Barbados Community College Government and Politics 100 Outline.
Barbados Community College Government and Politics 100 Outline

Please find attached an image of partial course outline for Government and Politics 100 [allegedly] issued by Walthrust-Jones to Government & Politics students.  I emphasize this is not part of the official outline but is attached by WJ as though it IS part of the outline. Please observe the two notes I have made (1 and 2). These stipulations are inconsistent with the academic regulations and are therefore illegal:

1. A student cannot get an F simply because he has not submitted all course work. In stead a temporary Grade I is assigned.
  2. An individual teacher cannot simply debar students from taking an exam.

The above was submitted by Neil Watchman.

BU will continue to encourage conversation about Barbados Community College (BCC) raised on another blog Destabilization of the Barbados Community College (BCC) not because we hold a brief for any side of the issue, we want to provide the opportunity for BOTH sides to put their positions to the table.

141 responses to “Barbados Community College Conversation Continued…”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

2. @ David [BU]

If this article’s contents are truly representative of the individual Walthrust Jones I would be the first to submit that this, “GOD-IS-DEAD-AND-I-AM-GOD” is in no way a one time deviation from what is the modus operandi of many of these demi-god teachers and professors.

That they have unilaterally prescribed what the academic grade the Institution BCC will ascribe to any student deviating from his edicts is in no way an incredible thing.

I give you Dr Pearson Broomes of the University of the West Indies.

The students in the front row of his classes call him the spittle and golf ball expert given that he spits on all of them while trying to pronounce the Queens’ English better than the Queen herself.

He however adheres to the first part of the dictum about cell phone usage and the threat of being debarred from the university if one is caught taking pictures of his notes.

The ironic thing is that the University of the West Indies (all their campuses) is very quick to punish students for plagiarism but there is no corresponding policy or practice in place that allows review of professors like him and others who, on a regular basis, copy articles from the internet and publish them as their own

And we wonder “how de young people get like this” they follow the examples of we the ole fogeys

3. “classes be attended possibly (sic)” – possibly what?

” students who fail to follow this policy will themselves not be able to take the examination this semester” – “themselves” as opposed to “others” that might take the exam for these students?!! and why are they “unable” or should the word “permitted” be more appropriate?

Please note that “students who do not hand in there (sic) assignments will not be allowed to take the final examination”!

Since this tutor does not appear to know the difference between “there” and “their”, I find it incredulous that she would know the difference between American and any other form of spelling.

Ah well, higher education is not what it used to be.

4. @Ping Pong

BU remains sceptical a tutor at BCC circulated the document above. Please, anyone say it isn’t so!

5. This was circulated by one Natalie Walthrust-Jones. She is not at all known for her mastery of the English Language. Indeed, many people are of the view that she is in serious need of a remedial English class. The only way she can muster anything that is maybe 25% respectable is if she plagiarises. Look in any dictionary and next to the word PLAGIARISM you will see a picture of Natalie Walthrust-Jones.

6. I have a copy of one of these course outlines from a few years ago. It was given to me by a parent who was appalled at this garbage. Needless to say the student who had a mind of their own clashed constantly with Natalie Walthrust-Jones and was mistreated to the extent that the student left BCC, went overseas, flourished academically and is now in the early stages of a flourishing career.

When will we stop running away our brightest and best especially at a time of recession when we need their brains the most?

7. ROFL at this:

“Students should note that attendance at all classes/lectures are expected and correlates closely with exam results.”

A few lines later she has the audacity to emphasise in bold that she will not tolerate American spelling. How about BCC not tolerating the bastardisation of the English language that is unique to the Natalie Walthrust-Jones’ of this world?

8. When will we stop running away our brightest and best especially at a time of recession when we need their brains the most?

GOOD RELEVANT QUESTION

9. With the posting of this first piece of documentary evidence chronicling WJs career of abuse (see pingback at http://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/12/22/barbados-community-college-conversation-continued/) we have now come to a turning point in the struggle against the destabilization of the BCC. Any movement goes through different phases. In the first phase, energy and time is spent on what could be called CATHARSIS; a period in which emotions are high and people vent. Sometimes in this phase people overcompensate and say inappropriate things; I humbly admit I have been guilty of the same. I apologize. Without being presumptuous I would like to declare this phase over.

