Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
As the IMF troops gather at the gate, the people of Barbados have little time to reflect on how a once proud nation has found itself in this economic mess. But, as night follows day, it had to come; it is a modern-day example of Sodom and Gomorrah, of a people living so much beyond their means, partying and fornicating, that they forgot how hard work and good ethical behaviour has its rewards. For the national decline is not just economic, only that this time it is manifesting itself in an economic meltdown, but it goes right across the range of our social and cultural values. Although we can blame the 14 years of the Arthur administration for sowing the seeds of this predictable car crash, and rightly so, after nearly six years in government the DLP government can no longer use that excuse. The failure to manage the economy is theirs and theirs alone, first with the Thompson regime being caught off guard when it won the general election, and the political ignorance of Freundel Stuart to impose his mark on the post-Thompson government. But we are where we are and it is no good crying over lost opportunities. However, to kick off this period of tighter fiscal controls, government should impose a Bds$50m windfall tax on the commercial banks and use that money to fund a post Office bank; also encourage the credit unions to establish a joint credit union bank, both operating on balance sheet principles.

Policy Inertia:
Part of the DLP’s policy inertia has been its lack of vision, a mainly professional middle class and cadre of policymakers who do not read outside a very narrow self-confirming set of publications and, even if they travel overseas, they wear cultural and policy blinkers. The result is a very narrow vision of what is politically possible, and the absence of any intellectual curiosity to drive them towards looking for new answers. You can see these people in London and New York, Toronto and Paris, straight from Grantley Adams Airport doing the familiar things they do at home: black pudding and souse, dominoes, watching cricket, drinking too much. Sometimes one is left to wonder how people could visit some of the great cultural capitals in the world and have not the slightest curiosity about visiting the theatre, or a top restaurant, or museum, or even good bookshops. This is the root of the problem, of the failure of policy, since they depend on a small self-justifying group of people for their ideas, people they have known since entering the infant school system until they emerged from university. The net result is a cultural and intellectual deficit which expresses itself in the lack of innovative policies back home.

The same thing for the economy: failure to analyse closely how other governments are dealing with the problems faced by their economies since the global crisis means that the DLP government is left with a number of patch-work, juvenile economic programmes. They have failed to understand that the ultimate tool to combat a recession is to restore demand and this can only be done through the mechanisms of private sector investments, consumer demand or government spending. It is clear that the artificial demand driven by cheap money, such as the scandalous so-called Car Extravaganza offered by RBC, is a return to the boom years of pre-2007/8 which saw sub-prime lending getting out of control. It is true, the private sector is having problems of its own, especially the small hotel sector, but these are cash flow problems that could be resolved with innovative financialisation. Attempts by the government to drive the economy through a massive amount of unsustainable loans is quite obviously not the answer. The latest proposal to resolve the problem, widespread public sector sackings, smacks of desperation, but it has serious repercussions for the wider economy. It will reduce overall demand and put more households in serious debt while at the same time cutting the tax take.

Keynes has shown that a deficit is not the end of the world; governments, like households, must spend carefully, prudently, and borrowing or printing money to pay salaries is carelessness. Governments however must also invest for the future, so that generations to come can reap the benefits. This government has no such vision. One explanation for the policy failure which is now crippling the economy is that it has taken this government nearly six years to realise that the global banking crisis and the following recession was an opportunity to restructure the entire economy. Instead, it chose to focus on inter-party rhetorical rivalry, not realising that the party in power had all the levers to impose its own policies. And, when necessary, it milked the national insurance scheme as if it was the government’s piggy bank.

Housing:
Any government that wants to promote prosperity and redistribute national wealth should look first at housing. Since the Second World War, it is residential housing that has been the driver of household wealth in every western democracy. And this government had a black piece of paper on which to draft its housing policy – from clearing up the awful slums populate the city to many of the old traditional towns and villages.

Further, in an island of nearly 300000 people and only just over 100000 acres of land, density is important therefore comprehensive planning is of central importance. We cannot spread out, build swimming pools and golf courses, create recreational spaces, allocate agricultural land, an extensive road-building programme along with enough space for houses, offices, churches and other civic buildings. Something has got to give, and I suggest it is family housing that will have to give. This generation of politicians does not fully understand the transformative effect of home ownership, especially in the socially conservative environment that envelopes Barbados like a cloud.

