Submitted by Douglas
Kerri Symmonds, MP

Dear David please permit me some space on your site to make a few comments with regard to something that I feel strongly about.

I recently listened to the debate about the funding of the QEH and I heard the Minister of Health announced the arrival very shortly of new ambulances coming from The United Arab Emirates which I thought was wonderful. These ambulances are gifts to the people of Barbados by the government and people of The United Arab Emirates. Sadly  while listening to the reply from Opposition MP Symmonds, I must say it is not often that I pay attention to Symmonds because I have long held the view that he has no spine and he stands for nothing and will fall for anything, be that as I may, I subjected myself to his presentation which in my view was despicable coming from someone who has been around politics awhile and therefore should know better.

Good judgement is not one of his strong points if we are to judge his actions two days before elections in January of 2008 when he found it possible to take money from a Doctor Boolani to regularise an immigration matter that he did not fulfil and he never returned the money. The copy of the Affidavit is attached as proof that he received funds and of his vicious and brutal attack on his wife for which she had to seek the protection of the Courts of Barbados.

Symmonds file #1
Symmonds file #2
Symmonds file #3
Boolani

The smoke camouflage of Symmonds sitting around a table speaking about a ruling the Speaker of the House made pales in comparison to his own comments, and the press conference he called was more to flick the focus away from his insensitive, immature, ill advised and ill thought out comments about those of the Muslim faith when he referred to the shipment of ambulances coming in from the United Arab Emirates as  nothing more than a Box Cart that yuh does use to to transport dead goats  at Ramadan.  It was a statement of gross disrespect and insensitive to many Muslims in Barbados and around the world. Let me use this opportunity to warn Symmonds that Barbados has welcomed with open arms Muslims, Hindus, Roman Catholic, Anglican, Methodist, Pentecostal, we have welcomed all and embraced all and no BLP politician or DLP or ABC or XYZ political party should attempt to make Muslims or any other feel like a hated people or second class citizen in our caring society.

As much as Symmonds may want to make outlandish and attention seeking comments in his march to remove Mottley as the leader of the Opposition, and even if he has the support of many Barbadians including Arthur and the majority of his peers, no one is willing to support his stance on creating a racial and religious divided Barbados.  We live together as one big happy family Symmonds and that includes those of the Muslim faith.

72 responses to “Symmonds Comment Shows Gross Disrespect to Muslims”

1. Gabriel

How interesting. I don’t think that was what Miller was actually saying. But I think you make my point for me.

On the Cathedral – my version is that when the present Dean arrived – two Deans on from when the Rev Fr was ordained (and VR Crichlow was a sponsor) – he determined to get rid of the said Rev, which he did. He then published in the Cathedral Bulletin that the Rev Fr had left at his own wish. In short he lied. Hall phoned him and told him that unless he retracted what he had written he would make formal complaint against him. The next bulletin retracted what had been said.

Now Gabriel, apart from the froth what else have you?

2. Enuff

I have also asked for clarification with no response.

3. @enuff, RR and lawson
    Yes they are the three wheeled vehicles. They have a specific purpose and circumstance for their use so calling them a full fledged ambulance by our standards is a bit ludicrous. I really don’t know who labelled them that way.

The Minister hinted at using them at major events, the University etc. etc. so that should give you an idea of how they are to be used.

4. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

David BU, I en got nuffen ta say bout Kerrie. Everybody dun know wa she gives already.

Anyhow, I hay wanta know wa ambulances um is wanna talking bout and if dem really want criticising fan trute. Ya does got ta google tings if ya want ta know wa really gine on. Look wa part my maliciousness carry me. Check out dis hay. I copy it from offa a Antigau newspaper.

UAE donation adds to ambulance stock
    By Tameika Malone – Wednesday, September 11th, 2013.

Article Hits: 401
    No Comments
    One of 13 mini ambulances that will complement the current aging ambulance fleet. (Photo by Tameika Malone)

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – Antigua & Barbuda is the recipient of 13 mini ambulances donated by the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The three-wheel moped-style vehicles were offloaded from a 40-foot container yesterday at the old Holberton Hospital compound.

OBSERVER media understands that the mini ambulances will complement the aging ambulance fleet.

“They were not designed to replace an ambulance. The whole idea is to utilise them in scenarios where you cannot get the larger ambulance into crowded areas, so that the patient can receive initial care before they can be transported to hospital via the ambulance,” a source said.

Each mini ambulance, which runs on three wheels, can hold a patient and two medics. The vehicles will also have basic medical equipment.