However, let not the above be taken as any sign of weakening from the cause. On the contrary! Neither am I suggesting that there is no place for some good humour and double entendre. I really like Firemagade and Red Rooster! However, it is now time for a Phase 2, which I tentatively call, ENGAGEMENT where we refine the cause by stating specific objectives and undertaking appropriate actions aimed at their achievement. In this phase we will steer clear of “unnecessary personal attacks”. That expression is open to interpretation but we can flag these as they occur. For example, without trying to excuse his sins alleged or otherwise, let’s leave out Trevor Marshall because as you have pointed out, he is about to retire. We are not running a “call-in” programme but an ACTIVIST PROJECT (=vigorous and sometimes assertive set of actions in pursuing a political or social end).

Again, without being presumptuous, I would like to declare Phase I over and move swiftly to set an agenda for Phase 2, ENGAGEMENT. I begin by making it clear what I see as the guiding objectives and their rationale:

1. Removal of Natalie-Walthrust Jones as a tutor in the Division of Commerce before the start of the next academic year in August 2014. This period gives the authorities more than enough time to get their lethargic and apathetic administrative gear oiled and up to speed. I think BCC has had too much of NJ and for far too long (more than 10 years now by her own admission and reckoning, according to Red Rooster).

A nation cannot talk profusely about abuse of children and then have an educational institution harbouring it and giving it succour! That is patently wrong. Let Barrow-Giles & Company at the UWI keep Walthrust-Jones. BCC does not need that liability.

I warn you, however, that during this period NJ will bring out her alter ego called Sweet Natty who will attempt to charm the “underwear off the unaware” (so to speak)! She will lavish this personality on the students, especially the simple minded, and on any weakling put in charge of the Division of Commerce. You have been warned!

2. Removal of the current Principal: 60 million (even 1 million) Frenchmen(women) can’t be wrong! Somewhere in all the accusations and his attempting to hide there must be some germ of truth. That the Board attempted to fire him in 2012 is enough. For those who are not aware, the job of principal was advertised back in 2012. It makes interesting reading. Perhaps BU will try to get a copy of that advertisement?

In any event, I am willing to bet that if BCC staff asked him (current principal) the definitive question: “Tell us, good sir, at least one significant initiative YOU have undertaken SINCE becoming principal”, he would be unable to give an intelligible answer (which is usually the norm).

Therefore, he is “guilty” both of sins of commission as well as sins of omission, chief on which is his failure to remove Walthrust-Jones. Surely he is just as guilty as she in perpetrating abuse of children! As a parent myself I find this absolutely infuriating! Should he feel motivated to hang on to the post or the powers that be (viz. Jones & Company) feel unmotivated to remove him, this movement will be obliged to list his many “achievements” in his tenure and exert appropriate pressure on the authorities.

In order to achieve the above objectives, the movement has to carefully consider what specific courses of action need to be taken. In general, there will have to be a CYBER STRATEGY here on BU and on other social media as well as an ON-THE-GROUND STRATEGY, that must engage current and if necessary, past G&P students. In the meantime I urge the following:

Current G&P students must be encouraged to resist WJ because the first step in dealing with any bully is to resist. In a recent post I have provided one type of resistance based solidly on BCC regulations as a response to one of her known bullying tactics. BU will provide more as the necessity arises. In this we will be guided by feedback from students on the ground.

I understand that there is a students’ guild at the BCC. Why has this body not been roped into the cause? That must now change. More on this later.

Some parents too need to get up off their double-barreled lethargy and stop depending on Santa Claus! The state of this economy should tell them something! Those who have written complaints to the principal and have not received replies must now copy those letters to the Chairman (N.B. letters to the Principal or Registrar do not automatically go to the Chairman) and the MOE and demand a response. It is your child and your neighbour’s child we are talking about! If necessary this BU site will help by providing a template for your letter. Give one week for an acknowledgement and three weeks more for a substantive response. If that fails hit the next level of authority. Activism requires hard work folks! If you just want to vent but don’t like doing serious, focused, worthy work we can say goodbye to you here!