Other Policy Failures:
Within the first 100 days of the Thompson government the DLP should have decoupled the Bajan from the Greenback, fix it against a basket of commodities and currencies, which would have provided a hedge against the need for a massive foreign reserve fund. Government should also outlaw the US dollar being used as legitimate currency for over-the-counter business in order to retain control over its money supply and reduce opportunities for small business people to carry out tax fraud by hoarding cash. It should raise the statutory school leaving age to 18; reform the school system with selection at age 14 to decide who would be best suited in an academic stream, a technical stream and a administrative stream. The next four years of their education will be focused on those streams as part of a wider policy on education and training. Government should also invite in new manufacturing and service industries, diversifying the economy away from an over-reliance on tourism. It should develop a sophisticate leisure sector, principally for Barbadians, but also of use to the tourism sector – a dry ski slope in the Scotland district, a permanent funfair in the Ragged Point/Culpepper Island area, develop the Seawell are as a commercial mall complete with restaurants, cafes, a three-star hotel, and a mono-rail running in the first phase to Codrington College.

When Barbados became constitutionally independent, we had a 15-strong trawler going up the Gulf fishing for shrimp. Why have we lost that industry? What has replaced it? We also had a very good, if small, dry dock, which we can also put back in operation servicing small yachts and boats.

Weymouth/Transport Board:
Government must act immediately to draw up a list of non-core assets which must be sold off in a strategic way. It has the biggest land bank in the country and should be compelled to come up with development ideas on how best to use that land, deciding what is for agriculture, what for recreational space and what for housing and commerce.

Government had an open goal with the under-performing Transport Board, its dilapidated vehicles and a prime development site. Combine all these with the need for financial innovation, in this case the need for a balance sheet retail bank, and the DLP administration would be in a position to claim, rightly, that it had done more for the economy of Barbados than 14-years of BLP rule under Owen Arthur.

First, St John is the safest DLP seat in the country and the nation’s poorest parish, so it was a no brainer to re-locate the Transport Board to St John. Then government should separate the business of public transport from that of vehicle repairs and maintenance and establish them as separate businesses. It should then replace the existing vehicles with a working fleet of buses and a professional management team, which it should then privatise, offering 51 per cent of the shares to existing and retired staff, unions and ordinary non-institutional investors. The other 49 per cent should be offered to local and Caricom institutional investors with a mandate to return a profit of at least two per cent above the base rate.

The current staff mechanics and managers should be formed to a limited liability team and offered the repair and maintenance contract for an initial three years after which it would have to compete in open competition with other service providers for the contract. The Roebuck Street site should then be developed in to homes, offices and shops for mainly young professional people, with at least 200 per cent of the units used for social housing. With properly architecturally designed homes and office and shop provisions for a doctor’s surgery, offices, a grocery, a membership gym, a swimming pool, and, including the Weymouth playing field, other amenities such as tennis, a leisure centre with an ice rink, badminton, squash, basketball and netball courts. The apartments could be offered to young professional men and women – through 100 per cent interest-only mortgages if necessary – and to non-Barbadians looking to buy holiday homes. With a deadline of three years to build the apartments and with off-plan sales, guaranteed by an independent NHC (which ideally would be part of an umbrella Sovereign Wealth Fund), the development would be self-financing within five to ten years.

Analysis and Conclusion:
As the dark clouds close in, there are two dominant issues that have led what passes for policy in Barbados down a cul-de-sac: first, the obsession with foreign reserves is out of date in contemporary macro-economic terms, as has been suggested on a number of occasions. The examples set by the big developed economies: the US, eurozone, Japan and UK – in printing money to refuel their economies then steadily withdraw those funds, what Ben Bernanke has called tapering, have proved very productive. The US saved the motor industry and until this week to pumped US$85bn a month in to the economy; it has now reduced that to US$75bn. In the UK, the Bank of England spent £375bn purchasing gilts back from institutional investors, mainly the banks and the European Central Bank has written a black cheque (whatever it takes). Instead of obsessing over foreign reserves for an exogenous shock that may never come, a reasonable proportion of those reserves could have been used to fund small and medium enterprise and create jobs for young men and women. Government missed that opportunity. Most of all, the government has failed to develop a youth policy which should go beyond just finding jobs, however, unproductive, to embrace education, training, recreational activities, and the criminal justice system.

Instead of dipping in to the NIS, government should have used the crisis as an opportunity to put in place a long-term saving vehicle and the creation of a sovereign wealth fund with a remit to return a minimum of two per cent above the rate of inflation annually. And with a Barbadian being one of the leading sovereign wealth fund analyst s in the world, we would have been starting from a pole position.

Sacking people at any time is devastating for the individual, but doing so in the middle of a recession (which the government and central bank governor still refuse to admit) could have long-term effects, as Steve David, of the University of Chicago, and Til von Wachter, of Columbia University, have pointed out (see: Recession and the cost of job lost).

Finally, we must look seriously at our growing population and the ill-thought out policy on the CSME free movement of people. It was bad when it was first introduced and it is even worse now in a serious economic crisis. All that is left to say is to wish you a most enjoyable Christmas and a most prosperous and traditional New Year.