Set on a chassis towed by a 250 cc engine, the mini ambulance is built for emergency situations.

“God forbid there is a shooting or chopping where the patient is bleeding badly, for instance during a Carnival, Sailing Week or an event held at the stadium, then the bikes will be ideal to navigate large gatherings without putting patients in jeopardy due to delayed first aid because the emergency personnel can’t get the larger ambulances to the injured person,” the source added.

Of the 13 moped ambulances delivered, only one is fully assembled. Local technicians must assemble the others in time for the official handing over, scheduled for a few weeks from now.

Grenada received a similar donation of 10 mini ambulances, which were commissioned last week.

5. Observer

So what IS this post all about (other than as I suggested above)?

6. PP

Thankyou.

7. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

But wait I copy de picture too, but it en print out pon top. Anyhow, if dese is de same lil first aid “mopeds” dat we get from de Muslims, I en see nuffen wrong wid dem. Dem look a lil jokey jokey from de picture, but from de explanation in de antigua paper it mek sense how den is ta get use.

8. PP

Yes it does. But the post obscured all that nevertheless.

9. Funny, but if you really want to go eco and create a car free zone in the center of Bridgetown these may be ideal

10. Owen Arthur is now quiescent, seems to stay hiding. Symmonds should follow suit.

11. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

David BU, I now read de blog properly and I gotta come back fa Kerrie.

He din have to insult de Muslim people dat give we de donation by mekking reference ta Ramadan, cause how I see it de Ramadan part din relevant unless ya trying ta insult de people because a dem religion, cuddear man.

De next ting now, de dead goat foolishness he talk might only turn some Bajans mind from using de lil ambulances cause ya know some Bajans does be real poorgreat and bewitch sometimes. So I tink da was irresponsible from Kerrie. He shoulda know better. Everything en got ta be bout foolishj political points.

Anyhow, leh we hope dat ef um is life or death nuhbody don’t be so stupid as play dem refusing treatment because a foolish talk bout Muslim dead-goat ambulance cause you know how some Bajans does be.

12. @Pearlie

Agree the religious reference was naughty.

13. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

If Chris Sinckler had said what Kerrie Symmonds said, the Nation BLP Newspaper would be lambasting Sinckler and try to make this a national headline.
    The blatant bias of the Nation newspaper is unbelievable as the Nation newspaper is clearly acting as the spokesperson for Mottley.

14. Lawson

Word has it that taxis at the airport are to be replaced by rickshaws and the MOD have ordered the slightly larger version as troop carriers.

15. Ross
    Thanks for your update.What else have I to add?Just that I’m reminded of a song entitled “I’m afraid the masqerade is over”.

16. Gabriel

Yes it’s a nice song. We might cast the Rev Fr as the Holy Fool version of Pagliacci and admit that there can be no love lost between these two combatants on what should have been a stage of love in the context of Christ’s Church. Morris has much the same problem though for different reasons. For myself, Belmont Road is a more satisfying and certainly less nasty theatre of play.

17. Robert that may not be a good idea especially if all those whales from Cardiff are coming that Ruffin was on about, it may be a tight fit. Now for the army they could be perfect, you know your in trouble when the Amish want to kill you.

18. @erice | December 23, 2013 at 6:13 am “by the way tells us how your wife from Guyana got her children into Barbados”

Dear erice: If a Guyanese woman marries a Bajan man, would you suggest that she abandon her children in Guyana?

Do you know the meaning of callous?

19. @David December 23, 2013 at 7:14 am ” Obviously the electorate forgave him.”

Not really David. We can’t forgive Kerri, as he did not sin against us.

But the electorate rejected George what’s his name of the DLP, and Kerri got in by kinda a whisker.

He has to work to hold his seat.

20. I want a Plantation too Avatar
    I want a Plantation too

Look everyone knows Muslims between March and April drop bare goat carcasses behind places like Country Rd and other City areas with skips, Symmonds only speak truth – frig those stinking bomb-wielders, if they can’t be Christian then get to France off me island!

21. @I want a Plantation too

You are obviously being inflammatory with your comment.

22. Symmonds Comment Shows Gross Disrespect to Muslims
    Posted on 22/12/2013 by David | 71 Comments
    Submitted by Douglas

there is NOTHING in ur submission that shows proof of Symmons disrespect for muslims as such i REFUSED to read ur crap. u just want to vent ur jealously of and anger at the chap

Leave a Reply to Pompasettin PearlieCancel reply