More tactics will be developed as this jihad (basic meaning = struggle) continues especially after Xmas and leading up to the start of the BCC semester on 22 January 2014. I hope Firemagade and others will keep the heat and the humour up this cold Xmas!

P.S. This plan of action/agenda deliberately does not make any reference to BCC staff in general. It seems to me that they need to work out their own salvation. BU has given them a start.

10. Mrs. WJ unfortunately is not the only one up there playing God for I know of at least two more .What they say is gospel .don’t have a mind of your own or opinions that does not support theirs or you will pay .The trend at BCC is to get in and get out .Have nothing to say to certain tutors ,just do what is required to secure a pass .No extra curricula activities either .When persons join the work force they are burnt out and just do the minimum .The attitude is set from these tertiary institutions hence when persons enter their respective fields of work they care nothing about anyone because of how hard it was made for them a students .In comes the don’t carish attitudes .

11. Is BU being lead down the same path,as someone attempted to do a while back over the pending appointment of Ms Arthur at CBC?

12. @Colonel Buggy

All that matters here is whether the accusations and assertions leveled at the tutor rings true? Supporting the status quo is comfortable isn’t it? Remember the other side has the opportunity to rebut.

13. Neil Watchman, just go easy on the kids okay, because calling them SIMPLE – MINDED goes against the spirit constructive social discourse.

14. @ David, the other side is incapable of providing a proper response hence their silence.

15. @Ping Pong December 22, 2013 at 12:21 PM
    “classes be attended possibly (sic)” – possibly what?…
    Since this tutor does not appear to know the difference between “there” and “their”, I find it incredulous that she would know the difference between American and any other form of spelling. Ah well, higher education is not what it used to be.

Dear Ping Pong: My thoughts exactly.

16. @Plagiarism December 22, 2013 at 1:35 PM “When will we stop running away our brightest and best especially at a time of recession when we need their brains the most?”

Dear Plagarism: My thoughts exactly.

17. @Claire Battershield December 22, 2013 at 4:33 PM “When persons join the work force they are burnt out and just do the minimum.

Look miss. Earning an associate degree can’t burn out anybody. I earned one myself . Attended evening classed and held down a full time job at the same time.

Burn our $hite.

Some of us work for 50 years without burnout and you talking about burn out after 2 years of community college study?

18. Suppose, just suppose you had to work really hard in truth.

Work hard and work long, 40 or 50 years long.

Even while supporting hostile 20 year olds with nasty attitudes who talk about burn out

19. David: Please tell me that this is a fake document.

Please tell me that BCC would not employ a teacher who does not know the difference between there and their.

Please tell me that this is not an example of my tax money wuk’king fa me.

Please tell me that if this document is authentic, that this person will be the first among the 3,000 (5,000?) civil servants to be laid off.

20. @Simple Simon,
    Morning has broken, like the first morning (fade)

Cock-a-doodle doooooooooooooooooooooooo!

Cud dear, Simple Simon, You en up tuh speed yet doah!!

You fuget a poster on the first blog say dat dah Barrow-Giles woman at UWI is she frien’?

Simple Simon, dey Walrus woman DOES TEACH AT UWI?!?!!! An’ she did doing it FUH MANY YEARS!!

Whe’ you thinks she get some uh dem tings she got on dah course outline from??

Simon, you know you gine got to launder you tax dollars after it get all dat $hit (you word exactly, suh) pun it!?!?

Cock-a-doodle doooooooooooooooooooooooo!

Morning has broken, like the first morning
    [Rooster] has spoken, like the first bird …..(fade)

21. @Mark Fenty

I understand the spirit of what you are saying but you need to go back to the first blog where a poster indicated that WJs classes at BCC classes are usually made up of those with lower grades (3, 4) and those who therefore, can’t find a place in the other “high-powered” majors like Business Studies, Science, Maths, Languages Marketing and Accounting.