265 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Pride Comes Before a Fall, Even for Some Governments”

1. What wealth? Don’t make me laught! (That is what I meant to say). Barbados economy is as shallow as the “Water” as the DEEP – WATER- HARBOUR. And I’ve swan there many in my youth. There it is! I knew could do it! lol

2. LOL @ Fenty
    ….you mean as shallow as your intellect don’t you…? But then again you is basically a US soldier right..?

Look Skippa, in terms of infrastructural investments, HR developmental infrastructure, international reputation, and CAPACITY for advancement, FEW COUNTRIES anywhere matches Barbados.

Add intangible assets like climate, history of immunity from natural disaster, social co-hesiveness, individual talent, and can-do reputation (when properly guided) and Bushie invites you to name a better…

Just that the place has allowed itself to become complacent BECAUSE things have been so good. Allowing brass bowl MORONS to float to the top in critical areas of leadership like Politics, law, disciplined forces, education, etc. ….and we are paying the obvious price…..
    A FOOL AND HIS MONEY ARE SOON PARTED….especially a dishonest fool.

….but in terms of REAL INHERENT wealth…..!?!..and potential…?
    Why the hell you think so many people from so-called “developed” countries seek to move here?

3. @ Bush Tea
    Where is the evidence to prove the cost over runs? Please provide a list and also be reminded that others have doors to close too–entry doors for goods. Could you and all the anti-csme crowd members buy all our goods?

@Bahamared
    Not culturally? More jobby re integration, you clearly think you know.

4. Bush Tea
    You stuck in the pre-globalisation era.

5. @Mark Fenty

If you think Barbados’ wealth is shallow, then you need to travel the world, where billions of people, some in OECD countries, would give their children to trade places for that shallowness.

Barbados’ wealth is based upon its pursuing its comparative advantage and advancing up the production scale into internationally traded services which developmentally speaking is the single best sector to be involved in, especially for a small country. EVERY country that has become developed in recent times has achieved it by trading in exactly the kind of services that Barbados is trading in now.

If that looks shallow it is simply because you do not understand economics. But don’t worry, you are in good company, since the same can be said of most west indian ‘intellectuals’.

6. @enuff

Not sure what you are talking about, but what I meant to say is that the Bahamas shares some cultural traits with the Caribbean, but it also shares many with the southern USA. Remember, almost all black Bahamians are descended from Georgia and the Carolinas, from where loyalists migrated after the US war of independence.

White Bahamians names, like Lowe, Pinder etc. migrated from Barbados in the 1700s. Far more migrated from Bermuda. So white Bahamians are (unknown to most of them) partly Bajan, but not blacks.

On an obvious level, few here would even be aware that a sport called cricket exists, while rum and other remnants from a plantation culture are also absent from our traditional culture.

That is why I said it is a distinct culture, not Caribbean and NOT American.

By the way, I would personally not object if it were a little more Caribbean and a lot less American.

7. @ Bahamared
    Clearer now. Don’t agree with you on CSME though.

8. @Alien
    The real value of a devaluation is that imports will become more expensive in real terms and exports cheaper. In other words, the current ac count deficit will be reduced. Exactly what Barbados needs.

9. @ Bahamared
    The Bahamas has its own identity problem. What we need is as REAL Caribbean federation, not this moribund Caricom nonsense.
    How can Guyana, with a population of 750000 people, Antigua with a population of 70000, Barbados, with a population of 288000, Trinidad with a population of 1.5m, and Jamaica with a population of 2m, survive in this world as independent nations?
    We are dreaming. Britain with a population of 62m is nothing without the EU and, increasingly, the US with a population of 300m, is nothing. China HAS A middle class of more than 300m.
    At some point, Bajans must get real.

10. Enuff
    Evidence.
    You mean in a Court in Barbados …..or the evidence of common sense?
    ..cause if you mean OUR courts, then NO POLITICIAN HAS EVER done ANYTHING wrong….. LOL

And wRT. Pre- globalization days…
    Globalization is a consequence of technology….it was unavoidable. HOWEVER we had options to become HUNTERS (like the Trickidadians) or the hunted……

Not only did you opt to become the hunted, but you voluntarily took down your protective fences and opened your gates….

Now you see the bushman??????!!! A natural LION den … 🙂

11. Oh shiite now…..!!!!!
    Just as Bushie goes out of his way to praise Hal on a good article, he come and spoil the whole thing with shiite talk….

So…if England ALREADY have 62 M AND is unified politically, culturally and socially – AND their asses are sinking into the same hole as Barbados with 0.27M people …how the HELL will our joining a CSME of less than 10 M solve any shiite?

