did not know what in the hell they were doing.

44. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Hall ,,you love to dance , you can never say who owned the land,Yes we have the deed for the land used for the ABC highway and QUEEN BEATRICE IS THE OWNER TO VIOLET BECKELS ,
    Hall , like S&P , Moodys, WB, IMF they know who owns what , so you are also part of the problem when even you can admit to who own what , We know your information and learning cant just stop on the line of land owner ship.
    Look ,, Dont even live here and can see more than who live here and write , on this blog, When some one supports the truth and writes about it , Bajans who live on the land like your self will move to the side like a pot hole in the road.
    When the truth is told by the crooks , please dont try to change your tone or words , We know where the truth is and all will have to tell the truth , in order to make things RIGHT.
    COW dont need to be paid until the owners are paid at today’s rate .Unless in the DVD with COW saying he bought so much land? Where the deeds and who he buy it from?NHC ? UDC ? G. Dennis Clarke QC?
    You and other may make your post and doing the same things as the DBLP government and that is KEY to why we still stuck in long talk,

We know who to blame down to the roots,
    If COW owned any thing at any point , why did he show up at Violet Beckles Home with offers to take every thing off her hands , ?
    He knows Richard L Chelenham on whitepark road is a crook ,
    Yes face to face in his office , So we not talking behind no ones back .
    Maps of the plantations on his wall looking to carve out another lovely deal supported by the NEW DBLP government
    LOOK , Bajans Thank you and others for the support for the truth , Those who talk out the back of their necks , soon will have to turn around,

Leave a Reply to Due DiligenceCancel reply