See Nattles | December 19, 2013 at 11:23 AM |

Her colleague, friend, companion and whatever else is that Bourne woman who is the head of Law. So you should not be surprised to find many G&P students presenting Politics and Law because you read in at least two majors.

Perhaps “simple-minded” is not a good word but some of these are definitely going to be students with serious self-esteem problems which provides a psychological pressure point for WJ.

Again, see Nattles | December 19, 2013 at 11:23 AM |

I am not going to question David’s wisdom in creating a second blog – I hope it is technical reasons – but this action has the potential to fragment the conversation rather than integrate it. But I am going to do my best to keep the conversation tight and focused. Clearly, too much is at stake here!

22. Alas David and unfortunately, this parent is as semi-literate as the teacher.

If the student is literate (is he?) he should really have written his own letter of complaint, or he should have read and corrected this letter before his parent sent it to the college.

The parent and the student should know and understand the difference between principal and principle,

23. @Simple Simon

What else have you gleaned from the letter?

24. Must you ALWAYS live up to your name so …Simple Simon?

There is NO GOOD reason why a parent should be an expert linguist….Wuh shiite then! …that is a first class letter that spells out EXACTLY what the parents concerns were….
    On the other hand, a TEACHER in a tertiary institution that cannot differentiate between their and there or they has a SERIOUS mismatch problem with their vocation.

…any way – Merry Christmas to you… SS

Seasons greetings to you and the BU clan David….

25. All the best to you too Bush Tea.

Sometimes one has to dispense with correctness if it comes at the expense of achieving some good.

26. I share Bush Tea’s sentiments. The parent is trying to address a problem their son/daughter is facing. What we should be concerned about is not the parent’s standards of English but the inability of a so-called teacher of Politics to articulate herself in standard English.

I am still shaking my head or SMH as the young people would say, at the irony of this woman demanding that students use British spelling when she cannot speak or write standard English.

27. Should Barbadians (taxpayers) blame the tutor or the inability of BCC and by extension the MOE for lack of quality control and performance management at the institution?

28. DAVID ALL THREE ARE TO BLAME

29. @GP

Agree but the buck has to always stop somewhere.

30. I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY EVERYONE IS NOT DOING THEIR JOB

31. But GP, there is the idealistic position and then there is the reality of life which intervenes when human beings are involved.

32. I am very, very sorry for the student.

It appears that neither his parent nor his teacher is of much hep to him.

This student is likely 16 to 18 years old.

The age of first birth is Barbados is about 19.

Both the mother and the teacher are therefore about 40 years old (or they may both be as old as 60, although that is unlikely)

This parent and this teacher were born about 1973.

Who taught them at school?

And why is post-Independence Barbados producing semi-literates?

I ask again who taught the mother while she was at elementary and secondary school?

Who taught the teacher while she was at elementary and secondary school?

Why is it that neither of them learned to write standard English?

Our problems may be much greater than BCC.

Our problems may be systemic and multi-generational.

Semi-literate elementary and secondary school teachers are producing semi-literate parents, and semi-literate and college teachers.

And then we expect our students to thrive and our country to prosper?

Unless we are complete brass-bowls surely we can see that we need to fix our elementary schools.

We need to fix our secondary schools.

We must ensure that all the graduates of our elementary and secondary schools are literate and numerate.

33. That is SO simplistic that Bushie is completely unsurprised…..

So are you including yourself in the group failed by the education system.??

FOR ONCE a parent actually takes some action – and writes a lucid letter that ANY jackass can understand – as opposed to the lotta Shiites bout here who does go home and grumble and ask a friend to write some shiite on BU anonymously….
    …and you come talking shiite bout the grammar in the damn letter??

That sorta shiite does get Bushie SOOOOO vex….!!!

Here is a parent that is AWARE of her child’s issues
    Here is a parent that takes the time to follow her son’s homework, grades, issues, etc
    Here is a parent that takes the TIME to document a problem with her son – and the BALLS to follow up
    ….and up comes a simple Simon talking bout how the letter is not queen’s English.
    We should identify that damn parent and give her a National Award for good parenting… The only thing Bushie would have done differently is put some brass bowl cuss words in the letter and put the fear of The Lord in some body tail….