COMMON SENSE should tell you that THE problem in NOT size…..
    Shiite man – Enuff trying to defend his mistake during his reign, but what is your excuse – the cold?

The problem with Barbados, England AND the USA is that they are led by brass bowls who are cursed with ignorance….

Man Hal all you had to do was HUSH…and you was in good grazing….now you gone and drift offside….

Also – what nonsense you telling Alien?
    Devaluation DOES NOT change the value of exports or Imports in REAL terms (internationally accepted currency)

What it does is make Imports more expensive in LOCAL currency and the value of exports higher in LOCAL currency….thus Reducing EXTERNAL demand and encouraging increased Local production.

…and one is not always in a position to CHOOSE to devalue – usually, one is FORCED to revalue by economic realities….

12. The current economic situation in Barbados means less opportunity for the Barbadian youth. So therefore, the Barbadian youth are going to have to follow the Wisdom of great Jamaican reggea artist Shabba Ranks when he preached about: will – power, strong – mind and ability with no militancy. Man, I don’t know how we’re going to convinced the Barbadian youth that Education is the Key. When there is no opportunity. It is going to be a very difficult task i am sure.

13. Balance said:
    “As far as I know you are free to buy or set up business in Trinidad as well and I am sure if your products or prices can match those of the Trinis that the Trinis will buy too because we all like everything for as little as possible.”

I could not agree more, the opportunities to utilize double taxation treaties and free movement of goods to and from other Caribbean countries are still very much available, despite governments steadfast fixation on tourism only, if the governments in Bim continue to be reluctant to see their citizens generate forex outside of tourism, it’s now left to the citizens to become innovative and creative, leave the governments by the wayside where they belong….that treaty with Canada, i understand, is decades old.

I also tend to agree with Caribbean Lover.

14. The upside to devaluation..there will be more local production as Bushtea with total incite has said..and that is a GOOD thing for Barbados, finally they will get their heads out of their ***** or out of the air..

15. It is no longer much a question of if to devalue…its more an issue of how to devalue…i.e 1 via the USD in the current peg…in the middle of the greatest currency war in history…or 2 outright retreat from the peg..float… 3 cheat…print and hope to smoke and mirrors the IMF and the rating agencies (but if we get caught, we are fckd)…4. With very little room left to taxed….just leaves pure gov thuggery/coercion…to corral people into savings…but gov revenues will take a huge hit and they would have to privatize everything..(a scary option for the commies out there)

Outside of the devaluation paradigm we could have a national movement against US style consumerism. Truth be told things are so poorly made these days. Items like stoves, fridges etc last a fraction of the time they use to. All of it is wasted foreign exchange…People praise hire purchase and nothing down but it is financial poison. Buying crap that doesn’t last and has to be replaced before you finish the payments.. Save and buy quality with cash, can’t do that..you can’t afford it. Paying cash forces you to think long and hard about the purchase. Any mechanism to short current that process is a boon for the seller and a bane for you. Nothing is that urgent…and if you don’t believe me, you will when you get laid off.

16. @ Bush Tea

The REAL numbers not what the politicians tell you. Remember there would have been no layoffs too.
    Re the Trickidadians you mean the oil and gas offshore? What role subsidised energy plays in making TT manufacturers more competitive? What about market size and access to petrochemical, oil and gas industries for investment? I am just asking?
    Read Hal’s response to Bahamared….it aint only me.

17. @ Bushie

Yuh head bad or what! Cuz 10 better than 5, even 10 sinking 5 BURIED!!!

18. @ Hal Austin

Barbados does not NEED any REAL federation. Population size is not relevant. Barbados’ problem at the moment is a severe lack of ideas and understanding of how economies are truly developed and the key success factors or ingredients needed to sustain economic growth. Unfortunately this lack of ideas is present in BOTH political parties which is even more worrisome.

USA and Singapore are examples. Singapore is a small nation on a global population basis but is a large global economic player because of the vision its national leader had in the 20th century to most importantly implement key interlinked policies that fashion an economy not satisfy meaningless economic indicators e.g foreign reserves. That is the point. The goal MUST always be to unleash the citizenry on the collective goal of building an economy via various methods i.e. culturally and industrially etc. The USA is another example, large population yes but not the largest. The most important asset the USA has is the ability to continuously impart confidence in its citizens that the USA is a powerful nation, and thus should have every confidence in their ability to develop the best technologies, cultural symbols e.g. movies and music and industry. This belief underpins their society which is why they ALWAYS bounce back from crises. Natural self belief and confidence is the nature of their people. Incidentally this is also a trait of Jamaicans which is why they continue to be many examples of individual brilliance emanating from Jamaicans even though their economy is an absolute mess.

Barbados’ leaders and by extension our archaic education system have NEVER successfully imparted that type of confidence and self belief in what it means to be a Barbadian, living contributing and most important globally competing amongst global countries. This is why to your point our “leaders” are fish out of water once they leave Baxters Road or Oistins and arrive in NY or DC to discuss global affairs is correct. The inferiority complex still exists. There is no national sense of self and where we fit within the global landscape and what our strengths are. So our leaders go with an inferior “beggar/handout mentality” as opposed to with a mentality of understanding ourselves, strengths and what needs to be done to mentally engage 280,000 persons on a collective economic growth plan. How else can ANY leader that understands economic growth be still fixated on foreign reserves! What economic growth is directly attributed to foreign reserves! The world leaders are merely laughing at us as we STILL do not know what development is all about even though we brag every year of independence. Independence from what is the question.

With that said, my biggest concern is the continued lack of a GROWTH plan including coherent linkages between agriculture, tourism, manufacturing and CULTURE. We mouth off but their is no real plan from either party (that I have seen or heard). Until we really get the idea that our destiny in COMPLETELY in our hands and how we lead and educate/impart our ideas and plans into the population to get a critical mass of folks all moving in the same direction, we will not break the cycle.

Hal, as another Bajan living abroad you are well aware of the mental transition away from limited thinking/vision that you have to make to properly function and complete in a larger country. If our leaders have not yet demonstrated this, then really how can the citizenry be inspired to globally compete.

Concerned Bajan(abroad)

19. @ Bajeabroad
    Singapore is 276 sq m, Barbados is 166 sq m. Singapore’s population is 5.4 million vs 280,000 in Barbados. As there population has grown so has the economic fortunes of Singapore.By the way Singapore is also part of ASEAN and in 2015 that body will be introducing the free movement of professional labour within member states.

“The ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) shall be the goal of regional economic integration by 2015. AEC envisages the following key characteristics: (a) a single market and production base, (b) a highly competitive economic region, (c) a region of equitable economic development, and (d) a region fully integrated into the global economy.In short, the AEC will transform ASEAN into a region with free movement of goods, services, investment, skilled labour, and freer flow of capital.”

Sounds familiar?

20. I’ve been reading some odd things but I’ll mention two.

1. I find the contention that the CSME became to nurture the self-importance of politicians totally absurd and no less than cynicism from the sidelines (Bahamared). The idea is simple enough. We are a CARIBBEAN PEOPLE. If we aint, forget reparations.

2. The idea pushed by H Austin that UK is nothing without the EU is equally absurd. Indeed, the point is, in essence, contradictory of his opposition to the CSME.

21. @ Enuff

Check your history. Singapore was successful BEFORE ASEAN membership.

Get my drift?

Bajeabroad

22. Wasn’t Barbados successful as well?

23. @Enuff

Yes, for a small nation we HAVE achieved some levels of success. But truth be told, the foundation of the success was not solid

Check your history again my friend. The often referenced recent period of success is tied to 14 years of BLP leadership co-incided with a global economic boom (rising tide floats all boats…good and bad) with inflows into Barbados via land transaction deals and travelling on credit. This MASKED the reality that real estate activity is ancillary to economic development and should never be seen to DRIVE and economy…..take your personal case…you buy a house AFTER you have secured income/employment not TO secure employment/income. An economy is the same…..some activities e.g. manufacturing, culturally creating for distribution and agricultural exports DRIVE an economy. Other activity e.g. distributive trades and many locally focused service activities are adjunct to economic development. They should never be seen as DRIVERS.

So what we called success in some measures was ALWAYS built on a pack of cards

We cannot deny facts my friend as unpleasant as they may be

Bajeabroad

24. @ WELL WELL

I quote your pose…..

“From experience and as far as I know this applies to Canada, but stores/businesses place are only allowed to import 10% of their products, the other 90% must be Canadian products offered for sale,”

That might of been the case in Canada back in the 1700’s but Canada is part of Natfa and is a free trader. There is no such restriction of what must be sold. There is free trade between Canada, USA and Mexcio and it is being expanded to other countries. Canada is also a larger exporter of many things and in many instance has a trade surplus with its trading partners BARBADOS DOES NOT HAVE A TRADING SURPLUS WITH ANY MAJOR FX CONTRIUBTOR TO THE COUNTRIES RESERVES. That is why there is a FX crisis. We have to be competitive i nour FX earning industries. Apparently we no longer are

25. Cyprian La Touché Avatar
    Cyprian La Touché

@everybody
    Allow me add a few words to this discussion.
    What can I say?
    We Bajans ALL must first accept total responsibility and fault for this magnificent mess we find ourselves in today.

We then must acknowledge that it was and is not the failure of any single administration but rather something more deeply rooted that is fixing to seal our fate. As Mr. Austin opined a “Sodom and Gomorra” syndrome that prescribes and best describes our current cultural attitudes and behaviors.