Simon STFU* do……

STFU – stop talking foolishness U 🙂

34. LOL BT
    THIS POLITICAL CORRECTNESS IS KILLING WE
    NOBODY CARE MUCH ABOUT GRAMMAR ANYMORE—ITS BLATANT ON TV

WE NEED TO WEED OUT IGNORANT WICKED DICTATORS FROM THE SCHOOL SYSTEM AT ALL LEVELS

ONCE A CHILD IS POLITE AND PUNCTUAL, ALL EFFORTS SHOULD BE MADE TO HELP THEM– NOT HINDER THEM.

I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY A TEACHER WOULD WANT TO FAIL A STUDENT FOR NO REASON AS POINTED OUT HERE

35. Interesting quantum shift proposed by BT and seconded by GP…..removal of literacy….Its worth discussing the pros and cons of it.

36. VINCENT
    NEITHER BT OR I ARE SAYING TO REMOVE LITERACY

BT IS SAYING TO SS THAT THOUGH THE PARENT MADE AN ERROR IN HER LETTER, THAT SHE WAS ABLE TO PROPERLY ARTICULATE HER CHILD’S PROBLEM

IM SAYING PENALIZING SOMEONE FOR POLITICAL CORRECTNESS IS RUBBISH

IVE READ ON ANOTHER BLOG THAT AN OBESE DR CANNOT BE AN EXAMPLE OR MENTOR TO MEDICAL STUDENT. I HAVE ALSO BEEN AT A SCHOOL WHERE THE DIRECTOR OF MEDICAL STUDIES WAS NOT A DR AND CLEARLY DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO OR WHAT MEDICAL STUDENTS NEEDED OR NEEDED TO KNOW.

THE WORLD IS CRAZY!

37. I did NOT suggest “penalizing someone for political correctness”

And I would never suggest penbalizing a parent for bad grammar.

But yes it worries me that this post-Independent parent is semi-literate.

We should all be worried if our schools are turning out semi-literates.

I did say some days ago that if the teacher does not know the difference between there and their (that is the teacher is semi-literate) then she should not be teaching.

The parent was RIGHT to complain.

But a literate (not BU verbose LOL!!!) complaint may have received a positive and prompt response (or at least I hope so)

38. The teacher, BCC and MOE are all to blame for this sorry mess. BCC and MOE more so because they allow this to happen.

39. Wrong again Simple Simon..
    ..although you have explained your intent well.

There ARE many well educated and literate people in Barbados and MOST of them are a bunch of brass bowls who can’t accomplish one shiite…..and no better example exists than our Shakespeare quoting boss man…
    On the other hand, we have some school dropouts who can get an old ZR van to make a profit and support a family (in some cases many families.) while our brightest and best qualified can’t run the damn transport board – even with MILLIONS in subsidies….

What does that tell you?

We need MORE Bajans like that mother…..and less useless talkers with nuff ediikation….

The other BIG mistake you make is that a “well written” letter would have gotten results….. Steupssss…
    If you want to see results you need to Throw in a couple “brass bowls” and a big rock…. 🙂 ….letters shiite….

40. A literate, well-crafted complaint would have been dismissed in the same way. BCC authorities are not interested in any action hence the presence among teaching staff of people like Natalie Walthrust-Jones. This letter of complaint is not the only one. BCC has been aware of Walthrust-Jones’ appalling behaviour since she started teaching and nothing has been done. The one time someone tried in earnest to address the problem of Walthrust-Jones, BCC victimised that person which only served to empower Walthrust even more.

41. @ Vincent Haynes
    …wait, you looking for a cussing too… There is a time and place for everything.
    Who died and made the Queen’s English a priority for parenting?….or blogging?

Wuh shite den…..if ANY kind of literacy was mandatory we would all have to kill ac right now…. LOL aha Ha Ha

42. David, thank you for posting this letter. I am sure that you could have altered the spelling of that word that is causing Simple Simon so much consternation; I could have done the same when it came into my possession. However, I believe that you, like I, understood that aside from protecting the identity of the mother and child, the letter ought to be left “as is”.