From the reign of Holy Owen to the present Absent Freundel no one person dragged us kicking and screaming down the rabbit hole to this mad illusioned world of Wonderland. We willingly went along for the ride, gleefully ignoring every warning sign and feigning ignorance to what was going on all around us.

WE voted for people who we KNEW to be either incompetent or incapable and or easy strangers to the truth and with a laugh termed them “politicians”.
    For us poli-tricks is supposed to be fun and entertaining. Something to debate in the local rum shop parliament over puddle and souse on Saturday.

Just as with the cricket conversation we love to reminisce about the good old days and former glories. The times when money was flowing like water, life was sweet as honey and Barbados was THE paradise on Earth.

Can you remember when all was right and well and wonderful? I seriously can’t. Maybe it was when I lived in Canada. But wasn’t there an Oil Crisis? Wasn’t there a previous IMF intervention and an 8% cut? Wasn’t there 911 and advanced signs from the U.S. and U.K. and E.U. of imminent removal of colonial subsidies and supports for Bananas and Sugar and Tourism and Tax and Trade?
    No matter that every decade has seen some serious event or significant crisis with “teachable” moments and opportunities to be had, as long as the sun was shining and we could keep praying then we could go on playing. We only see what we choose to remember and conveniently erase everything else.

Even at this 11th hour in the 12th and final month, we operate as if everything is normal. One or two planned discussions to present “alternatives” to proposed job cuts both in the public and private sectors.
    Business as usual. Tighten your belts until the rest of the world recovers its senses and rediscovers what a fine place we are to invest in again.
    Austerity is NOT restructuring.
    Blind and massive reductions in your labor force do NOT necessarily address the fundamental issues of poor governance. The questions need first to be asked:

just how many people are really needed to run an economy of this size especially in today’s technologically driven world?

Exactly how many of the “unnecessary and temporary” were introduced into service around the last election and where thus will it retake us when this New Year’s Resolution is executed?

What will the short and medium effects be on an already badly impacted and depleted NIS?

What are the targets?
    To reduce our debt to GDP by what percentage in what time frame? To improve our international credit rating to anywhere above junk and refinance or reschedule and retire such debt? What is the PLAN? What are the Goals? What are the WEEKLY way markers that we can set to chart and ensure smooth progress back to sustained development?

I am not hearing ANY of these questions being even asked far less answered. But there is another that I must press of equal importance as well. What are the PENALTIES for failures both past, present AND future?

And I am not just talking about thematic ideas like Barbados becoming an International Praia if it defaults on its debt obligations or of administrations rising or falling. I mean PERSONAL consequences. No one is in jail for Barrack. No one is in jail for Clico. No one is in jail for Hardwood. No one is in jail for shooting their son? No one is in jail for flipping formally Crown controlled lands. No one is in jail for Gems and most importantly no one is GOING to jail for “SCANDALS”!

“Heads must roll!” The queen declares! But who listens? But what happens? But who cares? Let’s just all sit down, relax and have some tea like the “civilized citizens and socialized sheep” we Bajans expected to be.

What else can I really say?

Cyprian La Touche

26. @ Bajeabroad
    Agree somewhat about foundation and the answer to the weak foundation can’t be simply lack of vision and all those other fluffy statements; but you still have not countered the argument about the role of size If Singapore is doing well, yet seeking to join forces with their neighbours, why should Barbados that is doing worse refrain from doing the same? To copy a Hal Austin tactic (lol), “the recognition of the seminal truth that only a unified Caribbean, politically and economically, can save the region from its fatal particularism is at least a century old.” (Lewis, 1968).

27. Hal Austin | December 21, 2013 at 11:22 AM |@Alien …The real value of a devaluation is that imports will become more expensive in real terms and exports cheaper. In other words, the current ac count deficit will be reduced. Exactly what Barbados needs.

This is the general explanation, but it does not appear to work for Barbados, at least not for its main exports (tourism and international business services). Rather than avoiding the subject, CBC, VOB, et. al. may wish to have some qualified professionals openly discuss this matter. Maybe there is no net benefit to this route when this specific case is examined.

28. @Robert Ross

Your closing comment, which discloses that you sympathise with the shameless scam artists/beggars seeking “reparations” just sums up that trying to talk sense with you is a lost cause.

But if you doubt that Caricom is there for little other than the egos of politicians and the dreams of silly academics, then just look at a map, identify the success stories of the region and note that they are the countries that are MOST open, globalised and dedicated to a free international market in int’l services. I have never actually heard an economist back the idea and if one does, he is clearly a cuckoo economist.

@Hal

If you claim to understand economics, you must be joking with some of your assertions.

Being small is a distinct advantage when it comes to the kinds of industries most regional countries have (tourism, financial services). What the HELL does the Bahamas or Barbados benefit by being part of a bloc with the likes of Guyana. FOR WHAT? Does it boost our FDI? Does it make us more attractive for financial services?

It is as if you just have a vague, unarticulated image of the world in which big is better because….well just because. You never tells us why in terms that relate to our actual economies. Because you can’t.

EVERY SINGLE ONE of the ex colonies that are now essentially first world countries (Barbados, the Bahamas, Singapore) are small. VERY small. And they all are driven primarily by the trade in international services.

If we grew bananas, or mined copper or manufactured cars then MAYBE your argument would make sense (decreasingly so as barriers to trade come down worldwide) but for small service providers your ideas are frankly barmy.

And you mention the UK. Well, you cannot compare Barbados or the Bahamas to the UK. They are both called ‘countries’, but that is merely a name and political fiction. The real comparison has to be between Barbados or the Bahamas and the City of London, which is driven by practically identical services. Do you think the City of London, were it independent, would benefit from being part of a trading bloc? HELL NO. The opposite in fact. It benefits from independence from hinterlands.

You compare apples and oranges and come to the silly proposition that ‘because South America is moving into a trade block, and so is Europe and Asia, then we have to do the same or get left out’. But you do not even look at who “we” are.

It is the colonial instinct to follow that screws so many in our region. Look at Singapore. You think they want to be like England? Hell No. They recognise how much luckier they are than England to be (like us) small, stable and service oriented. All this talk about getting into a block or else the big bad world is gonna eat us is just ignorant garbage.

29. @Alien
    ” Maybe there is no net benefit to this route when this specific case is examined.”

Bingo.

We have very little to offer. Our inability (or refusal) to create a service/knowledge/technology/renewable energy based export sector means that what we have (human capacity and knowledge potential) will not get its worth in a global market in the short term since it is so underdeveloped.

With devaluation we would end up going the way of a Guyana or Jamaica, but without any real internal assets to build on and hopefully pull us back to recovery. This is why devaluation has been avoided like the plague by virtually all successive governments.

@well well
    The upside to devaluation..there will be more local production

Theoretically speaking. but realistically speaking given our current generation and “preferred instant returns” mindset, I highly doubt it. If we haven’t done or started yet, it’s highly unlikely that we will. Especially since our leadership doesn’t lead by example

Just Observing

30. “The real comparison has to be between Barbados or the Bahamas and the City of London, which is driven by practically identical services. Do you think the City of London, were it independent, would benefit from being part of a trading bloc? HELL NO. The opposite in fact. It benefits from independence from hinterlands.”

Man Bahamared stop. London thrives because of FOREIGN LABOUR accessed via the EU as well as due to the EU regulatory framework.

31. @Observing

Correct. Devaluation is a stupid idea. It would only diminish the buying power of Bajans and bring down the standard of living.

Besides, you are not selling anything that would benefit from devaluation in the traditional way. People do not conduct banking or trust business on account of the value of the local currency. Nor do the kind of tourist that go to Barbados go because it competes well in price terms against DR or Cuba. If that were the case, Barbados would never have had tourists. It would just place you in a race to the bottom trying to ‘catch up’ to poor countries in terms of price competitiveness.

Luckily that is something Mr. Stuart does not seem to be contemplating.

32. @enuff

You are very wrong. London’s economy is vastly dominated by financial services. Foreign labour is only an accessory driven by cost of living issues. It is not a driver of the economy.

In fact, if you took the banking industry of the city of London out of the UK economy, the UK would become a middle income country.

33. “Man Bahamared stop. London thrives because of FOREIGN LABOUR accessed via the EU as well as due to the EU regulatory framework.”

@enuff

Now I know you are joking!

You think the EU regulatory framework” has helped the economy of London???? Go say that out loud in the financial district and you will possibly be lynched.

It has been a massive strain and impediment on London’s function as a global financial hub and the primary opponents of the UK’s membership of the UK are financed by leaders of London’s financial services industry.

You simply have to be joking with that comment.

34. Cyprian La Touche wrote “Exactly how many of the “unnecessary and temporary”.
    The Government of Barbados has always “subsidized” employment with workers who are unproductively deployed.
    Like sending a dozen men and a truck to fill potholes.

For the record poor Bajans are not responsible for this mess. The shop assistants and clerical officers go to work every day for lunch money while some of us take our friends to Champers.

Barbados is messed up because of a lack of leadership and vision.

If we all suffer now it is because we did not plan for rainy days.