I think BT and MPB have provided more than an adequate course of treatment for the psychological diarrhoea being experienced by SS. Therefore, I won’t waste any words on the subject because I promised to maintain, as far as possible, a laser-sharp focus with this discussion.

I simply wish to express the hope that if Simple Simon is of child-REARING age or has any relatives that are in that stage of life, that he (that is, Simple Simon) is never, NEVER, EVER asked to or allowed to bathe the baby!

43. I am currently a student of hers and trust and believe she is what you call a manipulator, deceiver, and a person that can kick you under the bus… The broad of management needs to get to the root of this problem before this one person pulls down the creditability of this fine school…

44. Akeem
    I commend you for taking a stance!!

I too, was the victim of this mad woman.
    I entered Bcc to do a liberal arts subject and because you have to do 2 majors, I was put to do politics along with the liberal arts subject.
    well i asked a few of my mother’s friends what politics was about and they told me that it ties into the liberal arts subject i had applied to do.
    anyway, the NW (why she does put on Jones pun she name if she aint married na more) seemed ok the first few daysof class.
    anyhow, as time went on i came to realise a few things:

she treats the students according to how she is feeling
    she is MANIPULATIVE. very very. she keeps certain students close to her who become her lackeys and carry back gossip to her
    she is below the standard that someone teaching should be at, and she covers it up with a lot of theatrics like her stupid course outline posted in this link, quarreling about cover pages of essays and so on.
    she is dangerous and scary
    her marks corresponds with who sucks up to her, who she likes/does not like etc
    most of her students are dumb, have low comprehension skills, but yet are made to do work that is beyond them
    students are brainwashed, manipulated, and plain old unfaired and its a scary thing

After a few sessions of being in a classroom with her sometimes ranting and raving, grossing me out with her crassness etc, I walked out and never looked back. I got permission to do another liberal arts subject, did it, and never looked back.

Bcc’s integrity and reputation has been compromised by this person and others of her ilk…
    they are not TEACHERS. they are just there for the paycheck.

my mother is especially hurt and offended at how BCC has disintegrated into a low calibre, low rate institution.

look leh me tell wunna was ta do.
    when wunna applying ta bcc, don put down politics and don leh dum from commerce force wunna to put wunna children in politics

45. Well said Mr. Bushie

46. i am surprised that natalie waltrust is still teaching, when so many students have problems with her. she teaches at the UWI also but it is a different ball game. however, if u are pretty, tiny and brown skin she absolutely goes all out of fail u. ask anyone with said description in her class, once a student was taking a test, his phone was IN HIS BAG at the back of the class, it rang, ms walthrust went INTO the student’s bag and took out the phone. if i was that young person, i would have gotten my parent to throw some charge against her for going into my personal possession. the BCC is aware of her unmannerly manner and still have her teaching young students. she got that job thru the BLP, her uncle is that big ugly BLP contractor, the one who every Christmas lights up his house to draw a crowd. she needs to be put in her place. whether she knows the subject or not, is not an issue, her obnoxious manner in delivering is on trial. to top it all off i know she knows she is not attractive and buys affection from younger men… has been doing it for years

47. @Akeem Franklin | 27/12/2013 at 12:45 am | Reply

i sincerely hope u are not a full time student in her class a BCC. she will take it out on you but if she does, stand u to her, get ur parents and threaten law suit

48. I am a parent of a current politics and law student, I am a poor woman and I am struggling to send to school my child. Now Mrs. WJ told the class that they have to buy the manual for each Gov & Pol course. These manuals sell for $80 a piece. I was told by a member of staff that it is against BCC policy for a tutor to sell manuals to students. Can some person clarify this for me and let me know if it is against the policy, if it is against the policy why is she allowed to put it on the compulsory book list and why did the Senior Tutor told me I have to purchase one

49. @Carrie

According to the BCC’s student planner all books for courses should be sourced at the bookshop The Book Source.

http://www.bcc.edu.bb/Download.ashx?file=Attachments%2fBCC+2013+Student+Planner+AW.pdf&name=BCC+Student+Planner+2013-2014

Leave a Reply to Nancy L BissetCancel reply