I am sure a lot of the middle and upper class have money parked in offshore accounts as a hedge against the “devaluation”

35. @ENUFF

There is a vast difference between a developed economy like Singapore with CLEAR goals and purpose joining an economic bloc to further it’s development and a country with no plan following the crown. See below

Singapore’s PM Lee said that in terms of development, Singapore had the Initiative for ASEAN Integration, human-resource development programmes, technical co-operation programmes where officials from new ASEAN members get exposed in Singapore to its departments, how things are done – and pick up ideas which they can implement back home. In other words additional services expansion for Singapore.

Tell me what are our clearly stated benefits for joining CSME again. I challenge you ENUFF to list 3 here for us.

Waiting patiently…

Bajeabroad

36. @Bajeabroad

“Tell me what are our clearly stated benefits for joining CSME again. I challenge you ENUFF to list 3 here for us.”

AMEN

Now repeat the same question to Hal

37. There is a reality which we have to confront, a bunch of poor countries grouping to confront the world reveals no tangible benefit except to the ideologues. We need to cooperate more in areas of common interest. Perhaps this is where the conversation should be taking place.

38. … also, sell 60% of BNOC to the public and sell the Transport Board’s business to the Simpson Group in exchange for 40% shares, 60% cash and on the condition that Group becomes a publicly traded company in Barbados…

39. @Alien

Why are we not hearing ideas which will lead the way to generate forex?

40. What’s the used of a UNIFIED- CARIBBEAN?

41. Feel free to correct me if you think that I am wrong. But I thought, Globalization in its contemporary context was designed to render those multilateral borders in the region; a unilateral whole .

42. David is right.

Cooperate where we have common interests (like telling those idiot Americans what we think of their loose handgun policy), but not just wholesale integration for ideological reasons.

It is just a case by case basis that makes some sense. Some countries may opt to join the CCJ and CXC, others will not. Some (like the OECS) may go for deeper integration, while others do not.

43. Bahamared

I didn’t get past your first paragraph. Look sunshine nob off. What a narrow mind you have since clearly the finer points elude you. For the record I AM TOTALLY AGAINST REPARATIONS. BUT I also believe
    that our people have a common heritage. Unless those who argue against CSME see that they cannot also argue for reparations. I also believe that the concept of the nation state and self interest will always override what BT calls the “ideal” – which in this case is our common heritage. Get it? Try. Being neither fish nor fowl but with more than a sense of effortless but misplaced superiority I realize it will be difficult.

44. @ Mark Fenty

“What’s the use of a UNIFIED- CARIBBEAN?”

Go and ask Miss Myrie and the other Jamaican young ladies who already have their bags packed waiting for ‘real’ unity of the kind Hal envisions.

45. @Robert Ross

ALL people have a common heritage. But mine is no more common with an Indian Trini or a Dominican patois speaker than it is with a Haitian, Cuban or even Chinese.

If you see some regional commonality of “heritage” based only on which islands happened to have been colonised by Britain, then you are deluded and confused.

46. Sith……….yes i agree, but Barbados does have that trade agreement with Canada going back quite a few years and business people in Bim can take advantage of it if they are so inclined.

Hants….thanks for the insightful information, it is right on par with what is going on everywhere.

47. @Robert Ross

You talk of “common heritage” and unity, but your comments to me are full of hostile references to my place of origin. Hahaha. You are funny.

48. Just observing……this will be very interesting to watch, some governments in the Caribbean believe it Barbados’ current experience will set a precedent for the Caribbean.whatever it will definitely be learning curve.

49. Found the following article useful:

Political Independence and Economic Development in the Caribbean
    By Paul HayCJ Contributor
    In 2003, Alvin G. Wint – former head of the Department of Management Studies at the University of West Indies, Mona Campus – noted in his book, “Competitiveness in Small Developing Economies: Insights from the Caribbean,” that dependent territories in the Caribbean typically have the smallest economies but the highest per capita incomes.
    Early in the 1960s, when most Caribbean countries were either dependent or newly independent, territories which would later form the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) could be listed from the highest to lowest per capita income as: Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Barbados, Guyana, the Leeward and Windward islands.
    Twenty years later, seven territories of the Leeward and Windward Islands formed a monetary union called the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS). Wint states that: while they “are politically independent, their monetary policy independence is constrained by their membership in this regional economic union”.
    Later, the 2000/2001 World Development Report (WDR) classified Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados and most member states of OECS as having upper middle incomes, while the other CARICOM states had lower middle incomes. But, the Bahamas and dependent Caribbean territories were classified as having high incomes.
    The dependent territories attributed their success to the global perception that they had lower political and economic risks. While many CARICOM member states were approaching 40 years of political independence at that time, this certainly seemed to have been the case.
    http://www.caribjournal.com/2013/12/21/political-independence-and-economic-development-in-the-caribbean/

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply